Proton Tuah Concept spotted on the ELITE highway!

These are first shots of a roadgoing Proton Tuah Concept being tested on this blog, snapped on the ELITE highway by reader Daryl Loy.

Thanks to the Proton Tuah Concept (also known as the Proton Espire) exhibited publicly at the KLIMS 2010 show last year, we can quite positively identify this as a Tuah as the overall shape and a lot of the design cues are the same, although this prototype still has a lot of its body features covered up by heavy disguise.

The rear end especially has very heavy disguise, so there’s not much to be seen. There’s a nice thick chromed tailpipe though! Look after the jump for the rest of the spyshots as well as photos of the Proton Tuah Concept.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2055]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1754]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1755]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• dzulx on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:18 pm

small tires….hmm again??

• scoobylution on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:47 pm

small rim la bro..for comfortable ride, like in inspira. well u can change later to a big one.

• RON97 on Mar 11, 2011 at 5:03 pm

typical Proton mentality. Change later la.. do later la. Proton = Try & Error product.

• Miwqa on Mar 12, 2011 at 1:47 pm

no need to be so harsh on rim size,its nit try and error,its marketing,most people doesnt need 18inch rims.imagine how much it cost to change new tyres every year

• chef wang on Mar 12, 2011 at 1:56 pm

typical basher UNCHANGED MENTALITY…….try and error is part of quality process….toyota honda also do other concept call TRY & RECALL…..

• Protong can’t afford to do recalls like what Toyolta and Hondan does.

If Protong does a recall on any of their product, they would have to replace the entire car.

• peYno on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:13 pm

prrrrtthhhh

copy cat thunder cat

front and rear look just like Kia Forte

Side line looks just like Hyundai Sonata.

ok la, since their P1 designer running out of idea.

Copy la, rebadge la, as long as we can continue cheat R&D fund from gomen and EPF.

• taboogen on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:16 pm

mcm dulu ko tak pernah tiru homework kawan ko…. ngarut jer bdk2 skang nie bercakap… cakap pandai.. tp buatnyer tak reti.. kalu pandai kenapa lah ko tak dalam bidang RND…. buduh sumbung namanyer.. bagi lah idea bukan mengutuk jer….

• scoobylution on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:19 pm

why don’t u say forte copy honda civic front and sonata copy merc cls? brainless basher.

• how much they receive that fund? from what i read from their annual statement most money they got are from bank either from malaysia or other countries

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:23 pm

AH,you also copy and paste the typical bashers comment.
        R&D is not just on design you bloody fool.
        Don’t care it looks like Forte or whatever,as long it looks beatiful enough.
        Forte looks like Civic,Sonata looks like a Merc and a Beemer.

• mozaks on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:37 pm

i think you need to wear your glasses…

• SquarePetrolHead on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:47 pm

KZM… kete nih kan design sykt itali tuh… Giugiaro. Ko complain pon mesti munasabah bro… nowadays many car design elements are similar across brands. So when these elements come together it may look the same as another car by accident not by design. Mane ade egineer/designer yg suke tiru org. Cam tu die xde lah maruah sendiri… the design looks good. Actually the short rear-end reminds me about of the Mazda3

• carwise on Mar 12, 2011 at 1:58 pm

pandai2 je ko design drpd Giugiaro italy la (menipu!), biar jadi PENIRU dan bukan PENIPU. two Proton insiders had revealed that they took & even bought a Forte for the fundamental design (curves & angles) and benchmark to design Proton Tuah a.k.a. Proton Expired (couz Forte already exist around the globe since end of 2008). This is no kiddin’, no add salt or sugar into the facts. facts is facts lah Proton bashers & diehard fans.
          Bear i mind, QC comes 1st. Make sure of the interior & body paint quality first, learn your lessons from the Proton InsPIRATE. jgn bikin malu sama itu the multi awards-winning world car Forte:)

• chef wang on Mar 12, 2011 at 10:51 pm

FUYO ……ADA INSIDERS TU…….aku rasa aku tau sapa insiders tu…….mesti satu genetik ngan ko kan satu kepala tak betul ngan ko kan hahahahaha…………..insider hahahaha …..lni byk sangat tgk citer mat jebon la ni..ngigau main spy2……….james bond kosong kosong tujuh…hang apa pulak….kosong kosong tong kosong dalam kosong tapi kuat kelentong ka hehehe…peace out

• carwise on Mar 13, 2011 at 12:24 am

my bro-inlaw & friend work there. kosong kosong tong kosong mcm body insPIRATE ke?? easily bend even when u lend with less pressure..cut cost lah tu..facts is facts! cheers!:)

• now evryone will say my insider tell this, my insider tell that.. at last 1 pun x btol..

• Kunta Kunte on Mar 14, 2011 at 1:16 pm

My insider told me that the actual Tuah design was taken from the wheel-chair design in Hantu Mak Limah movie, and the tail-light was taken from kapal meru meru mahawangsa…

• haji maarof chan on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:03 pm

he had too much of the arrivals la.

• waimak on Mar 15, 2011 at 11:38 am

do you really need to buy other cars just to copy the design? Hmm..and if you copy the design I guess it would be faster for Proton to produce its cars.. bravo bro!

• Kuali-leper on Mar 15, 2011 at 7:16 pm

Ala….. Honda pun mudah kemek la bro…… Satria 1st model aku lagi keras drp Accord baru bapak aku. ape de hal…. Kemek ade fungsi. crumple zone. haiyaaa…..
            Papehal pun aku enjoy bawak satria daripada Accord. best layan selekoh.

