Perodua Alza M2 Edition: Limited edition with new colour

Perodua has released the Alza M2 Edition, which will be limited to 500 units. It will be open for booking at all Perodua sales outlets beginning 1st April with an on the road price of RM69,990, the same price as the Alza Advanced Version, which it’s based on.

First unveiled by former Tun Mahathir Mohamad in January when he visited Perodua’s Rawang facility, the M2 Edition is named after the code name “M2” given to the second national car project, which was later renamed Perodua. For every unit of the M2 sold, Perodua will be donating RM1,000 to the ex-PM’s Perdana Leadership Foundation.

Unique features include an “M2” grade mark and a special “Midnight Blue” colour. Other features include custom leather seat covers and custom carpet mats. Besides those already mentioned, the M2 Edition will have all the equipment that’s standard on the Advanced Version, including the 5-inch touchscreen LCD entertainment system with GPS and bodykit.

The official product photos aren’t out yet, but you can see the new colour from the image above.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• OK, let the basher show their skill…

• rifaie on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:56 pm

so..whats next? alza aidlifitri edition? :P

• lazyf on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:33 am

hahahaha…gud one!!!

• nazgul on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:36 am

they have milking the previous cashcows (myvi n viva) to death and now this…its susu basi already…

• huiyoo on Mar 11, 2011 at 1:01 pm

maybe next alza ‘1malaysia very limited edition’. only produce 10 car with 1malaysia logo body colored to make it very limited. the radio only can play 1malaysia song. the lcd screen only show 1malaysia logo. very limited rite?

• sagatron on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:04 pm

can i bash this p2??hehehe..

• Apakah yg anda ckap ni?

Best produk yg perodua kluarkan! Way better than proton

• sutheshkumar on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:37 pm

way better? for that money you can get Exora M-Line, which is bigger, better and safer?

• carwise on Mar 13, 2011 at 6:52 pm

bigger, better & safer but underpower:) Protong should learn “power per weight ratio” tarak study kah??

• squall_shinoda on Mar 11, 2011 at 1:11 am

I bet if Perodua launches a kereta sorong also you’ll say a lot better than Proton. What a stereotypical basher.

• paranoid on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:17 am

He is just merely praising the car..did see him bashing any brand also..ish typical paranoid p1 salesman

• Unforgiven on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:24 pm

It seems that P2 staffs/employees are not as free as P1 staffs/employees…
        It’s proven here based on the history of the comments…

Do you get what I meant?

• im not working with proton but i live in the country that produce proton

• mark wu on Apr 22, 2011 at 4:03 pm

1 thing for sure, proton’s ride n handling are way better then perodua. n even honda or toyota.

• LOL

what do you mean basher?

Everyone will buy this over a proton anyday man trustme

why r3 waste more patrol and destroy our environment

perodua, the smart way

• learner on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:44 pm

why? alza burn water?

• altecs on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:22 pm

Perodua has been making cars without any spirit nor soul ever since they stopped producing the kelisa.

You know why perodua sells so well? Because most consumers lack a brain and knowledge to digest a simple spec sheet and realize that perodua has been ripping the $h1t out of people since the creation of the myvi.

• blabla on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:49 pm

how many sales this month bro?

• Prismo on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:57 pm

everyone will buy alza over Proton anyday?

I will choose Proton over perodua anyday.. trust me…

• sutheshkumar on Mar 11, 2011 at 1:48 am

@Afiq; of course for those who plans to buy this over a proton, they must have some screw loose in way them spending that amount of money for something smaller and mere color upgrade rather than going for something spacious and worth the moeny spent.

and dude, r3, waste more petrol, harm the environment? what are you, living in jungle?
        perodua, smart way. in manipulating people.

• Nellie on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:50 pm

People always talk bad on P1. Exora consumes more petrol, malfunctioning and break-down prone, etc. Look at Avanza, similar size with Exora but smaller engine, do people care about the fuel consumption? No, because it is T dna. Maybe P1 were famous with the break-down problem, but they give us waranty. If break-down, just send to the service centre. How about those who buy re-cond vehicles eg Wish, Elgrand, Alphard which have no warranty?

• Afikahlid on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:12 pm

LOL

BRO

what are you talking about??

everyone wil buy this over any proton anyday man..

believe me, i am one of them

why go r3 and polute the environment :(

go perodua go environment :)

• masihtidakdiketahui on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:51 am

U don’t need R3 to pollute the environment.. outside there are thousands of modded Myvies, Viva & Kancil that contributed more air pollution compare to R3 on the road..

• kodok on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:26 pm

now come M2 version after the Advanced Version…. then SE, limited SE, Advance SE… Super Special SE, mesti mau edition, bla bla…

good luck P2……

proud to be malaysian

• kshdajhs on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:28 pm

kereta bukan mpv

• to those who unlike this…
      just want to say that I’m not a fanatic fan of P1 and P2…

I’m a hepi citizen who likes to follow new developmnt from P1 and P2…they are both awesome…although many bash them everyday, especially in Paultan’s page..

I just comment it like that based from what had happened in previous post on P1 and P2…

Just my seposen.

• peYno on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:02 pm

as usual, perodua car paint looks way better than proton, so glossy.

