Proton R3 Satria Neo – short test drive impressions

We are back from a short test drive session of the Proton R3 Satria Neo, which happened at Proton’s testing ground in Shah Alam. Unlike the RM115k limited edition Lotus Racing Satria Neo (back when Proton and 1MRT were still on friendly terms), this version is much more accessible at RM79,797 but will still provide enthusiastic drivers with plenty of smiles.

To keep the price down, the R3 Neo doesn’t include the Lotus Racing Neo’s headline Ohlins suspension and AP Racing brakes, which were inspired by the real Lotus cars. The modded Campro CPS engine is the same. As we found out, the changes don’t detract from the fun factor and performance of the LR Neo, which makes it the better buy. There are even some improvements thrown in.

Continue reading the report after the jump.

This R3 Neo isn’t an afterthought or a development of the Lotus Racing Neo, although that limited edition came out first. On the contrary, development of this car started three months before the LR Neo was launched, which translates to early 2010, explains Tengku Djan, head of R3. After that, the idea of a Lotus Racing Neo came along, and R3 had to rush that car out within 6-7 weeks.

So we are actually looking at the final fruit of R3’s tweaking of the Satria Neo. In a nutshell, the R3 Neo is powered by the exact same engine as the LR Neo, which is the Campro CPS unit upgraded to make 145 hp at 7,000 rpm and 168 Nm of torque at 5,000 rpm. The stock engine makes 125 hp and 150 Nm. No Ohlins coilovers and mega AP brakes here; this car comes with R3 specified suspension and stoppers.

The S4PH powerplant has been given a host of upgrades to reach this state. Reprofiled camshafts that increase valve lift and overlap helps breathing, aided by a K&N filter in a carbon air box. Lightweight adjustable camshaft pulleys reduce inertia and enable fine tuning of valve timing.

To match all these is an R3 ECU calibrated with revised fuel maps and a focus on performance. There’s also a 4-2-1 R3 exhaust system similar in design to that found in the LR Neo, except that it’s in full stainless steel and without ceramic coating. Mated to the engine is a close ratio five-speed manual gearbox – there’s no auto option. 0-100 km/h is done in 9.2 seconds, top speed is 205 km/h.

For the suspension, R3 ordered a few settings from the OE manufacturer before finally deciding on this set. The springs are shorter and their rates firmer than the standard Neo CPS. As for what they were looking to achieve for the handling, drift master Tengku Djan said that R3 wanted to “bring back a bit of the old GTI feel”, referring to the old body Satria GTI and Satria R3. Ride height is 10 mm lower than the Neo CPS.

Brakes wise, the R3 Neo uses performance pads that have an operating temperature of up to 400 degrees C and increased fade resistance over the standard car. The calipers are stock.

The Satria Neo is already one of the most sporty three-door hatchback designs around, and the R3 Neo takes it a step further. Only available in “Fire Red” with a black roof and bronze accents, it looks fantastic in the sunlight. Not sure about you, but I never really liked the LR’s green and yellow theme – this looks much better in my opinion. Also nice are those six-spoke 16-inch R3 alloys in gunmetal.

Unlike the LR edition, the R3 Neo uses the standard Neo CPS bodywork, with additions such as a front splitter (reduces undercarriage turbulence and increases downforce, according to R3) and a new design spoiler, which is more subtle than the standard car’s and improves aerodynamics. There are R3 logos on the sides of the wing. The rear bumper is stock, although the trademark central exhaust tip is different.

Proton R3 Satria Neo – short test drive impressionsI stepped in the car expecting the typical Neo reception of zero headroom (I’m not that tall at 175 cm, but we’re required to wear helmets when driving at Proton’s oval) and looking through the top quarter of the windscreen, but was pleasantly surprised to find that there was room to spare.

I was then told that the seats are new – the rails are in the same place, but the seat base goes deeper now to free up some much needed headroom. You’ll also notice that the seat backs are more shapely compared to the old chairs – there’s added thigh, hip and shoulder support here.

The steering wheel is wrapped in “Trivel Fibre”, which is an Alcantara type material, and has a red centre marker, just like in Renault Sport cars. The panels around the audio buttons have the carbon fibre look. There are lots of panels in red to match the exterior and like in the LR Neo, the gear knob is a chromed ball. The aluminium pedals are identical as well.

Proton R3 Satria Neo – short test drive impressionsWe weren’t given much time behind the wheel, but enough for a good impression. Flex your right foot and the louder exhaust note is immediately noticeable. The R3 Neo pulls away cleanly and smoothly, without being bogged down by any holes and trenches in the torque delivery. But it’s not particularly strong below 4,000 rpm, which is the point the high lift cam profile comes into play.

As expected, from here, the engine gains a second wind as it charges towards redline, which is 7,500 rpm in the R3 Neo (cut off at 7,800), although the unchanged meter panel will show that you’re already swimming deep in the red sea. Once in the zone, the tacho needle gains urgency that’s previously unseen, and there’s no slowing down because the Variable Intake Manifold (VIM) changes to the short runner at 5,500 rpm.

The R3 Neo, like the standard car, is meant to be revved all out for enjoyment, and with the short ratio gearbox, it’s extremely effortless to get there – it’s time for the next gear before you know it. The sound is more towards boomy than VTEC screamy, but it’s fun nevertheless.

We also tried out the R3 Neo over a section of crests and dips to check out the primary ride, which it passed with admirable composure. Rolling over thin metal strips saw the Neo cushion away the impact instead of reacting with a bounce or shimmy. We’ll never know how it feels like on a poorly surfaced B-road with these examples, but I’m betting it’ll cope well.

Doing the slaloms at 70 km/h revealed a slightly different character from our limited Lotus Racing Neo experience (never got to drive it on public roads). While the green car gave hints that it likes to dance around the cones, rear end edging out a little, the R3 Neo felt less active at the back. More like a normal road car, in other words, albeit a grippy one that corners very flat. Turn in is sharp, and steering feel is good. Can’t wait to drive it on the road.

We did some braking tests as well, and while this car doesn’t have the stupendous stopping power of the LR Neo’s AP Racing brakes, it’s more than good enough, and there wasn’t any fade although I wasn’t the first to do the test. The LR edition is probably the most over braked car in the world, so we’re just reverting to the real world – no big loss.

The R3 Satria Neo serves up good looks and good vibes for the enthusiast driver. It’s quite good value too – 80k for 145 hp can’t be found elsewhere (correct us if we’re wrong, new cars only) – and has new features that the wider market appreciates such as a push start button and a 2-DIN touch screen ICE system with GPS.

It’s not perfect though – just as I was getting tempted, the Neo’s long and heavy free swinging door slammed on my hips upon exit, not for the first time.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Putrasdar on Mar 09, 2011 at 7:59 pm

COOL!!!!

• Neutral on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:05 pm

If I have the money & don’t care to spend it, I will buy! Neo CPS pun cool!

• sagatron on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:57 pm

“The sound is more towards boomy than VTEC screamy, but it’s fun nevertheless”…hehe..vtec is now doomed!!

• peYno on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:21 pm

Vtec is technology of 20 years ago .

honda is now in hybrid.

and honda 1.6 vtec can have more than 160 hp, 20 years ago.

nasilemak can never win sushi.

nasilemak for poor ppl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
          • alpha999 on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:26 pm

i love honda…..but i prefer nasi lemak anytime…over sushi…..!!!!!!

• support Malaysian product….. nasi lemak always win… =p

• armandd on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:37 pm

What vtec? Variable valve timing is 1940s technology laa.. Other manufacturers don’t highlight variable valve timing nowadays becoz it’s too common. Now honda civic 1.8 only got 140hp. Recently civic hybrid got massive recall involving potentially dangerous electrical problems. No need to worship honda so much and fall victim to their marketing campaign.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
          • alldisc on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:04 pm

yes, variable valve timing is correct in a way that it was engineered by Alfa Romeo in 1960s but the result was not good.

Honda however managed to improvised by experimenting in F1. The result Honda’s 1,500cc V6 turbo managed to help many constructors to clinch F1 titles like McLaren and Williams in the 80s.

then only they applied to passenger cars from early 90s starting with sport models like NSX and CRX.

Honda’s VTEC is unique too in a way that it is also capable of adjusting valve lift, which i think is pattented.

• heynekko on Mar 11, 2011 at 1:02 am

Vtec engines have 2 distinct peak in the power band. 1st one is around 3-4k rpm when you want to drive normally. 2nd one after activate the vtec over 4k rpm the power will peak around 7-8k rpm (9k in type-r).

Campro CPS have only one peak in the power band and it depends on the tuning. Normal campro will peak around 4-5k rpm.. This particular Neo CPS R3 is tuned to peak at 7k rpm leaving little to no pull below 4k rpm.

“But it’s not particularly strong below 4,000 rpm,” as quoted from above.

So, it’s not suitable for normal driving (i.e below 4k rpm)

Vtec wins by offering normal driving power and high revving power when you feel like it in the same engine.

• MoFaz on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:44 am

and you forgot that CUSCO is selling Proton Satria Neo rally car in Japan?
            maybe they’re fed-up with sushi already… now trying nasi lemak.

• Tengokje.. on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:00 am

I also prefer nasi lemak than sushi..especially with the ‘sambal tumis ikan bilis’..hmm…so delicious…

• dag372 on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:30 am

peYno..do u have a car? what car u drive it? honda? or honda EX5?

• focus tdci on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:19 pm

nasi lemak all the time?! haha jaga2! nanti die of diabetes and heart attack from high cholesterol.

• mark wu on Apr 19, 2011 at 12:21 pm

Nasi lemak, roti canai n Char kuey tiaw are 100 time better then sushi. you can bash our product but i wont allow u to bash our food. we love it!! only malaysian can apprecite the taste of durian.

• peYno1 on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:29 pm

vtec is 20 years ago. honda now is hybrid already.

vtec 1.6 is 160hp++, this 1.6 only 145hp

how to fight honda ??? come on la.

hey you’re wet again.

• DonkeyKong on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:36 pm

But look at the fuel efficiency and emissions! Power output isn’t everything. Heck, even Toyota’s VVTi engine has been banned in the EU because it doesn’t meet Euro-2 standards. Only katak-bawah-tempurung Malaysians who are unaware of the big picture worship these old engines.

• I wonder if this car can win lancer evo?

• dag372 on Mar 12, 2011 at 12:11 am

Vtec 160hp but torque less then 160Nm
            Campro with 164hp but have a 168Nm in torque
            If u dont understand about engine performance, dont talk about it, think positive

• cravers on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:43 pm

im craving for it!!!!!!

• beatnik on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:43 am

“The sound is more towards boomy than VTEC screamy, but it’s fun nevertheless”…hehe..vtec is now doomed!!

What? I don’t see how the vtec is doomed.. first, the campro sounds boomy, not sweet like the vtec scream, which is musical to petrolheads. Second, the power is not even near the lowest b-series (b16a)..

How can the vtec is doomed??!?!?!?? LOL!

• in june, halfcut from overseas are ban from entering malaysia. tell me if it not a dying breed.

• beatnik on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:22 pm

Well, the comment made from previous poster saying VTEC is doomed because the CPS sounds boomy rather than screamy.. not because it is banned from being imported.. LOL

• armandd on Mar 10, 2012 at 12:56 am

b16a? the torqueless engine? haha..