• SquarePetrolHead on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:30 pm

pandai2 la ko carwise… ko ada insider cayalah die org la… kite yg xde insider dgr berita je. Kalo P1 announce yg Giugiaro yg tngh design Persona R tuh, aku cayalah… aku kan xde insider mcm mulut celopar kamu tuh… walaupun bukan Giugiaro yg design apelah masalah bwk masuk Forte-ke, Mazda3-ke, Cruze-ke untuk dikaji?? Ko ingat sykt lain tak buat mcm tuh ke??
            Ko tau tak sykt lain bayar sykt lain untuk informasi ttg kete sykt lain?? Sykt2 pertengahan nih akan koyak-rabak kete sykt2 yg menyertai programnya utk pelbagai informasi teknikal; baik dr segi design, spesifikasi dan bahan2 mentah…

Ko talented sngt, pi-lah keje kat P1. Patut pon P1 ade masalah, u takde kat sity kan??. Kalo in-law ko ngan fren ko tuh keje kat situ, dan kalo depa tau je complain mcm u nih, mmg pon P1 tak maju…

• kadok on Mar 11, 2011 at 5:26 pm

you better send you resume to proton HR and be chief designer,
        and make sure not to use any other car design in this world as reference,
        the idea must be truly fresh from your very genius brain…

or at least go learn how to rendering and send your design to mr paul… hahah

only talk and talk…

• kagesenshi on Mar 12, 2011 at 2:19 am

he’ll come up with a car which have 7 tires , 3.5 doors , 3 seats , and shaped like an apple..

not THATS original

• 5 doors? nah thats to mainsteam LOL haha hipsters

• Carlzen on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:31 pm

more like a 2 tracks, 1 hatch, 3 seats, and shaped like a steel box…

Oh wait..that was a tank…

• lady_driver on Mar 11, 2011 at 5:49 pm

no brainer..the proton tuah concept pic already out 3years ago, even before the launch of forte or new sonata..

dont worry proton.. even how good u r.. even how bad u r.. there will always a no brainer to complain bout you..

• Jaymen on Mar 13, 2011 at 10:00 am

Please read your facts. Forte were already in the Global market in 2008.

• watatau on Apr 03, 2011 at 8:22 pm

I can confirm that.. used to work for proton and saw the designs came out before forte was launched…

• your comment looks like you’re completely idiot :D

• Miwqa on Mar 12, 2011 at 1:48 pm

i don’t care as long a the design is nice

• waimak on Mar 15, 2011 at 11:36 am

Wow, you’ve got so much info la bro., especially that cheating thing..

• PakAbu on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:52 pm

IMHO the tyres/wheels are not small. It is sort of an “optical illusion” because the bulging part above the wheel arch. Proton like to do this in their design. The bulging part, especially at the rear, extends too low, making the body look big.

If you just measure the proportion of the three parts: roof, body and wheel arch, they are OK.

A good example of this illusion is on Viva, which has very small wheel/tires, but the wheel arch line at the rear does not extend down, but stop at the bumper instead. So, the wheels just look OK.

My 2 kupang

• Eyesore on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:49 pm

Those are R16 rims…small meh? Put R17 later you will complain that its expensive to change tyre…. -.-

• kevin on Mar 14, 2011 at 10:11 am

I like the prototype! Just worried about the engine…would they use engine as similar to Mitsubishi like inspira? or still using back like campro timing belt (old fashion) engine?

• Tengokje.. on Mar 14, 2011 at 11:22 am

This car only for testing purpose bro…the real will come out later…just wait la…

• cigondo on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:19 pm

nice design… but how bout the engine,,,?
    still using the campro… very sad.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:56 pm

Not the old campro,but the new turbocharged campro,but don’t think they it’s a BOT,they totally re-design the engine.

• well hopefully it will be the improved campro turbo, not the current one….

• sagatron on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:58 pm

this one is using campro cfe turbo…..vrooommmm2…..its turbo man!!!!

• Harris on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:54 pm

Why they change the rear light??!! The concept glowing rear light is awesome!! But from the picture they still using bulbs or maybe its because of safety reason testing on road..

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:43 pm

I don’t think that’s the final design,probably the rear light is just a temporary lamp,like what Vauxhalll use to test their new Astra VXR

http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-news/frankfurt-motor-show-2011/next-astra-vxr—new-pics/255763/pictures/next-astra-vxr—new-pics.aspx?im=426054

• ntah.. on Mar 11, 2011 at 7:16 pm

It equipped with 1.8 and 2.0 engine laa.. didn’t you read the previous article about this car??

• alf147 on Mar 14, 2011 at 9:35 am

sorri bro..it will be a 1.6 iafm and 1.6 turbo for this Tuah.no 1.8 and 2.0.

• jamal on Mar 11, 2011 at 7:48 pm

campro definitely a no no.

• AMan Shah on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:19 pm

hey cigondo? dont just bash campro like tht…can u even build engine? engine tamiya pun tak lepas..hahaha….

• Vincent Ang on Mar 13, 2011 at 4:43 pm

ALL proton engines are in one from or another licensed from Mitsubishi. The Campro is just a pathetic out of date Mitsubishi engine which is passed off as some state of the art Proton engine. Tell me where does Proton MAKE the components that goes into their engines. Where is the Block casting and machining plant. Where are the plants making the steel alloys that goes into the piston. These plants do not exist. By the way do not insult Tamiya. I would like to see Proton be able to produce the electric motors that goes into Tamiya cars. These electric motors are state of the art mini electric motors which Proton will never have any hope of making if the low quality motors in the power windows of Proton cars is anything to go by. By the way my neighbor who is a regular mat have just bought a second hand Toyota Vios which he claims is better than his former Wira which he bought new.

• Vincent Tan on Mar 14, 2011 at 8:16 am

been to proton casting in glenmarie? been to perodua? Been to Tanjung Malim?

• Vincent Ang on Mar 14, 2011 at 9:55 am

Like I said where are PROTON’s plants? These plants are essentially Mitsubishi licensed plants producing outdated Mitsubishi engines. The same applies to Perodua. The K3VE engines in Perodua cars like all their other engines are NOT produced with their own technology. Having a plant licensed to produce the engines designed by other car maker DOES NOT make one a car maker. Now licensing in and of itself is not a bad thing but when ALL your engines are produced under license from other car makers it becomes very difficult to claim that one is a car manufacturer like KIA or HYUNDAI.

• aaaa…hurmm..you asking where is the plant? no matter I’ve never been there, but i have been to some engine factory, guess what? nothing is trully made by them, wanna know why?

