Honda Malaysia to recall 21,956 City and 1,680 Jazz vehicles

Honda Malaysia has announced that it will recall 21,956 units of the third-generation City (model year 2009) as well as 1,680 units of the second-generation Jazz (model year 2009 and 2010). The recall addresses problems with the lost motion springs and the retainers in the affected vehicles, with replacement of these to be carried out with countermeasure parts.

In the affected cars, the lost motion springs – which are compressed by rocker arms in normal engine use – may bend or break over time, resulting in irregular engine noise and potentially causing engine stalls. No related crashes or injuries have been reported so far.

“We sincerely apologise to our customers and deeply regret the inconvenience caused by this predicament. It is our priority to put our customers first,” Honda Malaysia’s managing director and CEO Yoichiro Ueno said in a statement.

“To address this issue, we will be writing to all the affected customers to send their vehicles to an authorised dealer as soon as they receive notification from us,” he said.

The company is in the midst of preparing the replacement parts. Necessary inspection and replacement will be carried out when the parts are ready, and all charges incurred in the inspection and replacement work will be borne by the company. Honda Malaysia added that all its current selling models are not affected.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• good..!! better than toyota.. dont dare or dont even bother to do recall in malaysia!! respect.

• Why do you need a recall if there are no issues?

Did they have any for Local or Thai assembled models?

• mythbuster on Feb 17, 2011 at 5:02 pm

if honda did repair in engine parts , sure cant get performance like new car.
        vios dont have such issues.
        what for u want recall it?

• victorleekoonpoh on Feb 17, 2011 at 6:11 pm

vios no such issue but vios is sharing same chasis as yaris (vits) which listed is the Most dangerous car crash rated 3 stars only compare 5 stars on city :)

• mythbuster : who say tat vios didnt have problem, try to ask the inside ppl of toyota on vios even before the launching on 2008,they are asking the technician to tighten the abs brake controller,etc

• mythbuster on Feb 17, 2011 at 10:58 pm

yup, vios isn’t a perfect car, but dont have any major problems or issues on its engine parts. For sure it has a reliable engines which proven throughout few decades.
            if we compare problem between engine’s internal components with abs controller, engine is more critical issues. As what u said, Toyota corrected their faults before launching the car not as Honda after 2 years launched.
            anyway, im not Honda bashers. Toyota also faced many quality issues in world level. Hope, Honda recover back its reputation soon.

• Mr. Buffu on Feb 17, 2011 at 6:27 pm

rynn, why are you so clever? have u heard any issues regarding toyota in malaysia? toyota cars in north america were recalled because they were assembled in north america… it doesnt affect malaysian toyota which are assembled in thai….

have you heard about problems with honda accord? ive heard a lot of problems but they never recall…. and have u heard of bmw e90 problem with HPFP? you should ask them why there are no recalls over the matters…

• Tiadaid on Feb 17, 2011 at 8:01 pm

Just because they don’t recall doesn’t mean it’s all okay. Heard that from a Proton basher, so I’m using it here.

• objectivism on Feb 17, 2011 at 9:33 pm

My father is not a proton fanboy… but he supports the national carmaker… our home has 2 saga’s, 1 persona, and one wira… regardless of what problems the cars have… my father also act no see no hear unless very big problem… so far… the cars do a great job ferrying us around… problems like broken window? no problem open car door lo… no problem no problem one la.. screechy voice? no problem also la… u run at 100 km/h… wind noise also cover the screeching already.

• Protong can’t afford to do any recalls.

Even the Power Windows also don’t make any recall.

Let alone asking them to do other technical recalls.

They might have to replaced the entire car unit if recalls are done.

Haha.

• linear_system on Feb 18, 2011 at 9:58 am

but they did recall on my neo for clock spring..isnt that one of technical part in a car?u seems so blind with the recall..

• Insider viewer on Feb 22, 2011 at 2:24 pm

One root cause is that Protons ability to solve problem is very weak specifically, and Malaysians problem solving skills generally. So what is the use of doing recalls if you dont have a solution for the problem.

