Proton R3 Satria Neo officially launched – RM79,797

Proton today officially introduced the Proton R3 Satria Neo. Built by the company’s Motorsports Division under the Race, Rally, Research (R3) brand name, the car is distinctively recognizable by its striking Fire Red exterior with a black painted roof. The car was mentioned in an earlier report, but it looks like it’s now ready to roll.

The car runs the tried and tested 1600cc Campro CPS engine, with the R3 boys upgrading its performance, with the addition of Stage 2 performance upgrades increasing power from the standard 125 bhp and 150 Nm of torque to 145 bhp at 7,000 rpm and 168 Nm of torque at 5,000 rpm. The block is coupled to a close ratio five-speed manual transmission.

The R3 Satria Neo’s promise of an exhilarating drive is further conveyed by its all-round CPS bodykit – an R3 designed rear roof spoiler, a front lip for improved down force, titanium coloured side strips and a more muscular stance as the result of a 10 mm drop in ride height.

The R3 engineers also made significant enhancements to ride and handling, with the use of specially-designed R3 performance springs for reduced body roll, recalibrated alignment, toe and camber settings for more grip and steering precision, and R3 edition 16-inch gunmetal lightweight alloys wrapped in softer compound Bridgestone Potenza RE001R 205/45 series profile tyres for better traction.

Inside, the R3 Satria Neo features a sporty, yet classy and alluring matte red and black two-tone interior, and R3 limited edition front bucket seats wrapped in nappa leather with ‘Trivel’ finish, carbon effect PVC and red stitching replaces the standard seats. There’s also matte red dashboard trims, gear console and handbrake handle, as well as two-tone door trim, R3 floor carpets, aluminium foot pedals/gear knob and an engine stop/start button.

Elsewhere, high performance brake pads, dual front airbags and ABS with EBD also get thrown in for good measure. The car also comes fitted with Ecotint solar and security film and a two-DIN audio head unit with 3D GPS navigation.

The R3 Satria Neo is priced at RM79,797 on-the-road inclusive of road tax and insurance, and can be viewed at Proton Edar’s Crystal showroom at the Proton Centre of Excellence, Shah Alam and any of the three Platinum showrooms located at Mutiara Damansara, Juru and Plentong.

Bookings can be made immediately at any of Proton Edar’s 23 sales branches throughout Peninsular Malaysia with a fee of RM2,000 and purchasers can expect the car delivered to them within four weeks of obtaining loan approval.

More hi-res studio shots after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2039]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nighttrain on Mar 07, 2011 at 1:19 pm

For 1.6 litre NA production engines, which manufacturer makes the quickest and most efficient ones? what are the specs like? I believe that would be the benchmark.

• can compare to swift sport?

• TaipARGHOwner on Mar 07, 2011 at 1:41 pm

Honda with their B16b engines I believe

• cannot coz that was last centuries model. the omission regulation wasn’t the same

• jl@ipl on Mar 08, 2011 at 11:13 am

Agree,

Emission control was the one that rob the engine power. But, giving million of cars on the road, we have to sacrifice power (and fun) for cleaner environment.

• nighttrain on Mar 07, 2011 at 1:57 pm

whoa. those B16 NA are from the 80’s and 90’s running at above 150hp.. I remember those civics and cr-x gunning down Jalan Tun Razak on Saturday nights..

• eeeriz on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:00 pm

The quickest might be B16B or C, but the most efficient should be B16A. Isn’t it?

• Wisdom on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:01 pm

Toyota Levin 4AGE 4 throttle Blacktop run as high as 170+bhp those days…..

• gabriel on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:15 pm

agree, yet, the most powerful 1.6 engine is 4age Blacktop

• lost78 on Mar 07, 2011 at 6:08 pm

it’s nissan’s sr16 neo vvl, not 4age

• kete prang on Mar 07, 2011 at 9:07 pm

to be more accurate..it’s SR16VE N1

It made 200 PS (197bhp)(147 kW) @ 7800 rpm

• hondacabuk on Mar 08, 2011 at 8:12 am

those day:
            b16b = 160hp
            4age BT= 170hp
            SR16VE N1= 197hp

today
            civic 1.8= 140hp
            toyota altis 1.8= 136hp
            nissan latio 1.8= 128hp

neo 1.6 = 145hp
            boleh lah tu….80k some more…

• Well guy i think the most powerfull 1.6 and efficient engine were actually from the italians in the 60-80s. Remember the alfa gulia’s and the fiat 124st , alfa GTV 1600jr. Those were the last itailan sport saloons. With its screaming twin cams, twin webers and rear wheel drive and suspension set take the old roads. And the gorgeous looks. I believe these cars will put many Modern cars such as the honda;s, toyotas , Nissan , protons and even current alfa & fiat to shame if driven along the old and winding roads, which it was designed for.

Hmmmmm those golden age.
      But proton is realling putting effort into its new model. Way to go.

• freeze on Mar 07, 2011 at 1:22 pm

i will be the first

• no endless….zzz

• DNA Y on Mar 07, 2011 at 1:27 pm

yeah i like!!

• sagatron on Mar 07, 2011 at 1:30 pm

nice……………..speechlesssssssss……..

• nighttrain on Mar 07, 2011 at 1:33 pm

It’s not 6 speed MT RWD? Wait for GTi lah… hah

• junaidi on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:12 pm

why would you want RWD on a tiny hatchback?
      Mini coopers can do FWD,
      Focus ST
      besides, to have it RWD you’ll need alot of weight at the back to make sure tyres have good traction.

• bongek on Mar 07, 2011 at 1:34 pm

some people will buy this batch ,,but some will wait for campro turbo too…

• nazgul on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:25 pm

and some are wonder how neo lotus owner feel now…

• pomen_gtr on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:50 pm

lotus neo i think got better spec in term of brakes+suspension+bodykit….

so not that important i think……

but i like this version’s seats…..nice….

• Jared Green on Mar 07, 2011 at 1:34 pm

Oi Proton! Get it to Australia!!!! :D

• can somebody enlighten me as why tuners loves to use close ratio gearbox? so that can reached 100kph under 10 sec? gentlemens agreement?lol~~ coz if max speed can only reached 205,this car will be eated alive at track day(long high speed) or highway

• Aquila on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Track day and maybe up Genting road is not all long stretch but the corners so you need all the pick up to exit the corners. Unless it drag, then different story lor ;)

• GUNMAN on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:33 pm

one of the reason- torque, or the lack of it, to be precise. with a kerb weight of 1.2 tonnes, and with only 168Nm (123.9 Lbs/ft) @ 5000 rpm mind you, standard ratios arent gonna cut it. In my opinion , R3 should’ve taken a page form Honda’s Type R or Lotus’s reicpe book- ‘light is right’- bumping up the power and torque and having closer ratios is step in the right direction but they should’ve also looked into wieght reduction and chassis stiffening- (like the original Satria GTI R3 that went from 1130 kg to 995kg, and had double seam welding on its monocoque chassis). throw in items like light weight flywheels, pistons and conrods and you’ll get something really special. It won’t be as brutal as a sledge hammer (cars such as Evos/WRXs/GTR); but more like a scalple- diminutive and not terribly powerful but utterly precise, extremely sharp and in the right hands, can carve-up and humiliate you opponent mercilessly.

• Gunman wat said is right. For my opinion first heard about the R3 neo, i recall the limited Lotus R3 which selling at RM125k. if they add in more tune into this car i wonder how much it gonna top up from current selling price from 79k?

• same spec kot…. just ohlins suspension and ap racing brake…thts y mahal kot…:)

• bobdbilder on Mar 08, 2011 at 8:52 am

I know a shop in PJS11, Bandar Sunway that does CF hoods for the Neo. But don’t know how much of a weight difference it would make. Being a Road Cyclist, I could appreciate some Carbon, Aluminium and Titanium bits and pieces. Additionally, they could have put in some Cromo tubes for the side impact bars. Have been toying with that idea for some time. But would need to know the shear strength of those bars and then you could size up a proper replacement. Am not sure if those wheels are forged and if the rotors are one size up from standard Neo. If it was, then I would drop it back to 15in forged but very much doubt I could get a nice set of rubbers for that.

