Proton reports RM52 million loss in Q3 FY 2010/11

Proton reports RM52 million loss in Q3 FY 2010/11Proton has reported a loss of RM52 million for Q3 of its 2010/2011 financial year, down from a RM81 million profit in Q2 of the 2010/2011 financial year. This resulted in a lower profit before tax of RM134 million for the first 9 months of the current financial year, compared to RM248 million for the same period of time in the last financial year.

Cumulative revenue as of 31st December 2010 was higher though compared to the same period in the last financial year – RM6.36 billion versus RM5.97 billion.

The losses were attributed to higher R&D and branding expenditure as well as restructuring expenses incurred as part of the business transformation plan of Group Lotus. The primary contributors to the loss were said to be higher marketing and selling costs for its cars as well as lower domestic sales volume due to competitors aggressively lowering prices during the seasonal break, as well as traditionally slower end of year demand.

Looking ahead, Proton is expecting to do well for the Q4 financial quarter as it says deliveries of the Proton Inspira and the recently launched Saga FL will support higher sales. Proton sold 15,805 units in January 2011. Its total sales for 2010 was 157,274 units.

“We are confident that our current strategy built on the principle of offering the right car, at the right price for the right market segment, will enable it to continue to capitalize on growing domestic sales,” said Proton Group Chairman Dato’ Sri Mohd. Nadzmi Mohd. Salleh.

“As for Lotus, higher expenditure is expected as the company is undergoing a restructuring exercise, but we are confident that the restructuring plan is making good progress. This is further supported by future plans which includes more efficient spending, continuous manufacturing efficiency and a consolidated marketing strategy, which is mainly to instill greater public awareness of new models,” he added.

Proton Group Managing Director Dato’ Haji Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir also revealed that the Proton Exora E-REV and the Proton Saga EV are currently in the final stages of testing before being made commercially available. Positive signs of the mentioned higher R&D expenditure can be seen on our roads as well, such as the Proton prototype that we’ve been seeing locally as well as at the Bosch ESP testing center in Sweden.

Look after the jump for the full financial statement.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Good job Dato’ Haji Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir and Proton… hope to hear more great news in 2011 and upcoming 2012….. :)

• littlefire on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:25 pm

Sound sinis.. but really i do catch what u mean.. Haha..

• Zaidi on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:46 pm

52 million loss was good job? your comment really a good joke…

• spending on R&D isn’t exactly a waste. It’s money well spent considering a lot of good news from Proton the last few months. They just had to fork out some money with the launch of a few models last quarter. The sales will kick in only in the following quarter seeing that most sales are on 2-3 months order book.

• Hafiz on Feb 28, 2011 at 9:16 am

Nobody will say R&D as a waste, but what was the ‘GOOD JOB’ as mentioned by H2O? I can’t understand how difficult a R&D by bringing a loss to the Company, so they still not deserve to be praised.

• HirumaKecil on Feb 28, 2011 at 9:49 am

why you cannot understand.. to develop a car from scratch will cost you around rm300 million to rm1 billion.. So l RM52 million is accepted because Lotus has spend an amount of money to develop 5 model in a year.. Elite,Elan,Eterne,Elise and Esprit.. All of this car is not a joke man… This is not just a ordinary car like Civic or Prius.. And also Lotus spend amount of money in Formula 1… proton it self also spend in Rallying and the new turbo campro.. so what is so difficult to understand…

• danny on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:49 pm

300 million to develop Merc or BMW or VW or Even Volvo is cheap, but proton… after spending 300 million with plastic interior, crappy campro Engine& not even EBD, airbags and ESP… that’s a different story.

• Zaidi on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:46 pm

HirumaKecil, i thought you want to counter Hafiz by defending P1 did a ‘GOOD JOB’, but as what you wrote was RM52 million just ‘ACCEPTED’, so your comments is actually meaningless, or you should put your comment under a new thread.
            As a father, i won’t praise my child because of spending my money to study, but i will only praise them when they got an acceptable results.

• Rugi Dipuji on Feb 28, 2011 at 2:14 pm

Hiruma baca urang kata betul2, urang tak paham susahkah R&D ni bikin rugi? lu pun comen R&D memang patut rugi, ngam lah urang comen, tak kan mahu minta puji pulak, atau lu ni team R&D kah?

• Your Boss on Mar 03, 2011 at 11:26 am

woot R&D? Research and develop Proton Inspira? hahahha

• Hopefully P1 will get back the profit in next quarter as P1 expected.
      If yes, at lease we still have some hope on P1.
      If no, P1 should not give any more excuse, pls close down, it really a burden to M’sian.

26 years is a quite long time, dont always make an excuse that P1 still new once compare to other car company, only the value product will survive in the market!!!

• Black Dog on Feb 28, 2011 at 4:57 pm

If you’re a frequent investor, the phrase ‘We’ll be confident next year will be better’ is very common (during end of year report). This is all just bullshit business talk! Year after year they’ll be promising the sky and selling the future but in reality they’re always losing money again and again.

• I like this.

• Tiadaid on Feb 27, 2011 at 10:51 pm

Waiting for bashers to pounce on the news like hungry tigers!

• So Encik Tiadaid, Mr. Peynus and The rest of the Protong gang, takder Bonuslah tahun ini kan? Hahaha.

• Tiadaid on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:29 am

Boo-hoo SY0H. I don’t work for Proton.

Any rational person could see the money they spent through the mules currently testing and the concept cars for Lotus that will come to production. But bashers like you clearly chose to ignore everything.

• wuttaheck on Feb 28, 2011 at 5:20 pm

so still have bonus despite the losses?
          i should work for proton!

• meane on Feb 27, 2011 at 10:52 pm

will p1 make a comeback on Q4..?

• prolover on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:38 pm

i don’t know, but what from i know, in this Q4, proton will launch several FL model. the model are likely redesign Inspira ( not FL or something look like lancer or the current model). The Exora Turbo of cause and probably Saga FL with cvt.. but who knows..

I think Si-Fu must know the right answer…. Sifuuuuuuuuuuuuu!!!!!

• quattro on Feb 27, 2011 at 10:53 pm

good job sire….keep on turbo engine as well as new cc engine

• hayden on Feb 27, 2011 at 10:57 pm

alamak!

• 4561336 on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:00 pm

lotus make proton loss ….. but i belive in future the 5 new lotus car can help proton earn more profit …

• Sampai bila amalan “polisi tunding jari orang lain saja salah” akan diteruskan? Jadi Protong tu saja betul? 27 Juta rakyat selama 25 tahun salah?

Piece of advice; tepuk perut, tanya nafsu sendiri. Adat resam buat business, buat kerja ikhlas dan amanah. Jgn nak tekan rakyat sahaja dgn produk kualiti entah apa-apa. Now its pay back time!

• ipohMali on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:00 pm

i think VW will be laughing now… hahahah kakaka kekekek…

• 4561336 on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:00 pm

lotus make proton loss …..

but i belive in future the 5 new lotus car can help proton earn more profit …

• Lotus Concepts Production Dream on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:45 am

How many new lotus in booking list? Justify for R&D or more cash flow into Is real…

• Proton cursed by Malaysian…it’s like karma…payback for giving low quality of car but overpriced…we’ve been cheated by Proton long long time!