• huiyoo on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:03 pm

as usual, perodua is using ‘LIMITED EDITION’ on something that obviously really UNLIMITED

• why they want to have limited edition? don’t have enough money to produce more ka?
        pandai manipulate eh..
        ahaha..
        after this, there will be “very extreme limited version no-body can have”

• Zainudin on Sep 20, 2012 at 11:01 am

saya seronok tengok n memandu kereta/mpv ALZA tetapi saya ada sedikit permintaan sekiranya pihak pengurusan Produa boleh tambah “Penghawa Dingin” di bahagian tempat duduk tengah atau belakang. sebab yang sedia ada sekarang ini hanya pemandu saja rasa sejuk n mungkin akan beku sedangkan penumpang di belakang masih rasa panas. Tq

• Front View ok but rear ugly space small plus with timing chain after 150 Km mileage it going to be ugly sound from the engine and the camshaft start rumbling. Good luck

• Nellie on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:54 pm

What is limited that makes it limited? Hopefully the real specs tell all. Can’t wait.

• already mention above, limited to 500 unit only…

• Nellie on Mar 11, 2011 at 6:06 am

What are the specs that makes it limited? If only change the colour, put the M2 badge and customised leather seat and floor carpet, just send to the accessories shop. If the engine tuned a bit, or handling adjustment is made, that can be called limited.

• I m also not sure what its mean, what i know, its limited to 500 unit only (PaulTan said la). But what can i say, this thing will sold out. I don’t know why malaysian like this perodua car…. bcoz of da engine? brand name…ehem…toyota? or this car look cute?

I have alza also, but i m not satisfied with some of their quality…but what i can say, every problem of perodua car they will solve it. I think all malaysian whos buy this perodua car is happy with perodua after sale service…maybe…

(cuma aku tak puas hati dgn limited2 ni, berapa byk limited u should produce hah???, jeles weh setiap kali keluar kereta sama yg dh upgrade)

• limited on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:20 am

Limited safety, limited power, limited imagination, limited quality.. they should ALL be Limited editions.

• aduss on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:55 pm

WTH M2 pulak… 70k?

• Salamander on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:06 pm

Better wait for next month since the New Alza M2 Advance Exclusively Special Edition will be out.

• Just_Once on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:06 am

New Alza M2 Advance Exclusively Special Limited Edition 2011 Version ….

Wow…

• Alza is not bad, but im more prefer that P2 lauch for other all new range of cars, like all new Kembara???..
      now P2 only left 3 model: viva, myvi and alza…
      kindly fill up the gap among the car range..

• Kim McClain on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:08 pm

Still pricey, unreliable, lack of practicality. Better get a Proton Exora.

• Ash Menon on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:30 pm

Really? This is the first time I’ve seen someone say a Perodua is unreliable and suggest to go for a Proton instead. Care to share your experiences, Kim?

• poppop on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:59 am

probably pricey,but trust me perodua is reliable and practical then your old neighbor OZ…

• glenn on May 26, 2011 at 11:01 pm

perodua unreliable?? hello my kancil 9 yo alredi been round msia can’t count how many times and even carried 25 bags of cement before!!!! til today no prob only done oil changes only haven’t even change the fluids yet til now…..my company proton wira can’t say the same sometimes the lights on by itself and cannot off until give the steering column a bang and who can forget proton’s iffy power windows……nuff said that’s why i’ve got 2 peroduas planning on alza next exora is underpowered my myvi with 6 ppl can climb genting faster than an exora with 3 ppl………tried it and my myvi is stock standard…

• freeze on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:09 pm

Mahathir doesn’t seem impressed with it.

• Vincent on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:11 pm

So far, I am positive with P2 marketing strategy.

Their team readlly know how to segment their product. Alza is a successful car which create it own blue ocean. It avoid head to head with MPV but still able to gain some Sedan market share.

Having say so, the M2 strategy of “For every unit of the M2 sold, Perodua will be donating RM1,000 to the ex-PM’s Perdana Leadership Foundation.” might create negative impact to the sales….

The money shall go to others foundation!

• that is 100% true… I was planning to buy until I saw that…maybe I’ll still buy..lol

• ANTIRASUAH on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:55 pm

Wht donate to that stupid fund? should donate to other funds more in needs..crazy!

• ANTIRASUAH on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:58 pm

Why donate to that stupid funds? why not donate to other fund that more in needs? Crazy!

• 4g13p on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:32 pm

i thought blue ocean strategy (BOS) should be cheeper…still expensive…

• well, still same price with alza advance version with extra 2din LCD touch n GPS what. This will make owner of alza AV before so so jeles…..

• Bapak_Hussein on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:05 am

Just as the multi-millionaire retiree to “give back” some of his ill-gotten $$$$ & many poor people can live a comfortable live…Not in squatter or tiny low-cost apartment…..lol

• Malaysia Car on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:13 pm

So any different with the “original” ALZA?

Last time only Myvi came out with all “EDITION CAR”. Now Alza is going to hv all the “EDITION CAR” also.

SPEECHLESS…………

• http://thumbnails.thestar.com.my/view.asp?id=7947
    very soon to have such fate on tis alza m2 !

• blackjkx on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:15 pm

“For every unit of the M2 sold, Perodua will be donating RM1,000 to the ex-PM’s Perdana Leadership Foundation”…
    Nah..buyer pay, perodua got name.

• jtiongwl78 on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:25 pm

Dont forget you’re also contributing to excise duties for up to 10 to 15k as well if you buy it.