• Taguchi, Masayuki on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:04 pm

“0-100 km/h is done in 9.2 seconds, top speed is 205 km/h”…im not impressed by that stats to be honest. however,good job proton for bringing out a new satria neo!

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:16 pm

Not fantastic, but still 1.3 secs faster than a hot looking recently launched coupe!

• peYno on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:14 pm

Danny you’re so funny, that coupe is auto car, and this is a ricer car, and manual only win auto by ….1 second?

after all the ricer parts? and remember, that coupe is a 6 airbag luxury coupe.

lol. so will you buy any satria neo? lol. you better dont, jatuh standard, buy a car like your bro, a BMW.

• Alpha on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:50 pm

Pardon me asking,but you sounds like a know-it-all.So,may I know what’s a RICER??

• NONICKNAME on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:48 am

RICER=Nasi Lemak

• VIGOSS on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:35 pm

hahaha lolz

• rice = nasi. ricer = more rice = lebih nasi..

• well done mate…this no-brainer named peYno cant even spell right..let alone talk…his comment only deserved a special place in a…. trashbin

• Alpha on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:51 pm

And also,LUXURY COUPE??Is it rude for me to say,”MEH!!”

• bobdbilder on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:58 pm

Its only rude if spoken in French. Otherwise an auto front wheel drive faux coupe with auto box should be seriously seen as a joke.

• aduss on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:05 pm

Does it matter? Because you seem to have made up your mind about “status of proton car”- Danny Tan
          :)

• armandd on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:18 pm

peYno, what car u’re driving?

• peYn1 on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:49 pm

i’m driving a bicycar.

better than hybrid, eco, and energy saving.

even if the electric is 100 times more expensive, even if the petrol is 100 times more expensive. i can travel up to 60km/h, and proudly show my 6 packs.

wait…..i’m high again.

• anybody from jabatan kabajikan masyarakat here? please send ur help to this guy peYn1 ,he need it badly…

• mizzuddin on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:03 am

bicycar…?

i know i know…

” bapaku pulang dari kota…. bapaku belikan kereta…. kereta kecil warna merah…. boleh ku bawa ke sekolah….

pon pon pon pon pon pon pon pon pon….

kereta kecilku berbunyi… marilah adik mari naik…. boleh kubawa jumpa nenek…. ”

hahahaaa peyno…

• armandd on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:30 pm

hey peYno, what car you’re driving?

• Talking about standard, peYno set the standard of the stupidest man alive :D

• peYno on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:15 pm

Danny, buy a used suzuki swift sport at rm80k 2009, 0-100km/h= 8.9 second.

and its a suzuki, better than polo gti.

ford fiesta / suzuki swift.

wait….u guys love nasilemak, go la, buy satria neo.

• DiscoStick on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:58 pm

don brag on how fast the car can go, THINK about how fast it can STOP when u needed it. Now u want to talk about suzuki vs polo?

• then tiba tiba can see kancill overtake just like that.lol

• DiscoStick on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:04 am

so u r bragging how fast cheaper car and outpace a branded car, like how a wira-turbo can do it, or ur swift outpacing polo gti? have u ever think of how fast can ur car STOP when u needed it when u go that fast? can it respond better than the ‘branded’ one?

• Chyan on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:56 am

An asshole is always an asshole.

• mizzuddin on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:24 am

be cool mate…

they make paultan entries colorful actually…

• there is spammer in this blog…boring reading stupid comment from up to down..y la admin release all the comment

• this what we call democracy..

• This what we called as “neutral no-side” comments. The only reason why I’m still visiting this website.

Takkan nak cerita Protong Sampan, Campro jer? Susah cari makan beb.

Rather than upping the power to that small “ikan bilis” 145 HP (a mere 20HP increase) and that is not even the actual HP you’ll get when you’re driving on the road anyways (due to friction, energy lost, type of fuel-RON95 and etc) and the buyer are slapped with extra $$$ for small 20HP extra, nah I’ll pass.

They should have concentrate fixing the QUALITY issues of all Protong cars.

Yes, “Nasi Lemak” is good, but who wants to buy “Nasi Lemak Basi”??? (one-quarter size telur rebus, sambal yang sekali telan terus masuk tandas, nasi tak sampai segenggam tangan – kemudian jual harga macam restoran western food, nahhhh I’ll pass)

Hahaha.

• HirumaKecil on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:44 pm

that just what they say.. but we can know that even standartd persona without cps already can go up to 200++ km/h.. so i think this car can go more that 210.. maybe 220-230…

• ppl always talk about top speed and 0-100 time, how about how fast it reaches top speed? say 0-200 time? compared to to persona or that coupe?

my guess is this chilli merah is much faster with shorter g/b ratio and lighter kerb weight

• h4dRi on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:51 pm

persona dont have short gear ratio like this car..so 205KM/H is just about right..

• mizzuddin on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:33 am

persona really can reach 205km/h..? that’s what i thought…

i own an Elegance, about 2 month old clocked about 4300km…

managed to reach 183km/h with full load of luggage and 4 passengers on board…

managed to reach 183km/h too with 1 passenger…

petrol used, RON95

• mizzuddin on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:36 am

persona really can reach 205km/h..? that’s what i thought…

i own an Elegance, about 2 month old clocked about 4300km…
          managed to reach 183km/h with full load of luggage and 4 passengers on board…
          managed to reach ONLY 183km/h too with 1 passenger…

petrol used, RON95

something not right with my PE…?

• peYn1 on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:08 pm

this car can fly somemore, wanna try?

1.6 145hp = 220km/h.

wow…..skyline can go how fast? 600km/h? lol

• azhar on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:08 am

come on..malaysia isn’t like US,didn’t have too long hiway road without plaza tol!
          anyone can reach 300km/h in malaysia?haha…drive safely!

• civicEK on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:22 am

i used to ride my neighbor’s impreza at nkve from subang to kl. can reach 300kmh easily hehe :P

• pijan on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:57 am

impreza can reach 300km/h? liar!!!!!!

• 1.6 110hp = 220km/h my satria neo

• alldisc on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:07 pm

if i am not mistaken, SGTI is faster at sub 9 secs. zerotohundred.

• RAVEN on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:07 pm

SGTi – 1800cc (140hp – 164Nm)
        but NEOR3 – 1600cc only (145hp – 168Nm)

how about 0-200??
        i think NEOR3 a lot better than SGTi (CPS kick @ 4K + close ratio gear)

• AripSon on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:05 pm

Just lovin’ it…
    Have to buy one!

• kalau tergesel lid bumper depan.. boleh menangis tu

• love forte on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:10 pm

Wow !! Smart !!!

• wolfsburg on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:12 pm

The push start is cacat one.. Need to turn the key then press the button… Same as type-R…

• coz it dont have key less entry i think.. so u need ur key even to start with start stop button.. :)

• alldisc on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:11 pm

i think the reason that we mus twist key first before start – the system is supplied by Brother’s accesories shop. ha ha ha

run alldisc, runn…. ppl dont like your stupid jokes!! ha ha ha

• CiViC_7900 on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:12 pm

Kalau aku 24@25 aku nak jugak keta gni.but kakaka…I am getting older…

• old but young at heart ma

• aduss on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:32 pm

jangan tuakan diri, biar tua tu datang sendiri,, :)

• perfect.. life begin at 40 !

• alldisc on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:21 pm

then i am -5. not yet 40…

not old, but no getting any younger either. warm hatch like this will be suitable for me.

why i say so, coz hot hatch nowadays are 180bhp and above. look at Civic Type R, VW Golf GTI, Vauxhall Astra VXR, Ford Focus RS/ST, Renault Clio RS/Cup/Renaulsport, Seat Leon Cupra R and Seat Ibiza Cupra… and the likes.

this is just luke warm. competes with Mini 1 though. and Alfa Romeo Mito. and perhaps Golf TSI. 80K is a price hard to ignore.

• iamisiamwhatiam on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:13 pm

Thank you Danny!
    I knew paultan.org is where to go if I want to know if the low roof issue has been rectified or not :D

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:21 pm

While the situation is slightly improved, it’s still not ideal. Bigger guys must try it out for size.

They have done whatever that can be done though.

• R3people on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:20 pm

wah…everything is so good abt this car.ah?…we r more interested in the shortcomings than the boost up review. any good car review must have a balance view of both. will i give way if i see one coming from behind me? u guess..no way..that’s the status of proton car…..

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:34 pm

This isn’t a review of the Satria Neo, but specifically the R3 version, so we point out what’s new and talk about what’s new.

The Neo’s shortcomings are still there. The dashboard panel gaps aren’t very consistent and the thing that bugs me most is the free swinging door. Headroom is improved but still not great.

Does it matter? Because you seem to have made up your mind about “status of proton car”

• peYno on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:23 pm

money grows on trees, so go buy one, sure faster than the auto 6 speed fiesta.

but if you go pelita, everyone laughing at you, boy ricer.

the above is the reason lotus racing satria neo cannot sell all, still got 1 unit at Juru Autocity penang.

• Salamander on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:57 pm

You sure or not? LR Satria Neo is sold out ler. That one is a show unit. Failed.

• peYno on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:43 pm

25 units limited edition, still can afford to make 1 more and put as show car?

you la failed.

so its 25 units or 26 units? so, next yearwhat do they do with the show car? burn it? lol.

sell to some cheapo at low low price la. 25 units + 100 units showcar? lol,

• man, peyno. talk like a child @ stupid politician. please grow yourself a year or two before come back and drop a comment. dont feel good about yourself being a stupid troll.

• Juan Hardiez on Jul 19, 2011 at 4:15 pm

peYno, dey. unfortunately, u never heard of buffer stock. so just shut up.

• so you the type that make hiway jam because of your stoopid egotistical thinking.

• scoobylution on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:27 pm

what is the brand of that double-DIN unit?

• DonkeyKong on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:49 pm

The user interface looks similar to those DLAA units that you can buy from lelong.com.my..

• muryadi on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:28 pm

Cantik dan mengancam. Nak satu.

• ait…solo nmpk…den nak jugak satu..(azam ak sbgi first car!!)

• ibex7 on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:01 am

Urrghh! U said nice? the steering is the old steering. looks plasticky, dull n cheap. if proton wanna give its neo a racer boy looks, they should hv put on more sporty oriented steering wheel.

• where do you want to put the airbag if they change the steering?
        if no airbag you will shout like gile plak.

• Kim McClain on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:28 pm

Perodua’s R3 = Race. Rosak. Repair. By the way good job Proton! :D

• aduss on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:31 pm

“The Proton chassis (satria neo) is one of the best I have ever driven”- Alister McRae

“The Satria is a great car and to have the chance to be working with a manufacturer like Proton is very good news for me” – two-time Junior World Rally champion Per-Gunnar Andersson.

• armandd on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:35 pm

danny, do you know the gear ratio & fuel consumption?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:46 pm

Not disclosed by R3. But I reckon that official FC figures won’t mean much in such a rev happy car. Drivers will surely explore the redline at every opportunity!