But any modifications to standard production models would face the point of diminishing returns. This is where the cost of the upgrades would negate the increase in the power to weight ratio. For manufacturers, this (and emission stds, safety) would be a bane to development. But it wouldn’t be to an owner like me. So this Neo would still be a base for my further development projects.

• theanswer on Mar 07, 2011 at 7:50 pm

only sissies will need those top speed for hway driving (plus dangering others). track driving..we only need the acceleration…but 9 sec still slow..but acceptable. hopeflu can shave to 8+sec.

• rajalawak on Mar 07, 2011 at 1:37 pm

forte KOUP better!!!

• Ordinary Joe on Mar 07, 2011 at 1:59 pm

No lah… Buggati Veyron better…

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:31 pm

No lah,Bicycle better,we can save our environment.

• Comparing a mere protong with Buggati Veyron is what we described as “jauh panggang dari api” (overrated). But I don’t mind comparing protong with a bicycle, then again, even bicycle has a better chasis. Hahaha.

• Ordinary Joe on Mar 08, 2011 at 10:06 am

Go google the word sarcasm…

• mdfarizal on Mar 08, 2011 at 5:24 pm

ur bicycle better chasis then proton? can describe more? gv us some details, specs or what ever documents or fact to support ur comment. dont gv a comment like kindergarden kids…

• exJAVANESE on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:46 pm

No laa… McLaren mp4-12c are way way better…

• noname on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:32 pm

aiyoo, lamborghini gallardo mucch better lor..

• DaveDiablos on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:31 pm

nonono, walk better, hassle free

• Jack lim on Mar 07, 2011 at 1:39 pm

COme on, i would rather get Kia forte or toyota vios with this price…
    safety comes first, u know… malaysia…

• Downs on Mar 07, 2011 at 1:51 pm

This car not safe meh?

• exJAVANESE on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:03 pm

ya..ya..go for it buddy!!
      your lovely torsion beam T Vios… serves u safety rite?

• untitled on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:05 pm

And you thought vios is safe?

• it is r3 not s3

• haha.. Jack Lim..

The only Brand in your head is T & H.. sad.. and you think Vios is safe.. you better be joking

• Anak Malaysia on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:49 pm

Last saturday night, my friend drove satria neo cps had an accident.. the neo were badly damaged at front area and consider total lost but the air bag inside the car not activated even tough he use seat belt… that make me to consider back my decision to purchase satria neo…. :(

• GUNMAN on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:24 pm

the late Princess Diana died in a Merc, several airbags failed to deploy. does that make you think twice about a Merc?

• facebook.com/protonlotusiast on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:35 pm

where it was? PD???

bro..air bag will pull out when got very3x huge impact from front. just by a touch/kissed then spin 2 or 3 times then masuk longkang,the airbag will not come out. unless the neo’s get 8 airbag..it will out,depends from where the impact come.

• Original Anak Malaysia on Mar 07, 2011 at 11:02 pm

was ur friend drunk & driving :)

• farghmee on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:56 pm

ya lah safety 1st.
      buy volvo.

• TallPan on Mar 08, 2011 at 2:10 pm

Now also volvo bought over by chinese, it seems. melamine in milk, anyone?

• carsut on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:02 pm

wait for ur dugong vios t3 la..

• the safety of a car depend on the driver,u can drive expensive car but if u drive like a no-brainer,even u will not be safe…so drive caefully

• gunman on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:41 pm

too right mate!!! Theres just way too many mat rempits in their shiny German sport saloons that can be classified as educated fools…

• noname on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:34 pm

“By Enthusiast For Enthusiast”.. if u are not the enthusiast, just forget about it.. understand??

• u want safe, u buy tanker la bro

• Firdaus Abdullah on Mar 08, 2011 at 8:47 am

A tanker or a tank? Even a tank is not safe, remember a freak accident of the Abram that turned turtle into a river in Baghdad? All the crew drowned.

• squall_shinoda on Mar 08, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Even if you drive a kereta kebal is not safe as well.

• JoeGTi on Mar 07, 2011 at 1:40 pm

Good job R3!!!

• nabill on Mar 07, 2011 at 1:40 pm

after liverpool beating man utd , its an all red day ahead !

i think this is same like the lotus f1 satria neo bt without the ohlins dampers , ap racing calibers , and the carbon fibre hood…..

for exclusivity alone its worth it…

• DingDong on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:12 pm

What? ManU not red ka? :)

Man U resting their defenders la, Rio kaki sakit, Vidic got red to earn a rest day, Fletcher, Park all feeling under the weather. Just look at Nani, cried to earn a rest.
      Nanti la, next match sure win. (sore looser)
      If kalah again, I go support West Ham.

Exclusive? What is so exclusive about ” after-market” bits?
      With the extra $25-30K, I’m sure most of us can do a better job than that.
      Still, not a bad colour scheme. Hope the car seat can support the bloody neck/ head.

Ask yourself, a plastic box for almost $80k, ada worth it ka?
      Really!! I regretted buying 1 already. Kena rasuk hantu maybe that day. Shit car. Door Handle crack, aircond vent can bengkok because of our heat/ weather, suspension ada demons, headlights masuk air punya, kerusi contour cacat (this one dono), dashboard, if you don’t put those plastic/ leather wax, it’ll look like plastics from a $1 pen. Itu airbag warning sticker on the visor, some dumb prick attached a protective plastic when the “printing ink” was still wet/ hot. Now we get distorted images/ words. Itu plastic oil lid cover (the one on the car panel), doesn’t have strong enough spring to detach itself from the lock. Need to ask the pump attendant to catch any glimps of the cover unlocking when I pull the lever. Can be rectified though. DIY job. Aircond temperature control switch have be “woken up” if it suddenly disengages the compressor. Kena ketuk that switch. The carpet mat… hmmm maybe overly critical, can turn 360-720 degrees without you knowing it. Throttle response crap, Torque damn low, mana ada car that cannot pass through a speed bump with 2nd gear? Kancil maybe?
      Mine 1.6 Manual. The hand brake fails to release completely. Banyak hal la. And more….

Quality maybe sudah improve, I don’t know, maybe this is a completely different car. I hope…..

• bobdbilder on Mar 07, 2011 at 8:09 pm

Whoa you got a serious problem dude. Its not the car. Its your sad ignorant outlook in life. If you had read the power curve correctly. You wouldn’t buy the Non CPS. I wanted to buy it but hesitated just because of the dip. Or, you would drive it differently. This is a high rev engine. Its not the Waja 4G18P which have a high torque at around 2800 rpm. I have to change my driving to suit the car/engine.

Kalau rosak tak boleh hantar utk warranty ke? You are sooo pathetic. The Neo does not deserve an owner like you. Sell it to someone who wants the fun and not the decor.

• ezracopters on Mar 07, 2011 at 10:24 pm

my God.. hahaha..

after all these years of owning one, i never heard the owner of neo babbling like you DingDong.. judging from ur writing and u must be Ah Soo right.. hmmm maybe T & H suit you better..

haha.. even the carpet map became ur issues..hahaha, u might wanna told ur nearest SC, dude that is serious matter, life and death!!!..i guess you need to educate yourself some more.. get a friend dude.. those who in the known like me.. but, do i and others satisfy neo owner wanna be urs..hahaha prick like u..i doubt it..

it is the way u treat ur lady man.. educate urself, get a proper maintenance, know ur lady’s strength & weakness, touch it with a tender, toy it with a diamond, caress it like it’s ur last and then u’ll be able to ride it rough man..hahaha maybe u just need to get a laid..