Do a reasearch and see if you can come up with costing of 1 mold to make the engine, also, just to have the material to make the mold is already damn expensive, don’t just say what you want. If you ask me, Kia also have some Mercedes engine parts. Any one complain? yeah old parts inside, how do I know? let’s just say I;ve been to Korea and got to visit the factory.

Typical Malaysian mind, whatever proton build or gain always bash, if even proton buy Ferrari I think people still bash the engine the design the interior.

WANT SOMETHING CHEAP, YOU HAVE TO EXPECT SOME DRAWBACKS. STOP BEING AND IMBESILE AND BASH ONLY. I’VE OWN A PROTON FOR 30 YEARS ALREADY. THEY HAVE SERVE ME WELL WITH MINOR PROBLEMS!!

• Hantu Kak Limah on Mar 15, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Haiyaa….. bukannye murah nak buat/beli mould for engine. even plastic moulding machine cost bout RM1.2mil. Japan made. Nak yang murah? China made la. RM85k saje. tapi kualiti macam jahanam. pengalaman bro… pengalaman….
            that’s why most of car co. adapt / jv / share the technology with other co. kenapa? untuk penjimatan kos la bai…. nak bagi contoh? banyak sangat……………………………….

Volkswagen, Skoda, Seat dan Audi share enjin dan chasis yang sama. Even Buggati Veyron guna 2 blok enjin dari Audi A8 yang dicantum. maka terhasillah enjin model baru berbentuk W16.
            Audi R8 5.2 guna enjin Lambo LP560-4. Brand besar tu…… Ye la. mungkin korang akan kata pasal brand2 tu sumer bawah satu bumbung. Tapi tetap sharing kan?

Lagi? Kalu tak silap gua la kan, waja share chasis yang sama ngan previous Volvo S40 dan Focus. Mitsu kenakan ufti RM4k bagi setiap enjin diorang yang digunakan Proton. (betulkan kalau gua salah).

Banyak-banyakkan membaca….
            Fikir2 dulu sebelum membantai kawan2……

• gogo2 on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:21 pm

So fast come out already? I guess this is Persona replacement with Turbo campro.

• huiyoo on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:58 pm

so the proton test drive car in oversea currently is might be proton lekiu. first proton suv in malaysia with turbocharged. proton is really listening to rakyat demand

• nazgul on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:50 pm

here is a clear reason why you should go back to p2 and ask them to refund back your alza m2 booking…

• power on Mar 12, 2011 at 10:34 pm

becos you fell in love with P1 mechanic, and you would like to see them every 2 weeks.

• as what i heard, probably still will be using cps, but theres potential to be put in the new cfe engine with new gearbox,

• Netsoft on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:23 pm

haha nice

• ridzhas on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:23 pm

can’t want for the real production if this really look likes the concept…

• blueblood on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:30 pm

cant want or cant wait? XD

btw nampak sgt berbeza dgn model concept.. i mean the concept 1 much better looking..this 1 rearside mcm persona je..

• Wow, now can I get the R3 version already? Tuah R3…totally awesome

• popoi on Mar 12, 2011 at 5:28 pm

Tuah R3 lotus racing edition.. wonder how it will look like.. :D

• captain_gaban on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:25 pm

holy mother earth!!!!
    can’t believe that P1 is really about to unleash their new model!! i thought it will stay as a concept until…god knows….my thumbs up for P1…on the other note…instead of named it as Tuah…why not Wira?? I mean just to continue the legacy, same as Saga..well thats my 2 kupang…but still, KUDOS to P1…and for those bashers, F.O.D lahhh

• harris murad on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:02 pm

WIRA eh bro?
      TOTALLY AGREE!!!

• yeah…
      and i stil keeping asking myself:

“Wow, is that a Proton?” (0_0)

• u know something,
      at first I feel it is awkward…

but i dunt know why, I think now I already like the name Proton Tuah :D

• laluan sehala on Mar 11, 2011 at 6:40 pm

was told it could be as early as next year.

• amirad on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:12 pm

Hang Tuah is the Wira.

• kagesenshi on Mar 12, 2011 at 2:24 am

Persona _was_ Wira

at least thats the name used by proton wira in UK ..

persona (old wira) -> gen2 persona (current persona) -> persona replacement (generation 3)

• jl@ipl on Mar 12, 2011 at 9:45 am

the old wira was “pesona”. The “r” was not there………..

• Just_Once on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:27 pm

Proton Tuah…

2 words only.. simple yet attactive

• mid-income earner on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:16 pm

hey.. that’s three words.. hehe :)

• peYno on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:17 pm

the logo part, looks like Fiesta Radio Keypad(inspired by Nokia 8210, lol )

• scoobylution on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:21 pm

pathetic basher..lost ideas to bash..then the logo part also can be a subject to bash…LOL!

• u need help on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:57 pm

omg, what is wrong with u? haish.

• In 2 words, it should be “Simply Attractive”

• unknown on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:43 pm

but already got inokom tuah…same as lorry name.change to other name please…is it replacement model for Perdana? two thumbs up for it.

• Seriously on Mar 11, 2011 at 7:56 pm

If you’re talking about the concept version, then yeah. You haven’t even seen how it really looks like yet.

• Ride&Handling on Mar 12, 2011 at 1:11 am

its a persona full model change or replacement as i undersstand. then it should be called persona lorrr..persona name already known in the UK, GCC and ASEAN market. As this will also be a global car, Persona name should be retained unless there’s an idea to runaway from current Persona branding, which i don’t see as the current on-going Persona dont have big issues thats jeopardizing its name.

• skytech on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Nice . Hope proton keep improving . Come out with new design.

• low2215 on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:29 pm

That is a nice looking car !! great job !!

• malacca residents on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:29 pm

wow! cant wait for it to be launch, and pleeeeaaaasssseeee all the bashers…please give constructive comments about this car….the car is still a PROTOTYPE, please dont gives stupid comments about the power windows failure and stuffs….just enjoy it’s beauty…if u dont like it… please dont comment.

• moomoo on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:29 pm

it’s look like a half cut from lancer platform and bit and pieces patching from persona & satria neo.

• It’s a prototype for testing lah genius. Not the final version. Go and show of your stupidity somewhere else.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Of course,what I heard is this prototype is not a complete design.