• DonkeyKong on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:51 pm

I’d like to see someone buy this car but install an NGV system so that they can enjoy a rev happy car without blowing a hole in their wallet with fuel cost :D

• peYn1 on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:51 pm

hey, look no where, go buy Honda CRZ.

you boy ricer still wanna CPS and worry about fuel?

Honda/toyota = hybrid.
          euro = turbo diesel.
          Forget about this R3 neo, wait for turbo Neo

(while you’re waiting, i’ll go buy this R3 first, lol. Turbo car first batch you sure die, proton quality ma)

• Danial on Mar 14, 2011 at 4:38 pm

Haha, tis is a rev happy car with driving style up to the redline . I mean driving up from 4k rpm to 7k rpm. You cannot get a rev happy R3 if you install NGV!

• speedfrog on May 09, 2011 at 2:34 am

Its not so bad…i drove from KL to JB with 150 average speed and hit 200 when some cucuk me still got half tank…for me its good enough…

• it would be perfect if turbo engine is used instead of old cps engine..

• good article…puas baca n tengok gambar.. good job danny!

• Proton lover on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:47 pm

This is really a crap car. If you have RM80k, please top up and get something else or stick with what you have.

• aduss on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:59 pm

topup 40K? 30K? 20K? or 10K?

• huiyoo on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:49 pm

he only afford to topup his handphone

• junaidi on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:51 pm

Hahahaha I would thumbs up for you 200 times bro but my mouse will spoil.
          =D

• Seriously on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:35 am

That’s besides the point, you can only thump up it once from one pc :/

• alldisc on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:27 pm

you all are hillarious..!! :D

• scoobylution on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:09 pm

can you tell me what other brand new car with 145hp n superb handling that can be buy with 80k?

• peYno on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:17 pm

ford fiesta, and you look better with ford badge.

if you buy proton , you must eat nasilemak 3 times a day

• aduss on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:35 pm

ford fiesta 120 hp? OTR RM82,888.00
          6 – Speed Automatic with Dual Clutch is good.. wauu..

• squawk on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:38 pm

Ford US is doing quiet gb rectification works on the Fiesta. :-)

• iamisiamwhatiam on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:41 pm

At RM82888, RM78888, or RM69888, also nasi lemak 3 times a day meh.

• huiyoo on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:48 pm

i always eat chicken chop even though i use proton car. go elsewhere la basher

• scoobylution on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:53 pm

i said 145hp

• Alpha on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:54 pm

Why don’t u just recommend a 1980’s Mercedes since badge sounds like a really important factor to you??

• DonkeyKong on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:55 pm

WHAT?? Ford Fiesta doesn’t even have 100hp output!!!! And furthermore, its proportions are nowhere as sleek as the Neo R3’s!

The Neo R3 is built for speed. Those driving Fiesta, Mazda 2, Vios, City and Myvi always imagine that their car has transformed into a race car when they change their rims, add a rear wing and plaster the front edge of their doors with stickers but guess what, the Neo R3 is the real deal when it comes to race-ready street legal cars.

• peYn1 on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:53 pm

buy neo R3 when u fall in love with the mechanic in Proton. if he change job to toyota or kia, you’re doomed. the pakcik foreman will wink at you lol.

• errrr what??? this is suppose to be a joke right???

• focus tdci on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:54 pm

he means all those mechanics and foreman at proton SC are boyricer lovers bah! LOL

• peYn1 on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:59 pm

still live in wajalution fantasy??

this money better buy Inspira Manual ( special edition with milo tin body)

Now with promotion 2.58% becos they cannot sell it, lol. those buy early are scr3wed!!!! big time as usual. but now its earlier than before, lol.

• exJAVANESE on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:55 pm

Honesty, im not condemned on the Neo R3 dude..i admit, Neo have an agile handling and awesome design but bear in your mind, every car also have a pro n cons…All of Official Tune Car have their overbalance itself.

Neo R3 have superb handling and ready to dance in a track anytime but not enough head clearance for daily use (in track=aerodynamic, For daily use=Disaster…)

Fiesta also a have a Fiesta ST version (even for standard Fiesta 2011, have 120hp..) maybe rumors said end of this year…Fuel Consumption??don’t know yet…

Same as Mazda, they have a mazdaspeed tune….but is it gonna sell in our land? don’t know yet too…

and ofcourse…TRD for vios,already sell in our land….but is it any changes on numbers of hp?? sorry..

but back to our main point here is, at the end of the day..people will still change their rims, add a rear wing and plaster the front edge of their doors with stickers even though they know they already bought the Ultimate Street Race Tune Car Version …this is what we called HUMAN UNSATISFIED SENTIMENT…this is a normal thing us….

• Seriously on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:39 am

race-ready street legal car? That’s one low benchmark.

• azhar on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:19 am

the poin is: DO YOU HAVE ENOUGH MONEY OR NOT?!
            If too much money,then buy ultra speed car laa..lol…

• malaysian standard la bro … what to do ? our duty so high …

• theanswer on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:56 pm

inspira 1.8 manual? bigger engine..4 doors..but no r3 parts..up to u..ur money ;) if i got 80k..i’ll buy this neo r3.

• i got RM80k start bisnis

• gud idea..successful businessman always said to me dont buy car in cash..pay monthly..roll ur money…unless u r a contractor…they like buy things in cash..just my 2 cent

• feel sort of imperfection about this car…maybe because proton has a turbo engine but not fitted into this baby…shame though…

• MusTANKs on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:36 pm

wait for it…
      this neo R3 need to out first since it been tune and proven for it’s performance..
      turbo campro still need time to “matang”.. hehe..

but, if you work for power train dept, you can put it in you car for sure..

• arzorro on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:50 pm

the cps engine for this R3neo is the same as the LRneo…
    thus shifting at 7500rpm each gear as claimed for LRneo…woohooo!!…
    i like.

• I don’t know about the rest of you, but I think this is pretty damn impressive if you ask me…

• scorpio on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:05 pm

owned one before…regret to sell it…hope can get this R3 version…

• theanswer on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:58 pm

the old satria r3? omg..u’r soo..kind to sell that car! what happen to u dude?

• waa, sound soooo good, No other car can match it . impressive la, awesome la, good job la, bla, bla, bla.

• DonkeyKong on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:57 pm

In Sweden, some Swedes have exactly this same attitude towards Volvo and Saab. In Germany, some Germans have exactly this same attitude towards BMW, Mercedes and Audi.

But in Malaysia, those marques are worshipped like faultless epitomes of perfection, but Proton is slammed left and right (although some reviews of Proton cars in UK and Australia have sung praises for it).

• Seriously on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:42 am

Given the choice between a Volvo, BMW, Merc, Audi and a Proton, which would you pick?
        Yeah, that’s what I thought. I rest my case.

• ah zam on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:21 am

if they price their cheapest hatchback around VW Polo price then only u can rest your case

• Seriously on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:18 pm

Sad isn’t it? That we have to put up with gov taxes and not the true value of the car.

• redboy on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:12 am

which UK and Australia praise Protong? hahahhaa…..i only read from their local magazine…..”Protong is for retired people…and those dont plan to live longer due to safety quality”..

• alldisc on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:31 pm

and for those who got retrenched that can make the Persona as taxis… (i read this in mid 90s when Wira was sold in UK as persona)

• Billy on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:27 pm

it was sold as impian…not persona

• aduss on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:00 pm

impian for waja.. persona for wira hatchback.. just info for u

• Legendary MAF14 on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:46 am

wira is pesona, not persona..

• mizzuddin on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:57 am

i don’t think the build quality is the same there as in boleyland….

• niceone on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:59 pm

can’t accept the reality ka? why dont u try it out for yourself then?

• nabill on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:12 pm

to be honest , if u cant afford this one…getting the standard satria neo cps is good enough…..and more affordable…..and the best thing abt it is that there are million options to upgrade every nut and bold…dats the fun part of owning cars like this

this car brings out the boy racer in u….which we all have deep in our souls !
    i have a feeling that this car is not sting u use as an everyday car….dats y i think the standard one is more practical…

bt if u can afford it….go for the R3 !

• Kokopai on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:12 pm

“The LR edition is probably the most over braked car in the world”

Lol.. “over braked” is added to my vocab

Btw, I was reading Roda-Roda magazine (March issue) and I found a candidate of “over braked” bike/kapchai – a Yamaha 135 LC with twin rotor on the front and rear. Disc are the same size for front and rear with 3 pots caliper per disc. Phewwwwwwww…

• Paul Tan on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:15 pm

Hmm, it uses the stock Neo CPS bumper, no R3 bumpers!

• huiyoo on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:52 pm

and not the r3 steering

• pomen_gtr on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:09 am

thats what i tought….what a letdown….

if fully kitted with R3 bodypart+that front splitter…it gonna be awesome….

well…or maybe R3 still got something that might bite harder(*maybe::turboed neo??) coming up…thus keeping the best for the last???

• mizzuddin on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:06 am

i’m a basher…! and i own a PE…! this time i wanna bash!!!!

this is proton!!! their attitude!!! when can only they learn that simple things like this which can be corrected easily will ruin everything…? demm!!!

• Ordinary Joe on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:21 pm

Am not proton fan, but I like it. Will probaly be a blast on the twisty bits. Not quite feeling the red dash tho… and why not have a leather gater cover to cover that black bit of gear stick? Black leather with a bit of red stiching perhaps? I recond it will make the center dash console at the gear lever look better…

• mystvearn on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:24 pm

Any chance for a full review? Like for everyday conditions. Maybe a cheap’s man VW GTi replacement?

• peYno on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:31 pm

R3 satria neo, Build by Nasilemak for Nasilemak

Build by orang bod0h, for orang bod0h!!!

kaka, lawak tu

• burppp on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:33 pm

org yg mkn nasi lemak dari kecik tak ngaku diri mkn nasi lemak gak..

hanya yang lagi bodoh complain hasil keja org lain bodoh… kalau bijak takkan kutuk camtu bro….

even japs likes neo… dah bosan makan sushi, diorg try n fall in love with nasi lemak msia..

• curious on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:01 pm

why you so butthurt? your dugong gonna be tapao by another proton again?

• DonkeyKong on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:43 pm

Alister McRae is hooked on nasi lemak I guess. And even Cusco is giving nasi lemak a try. Looks like bashers like this peYno are the only ones who ended up having a packet of nasi lemak turned sideways and shoved up their @$$.

• exJAVANESE on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:20 am

peYno ?? whats wrong with u man??
      PL..show some good manner in your comment…look alike you are out of mind….
      do you need me to call an Ambulance to take you to Tanjong Rambutan Hospital??My pleasure dude!!!

• I’m a doctor, have been monitoring this guy from a far…..from observation…he displayed a lot of characteristic which fit either a schizophrenic (the change or personality quiet astounding + delusional + 3rd rank symptoms) or somebody with mania (+/- depression) (he showed grandiosity , anxiety, anger, denial). i would suggest exJAVANESE do what he suggest or at least get some help. if he is driving it could be danger to people all around him. as for other i would suggest ignoring him since all this actually aggravated his condition..u can see by the more grandiose he become on his comment now.

• mizzuddin on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:16 am

tuu diahhh… amek kau….

demm i luv paultan… demm colorful…
          got doctorate comment some more =)

• mizzuddin on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:23 am

doctor, do you agree with me, the symptom shown by the subject caused by kurangnya kasih sayang..?