• taipan on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:18 am

proton not cheating malaysian.. their design is good..
      but the part’s manufacturer / supplier did !!

• manufacturer / supplier did !!???? why proton still use their products??? Sound more like finger pointing!!!! Alasan!!!!

• Roger Tan on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:13 pm

Oh boy…let the banter begin

Anyway to be fair it does cost money to do R&D and marketing, and often the results cannot be seen in the same year, let alone the same quarter

• Tiadaid on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:45 pm

Try explaining that to bashers. All they see is the word LOST MONEY and they pounce, conveniently forgetting about the Proton mule being tested in Sweden, all the spyshots reported here, the Lotus car launches and the Proton cars on display at KLIMS. Those are clear proof of where the money’s going.

• Nik Amirul on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:52 am

ko ade share dlm protong ker?

• Tiadaid on Feb 28, 2011 at 9:29 am

Nilah perangai bashers, tak nampak big picture. Pas tu bila orang terangkan jadi bodoh sombong, kuar statement macam ni. Ko nampak tak brape banyak kereta yang Proton test, ko nampak tak brape banyak kereta yang Lotus plan nak jual? Design kereta tu, engineering semua pakai duit mana?

Ko jangan nak compare dengan Perodua, diorang memang nampak mcm byk duit sebab diorang tak buat R&D pun! Tgk jelah brape byk spyshot report Proton dalam Paultan aje & compare dengan spyshot Perodua. Perodua sekadar facelift sikit, enjin pun beli aje dari Daihatsu memangla tak pakai duit banyak! Proton dahlah nak keluarkan enjin baru, model baru, dah tu pulak nak keluarkan EV pulak.

Itu belum kira Lotus lagi dgn 5 kereta baru lagi.

• rossi46 on Feb 28, 2011 at 9:58 am

If you are working in industry….(tak kisahla kompeni ape pun)…u’ll what he meant…

It is normal…for a quarter full of development and research…a manufacturer of any kind will loss the money in a quarter… pastu next quarter adela benefit die balik…

Name pun quarter…only 4months ma with huge development…what do u aspect?

• I dont know what industry u refer to..
            but normally the cost of R&D will withdraw from the partial of profit gain, but not spend over until loss..
            Let say an industry-A gain RM100million profit, then 30% of it will spend for R&D purpose, but not spend all RM100million or even more on it.
            If yes, this company must be taking a high risk!!!

• Eyesore on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:41 pm

That is where you’re wrong…RND or development new car…is not done in just one quarter…. It will spread over the period of 1 year or even 2 years…it is normal in early stages of a development you spend quite a high amount of money bcoz that’s where all the important stages of any development because loads of designing, modification and changes need to be done and this stage also expertise of external consultant is mainly used… towards the end..less and less money will be used since only refining the models is needed..that’s why Tiadaid and some others is saying do not just look at 3rd quarter…you need to look at full financial year result…. duh…

• Thanks for correction since im not familiar on automobile industry management.
            As mentioned, R&D may take few years to get back the profit? But the R&D is continuous activities, mean one company with continuous R&D will having continuous loss and it should be normal???
            Emm.. try to accept ur excuse..
            Let us wait and c how the P1 gain in next quarter la..

• 4561336 on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:13 pm

Lotus make proton loss, but i believe in future Lotus (5 new car) can help proton earn more profit

• Well Done on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:15 pm

Congratz Proton for been survive in this bad economy time and challenge from other car maker.

Keep it up! One day you will be the leader in Asia market

• The government ‘R&D grant’ (=taxpayer money) is always there to help Proton cover-up the losses, and foreign cars are taxed/duty so heavily, so don’t worry Proton, you won’t go bankrupt….Malaysia Boleh !!!

• f1-fanatic on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:15 am

as you mentioned, the R&D grant is given for R&D. You can’t use it to cover overall losses. Also, any car manufacturer can apply for the R&D grant if they are eligible.

• Carl Wong on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:31 pm

Unbelievable since they’re selling their cars at an expensive price and are selling a lot since there are no competition.

• What are you talking? Proton has always sold cheap cars – in Thailand where they are on a fair playing field (no tax benefits), they are still the chepeast in their segment and compete directly with the japanese makes…. despite being more expensive in Thailand than Malaysia.

Note online prices are not OTR like prices advertised in malaysia.

• have u check whether those sold in thailand are of better quality!
        When i was studying in Aus my fr got a proton aeroback cheaper and better quality when compare to those proton aeroback in malaysia! check pls before you comment!

• biggie on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:26 am

as somebody who live at the border of Thailand, I can tell you that the one sold in Thailand is the same as in Malaysia. However, the accessories (radio, rims and upholstery) are of lesser qualities. To those who live in the border they prefer to get M’sian version.

• Johnny on Feb 28, 2011 at 9:15 am

Proton sell cheap cars? That is just BS. Because of the tax structure, yes. Are they actually cheap? No. Mind explaining why Lancer is much cheaper than Inspira in Langkawi? Mind explaining why better spec n quality proton were sold in the UK and Aussie at cheaper price? No offense proton. But until u start treating Malaysians better, many would still be bashing u.

• kerelbort on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:44 am

lancer cheap than inspira . inspira need to pay royalty or such to mitsu thus higher price.

better spec/quality in oversea. ppl there know better to maintain their car than us, how they drive contribute too. but what do you mean better spec in oversea? ABS and airbag consider better spec? while here in Malaysia small kids still ride in the front passenger seat or not wearing seatbelt driver, i prefer no airbag than those that would kill. also, cheap airbag = no thanks.

• danny on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:57 pm

Man, you sure know an angle to see things better, so Mr. Q

Airbag is a must in most countries, this is not a feature, is a must! If proton decided to pay the royalty, they should know better they can sell. Plus royalty or not, proton should be able to sell a lot cheaper, because they made in Malaysia.

If according to what you said is right, Proton shouldn’t be in the business, they pay so much royalty just to sell few units and make a loss of 50+ mil? Proton is a disgrace to the country.

• Mr. Carl Wong, I too have similar thoughts like you last time. How can a company heavily protected, monopolized the local car industry market, provided with R&D grant by the government (tax payers’ money) and yet still not making much profit after 25 years?

That’s an answer even a blind man can answer (exception to blind supporters, Protong salesman, staffs and vendors).

But no worries, for as long our Boleh government is still around, the Protong people can still keep their jobs (of course with the rakyat’s expense). Kudos!

• wasTe_bucKet on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:08 am

I dont know if you are plain dumb or or too stupid to understand simple facts..

proton is not funded by the government and they do earn their own money

R&D money is not only given to proton alone..Universities, and other sector/industries do get R&D funding from the Government

Without R&D our country will remain as 3rd world country forever

if you think proton is not producing cars up to your high standards then dont buy a proton ans stop complaining the same old thing again!!

even the koreans took more than 40 years to reach where they are now and Proton is doing ok right now being a small company with limited resources.

talk based on facts and done sell your same crap here all the time..it makes you look childish and immature and it irritates people as well

if you think proton is crap then you are crap as well repeating the same stupid stuffs again and again.