• Malaysia Car on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:15 pm

1 QUESTION TO ASK : ANY DIFFERENT WITH THE ORIGINAL ALZA?

Last time Myvi came out with all X EDITION car. Now Alza is going to have all “X EDITION” car. So next one will be “ALZA EXCLUSIVE EDITION”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~speechless~~~~~~~~~~

• rm69k for perodua that not even twice as big as myvi is unacceptable.
    the rear look exactly like viva

• lkf0512 on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:28 am

So what?

2 doors coupe should be cheaper than 4 doors sedan?

Some Lambo super sports car with 2 seats only should cost less than normal 5 seats car?

• ReD.D on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:03 am

2 door coupe normally is a performance car.. no way it will be cheaper than sedan.

• mohdjiman on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:17 pm

hahaha…good buy or bad buy?

• lol.. rm1000 given to charity… then can i know what is their profit for every alza they sold?? must be around 10k to 20k… :p

• nebula87 on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:18 pm

WOW…2-din 5-inch touchscreen LCD entertainment system…!

• exJAVANESE on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:44 pm

ya..ya…what ever…
      u’re very obviously look alike perodua salesman who trying to impress buyer….

• 5″ LCD??? too small!!! Which is useless!!!!

• jom ronda on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:26 pm

i love this alza. its sooooooooo different from the other alza. the nice name M2 is also verrrrrrrrrrrryy nice.

• learner on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:47 pm

you sarcasm or what? where got different?

alza facelift counting just begins:
      2009 Alza
      2011 Alza M2 Edition
      …..
      …..
      ….
      …. to be filled in future.

• Salamander on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:20 am

There is Alza Advance Edition somewhere in the middle you forgot to add ^^

• Like Lord Frakuat said in Shrek….. And so on and so on and so on……. Can’t wait to see next version of ALZA…..

Maybe Alza M2 Lady Edition…. with pink color….

• peYno on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:26 pm

prrrtfhhh
    change color scheme also considered big news for perodua

since Japanese yen currency so high .and they have to pay royalty and parts in YEN.. they need to do something…

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:58 pm

Boring,NEXT!!

• Perodua ‘M2’ Alza is just an ordinary extra kitted alza la.. It’s kinda cheapskate always change some parts (bodykit, gps, leather seat) but reality is if perodua ever up the specs like brembo brakes, turbo engine, latest safety features will raise the price tremendously, that time nobody will afford it. Although cheapo to name so many type of edition, perodua has to keep the price competitive to it’s target market.

• orious on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:09 pm

lol… so now what…? just another alza with entertainment system + new color… lol… doesn’t it seems like another copy pasta from another japanese car…?

• Tiadaid on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:09 pm

I like the fact that many P2 supporters are willing to overlook the fact that for every M2 sold, 1K will go to Dr. M’s Perdana Leadership Fund, although many of the same supporter resented the man.

Surely if P1 did this they’ll be bashed to no end….

• SeriuosSAM on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:14 pm

only 500 meh?

don’t worry guys if you can’t get this edition… soon it will be sporty edition, sissy edition, merdeka edition, and many more edition after that…

• So many LIMITED EDITION why not this time, UNLIMITED EDITION?

• POTONG SAID on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:30 pm

Go and bash lah, the figure of the sales will definitely justified the confidence of RAKYAT towards P2 rather than P1 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• blabla on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:00 pm

yes..the figure shows that most of the malaysian are being cheated by p2, T and D..but sadly, malaysian didn’t realise..pitty them..
      said invested millionss for Rnd but design what?bumper only??i didn’t see any real RnD/car development in P2. they also get fund fro Gov..ang that is our money..yet they cheat us?WTF??

• peYno on Mar 11, 2011 at 1:38 am

sales figure in kampung bolehland market??? nothing impressed.
      Unless we go for figure sales in ASEAN and global market (p1 vs p2).
      p1 used to be JUARA KAMPUNG best sales figure than p2 in bolehland market before…
      so what so special???

• limited on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:23 am

That’s only the poor rakyet got no choice but to choose between the better of two evils.

• ezracopters on Mar 13, 2011 at 1:07 am

bro, the figure show nothing but the purchasing power and mentality of general Malaysian public..

• clemenza on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:39 pm

satu gambar shj ke..mane gambar laen..

• yeah rite on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:43 pm

OMFG, at 500 units, it’s ever rarer than some lamborghini aventador at 4,000 units…
    LMAO limited marketing creative minds for sure it is…

• Vincent on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:35 am

Hahah… good quote, 500 unit Special Edition Alza vs 4000 Unit Lamborghini….We even have 25 unit Lotus Racing R3 Neo….

That show clearly that we do have the volume to sustain an own brand…..from Econ point of view!

• Kim McClain on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:48 pm

Beautiful but expensive. Pointless. Unreliable. Lacks of practicality. Better buy Proton Exora.

• Human on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:52 pm

LOL!

• Wat the F on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:56 pm

M2 Edition??? Nothing Special lah!! later still got M3,M4,M5 bla bla editon also…

• LoveIThateIT on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:12 am

Dun worry :D P2 also had a range of SLKs previously..

Small Little Kancil/ Kembara/ Kelisa

Now its time to join the BMW bandwagon ;)

• Operator Kilang P2 on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:56 pm

M2 is mahathir mohamed….and it launch due to his visit to Perodua few weeks ago..
    Nothing special, just a super thin car with few cosmetic changes…RM1000 donation just a stupid gimmick..