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:56 am

are you really peYno or just some idiots who don’t have any idea for your name here.
      Are you referring this car to Nasi Lemak because it’s cheapo car?
      Nasi Lemak sometimes expensive too,kosong one sure murah.
      But this R3 Neo is like Nasi Lemak with Ayam and Sambal Sotong.You will really enjoy it and worth your money.
      Speaking of Nasi Lemak,suddenly it makes me feel really hungry.

• GUNMAN on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:33 am

guys, no need to wrestle with a pig… the pig gets dirty and loves it!

• malaysian on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:35 pm

I think the interior would look more sporty n cool if it were black like the current exora..
    Anyhows congrats proton R3 team.
    Would really love to buy this for my bujang car..

• exJAVANESE on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:31 am

interior would look more sporty n cool if it were implemented with a real carbon fiber!! that will be really cool though….

• is it just me or is the metal plate which says the build number came of on one side? Proton..proton….

• burppp on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:35 pm

look closely… its a peeled plastic cover, not metal part behind it.

• curious on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:58 pm

that is only the plastic to cover that thing lah..turn on the light and look closely

• gearwant on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:00 pm

R3 cost 80k & 2nd hand suzuki swift sport yr 08-09 cost 70-80k max. and SSS is a 4doors
    hatch too. In term of performance and quality of course SSS will win it compare to R3.
    CHOOSE WISELY DRIVERS!

• burppp on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:43 pm

performance? are u sure? sss 125hp 148Nm vs r3 neo 145hp 168Nm…

• Mok17 on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:55 pm

Because of the cheap looking interior of satria neo i choose suzuki swift sport. Proton dashboard grey colour is very ugly.

• exJAVANESE on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:40 am

Because of the cheap looking interior of suzuki swift sports. i choose Ford Fiesta with dynamic and futuristic design dashboard interface…..suzuki swift sports dashboard feels very empty and boring….

• memek on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:26 am

Because of the cheap looking interior of Ford Fiesta, i choose Naza Sutera… Cheap to own and ugly to see

• Unforgiven on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:41 am

Suzuki swift’s global sales have crossed 2 million mark…
            Who really care about Neo vs Swift? Think globally…

• pijan on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:19 am

don’t bother the number.. 1.9mil of it coming out as cheap car from india. Try Alto, It looks like will fall apart as soon as you receive your key..

• curious on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:56 pm

why you need 4 doors when your SSS is also damn cramped at the back!!! that extra door is useless

• Ash Menon on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:25 am

Have to agree with this. Suzuki’s interior space is quite poor. SNeo’s isn’t great, but at least it’s better.

• armandd on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:00 pm

have to test at sepang first, then only can say who wins=)

• DonkeyKong on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:45 pm

Neo R3 vs Swift Sport at Sepang? Well I’m not a psychic but I can guarantee you that the Swift Sport will be inhaling the Neo’s exhaust smoke 99% of the time.

• beatnik on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:52 am

the stock SSS already can go 0-100 in less than 9 secs.. and it has great handling too.. i believe the two cars are quite close in term of performance.

• scoobylution on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:20 pm

i choose brand new car rather than used car.

• sagaknght on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:03 am

sss is good in handling but neo is much better

• teamsleepnine on Mar 10, 2011 at 3:12 am

wait lah……don’t simply assume…wait and see cusco prep (r3 build engine) race with little mazda and suzuki swift in all japan junior rally championship then we judge….even in aprc cusco no longer run their junior rally programme and switch to neo…..haish malaysian….

• drMpower on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:06 pm

i hope this is the last satria neo upgrade or whatever
    now let us get to the board to pen out the new satria
    i believe we are coming to an end of the cycle for this car

a few good consideration should be kept in mind for the next satria
    – bigger cabin. please i feel uneasy at times
    – new engine. please. campro is over depended
    – greater exterior design
    – technologies. with proton now getting in f1, they should fit atleast some of the f1 derived stuffs

meanwhile, kudos to r3. they have got to do better.

• I disagree slightly…the world is only beginning to open its eye on Neo. The hype is still there. Let it be tried and tested throughly…..Orang kata biar sampai puas.

Current Neo CPS is still very much desired if not for the price. Would be good if they keep it and try to reduce the price down. Plus, it has not gotten the very much waited turbo.

• drMpower on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:11 pm

takpe
        i mean the product continues la till 2 years lagi
        in the meantime start the work on the next satria
        i dont want another rebadge or something
        i would be dissappointed if for example they ask nissan for the shorter platform thing or whatever
        so that another rebadge engineering can be done
        i like engineering, infact its my passion
        so if we cant do something ourselves
        then its a failure for me
        considering that we are nearly 30 years old

of course now satria is getting the attention its deserve
        now get the designer to atleast draw something
        on the board and we can get it better
        than this one

go proton

• anwar on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:29 pm

anyways….GOOD JOB PROTON!!!! :)

• kayel on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:38 pm

the only thing that i prefer on this r3 satria neo is the seat…hope proton will apply this kind of design on other model as well

• nasya on Mar 09, 2011 at 10:42 pm

wahhh lawa exhaust. harap tak berkarat & tertanggal selepas 2 tahun macam current normal neo.

• just wanna ask something, warna merah ni sama dgn neo yang biasa tu ke? or slightly different?

• great package, fast, cool and upgrade even the tyres are tubeless, i cant find new car under 100k with tubeless tyres

• all wow except the steering…

• Wow, always want to have this version of Satria Neo, a road version of the Satria S2000.

• Reymond on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:08 pm

This is the best satria neo i’ve ever seen in my life… err after the Satria GTI of course. Hail proton!

• burppp on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:30 pm

are u sure? not the 200hp 250Nm forced induction neo R3? thats the best i’ve seen.. but its just a project, not for the mass.

• This car is perfect,cool and sporty but the logo destroy the whole car :(

• ayamxxx on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:21 pm

R3 Neo with campro 1.6 145hp.

Plus with FC of 7-8km/liter… pheu!!!

• 1malaysia2020 on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:23 pm

Its good that another excellent product came out from R3…

However, let us get things into real world perspective…

1) Why would you drive or buy a fun yet petrol guzzling car in times where everybody from Tata to Lamborghini is doing the opposite (with even more fun)?
    2) Do people from Proton (and R3) read or watch news ? Hello R3 dude, fuel price now is more than USD100 per barrel…
    3) I dont care about how much faster the car can do in 100km/h sprint… instead i’m more interested in how much CO2 it produces, does it have regenerative brake power, LED running light, how many airbags, any new drive by wire technology incorporated, flappy paddle shift, dual-clutch transmission, and finally can we drive 100km with 6L of fuel?

So as the most popular automotive blog in the country, i think this site should put more stress on these matter…

• sagaknght on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:15 am

typical malaysians

want to save petrol like hybrid / ev.
      fast like lambo
      cheap like tata nano
      got dual clutch, 20 airbagsm led ligghts and so on

go and build your own car la

• exJAVANESE on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:22 am

yupp..very true dude!! like nasi kandaq…that’s truly Malaysian!

• eponymous on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:32 am

Dude, seriously, this is not a green car. U want CO2 figures, fuel consumption and brake regeneration go bloody buy a Prius. Aren’t u barking up the wrong tree? It doesn’t matter if u can’t give two bollocks about this car, because clearly, u’re not the target audience. This R3 is not meant to be a tree hugger… jeez…. LED DRLs? U’re serious? And btw since the Gen2 (or maybe even Wajas), most Protons are DRIVE BY WIRE. Woooo…. betcha didn’t know that huh? This car ain’t about 0-100 figures either, it’s about chassis composure and on the limit handling. Yeah Lambo is doing what? U think their 6-litre powerhouses has green tech do u? Maybe, but in the grand scheme of things, it ain’t all that.

• thats why they only produce 65 of them…

• Mr Wancer on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:51 am

LOL!!!

Typical Malaysian’s thinking. Do you know why us (the real man) performance addicts are called PETROL HEAD? It’s because in order to go fast, you need to burn fuel / energy.

You want those regenerative brake pads, good FC then talk NONSENSE here. This article are for performance KAKI’S. Go praise your PRIUS HYBRID in another thread.

Let’s put things to perspective! and put it to your narrow minded head that there is NO such thing as GOOD FC performance car.

• Swift on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:11 am

Dude you’re in the wrong site you should be reading the www.kitarsemula.com.my

• Nizam80 on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:03 am

Usually, this type of car is only for petrol heads and car enthusiasts la. (usually those with always extra money to spare). Those who bought this type of awesomeness usually use it for track days.

• geckoandfly on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:23 pm

What’s up with proton and those fake bolt/nuts?

• Nizam80 on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:32 pm

I’m not impressed with the specs too. But who cares when you can rev till 7500 rpm effortlessly. I’m not into turbocharged cars.. I’m Normal Aspirated all the way. I guess what matters most is how it handles. I’m sure this car is a tarmac hugger.

• Red and look garang for me

• Well, if i want to buy a sport hatch, i would rather buy a 1997EK with B16A… Or a MRS

The reasons???…

Handling… This Neo can never win…

Speed… This Neo can never win…

Interior… This Neo has new materials on it, but old fashion design… but design is very subjective… p/s: when i saw the pic, the plastic cover at the steering wheel, the gap is very big and not proper fit… 79K??? Quality like Saga BLM… come on la, same design of steering wheel…

Exterior… Also very subjective… when i look at this car… the first impression telling me, it is just a piece of crap selling at 79K with a poor workmanship…

Power… Don’t tell me about the fuel efficiency and emissions… i don’t care if i’m getting a sport hatch back. If i want to go for GREEN, i will get a hybrid instead…

Speechless…

The ONLY advantage of this car is… this is a new car… END

• eponymous on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:37 am

Haha then pls go buy ur EK hatch la. Nobody’s stopping u. All the comments about I’d buy this, I’d buy that, the Neo R3 will smoke a Vios and all that crap. U know what? At the end of the day, it’s also down to the balls of the driver. So what if u drive the R3? If u dun have the balls (let’s call it skills), no point right? Fact of the matter is, this R3 wan’t built to be the fastest in a straight line, but u will see it topping 200…. but that’s clouding what this car is about,,,, Euro 3, Euro 4, yada yada yada….. build quality yada yada, hahaha ppl who buy this kinda cars are ppl who WANT to enjoy driving, not that they are necessarily good drivers….. just like ppl who buy Alfa Romeos, they buy it for passion, the driving experience and that is what R3 is ultimately about….. btw I’m not a Proton salesman yah…..