Well this is an inside view, so I know better than those outside the auto industry.

P/S: Its an ugly truth but I do apologize if anyone is offended.

• mohammed hakem on Jul 25, 2011 at 10:42 am

what make are u looking for

• I just called honda and they told me to replace the faulty recall part with take half a day PLUS Honda will only do it on weekdays which means consumer need to take half a days leave to attend to this. Honda should look into compensating consumer for the inconvenience caused!!!!

• Ahim.B.M on Feb 17, 2011 at 3:12 pm

It’s their priority to put their customers first.

• hahahahahahaha……:-0

• hexagon on Feb 17, 2011 at 3:30 pm

wow good news to hear… i’m really2 waiting Honda to recall all civic in Malaysia for steering pump problem…come on, everybody owned civic facing the same problems, recall civic, recall civic.. hehehe

• Clement on Feb 17, 2011 at 5:19 pm

Hi, can you tell me what’s wrong with the Civic Steering? I owned a 1 Year old Civic, having plenty of issues but yet to discover issue with Steering…

Thank you

• KL fella on Feb 17, 2011 at 9:13 pm

what sorts of issues are you encountering with your 1 year old civic?
        i’m driving the 1st batch of civic year 06 til now and no issues so far.. just regular preventive maintenance.

• hexagon on Feb 18, 2011 at 11:03 am

civic power steering hose + steering pump are easy to damage when certain period of time, its happen usually just direct after ur warranty period is over which mean when mileage nearly 100k. The sign are, ur steering make hissing sound when turning & spot of oil under ur car. And right now, Honda Malaysia charging RM3000 for replace that part!!! and this happen to most of civic.. if it wont happen to you, then u’re lucky..

• aizat2209 on Feb 17, 2011 at 3:32 pm

owh.. that dont sound too good…

• Honda does a recall and U all clap clap clap, but when Proton does a recall, U bash like no tomorrow. :D

BTW, this comes from a Civic FD owner. :P

• gelojoh on Feb 17, 2011 at 3:45 pm

thats malaysia!
      when oversea company like honda did a recall, they will be praised..
      most of H/T owner will always say they are the proud owner of H/T despite numerous fouling issues.

thats what a fanboy does, & how weak our buying power is.

• klguy on Feb 17, 2011 at 7:07 pm

malaysians are kiasu ma

• pejalan kaki on Feb 18, 2011 at 12:21 pm

keta murah tp kene beli harga mahal pastu kene recall mesti la marah maa!

keta proton murah tp jual mahal kat rakyat pastu recall balik ape kes???

sama la honda pun…harga x mahal sgt tp sbb jual kat msia jadi mahal…recall balik cuma kualit dan aftersales service ‘ada baik sket’ berbanding proton

• concern citizen on Feb 17, 2011 at 4:33 pm

at least there are no charges and no delay to get the engine part, from proton it might take some time just to wait for the part to be re-stock, plus the customer had to check/ be sure that the auto parts are not fake! -.- absurd wasn’t it?

• fazron80 on Feb 17, 2011 at 4:56 pm

WOW! Now I know there’s no fake Honda parts out there. Any parts you buy from anywhere confirm original parts. Everyone let’s all buy Honda.
        C’mon really??? Have a reality check plz!!!
        Honda, toyota, mitsubishi, proton, perodua any cars la out there if you do it in their service centre it’s guaranteed original parts. You buy outside there’s always a possibility of fake. Not only Proton ok. All cars la have fake parts right now. Engine oil also have fake imitations closely resembling the original oil down to the letter. THe main point is for the parts to work. If it’s original but it’s not working that;s the problem. I’m not proton fanboys. I totally condemned them for supplying waja with crap no quality original fuel pump. It’s a nightmare to thousands of waja owners.