• molala on Mar 09, 2011 at 1:21 pm

Oh man. Dingdong,.. Im with you.. but i’m ignore it because it is fun to drive.

• Gonna ask my dad one..hehehe..love it :D

• use ur own money laa, dad’s son

• What’s wrong with it? Im a student so cant afford it, but my father can..is it wrong to ask something from our dad? Huh?

• Critique on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:33 pm

Be a Man, Do the light thing ! hahahaha.. kiddinggg’larr..

• gunman on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:51 pm

when i was a student i used the pink mini buses… i was in my early 20’s. And my parents were zooming around in their E220…go get your own with your two bare handa, you’ll apreciate more, and you’ll learn the value of money.

• insperut on Mar 07, 2011 at 6:51 pm

aiyoo… student wanna buy 80K satria lor
          so damn rich la your father… lucky u

• exJAVANESE on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:25 pm

Let it be laa buddy….I only used my father honda c70 for me to go classes back to my U student life though…
        If their papa KAYA…let it… but honestly, u will feel the real of owner car if u buy with your ‘titik peluh’…

So to Kam, be patient though…get finish your study first, then graduate and then finally choose your car by your own money..much more satisfied though I told yaa…

• harris murad on Mar 07, 2011 at 10:36 pm

very true exJAVANESE.
          but if KAM’s dad can afford it, why not?
          go ahead KAM, go get one if your dad’s ok with it.
          but drive safely laa and dont rempit-rempit.
          damn lucky fella,cisss…:p

• GUNMAN on Mar 08, 2011 at 7:51 pm

thats the problem with the playstation generation- instant gratification.

i think the education ministry should include The 7 Habits Of Highly Effective People as compulsory reading.

• RadzLee on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:52 pm

ur dad? ask him to buy a RC instead la

• Seriously on Mar 08, 2011 at 6:27 pm

“teenager loses control and dies in tragic car crash in his new R3 Satria Neo, just after recieving it as a gift from his dad.”

LOL. Kidding.

• omg i really2 want this badly…….but ima student so cant afford this hopefully another 5 years mo to get this hahahaa that time many type of cars came out so…but for time being i will be dreamin about this car everyday

• A beauty…..If you have the money and you love this car, than its not expensive…and this car is not built for aunties daily use…for those who think it’s not worth it..spend your money elsewhere…jangan bising bising la….

• Goproton on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:44 pm

agree….paid full cash straight just now even before seeing the car…=)
      my first proton haha…

• golok on Mar 07, 2011 at 1:58 pm

wt an idiot compare vios with this…this car is superb

• Kamal on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:01 pm

RM20,000 more expensive than the Neo CPS and not more than 2 second fast

hmm…

• rallyfan00 on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:16 pm

Porsche boxster 0-100km/h 5.9 secs. (RM460,000)
      Porsche boxster S 0-100km/h 5.3 secs. (RM550,000)

thats only a 0.6 sec gap between both cars and RM90,000 difference in price.

but these numbers alone dont give the full picture.. and i believe likewise with this satria r3 as compared to the standard cps satria.

• littlefire on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:16 pm

dude, our car are heavily tax…

U cant compare both the cars model with just sec gap… They do have a lot of extra accesories + technology which both model might not have..

• Tiadaid on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:11 pm

Then, you think that extra 20K don’t include tax? I’ve said it once and I’ll say it a million times – Proton cars are taxed as well!

• bogaboga on Mar 07, 2011 at 6:48 pm

lame~ accessory wise this r3 was better equipped than std neo, even neo cps
          tax? well minus the tax that porsche s is still more expensive than its std, rm40k at least, so your point is?

+ tech wise, that r3 i believe still better eq than std neo/cps >.<

• Kamal on Mar 07, 2011 at 7:48 pm

Proton car only have 10% after sales tax. Porsche have 200% tax which mean the gap between the 2 model is only RM30,000.

Comparing with a new Satria GTi and new Satria 1.6GLi only around RM12,000. I dont see it better equip other than the GPS 2-din audio unit that cost around 1.5~2k, GTi bodykit, colourful interior but without racing Recaro seat, plus better handling as claim by R3.

• bobdbilder on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:51 am

There is such a thing in this world call inflation. Inflation (and compounded interest) moves economies. Too much inflation you get civil unrest. But you need inflation to have companies selling their products at higher prices. Which means more profits. More profits generated by businesses, the more money outsiders will invest. Because of inflation the money paid 10 years ago is worth more than what you’ll get for it now. NOT to forget the ASEAN region had a very bad currency devaluation in 1998 and Malaysia had 12% Base Lending Rate.

Why dwell on the past when you live now and look at the future? Bank Negara will revise their Overnight rates upwards. Next year car Insurance is really going to suck your breath. Carpe Diem baby!

• Danial on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:05 pm

1.6 liter producing 145 bhp for a sports car?

Honda’s output is even better (for every liter = 100 hp or more)
    for example B16B in the EK9 can produce 185hp

• Commenter on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:10 pm

Are you dumb or what? You compare old car with different emission control with new regulation car. Typical Proton basher and PR supporter, DUMB!!! Even got people dumb enough to compare this car to lousy Vios, Vios if compare to Proton Pesona also lose, fools.

• scgtimk1 on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:16 pm

Typical BN Cybertroopers Moron.

Hey! All those BN supporter la actually don’t drive proton and swear not to ever drive or buy one. Don’t believe me ask those bought Datuk’s and BN MP, hey why not ask Bung Mokhtar? Tell me what car they drive? I bet they don’t even drive Proton’s and their family member drive’s Myvi’s

Do not generalize PR supporter as Anti Proton or vice versa. OK?

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:36 pm

PR doesnt mean Pakatan Rakyat,can be Permanent Resident or Power Rangers.
          i know la not all PR supporter hate Proton
          Bung Mokhtar talk a lot,I also wanna see him out of BN.
          But who say all those MBs didnt have any Proton,Najib’s official car is a Perdana.

• sir zoula on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:29 pm

i bet he felt so terrible every day riding dat old damd perdana..
            even his husband Roswah ride in merc…

• Commenter on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:05 pm

scgtimk1,

Okay for what? You comment already show that you as PR supporter like to accuse someone without fact. Prove? You said all those BN supporters don’t drive and swear not to every drive one, in your head man, I’m BN supporter and I’m driving a Proton S. Neo. So how? You want to eat back your statement?

• alexpoh85 on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:36 am

Are u sure?

My family have both persona and vios. In terms of specs and accessories both are rather similar.

But when driving uphill, persona just doesn’t cut it (yes it’s the iafm version, and 5 persons in car). With vios, 5 persons in car as well, it fared way better than persona.

Vios has the advantage of power to weight ratio.

And not to mention the vios’ efficient engine as well. With 5 in a car, driving around cameron highlands area in a weekend trip made about 600km in just a full tank.

No way persona will achieve that.

On the other hand, persona handling is better of course, i feel more connected to the ‘road’ driving with a car engineered with lotus handling.

No bias no bashing, 100% neutral opinion.

• VIGOSS on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:54 pm

macam gampang la ko, tak habis habis cerita pasal honda. honda tu engine tahun berapa. sekarang punya kereta honda ada keluar macam tu lagi kah?

• ketelaju on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:07 pm

sifu…oh…sifu

• AWESOME INTERIOR!
    Not bad for R3 division.

To be honest, from reading the specs that proton wrote.
    There isn’t much modifications done to it other than cam pulley, exhaust, and also camshafts.
    For the price, it’s a quite a huge jump from the original CPS RM 57,763.00 to RM79,079.
    Probably there’s more modifications than it is written.
    But if only changing those parts could make the NEO 20hp more powerful.
    I would probably change those parts myself. It would be a lot cheaper.

Although, I still would kill for the interior.

Cheers R3!