NAP maybe existed because of Proton but it is not here now because of Proton

the goverment will still use NAP even if you close down proton so it is not related to proton.

no one forced you to buy a car and a proton!!if you made the choice then you pay the price.

dont be a typical malaysian..sit down and complain all day long but do nothing about it!!

if you have put all you time a effort to solve proton’s power window problem atleast you might have made some cash instead of talk trash here..

if you are unhappy about the NAP write a letter to the G,if they dont bother about your letter,stage a protest, make effort to change the G or else shut up and dont waste time writing here like a small kid!!

people in this nation love to complain but remains the same,if we dont make effort to change things,how can you expect changes to be made??(if everyone think like you!!)

so think again!!

• hi dude..if u got a chance between proton and honda or toyota..all almost at the same price..which brand would u choose?..lol

• wasTe_bucKet on Feb 28, 2011 at 4:19 pm

again it is sad to see people’s mentality never change even with education and etc

it is not the matter of brand name or crap..honda is a japanese company and when you buy a honda you are helping japanese economy not ours.maybe short term we might benefit via sales and tax but in long term we dont benefit much and our market will be controlled by a foreign company!!!thats the whole point!!!

if you give a man a fish everyday he will only survive till the day you feed him..if you teach a man to fish he can live forever on his own..

that the point.we are learning to make cars and engines..

someone mention an example about kids..

if your kids fail or dont excel in standard would you give up and stop them from school???

you wouldnt… you would still send them to school,you would help them by teaching them yourself and also send them to tuition and monitor their progress..

so think wisely…R&D investment is a must for the company to progress in the future…

do you know how many times large foreign automotive giants have been helped by their respective government?

google it..and you will know…

and Proton do sell cars as well if you fail to realise that..last year they sold 150000 plus cars…so thats how they pay the salary for their staff and all

plus being public listed does not mean wasting people’s money..people who choose to buy proton’s share and not forced to…share market is an investment and people who buy those shares knows the risk as well..

and no one is forced to buy proton’s share.

• SeriuosSAM on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:44 am

yeah dude you are right!!!!
          PROTON not funded by government…
          even IF PROTON need a bail out
          they will not ask gomen for some cash
          PROTON is one excellent car manufacturer
          proud of the nation who own british super car company LOTUS

lot of love for PROTON

mmmmmmmuuaahhssss

:D

• Andrew on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:28 am

u r wrong… read this.. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proton_(carmaker)

Proton is still under Khazanah and Proton is a public listed company, their “HARD EARN MONEY” is from the shareholders!!! OMG… every year tis company make losses, how to pay their staff salaries??? where are those money come?? From shareholders la… shareholders = people’s money

Yes we must love our products but if they failed we should critic them too.. just same like your children if ur child every year flunk his/her exam, what would u do?? Dun blindly lover please… Dun over pampered them please…

Do business is very straight foward.. if u lose, better shut it off, dun talk about giving 30 more years of chances to win??? how many 30yrs do u have?? dun go n tell people u wanna lose it for 30yrs.. OMG…

• Tiadaid on Feb 28, 2011 at 3:58 pm

Business is straight forward eh? Do you know that when McDonald’s first expanded overseas, they started in Holland. It took them 12 years before they can make a profit. So, by your reckoning, McDonald’s should have closed shop even before they reached their 3rd year. And then what would happen?

Certainly you won’t be seeing McDonald’s in the UK, let alone here!

• littlefire on Mar 01, 2011 at 9:13 am

I dont think P1 can sell volumn like McD.. Besides that McD doent get so much loan or bond from the G to support them also… They do work hard from down to up.. That why i solute them.. Sorry fast food & cars dont mix…

• Seriously on Mar 01, 2011 at 9:08 am

It’s funny how you keep saying “if you dont like proton, don’t buy it and stop complaining”. It’s obvious that the people who dislike proton wouldnt buy one, but how does that relate to commenting about an issue as big as this? Do realise, this is something of national interest, so definitely you’ll get people interested to read and comment either way.

In short, don’t get so touchy about people ‘negatively commenting’ about Proton. This is why I like dissing Proton, cause their fanboys are so sensitive and it’s always a pleasure irritating them.

• totally agree with you. proton should just close down! waste of Malaysian tax payer money! close down Proton and remove the stupid AP! do know how much more economic benefit we Malaysian as a whole will benefit!
      Do you realize we Malaysia cars, i think the top ten most expensive among the developing world!
      How much an average Malaysian spend their income on cars! all those money spend gone to only a few person pockets! imagine if the AP is remove, Proton close shop! cars are cheaper in malaysia, everyone can spend less on car and more on other things! than the whole retails in Malaysia and many other industrial will thrive! we Malaysian overall will benefit! we Malaysia still have the opportnity to be the car city of ASEAN! open up the market!

• then how gov going to collect those tax…
        see,, i not say that i disagree to remove NAP tax,,,i just asking ,, NAP tax is a lot man… only stupid gov will let it go just like that………..

same goes to casino tax, all this while those islamic extremist want to remove genting casino,,,but gov disagree,,,because it contribute to gov tax….but that not the point

the point is, to remove NAP tax, we ,as a smart/realistic citizen, must also understand that other tax will be increase or introduce… eg: income tax may increase, singapore have COE,

• firefox on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:24 pm

taxes, bumi and stability of malaysia make an issue for foreign investor invest in malaysia, only islamic country will do, even our PM said 1 malaysia, but frankly, i never see any improvement, look at AP, then we knew it, look at proton, MAS..etc

taxes make a big issue for malaysian also, i own a IT company in malaysia, want to get the goc project, disqualify, coz not bumi, tax pay min 28% yearly, now i move my company to HK and SG..i paid less then 15% pa, so for me , it make a lot of different,

in order for recruiting more investor, malaysia market should open , free trade zone as SG, HK..etc, SG previous PM MR LEE said…he will give u the tools and seeds? u gonna make it urslef, better then feed you but malaysia is turn over…
          so that is why Lee make SG races rich, but in malaysia, only small little bumi population is rich, others still very pools….

unless our PM still believe malaysia citizen cannot be survive on this environment, or maybe others reason which we don’t know, hopefully malaysia will be change and transform…

• ermm,,in that case gov should follow SG i guess… including make sure all opponent party face bankruptcy too… so it is easy to remove certain policy like NAP…because current PM got his support from people who depend on AP and people who depend that bumi status … i don’t think he will be there without them ….. he definitely have to use ISA to make sure his ‘new’ policy will make sure he stay in power to improve economy for the minority of his supporter…. i think that good idea to a PM….

• EP Ali on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:38 pm

Look at the cash in hand … slowly depleting from
    1.3 bil to 936 mil !! Wonder how much would be left
    after their venture into F1 , India and Lotus capital injection.
    And we have DSZ & DNS supporters still cheering them on !!!
    Even EPF reducing its stake.
    Poor shareholders ,the Bursa is hovering near its high and yet
    Proton’s share price is heading the opposite ! Good job !!??
    After all the hoo-haa about the Emas and yet DSZ can only
    announce that Saga EV will be launched … Pathetic !!