• redboy on Feb 17, 2011 at 7:04 pm

My Waja fuel pump failed the next year i bought it, my car was tolled to closest P-Edar, the mechanic offer change-inside-pay-outside for cheaper! My power window has not been down for 5 years (since 3 years replaced twice in EON Glenmarie, and i have had enough to feed the culprit supplier since everytime promise this time is ok already)

• concern citizen on Feb 17, 2011 at 7:21 pm

ok, i understand about the fake parts, and i dont care whether if ur a fan boy or even a fanatic who worships proton. What im trying to say is, back then when i used proton, when i asked the PROTON AUTHORIZED dealer to fix my auto parts, it still broke down no matter how many time i changed it using an original parts, where is the relevance? im talking about proton’s quality

• greasemonkey on Feb 17, 2011 at 8:45 pm

waja pump failure not all cause by pump itself, I have come across failure cause by the ioose contact of the earth wire terminal at the pump.Just crimp it tight, another cause is the pump wire harness connection under rear LHS carpet, spray WD40 and reconnect.Hope this info helps.

• redboy on Feb 17, 2011 at 6:57 pm

when did proton do much recall? i still waiting for their recall of my Waja power window since 2002…since i already gave up to repair it after 2 rounds since it just pathetic supplier that they tolerate…kns.

• Tiadaid on Feb 17, 2011 at 7:59 pm

No carmaker, no matter where in the world would recall for power window, and before you said Honda did it, they did it because the power window switch could catch fire!

• Avanzato X4 on Feb 17, 2011 at 3:36 pm

we check with SC on my appointed next week 10,000km service, i dont think this cause engine knocking sound in front, wish SC fix it.

• Ryonn Leong on Feb 17, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Acks !
    Hope the service center is prep up for this

• Ryonn Leong on Feb 17, 2011 at 4:46 pm

i just called Honda customer service to clarify it. 1800 882 020

it’s true, and the customer service mentioned, that they will be sending letters to the affected owners for the replacement. As for the flaw, it has got something to do with wear and tear. The part that is in the affected models is wearing off faster than it’s intended period. As much as I am unhappy to hear the news, but the customer service guy replied professionally.

• awals on Mar 01, 2011 at 11:19 am

My city has serviced last saturday, surpringly being informed to be in the list of the re-called cars. having no problem at all since bought in early 2010. quite surprise to hear the news, since i’m not aware about the recall thing..

• drMpower on Feb 17, 2011 at 3:42 pm

so they gonna give everything free i suppose
    then can i charge them on my time being wasted?
    ya la
    since they milked us like even for something small, they asked for much money
    why not they pay me 60ringgit per hour for waiting only for the car to be serviced?

• faris on Feb 17, 2011 at 3:46 pm

Huh….honda should recall honda accord as well due to brake judder….don’t just wait until mishap happened to the accord user the only react….

• allcarsgiveproblem on Feb 18, 2011 at 8:18 am

if you own an accord,try asking the service technicians to change the brake pads to a softer ones…it works very well….

• hukaka on Feb 17, 2011 at 3:53 pm

Honda Boleh.

• racefan on Feb 17, 2011 at 4:08 pm

What exactly are the motion springs that they speak of?

• akuGunaRon95 on Feb 17, 2011 at 4:43 pm

Wah honda recall tak bising… when proton recall all those proton bashers kutuk non-stop….

• hondauser on Feb 17, 2011 at 4:44 pm

my engine stalls!!!! dont know if this is related but it stalls every now and then but not when its running. its like a starter problem. yes im driving the 3rd gen 2009 city. sigh.

• I have the same problem with my city 2009. The last time I told the tecnicians about that they told me its the battery even thougy the battery indicator showed that its ok. Had to spend almost RM200 for a new one. The problem is still there. Getting fedup with Honda plus its cut throat service centres

• Honda Fan on Feb 17, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Good job to Honda for the recall exercise. Same as Toyota albeit slower but still gets the work done. No wonder they are way top in the Global Sales annually. That speaks something about the Japanese prowess and honour. Well done !