• ecofriendly on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:52 pm

then it got all the package..

• DonkeyKong on Mar 11, 2011 at 6:56 pm

Can you design a better looking car that has NO similar design elements with any other car in existence? Again, another basher who doesn’t use his brain.

• moomoo on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:31 pm

the rear part is looks like lancer shape

• whoa!!!

• meane on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:32 pm

ber’tuah’ punya kereta..!

• YOU-LOONG on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:32 pm

this car look funny, lancer body with persona side mirror & facelift rear and front.

• niceone on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:05 pm

If you think the car looks funny, i think you look like an idiot.

• I also spotted it this morning on ELITE ~920am….driving damn fast…>130km/hr…

• nazgul on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:55 pm

heard any turbo like sound?

• DonkeyKong on Mar 11, 2011 at 6:59 pm

Campro CFE is using light pressure turbo with recirculating BOV, there won’t be much audible indication that it’s turbocharged. Proton can’t move to high pressure turbos yet, until their powertrain division redesign the crank angle sensor setup, strengthen the crankshaft, and redesign the conrods, conrod bearings, pistons and gudgeon pins. The current S4PH as it is won’t be able to take the additional load of high-pressure turbo and remain reliable until these changes are completed.

• singh is khing on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:23 pm

err.. bro.
          how did you know that?
          your friend’s friend uncle work at proton r n d?

• You should try googling Campto turbo. You will find that Campro does have material problems. If this could be improved, Campro turbo would be much adored.

• jl@ipl on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:13 pm

I strongly believe, designing was’nt the problem. The only problem was to produce machine as good as German’s but at Malaysian price………………

• Mr Wancer on Mar 12, 2011 at 12:44 am

Agree to this..

Current Campro engine is too fragile to handle bigger load. Don’t want to go to more technical, it is safe saying that the Campro engine needed to be redesign from scratch. This is based on from friends & mechanics who played Campro engine.

However believed that Campro engine would be phased out soon. CFE Turbo would be the last hurray. Maybe we going to have another newer engine which is better & powerful :)

Come on Proton, you can do it…

• haha.. u must having a great hearing..
        with speed >130km/hr, i think only can hear the wind blow…FUFUFUUUUU….

• Ini Susah lah on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:33 pm

Nice P1 design. Good job.

• xderekx on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:33 pm

OMG i’m super excited !

• coco_nuts on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Great spy shot, bravo to PaulTan & Team!

First glimpse, very much Proton still. I wish i’m wrong. Keep my finger cross till the actual lunch. Until then, my pray that this is not another Persona quality & styling but body lines scare my off.

Anyway, very good effort from PROTON and kudos to new management!

• Easy. It is the 2012 P3 Persona.

Looks good to me. Reminds me of the previous generation Mazda3.

• noname on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:35 pm

good job proton!

• dextrous on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:35 pm

Cool…… nice spyshot… paultan

• izan69 on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:35 pm

nice…is that persona R?

• insperut on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:36 pm

whooaaaa
    bring it on Proton!!

• biggie on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:36 pm

interesting, i thot it is still clay

• sagatron on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:36 pm

oh man…can wait 4 this car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• nebula87 on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:39 pm

YES…its Proton Tuah…!!!

• RisFortezen on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:39 pm

Wow really interested in this car.. Waiting for it! ^_^

• huiyoo on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:40 pm

proton is very competitive nowadays. this might be persona replacement with turbocharged

• kyons on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:40 pm

Looks like the old mazda3 from the side.

• good point, they probably did that to help disguise the car or something…

• Owho. Its real

• kerelbort on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:42 pm

this is getting exciting… more spyshot.. more!!!

• takin on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:42 pm

well done proton..
    for making Malaysian people are eager to know your products..
    proud of u :)

• scoobylution on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:43 pm

there u go proton! keep it up! now we waiting someone to post a picture on the interior.

• Faisal on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:43 pm

looks like the prev gen mazda 3

• lolzz on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:45 pm

let the party starts now!!!

• 4agze on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:45 pm

cunnn!!!

• Izwan on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:45 pm

I know a friend who is working with Proton and involved with the production line. He told me that the new replacement model for Persona will only be available early next year. He had been in the car before and told me how spacious it was (he’s quite tall).

I can’t wait for the release of this new model as it’ll be using a new system (completely different from earlier predecessors).

I want this new car! :)

• Replica Cat on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:45 pm

Looks like Chevrolet Cruze.

• banggadgnproton on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:08 pm

it got 4 tires, one engine and one steering wheel…of coz it looks like EVERY OTHER CAR…

• chef wang on Mar 12, 2011 at 2:03 pm

walawoi……u almost right bro…i thought it look like ferrari on 4 wheels….

• alpha999 on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:46 pm

overall….looking…great……just hope the interior quality is not disappointing….

• nizam1402 on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:48 pm

nice!!
    thumbs up for Proton!!

• tianshi on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:49 pm

Is that a Mazda 3 on disguise?

• DewaSemut on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:49 pm

Hrmm.. this prototype got good potential to become a handsome, clean design car… please Proton put a lot of thinking before endorsing the final design/ specs for production… the mass consumers, be it local or international will not give face to you should you screwed up again this time… for the sake of your future Proton… please came out a car that just not appeal in design, but also in terms of performance, specifications and more importantly safety that meet if not exceed international motoring standards.

Make Malaysian proud again with you… Good Luck

• hongleongbank on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:51 pm

I THOUGHT IT WAS A PROTOTYPE…RUNNING ON THE STREET ALREADY??

• autojohndoe on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:55 pm

please learn phases of design… understand the different between model, prototype and final product…

• not as good as concept design, especially the side mirror, dont use the current one found in P1 car, the concept side mirros is nice, the should focus on this. Most area that P1 need to improve is the product quality that build for local Malaysia market. still long way to go for P1 to become global quality standard. my 2 cents.