• Tiadaid on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:25 am

Venture into India to make money, Lotus capital injection to make money. Are you telling me we should keep the money in the bank and don’t do anything to make MORE money?

And the only reason DSZ’s talking about EV is because Emas, CFE Turbo & Persona Replacement have been talked to death! Go search for Proton news on this website and see for yourself! People already know they can expect Turbo Exora this year and Persona Replacement & Emas next year, so why need to publicise it? Take a look at all the spyshot report and you’ll see where the money went, they have several models in the pipeline.

• Just put money in bank is no good for business too. You need to make sure that the money generates profit. There is a thing called cash flow management, you know…

• dickybird on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:40 pm

“We are confident that our current strategy built on the principle of offering the right car, at the right price for the right market segment, will enable it to continue to capitalize on growing domestic sales,”
    haha, i think he still thinks he works for P2. either that or he has been sniffing too much of the same campro fumes like his fanboys.

• I think you’ll find that Proton sold more cars than P2 last month, something they haven’t done in a long time. So, I think he knows what he’s talking about, unlike some people here.

• dickybird on Mar 01, 2011 at 11:59 am

and yet still made a loss?! u proton fanboys have got to put your money where your mouth is and buy more protons then. lol

• 1 quarter loss due to R&D and branding costs, but still healthy profits for the FY to date. Sales up, revenue up, Q4 looking promising based on the January sales figures. Perhaps you should take the blinkers off and actually read the article beyond the headline. Sad.

• nabill on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:48 pm

in simpe terms , their investment to revive lotus is the the reason for their loss…

short term loss , long term gain…..so as we all hope anyway…

• http://www.themotorreport.com.au/45796/2010-proton-s16-to-go-on-sale-in-december-as-australias-cheapest-car

Ouch: $11,990, about the price of a funeral. Can’t wait to see the ANCAP rating on this – I wonder if it’s possible to get a minus star-rating?

Shifter: test drive and compare to other cars available and you will see why it’s cheap. Why compromise on safety, this thing would be worse than a piece of tin foil in a crash and would probably rattle apart on our crap roads.

PSST… thx to da gov still breast feeding tis lawyar buruk proton… or else bankrupt long time ago!!!

• http://www.howsafeisyourcar.com.au/_scripts/ancap_detail.php?IID=3548&utm_source=edm&utm_medium=email&utm_content=html-ls16&utm_campaign=hsiyc-ancap

It has a three star ANCAP rating. Quite decent i’d say. The hyundai Getz, the next closest car in terms of price (being slightly more expensive), gets one star. Note that even the toyota corolla up till 2007 only scored three stars… the current gen corolla got five stars with ECT, but then again you cant compare it to a car that costs OVER TWICE (OTR price around AUD25k) that of the S16 (new saga).

It’s not the safest car around, but it’s definitely decent and safer than most used cars you can buy for AUD12000

• idlebrain on Feb 28, 2011 at 6:09 am

http://www.ancap.com.au/results?make=11&model=212&vehicleyear=0

what are you talking about? Hyundai getz has 4 stars.

• farghmee on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:24 am

are we getting the same Getz here?

• Apologies, I just googled Getz ANCAP and stumbled upon a review. Didnt realize it wasnt the latest generation.

Note that the Getz is around AUD14k in australia for a THREE DOOR variant, and it’s current generation variant is alot more expensive than the S16 (saga).

• idlebrain on Feb 28, 2011 at 6:11 am

http://www.ancap.com.au/results?make=11&model=212&vehicleyear=0

go and look if Getz has only one star…speak base on the fact

• Loss? because of Lotus? Stupid lah. Proton loss because of Proton. Don’t blame Lotus. They loss or untung the car still same quality and price is very expensive.

• SeriuosSAM on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:15 am

good job PROTON

• LE buruk on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:31 am

that is why I never buy Proton….my old LE are way reliable than the new proton.

• Oh my god, why is all this bashing? you all should leave Malaysia!!! you are not suppose to bash Proton, even though they sold you brittle filmsy loose plastic and tin-can on wheels with a price that you can buy Toyota overseas, because our government (=majority voters) say so, you have to obey and shut-up, please give Proton some more time, 30years is very fresh company, not enough time, and government need to pump more money, maybe another $2 billion R&D grant, EPF need to buy more shares, should order EPF to buy up 70% shares, plus increase duty/tax on foreign cars, so those bastard who buy foreign cars will be painfully punished !!!

• bumiputraking on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:02 am

Ya betul, sometimes i cannot understand what’s all the bashing about, you guys should really be exile from Malaysia :) , this is our pride and joy, respect and love them! not to bash them! Did you guys do managing and marketing for them? NEVER, it’s all along us doing it for you! So give proton time!

• Give Protong time? Another 25 years? 50? Or 100? Forever?

Berapa Million? Billion? Trillion? Zillion?

You’re talking as if RM52 Million loss at 3rd quarter is your RM fell from your piggy bank?

You must be kidding me, you must be that kinda spoil brat that doesn’t appreciate the real value of RM1. Let alone to make you understand RM52 Million!

Imagine how many poor folks we could help, small-medium size development plans or hospital upgrades you can do with RM52 Million.

You think this is the 1st time Protong posted LOSS? All this time (25 long pathetic years) Malaysians have not supported Protong?

LOL. You must have just recently come out from your cave hideout.

Leave Malaysia? I believe its the people with your mindset that should leave!

IGNORANT. BLIND. FOOLISH.

• akinablue on Feb 28, 2011 at 9:54 am

normal apa berniaga ada untung-rugi. hanya orang BODOH je yang tak faham pasal nih. x kira la brapa lama dah diarang berniaga. kalau takder untung-rugi..bukan la berniaga namanya. benda yg simple ni pon kau tak leh faham ke ? kang aku kata kau bangang..ko marah..kecik ati..kondem aku yg bukan2.

bn salah proton kalo ada yang masih merempat..proton macam syarikat2 lain jugak..berniaga..

org yang merempat tu pon kene la usaha..xkan pulak proton nak bagi diarang duit sara hidup bulan2. “nasib sesuatu kaum itu tak akan berubah melainkan mereka sendiri yang merubahnya”.

you sonds like politician..konon nak bantu org susah. before asking other people..brapa banyak yang ko dah bantu?? ni syarikat negara sendiri pon nak kondem..ada hati nak tolong orang konon. aku dah naik meluat dengan mentaliti orang2 malaysia yang macam ni. mual!

kalo rugi, dikondemnya..kalo untung pon masih nak cari alasan untuk kendem..langgung tak nak bagi support.

kalo tak suke kete proton pasal power window dia..tak payah nak ambik kisah..beli kete lain..abis cerita..