• rallyfan00 on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:20 pm

i agree with you.. definitely can do those things on our own outside(leather, 2din gps..etc).. but the difference here is, we lump it into the loan, dont need to come out with cash.. also, we get a warranty on that 20hp increase. do it cheaper outside.. im not sure about that though… but… suspension tuning by tengku djan.. priceless. ;)

• i’ll kill for those seats also

• redboy on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:09 pm

cant wait to buy this car!!! this is Protong man! must support!!

• awg1031 on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:11 pm

arghh..this looks nice!! and i’m still driving my old satria.huhu~

• sir zoula on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:21 am

try ask tsuchiya to drive dis r3 in touge battle b4 u praise dis crap…

• Uncle Honda on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:13 pm

have seen the video this car tested at japan. they also compare with the stock one, so much different. Good job!

• harry on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Nice job/ effort, but it is still OVER PRICED!, since its a Malaysian made the price still isn’t that nice for the locals ~ HELLO!!! Its at 80K!…. not worth it! with 2 doors n 16 inch rims? not even a face lift ? `puhlease!

IF it was priced on the road around 69,000 then may be, otherwise look somewhere else.

• saki77 on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:00 pm

Dont like, dont buy…hehe

• Alan Wong on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:28 pm

The word OVERPRICED are for cheapskate people who got no money but talk very big!

• ezracopters on Mar 07, 2011 at 10:31 pm

haha words!!!

• harry on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:27 pm

Owhh boy you sound like a 10 year old kid which needs a spank!

~ or may be your just probably stressed, after all its just a comment everyone is free to comment and have their own prerogative to write. then what are blogs for!

• why issit that the fact it’s malaysian made, bothering you?? assuming u’re in malaysia, there only reason u’re still in malaysia now it’s because u’re made in malaysia. anyway i would definately buy it if i have some extra cash

• harry on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:42 pm

Probably I was rooting for Proton which is a pioneer Malaysian brand ,that’s not consistent on their products and has lost my trust on them in a long run. Their innovative ideas and pricing isn’t well place for Malaysian lately. ~ especially this kind of model!

thank you.

• quattro on Mar 07, 2011 at 11:42 pm

better get vm polo though

• HELL YEAH!! Will get my money on that!!

• BOOOMM!!! There blow my bonus this year!

• L@n@ng on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:25 pm

love those alloy rims….put on my BLM sure can go lil bit faster.

• VoidDance on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:47 pm

people here don’t appreciate jokes anymore. hehehe. Good one L@n@ng.

• No HID? Need bright headlight for safe night drive!

• pomen_gtr on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:19 pm

satria neo stock headlamp was already the most brightest headlight among proton’s model sir..

• lanku on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:29 pm

who love this number 79,797….?

• altecs on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:33 pm

If you own a neo cps, you could buy most of the upgrade performance parts from R3 at around 10k, thus making your neo cps just as “fast” as this baby… Although for all the shiny bits (R3 pedals, red dashboard, built in gps etc), we cps owner can only just give you r3 owners the envious glare. :)

Btw, how can you people claim vios is safer than neo? body rigidity, overall weight, handling performance, braking capabilities.. tell me which is better than that of a neo? Compare this baby with a vios TRD also no comparison.

• trav_da_man on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:34 pm

A decent warm hatch from Proton to challenge the Suzuki Swift sports. Now, how about a proper turbocharged hot hatch Satria Neo?

• MalayanTapir on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:47 pm

I agree. What’s taking Proton so long to produce a turbo CPS?

Alternatively, why not use a different engine? Most modern 2.0L blocks can already produce 150BHP and about 190Nm of torque, and probably from lower revs so don’t have to tarik so much.

A 2.0 Satria R3 would be awesome, i think.

• littlefire on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Should come out 2.0 varient to have the S2000 feel…

• GUNMAN on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:52 pm

spot on mate! i was just thinking the same. theres no replacement for displacement. make that a GDI 2.0 lump with variable everything….what it needs is not gargantuan outputs, justoutput that is readily useable over a wide rpm range, 200 Nm available from 1500 to 4500rpm is better than 240 Nm @5500rpm.

• im waiting for the turbo upgrade package :)

• eadgez on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:51 pm

start/stop engine button? COOOOOOL.

• ikansepat on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:52 pm

dare to waiting turbo..80k for 145hp quite expensive

• angrybirds on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:56 pm

all these proton salesman comments make me sick pffttttt

• fauxa on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:57 pm

with this machine forsure can eat VW Polo and Suzuki Swift…R3 Rules!!!

• eimsperfume on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:58 pm

i think… its not as huge improvement like the R3 improved the old satria GTI.

it will be a lot better if R3 shed some wheight on the satria neo r3. it will improve the performance in many ways.

for me, push start button is a waste. why did r3 put that on…ihsk2..

nway.. i totally in love with the styling.. except.. i like the satria neo cps spoiler better.
    those rims.. meleleh siot.. light weight how many kg? anyone know?

• RadzLee on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Dear proton…
    ppl are already screaming for turbocharged version!

• junaidi on Mar 07, 2011 at 7:33 pm

you need to learn some marketing skills. =)

take apple for example, why only after 1 yaer+ they come up with iphone 4 after just launching iphone 3. why couldnt they wait and just straight away produce the iphone 3 with the iphone 4s features?

they made the 1.6 vanila campro, then came the 1.6 campro R3, then 1.6 campro CPS, then 1.6 campro CPS R3, whats next? baru la turbocharged. you need to build the hype dude.

• millionaire on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:58 pm

nothing excites me here……seriously

• vertigo on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:10 pm

much better of they have it on gen2 as well – an option for ppl who wants a four door proton

• mzack on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:18 pm

how many unit will be made? 70 only?300 only?

• bobdbilder on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:29 pm

Had a booking for CPS Manual. Changed it to R3. Anybody wants to do booking please be aware that only Proton Edar takes the booking. NOT the normal dealers. Made my mistake so burn lah booking fee… but its still ok as the sales guy is arranging it. Bank okayed my CPS loan now resubmit for R3.

Been using aftermarket cam+tuned header on my SOHC Waja and its been a blast. Can only imaging (for the next 3 weeks or so) how its gonna be on a CPS. Personally, I think for 80k, its worth it. My FIRST brand new car will be a limited edition.

• GUNMAN on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:21 pm

break a leg Bob. and grin from ear to ear for me will ya, you lucky sod…

• wah wonder is the FC maintain as per current performance or increase abit?

Still like Honda B16b and SR16-N1 engine both this engine can sing in high rev…..

• Samarkand on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:41 pm

haaaa!!? for RM 80K u can get only 1.6 dohc engine ?! waste money! lol…!

• VoidDance on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:50 pm

Oh, sure. Name me one car that in comparison with this R3 Neo in that price bracket.

• pomen_gtr on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:56 pm

80k dugong only got 1.5 engine???and not even performance parts???and with sissy torsion beam at rear??

wants value for money cheap car go buy china car la kawan….but don’t complain anything as u ask for it

• Critique on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:25 pm

2 diff cars for 2 diff purpose’larr… one got 4 door, one got 2 door, and the list goes on.. bottom line compare’lar with another model in the same range… sighhh :P

• alexpoh85 on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:43 am

i LOL! this guy actually compare a vios with an neo R3! JOKE OF THE YEAR!

Come on, if without excise duty, how much does vios cost? NOT EVEN CLOSE TO RM80k! With 10% sale tax it will be hovering about RM60k only.

Compare the price before tax bro, and you’ll know your comparison doesn’t make sense at all!

• gtmaniac on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Get real.

People paid more than RM150k for a certain 1.4 engine car here. You must be very shocked by now.

• pomen_gtr on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:22 pm

skoda fabia is it?? :lol:

• littlefire on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:52 pm

Well, the 1.4L engine is not ordinary engine.. U do have turbocharged + supercharged togather.. Be the way, if not heavily tax do u think it really cost RM150k?

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 07, 2011 at 7:07 pm

around that money you could afford a Camry,Sonata and Accord
          Why choose a small car just to own the so-called good car with advance technology plus a boring and bland car.