• panda211 on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:58 am

i agree with you…its all about balls…im not saying here what im driving but im driving a very2 low power output compare to the new honda city(sorry city owner i dont mean you all..just that one owner) the bloody fellow was damn staright at a place where police always aim to make a road block…i was in the fastlane so i give him way la…then i ididnt see any road block…so i tried to catchup with the city…lucky many ppl didnt give way..hehe..thx to you guys..i can tailgate the car…then i was just me and him at this corner…while i was taking the corner while “cucuk” him…he almost lost control of his car…so i overtook him….then he “kejar” me back the pull to my side and give me the finger and told me to pull aside…what do i care la kan…not my mistake that he almost had an accident…so i tried to loose him by turning to and exit at the last minute..=D moral of the story is…its not all about how many horses you got under your hood…it takes a perfectly tuned engine and chassis setup and the driver to be one…know the limit of your car…my advantage over the city was i had my suspension and tires changed uprated…i dont mean that the honda city is bad in handling…but the weak link was the driver.. about the NEO CPS…i used to spend one day with it and also everytime i got the change to drive one from my friends…i will always have a smile on my face after every corner…but a panic face for the passenger…its a fun car…kudos to R3 and proton

• VS Vtec on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:44 am

well i will pawn ur Vtec anytime with nasi lemak, typical m’sian who proud with old vtec technology, you drive ur 1997EK anytime i will laugh at ur Vtec when ur car is breakdown.
      poor guy

• autojohndoe on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:29 am

plus, overheat also… hahaha

• alldisc on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:14 pm

standard EK civic has good handling meh? really? 14″ wheels?? standard rite… i doubt so.

• mizzuddin on Jun 01, 2011 at 2:19 am

1997 EK will rattle here and there already la mate… not to mention the glued air-cond vents, wiring and stereo will definitely abused too…

B and 4G family engines for me is nothing compare to XU10 J4RS engine when they match to their intended chassis respectively… coz handling does really matter despite engine performance… the gradient of understeer and oversteer will primarily do the talks

EJ handling suc*s also… but being worshiped like crazy…

• how abt insurance? reliability? can u drive ur EK w/o thorough inspection first? maintenance?

and, can u get a hybrid with EK’s price?..or maybe their battery pack?

• saki77 on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:15 am

so why bother?

• Jason on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:10 am

VTEC, you are stupid!

• Mr Wancer on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:58 am

Are you sure, you can tapao this Neo R3 with your EK that comes with STOCK suspensions and engine parts?

If already MOD then not only can tapao STOCK Neo R3 la, even can tapao Veyron if you have the money. LOL! again..

If you talking bout factory Type R version than different story altogether. No doubt that the old VTEC engines are the best NA engine in the world.

I prefer to drive a NA engine which i can REV as high as i like without fearing it would breakdown like a Turbo engine. Power is not as much but hey we are not rich to go send our cars for repair everytime it break down after a WOT session.

• teamsleepnine on Mar 10, 2011 at 3:24 am

b16a 158 horsepower after all this year i doubt it still pumping 158hp….

…and you sure 1997ek handles better then neo?

..and most of all…..

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:00 am

It has all the advantage,it looks way better,it handles way way better and it makes you feel like a fool in your boring vtec.

• armandd on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:37 am

EK handling is crap. I know, I own one..

• izhar on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:40 am

spare part???sure half cut…hahahaha…typical EK owner…

• armandd on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:57 pm

yup, just imagine a new upper front control arm cost u RM278! crazy.. Honda Malaysia sucks blood.

• sir zoula on Mar 12, 2011 at 11:30 pm

at least it genuine not like stupid potong owner.. almost all spare part avail are imitation.. hhhaa.. every time kene sembelih senyap dgn service center..

• Ko-nnek on Mar 13, 2011 at 12:52 pm

To VTEC niger, dont be stupid la. Jangan jadi bodoh. Aku mengaku aku sebelum ni adalah pengguna Honda Civic EK 1.6 (M) bubuh enjin B16B lagi tau. Kebanyakan fanatik VTEC macam ko ni sembang jer lebih & menipu jer lebih. Mana ada enjin B16B atau B16A standard sekalipun yg sampai 160HP masa buat ujian dyno? Aku puna civic EK B16B buat ujian dyno dapat 155HP. Mana ada 160 HP? Member civic aku pun dapat dalam lingkungan 155HP, 157HP paling tinggi. Fanatik VTEC yang gila babi macam ko la yang memalukan pengguna2 civic VTEC sampai pengguna kereta lain jadi menyampah & pandang serong kat pengguna civic VTEC. Ko sama la bodoh macam si PeYno tu.

Handling civic EK bagus sangat ke? Aku dah tukar suspension berjenama tapi bila aku bawak satria neo & Gen2 standard kawan2 yang lain, aku rasa satria neo & Gen2 diorang lagi sedap & stabil berbanding civic EK aku. Mungkin bentuk kereta civic EK aku la kot yang tak sama ride & handlingnya macam kereta2 proton generasi baru sekarang ni.

Enjin memang la aku tak boleh tipu yang B16B aku lebih power dari campro CPS satria neo ni. Honda la katakan. Tapi ko kena ingat, B16B aku tadi 155HP, campro CPS 145HP. Kalau campro CPS tu ditune semula dengan baik ditambah dengan skill pemandu, boleh makan asap B16B aku. Campro CPS bukanlah teruk mana macam yang ko sangkakan. Kitorang dah buat dah experimen secara haram kat jalan raya kat lebuh raya yang sunyi (Bukan macam engko cakap pakai kepala lutut takde fakta. Auta je lebih). Aku bawak EK B16B aku kitorang try dengan sebijik lagi EK B16A & sebuah satria neo CPS N/A yang dah ditune jadi 145HP.

Kitorang bertiga mula dari garisan macam biasa la. Keta aku memang la power tapi aku tengok satria neo kawan aku yang ditune jadi 145HP tu tak kurang hebatnya. Speed kitorang masa tu 195kmj tapi neo tu masih boleh cucuk belakang EK B16B aku. Neo tu tak dapat potong aku la tapi bila sampai kat selekoh, neo tu boleh ada kat sebelah aku. Maknanya memang body neo tu stabil kat selekoh. Neo tu potong aku dan lepas tu potong EK B16B yang satu lagi masa kat selekoh. Tapi bila jalan lurus, kitorang potong neo tu balik. Kat jalan lurus memang B16B & B16A hebat la. Campro CPS tu cuma mampu cucuk belakang jer, tak mampu potong kitorang kat jalan lurus.

Mesti ko nak kata aku & kawan aku takde skill memandu. Atau ko nak kata aku & member aku tak pandai tune keta sebab cuma dapat 155HP jer. Kalau ko nak tau, yang dapat 160HP tu menipu jer lebih. Kebanyakan mekanik buat dyni auta banyak. Kalau VTEC dah dipasang turbo, jangankan 160HP, 200HP pun boleh dapat. Lain kali cakap pakai otak la beruk, orang macam ko ni la yang menyebabkan pengguna civic EK dipandang serong oleh masyarakat sebab masyarakat anggap pengguna2 civic EK ni berlagak nak mampus jer lebih. Maintenance jangan cakap la, ingat murah ke berbanding campro CPS. Sekarang ni pun kedai potong dah cekik darah ini lagi kerajaan nak kurangkan import spare part dari luar.

Pengguna2 civic EK, EJ, EG, EP dah ntah apa2 E lagi termasuk enjin siri B VTEC banyak terdedah dengan spare part cetak rompak ko tau tak! Spare part ori mahal susah nak cari, yang second hand kerajaan nak hadkan penjualannya. Jadi, banyak la cetak rompak nanti sebab murah. Ko tak pikir ke benda2 tu semua? Berlagak nak pakai civic EK tapi poket kering tenga2 bulan dok repair benda rosak jer buat apa. Baik tak payah. Melayu memang suka berlagak jer lebih.

• saga_FL man on Mar 16, 2011 at 1:50 pm

mmg kaw2 ko bg eh..hehe..tu lah realiti sebenar kan..NEO, GEN-2 & Persona handling die kat corner mmg best..mmg puas hati..

• pijan on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:52 am

bab ni aku setuju. Last aku NAIK genting dr batang kali Adik aku pakai eg saloon enjin b16a absorber bilstein adj, member pakai seg blacktop 6 speed suspension TRD ekzos dua- dua perang la , kena tapau dengan SAGA BLM diulangi.. SAGA BLM, masa naik bukit DiULANGI, Masa naik bukit genting. Aku pun hairan, tapi lepas aku test SAGA BLM mmg aku percaya la. Tight corner mmg proton boleh kungfu dgn honda, walaupun STANDARD, Percaya atau tak? Terpulang,
          P/s aku pakai eg 4 pintu, enjin k20a dc5 type r..tapi aku dok kat pack depan masa kejadian ni. Member aku yg pakai toyota 1jz yg cerita.. masa kami lepak kat genting sempah..

• mizzuddin on Jun 01, 2011 at 2:35 am

i’m a proton basher… and i own a PE

saya munch karak corners 120kph tanpa tukar lorong, 3 penumpang, boot fully loaded

stock persona elegance… tp suspension blkg tergeliat2 jgk la… kalau drive sorg ok je… without changing lanes….

• salimPekan on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:20 am

After ever hard driving kena adjust tappet sebab ada bunyi tik-tik-tik
    biasalah ini engin Campro kan !!
    Campro and Satria 10 years plus still on the road
    – nak jadi macam Saga/Iswara sampai 20 tahun!!

• autojohndoe on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:25 am

bro… learn about engine lifecycle and car lifecycle…. in average, engine lifecycle is about ten years and car lifecycle is about 5 years…

to invest in manufacturing of new engine production will cost hundreds million. so, calculate la when the break even will be…

• never had to adjust campro tepet after hard drive my junk campro,how do u maintain ur car? And someone mention about advanced tech n mention drive by wire, campro already drive by wire,and they using it since 2004. Stupid n ignorance. Ek drive better than this neo, you are dreaming boys

• Campro engine mana boleh adjust tappet,rosak tukar jer latch tu…”nampak benor nipunya kamu ni”

• mizzuddin on Jun 01, 2011 at 2:43 am

rasanya mmg nature CAMPRO bunyi tik tik tik mcm enjin lori tue..
      masa salesman handover PE saya haritu pun saya ingt enjin saya ada masalah…

tapi banding dgn bunyi kete member2 lain suma sama je…

• l3ryan on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:45 am

Great car!!! nice to see some direction from Proton with its newer offerings.

btw thumbs up if you think peYno/peYn1 is annoying with his endless bashing

• binko on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:11 am

impressed with the rims oni.. :)

• All cheap plastic. The make up ? It look like just came out from the accesories’ shop in Pudu. The Japs and Mat Salleh choose the Neo, because the Neo is so cheap. As simple as that.

• exJAVANESE on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:33 am

Nope…u wrong dude!! The Japs and Mat Salleh choose the Neo, because they appreciate Neo have a one good package came out with strength chassis and marvelous aerodynamic also good looking though….

• ayamxxx on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:39 pm

what u said is true, it just too many proton supporters who ashamed to admit it!!

• mizzuddin on Jun 01, 2011 at 2:55 am

i’m a proton basher… and i own a PE

definitely agree with u… “All cheap plastic.” interior… engine bay…

and i realize the plastic is sooo cheapo especially the under fender cover and the hose which direct the fuel we fill to the fuel tank… macam hose outlet air washing machine…
      boleh bayangkan tak…? hose tue plastik lembut jee… bukan metal macam kereta2 lain…
      Gen2 pun sama…

but i only agree with u upon that matter…

• chrislove proton on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:25 am

the red interior trim is terrible!! it looks cheap. the gear stick looks like a r3 vibrator!! Proton’s design- this car will definitely attract boy racers. with this kind of design i can already imagine how qualified are the designers and how old they are.