SUPER IGNORANT. SUPER BLIND. SUPER FOOLISH

• alamak on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:14 am

betul…niaga pasti ada untung atau…tapa fikir tengok. U dengan saya atau kebanyakan orang ada dapat support/protect daripada G macam ni? Special treat macam tu?
            Jika kita niaga sendiri dan result macam ini(tanpa support daripada G)…Sudah gulung tikar banyak tahun dulu. Jika kita rugi, itu wang kita sendiri. Tapi jika protong rugi, itu wang tanggung daripada siapa?
            Kawan ah kawan, sudah 30tahun. Lagi tak mau bagi dia sendiri jalan. Macam baby u tak bagi dia sendiri belajar jalan, dia tidak akan tahu jalan selama-lama nya.
            Sekarang zaman globalisasi, everything changing so fast. If u cannot catch u then u fail. Sekarang bukan tahun 80an. Boleh slow slow.
            Bila kami kritic, bukan semua hanya simply bash saja. Ada kritic baru ada maju.

• akinablue on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:59 am

mmg la GOV akan support sbb tu company dia..you as a share holder, u nak tgk perniagaan u lingkup ke? kalo u x nak GOV terus support dia..tukar GOV..tp rasanya GOV baru pun akan terus support.
            like NAZA, P2, even GOV don’t have share in them, GOV support jugak apa? jst hanya rebedge, tukar logo, boleh dpt status kereta NASIONAL..tp yg dpt untung sapa?jepun?korea? kita dpt apa?hanya harapkan tax je la yer??

I was in Italian+french company before)..even those GOV help this company ..sbb apa..sbb GOV tu ada share dalam company tuh..

true, kita kene cepat..x blh slow2.tp yang pelik nya..kita nak suruh org cepat..tp fikiran kita sndiri lembab(sesetengah la, yg ssh betol nak paham). macam kes nih..bila proton rugi..whoooo…duit rakyat..duit rakyat. tapi yg dok pegi DEMO,merusuh..hancurkan hak awam..kerajaan gak kne ganti semua tu..tak terpikir plak membazirkan duit rakyat.

critic is OK…tp biar yg posotif..bg cadangan macammana nak baiki..nak improve..nak untung besar..bukannya bash yg negatif. if u malaysian do not support malaysian product, siapa lagi???

yang salah ditegur, yang baik kita sokong..it is as simple as ABC what.

• DNA Y on Feb 28, 2011 at 5:17 pm

BMW, mers , alfa romeo brape thn umo diorg? 25? 35?

stupid la, kondem proton dah 25 thn la ape la.. dont say korean good la.. kereta diorg pun hampeh jgk.. setakat masuk iklan world cup toksah bising la.. sape pakai kia spectra tau le korean car not good at all..

• mata2 on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:47 pm

kau orang ni bodoh ke apa? Baca lah sampai habis. Untuk tempoh perniagaan setahun, Proton tak rugi pun. Kenapa cerita bukan2.

• focus tdci on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:24 am

love your sarcasm!

• SeriuosSAM on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:51 am

even if PROTON suffer some lose
    We as malaysian shouldn’t critic them or bash them

:)

Lot of love for PROTON

• SeriuosSAM on Feb 28, 2011 at 2:13 am

5 thumbs down…

ahhh.. come on… lets spread some love here for PROTON..

mmmuuuahhhsss …

Lots of love for PROTON

• nolan on Feb 28, 2011 at 2:29 am

so many Sagas around still no profit..? better sell roti canai…..

• Poor Malaysian on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:57 am

Proton is the most expensive car in asia….wondering how can still loss ??? maybe some stupid eat alot pocket money….!!!!

• potong on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:59 am

loss or private possession?

• VoidDance on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:06 am

Tony Fernandes is laughing.

I kid you not. Look up on his twitter.

• PROTON basher on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:26 am

“Proton and mas would hate me to live that long hahahahahahah.” – Tony Fernandes

http://plixi.com/p/80361634

• VoidDance on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:40 am

well, actually he was not laughing at Proton. He was laughing as Liverpool as they lost to his favourite team, West Ham but that is another story.

He did mentioned this; “Interesting week of results. Proton lost 60 million ringitt. This is in a good economic environment. How will they finance 400 million pound debt for dany bahr grand plans.”

This is a successful businessman view and should be taken seriously. I know a lot of people here hates him but he did make a valid point. How will Proton finance a 400 mil ‘pound’ for Lotus to expand? By loan? From whom?

On other note, I have full admiration towards DSZ and current Proton’s management as they are willing to invest quite a lot of money in future development. They are planning to produce better cars via investing in new tech such as hybrid, electric vehicle, new car etc. and this should be lauded. But to strained their own cash-flow is not quite a good business decision unless they know their plan will reap huge benefits. Lets pray it will.

Lotus on the other hand is in a bit of a mess. While their new products are breathtaking, I highly doubt they will be able to bump up their current sales from 2000 to 8000 within 5 years time, let alone 10 years, unless people in China and India suddenly becoming very rich and simply adore Lotus. Last I check, Lotus through Youngman is not having a great time in China. To spend more money just to sponsor a certain Renault is not a good business sense either. People got confused.

Good luck Proton. Hopefully when you guy can stand on your own, we can ask the Gov to stop NAP forever.

• Tiadaid on Feb 28, 2011 at 9:51 am

Tony Fernandes laughing? Yeah

AirAsia did make 1 billion profit, but look how they did it

a) By not paying MAB all the fees – they keep wanting to extend the incentive given by MAB when they were new entrants, when clearly they can afford to start paying the airport already.
      b) By practicing creative, but legal accounting – like counting airport tax as revenue (?). And lets not forget how hard they make the refund process.
      c) By not paying some of its creditors – MAS Engineering is still waiting for money due them for repairs done on AirAsia’s aircraft when it skidded off the runway at Kota Kinabalu. In 2004!

Ask any industry insider and they’ll tell you the same thing.

So if I were TF, I’d keep my mouth shut instead of being obnoxious and gleefully rubbing his nose in MAS & Proton. Did you see Tengku Azmil, CEO of MAS came out with statements when AirAsia had that skid at Kuching Airport that delayed everyone out of the airport? Did you see DSZ tweeting when one of the TF Lotuses grind to a halt at the recent test due to technical problems?

• makeitmine on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:39 am

Late payment seem to be TF hobby.

Lotus Racing – now Team Lotus – was on average almost half a year behind in its financial dealings..

Read http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/10012011/23/best-worst-bill-payers-f1.html

• maybe its time for other CEO to show their torn too,,,in a smart manner…

• proton wor..haha..time to shut down this company la

• nolan on Feb 28, 2011 at 2:27 am

i told you before that Proton need to spend their money wisely…..concentrate on R&D….

• C.K.LIM on Feb 28, 2011 at 2:55 am

Seriously I hope that the car manufacturer from Jap or Euro could take over ‘Proton’, not because they loss but we really want to see some good quality products, also more reliable…

Take the recently recall issues fr Honda & Toyota, it wasn’t because their cars are poor quality, it is because the manufacturer responsible for their products. Anyone owned a Proton Wira, you will notice the power window is actually can’t function well especially at the driver and front passanger side. I strongly agreed this is the manufacturing and design defect, yet did Proton recall the Wira? I don’t think so, because most of the people thought this is ‘a common’ problem, who cares??? There are too many manufacturing defect from ‘Proton’ and I think these should be the responsible from Proton.