• quattro on Mar 07, 2011 at 11:45 pm

yes..go go vw golf > Hope our PM Dato Sri Najib read this > pls assemble VW golf 1.4 and Vw Polo 1.2 in DRB plan in PEKAN….many out here is waiting the announcement………..sure price will be more attractive…..

• lalala on Mar 07, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Err… honda civic 1.8S running on SOHC costs RM111k. 140ps @ 6.3k rpm. yeah im reading the brochure. again SOHC. Worship Honda.. duh~

• mystvearn on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:45 pm

I would really like a review of this car-particularly the ride and handling. Just to see how much different it is compared to the normal Satria Neo CPS

• furious on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:51 pm

R3 Satria Neo 4B11 ..or maybe 1.8 litre MIVEC 4B10, i think it would be SUITABLE , compare to any others in its class. WORTH IT IF U ARE RACING JUNKIE …i would buy it.

• BADA$$ PROTON on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:59 pm

Guys relax lah..Honda sudah berapa lama training (note : Honda since 60s F1…they have experience)..best engine per liter output..bcos japanese punya metal recipe,comes from thousand years of making samurai swords..they know the best ratio..remember EX5..lagi panas lagi syok!!! So Proton have to learn from the keris masters..haa retro bruder!!! engine design has come to a brick wall..no way to churn out extra hp from it..way 2go is weight savings and what kinda of metal recipe use…there lies the ultimate engine design..ask any F1 engineer…thing is now, we should take a bold step..improvise..man..hybrid the power train…rear driven by electric motor..front small petrol engine with twin turbos!…haa then sell for RM50K..laku like hot chikodoks!!! Honda sure korek hidung..look at us PROTON..keris masters.. u know even the dagger is better then the sword!!

• vertigo on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:00 pm

really hope it’s a “special” edition, not a “limited” edition – might want to get it middle of this year

• I believe most criminals will stop stealing satria gti and start going for this one. Just a precaution to future owners.

Nice car btw! =D

• GreenFuel on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:09 pm

If it come with a turbo Campro CPS at RM80k, it will rock the market for 2 door hatchback!!!!! One of the best car from Proton.

• Last one on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:20 pm

I m the First oh YEA !! wow this is a super Fast car with sub 10 seconds sprint time!! can show the world what r3 is capable of oh !!

• Interior is still not good. No passion on the interior. At least add some chromes, aluminum or carbon look on dashboard, steering and doors. Make the speedometer look like aeroplane. 80k car still do things alang alang.

• Seem like it took forever for Proton to launch their Turbocharged engine, by the time they launh it, The world have switched to Hybrid Sport car :-( :-(

• Unforgiven on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:26 pm

I like the Ohlins and AP Racing on the previous Neo Lotus…

• akuGunaRon95 on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:28 pm

here come the proton bashersssss

• Interior sucks. alang alang 80k car. Put fake carbon on dashboard if tight on budget. Put chrome to replace steel or aluminum if tight on budget. heads up display as optional, make speedometer look like aeroplane, Use sony speaker if tight on budget. Optional bigger drive shaft. Proton no brainer.

• lanku on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:03 pm

lu ni sah banyak makan kari…… nak chrome, aeroplane bagai…

• Bigger side mirror for easy parking, slimmer door trim especially at speaker side for putting umbrella when raining, hid since its cheaper now, ipod and other walkman dock. if proton CEO take my advice, this car sure sells in international market. I know engineering is important, but u also need a big kid’s idea for the body and interior styling.

• better don’t buy.. waste money… after 5 years sure got lot problems… air con.. power windows… water leaking…

• kassim selamat II on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:38 pm

!1.6 Campro again ??
    Cukup lah just retire this dinosaur.
    It has maxed out its lifespan and yet
    Proton is feeding it with viagra !!
    Even Mitsu Evo has been reviewed due to
    the change in its direction and yet Proton
    is still re-cycling old Campro technology.
    Don’t waste R&D money on this as it will
    only benefit a few – not so smart guys !!!

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:31 pm

Wait for the new turbocharged engine middle of this year and also improvments to the existing campro.

• armandd on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:39 pm

Now this CPS engine only has variable intake valve, if Proton also make the exhaust valve variable and use direct injection to better control the fuel, I’m sure it can produce at least 160bhp while still maintaining emission standards. Come on proton I know u can do it.

• montana on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:43 pm

even japanese tuner cusco use neo as their rally car and neo’s shell also proven in wrc, malaysian keep talk bad bout their own product.why???
    malaysian please give good opinion to improve your product even u dont buy it/like it. im not talking about proton/perodua only but generally.

• PeYn0 on Mar 07, 2011 at 10:39 pm

we malaysian wants a normal reliable car, like myvi.

not skyline gtr, not turob ricer car to tabao corner.

you think you can fight with nissan,vw,renault on fast hot hatch? why not make slower and quality car to cater your poor countryman first?

VW start by building reliable car, not start by rebadge, and then make original/genuine faster ricer car. is this P1 use our hard earned money to make a few fast car only? and make money using rebadge car?

zonda, koenigsegg, noble, all use their own money, not public income tax money. and they can survive making ultra luxury car.

P1 cannot survive making anykind of car…..wait…..becos they eat nasi lemak, thats why.

• LowYahChia on Mar 07, 2011 at 4:46 pm

Proton Boleh ….industry leader in Re-badging, Re-cycling old mitsubishi cars and Re-diculing malaysian (R3).

“The 25 unit-only Satria Neo R3 Lotus Racing on 30th March, 2010. Sold at RM115k”. Pity the 25 owners…sucker !!!!

• nazgul on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:41 pm

its almost like lancer inspira dejavu all over again…almost…

• Downs on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:54 pm

If you want to Ri-dicule something, at least use proper spelling..don’t try to bring other people down to your Low level.

• LowYahChia on Mar 08, 2011 at 11:05 am

Hey good on you mate…you did noticed. It was intentional to reflect exactly what I meant to put forward on my comment.

• Salamander on Mar 07, 2011 at 11:50 pm

U mad because could not afford Neo R3 Lotus which has sold out? No?

• LowYahChia on Mar 08, 2011 at 11:32 am

Downs must be one of the 25 owners (or work for Proton or Eon)….kehehehe…letting go steam ler…kena tibai by Proton face type man….he got the message liou loh ;-P

• shawal on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:04 pm

All performance cars sold in europe has a nurgburgring record … or a topgear power lap time record ….

I think its about time that Performance cars sold in Malaysia post a sepang circuit record , It’ll give the circuit an image boost not to mention add up to its usefulness…, also makes this market more competitive…

9.2 seconds 0-60 km/h ??? i tot to be a hot hatch it must be under 7 seconds….

• jebat35 on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:10 pm

even vw scirocco 1.4, 118 kW (160PS) TSI done 8.0sec for 0-100km/h. people still called it as hot hatch, rite?

• Paul..or Anthony,

I just got back from Proton Center of Excellence to view the car, and according to the sales rep:

1) They only gonna have 68 units (correct me if I misheard) for this version. So far, 12 units already been booked by consumers.
    2) The 4-2-1 extractor will not be installed by R3 themselves. They gonna give the owner that extractor for them to install by the owner (resort to outside car workshop) due to manufacturer issue (I forgot whats the issue already..)
    3) Hi-Cam activation point is 5.5k rpm, unlike CPS at 4.8k rpm. Must be due to the newly tuned ECU and lightweight adjustable camshaft pulley.

Anyway, please check whether this is true or not. I apologize if some of the details stated are wrong.

Cheers~

• lanku on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:49 pm

you’re almost right :)

The VIM activation (Variable Intake Manifold) is now at 5500RPM, standard at 4800RPM. As for the Hi Cam from Low Cam, it kicks in earlier at 4000RPM instead 4400RPM.