• What ever it is just let the majority of the RAKYAT decide and the sales figure will show !!!!!!!!!!!!!! No need the fuss to bash here and bash there

• next is perodua alza nasi lemak limited edition, comes with a free set of limited edition gold plated rice plates. launching in july 2011

• One car moment, MPV the next. Btw, King your display pic is the same as the one appeared on the star, http://thumbnails.thestar.com.my/view.asp?id=7947,

So was it you who posted that picture of wrecked Alza? Cuz the caption said it met in accident last month but i remember seeing your pic more that few months ago.

• my gravatar pic is more than a year old. i guess there are many wrecked alzas around. many ppl buy alza n other mpv but they think they are driving ferrari….so that is the end result. pity…

• benzema on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:21 pm

nothing different. seriously, same engine and same gearbox, same suspension tuning, same rim, same tires etc etc etc.

so, whats the different? color, bodykit and gps.

wow. what a bargain. way to go pssb.

• nazri on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:21 pm

mahathir muhammad.. M2 edition.. ‘tak lama dah’

• Ha Gnih on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:47 pm

tak habis habis dengan limited editions and face lifts. I wanna see something REALLY new and refreshing from both Proton and Perodua. No concepts please, because the concepts from Proton so far I’ve seen, has hints and whiffs from other models like Kia and Audi or even Toyota. Come on people, spend hundreds of millions just to CETAK ROMPAK other makes and models designs ? Oh please……..I’m bored.

• The all new “Perodua engineers have very limited idea “

• benzema on Mar 13, 2011 at 12:42 am

i believe it’s not because of the local engineers have limited idea. in term of technical specs, they need to have the approval from D. other than that, it think it’s ok. ops. not to forget the idea of making-a-very-cost-down vehicle in order to achieve a bigger profit margin. yahooooo.

• Like da colour…oh no, already bought alza grey……

• yeah rite on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:15 pm

WHAT, I’ll be paying RM 1,000 more for some don’t know what foundation?
    Can I have this @ 1k bucks less if I opt to do without the donation?

• mighty moot on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:23 pm

all the donation will be given to all mak datin, puan sri, datin seri bla bla bla…for their shopping expenditure whenever their ‘retired’ hubby playing golf or dangdut…that’s one of special allocation in perdana leadership foundation wakaka…

• dickybird on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:28 pm

pffft! boycott this p2 product! imagine you suffer every month pay your car loan so p2 can give dr m money for his foundation?! kalau tak mampu biaya foundation sendiri dont ask for handout especially from the people that you forced into milo tin cars made with malaysian pride! wtf! of course it would be better than any p1 car and i do drive a myvi but i would not buy this alza.

• paultan fans on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:35 pm

m2= main masak

• noname on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:04 pm

what so special? new colour = new edition ?? ahbeng can do better than this

• burppp on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:29 pm

Next will be ALZA PRD (p2 racing dev) to take out Exora CFE.

• zuarxpdc on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:31 pm

look nice…^_^

• Alza problem brake belakang dia..byk bising bila nak brake…tak leh wat apa2 kata org p2..

• harry on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:02 pm

I wont deny that this is actually a decent car from Perodua, unlike Myvi which gain fame and overrated.

Overall this is a “Malaysian Boleh” car actually.

• anak dato'kk on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:23 pm

500 biji for RM500,000 donation. wah, byk tu….camne kalu buyer tu tak suka kat Tun M, confirm cancel booking!

• alza banged by volvo on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:28 pm

http://thumbnails.thestar.com.my/view.asp?id=7947

• Its normal for malaysia car….. still very expensive bcoz of government tax….

• susilo on Jul 20, 2011 at 3:05 am

it looks like a super compact vehicle now..should inspire perodua for their next model..lol

• RecallTeam on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:30 pm

after this got M3..then M5..
    tiru BMW ke wey????

• Actually this car no increase price. So why are we hating it? LOL

• exJAVANESE on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:08 am

yupp..they doesn’t increase a price ..but come on..only change on color and then sell?? dammit….so boring…

if u guys upgrade on suspension or engine performance such as hybrid or low boost turbo even though upgrade on safety technology such as TCS, EBD, ABS or Pedestrian Impact… its good enough to convince us to buy this product though!!!

I don’t wanna condemn on both P1 or P2… both of them are Malaysian Carmaker (even though P2 half malaysian company..but still)i would like to see both of them to be more productive and always ‘Turun Padang’, asking about costumer reaction and satisfaction…if there’s any issue, fix it immediately…barula pengguna sayang!!

• Basher on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:40 pm

Tukar cat saja sudah dikira special edition and big news. Adakah org2 P2 ni termakan cuka getah?

Jika P2 fanboys beli alza ni, another question will arise. Sapa sebenarnya yang bodoh? Penjual atau pembeli?

Alza is more bigger mpv compare same passanger mpv like suzuki, juara and daihatsu. dont be fooled with tagline ‘ Always small, easy to cilok2 and less fuel.

