Tata Pixel: Four seater Nano based concept for Europe

It’s based on the world’s cheapest car, but the Pixel concept Tata showed at Geneva looked anything but cheap. The Nano based city car concept looks like it could have been from any Japanese carmaker; in fact, it looks very familiar, just that we can’t point out exactly where we’ve seen this before!

Designed with Europe in mind, the Pixel, which is just over three metres in length, is claimed to be the most package efficient four-seater in the world. Tata says that it can comfortably accommodate four adults, which makes it more capacious than the 3+1 Toyota iQ. Tata says that those tall scissor doors allow effortless entry for all passengers in the tightest of spaces – I’m sure they didn’t have a shopping mall car park in mind!

A 1.2-litre three-cylinder turbocharged diesel engine sits in the rear of the Pixel. It’s said to be a low-friction design featuring variable coolant and oil pump and rapid warm-up systems. With a slippery shape, low rolling-resistance tyres and stop-start, the Pixel’s fuel economy is rated at 3.4 l/100km on the European combined cycle while CO2 emissions are just 89 g/km.

What’s unique here is the “Zero Turn toroidal traction-drive Infinitely Variable Transmission”. This efficient, cost-effective system assists rotation of the outer rear wheel forwards and the inner rear wheel backwards during low-speed manoeuvres, while the front wheels turn at acute angles. The result is a turning circle radius of just 2.6 metres.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2028]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• chidori on Mar 03, 2011 at 2:51 pm

yes the doors are not practical

• dartz on Mar 03, 2011 at 3:23 pm

looks like a combination of mitsubishi i

• Malcolm Lim on Mar 03, 2011 at 3:44 pm

Err..like the review says..wont that hit the ceiling in parking lots?

• Cute…

• slekuzen on Mar 03, 2011 at 4:08 pm

What the heck is this: now every automaker is designing something that looks like the EMAS?

More importantly though, if PROTON moves quick with the EMAS and releases early, they might have a huge first move advantage. VW, now Tata, even Nissan are going to release cars that are very similar.

• st3wpid on Mar 04, 2011 at 11:50 am

yup, if proton is soo damm slow, the vw will have their own version Go! and the proton will have to bite their finger only!

• mivec on Mar 03, 2011 at 4:16 pm

exterior look like tanah liat..

• Unforgiven on Mar 03, 2011 at 4:29 pm

The overall shape quite similar to their previous version, Tata Nano Europa…

• Marina Del Rey Toyota on Mar 03, 2011 at 4:56 pm

the looks is very unique and cool. but its not a practical design. these type of cars only looks good in movies.. specially in James Bond movies.. LOL. you cant open a car door such a way in a crowded road.

• farghmee on Mar 03, 2011 at 5:02 pm

hmm..the large side windows seems like hyundai concept..i dun recall.

• Hopefully they’l come up wit some practical and reasonable priced city car based on this concept. most other brands city cars are way to expensive, like the Smart. I would definitely get one if it has good consumption and right price.

• Hmmm…somehow it reminds me of Eva in the Wall-E cartoon.

• why every new concept car looks like EMAS nowadays… not exactly… but the body shape resembles EMAS…. maybe it is only me…

• peYno on Mar 03, 2011 at 6:38 pm

Bravo TATA NANO
    Perodua should learn something from TATA…
    go global. don’t be JUARA KAMPUNG only

• Ash Menon on Mar 03, 2011 at 7:13 pm

Danny, the car that you can’t quite put your finger on that it resembles, could it be that Nissan Pod thingie (the one that looks like a toad) ? It somewhat resembles the Leaf, too, in terms of that fluid styling.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 04, 2011 at 4:11 pm

I think you’re referring to the 360 degree rotating Pivo?
      It’s not that one, but it’s still not coming to me :)

• sheikomatic on Mar 03, 2011 at 8:00 pm

side look like KIA POP

• nanocar on Mar 03, 2011 at 8:55 pm

can u see the transformation from Nano to this Pixel? Tata can be a great car company..

• HAHAHA!!!!! Looks like a fly.

• use toyota design as consultant…..?

• Goa on wheels on Mar 04, 2011 at 1:41 am

This is a great concept from Tata. Hope this car makes to the ASEAN countries also

• mfahd_88 on Mar 04, 2011 at 10:52 am

the rims seems unreal to me
    mcm lukisan je..
    look after it closely
    lol

• haha… to own this car (if there really gonna made it)… 1st we need a high ceiling for that rabbit ear doors?!…. may be in india every 1 park the car on the street?

• Kyrill on Mar 07, 2011 at 11:07 am

After seeing this and an earlier posting of a VW concept, one wonders if P1 have exclusivity in the design they commissioned Italdesign Giugiaro to do? Sure looks like this is not the case, else P1 wouldn’t be sitting silently at being ripped off.