Cant they make it classier? grey and black may be boring to many of you but it will make this Neo so much nicer, sportier in fact. What is this thing about red, plastic panels here and there?. Why dont they have laces for the trimmings instead? batik designed bucket seats? maybe stick IMalaysia logo everywhr?

Neo has very good exterior design though. looks better than some Jap cars.

btw top speed of a car is nothing without poise and control. Safety features are important too especially if really, you want to drive fast.

keeping the price down is one thing- but cars should be designed/ engineered/ packaged with safety features as a top priority. I therefore wonder how many airbags and etc this 80k car have

• jombrut on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:37 am

nice~ i’m lovin it!

• SoMeOnE on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:12 am

..dude…handling is bad?….have u actually driven a neo?….i would really love to have a b road bash with ur ancient honda (which ur probably dont own)….i dont own a neo as well..(my gf does) and credit should be given where its due. dun be a hater..proton aint a big brand but they did pretty well on this model when it comes to driving pleasure..the fact ur comparing it to an toyota MRS is a flattery by it self and also shows ur lack of knowledge in cars ;)

• budleee on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:20 am

now.. can’t wait for the light pressure campro to come in..

:)

• teelim on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:33 am

IMHO, this car would have been a lot more desirable had it been launched 1-2 years after the Satria Neo was launched. Not after… I lost count how many years it has been now…

anyway, I think the Satria Neo is near the end of it life cycle and I hope that R3 does not take this long to make a hot version of the next Satria (or whatever its called).

Such waste this, too little too late I say.

• teamsleepnine on Mar 10, 2011 at 3:30 am

agree with you….hopefully they make a replacement for this……or at least…redesign the head and tail lamp and slam the the turbo engine in…..if they think its not worth the investment to develope a complete new car… :(

• overall its a nice car..except that i would prefer some recaros or momo in the interior..and some leather cover for the gear console…to all bashers out there saying this and that, whenever i drive my sr3 around, those in EK actually TURN their head and watch me as i pass them by…the price for a LIMITED edition car which churns out 145bhp on a 1.6 engine is actually worth it…SSS? fine rant all u want about how it has better quality yada yada yada…in the end, there are about thousands of them driving the same car…the feeling of driving a limited unit number X out of XX is just priceless…EK? no need to mention unless ur driving a true EK9, not some ek convert or ej convert etc…

• and it’s a brand new car pricing ;)
      0km to start playing with

• taboogen on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:42 am

afrer reading this comment and craps it is sad and you know what it is all u to blame for.. why we can’t do great enterior.. asked the vendor who make the enterior…. give them design they said this is how much they can do because of limitation.. why no momo or recaro.. asklah the dealer to seel it at low cost if they want to…
      All want big money big money….
      why gen2 and proton have the same headlamp and tail lamp.. because AL refuse to do it.. so just think how difficult it is to get quality parts… are u willing to pay Rm50k-70k saga just because u want nappa leather,bucket recaro seat,momo steering,enkei rim,advan neova wrapped tyres.. DRL lights

If you want come out with new and improve tech and sell it with a good bargain… we always poiting fingers at others but remember there are few fingers that pointing back to you.. if you are in a wholesale department u would know how much they mark up the price right…..so this is us to blame

• No doubt, since 1995, Satria’s exterior always has its mean looking menace no matter which angle you look at it. I won’t comment further as every car has its own profile and a beauty always lies in the eyes of beholders. One man’s meat is another man’s poison.

Nevertheless, some homework need to be done on the interior components e.g. gear stick, door trim, dashboard. No need to slap colors everywhere to make it looks sporty or feels like one. It may blend well for certain people but doesn’t necessarily it reflects the liking of general market.

Every great car is not about performance alone though.

• BLOG KISAH2 KELAKAR on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:31 am

THE ONE OF THE GREAT CAR BY MALAYSIA…. ;-)

• panda211 on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:01 am

i agree with you all that support proton…and winning its all about balls…im not saying here what im driving but im driving a very2 low power output compare to the new honda city(sorry city owner i dont mean you all..just that one owner) the bloody fellow was damn staright at a place where police always aim to make a road block…i was in the fastlane so i give him way la…then i ididnt see any road block…so i tried to catchup with the city…lucky many ppl didnt give way..hehe..thx to you guys..i can tailgate the car…then i was just me and him at this corner…while i was taking the corner while “cucuk” him…he almost lost control of his car…so i overtook him….then he “kejar” me back the pull to my side and give me the finger and told me to pull aside…what do i care la kan…not my mistake that he almost had an accident…so i tried to loose him by turning to and exit at the last minute..=D moral of the story is…its not all about how many horses you got under your hood…it takes a perfectly tuned engine and chassis setup and the driver to be one…know the limit of your car…my advantage over the city was i had my suspension and tires changed uprated…i dont mean that the honda city is bad in handling…but the weak link was the driver.. about the NEO CPS…i used to spend one day with it and also everytime i got the change to drive one from my friends…i will always have a smile on my face after every corner…but a panic face for the passenger…its a fun car…kudos to R3 and proton

• dickybird on Mar 15, 2011 at 4:45 pm

another failed racing driver. take your ricer boy off the road before you kill other people.

• wonders how this car with fare with Swift Sport 1.6(M) on track … nice pricing though …

• recaro options would be a nice add-on

• PrOuD_tO_bE_mAlAySiAn on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:51 am

Good job PROTON…very nice & garang……keep it up to produce more good but must best in quality….we r malaysian,support malaysian product,jangan nak kondem & komplen about negative things…beri sokongan moral,ideas etc to PROTON..so they (proton) can work-up with the ideas…GO PROTON!!!!!…….i love proton!!!….

• izack04 on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:55 am

I am a EK b16 vtec user and also a wira…..i dont condemn any technology deploy in proton since i also grow up in proton cars…..wira, iswara waja….i do enjoy alot in proton…..proton do have alot to improve, also they need time, money and space to do it. They are learning all the time, but when comes to economic they have to surrender. No one can change in just a night….
    For this car….if i take b16b as a reference, it would be eating smoke all the time at track, but at hiway i do get smoke by neo and gen2 cps at top speed since they have smaller final gear that can bring them up to 230kmh as i refer to their meter. My car cuts at t 190kmh.
    This car is for proton enthusiast, maybe not for others. If you worship japs….go for any evos, imprezas, skylines or type R’s.If you like euros, cash your paycheque for M3, AMG, TT….you name it. Its your money and your passion, no need to condemn others. Its the real spirit of motorsport.
    For people who talks co2,green tech….this car is not your category…please go hybrid.

• beatnik on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:56 am

This is probably the nicest Neo R3 from proton.. but I will wait for the real deal, which is a Turbo Neo.. probably proton won’t be putting the campro turbo in current neo, but in a totally new neo model.. coz the current Neo’s interior is too flawed.

• maserati on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:26 am

This piece of junk is better than the piece of junk coupe recently launched by KIA.

So you guys choose lah which piece of junk u prefer!

• SubbieDoctor on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:33 am

IF u really want a perf hatch, a new one, and u plan to hire purchase this R3 neo with say 5-years HP plan, I would strongly suggest to wait for 5 years, save your 80k for a proper Hot Hatch like the mazda3 MPS on the 6th year, use that 80k as down payment instead. BE a real man, want performance at least go for 200hp above. Jus my 2 cents.

• Aerials on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:00 am

Look at general perspectives. All other manufacture got 6 speed automatic, shiftronic, keyless entry, and bla bla bla. but where are Proton now? still developing turbos? I’m not a proton basher at all but being a realistic when we are gonna stop worship fast but fuel sucking car?

This car is quite good for that ‘genre’ but it seems like Proton just good at this ‘genre’. Soon, we will far behind… i hope not.

• autojohndoe on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:25 am

bro… have you read about turbo nowadays?

current turbo is developed for fuel efficiency… not racy…

please read, get some knowledge, then comment…

• Ken. T on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:11 am

Hi…I am 24 years old and am a driving enthusiast. I finished my ”P” license in a 9 year old proton wira.

During that time, I thought I had could handle my car really well(doing e-brake turns and all) and thought I could beat any proton in a corner, albeit it was only on 13″ wheels.

As I was doing my regular ricer driving(apologies to other road users), I tail-gated a Satria Neo (that time don’t have CPS yet), and regret as it put me to shame on a long winding corner. My car was already on the limits, but this Neo just grips and grips through the whole corner, at that time I thought, “I’m going to buy that car!.”

After selling off my old Wira, I still couldn’t comfortably afford a Neo, so I had to make do with a manual Saga BLM. I pushed it to its limits until I had to send the car to Proton to re-tighten the chassis because it was loose due to hard cornering and making some knocking sounds. My rear brake was also jammed a few times and have to change the whole assembly(2-3 times).

The car has many faults and build quality of course isn’t that good, such as glove box handle broken, rear boot garnish loose, water seep into fog lamp, bearing got sound….and many other reasons which made me travel to Proton many times to get it fixed under warranty(thankfully!).

Having said that, I love the car to bits because of the driving pleasure it is able to give me. Sometimes I take my mum’s City-VTEC out and give it a good trashing, but it just isn’t the same without the clutch.

When the Lotus Racing Neo came out and priced at RM115K, it was my objective to achieve it, I even printed a picture of it and pasted on my room wall to give me motivation to earn more so I can afford it. But it was naive thinking as my friends were screwing me left right and centre as you can buy a much better road racer for that money, 2nd hand of course. I can’t help it, I’m a fan of Proton since my first car was a Proton Wira which I love, despite of all the bad things about it.

Today when I open paultan.org and saw this post, I just came in my pants.

It’s still unaffordable to me, but I will get there! Doing any part time jobs possible.

Gotta have Neo.

Dear Paul and Danny,

Please please please do a full review on this. And also if you have any inside scoop of whether they plan to use their turbo campro for this car. Don’t want to buy it and then they launch a turbo version a year later.

Also, if you can compare the driving pleasure of this car vs a manual inspira.

Many thanks!

• PakAbu on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:48 am

Don’t forget to change your pants. ;-)

• focus tdci on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:39 pm

dont forget the hand lotion, neo sales brochure and tissue for afterwards. LOL!

• Chris on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:15 pm

You’re an honest chap and I like your style, you’ll go far in life in comparison to the moaners, bashers and complainers.

Topic at hand – Sub 80k is a good-buy for a car that goes under 10 seconds and with a good chassis to boot.

Proton has acknowledged the common individual’s wants for increased performance out of an already good car with factory specifications.

• kurikuri on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:26 am

everyone here try to show they are the smartest about cars…
    vtec, turbo, EK bla bla bla.. sometime try to learn.. not to teach.. period.

• At the end of the day, we are malaysians one way or another. Most of us have atleast driven or sat in a proton… Or perodua. Some of us even grew up with one. I don’t drive a local car anymore but everytime proton releases a new car, I am very curious and interested. Even drove to showroom jus to have a look at the new inspira. Eventually most of us will move up in this world and drive hondas, toyotas, beemers, vw ferrari etc. But at the end of the day, one way or another, local cars will always have a sentimental value to us malaysians. Remember how proud we were when proton launched the proton saga. Obviously every car has its drawbacks, even mine. It doesn’t matter wat car we drive today, we should continue supporting local cars. Pretty sure proton will get there some day and make us proud =D

• Yeah! Prove it to us, P1 & P2. Don’t use AP on other brands so that you can sell more! Fight one on one with others! Make it a fair challenge!