How much time do we need to give to Proton? Another 10, 20 or 30 years??? Where are we? We (Proton) still in Malaysia, yeah, Malaysian made car should just ‘stay’ in Malaysia. Do you agree?

• Tiadaid on Feb 28, 2011 at 9:15 am

Toyota responsible? You conveniently forget the fact that they recalled their cars ONLY AFTER A FAMILY DIED IN ONE OF THEIR CARS! Same goes for Honda, their Jazz recall was done only after a baby DIED IN ONE OF THEIR CARS! You call that responsible?

• Nissan on Feb 28, 2011 at 2:50 pm

yet how many has died in protong? any recall from protong in history?

• C.K.LIM on Feb 28, 2011 at 6:46 pm

Haha Dude…

Lets see… a very simple example, IF… TOYOTA ALTIS 1.6L selling at just 10K higher than POTONG PERSONA 1.6L in M’sia… anyone one still go for POTONG? Our consumers are not blind…

• fuel cell phone on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:00 pm

hmm, let see, the altis 1.6e is only around 7.5k higher than persona 1.6 h-line… in langkawi ;-P

imagine this pricing applicable to the whole bolehland

• linear_system on Mar 01, 2011 at 11:35 am

if add that another 7.5k to pesona,than pesona standard will be much higher to altis 1.6..just bcos brand image ppl will opted to toyota..

• Jamal on Mar 01, 2011 at 12:59 am

You don’t have to worry, Proton already stop producing Proton Wira.

Maybe you can use Exora, Saga or Inspira as a reference.

• Jamal on Mar 01, 2011 at 1:05 am

You are talking about car (Proton Wira) which has been stop producing by Proton.

Why don’t you ask Exora, Saga or Inspira owner about their car problem.

• C.K.LIM on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:58 am

Well Dude…

This was just my personal experience, i had too many bad experiences with POTONG, 1997 Wira 1.5GL, 1999 Wira 1.6GLI, 2004 WAJA Auto… The reason i bought POTONG because i have no choice and have to go for the budget car, not bacause i like POTONG, it is because POTONG offer the cheapest car in Malaysia market.

Not talking about the quality of these cars that i owned before, because there is NO quality at all… poor assembly of parts, no matter is exterior parts or interior parts, dashboard was not fit properly, always got ‘yit yit yek yek’ sounds… and my WAJA even has short circuit problem with the alarm system after 1 week i got the new car from POTONG!!! I always need replace the bulbs, (Head lights, tail lights, break lights…) Everytime i complain to the service centre, the mechanic always tell me : OH, ITULAH ‘COMMON’ PROBLEM, BUKAN U KENA, RAMAI PUN KOMPLAIN, TAPI I CUBA REPAIR LA, TAK BOLEH GARANTI BAIK, TAPI CUBA LAH… I have wrote a letter to the HQ to make a complain, they acknowledged, and believe it, until now i’m still waiting for their answer!!!

So… in year 2007, i have made up my mind, to abandon POTONG, go for PERUT DUA MYVI… and surprisingly, the build quality is much more better than POTONG, parts fitted properly, the dashboard finishing is good and just i reliased how PERUT DUA can survice. Currently there are only 3 models selling at PERUT DUA, VIVA, MYVI & ALZA… and all these models are selling very well. Tumb UP!

Year 2009 i decided to give POTONG another chance, SAGA BLM for my wife, and I sold the car end of Dec 2010, the commentssss…. SIGH… POOR POOR POOR, just a piece of crap metal!!! It is just an object with four rotating wheels… heavy fuel consumption… too many and i just pity to those people who bought the SAGA BLM, they are pity like me.

And now, my wife is happy with her Suzuki Switf, and I’m happy with my H.Civic… at least… we will not suffer the smell when following the Alam Flora Rubbish Truck!

Thanks to note
        Just my 2cens

• peYno on Feb 28, 2011 at 4:29 am

Q1, Q2… profit
    Q3… loss
    Q4.. expected to be profit

Total .. profit

• peYno on Feb 28, 2011 at 4:33 am

neway, up till now, i still can’t find other “national car maker” such Perodua and Naza’s financial report…

• Mr. Peynus,

I hope your protong boss will give your cyber-relationship department some bonus (despite the losses). I think you deserve it, you actually worked hard all this years defending protong in this forum. Hahaha.

• w0w.. i can see lots of Potong cyber troopers here!

• littlefire on Feb 28, 2011 at 9:54 am

Maybe P1 paid too much for the P1 cyber troopers (R&D stage to boost P1 fame in the net, LOL!) that why… :P

• biggie on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:47 pm

not enough P2 and T salesman around? mostly busy filling out their resume

• Potong will bleed summore when F1 new season starts

• azrai on Feb 28, 2011 at 7:47 am

As I said before, Lotus had been dragging Proton along when ‘the ship is sunken’. Hopefully Danny Bahar will turn that around and i don’t want to hear proton is selling lotus for 1Euro.

• fuel cell phone on Feb 28, 2011 at 7:51 am

perhaps when p1 has all the new lineups ready, our g could lift up or greatly reduce taxes of imported cars and let the true competition begins, but the question is when?

• llgriver on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:44 am

put your logo on ferrari and add more 50mill on your loss

• Hopefully Proton can earn some money back from F1 team racing.

• C.K.LIM on Feb 28, 2011 at 9:38 am

To Tiadaid:

So no people died in Proton? At least T & H doing something after the incidents, can you very confirm no people died in Proton due to the manufacturing defect? Can you 100% sure? If Proton is good then the CAR should selling well in the global, yet why still in Malaysia? Because Malaysian should die in Malaysian made car? Perhaps we are Malaysian, and we have ‘NO CHOICE’, haha…

Thanks to note

• biggie on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:52 pm

can you confirmed it do happen? If it does then there will be mandatory recalled as what happened to Toyota in the US and after that they willingly recall all their unsafe cars (although none from Malaysia being recalled even the same model being recalled elsewhere). Maybe buyers of T&H in Malaysia are willing to die in their beloved cars.

Even without fatal incident Proton has recalled Savvy and Gen2 for bearing and airbags defect.

• Sarif on Feb 28, 2011 at 4:06 pm

T model lebih selamat dari Persona?? VIOS?? Cuba cari dalam google “vios terbabas” hasil carian adalah sebanyak 544 dalam (0.08 saat). beberapa kereta jenis lain sebagai perbandingan spt di bawah:

“viva terbabas” = 919 hasil
        “wira t…erbabas” = 650 hasil
        “vios terbabas” = 544 hasil
        “kancil terbabas” = 516 hasil
        “myvi terbabas” = 295 hasil
        “waja terbabas” = 52 hasil
        “city terbabas” = 5 hasil
        “persona terbabas” = 4 hasil

p/s: Kereta buatan T yg handling macam sampan jauh lebih bahaya.. INGAT HATI-HATI DI JALAN RAYA… Faham akan keupayaan jenama T yg berkenaan… jgn cuba nak layan koner spt memiliki Lotus handling

• hexagon on Mar 01, 2011 at 10:27 am

hahaha yer betulll…. T punye keta memang macam sampan handling nya..hahaha better p1 punye handling berbanding T & H.

