Nasim to up exports of 207 to Thailand, Indonesia is next

Nasim Sdn Bhd, the official Peugeot distributor in Malaysia, will be increasing exports of its 207 to Thailand. Nasim began exporting the 207 to Thailand in November last year with an initial batch of 44 units, and this latest order is understood to be much bigger than the previous shipment. The next destination for the B-segment sedan is Indonesia in March.

SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin, CEO of Nasim announced this during the visit of Marc Barety, France’s Ambassador to Malaysia, to the Naza Automotive Manufacturing plant in Gurun, Kedah. Barety was accompanied by members of the French Embassy and the Malaysian French Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

“Besides Thailand and Indonesia, we will soon begin exporting the 207 to other markets in the region such as Brunei and Sri Lanka as well as right-hand drive markets in Africa. This in turn will further establish Malaysia as Peugeot’s hub for the region,” said SM Nasarudin. He also revealed that Nasim sold a total of 306 units of the 207 sedan locally in January.

Naza’s Gurun plant is preparing to roll out a C-segment sedan codenamed T73. The plan is to make 60,000 units of the T73 over a five-year period from 2012 to 2016, with some 60% set aside for export to right hand drive markets.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Very good… & keep up :)

• Malaysia Tak Boleh on Feb 23, 2011 at 11:06 pm

Who wants to buy 207 sedan in Indonesia? Indons hate Malingsia (Malaysia)…

• Still wondering why can’t Perodua be like Nasim? Be a hub for ASEAN and RHD market.
    Government should really re-consider their national car status again. Or open up that bracket for more competitive prices.

• Why Singapore not included with this exporting things?

• EW10A on Feb 22, 2011 at 10:14 am

they could be more ‘sophisticated’ for this model :D

• Malaysia Tak Boleh on Feb 23, 2011 at 11:32 pm

Indonesia already has 207 hatchback, SW and CC.

• yup. but those are priced for the higher income segment. the 207 sedan caters to a different income segment and demographic profile. and as sedans sell more in asean region, this is a good way to increase peugeot marketshare in indonesia.

• Malingsian Peugeot 207 Sedan on Feb 26, 2011 at 6:47 am

Peugeot 207 Sedan are priced for the higher income segment in Indonesia, because the luxury taxes for small sedans are higher than hatchback counterparts, such as the City is cheaper than Jazz in Malaysia but more expensive in Indonesia (in which Jazz is cheaper), the Triton is cheaper in Malaysia but more expensive in Singapore (as luxury taxes for pickup trucks is added). Also, the 207 sedan is considered to be a fake car, so not every Indonesians like it or afford it.

• Fuel price on Feb 26, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Expensive fuel prices in Indonesia forced those Indons going to buy hatchbacks.

• shaman on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:14 pm

are hatchbacks more fuel efficient than sedans? doesn’t make sense at all your comment.

• shaman on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:17 pm

what do you mean fake car? it has wheels, doors, an engine that works and is built by peugeot themselves. could you kindly clarify what you mean by fake? i mean it is not built by byd or chery or some other chinese brand and labled as a peugeot. it is built by peugeot themselves, and also sold bu peugeot themselves. i don’t see anything fake about this.

• Malaysia Tak Boleh on Feb 24, 2011 at 3:12 pm

Singapore had also 207 hatch that doesn’t mean they like it or afford it. Look at Toyota, the Yaris sedan (aka Vios) outsell the Yaris hatchback in Singapore because this country is in the ASEAN region.

• unlogic on Feb 21, 2011 at 10:38 pm

Honestly I feel more proud if big automotive brand cars have “Made in Malaysia” tag that export to all over the world. Just like Sony Walkman. Even in Japan, Sony Walkman Japanese domestic models also “Made in Malaysia”. Cool isn’t it? :D

• I go to showroom to see Peugeot 207 and it is worse than Saga BLM. Why anyone would buy that crap at 2x the price of BLM?

• EW10A on Feb 22, 2011 at 10:15 am

I think you went to a Perodua showroom by mistake.

• u go n c. i suggest, u go n test drive. double joy n confidence. worthy to buy 2x price. plus the cheapest continental in Malaysia

• Go Naza go.

Another step to help in reversing back the direction of the cash flow to the north.

• VeyronEB16.4 on Feb 21, 2011 at 11:28 pm

for all the investments and efforts, just 300 found its owners?

wooow… wipe that smile of your face nasim…

• penalty kick on Feb 21, 2011 at 11:49 pm

306 units in January VeyronEB16.4 .
      Either you are having difficulties reading or
      you have very low EQ.
      Proton should learn a thing or two from Nasim
      and do justice to its under utilised assembly plant.

• laluan sehala on Feb 22, 2011 at 11:15 am

they launched in november 2010. start registering cars in jan 2011 only. so, it sounds pretty good already.

• slekuzen on Feb 21, 2011 at 11:50 pm

Is it me or is this factory (picture) some ancient cave?
    It seems that the chassis of the car is on a cart rather than a chain/conveyor belt??!! What kind of factories does Nasim use?

Any clarification Paul

I’m just shocked by the picture.
    Comments?!

• If I can recall correctly, Naza’s philosophy in can industry is roughly “it is not what you can built but what you can sell”.

So to Naza – conveyor belt or trolley, China or Europe, cave or Tanjung Malim are all secondary. 300 plus units per month is the ultimate measurement.

• laluan sehala on Feb 22, 2011 at 11:13 am

could it be possible that the chassis was deliberately placed on the cart for the ambassador to see? and that the picture was not taken at the actual assembly line? possible right?