• Not just borne the parts and labour, need to compensate the customer for the this issue, learn this lession deeply and not just say sorry for this mistake, at least some cash to compensate for this issue, No matter what brand you are, we need compensate in parts, labour and “CASH”.

• hondaboleh on Feb 17, 2011 at 4:49 pm

cayalah honda….toyota boleh honda pun boleh.waa respek lu la honda..

• Thrust on Feb 17, 2011 at 4:53 pm

I believe its the valve spring that determines the opening & closing of valve.

• toroto on Feb 17, 2011 at 5:06 pm

How come Honda never recall their previous model City with most of them having major CVT gearbox issue? However, not my problem anymore as de car been sold last year.. Pity de 2nd hand buyer… sigh

• kk123 on Feb 17, 2011 at 5:58 pm

Most of the CVT gearbox problem is because using the wrong type of gearbox oil!!

• toroto on Feb 17, 2011 at 9:13 pm

Dear kk123 n all, I was using de CVT Fluid from Honda n serviced de car at Honda SC which was still under warranty. But problem start to crop up even de car only 2 yrs old, made complaint numerous times to Honda HQ with official letter. Only AFTER 1 YEAR of complaints, then only they change de gearbox but without compensation for me to keep sending de car to SC and time wasted. Feel like driving a Merc SLR like dat.. Even after dat, same problem just after 6 months de gearbox was replaced. I doubt they shld hv installed de recond gearbox. Even u can repair de parts inside de gearbox or change it cheaper (but stil cost RM1k+) at half-cut workshop, if evry 1-2 year change it, u can tahan ar? How abt 6 mths it’s kong?? How much time n money u wanto waste wif dis so-call efficient car? Better drive conti car lor like dat…

• mokheq on Feb 21, 2011 at 2:20 am

I’m still using 2nd gen city vtec (2005).

CVT untuk jimat n smooth, nak ganas2 selalu memang x boleh.
        Sesekali belasah gearbox bagus juga (trim pulley dalam tu), pastikan guna semua pilihan gear yg ada, D,1, 2 pilihan secara separa manual atau manual terus.

Sepanjang saya guna dah tukar minyak gear 3 kali (mileage 148K skrg)
        rattle sound masa pagi dalam gear R akan hilang dlm masa bbrp saat.
        Masalah lain x der.

Pada hemat saya cara dan gaya pengunaan cvt adalah berbeza dgn auto yg biasa
        dan amat perlu d titikberatkan.

• Tiadaid on Feb 17, 2011 at 6:23 pm

I had to change the gearbox! Luckily got 2nd hand parts from halfcut so cheaper

• Meiscool on Feb 17, 2011 at 5:11 pm

Anybody face gear box issue after reverse and change back to D and got “tak” sound?For current gen honda city

• proton? my iafm problematic twice, 2nd time after 2 years…. have to pay by my own…. recall? only in our dreams……

• if ur car only 2yrs old suppose it still in warranty rite….no need money for that

• nazri on Feb 17, 2011 at 10:27 pm

“tak tak tak” sound vs “clunk clunk clunk” sound.. which better.. hahahaha

• nazri on Feb 17, 2011 at 10:30 pm

‘tak tak’ sound vs ‘clunk clunk” + engine stall suddenly.. which one wins?

• to all stupid proton bashers on Feb 17, 2011 at 5:31 pm

honda recall its a job well done..honda bolehlh, great act by hondalah..but when come to proton time, useless, no quality, wasting time…nuff said, fed up wit all of u bashers..

• Exedy on Feb 17, 2011 at 5:55 pm

nowdays car maker almost same at all….proton,honda,perodua,toyota not much different..see, even ferrari also recall their cars. so to be fair dont blame honda blalala..proton blalala…toyota blalalala….no point! save our money and choose ur car itself…..

• lol at all the complainers who overuse their cars & dont use a small bike ocassionally on Feb 17, 2011 at 6:18 pm

Y’all are funny complaining and demanding this & that like singaporeans.
    y complain like bitches if u’re gonna buy a honda or whatever car brand anyway. Just get a bike & use ur car less if u are able to. what’s the point of waiting 2 hours in traffic everday, overheating ur cars.