• For those who screaming like mad dog saying Crap P1 Exora far away better than this P2 Alza… i’m pity all of you…

Look at the total unit sold ever since Alza launched, and look at the total unit sold for P1 Exora… numbers can tell everything… don’t tell me all the P2 Alza owner are blind or stupid or whatever…

P1, you have more than 8 models available in the market, yet P2 have only 3 models selling in the market… just look at the unit sold in year 2010… shame on you P1…

For those P1 supporter, you guys are soooo pity… and shame on you!~

• exJAVANESE on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:38 am

because is Japanese product! i give u solid answer rite??

we will see…sampai bila P2 can hold with their 3 model….one day, people will get bored…even though lots of Korean selling thier good product in resoable price…. look at the European car nowadays..man, they are so aggressive in marketing and promoting their car….even proton getting better day by day and doing lots of In house RnD…but for perodua, wake up dude…ada masa kita diatas, ada masanya kita dibawah…

• Yeah, you’re right. All P2 cars are far more better. In term of maintenance, cost of ownwership and far more important the second hand value of the car. Accept it. Its fact. That’s why more and more Malaysian choose it as their second or even as their first car in the family. Smile.

• nolan on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:24 am

this ALZA is actually dedicate to people who support Dr M……M2 means MahathirDua father of Malaysian Automobile Industry….Ptoton should follow this with M1 because BMW has done it before with their M3 model long time ago you knowwwwww…..

• P2 rock!

I love P2!

• peYno on Mar 11, 2011 at 1:34 am

500 units limited edition just for color scheme change????…

no wonder from the pic, we see Mahader looks unhappy

prrrrtfhhh

• jimmy on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:19 am

Rubbish!!! Rebadged!

• BLOG KISAH2 KELAKAR on Mar 11, 2011 at 5:09 am

awesome…. ;-)

• Wtf???? Why are you people comparing Proton with Perodua? Both of them are practically different in some ways. Perodua are known for making mini’s and Proton is more onto practicality. Proton makes their cars in house, and Perodua is the opposite. So why compare Malaysia with Japan? Malaysia’s technology is growing. To all the critics, I will say this “STOP BEING SARCASTIC!!!!!!”.

• Najib Abdul Razak on Mar 11, 2011 at 7:28 am

I’ve used both p1 and p2. still using them. objectively, i would say their are pros and cons to both brands. but if i weigh this is the better buy overall, i’m sorry i have to say its p2. regardless of what people say, consumers have to be a bit selfish and look for long term satisfaction. we already pay high monthly installments and judging by that, i’m more satisfied with my perodua.

• may i ask what P1 and P2 model are u using.. a specified answer should be good.
      if not…. I bet u are a salesman.
      cuz as my experience…. Myvi chasis tend to longgar after 3 years usage in sunway.

• Heart to heart,,,i was a proton driver before, and now perodua. I can see lately proton has improved a bit, though not much. Look at the Saga FL, though can’t compete with City FL, which has more changes and improvement over the old one. Unfortunately, i can’t see similar effort from P2….My car reaching 8 yrs and i am looking for a new car soon. Good luck Perodua…..

• linear_system on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:25 am

saga is FL=facelift..city isnt facelift,its a new model..thats why it differs more..like new myvi,it is supposed to be new model,but it seems like it is only facelift..

• beatnik on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:13 am

Isn’t “Midnight Blue” is proton’s colour?

• exJAVANESE said, “even proton getting better day by day and doing lots of In house RnD…but for perodua, wake up dude…”
    You sholud know that perodua policy is just to follow what his parent company daihatsu and toyota give to them. This was beign told by Perodua’s MD, Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh himself. That the way their business done. Let’s proton doing real Rnd by themselves while perodua doing cosmetic Rnd by themselves.

• exJAVANESE on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:12 am

yupp..u rite..its hard to do some things we want if our parent didn’t giving a permission…but, sampai bila dude??

I know, its very hard to admit P2 half Malaysian carmaker…but is true though…atleast ask yur ‘big momma’ gives some technology for P2 engineer to explore…then its will become win win situation though….

• Unforgiven on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:34 am

The rakyat is paying more for the brand P2 and now another 1k for M foundation, interesting…

I think other countries will be enjoying paying less for the brand Toyota/Daihatsu…

• jtiongwl78 on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:17 pm

I think this is due to the fault inside NAP. Excise duties make us to pay this.I believe for this car still paying for up to 10k excise duties.

• confused on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:40 am

better save money for Alza Elite Exclusive Special Limited Executive Edition (… comes with pinkish-purple colour and custom dashboard graphic design!

• benzema on Mar 13, 2011 at 12:46 am

nice one! make it the same like viva elite exclusive edition. whats so exclusive for having purple color inside your cabin?

what does exclusive mean?

• kuriang on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:55 am

For those who talk about environmental, better kayuh basikal la.. nowadays a lot of malaysian cycling for fitness..

• putra_rider on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:12 am

no wonder how come Tun is in the picture..

Duit punya pasal..

but i still love my exora and proud to buy Proton
    100% made in Malaysia..

still cant compare with alza, it target customer is for small family or family of small body..but exora is full size mpv.

• dream on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:16 am

Keep the Editions coming…

• kuching on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:18 am

kereta untuk orang berduit.

• ponorogo on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:20 am

When P1 release a car – P2 supporter will bash like hell,
    when P2 release a car – P1 supporter will also will bash like hell,
    there are no ending….prrffff~

• chef wang on Mar 12, 2011 at 2:23 pm

what la. ….open up ur mind a bit…most Malaysian already mature beyond the dengki and hasut menghasut mentality especially among ourselves………..just bcos people bash p1 not necessarily they are p2 supporter or vice versa…..we express our own opinion for the betterment of car industry…..hello we are in global economy and p1 p2 is tiny part of it…..progressive people give praise or comment when it’s due….