• drMpower on Feb 21, 2011 at 11:54 pm

they cant move the cars fast enough
    if u gone to their assembly plant there
    u will see a sea of cars
    sorentos, the first gen mpv i forgot what its called – the one is very heavy and 2 litres citra?
    then the Pugs
    they are all over the place

and not so far
    there is petronas’ fertilizer plant
    the area is full of chemical substances and molecules
    wonder whats the effects to the vehicles
    whether the paint wont last as long as guarantee say of which i think its okay because the cars die faster

• Are you sure drMpower says?

slekuzen …. from the pic, it kinda look funny the chasis is on some trolley ??

Paul care to clarify ?

• Paul Tan on Feb 22, 2011 at 12:25 am

i don’t really know what’s going on there as i’ve never been there. the car on the trolley could be there to show the Ambassador or something

• drMpower on Feb 22, 2011 at 1:58 pm

i am pretty sure about the area
        cause its sooo near to my old man’s place
        basically i grow up there ;)
        we were kinda baffled as well when both set up shop there
        as for the korean cars die faster
        ala
        take it as a sarcasm je
        nothing much really
        i am pretty sure some are really good
        peace?

• nabill on Feb 22, 2011 at 12:35 am

ive seen the car in flesh few times in car parks and on the road…it looks impossibly ugly…horrible design

• as long it’s trouble free car then it will nail up of course .Proudly assemble by local people.

• so far the engine in the 207 is quite reliable mah. don’t hear any issues with it.

• SoMeOnE on Feb 22, 2011 at 5:47 am

whats interesting about this partnerships are the signs of things to come….as they find more sucess..they would bring more of their top models here to be locally made and that is only a good sign for us Malaysians.. the 207 was always primed for the export market as the b segment here is run by the Japs… and im sure they KNEW that

im no peugeot fan but im a fan of good designs and cutting edge tech and this company seems to be moving into a ‘golden period’ of sorts after many years watching other eat thier share in europe etc…this could only mean that in the next decade we might just see the best of peugeot and most importantly.we MAY enjoy them wit much lower prices…..

• sacofa on Feb 22, 2011 at 8:22 am

With current Peugeot quality made by nasim…… it will only embarrass Malaysia!! Known problematic car…….

• sacofa on Feb 22, 2011 at 8:23 am

With current Peugeot quality made by nasim…… it will only embarrass Malaysia!!

• cardreamer on Feb 22, 2011 at 8:40 am

They don’t need a conveyor type mover aren’t they? They are merely assembling the things and at their production pace, they don’t really need to invest heavily on conveyor type platform for their assembly line moves slower than those mass production car manufacturers. Thus the cost reduction ‘may’ goes to you people. Remember, they are just assembler, not manufacturer. If Proton put your Persona on this ‘troley’, than you may say what ever you like..ha..ha…

• Ordinary Joe on Feb 22, 2011 at 10:38 am

I always smell envy in comments whenever there is news on naza.

• i tot the facelift Saga takes the cake for being the most awkward looking car currently….

• laluan sehala on Feb 22, 2011 at 11:16 am

actually, to me the saga looks pretty good for what it is and what it is designed to offer.

• intermilan on Feb 22, 2011 at 8:46 pm

306 units is a good base to built on.
    obviously feb figure will be lower.
    good indicator will be march sales figure.

• yup. traditionally, the month after chinese new year will be quite terrible for car companies.

• it is called a jig….it was used by proton assembly plant in pekan pahang in the 90s….

• P1 better wake up. it has already been surpassed by P2 and soon Nasim will too.

• FXXX Malaysia on Feb 23, 2011 at 11:02 pm

Indonesia also have 207 hatch, CC and SW, so who wants to buy 207 sedan there? Funny speculation.

• the 207 hatch costs a lot more there than the 207 sedan in indonesia. so the 207 sedan will cater to a different income segment. just because there is a hatch there doesn’t mean everyone likes it or can afford it. you need to know that asean markets generally still favour sedan bodystyles and this form provides the highest sales compared to hatchbacks. this is not europe where hatchbacks sell more.

• Malaysia Tak Boleh on Feb 24, 2011 at 3:07 pm

Fuel prices in Indonesia is very expensive, so the Indons turned to buy hatchbacks, and their government add luxury taxes to sedan and make them more expensive than hatchback counterparts, just like the Jazz and Yaris hatchback outsell the City and the Yaris sedan (aka Vios), and listed into top 10 best seller list. But not all Indons like 207 hatch, due to the design is too bold which is made for rallying.

• i see. but isn’t the tax difference for sedan vs hatchback only applicable to cars below 1.5L? i googled it and found this article:

http://indonesia-cars.com/1032/various-taxes-of-new-car-price/

the 207 is a 1.6L car and should be excluded from the tax differential right?

for 2wd passenger car (SUV, City car/Hatchback, MPV) with engine below 1500 cc, luxury tax will be charged for 10% of the FOB price. the 207 is a 1.6L. so, does this apply?

• Toyota Yaris Sedan aka Vios on Feb 24, 2011 at 8:54 pm

I’m also googled and found this article:

http://indonesia-cars.com/2329/2011-ford-fiesta-sedan/

Had you mentioned that, in Indonesia auto industry, the luxury taxes for sedan models for about 15 percent higher than the hatchback, just like in Singapore, the luxury taxes for the pickup trucks for 20 percent higher than passenger cars.

• i read that article too. somehow, it does not seem to be very cohesive and there is no clear indication of what is taxed how much. i guess we can only guess about the taxation scheme in indonesia. unlike the maa website for malaysia, i can’t find a similar table for car taxes in indonesia.