• huiyoo on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:02 pm

this is the spec i got from proton website regarding proton tuah concept:

-Photochromatic glass roof which darkens automatically at varying degrees
    -LED fog lamps for clearer, more natural lighting with low power consumption
    -Modern LED rear combi lamps which promote safety
    -Concealed and illuminated door handles for ease of use during low light conditions
    -Adaptive spoiler that balances the vehicle during high speed travel for a safer ride
    -Adaptive headlamps which turn in relation to the steering wheel for a more dynamic driving experience

in my opinion, there might be turbocharged in this car

the legend is born!!

• blueblood on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:44 pm

hoping there will be new n modern gearbox couple with that engine..
      current proton’s tranny a bit clumsy..

• Seriously on Mar 11, 2011 at 7:51 pm

Dude, that’s for the concept car, not the actually production car. There definitely won’t be those ‘concealed and illuminated door handles for ease of use during low light conditions’ that’s quite obvious from the pictures.

• i rather not have these options as if breakdown will be costly ….

-Adaptive spoiler that balances the vehicle during high speed travel for a safer ride
      -Adaptive headlamps which turn in relation to the steering wheel for a more dynamic driving experience

even if they breakdown after 3 years, as Malaysians own their cars for long 7-9 years term, durability and reliability ranks high.

the less toys, the better.

• please don’t forget on interior please especially those steering wheel!

• J@Ck LIM on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:02 pm

I couldnt believe it comes that fast… Bravo P1 ….

• orious on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:05 pm

nice.. proton is great now… this will make perodua more like copy cats ald…

• libralcl on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:06 pm

Proton please come with better interior design and quality to be competitive in the market. I don’t think it is call campro turbo anymore if this car really comes with turbo charger. As I know the turbo version will change to valve time instead of valve lift. Anyway this is a good exterior design car and I assume the chassis will be good :)

• elpaciko on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:06 pm

mmm… just wondering.. how do you know its proton? the trade plate number?

• boss coffee on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:21 pm

YEP PRETTY SURE BMW HAS A TESTING FACILITY ALONG ELITE HIWAY.

• yes..then who else?..ur H & T??…

• that’s is why we have auto R&D here in Malaysia. its part of the industry. we dont have proton who else want to entertain us with spyshots?

• Nice… hopefully will replace Persona/Gen2 by 2012… Persona/Gen2 already outdated.. Exterior is nice, high hope for interior is not look too plastic..

• Agreed, I love it . The car looks like a crossover-like sedan. How I wish proton can come out with something like BMW X6 with this design. That shall be a hit!

• eeeriz on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:09 pm

I’m a bit lost here. Is this Persona’s replacement? Nice..

• drMpower on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:10 pm

is it based on a mazda 3?

• 1Malaysia? on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:11 pm

Rear Door a bit shorter compare Tuah, Similar with Mazda 3 at the rear part starting from the door.

: )

• Jonathan Lim on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:11 pm

hmmm…..please apply back the concept car’s side mirror, looks more European..

• Hang Lucky on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:11 pm

Hopefully not only lucky to Manufacturer but also big lucky to buyer….. :):)

• fatiha on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:13 pm

nice design proton….thumbs up…can’t wait to see the final design…and hope also improvement in powertrain and interior….good luck proton…

• if persona replacement at SUB 58K then nice,
    if waja replacement at SUB 65K, then boo.

• look great…hopefully this car will be equipped with new engine, transmission and also good interior quality. eager to know the spec of this car….hahaha

• taboogen on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:15 pm

Its a good indication..yeahhh I like the body design from here even I have seen the car without the tape…huhuh… i want one next year… 1.6 turbo with cvt…..

• AripSon on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:17 pm

Goody news!
    Can’t wait to have my hands on it…
    Do not worry all reader of Paul Tan’s, a Proton will always be a Proton.
    One thing for sure, if you’d stranded in any “kampong”, surely there’s a mechanic that can mend it, plus it won’t be that expensive to tow back to wherever you want.
    Some more, Proton cars are the most “being modified” — and you know what I mean!
    As long as it uses Campro engine, I can always turbocharged it and get some 156whp and over 200Nm at only 0.7bar…
    Just so cool!

• Spongebob on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:19 pm

But why is it like the old mazda 1???

• look great. hopefully this car will be equipped with new engine & new transmission and also good interior quality. should add more gadget & other features….can’t wait to see the spec of this car

• gangully on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:25 pm

i have to agree with ARX in that the test car looks a lot like a previous gen Mazda 3. Not saying that it is a bad thing. the Previous gen Mazda 3 had good lines which is evident even on the current mazda 3.

However, i believe this car is just a test mule… for the engine. Remember how proton was playing around with different bodies for the Exora?

• masihtidakdiketahui on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:31 pm

A friend in Proton’s GTD (green technology department) said, Hybrid engine will be on the Persona R. Turbo version also have..

• kagesenshi on Mar 12, 2011 at 2:31 am

any news when EVE upgrades will be available for older campros ?

• redman on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:32 pm

cheaper than inspira???

• forrestcat on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:33 pm

IMO, Proton will merge the Gen2 and Persona into this Tuah concept..by then, all Proton should use CPS engine save for the Saga

• ~Shafiq~ on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:34 pm

maybe 2nd batch of Inspira~

• dacum on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:23 pm

ntah ntah kalau tuah ni keluar,,nanti mesti rege inspira pun naikk…ye lah sbb malaysian ni gila jap….tak pandang keta p1 ni,,,

• sallehuda on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:35 pm

If still using Campro CPS 1.6
    then No Thanks !! :)

• linear_system on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:16 pm

how about a tuned 1.6 cps that can achieve good fuel consumption,power output,nice torque curve and reliable?

• DonkeyKong on Mar 11, 2011 at 7:13 pm

There are plenty of improvements in store for Campro, don’t worry. Proton’s powertrain division have been very, very busy. :)

For starters, there will be improvements to the engine head. Strengthened or heat-treated crankshafts will also be introduced starting with the CFE variant, with slightly redesigned conrods as well. The crank angle sensor and target wheel assembly will also be tweaked to correctly align the TDC reading, which is currently a couple of degrees off between cylinders 1-4 and cylinders 2-3. All these are changes to improve the durability. One variant of the redesigned engine head will cater for direct injection.