• cool…
    when can we get Alza Sport Edition that comes in orange colour then? XD

• Wow, nice car but fof those who can afford it congratulations. And for those who can’t afford it shut up ! Their money, their like, why bother?

• This is a democracy country..you can ask them to shut up man..their opinion, let them be!

• Well said, Btq!!!

• It’s their mouth. Why you bother?

• confused on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:53 pm

if we can’t express our opinions in here, Paul wouldn’t put the comment box in the first place.. plus there’s thumbs up/down button as an indicator whether u’r talking bullcrap or else..

• aparaa on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:19 am

looks like perodua is using tun m as their ‘pelaris’!

can’t blame them, dr. m sells his books 5000 copies in just few hours after the launch!

like it or not, tun m is still the man!

• dinding_batu on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:30 am

I agree with Btq. Suka hati they all la. Their money what? hehe. I also agree that if you want to really save the planet, then better ride bicycle la. You think cheaper cars mean lower emissions and less consumption? Think again la. Furthermore, on the roads there’s 1 R3 Proton car compared to.. what.. at least 10 modified Perodua Myvi / Kancil / Viva?

• speedemons on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:31 am

whay perodua not make limited edition like daihatsu or toyota…. TRD version, DRS version, D-Sport version and X4 version…which betul-betul limited…and worth it..coz got strut bar, antirollbar, tune absorber and spring, recaros seat, momos airbag stereng, sports pedal, knob or different ECU, tune up engine or exhaust…

• Slayer on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:42 am

Alamak so many special version la…

• Ucu Sebayan on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:30 am

Bersyukur lah dengan apa yang ada..
    No national car, ppl with low budget kenot buy car. CBU car very expensive maa..
    Even there is CBU car cheap, service, spare parts oso very expensive to maintain. How leh? Aakaidaii..

P1, P2 bravo! even so much complaint.
    Naik basikal ajer la..Komplen2 tayar pancit, pam sendiri. hahaha

• Faisal on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:34 am

hahaha Alza Elite Exclusive Special Limited Executive Edition!

• Faisal on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:38 am

alza is nice but for 70k, i rather buy an exora medium line..

• 1Malaysia? on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:45 am

Kereta Untuk Orang Berduit? Thank To Malaysia Ridiculous TAX…!

• GTR V Spec on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:56 am

better if perodua make it like daihatsu or toyoda… they got TRD version, X4 version D-sport or DRS version…which include Recaros seat, Momos airbag stereng, different tacho meter, knob, Sport suspension and absorber, Strut bar, antirollbar, TRD exhaust system etc….than that we call woth it to buy…this what we caklled “LIMITED EDITION” perodua must learn from japan not learn to ripp off our hard earn money…

• azrai on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:00 pm

The Alza M2 was unveiled by Tun Mahathir during his visit to Perodua in January and the ‘M2’ refers to the codename which was used when the project to establish Perodua was still Top Secret.
    Unique features of the Alza M2 are its special ‘Midnight Blue’ colour, custom leather seat covers and custom carpet mats.

M2 project also come from gov idea also..Not only M1.

• What the bored car u have..just change the colour and u call its unique? What a shameless taste..next time, P2 only to change new color and and rename it as M3..haha

• J@Ck LIM on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Aw man… all P1 guys in this forum, but in reality who has the most supporter?
    In terms quality, design, efficiency? who did the best? Sales prove it.
    Statistics did that. Consumer trust worthy is the main motivation. =D
    no offences. Tq

• HirumaKecil on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Peugeot do the best… Good car = proton, beautiful car = perodua, performance car = proton, saving car = perodua… People buy what their want according to their budget… proton is a good car.. if i want to buy a national car, i will buy a proton for sure because i like performance car.. but i like perodua kelisa design.. very cute… kancil is a good car(please don’t compare with better car with higher price).. i would not buy alza, but i like the design.. beautiful.. cannot compare with exora becoz exora looking different.. alza is like beautiful lady, while exora is a handsome man.. they are both have good looking but cannot be compare.. not all people who buy alza need an mpv.. maybe they just want to buy an ordinary car, and the size of alza is not so big so that is why they choose it.. they want a small car, fuel saving, easy to drive,parking and looking cute… for those who buy exore, maybe they need a real mpv, more powerfull engine, bigger space, sporty looking,and good handling… some people like neo cps, while the other like myvi se… i like neo cps coz it look sporty, fast,good handling and good engine and at the same time, i also like the pink color myvi(just bthe pink one).. but still i prefer big sedan… i like peugeot 405 more than new camry, i like the old bmw e36 more than latest bmw f10… i like mercedes 220 masterpice more than latest 3 series… i like nissan ad resord more than toyota caldina.. what do you like maybe vice versa than what i like, but that was me… poeple are different… currently i drive a peugeot.. many people ask me why do i buy that car and make it as my project car.. people usually will but modern car.. but why? it’s big, fuel guzzler, uncle car(i’m just 23),high maintainance car and many more.. the answer is i like that car and love it so much…

• green on Mar 11, 2011 at 1:33 pm

I agree with you. Different eyes different perspective. You got money you choose what you like.