• redboy on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:30 am

Its a theory that those being kidnapped for long time and stay together will grow feeling towards the kidnapper.
      I think its the same situation where our free-market right is taken away for too long that we find own reason in the mind to tell the good about the bad things. Remember, we, consumer are the one being robbed away the market freedom and competitive choice. Its monopolized when its launched, and I still cannot forget I was asked to pay kopi-money RM3K for the Protong-Edar sales man at uptown in order to get a new car, ends up, i am buying a 3 years old car at almost new car price at RM30K. That was 1996. I was making RM1,800 per month. That is history to be marked, and that is fact. I hope someone will write that into record book of the dark history of consumer purchasing Protong experience.
      Support national product? I dont my part for the last 15 years. The management is getting fat and circling chair, and Gov is paying so-called R&D to them for what? Consumers are blind? we have no choice.

• focus tdci on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:41 pm

its called stockholm syndrome, kalau dah lama diculik oleh proton akan jadi sekawan dengan proton.

• Unforgiven on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:17 pm

This is a very sad story.
        Unfortunately, we have not get back the rights after so many years…

• BN=barang naik on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:53 pm

im waited more than 20 years for proton bring us to the holy grail..and right now im still waitinggggggggggggggggg..if kia & hyundai can do it,i cant see why proton cant

• Hazmi on Mar 13, 2011 at 11:05 pm

well said, God forbid your comment gets any thumbs down

• Sabahan1M on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:52 am

Anyway, nice car produce by PROTON. If I got budget car, I will buy it as my sports car. As long the car is manual, thats call sports car. Thumps up proton!!

• focus tdci on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:45 pm

kau ni jangan kasi jatuh point sama org sabah bah! real sabahans know the national car of sabah and sarawak is toyota hilux double cab! this kind of car is only for org semenanjung yang drive on smooth roads and use cheap petrol paid for by the riches of OUR oil and gas!

• Exterior wise look goods in overall design, good job from proton, interior wise still need to improve a lots, especially the dash board with red color, if compare to others, it’s look too plastic & cheap design, should chrome or carbon fiber some parts for the dashboard, the sterling wheel ai……….. need to improve on overall interior.

• pumpkin76 on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:18 am

145hp for a 79K car…. that’s 1.81hp/1K…. highest in the Malaysian car market… Bang for Ringgit….. yes?

other eg.:

Inspira 1.8, 140hp/80K = 1.75hp/1K
    Mazda3 MPS, 256hp/175K = 1.46hp/1K
    Renault Sport 250 Cup, 250hp/230K = 1.08hp/1K
    BMW 325i Sports, 218hp/309K = 0.70hp/1K

If based on torque, Nm/1K the rating would be totally different though…. advantage to forced induction engines…..

• _xXx_ on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:28 am

alamak, is that TIMING BELT beside the engine block?

• orang on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:32 pm

Huh? you cannot see the timing belt in the Campro engine. It’s got a plastic cover which is what you are seeing in the photos

• _xXx_ on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:33 pm

I know there’s a timing belt inside the plastic housing but that’s not my point. The guy who gave me a thumb down knows what I meant….lolx

• Unforgiven on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:34 am

If your money is pure and clean, hard earn money, will you really consider this car?

• farisma on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:02 pm

senja nan merah when driving this protong,..

• insperut on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:22 pm

proton neo is rocking… hard!!

• lkf0512 on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:28 pm

Honestly, every other is OK with me except the gear stick…it’s like a wood stick stuck into a plastic box!

• beatnik on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:23 pm

Yup, they should have made some little effort to change the console and add a proper shift boot made of black suede or leather with red stitching!

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:33 pm

I think the original design concept intentionally left out the shift boot.

Perhaps they had this in mind:

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=Lamborghini_Gallardo_LP550-2&image=Lamborghini-Gallardo_LP550-2_2010_1600x1200_wallpaper_04.jpg

• beatnik on Mar 10, 2011 at 3:08 pm

I know the design cue is taken from a Lotus car.. but the result is horrid looking gearstick sticking out of the console.. after more than 5 years neo on the road, at least they should have notice this :)

• rally_fan00 on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:13 pm

it wont make sense for r3 to totally redesign the centre console to take in a shiftboot when they’ll be producing only limited numbers of these cars.. if you know a little about manufacturing, just to do a prototype part and then the molds, etc to mass produce a plastic part like that, will cost in the hundreds of thousands.

• beatnik on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:53 am

Well the new console should have been designed for the CPS, not only the neo r3.. so they can mass produce!

They are able to make changes to the Gen2 dahsboard & door panels to fit Gen2 CPS and Persona, i don’t see how Proton is incapable of just doing a minor revision in the gear console design!

• Nizam80 on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Definitely. Remember the Satria GTi’s shifter? Felt good, right? They should have made it that way for the Neo. One more thing is I would prefer the long stick that supports the gear knob enclosed in a conventional leather fabric.

• moomoo on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:43 pm

so ugly the interior. my god

• Mr-S BOey on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:23 pm

finally a successor to the Satria GTi.

Dear danny, any chance you could perhaps stage a shootout between say the

Satria NEO R3 VS Suzuki Swift Sport 1.6 Manual??

Both roughly same price range, same engine size, same transmission =)

THANKS HEAPS!
    an avid fan,
    boey

• jombrut on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:55 pm

can normal cps convert to this version?

• harry on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:07 pm

It look pretty good in real snap shot…and more promising, especially torque seems punchy! !

~ but the red interior is @_@ not nice for the eyes. TERRIBLE!

They should have swap the interior color scheme with the exterior…or make exterior more like Peugeot 308’s Red.

• ezracopters on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:19 pm

haha..well basically.

1. those who love to, tend to, wish to, opt to more RICER oriented car..never care about fuel price @ world peace..

2. once u drove it, even when u lose to some Nippon @ Aryan machines on the street.. at the end of the day u never miss a smile on ur face coz there is always a part where this car easily win over those foreigners..

3. can’t wait to see shootouts between S Neo R3 vs Suzuki Swift Sport and maybe just for fun add VW tsi, Kia Kaup, honda vtec & of cosss Dugong TRD..plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz PAULTAN..
    and..kindly make a video out of it.. test all the brakes, 0 – 100, suspension, curve etc..

• Tak mau cakap nasi lemak lah,ini Satay!!!

• victorleekoonpoh on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:57 pm

stop comparing, honda is still a honda, proton is still a proton.. can a BONIA overtake LV? NO in terms of branding, so stick with ur proton if cant afford honda :)

• armandd on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:47 pm

Honda is considered budget cars in the Euro and US. Only here in Malaysia (and India perhaps) most people consider it as upmarket brand… If we were to make comparison with designer items, honda is actually like Crocodile only.

• Tezza on Mar 11, 2011 at 7:34 am

I would rather thinks that the guyz above should actually be more appropriate using the analogy like, Proton is an Asadi/Bata, while Toyota/Honda is Valentino Rudy/Hush Puppies…while all those german and italian branded would be LV,Gucci,Hermes…U will only buy ur bata due to the tight budget,or else u will likely jump for buying Valentino rudy or its equivalent instead…

• err dude.. BATA is from Czech.. Proton is from Malaysia.. so its like comparing an apple with manggis.. just a thought.. BTW.. Hush Puppies is a branch of BATA..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bata_Shoes

• CharmingGTR on May 25, 2011 at 3:59 pm

bwahahahaha..please knoe the origin of Brands before do da talkin la brader… Proton not that cheap as wat u say..just luk at s2000 ,Evo

• P1_Ass on Mar 11, 2011 at 1:25 am

victorleekoonpoh, you are the man…

Until now those silly people still think that their P1 could compare with all the Japs manufacturer… their P1 is superb in everything… value for money… bla bla bla… at the end… stick with P1 forever LOL!~

For those RICER KIDS would never knows how those Japs car smoke their pity crap Neo in Sepang… and they thought they are the ‘King of the street’ LOL…

Let’s see how the track time for this crap Neo… then only we talk about handling… speed and power…

Talk too much… wasting my time… these RICER Kids need time to grow up… LOL

• pijan on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:16 am

Have consider Jimmy Choo overtake LV, Armani, or whatever the hell shoes design inthe world?

• great info paultan…

• Malaysia kata dia Boleh ? on Mar 11, 2011 at 1:42 pm

Suzuki distrbuter DRB stop bringin the Swift Sport (yellow & Silver coloured) Manual Transmission a year ago. The only way to do a comparison is to use a pre registered owned car by an enthusiast. Realized or not, the Neo is the only new car option in its segment that still has Manual Transmission that could be prepared for track or rally competition. This is also why, CUSCO has much interest with Proton and stated its interest in using the Neo platform for motorsports compenant developement, officiate the Gr N rally car homologation (as based on production cars) and even the opportunity of selling the cars to potential car distributers in Japan. The Hokkaido rally, by the Neo S2000 was a great eye opener and the successful Podium results (1st & 2nd) by the Neo’s gave them the assurance. Early next month April, the 1st rd of APRC in Malaysia, CUSCO is fielding 2 Satria Neo Gr N Production cars, with Japanese Drivers and Co-drivers, and perhaps an entire Japanese service crew members, will be here in our home ground showing the potential what the Neo can do. Sadly said, They Can See It, but Why Not Us ?

• Exedy on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:10 pm

Proton satria neo R3 vs Suzuki swift sport …sounds like good comparison.
    if i not mistaken SSS fuel only for ron98+ right?

• i think people want this car for sporty in mind, but its just not going to stop just to that purpose, it may be or should be used outstation for business meet. therefore it need to be fast, it tackles the twisty road, and it cruises at high speed it relax mode engine during a long distant.

so the answer is 6 speed close ratio. (proton ,why not???)
    it allows all the flexibility to the to suit the purpose of the driver.

• muryadi on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:11 pm

Been to Proton COE.

Satria Neo R3, thumbs up…

• The back still looks a bit buggy..should be more aerodynamic to be looks more sporty…btw a nice car!

• Charming1122 on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:54 pm

After a long while involvement in motorsports,Proton has introduced a superb handling car with exciting performance.Proton gives platform for car Enthusiast in Malaysia to experience a thrill or perfromane ride in malaysian style.This car gives a perfect driving leisure,especially during the cornering was very perfect.R3 Rocks !!

• trufflesR3signature on Mar 12, 2011 at 1:20 am

R3 definitelty rocks the performance spirit of every car enthusiast who desires the reality of performance in a wild manner. :)

• trufflesR3signature on Mar 12, 2011 at 1:34 am

R3 definitelty rocks the performance spirit of every car enthusiast who desires the reality of performance in a wild manner.

• Malaysia Kata dia Boleh ? on Mar 12, 2011 at 11:17 am

PT Updated: (appreciate if could remove my earlier post)

Suzuki distributor DRB stopped bringing the Swift Sport (yellow & silver coloured) Manual Transmission a year ago. The only way to do a comparison with the R3 Neo is to use a pre registered owned car by an enthusiast.