On the gearbox side, Proton’s on track to roll out the Punch-based CVT gearboxes, and the Saga FL will be updated with the CVT next year.

• bro, your story kinda interesting, mind to share the base info?…hehehe

• Nizam80 on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:55 pm

Very interesting indeed. Mind sharing with us something.. Will the current Persona be eventually equipped with the CPS engine. And will there be a 1.3 version of the CPS for the current Saga?

• mfahd_88 on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:36 pm

damn!
    can’t wait to see the beauty behind this ugly mask!

• 2fast on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:36 pm

Saw this car being driven recklessly in a housing area yesterday. Proton must ensure their test drivers are courteous when other cars are around them in public roads and not driving around like drunk drivers.

• taboogen on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:14 pm

ala so many other did that also.. no comment pulak.. what lah

• i see it everyday…..some(many) malaysian r like that…what make me angry when jammed time..they like to cut line..usually i block them from passing n drive even slower so that car who oso inline with me pass the stupid driver car..make me feel very happy during road jammed

• Nellie on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Nice looking car. Hope it performs better than expected (Eg. 5 star EuroCAP, ANCAP, better handling and fuel consumption etc). People say it immitates some cars’ design. Of course it will looks alike, but not immitating. If you want a different design, take an animal as a guideline to draw, like a fish, a snake etc. Then nobody will want to buy.

• KSPhang on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Yea.. turn me on Proton.

• No Potong Said on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:54 pm

Hahaha let no bash the car yet as is still in R&D stage !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Heat up the competition so P2 and NAZA can come up with more competitive model !!!!!!! Cheers to all

• zaff1984 on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:12 pm

mmm…. hopefully design of the production model will be look better. Personally I dont really like Tuah design; saw it @ KLIMS 2010 just look boring. but it just my personal opinion.

But still looking forward ‘Tuan’ features on production model. :)

• Have to agree with you. Look very proton-esque. Not saying Tuah’s design is bad. If Tuah is really designed by Giugiaro then I am hoping for something different then the current line-ups.

• linear_system on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:13 pm

nice exterior..now im waiting for the interior and the engine spyshot!!

• 1malaysia2020 on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:14 pm

If it is true, then the persona replacement seems getting nearer for production…

it is a really good design, a leap from what ever Proton is having now…

But good design must also come with good quality especially build and interior…

and one more thing, this time around please Proton get a real Euro NCAP certification..

We know Exora did not get Euro NCAP certification, Proton only tested at a crash facility that do crash test for Euro NCAP…

http://www.euroncap.com/results/proton.aspx

• tiadaid on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:07 pm

Exora doesn’t have EuroNCAP rating because it’s not sold in Europe. Only cars that are on sale in Europe will have EuroNCAP rating.

• And at Proton dare to send their product to be tested.. Other so call national brand, their name not even in production list.

• mystvearn on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:22 pm

Which model does this car replace? Gen2? Overall looks are quite nice. Reminds me of current civic.

• YOU-LOONG on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:26 pm

The more i look at it, the more it look like lancer face-lift. Most probably proton use lancer platform & body for their new model. That is the reason in the first place why proton re-badge mmc lancer.

• Ah Tan on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:28 pm

Is the test car using persona elegance side mirror?

• pomen_gtr on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:29 pm

actually when first saw proton tuah at KLIMS….i always thinking…why rear end looks like subary legacy..subaru not in proton co-op list….

but yesterday i got the answer….voilah…proton inspired by mitsubishi galant VR 97″ on rear part….

here:: http://www.carbodykitstore.com/images/94_galantcyberrear.jpg

• pomen_gtr on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:32 pm

when first saw proton tuah at KLIMS i keep wondering..what the heck proton use rear end of subaru legacy…..

yet….until yesterday when happens i saw a car on the road…i got the answer…

proton was inspired from mitsubishi galant VR 97′

http://www.carbodykitstore.com/images/94_galantcyberrear.jpg

• SquarePetrolHead on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:32 pm

wohoo… theres my next car…. hope the engine and transmission will be better than the current ones in the Saga/Persona/Waja/Exora/Gen2…

• Ok, body change (ada improvement) but what’s the point if still using the same fuel guzzling Camtakpro engine?

Rather than naming it Tuah, we should called it as Protong Malang until further improvement is made to the engine.

• grizzyejoy on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:45 pm

wow..finally..a fresh model..is it using persona chassis? btw..lookin forward for it welldone P1

• peYyes on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:46 pm

better get a honda, entire body work looks like a cheap plastic…

• barber on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:46 pm

Bagus, semakin besar langkah proton..model dah makin cantik, hoping kualiti pun makin hebat..xsabar nak tunggu pelancaran Tuah..:)

• elite on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:58 pm

i thought proton cant even design a tata nano
    why no one congratulating proton engineers for their work?

• Jonathan on Mar 11, 2011 at 5:01 pm

True spiritual successor to the Waja? :)

• seriusSAM on Mar 11, 2011 at 5:01 pm

so I hope PROTON must forget that TATA NANO what-so-ever..

further develope this TUAH to become true KERETA RAKYAT..

re-barge TATA NANO.. it’s like you give malaysian citizenship to bangla illegal immigrant

• garuda on Mar 11, 2011 at 5:06 pm

… creative betullll…

• gen2lama on Mar 11, 2011 at 5:08 pm

where’s tokmoh? some interesting info please….before ‘syoh’ bash this new ‘nasi lemak panas’…

• tokmoh on Mar 12, 2011 at 10:37 am

Lol, I’m not a Proton employee, although it’ll be interesting if I can be hehe :)

Call for si-fu :D

In any case, I hope Proton’s newer models will be designed with fuel-efficient for city driving in mind. That’s where most buying power lies, and with the current rising oil price trend, people will want to buy with that in mind. Campro turbo or some latest Nissan powertrain will be awesome!

And go international! Export to Thailand, Indonesia, Singapore, Brunei, China, India, etc. Russia? Mmmm

Oh, syoh aah…
      Ladies, can I show you what a troll looks like?
      No, but this comment can.
      And it will.
      And I will.
      So will you.
      I hope so.
      I know so.
      Power window?
      Oookaaaay….