• Ha Gnih on Mar 12, 2011 at 1:20 am

That’s why people asked me why the Vellfire. It’s expensive, it’s big (and to some, it’s also ugly, :s ) and thirsty. I told them. I bought it because of the performance and comfort it gives me wherever I go. Not to mention the need to lug around 6 – 7 passengers from time to time to go out for dinner and jalan-jalan. 3.5 litre engine really makes it all effortless. Nasib baik mampu kan ? Kalau tak, have to be happy to settle with an Exora :s

• peYno on Mar 12, 2011 at 3:29 pm

this only happened in bolehland market malaysia

but when it comes p1 vs p2 in global market… p1 is better than p2 dan sales figure prove it…

just look at daihatsu sirion (myvi) in Indonesia and myvi sales in UK…

• jtiongwl78 on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:23 pm

To me, try to avoid buying cars at this time. As election is another one to two years. We dont know what is going to happen. But if you’re cash rich, then go ahead and purchase some more products like this. Remember that petrol price is inreasing and I am not surprise that until the end of this year, RMN97 is RM3 per liter and RON95 is RM2.5 per liter.

If can delay just delay it. Remember that the price of the car you’re paying, there’re a portion is contributing to the excise duties. For Alza let say, shall be around 10 to 15k.

• KARUT! Malaysians yang beli, Perodua dapat nama? That’s the total rip off I’m talking about! Boo!

• sallehuda on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Donating to the Perdana Foundation is wasteful cos
    it doesn’t benefit consumers.
    Just ask Kencana Petroleum.
    After being awarded huge multi million contracts by Petronas
    ( mmm,,, who is its advisor?)
    the least it could do is to plough some $$$ here.
    As for TM looking so serious , probably he is wondering what makes
    P2 successful with the Msian public.
    Its all about practicality,reliability and brand power.
    We don’t need not so smart fuel guzzlers like R3 & Inspira.

• peYno on Mar 12, 2011 at 6:50 am

brand power???… last time perodua sell NAUTICA rebadge from Daihatsu/toyota model.. selling at high price.. but nobody wanna buy,,, becoz it;s perodua eventho original from D/T

But when proton rebadge inspira and sellat higher price… ppl still wanna buy

• Ini Susah lah on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Stop bashing. Just see from the Alza and Exora sales, then know which car is better and liked by Malaysian.

• exJAVANESE on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:04 pm

ya..ya…
      just wanna say only one of “Pepatah Melayu”…
      Hidup umpama roda, ada kalanya kita diatas..adakalanya kita dibawah….

don’t be so excited my friends….

• peYno on Mar 12, 2011 at 2:52 pm

yeah same goes to Toyota camry and honda accord… used to be best selling car for its class.. now already beaten by Nissan Teana and Hyundai Sonata

time has changed and hidup like roda.

• chef wang on Mar 12, 2011 at 2:12 pm

want to compare need to use brain la……from the car profile more people will buy alza…..it’s good for 1st car and only car, small family (which the current state of Malaysian family now)….exora more for second car and big family……u can check with the buyer profile…..

• Genoe on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:41 pm

Attention to Perodua management:

Some defects found on Perodua Alza so far:
    1. Cracking sound on steering column
    2. Ticking sound from driver side door
    3. Wind noise from side mirrors upon hitting speed 70kmh
    4. Front wheel dusts from brake pads
    5. Malfunction bluetooth connection
    6. Very, very poor interior sound proof (cheap styrofoam board used in floorbed, why?)

Hopefully Perodua management don’t sweep it aside or not bother for free recalls (like Proton).

• benzema on Mar 13, 2011 at 1:03 am

p2 only concentrate on increasing their sales volume. make lots of edition like special, unlimited, exclusive blablabla.

they forgot to improve on that.

sell, sell, sell

and become no. 1 in malaysia

• anonymous on Mar 13, 2011 at 10:55 pm

I am the owner for the alza , I am agree with the statement , they change the rubber strip , and they have change for 3 times , but the windows noise happen at 60km/h , wasting my time for 2 hours at the sc ( 2×3 = 6 hours ) , I have filed complain to the hq , but useless , they can’t help much …

took 1 month to repair the bluetooth problem , came back found out the caller can’t hear my sound … so go back to original state

they said the front wheel dust is not a issue , wtf …

the car always have ratting tick tick tick sound …

they just want to make sales . they forget about the quality .

• I thought I was the only one who is not lucky. The passenger seat came out annoying sound after 2 months I drove it. Sent to service center for 3 times & the same silly sound still coming out.

The Amazing part take place when heavy raining, the rain drop make me feel like I’m in the milo tin.

• kawan on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:03 pm

so sad.. i’m waiting klon prius p2..lama dah tunggu ni..jurutera p2 so slow la..p1 kira advance la skit dh klon lancer already..

• xavier lert on Mar 11, 2011 at 5:12 pm

cantek ape Alza..ade projector lamp…eh..Waja pon ade projector lamp…11 years ago.. :p

• Seriously on Mar 11, 2011 at 7:59 pm

God enough with this. The only edition they should have is just “no edition”!

• DJLDracio on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:09 pm

Vehicle’s Lifespan nowadays is comparable to a Handphone Lifespan with more excess of unnecessary ‘upgrades’ which do little to enhance the overall vehicle.

Regardless of brand, this is a sad way to market a product with such gimmicks.

There’s alot of smart buyers these days, who are they fooling?

• M for mamak ?