Realized or not, the Satria Neo is the only new car option in its segment that still has Manual Transmission that could be easily prepared for track or rally competition use.
    This is the reason why CUSCO Japan has much interest with Proton and stated its interest in using the Satria Neo as its best platform for their motorsports components development.

CUSCO has initiated their interest in getting the Group N Homologation paper for the Neo for the usage in APRC. (Group N homologation is based on standard production cars).

CUSCO seeks the opportunities selling the Satria Neo to potential car distributers & cars clubs members in Japan as stock production cars and their services to prepare the cars for Japan’s domestic race & rally activities.

It was during the APRC Hokkaido round last year, the siblings of Satria Neo, the Neo S2000 rally car showed its competition worthiness going against the all mighty turbo charged Mitsubishi EVO X & Subaru Impreza’s. It was a great eye opener to the Japanese car tuners CUSCO despite the Neo did not complete that particular rally.

In the following round APRC which was held at Longyou, China – the pair of Neo S2000 the piloted by Alister McRae & Chris Atkins successfully took the Podium stands for 1st & 2nd placing. It also gave PROTON the 2nd place for Manufacture standings for 2010 season.

The results of the Neo’s winning the APRC in Longyou, was also the first time the National Anthem “Negara Ku” being played in China for motorsports arena. CUSCO own prepared EVO X (2 units) was beaten in that rally. It certainly gave CUSCO the assurance that the Neo has much potential.

CUSCO invited PROTON to exhibit 2 units of Neo (in mid January) during Tokyo Auto Salon. By end Jan. the Media Test drive that consist 40 journalist, was given opportunity test drive the Satria Neo cars. (stock production, rally car & R3 concept car),

Early next month April, please do go and spectate the 1st rd of APRC in Malaysia, at Kota tinggi, Johor. CUSCO is fielding 2 units Satria Neo Gr N Production cars along side their regular EVO X cars , with 2 Japanese Junior Drivers and Co-drivers in the Neo’s. The team will be supported by entire Japanese service crew members, will be here in our home ground showing the potential what the Neo can do. Sadly said, “They Can See It, but Why Not Us” ?

• Sorry that i have not much knowledge in cars. Can someone enlighten me please? I’ve got a few questions and uncertanties.

Why everyone are talking about the performance and not the fuel efficiency?
    Some cars they come with both performance and fuel efficiency and i dont see proton does that.

Why manual?
    There are so many good auto gearbox that bring shifting to another level.

Everyone seems to neglect the interior. My question here is why?
    The interior is so-so, seems pretty spacious just coz there’s nothing in it and steering wheel look’s kinda big to me. Smaller and sportier steering wheel can fit in airbags too so dont tell me it cant. No offence.

Nothing against R3Neo. Just my 2cents.

I am currently driving a proton Saga cyborg, been serving me for 7 years, pretty satisfied i would say and will be changing a new car soon.
    I’m actually looking at Fiesta and this R3 Neo
    I do believe you guys must have a certain reason to love proton and i would like to find out why before i make any hasty decision. Somehow i still believe proton cars are not that bad afterall.

• ezracopters on Mar 13, 2011 at 12:59 am

u r that ignorant do you?? cars like that..specs like that.. still u want an auto variant..well bro, this car is not for you.perhaps the reason y u even considered it along with fiesta might be the design right..well the is always Satria Neo CPS @ vanilla campro for u which offer auto.. or maybe, since u alrealy drove Saga..why not try new Saga..even better newly launch SAGA FL..not sure if there is auto transmission or not..

• You made it so obvious that i was asking at the wrong session. Your comments were plain dull.

i’m asking as a driver and i believe most of us we look at Exterior, Interior, Engine Performance, Fuel Efficiency and Price. Therefore my questions.

You can explain nothing to my question hence you say that i’m ignorant =)

I do not need to emphasize how silly you are on asking me to purchase a very similar car that i’ve been driving for 7 years. Didnt know you have no room for improvement in life.

Cheers.

• 1. why everyone are talking about the performance and not the fuel efficiency?
      a. You need to burn more fuel to make more power, thus fuel efficiency is a no no..
      example, you can make stronger and more stable bridge using more
      wood, then using less wood.

2. Why manual?
      a. because real men use manual, they can DO a perfect shift and can used maximum
      torque or watever they called it..and rarely used brake when to slow down..
      (brake saving).

3. Everyone seems to neglect the interior. My question here is why?
      a. Because interior is not important for hardcore drivers..Plus, I will just buy it for
      the pure driving pleasure…speed and handling is no1..comfort and beauty is crap…

well…that’s just my opinion…

• Mahusin on Mar 15, 2011 at 11:36 am

Dia punya spare tyre boleh pakai ka?…jgn jadi macam the first edition of satria R3…tyre spare tak boleh masuk disebabkan oleh break caliper yang besar….

• saga_FL man on Mar 16, 2011 at 1:25 pm

what if the NEO have a 4 door, like a RX8??..i think if we do this way, a lot of consumer will consider to choose that NEO because it has a good looks..

• Arcane on Apr 25, 2011 at 4:44 pm

Neos are for enthusiasts. Some people buy it just because it’s a two-door car

• saga_FL man on Mar 16, 2011 at 1:31 pm

what if the NEO have a 4 doors like RX8??

• “Basso keen on PROTON for IRC after test”

[The 37-year-old drove a Satria Neo Super 2000 on asphalt roads in the Liguria region of Italy last week. Following the run, the four-time IRC event winner said he had enjoyed the experience.

“It was very stable and well balanced,” said Basso. “We planned to use a road that I am familiar with as a benchmark to see how this car compared with other Super 2000 cars I have driven in the past. Unfortunately that road was covered in snow so we went to a different road instead. But there was definitely potential with the car and I enjoyed working with the team. They made me feel very welcome, they worked very hard and I was impressed with their approach.”

He continued: “I would like to come back to the IRC. That is my focus and that is the championship I enjoy. Nothing has been formally agreed but if PROTON propose me something I would think very seriously about accepting it.”]

http://www.ircseries.com/html/readNews.asp?id=2486

• I cant get the fuss on fuel efficiency thing. lets assume my car is very fuel inefficient, to the effect that i am spending RM10 more a week than if i drive a fuel efficient car which cost RM20k-30k more than my car price. in a month that would be RM40 extra. BIG DEAL! so in a year i would be RM480 poorer than those who use fuel efficient cars? 10 years.. RM4800? but to begin with, i have saved 20-30k.. =.=

• just_me on Mar 18, 2011 at 11:13 pm

y proton selalu overprice their car? y govt tax 300-400% on import car model? y proton export quality good but sell cheaper? y a lot of car kene tarik? y proton car selalu kene masuk bengkel? y? y? y? perodua also same.. nasib baik harga jual balik tinggi.. but same also wif proton overpriced.. cuma jimat minyak n kurang masuk bengkel..

• fuglicious on Mar 22, 2011 at 10:24 am

oh my, that was the most ugliest interior color schemes..that was no red stripes!, that was like a huge red ducktape taped across the dashboard. to make it even worse, the faux nuts..i mean come on!!7 years, and you guys still making the faux nuts?

don’t get me wrong here, i like the exterior (despite the non-R3 front bumper), the lips, and the blah blah blah on the engine, but the interior..uhh~! err..’ricer boy’, are you freaking blind?

i know, sportier means we have to sacrifice luxury/unnecessary items, but don’t make it uglier!

• Arcane on Apr 25, 2011 at 4:42 pm

If you were referring to the ones on the wheel fender arches, those are real.

Else, the one on the fuel lid are fake.

• Love this car. Could buy and use during weekends.

• fuel consumption?my old 1997 satria 1.6(m) can get me to office for 2weeks..well,considered my office just 6.8km pergi/balik plus the traffic and hill climbing (live in wangsa maju)..total,plus futsal,weekend bla bla bla..rm30 of ron95 can get me bout 80+km in city driving..4me dats good enuf as need to fuel up rm30 can get me through for 2weeks n bear in mind it was 1997 satria 1.6!so,if talk bout fuel consumption,it depends on your foot,heavy or light footed..hahaa..but if go for r3,y thnkn bout FC?lol!

• mdfarizal on May 07, 2011 at 11:07 pm

Do a math… Neo hv 145hp on engine…at wheel left 115-120hp…vtec 90’s tech 160 hp on engine at least 140 hp on wheel…side by side Ek4 and this Neo…Neo harder to hear vtec screaming…dont ask those never drive b16a coz they do not know how vtec performed…

• tupakamaru on May 12, 2011 at 10:38 am

are you still dreaming? wake up bro…….

• Bongek on Sep 08, 2011 at 7:22 pm

Ko kata vtec 160hp? kah kah kah kah kah kah :D. Ko memang dah kena kencing bacin dgn budak2 honda vtec yg tak cerdik. Tanya aku la wei, aku guna B16B manual. Standard horse power engine adalah 155hp, on wheel dlm 147hp. Jangan pulak ko kata mekanik aku bongok tak tau tuning enjin vtec standard. Penipu besor kalau ada orang kata enjin siri B vtec Honda horse powernya sampai lebih 160hp. Itu semua kencing bacin bau hancing jer. Gua pengguna B16B siap tuning standard semua dapat 155hp gua tau la.

• eimsperfume on Jun 20, 2011 at 10:53 am

not much seen OTR.

maybe ppl prefer to buy standard neo cps & mods the car themselves. .. :-|

maybe what most malaysian driver needs is cheaper standard car with highly modified able. people like to play…

• INI MEMANG CUN!

• cooler on Aug 25, 2011 at 12:07 am

disagree with their steering!

• Mr.edward on Sep 05, 2011 at 12:48 am

Does anyone know is it still available? I am interest to buy it…If know pls reply here or email to [email protected]…thanks guy

• lineclear on Dec 08, 2011 at 3:47 am

eh baru aku perasan rim R3 nie lebih kurang sama dgn GTR-R35 stock punya .

• Fraz006 on Jun 30, 2012 at 2:54 am

B16a hp is more but thats bcoz it can be revved to higher rpm. Torque? tak payah nak ckp byk la honda poyo fans sekalian…

145 pulling this light vehicle is more than enuff to 220kmh. Dont la act like pandai, comparing to gtr la apa la…. Power to weight confirm makan civic la hondan2 sekalian….

• Johnny on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:15 pm

One last “push” before it is officially phased out huh?

• OMG!!! The interior is so……CHEAP!!!Look at the gear shift!!! and one friendly reminder don’t trust the performance figure!!! All crap. I used to own a Satria GTI many years back. Top speed max 190km/h, 0-100km/h 9.3sec. But Proton always advertise as top speed 201km/h and 0-100km/h 8sec only!!

• Adrian on Dec 14, 2012 at 6:08 pm

OMG! have u seen its pricing now? same price range as myvi extreme 1.5……i have nightmares now cos i bought a myvi extreme 1.5 when this car should’ve been in my porch……proton reduced the price of this satria significantly…..my loss cos i bought that myvi too soon! Why god…why me???

• khairi on Apr 11, 2013 at 11:19 am

satria gti still the best…..