• wanthird on Mar 11, 2011 at 5:08 pm

sidemiror similar to persona elegance

• I dont think this is the new persona.. from behind, i could see inspira design… the door too

• ketelaju on Mar 11, 2011 at 5:16 pm

I saw the exterior already, and now I really want to see the interior…

• side miror macam persona

• aces21 on Mar 11, 2011 at 5:26 pm

i think p1 should come out a 4doors hot hatch and still mantain the current r3 as 2doors high performance model. what you all drivers think?

• izack04 on Mar 11, 2011 at 5:28 pm

I dont know why everybody hate campro engine…its just proton need to rectify the camshaft angle to make the lower torque improve….call it LOW CAMSHAFT in motorsport…..they change the angle of cam and walla….its gonna make it better…..but the question is why they dont repair the problem……its easy to do it…..but there is some drawback….the top part of RPM ……gone……

• Jun Hong Ooi on Mar 11, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Reminds me an 2006 Audi RS4 B7 [Typ 8E]

• Jun Hong Ooi on Mar 11, 2011 at 5:36 pm

Reminds me a cool 2006 Audi RS4 B7 [Typ 8E] and front loks like some dumb Jdm Civic..

• ChrisCK on Mar 11, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Rebadged Forte like d bro Lanspira?? @_@

• Swift on Mar 11, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Proton Tuah… you call that a name?

• bobby on Mar 11, 2011 at 6:10 pm

Please please dont let us disappoint again, Proton.

Keep up the good work and keep invest in R&D for long term strategy. Make good use of government effort to make you stay active and afloat in malaysia. Mazel tov !!

Await this model to come out.

• Faisal on Mar 11, 2011 at 6:11 pm

kudos to proton!

• Bapak_Hussein on Mar 11, 2011 at 6:13 pm

The front is far from perfect……The original Tuah concept’s front look like crap……
    Why can’t they spent some $$ & get some “good” designer to fix the design…..Proton cars forever look like “something missing”……

• singh is khing on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:35 pm

you are right bro.
      this problem wanna make me hit the persona butt or gen2 butt or frontal exora. looks something missing. not sure what. haish. proton, next time please ask me first whether the design is good or not ok? at least do some survey online or at designing school or faculty at local universities until proton designer can produce good design.
      to proton designer, please dont act as good designer although your design is not really good. thank you. i hope everyone at proton can understand my bad english.

• actually they r doing it rite…beside testing the car on the road, they give hint about the car… it actually give people to evaluate the car..common sense every product go through this process at least survey…do you join any online survey program? eg youthsay, globaltestmarket to name a few

• kfkok on Mar 11, 2011 at 6:22 pm

The side and rear profile looks very much like the previous Mazda 3 sedan!
    Wonder if it is the same size or bigger? The rear lights also seem to round design and not the nice horizontal design shown in the car show….

• I think I started to like the name Proton TUah

• ayamxxx on Mar 11, 2011 at 6:28 pm

Proton!! please redesign the Steering for this new car, do not use the neo hate looking steering for DOG Sake!!

• rafiq on Mar 11, 2011 at 6:48 pm

i dont think its gonna be that, more likely to be a persona replacement or another mid range salon. looks like the old mazda 3. ermmm!

• yamseng on Mar 11, 2011 at 7:00 pm

i suggest proton not to sell the car here in malaysia. please make money oversea.

• Dengan penuh semangat dan jati diri aku berkata…”Never shall PROTON vanish from the face of the earth”..

• jl@ipl on Mar 20, 2011 at 9:08 am

I translate for you…………”Tak PROTON hilang di dunia”

• Looks like Persona FL rather than Tuah…

• Beat all other car’s fuel consumption and you will definitely sell like pisang goreng panas,

• theanswer on Mar 11, 2011 at 7:36 pm

for some reason i didnt know why p1 dont want to use the same model name. like corolla..civic..or golf. except saga. can create strong image & heritage for the car.

• pk yew on Mar 11, 2011 at 7:47 pm

100% crreated by P1, not bad. atleast better than the Inspira with the rebadge thing.

• The Unicons on Mar 11, 2011 at 7:48 pm

Finally!!
    I prefer the side view mirror located a bit lower at door panel just like Tuah then this on going test model.

• ProtonFans on Mar 11, 2011 at 7:56 pm

I hope Proton will not replace Persona. I hope Proton just make it as 2nd generation Persona like Saga.

• adewira on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:00 pm

wow! nice car design P1. the engine performance & technology should be better. hopefully this model brings ‘Tuah’ to P1& m’sian auto industry also to the owner.. ;-)

• The Unicons on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:08 pm

Finally!!

Actually, I prefer the side rear view mirror design and located lower at door panel just like the Tuah concept as it looks more modern then this ongoing test car.

• nolan on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:16 pm

really hope it turn out like the white Tuah…….

• factsguy on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:56 pm

looks good, hope the interior quality will improve from previous models… front end look a bit like american toyota solara 1st gen, rear end looks like subaru legacy b4….

• not_ah_beng on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:07 pm

What a ugly car!

Look like fat version of Saga. You need to be blind to appreciate the car looks. :)

• blablabla on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:15 pm

Although only a spyshot it looks quite promising… Cant say much cause it is not the fully launched product yet… However i can state my HOPES for this model… I HOPE it has a new better engine… i HOPE it looks good like the concept… and i HOPE they send this car for test crashing and it scores decently.

Cant wait to see the final product.

• The Dentist on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:35 pm

i don’t know why, but personally i don’t think this is the Tuah concept being tested. Tuah concept looks way better than this. I’m not a P1 basher. Instead i’m a P1 fan. but this doesn’t look like Tuah concept to me maybe bcoz the picture is of so-so quality, or the disguise is to heavy.

but seriously, compare Tuah’s window line. it should go all the way back, not stop only at the door. the back of the car is also different from what i can see from Tuah concept picture. plus the concept’s side mirror should be mounted on the door, like a Civic, but this one it is like the current Persona.

the original Tuah concept is already beautiful. please don’t distort the car’s beauty. perfect it u must, distort it no. i hope the car in the picture is not Tuah.