Basically, with this R3 Neo, you can really feel engagement of Hi Cam and the short runner giving a burst of acceleration aided by the larger final drive (4.625).

The stainless steel 4-2-1 haeder is provided in trunk of the car, as OEM must deliver new cars with Catalytic Converters.

• insperut on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:44 pm

COOL!… but
    im not gonna buy it
    considering car theft is way too high… sigh (just lost my ’96 Wira 1.8 LE)
    this is just adding up ‘kereta panas’ line up

damn thos pencurik!!

• lanku on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:54 pm

one more thing that i learnt, the R3 Coil Spring specification is 24N/mm for front (stock 21N/mm) and 20N/mm for the rear (stock 18N/mm). Kazu, that answer you earlier question :)

• ariefemran on Mar 07, 2011 at 5:54 pm

Finally a proper car for the masses. I hope this is the right direction for Proton. I do hope that the engines gets better and that Nissan buys some stake in Proton.

• speedemons on Mar 07, 2011 at 6:00 pm

old non CPS satria neo R3 better than this interms of interior, bodykit, rims…for me better i go to R3 to buy old satria neo r3 than upgrade or transplant the engine…

• waja2000 on Mar 07, 2011 at 6:24 pm

i waiting Neo with Campro CFE Turbo, easy get 200nm torque and 140hp, without modification, i’m believe easy can get 0-100km in 8sec.

• A waste of money.

• One of the best sport hatchback below 80k thumbs up for Proton!

• Valve on Mar 07, 2011 at 7:19 pm

it will be more best if the price will be much lower…hehehehe : )

• theanswer on Mar 07, 2011 at 7:52 pm

dont be lowballer la..even if they lower the price..u’ll ask to be more cheaper.

• SPOT ON THIS TIME PROTON!!!! its more powerful than the suzuki swift sport,it should be equipped with traction control.the color was so ah beng,the rim was so ah beng too.it would be nice if the car weight only 1050kg.if that was the case,it will hit century sprint in sub 7 secs.

• mansory on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:24 am

erm.. how much do u weight? dino usually mean big and heavy, i dont think it can do 7sec with u onboard.

• Maserati on Mar 07, 2011 at 7:42 pm

This piece of crap engine 1.6 manual also can do 0-100km/h in 9.2 seconds.

That actually shows how lousy the Forte Koup engine is .

2.0 can only 0-100km/h in 10.5 seconds which is seriously slow for a KOUP!

And it shows that even Korean tech is behind Proton technology in terms of engine performance.

• I think you are just a Korean car hater, different segment, different size, different weight, different engine settings, how you compare? This car using a 1.6 engine but it is alot lighter and is alot smaller than Forte Koup and the difference is only 1 second. Also, this car is tuned for performance, Forte Koup is just a stylish sedan based coupe. Think before you make some silly comments please, go get your Honda then, Maserati wannable fanboy.

• Fortbutee_Koup Ass on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:44 am

then should we named the Forte Koup as sedan car with two doors… or a Tiger with rabbit Heart… slow and poor koup… poor poor poor

• PeYn0 on Mar 07, 2011 at 10:41 pm

they write 9.2 second, u believe?

this stupid car only make 68 units.

if wanna make limited edition, u can go sunway and ask tuner to tune your myvi, you wan 7 second also can, sure faster than your neo and corner faster.

forte koup is production car. this R3 neo is like some experiment car. my neighbour neo cps is only 8 second.

pprrrffttt……P1 engineer can go eat sh1t. ask my neighbour to tune the car better.

• mansory on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:20 am

my neighbor can do even better… 6 sec man…

• carsut on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:25 pm

my neighbor also 6 sec man.. poor PeYn0 neighbor, he need to ask my neighbor though!!

• sir zoula on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:49 pm

my neighbor, gaban oni takes 0.0006 second lor…

• TurboMan on Mar 08, 2011 at 4:46 pm

Haha.

Your comment makes me laugh.

You might as well say all cars are shit, cause the latest lotus elise has a 1.6 litre engine, but 0-100 is in 6.5 secs.

Perhaps you have read too much car magazine and have not owned any decent cars before, where all you know about cars is just 0-100kmh time.

So many variables are involved in engine / car design. Factors like emission, fuel economy, engine longetivity must be taken into account. Not just power or 0-100 times. And do you know 0-100 is a function of engine power, weight of vehicle, gear ratios, gear box change speed, final drive and lots more. And this is a manual car. I would take manual cars 0-100 with a pinch of salt.

Let me educate you about the reason. To get the 9.2sec 0-100, u need to rev the engine like mad while standing still, and dump the clutch. Needless to say, clutch don last very long that way.

Koup is an auto car. Meaning although 0-100 in 10.5 sec, its very consistent. This satria neo 9.2 sec is not consistent. Some ppl can do it in 9sec. If you drive like normal without dumping clutch, your 0-100 could be 10-11 sec.

Plus koup is a comfort sedan based coupe car. While this satria although is great in the track with its short gearing, i wouldnt take it for a 600km drive from JB to Kedah. The Koup with its better sound insulation and 6spd gearbox might be a better option.

• nolan on Mar 07, 2011 at 8:11 pm

nice…..but this car can’t get girls attention u know….

• tengok cermin dulu on Mar 07, 2011 at 11:16 pm

cant get the gals attention :D ? perhaps bcoz u are driving it

• junaidi on Mar 08, 2011 at 4:00 pm

too right mate!!
        His face is probably like Chris Nolan so he’ll never get “hot chicks”.

• nolan on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:09 pm

sorry….i own no Proton….look bad in my garage…..

• berza on Mar 09, 2011 at 12:48 am

Lol..guess those hot chicks will climb in which car…say a honda civic type r or u dis crap reputed proton satria r3…duh…

• ezracopters on Mar 08, 2011 at 2:24 pm

haha.. nothing compare to local IPT young blood..hehe. U’ll be supriseeeeeeeeeeeeee.. those hip club ladies who targets only premiums owner tainted too much already.. btw, zina itu dosa besar.. jauhinya ok!!!

• nolan on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:13 pm

people buy premium cars just to get girls attention….and they did get the attention…trust me….cars and women never can be separated….

• cynical on Mar 08, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Yeah. Still a proton, hahahaa..

• acerman on Mar 07, 2011 at 8:16 pm

Now, this is what I call “limited Edition”.

• i really suggest a 6 speed close ratio because the sixth is for highway low consumpton cruising…

• makeitmine on Mar 07, 2011 at 9:05 pm

Proton R3 invested time and money on CPS stage 2 upgrade. But how many R3 Satria Neo will be sold to make up for the R&D cost?

My suggestion is to quickly make this upgrade available to existing Campro owners to keep existing owners happy and raise the resale value of Proton cars worldwide.

What say you, Proton?

• armandd on Mar 07, 2011 at 9:25 pm

nice suggestion, 100% agree!

• they already have long time ago,just contact r3,they have the performance part for vanila campro n cps.just standby ur money

• i feel eager to test the improved seats hope that its not too narrow on the butt and hope that the soulder pad is really functional.

• Jason on Mar 07, 2011 at 9:08 pm

0-100km/h in 9.2 seconds. Its that a sport car? Even an auntie Camry can tapau this so called sport car nicely. Just imagine when you are driving this car and an auntie in the camry smokes you.

• junaidi on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:16 am

try that same camry around a track. I dont know some people just leave their brains in the toilet first thing in the morning.

• Jason on Mar 09, 2011 at 1:54 pm

You must have left your brain in the toilet, Do you think auntie will go racing in the track?? Funny!!

• if we talk about sporty ego ,this is the winner.
    if we re talking about value for money.
    drag race it with inspira 1.8 manual.

• bobdbilder on Mar 08, 2011 at 10:06 am

Inspira is 100kg too heavy but 9 Nm more max power. Nope not enough. Too bad son. Any wonder on paper its 0 to 100 is 10s while R3 is 9.3s?