• Sarif on Feb 28, 2011 at 3:57 pm

Mana lebih bahaya? T, H atau P? Untuk menganalisis sikit cuba cari dalam google “vios terbabas” hasil carian adalah sebanyak 544 dalam (0.08 saat). beberapa kereta jenis lain sebagai perbandingan spt di bawah:

“viva terbabas” = 919 hasil
      “wira t…erbabas” = 650 hasil
      “vios terbabas” = 544 hasil
      “kancil terbabas” = 516 hasil
      “myvi terbabas” = 295 hasil
      “waja terbabas” = 52 hasil
      “city terbabas” = 5 hasil
      “persona terbabas” = 4 hasil

p/s: T&H yg laku di jual di Malaysia, handling macam sampan..

• i will say P1 handling is good, but the t & H also not bad.
        the way u analisis base on the search result is totally not accepted. The figures not show the actual cars by brand but only show how many news been upload into the wedsite by the writer interest..

• ketelaju on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:18 am

tergelak besor aku baca komen korang…sembang cm company ko je yg rugi…hahaha =0 lol

• rossi46 on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:23 am

Wa…paultan should have another blog specially for Proton site…
    Every Proton topics will have a looooooooooooooooooooooootttt of comments :)

• waimak on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:51 am

wow, amazing looking at these comments. Proton actually suffers from raputation rather than its product. i dont think a company would intentionally want to give poor products to their customers – that’s digging your own grave. By the way, that so called ‘proton-cheating-malaysians-ripping tax payers-money’ kind of remark is so yesterday, becos for some they know its not exactly ture. try give better comments lah.

• JoeGTi on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:54 am

I think Danny Bahar needs to ensure Proton will never ever loss again due to Lotus.
    Slash more Brits working level to get good result in your next 5 cars.
    Lotus project is failure is always like an iceberg, it will explode just before the mass production.
    Look at SRM and MSX!!
    Do not suck our tax payer money!!!

• ecofriendly on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:54 pm

balik2 tax payer money.. mcm lah duit kau tu bnyk sgt bayar tax..

• elite on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:54 am

proton is like the arabs of the automotive world (just ask lotus staff)…useless company that foreigners love to make use

• HOORAY!!

• not_ah_beng on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:40 am

POTONG the national embarrassment losing money again and again and again.

CLOSE SHOP LA you idiot. Can’t wait until the Doctor is 6-feet under so one of his successors can close the chapter on this money-sucking pit that sucks money from the Govt coffer and ordinary peoples wallet and returns substandard crap out.

• akinablue on Feb 28, 2011 at 2:33 pm

it is more embarrass if u claim it in a NATIONAL car but actually it is just a re-badge..and even not trying to develop their own car..lagi malu seh.
      pastu org beli..tukar logo..and claim that is the ori JDM car..hahahahah..suck!

• Faisal on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:42 am

hope this is a short term loss but long term gain.. r & d maaa..

• as for R&D, if the end product is world class than its good but if you spend billions redesigning bumpers then its crap. Money spent on F1 and all that stuff its a total waste, people will recognise the proton brand yes but, they would also see than proton products seriously needs some catching up to do in all aspects. Lotus brand needs the transformation to survive i have to agree, in fact proton needs to even be more serious in transforming itself as its still got poor product line and an obsolete powerplant. I would really spend money on those even if proton lose money for the next few years as the intellectual properties would be higher value to the long term survival of the company..bangun proton, don’t let glamour get ahead of your products..if your product are good everyone will know you.

• Unforgiven on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:08 pm

My today’s mindset tell me that if you are driving a Proton, you are driving the lousiest car on the road. I’m actually trying very hard to move away from Proton.

I believe Proton themselves establish that image/mindset over the years by intentionally produce an inferior quality products. I’m guessing it’s somehow related to corruption over the 25 years.

Good luck!

• The comments I see here on proton’s Q3 results announcement basically prove that generally Malaysians are still novice & inexperience when it comes to understanding financial results announcements, or how we should analyse a business entity’s turnaround initiatives and the outcome ..

The huge retained profits proton accumulated since incorporation basically says that proton is a profitable entity. The issue now is, how does the current top management steer proton to continue to be a profitable business for the next 10 or 20 years, (ideally) without relying on just local demand and gov’t grant (btw, most developed nations continue to “support” local companies identified in industries with strategic national interest and in this case, local automotive industry which employ thousands of workers).

We shouldn’t get confused when sharing feedbacks between the product (cars) and the producer (car manufacturer or assembler). It is a normal practice to compare between the local produced cars (& foreign brand cars) but it would be unwise to apply the same analysis on the producers’ financial results ie. comparing DIRECTLY proton’s financial results against perodua or naza, as certain variables in the income statements are dissimilar between these companies, despite being in the same automotive industry.

If you are a car enthusiast, then stick to sharing comments relating to the product (ie. cars). Let the people who are more familiar with the numbers and industry to analyse and compare the financial results of the companies.

• farghmee on Feb 28, 2011 at 3:30 pm

i really like ur last paragraph.
      for me it sounds like:
      send ur 7series for service at appointed SC,
      not to those untrained&ill-equipped under-cherry-tree workshops :P

• Tengokaje.. on Mar 01, 2011 at 8:03 am

Agreed…let’s those whose expert in figures & numbers done their job.

Salam…

• Razor on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:36 pm

i will laugh my ass off when Dany Bahar bankrupts Lotus and Proton with it in a few years. The arrogant overambitious ego centric that Dany is..

I pity malaysians looking up to him and his 5 new toy models, ppl in birtain and elsewhere has been criticizing this dude since he become top at Lotus

• proton where can bankrupt..fully supported by M’sia taxpayers..

• to all basher and to all supporter….you must admit it, its just fun to read comments about proton right?? haha

• HAHAHA…

easy to digest…

I sell cars…
    I got 180mil for first six months..

then I going to make-up my existing car at my garrage…
    I spent 50mil over my quarterly sales..
    So I have go to the bank and pay the mods using money from my previous months sales…

In account I loss 50M for past 3 months..
    but for the past 9 months I got 130M profit!!!

faham ke tak ni?…

• TAXpayer on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:58 pm

HAHA….morons of the century!!

• What is there RM52mil. Tan Koon Suan’ Pan Electric lost hundres of mil and Eric Chia’s Perwaja lost more than RM10 bil. Take it easy man ..!

• SYOH Fucker on Feb 28, 2011 at 4:06 pm

The most knowledgeable Malaysian here,that if he’s a Malaysian la

• DNA Y on Feb 28, 2011 at 5:14 pm

yg ader byk duit mampu beli merc/ bm x bising pun..

yg x mampu nak pakai even T/H ni je yg kecoh.. NAP la, tax la, protection la bla..bla…. haha.. sian la kat diorg..