• drMpower on Feb 17, 2011 at 7:08 pm

it is marijuana, isnt it?
      the one u are taking?

• VIGOSS on Feb 17, 2011 at 7:43 pm

ya, same like me .after 6yaers, my vios stil dont have problem.. and my milage only 100k..i use motor cycle for daily ride.. lolz

• i dont know why proton never recall their perdana V6 and Savvy AMT for the gearbox problem.

• autojohndoe on Feb 17, 2011 at 6:40 pm

maybe because driver so eager to play the VTEC… thats why la the spring weakened…

sekejap2 open vtec… terkejut la spring tu asyik kena hicam xtentu pasal…

• mythbuster on Feb 17, 2011 at 6:43 pm

haha… good suggestion.
    This problem is caused by Honda not by owners.
    so, by customer rights Honda should bear the cost of customers’ precious time.
    its logic.
    Honda owners should fight for their rights….

• mythbuster : it’s malaysian driver and the supplier of parts tat should be blame, why malaysian driver? is bcos all is driving like F1 driver, try putting pressure on to your brain, headache or not? and parts supplier is bcos want to make money only no quality

• mythbuster on Feb 17, 2011 at 10:42 pm

Nexj : yeah, partially true also. but is this problem occurs in new i-vtec engines only or in previous Vtec engine also affected? if i-Vtec only, could be engine design problem rite. More on reliability of engine internal components.

• Kambing Gurun on Feb 17, 2011 at 6:53 pm

The most anticipated news of the month!

• redboy on Feb 17, 2011 at 7:11 pm

Lets count what should Protong recall..

1) WAJA power window.
    2) WAJA Fuel pump

• I add more to yor list. – gear box problems to perdana, savvy and all 1.6 model of protong cars. wira ‘s ‘dissapearing’ of engine oil.

• adiddaniel on Feb 17, 2011 at 7:24 pm

Nowdays all car have their own problem need repair so that all workhop owner can cari makan. If otherwise how this workshop can survive bro. Sama sama cari makan then.

• Car Driver on Feb 17, 2011 at 7:31 pm

Ouch! This will definitely affects new Honda City and JAzz sales in Malaysia. Hope this will not flood Honda City and Jazz in 2nd hand dealer shops. It is hard to believe this would happened to one of the most premium priced B-segment cars In Malaysia Market in which One would expect nothing less than good quality.

• kekuda on Feb 17, 2011 at 7:32 pm

honda should make all the recall city and jazz as “tukun” in klang river.

• VIGOSS on Feb 17, 2011 at 7:45 pm

wah , my dad just planing want buy new city, ithink he should change to vios dugong instead of problematic city..

• Zoule HCo on Feb 17, 2011 at 7:47 pm

Now that answer my question before.. sometime my car won’t start.. (at first start) send to SC they replace the battery.. but the problem come back after a week.. will contact SC.. wonder how long does it take.. very lazy to wait at SC..

• linear_system on Feb 18, 2011 at 10:12 am

i also had the same problem like u..but they changed the battery..once changed,no more problem..but now afer 2months of new battery, sometimes the problem occurred back..but not as worst as before..sometimes only..

• i had that same prob too with my honda city 09. the car wont start sometimes at 1st try. went to SC they say hav to change battery. after change battery prob came back again. Idiots..wasted my money to change battery only after 1 year of use only…

• Same, if you plug in the key and start the engine too fast, sometime the engine will like not enough battery. IIf you wait for the beep sound gone. The engine should be able to start without any problem. SUCK!

• jolly_idiot on Feb 17, 2011 at 7:55 pm

T or H still good in their product/reliability? My ARS!. Our investment are just going no where. City cost RM90k which similar as Proton Inspira RM92k,

City RM90k
    1.5 Engine
    2550 wheelbase
    B Segment car
    Bare minimum spec with no leather seat whatsoever

Proton Inspira RM90k / or Naza Forte RM96k
    2.0 Engine
    2600 wheelbase
    C Segment Car
    Tip top specification with leather seat whatsoever.