• but im still think that the pinnacle of satria neo with 1.6 cfe with close ratio 6.
    or mivec 2.0.

the car need to be fast with handling and also a cruiser too.

• even the century sprint is stated 9.2 scnd, from my past experience with this crap engine, it is better than that. The standard cps can get the same time for century sprint in a good hand, so i believe,it will be sub 9 second for this car. I know that any sunway tuner can manage to get better hp n torque from this engine, but thw question is whether u can get almost 20hp and 18nm of torque across the rev range starting from 2000rpm until peak hp n torque and make the top hp n top torque flat untill 8000rpm like what r3 done? This is called quality n precission engineering. Thats why r3 win mme with this crap engine(campro). Its not how many power u can get, but how balance the power coming out from the engine,that is the most important part in racing. Kudos r3

• Ronald on Mar 07, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Sorry to say that Kia Forte beat all speed,exterior and interior. Proton overpriced.

• Old Satria Also Can on Mar 07, 2011 at 10:59 pm

You must be joking Ronald, The Forte has an unbalanced suspension setup with torsion beam in the rear.. the vehicle prematurely engages its traction controls in corner for pushing it slightly above 60kmph :) Worst part, its throttle responce is cut off by its DBW. i drove the loan car for 2 weeks and gave up on its driving character of Forte.

The Forte would never stand a chance againts the Neo handling.

• this is totally junk, should dump to India for $25k

• coco_nuts on Mar 08, 2011 at 2:24 pm

Mind your language, Indian upper and middle class simply bigger than the entire Malaysian population. You may wants to find alternative country for reference but not the rising and versatile India, please do not offended other country with shallow comments.

Be liberal, give credit when its due, since the Japanese wannabe, notorius for being over protected of their trade secret and their motherland economy, slowly start to appreciate and value the very basic fundamental advantage of the NEO’s then we the average joe, should give credit when its due. To me, Kudos to Tengku Mahalel for his visionary and the development team for the best effort but feel sorry for the treacherous supply chain that brought down their goodwill.

On the topic, please don’t judge the Thailand success in short term spectrum, give it wide tenure, say 30-50 years tenure then you will see the true color of the Japanese and the capitalistic nature of the giant companies. Nothing else matter except pure profit, be it in Thailand, India, China or Brazil.

To sustain over long term, you need to have your own industry, your own brand, your own reliance. For reference, please read Avro Arrow history.

Still, Proton please do not take your customer for granted otherwise you will be history too

Coco or Nuts?

• ayamxxx on Mar 07, 2011 at 11:01 pm

from a lot of forum, many neo cps user complaint that the car drink fuel like no tomorrow.

so wonder about this car fuel consumption.

it’s 2011 already, with World Oil Price getting higher, and people will assuming the price of fuel in malaysia will get higher as well.

btw, this car need ron 95 ka or 97??

• ezracopters on Mar 08, 2011 at 2:32 pm

both can la.. still 97 better for ur engine.. don’t know bout cps, some people never care to explore them cars attitude.. mine vanilla campro did 6.8-7.0L/100km on the highway, and rural area and 7.0-7.2L/in traffic or town area.. don’t know bout them others, but i think mine was acceptable..

• Basher on Mar 08, 2011 at 10:58 pm

Are you owner of Kancil 660. Dude, this car is for racing. Since when the car racer care about fc rather than maximum speed?

You’re talking about year 2011. And you asking either this car use ron 95 or 97…. Wow…. Surely, without doubt you are kancil 660 owner…..

• quattro on Mar 07, 2011 at 11:29 pm

kenapa dual airbag saja > koman spanar org2 R3 nie…masukkanlah 4 @ 6 airbang…baru lai safe utk racing,……………..ABS,ESD etc ntah apa2 lagi….

• somebody on Mar 08, 2011 at 11:49 am

where u learn airbag safe for racing??..hihi..how u will get into the corner if suddenly ur opponent hit u for have a better racing line and airbag deploy into ur face????..hihihihih =D

• Looks good.

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:22 am

A little too old too late,,,,,,,

• teelim on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:53 am

bah… was hoping that it would come with Recaros and Brembos.

Now just hoping that there would be a turbo version of this baby. And I also think that Proton should start thinking about a 6 speed manual gearbox. 5 speed is a little yesterday.

• Nicholas Yong on Mar 08, 2011 at 1:26 am

the r3 satria neo summed up in one word? beautiful (:

• Nicholas Yong on Mar 08, 2011 at 1:34 am

how many of this car will be available?

• SoMeOnE on Mar 08, 2011 at 3:06 am

well i must say this a good effort from proton to try an beef up the sales of probably the best handling (and very underrated..loads of people are missing out) car they have ever made…. my gf drives the standard manual 1.6 non cps car and i truly have a lot of fun each time im behind the wheel….and nothing has ever broken or given way (apart from the stuff that need to be changed) since she bought it in 2007 ….the engine lacks initial torque..and yes it is frustrating below 40 kmh…but after it comes on song…my god it flies……its like it has woken up from a slumber and marched into the a battle in one sweep. this top end fiaso.. also explains why neo’s on the road are driven really slow..or really fast….watch closely next time ;)

this car has character..probably the only local car that has it..and once u get it and use it to its strengths…it can be quite a riot ..i know i have shocked my self and many civics and camry’s (and one bmw 320i lol ) on highways on more than one occasion…if this car promises to adress the low end slug….it be an awesome buy ….my daily drive is a mazda6 2.5 which is well…rapid and comfy…but the neo is naughty..and in the right hands.. the sky’s the limit. its sheer mechanical grip is freaky. u keep challenging it and it sticks..and even if it does give up..it tells u through the steering way much in advance to back off ur lunacy……bear in mind there aint any fancy trickery unless u consider abs fancy..:) …i will always say this and say it again….nothing in this price bracket or even the one above it ( c segment i guess) can even offer half of the ability this car has …. every car maker over engineers a chassis now and then and this is the ‘one’. in the local context IMO.. aint no fan of proton but credit should be given where its due…;)

P.S on a side note…this car should only come with a manual until proton can find a decent auto..sorry neo auto owners..but the auto gearbox really hampers this car ! it is truly awful ….. judging by the few times i tried a buddy’s one that seems to agree with me….. handling is still ace though..

• fauxa on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:48 am

agree with u bro, i drove a honda civic fd2 to feel comfort everyday but when i drove my fiancee neo non cps stock, its high rev really awesome, different character and feels like sports car, however manual is better than auto for proton, neo non cps had shock me once when i was tailgated by my fiancee when it almost reach 200kmh on highway. after all this is best car i drove to zig zag in town, neo non cps stock may lost to vw polo at LDP, but if i get this machine i’ll make sure keep it chalengging it know the limit, as u say bro for neo the sky is the limit, i believe this neo R3 isn’t crap, it should be one of successor for R3 division.

• the car might boast a few things like 25hp, stronger chasss bla bla bla, but as an auto manufacturer with lotus and years of experience i expected more..its like the car came out from an accessory shop with go faster mods installed, nothing more. i want more Proton!!, real engineering work please..

• blackrytyhms on Mar 08, 2011 at 7:48 am

this car is very solid….the performance and the handling…plus
    start/stop button is nice gadget…
    but for a taller person, the roof is just 1-2 inches gap…
    but this car is faster than koup for sure.
    and i really love it rims…

• someone buy my neo cps pls.. :)

• subhero on Mar 08, 2011 at 10:34 am

KERETA SPORT LOCAL YANG AMAT CANTIK ZAHIR DAN BATIN.

SAYA SUKA SGT. TP MAHAL SGT. TP KALAU ADA DUIT SAYA BELIKAN AJE UTK WIFE SAYA. SAYA PAKAI M3 JE SUDAH.

CANTIK, SYABAS KAT PROTON SEBAB HASILKAN MODEL NI.