• Limp Kopi on Feb 28, 2011 at 5:15 pm

AFTER SO MUCH OF GOVT ASSISTANCE AND TAX PAYERS MONEY ,

AND YET MAKE SO MUCH LOSSES ??

HOW CAN YOU EXPECT PPL NOT TO BASH PROTON BECAUSE OF THIS??

SO, ALL U ANTI-BASHER OUT THERE, SHAME ON U TOO.

• akinablue on Feb 28, 2011 at 6:47 pm

total sales between P1 and P2 not so much different..
      but y proton says they loss money and P2 says thay r profitable?? in one year P1 loss money on 3rd quarter..before this, even last year they gained profit. why on Q3?P1 use it for RnD.
      unlike P2..they just re-badge..no need so much money..all the core RnD are done by T and D. they just order the parts and assemble..lps tu jual.

• tokmoh on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:24 am

Mana Perodua nye financial statement? Perodua is a Sdn Bhd, meh kita tengok brape byk profit repatriated ke Nippon…

• DNA Y on Feb 28, 2011 at 5:20 pm

proton.. u’ll never walk alone!

• Ini Susah lah on Feb 28, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Where the money gone? I think in the Mit pocket…bcos of rebadge. Am i correct?
    Anyone know the P.Inspira sales?

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:04 pm

for january 2011 about 1300++.
      Poor bashers,in Malaysia people go for T & H not just because of quality,there are some other reason.
      I hope one day Proton will be one of the best carmaker in the world so the bashers will eventually shut their bloody mouth.
      I know I will get thumb down from those stupid and useless bashers who only own a myvi converted to passo and claimed it as a Toyota.

• ezracopters on Feb 28, 2011 at 5:56 pm

1. don’t care if it loss @ profited..Proton will never cease to exist in Malaysia.. bashers, just accept it already laaa.. jgn jadi bodoh sangat. beside proton’s car nowadays not that bad..

2. as long as i can buy cheaper car and cheaper parts easily around my block that is good enuff for me..more money to spend on other things that may concern

3. in law, ignorant is not a defend, but may lead to reasonable doubt.. in a real world today, with all the gadgets, internet, books etc ignorant clearly meant you are BOVINE!!! basic business spending je nie..bukan tak nampak ke mana duit tu pergi pun..ish ish..

• xavier lert on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:01 pm

report lost….yala..coz they spend on investment for next next year….investmnt on machinery..R&D..and whatnot.. next yr theyll be new model comeout ..its business…u wanna gain some profit so u must invest.. so investmnt (= lost first)….profit will come later….

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:15 pm

As far as I concern,Proton did beat Perut Dua in term of sales in January 2011.
    Of course every carmaker will suffer a bit,look Toyota had their first loss a few years ago.
    Its really makes me feel like laughing like I never laughed before everytime people talk about ‘tax payer money’.
    Do all of you really pay for it.
    What I heard is only 1 million Malaysian pay their income tax.

• Car Driver on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:30 pm

There will be no Proton bashers if the Govt cars policies is non-bias and liberal and
    the rakyat are not being taken advantage of and Proton can compete on equal terms with other vehicles and yet produce good sales results.

• tranformer on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:09 pm

doesnt need to exist in the first place…. wasting rakyat monies… and feeds cronies….

• farghmee on Mar 01, 2011 at 11:18 am

“betul la tranformer.

xyah ada Proton, xyah ada simedarby, xyah ada TM etc.
      sume tu kn kita boleh panggil company luar & setup facility kt negara ni. ”

huh..susah betul nk bg faham.
      tgk la sesuatu perkara secara holistic dulu.

• aparaa on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:40 pm

biasala, nak untung mesti tanam modal.

bukan rugi pun dalam tempoh tahun kewangan tu.

bodo betul org yg dengki dgn kehebatan proton ni.

maklumle, toyota dan honda mahal nak mampos, tapi quality macam bangkai jugak!

• victorleekoonpoh on Mar 01, 2011 at 2:06 pm

bang, you ada baca history tak? toyota and honda price is not expensive if without stupid proton cars around… kalau tak tahu jangan buat pandai tau?

• Jamal on Mar 01, 2011 at 1:26 am

Basher-basher kat sini adalah kompetitor Proton, ini lah peluang diorang nak burukkan Proton supaya pembeli akan beralih ke produk diorang.

Kalau orang biasa tak kan beria iya sangat nak burukkan Proton, tak dapat apa pun.

• victorleekoonpoh on Mar 01, 2011 at 2:04 pm

the most selling car in our country still Proton and Perodua but still report loss, is this the tactics they want the govt to maintain the AP till 2015? haih… really hopeless

• Dear Mr. victorleekoonpoh,

I think you didn’t read the news lately. Perodua is very profitable with its flag models such as MyVi and Viva alone for the past few years. Although there are not the best cars out there, at least there are way reliable and fuel efficient compared to protong.

• aparaa on Mar 01, 2011 at 3:15 pm

oi viktorkepoh!

kalau takde proton, kereta2 luar second hand je yg murah kat malaysia ni tau!

tengokle tahun 80an dulu sebelum wujudnya proton.

pasal industri berat seperti protonlah rakyat menjadi kaya.

kalau kau tu dah bengap, jgnle belagak hero!

• iPAD4 on Mar 01, 2011 at 8:47 pm

To all the BASHERS here, yes Proton is a tin-can and lousy quality car, so what? Proton wasted $millions of government assistance and use it carelessly, so what? You buy foreign cars which are 50%-200% taxed more expensive, so what? Proton still need breast feeding after 30years of breast feeding, so what? The protection of Proton caused our country to loose $billions in automotive investment, so what?

If you GOT BALLS, then change government lah, don’t just empty talk, or else please go packing, hit the highway and GET OUT OF MALAYSIA !!!

• Yes yes, to all the Bashers here, please STOP your silly act, because you cannot do anything besides babbling, you cannot do anything besides complaining in coffee shops….so P1 has caused country to lost $billions automotive investment, so P1 is a tin-can and lousy car, so P1 wasted $millions of taxpayer funds, so P1 cause you to pay 50%-200% more for better foreign cars, so P1 still need breastfeeding after 30years of breastfeeding, so what? so what? keep your mouth shut….or get out of Malaysia !!!

• Unforgiven on Mar 04, 2011 at 6:14 pm

Yup, a few smart one will get out of M’sia, then importing millions of cheap labour, what will happen to M’sia? Think think think…

• strategy proton yang bangang,buat apa lah sangat nak sara orang putih..bayar tu bayar ini,akhirnya diri yang rugi.. bodoh.padan muka proton,semoga proton bankrap nanti. kalau beli teknologi nissan 10 tahun lepas,tentu skrg dah bawak [email protected] harapkan handling je dari lotus baik amik handling dari syarikat forklift@traktor lagi bagus,tahan lama lagii.oi lotus proton,lotus tak bina enjin sendiri la..campro pun dari mitsu (varian low GSR) yg reject.