Where does the RM90k goes? Do City really cost that much?

• jolly idiot : what is the resale value after 5 year for those car, who’s resales value is the highest?

• jolly_idiot on Feb 17, 2011 at 10:31 pm

What you get at upfront? You think you’re getting a good threat with that price with T or H?

• johndoe on Feb 20, 2011 at 1:44 am

i rather drive a great car and loose some resale rather than drive a high resale value but ugly, boring, low specced meant for third world country uncles n aunties go pasar car…..

• RM25-30k goes to tax!

• drMpower on Feb 18, 2011 at 1:02 am

expensive yes
      very expensive no
      because u are buying a brand
      and great resale value
      of course upfront, u got great things minus leather seat
      in 2009 where got 90k car with paddle shifter? answer = no.
      oh no, wait. not 2009. december 2008. where got? answer = no
      where dec 2008 got new car, with great 4300 rpm vtec open? answer = nhc city

i know u like the copycat
      so buy it lah
      why must cut other people’s legs so that u looked tall?

as far as i am concern, u spend 90k on nhc
      u got a honda
      and if u spend 90k on inspira
      u got a….. PROTON.

• u guys bought Honda only for trend…org beli u beli..but u never study how low class City & Jazz are…

• WYH HONDA DOESN’T CALL MY HONDA TYPE?
    FOR A LONG TIME I AM USING HONDA EX5 BUT THE NEVER CALL ME…
    hahahahahaha

lain kali pakai honda ex5…relax je vtec takde ape2 prob

• Hey Kia Fote and Inspira without Tax mah!pls check out Honda website ‘Honda City” price in Langkawi thx.

• Accord on Feb 17, 2011 at 8:50 pm

The biggest Honda cover up is their Brake Judder issues. They did skimming of disc brakes, replacing brake pad wt diff opt temperature and even replace new disc, problem still presist. Its a serious safety issue, i even heard of incidence of Honda vehicle disc brake breaking into pieces while emergency braking and locking up wheel causing accidents. The company is arrogant and still gets low quality supply of disc brakes from neighbouring country.

• Kok Chi on Feb 17, 2011 at 11:40 pm

Yup… I have an Accord myself. The brakes suck big time. Just a little hard braking and the entire car shakes! Stupid rear brakes have to be changed every 9-10 months!

I never even had such problems with my Proton when I first got my licence 10 years ago… While a new Accord so many years later on has stupid brake problems. The Accord is a failed product. People should not buy it.

Who ever heard of replacing rear brake pads every 9-10 months when the front brake pads are still in good condition. It’s just stupid!!!

• Why Honda Malaysia doesnt sell Manual Transmission in their car?

I eager to get Honda City with Manual Transmission.

Please Honda Malaysia do something!!

• geck0 on Feb 17, 2011 at 9:14 pm

noob honda dunno make gud care!

• nice!!

• SoMeOnE on Feb 17, 2011 at 9:31 pm

well the wuality issue does affect any car maker due to production mistake/cutbacks etc…but to go slightly off topic…carmakers such as honda and toyota basically ‘own’ this region when it comes to sales and its sad that we still dun get the ‘star’ treatment europe or even australia enjoys!…i mean in terms of tech and specs and even parts used..we usually get second grade…..arent u suppose to protect and love ur most loyal customers?…i guess thats what happens if one brand is given too much attention..they basically slack of…the models and the tech that goes into the civics and toyotas for example are truly generations apart from here!…the camry here in 2.0 is still in 4 speed form!..im glad i dun buy into thier bull but many do…and i do really feel sad for them…..

• nabill on Feb 17, 2011 at 9:58 pm

problem is T and H considered high class cars….where in other countries with level playing field , its jus the same class as p1 and p2 if we compare their lower end product line up…bt bcos we pay double wat other ppl in othr countries pay , we all act surprised and shocked at the recalls….

in real world , their lower end product line up is jus a standard budget product , so recalls expected….

