Honda recalls 36,656 Civic Hybrids in the US

More on the recall front. Honda has issued a recall for the Civic Hybrid in North America over problems with the vehicle’s power voltage converter.

The recall affects 36,656 units from the model year 2006-2007. The company says that the affected cars’ voltage converter, which relays power from the integrated motor assist (IMA) system to electrical components, could possibly fail. If it does, the headlights may go off and the engine might stall and not restart.

The recall will involve dealers replacing the voltage converter at no cost to the customer. Honda also submitted a similar recall report to the Transport Ministry in Japan for the Civic Hybrid sold domestically.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Another blow for the land of the rising sun.

There is a saying that goes something like this:

First generation – struggle to build it
    Second generation – struggle to maintain it
    Third generation – enjoy only and so destroy it.

So, are T&H family already into their third generation.

• anwar on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:14 am

i really hope things will be okay for the new insight. I just bought one. coming in this April or May. Honda never disappoint me before.

• kumanan on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:07 am

ya me 2 hope lik tat… coz new insight juz manufactured n imported frm japan..
      i juz test drive the car & luv it… hope will book sooon….
      anytin wana consider about hibrid?? any advice frm u? i saw toyota prius hibrid too expensve… 140k..

• hexagon on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:23 am

yes after this recall civic in malaysia..yeayyy!!!

• GUNMAN on Mar 09, 2011 at 1:06 pm

the recall is for the hybrid civic only. some how i have a feeling that localy sold hybrid civics will be, magicaly, not affected by these problems and hence no recall in Mlaysia- just my gutt feeling tho, i might be wrong, hope i am.

• ezracopters on Mar 09, 2011 at 1:57 pm

second that!!

• Road Thunder on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:04 am

There will be no recall, cos HM will just quietly fix the problem (if any) during each 5,000 km service.

• VW_fans on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:26 am

These days so many recall from car manufacturer especially from Japan, maybe they rising too fast hehe…..

• Speechless…

• farghmee on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:50 am

better late than burnt-in-car :P

• justice on Mar 09, 2011 at 12:01 pm

good,.at least they reveal the truth..and fix it.

• carsut on Mar 09, 2011 at 1:11 pm

maybe cars manufactures need to rethink 5 year cycle for new car.. its will stress manufactures to deliver NEW car on time, and forgetting their main purpose, which is to deliver a RELIABLE CAR!!!

• armandd on Mar 09, 2011 at 3:17 pm

Agreed.. There’s no point replacing a car that is still relevant and can be upgraded rather than be replaced. In the 90’s Euro cars like BMW E36 and Merc W123 rolled out of production for nearly 10 years before being replaced by new generation. Market demands perhaps..

• Qwerty on Mar 09, 2011 at 4:42 pm

German car model cycles are approximately 7 years with a facelift in year 3 or 4… But then again, it just seem the number of recalls these days are just burgeoning. Do you reckon it’s become endemic after the ford explorer~ firestone saga?

• ezracopters on Mar 09, 2011 at 1:59 pm

dont worry guys..Malaysian Honda was specially made unaffected to any defect.. there wont be any recall lah.. just enjoy ur Civic..

• raja laut on Mar 09, 2011 at 2:17 pm

Power window ada problem and yet
    no recall made – ever.
    Instead of taking responsibility they blame the vendors.
    Siapa makan cili dia rasa pedas-lah !!!?? :)

• carsut on Mar 09, 2011 at 3:35 pm

oi, grow up!!

• accountibility on Mar 09, 2011 at 3:54 pm

Ha3x !! Looks like carcut took the bait !!
        U rasa Pedas kah?
        Don’t sweep the problems under the carpet !!

• carsut on Mar 09, 2011 at 4:31 pm

hehe.. pedas sampai berasap ooo

• ezracopters on Mar 09, 2011 at 5:20 pm

as much as i support proton..dude, it’s true. the imfamous window really swash us red..hmmm same lame story anyway. newer product didnt have that kind of problem.. but people might not knew this, proton did call them owners one by one thru phone to inspect their product.. so far they call me once every 3 – 4 month regards to my satria neo..

• hondasucks on Mar 09, 2011 at 3:49 pm

nice

• redman on Mar 09, 2011 at 4:41 pm

proton…

• squawk on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:47 pm

The Power of Recall Nightmares. :-D

• lame honda..LOL