• peYno on Mar 12, 2011 at 7:23 am

when perodua rebadge NAUTICA and sell it at high price… nobody wanna buy

when proton rebadge INSPIRA and sell it at high price.. ppl still wanna buy

so we know.. which brand is more can be trusted

prrrrtfhhhh

• power on Mar 12, 2011 at 12:23 pm

since when ppl start buying original toyota rush?

since when kembara are selling in big numbers?

kepandaian

• peYno on Mar 12, 2011 at 3:14 pm

when perodua sell KEMBARA… we still can see them on the road

but when perodua sell NAUTICA (kembara replacement).. eventho direct from Japan… yet noboday wanna buy…

i believe if Nautica got Toyota logo/emblem.. malaysian will buy it

prrrrtfhhhhh

• peYno on Mar 12, 2011 at 8:09 am

i noticed.. when perodua salesman has no point to talk.. they will mention about SALES figure…prrrtrfhhh

sales figure in kampung bolehland market??? nothing impressed.
    Unless we go for figure sales in ASEAN and global market (p1 vs p2).
    proton WIRA used to be JUARA KAMPUNG best sales figure than p2 in bolehland market before…
    so what so special???

• can i say M2 is new term just like R3 in proton? because perodua don’t have special tuner just like R3..i can see many viva put sticker R3..wth?so after this all perodua owner can replace their R3 sticker with m2 sticker..

• in this land, ppl still prefer p2 rather than p1 bcoz they are still haunted by p1’s dark history… takut ni, takut itu.. play-safe ma… just my 10cent guys..

• peYno on Mar 12, 2011 at 10:25 pm

and p2 history will be same as past proton history for next 5 years…
        in 2005.. p1 vs p2 bashers about 80:20… now almost 50:50 after p2 owner felt conned by so called “jepun” quality but end up with malysia rawang quality.. lets viva and alza onwer face it

prrrtfhhhh

• BIGMAC on Mar 14, 2011 at 10:21 am

Don’t bother to buy any of these.Just wasting your money.Very poor after sales service.Just want value for our money.MYV 50K..ingat murah ker??..SERIK!!

• jamester on Mar 14, 2011 at 8:20 pm

Does it come in auto??

• jim23 on Jun 07, 2011 at 7:50 pm

the after sales service is bad , the wind noise problem , petrol leak , roof insulator just made me crazy … they never did it right at first place , they ask you to come back again … shit car ,shit p2 ,shit the salesman and shit the sc

• wilbur on Mar 14, 2011 at 8:31 pm

proton is known best for its lotus ride an handling
    for some people maybe this is not the thing because they don’t even feel the difference
    well, for me it’s obvious, currently driving an ‘old’ waja which the exterior is not that cool like city or the famous vios

nvh wise sure both cars can beat waja anytime , but the thing is the ‘micro’ shaking in the cars all the way when moving is the one that is more terrible to feel than the so-so nvh of waja – that;s when hovering in the city. during long journey the the shaking can make the driver getting exhausted faster than the smooth waja. the smoothness of waja is going all the way up to 170km/h – both for ride and handling

ok, it’s not fair to compare them with a waja becuse city/vios is b segment car while waka is ‘c segment car but why not since both cars are much expensive than a waja

when this car is out sure i will consider it or the inspira, believe it can match the 9th gen civic

• megah2 on Mar 14, 2011 at 11:55 pm

Shame on you calling the Inspira a Proton product.
      Its a Mitsu Lancer and
      Its a no brainer rebadge with only 20% local
      components at time of launch.
      If Waja was so good
      how come it was a failure in UK and you
      don’t see it anywhere else in the world?

• Waja Mitsu not proton but Gen2 Persona, Exora, Saga is Proton design and Engine and my Gen 2 reach 200km/h and my BMW 230 km/h not bad for Proton first Engine , Bravo.

• Prices India on Mar 17, 2011 at 10:52 pm

Also. I am agree with Btq. Suka hati they all la. Their money what? hehe. I also agree that if you want to really save the planet, then better ride bicycle la. You think cheaper cars mean lower emissions and less consumption? Think again la.

• whatever la… as long as they keep churning out cars that will within a week leak gearbox oil !!!!…. nothing in the world will help keep them looking good!

• Kingsley C. Bakmiwewa on May 21, 2011 at 11:39 am

Have made an order for my Alza and am waiting for its arrival. I am awaiting the final price for the M2 Limited Edition before I commit myself. Like I mentioned in an earlier article, the Alza is not without its limitations, but I like it for I strongly believe that it is worth the price paid (over here in East Malaysia Rm 71,000 +). To many a consumer, they may prefer something that is faster or even bigger, but to an average family man, I feel that the Alza is all right. In our present state of rising fuel prices (Rm 2.90 for 97 and the new increased Rm2.40 for 95 petrol), the choice of buying a higher capacity vehicle can prove staggering and especially so if the car is used daily. As for the Limited Edition, though we may NOT see it in terms of engine performance or body kit designs, the colour alone should suffice, provided of course that Perodua DOES NOT include it in future models of the Alza. In the end, we will all have to wait and see……won’t we?

• azlan on Jun 30, 2011 at 1:03 pm

what ever it is, guys could u ever say something good n nice to hear to. we teach our kids to be a good in everything, but for the use of ourself.

• MY ALZA WATERLEAK AT FRONT MIRROR?
    I USE TIZ CAR 6 MNTH ONLY….
    I REGRAT BUY P2…..

• m3 edition on Oct 31, 2011 at 8:23 pm

if u want sedan p1 and if u want compact p2
    even other wellknown brand have quality issue…so what?