• nolan on Feb 17, 2011 at 11:09 pm

Go Go Honda !!!!…….not afraid of any recall procedures…..my previous Wira so damn perfect not even a single recall….keluar duit sendiri repair maaaaaaa…..

• anything related to vtec system is very serius problem

• RichX on Feb 17, 2011 at 11:29 pm

Honda only does recalls for critical issues which may cause injury when the problem rears its ugly head. Non-critical issues it will choose to cover up.

Same like the Toyota Vios E/J front suspension tower rattle. The SC will just open it up, put in a dollop of grease, and put everything back, then pretend nothing ever happened. They won’t even tell you what the root cause of the problem is.

It’s sad that in Malaysia, Honda tries to pass off itself as “premium”. People who buy into that idea probably haven’t been to Indonesia. Likewise with Toyota and Thailand. Oh yeah, the Vios is made in Shah Alam.

• hopefully my 2010 civic will not affected as well
    a bit worry..hurm

• Leonardo on Feb 18, 2011 at 12:04 am

Lucky i sold already honda city.
    i like Lotus Ride & Handling technology…

• ..got a friend who lost her vios in a theft, who then bought a city current gen….regretted so badly because of multiple complains, esp on the engine. Car is weak, feels draggy and consumes more petrol. Handling seems worse…dashboard still squeeking after many visits to SC…after sales service really bad.. Now she wants to get rid of the car to buy a vios again. Who wants a second hand city?

• wow.. i can see that many people up here is trying to say that proton is better than honda!! the honda owner love proton more than honda..

• in-line 6 on Feb 18, 2011 at 2:49 am

honda all crap

• Honda quality?

• Thrust on Feb 18, 2011 at 8:26 am

Honda & Toyota are actually cars meant for the masses. However, we have to thank our government for inflating the prices of these cars just to protect P1 & P2. If you were to look at it, decent quality cars like Toyota & Honda are priced as luxury cars thus making sub-standard cars like P1 & P2 being priced as ordinary cars. We are all been fooled by the government. I still can’t believe there are still hardcore supporters for P&P.

Tax issues aside, if we were to compare head on with P1&P2 against T&H in the same segment, the quality differences is still very wide. Yes, I’ve driven an Iswara, Wira, Waja, Myvi & Kelisa. I believe if a Persona is given a price tag as the Vios/City, most will opt for Vios/City.

The recalling issue here is indeed a good one. It shows Honda does emphasize on safety. Honda can decide to keep numb on the issue & let it slip but they dare to admit there’s a fault & is giving replacement part for it, free of charge.

• gaman on Feb 18, 2011 at 8:30 am

haha..honda also follow toyota route..

• hondasucks on Feb 18, 2011 at 10:49 am

so for those who thinks H city such a great car, think twice ya..

• hondasucks on Feb 18, 2011 at 11:00 am

Its time for Kia Forte to rule Malaysian market..lolzzzz

• VSNCO on Feb 18, 2011 at 11:19 am

Honda city , 2009 model. I was the first few received delivery in January 2009. I bought S model in Akmar Klang. My complain on my first service until 4th is that:-
    1). the digital mileage reader is not correct. for a 40 litre tank at the current price of RM1.90 should be aroung RM76.00. At an average fuel rate of 15KM per litre I should get 600 KM for a full tank.
    The red light indicator come on when the mileage reading is 430-460km showing another 40 KM available fuel range. When I refuel at about 500KM refueling full tank is not more than 35 litres.
    Means that the indicator lights up tank comes to 7 litres full (including 40 KM reserve range)

2). Initial starting off of engine is very underpowered but with very high RPM after 40km/hr the engine power is good.

• Buy MOTORBIKE la.. MOTORBIKE never recall.