TP, DARI 1ST MODEL SMPAI LAH YG CANTIK NI, LAMPU BELAKANG DAN DEPAN SAMA JE. TAK MACAM BLM. EXORA PUN NK TUKAR DAH.

TP APE2 PUN CANTIK SANGAT. I LOVE NEO R3.

• How do you sell a bad product?

Sell it to stupid people!

-from Dilbert management tips.

• tiadaid on Mar 08, 2011 at 1:51 pm

Then a lot of Malaysians are stupid eh? Considering the amount of Myvi, Viva, & Vios on the road.

• sir zoula on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:15 pm

yup.. proven!
        stupid if you buy a brand new one..
        smart if u buy the NEW second hand one…

• CharmingGTR on Mar 08, 2011 at 11:27 am

well done proton…such a great car…Vtec 1.6 gonna looseeee…..

• Darren on Mar 08, 2011 at 11:49 am

how come not available in Sarawak ? so unfair!

• sir zoula on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:43 pm

soo lucky laa..
      u don have to buy another piece of crap maa…

• awg1031 on Mar 08, 2011 at 4:33 pm

buy AWD la brader kat sarawak..sports car not really suitable for the state ‘highway’ road..even tambak famous for illegal road racing also got wavy road..sigh..

• megpan on Jul 03, 2012 at 10:29 am

1 will arrive our shores in 2-3 weeks time

• Sorry if this sounds noob. ( because I am).

Can the transmission be modded to auto?

• notocampro on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:27 pm

so will it break the crankshaft while revving to 7k rpm? or overheat and bend the head altogether? or will it make hole to the side of the block? all this prob is in campro engine but proton still dunno rite?

• anand on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:35 pm

Some guys here seems like waiting for years for a good car which they believe it’s good……better drive kereta lembu. Any cars also have pros and cons. grow up peoples. This car is not for racing.

• not worth the price for that small car

• LOL Neo Neo Neoh~ on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:49 pm

what la Proton, another Satria Neo special edition?

Your hatchback already outdated ages ago, just see the new 2-door hatch of Astra, Golf, Civic, Swift or Accent all are more practical, not even need to the technology and interior offer.

• focus tdci on Mar 08, 2011 at 1:19 pm

bah! apa lagi! proton fanboys, time to sell that old junk, or the wife, the kids and maybe a kidney! proton made a loss last quarter so you must do your duty and push them back into profitability! proton is better than all others according to you guys! so tunggu apa lagi?! jangan cakap tak serupa bikin!

• You make me feel like a proud owner of a Satria Neo :) non-CPS, auto one tho :p

• Love this car. A road version of Satria S2000.

• lol…even the car can fly…………….it is still a proton…….

• sproc45 on Mar 08, 2011 at 4:45 pm

name it R3 edition, MME edition, Merdeka edition, PMR edition, SPM edition, it is still 140hp and nothing much.

alternative, stretch it to 4 doors, a turbo that make at least 200hp, brembo brakes, recaro seats, momo steering. name it a simple word ‘GTI’. will sure sell like hot cakes.

• ok la from viva EE…how many hp?

• squall_shinoda on Mar 08, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Installing a turbo is not a sweat at all… but it is JPJ and the stupid gov’t that make things damn hard. When someone wants to install turbo in his car, the only thing inside their minds is just illegal racing. They should know that not every people install turbo for racing but actually to solve the underpower problems. That’s why JPJ and the gov’t are so sengal, because their minds are closed tight like a frog under a coconut shell.

• mivec on Mar 08, 2011 at 10:11 pm

viva EE, myvi EE, alza ultimate how many hp?

• Yeap. Put all that in the Neo and make it RM200k so everyone especially u can afford to have one. How’s that sound?

• mdfarizal on Mar 08, 2011 at 5:13 pm

can it beat my 1.6 satria mivec? i really want replace my car if this car can perform better than my older car.

• mdfarizal on Mar 08, 2011 at 5:26 pm

if it spec for 180hp++ and can make 0-60 below 7.5s i dont care to put my deposit even today.

• you want that spec you buy golf gti laaa…

• Orzil on Mar 08, 2011 at 10:00 pm

lol…even the toyota corolla gt 1995 also can produce 165bhp..this 2011 proton r3 only 145hp…ironically enough…

• jong84 on Mar 08, 2011 at 6:36 pm

I will Trade in my Myvi to get this new baby!!! Yeah!!!!

• abang ipar besar on Mar 08, 2011 at 6:51 pm

my toyota KE70 with engine 4age from kedai potong with smoke this R3

The total cost of my KE70 with other mods? not even 20k….

• alamak bro…yes 4age can smoke any proton car but how about omission regulation,wasn’t the same???

• durian on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:27 pm

those frogs under the deep well which never seen the outside world will like this, it’s a laughing stock for foreigners, selling for US$20k ??? ha ha ha….what a joke….

• Basher on Mar 08, 2011 at 10:35 pm

97% yang komen unfavorable kat sini mmg tak nak or tak mampu beli.

30% dari unfavorable comment adalah org yang tahu fakta tapi menipu je.
    60% dari unfavorable comment adalah basher tegar a.k.a. dari T&H&P2
    7% sahaja yang betul2 ckp jujur.

• waimak on Mar 08, 2011 at 11:00 pm

Like the car but it’s 2011, nearly 6 years after the stock Neo was introduced.. If this is introduced earlier it’s gonna be awesome. Proton should be much faster..

• hondacabuk on Mar 09, 2011 at 4:27 pm

betul tu. sepatut nya keluarkan model seperti ini lebih awal sedikit. let say after 2 year production. then neo akan menjadi model yg menjadi kegilaan pemuda pemudi..

sekarang ni ramai yg ingat kerete sport adalah vios TRD dan city i-vtec pondan..haha

• Did they put in any turbo power window?

• Anak Malaysia on Mar 08, 2011 at 11:52 pm

proton boleh buat kereta tapi kurang cerdik buat kereta yg boleh dijual – itulah masalah proton, proton x boleh buat kereta ikut perasaan sahaja -racing, racing dan racing, proton kena buat kereta pakai akal dan pemikiran, yang ramai boleh beli, ramai boleh pakai dan punyai pasaran yang luas. Tujuan racing ialah untuk buat kereta – nak uji teknologi kereta bukan buat kereta untuk racing. Pikirkan lah wahai proton….

• niceone on Mar 09, 2011 at 5:54 pm

This car is built by enthusiasts, FOR ENTHUSIASTS. are you a car enthusiast? no? if not wait for Persona R, that one is for ‘orang ramai’

• Aiyar Honda is that better lah so called high quality but the gearbox and brake suxx~

Toyota ok but yer uncle style~

P2 Tin Milo~

• Norman on Mar 09, 2011 at 3:14 am

Need to improvise the torque although its normal aspirated engine,168nm for a so called 2 door hatch sports 1600cc is nothing to brag about..At least 178nm is acceptable.The sprint run also need improvement.9.2s aint too quick by sport hatch standard.Other than that its good..

• forrestcat on Apr 02, 2011 at 9:24 pm

I am so gonna buy this car after my euro trip…..i always felt the Neo deserves some more teeth under its hood and Proton has granted the wish of so many!!!

Always felt itimidated by the likes of Forte and even Vios which near the price of this R3 Neo but I always though thate Forte is an Abah’s car(imagine ur dad driving home with one) while the Vios will have this tagline as a taxi car in Thailand plus always have a soft spot for clutches which IMO gets me in touch more with the car …..BTW….I applaud Proton on this R3 Neo..it will surely be a runaway success like the GTi with the young ones still in their prime like me :P…I dun think a turbo is really that necessary although it will have its own special target market..but for now..the R3 Neo is good enough for me!!

• Spanking Tube on Feb 12, 2012 at 1:51 am

I loved up to you’ll obtain performed right here. The cartoon is tasteful, your authored subject matter stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an impatience over that you want be turning in the following. in poor health definitely come more previously again since precisely the similar just about very frequently inside case you shield this hike.