• ezracopters on Feb 18, 2011 at 12:20 pm

Now, this is what u call real car manufacturer.. berani kerana benar!!! Honda rules.. btw, other than officially abovemention defects, there’s no such a thing as others failure..do not trust Civic & Accord complainers, it’s premium car what.. no hell no way it break.. this is Honda, & hail from Nippon land. Worst, they might even be Korean @ Malaysian worshiper trying to project bitter image of us.

U might wanna hang out & properly educate urself at Honda Dealers sometimes, befriend with ur salesperson and u’ll see at end of the tunnel there is LIGHT, this is what we call THE POWER OF DREAM.. in some cases, some said Honda even better than BMW,Merc, Audi, Nissan, Kia, VW & Hyundai. Proton & Perodua?? haha forever be the sole of my shoe.

p/s : as for fellow compatriot, Toyota. Kindly bear in mind other than Europe, North American & Jap plants, every else is in excellent condition. They even use different recipe for stuff, only the shell remain the same..hence the ‘not-recall’ in Malaysia & Uganda.

• Muhaimin on Feb 18, 2011 at 12:40 pm

What about the latest version of Honda City (2010 and 2011), is there any possibility to get recalled as well, anyone knows? I’m planning to own one soon..hmm (thinking more than twice)..

• hondasucks on Feb 18, 2011 at 4:09 pm

get the Forte 2.0 ma, better value for money

• bruce lee on Feb 18, 2011 at 6:00 pm

Is the recall involve Honda city manufactured in 2010? If no, why? I tought all the car manufactured in 2009 & 2010 got same engine…please tell me anyone who know?

• After 2 years on the road only call back..is this a good strategy from honda??pay us back d “ganti rugi” for non performance vtec!!!!!…….

• fortefanboyzzz on Feb 18, 2011 at 3:09 pm

Fuuhh!!..Luckily i bought Forte over this crappy City…wow!! i’m luckiest guy on earth for 2011….
    i told you… nowadays Korean cars more superior than Japanese….

LONG LIVE FORTE

YEEEHAAA…..

• hondasucks on Feb 18, 2011 at 4:08 pm

good decision…malaysian H city is crappy… Only smart guy buy Forte…

• hahahah…drive your forte until you die la brother, car with no resale value…hehehhe

• longlivecars on Feb 21, 2011 at 5:13 pm

haiya, everyone has personal taste. Forte or City, pick your choice.

• mythbuster on Feb 19, 2011 at 10:05 pm

haha.. I though “Smart guys buy Proton Inspira” according to their tagline. haha

• yes yes..
    quality huh?

• redboy on Feb 18, 2011 at 6:50 pm

The manufacturer changed the part because they ADMIT there is something wrong with it, and fixed it. Protong DENY there is any problem, so no need to change it.

People who admit problem changed and improve. We all know what are those who denied and being protected.

So now its the consumer who support which type of manufacturer.

• dvvtiturbo on Feb 19, 2011 at 12:55 pm

don’ worry to all honda city n jazz owner…this is only recall to checking ur car…this is the comitment from the honda n admit the failure of the car…but this case just a few unit failure but not in malaysia…

• Izhar on Feb 21, 2011 at 4:07 pm

standard lah beb…every has their own problems….nak pakai kereta ni betul2 kene ada duit…

• just sent my car in today. Came out with my radio channel and clock reset. Also they burn my petrol to carry out test. I am going to complain Honda.

• exzau on Apr 05, 2011 at 9:11 pm

luckily i canceled my appointment tomorrow my fuel tank is still full

• norman on Jun 08, 2012 at 11:20 am

My honda city secondary clutch assembly failed at just 43,700 km. I’m already disgusted dissatisfied customer before this clutch failed. Honda cebu philippines has very poor service imagine a very loose drain plug the oil is dripping from service ,back jobs everytime, makes your interior very dirty after service, scratch your new car, dishonest many more… WARRANTY IS ALMOST NON-EXISTENT! They are like a thief always denying when you claim warranty, they will honor warranty if it cost less.