• d3sign3r on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:50 pm

I second this.

In fact, i have a feeling that this is the same vehicle which was previously tested which looked like the Proton Exora/Caldina. this prototype is a less covered up version, an evolution. as they do more road tests, the disguise will slowly be reduced.

Previously they used an Exora shell to disguise the car for drivetrain/engine testing. Now as the car gets closer to finalization, it has to be tested as close as possible to it’s original design.

• deftones on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:10 pm

production model wont be exactly the same as prototype model..
      prototype is only to show how roughly it would look like..moreover,the tuah being displayed at klims is only clay model..not even a prototype..
      so dont expect that tuah u have seen before going to be production model..they would alter at every aspect to suit road condition..

• The Dentist on Mar 12, 2011 at 3:58 pm

yeap, production model wont be exactly the same as the prototype. but the way they alter the future Tuah as seen in the picture above frustrates me. n yes, like u said, they would alter at every aspect to suit road condition. but, to me, they shouldn’t alter it to an extend that it would jeopardies the beauty of the car.

again, i hope this is not the future Tuah. If it is the Tuah, i hope the actual car under the heavy disguise is beautiful.

• jl@ipl on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:31 pm

100% agree with you.

• come on, it’s under heavy disguise, the chrome line does not stop at C pillar, it goes all the way back to the D pillar like Audi, just that it is camouflaged, the way i see it, lots of body lines that are supposed to be attractive were camouflaged as well as seen on the picture. Front fascia too, has been heavy covered and you can tell that the front bumper sport a more aggressive look( think Civic Type R bumper) than Proton Tuah itself to be frank. And if you think about it, all these camouflage is meant to prevent photo espionage, so i hope people and bashers don’t comment without any prior info (or the lack of it). And please be patient and wait for the actual car to come out, I am sure it will astonish everyone! :D

At the end of the day, just give Proton some chance! Have faith in Proton! The goal is to make Jeremy Clarkson love it LOL

• The Dentist on Mar 12, 2011 at 4:10 pm

whoa… so they can even disguise the C pillars? the inclination of the C pillars is also different.

since u have mentioned it, i took another glance at the pict, n i can spot the body curve that they’ve covered. i might consider this as the Tuah.

well, yeah, all the best Proton. make sure this model will be a blast.

• CopKilla on May 16, 2011 at 5:03 pm

personally i don’t really care WHAT jeremy thinks.. but then again, i’m a porsche and proton fan.. XD

• Nizam80 on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:50 pm

Is this really the next Persona? Can anyone from Proton clarify this? I heard it’s much bigger than the current Persona… Almost the same size as the current Civic.

• jl@ipl on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:10 pm

For sure, it is a P1 car, the Persona Elegance side mirror loudly tell everyone. DSZ already told the press, the new Persona R will base on Tuah, but, yet, totally different.

I just don’t know. To me, TUAH as magnificent as its name suggest. But this one? To be honest, not so promising…………..

Just keep my fingers crossed.

• I’m starting to wonder if this is the real Proton Tuah. It’s certainly different from the current Tuah which had been shown in KLIMS. I mean, will Proton come out with another different car? I just wish that Proton doesn’t ruin the beauty of Proton Tuah! Please!

• akupunya on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:29 pm

BOOORRRIIINGGGGGG….
    Proton said Persona R is a global car…
    but i see just a Gen2 with new teeth..
    hahaha…

kalau design macam ni, no surprise.
    kata ada Lotus la, Italdesign, tapi overall tgk tak le gempak mana pun.
    takkan letak LED lamp terus kata global car???
    haha…poor of idea!

• scoobylution on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:44 pm

it looks nothing like gen-2. u probably blind. i don’t see anything wrong with the design to be a global car. and also the real design not reveal yet.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:35 pm

kau lagi takde idea,kereta tu masih dalam camouflage,kau dah boleh tahu design kereta no.Orang macam kau ni barulah boleh panggil POOR of IDEA.

• akupunya on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:30 pm

BORRINGGG!!!

• crude (kru?d)
    — adj
    unrefined, unfinished, coarse, uncouth, rough, coarse, clumsy.

• nasya on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:46 pm

cantik. tapi lagi best kalau alat ganti proton berkualiti, tahan lama. kepada proton, sila singkirkan vendor vendor anda yang bekalkan alat ganti takda kualiti, mudah rosak dll.

• shawal on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:11 pm

Hopefully it comes with a newer engine or a revised campro , even better with a hybrid powertrain…

• khaix19a on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:19 pm

turbo diesel

• memek on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:31 pm

wow nice!!! never knew they will really build a real one… i just can’t wait to sit it in when it is launched… and i hope the quality will be better

• endre on Mar 12, 2011 at 12:02 am

should upgrade the engine at least dual cps and include timing chain. no more timing belt please

• Goproton on Mar 12, 2011 at 12:17 am

the shape more into inspira….don’t think is the Tuah…

• wahedenator on Mar 12, 2011 at 12:20 am

Trust me, its actually Inspira hatchback.
    98% sure. :D

• ~Shafiq~ on Mar 12, 2011 at 2:23 am

Im also think it is inspira 2nd batch or FL..not TUAH..like DSZ said earlier, by this year they will change the exterior of the current inspira

• tiadaid on Mar 12, 2011 at 9:10 am

I agree. According to Si-Fu the Tuah is NOT the Persona Replacement, so this is probably like you said, the Inspira Hatch

• The Dentist on Mar 12, 2011 at 4:31 pm

at last, someone with a better eye sight. though my own comment get a bad rating, i am still satisfied to find that some people agreed with my opinion that this is not Tuah.

so it might be Inspira Hatchback eh? i see…

• burppp on Mar 12, 2011 at 10:10 pm

i dont think its a Lancer hatch… it looks more like a 4 door coupe.

• nabill on Mar 12, 2011 at 12:26 am

i dowant hybrid , i dowant cvt…i wan turbo and a proper 6 speed auto….

• damn…..
      It’s ok if hybrid. price at conventional car price. no prob. if at or below rm60k.. sure good.
      i wont choose hybrid if it’s over that price..
      not even reliable and worth that money.

but.. please give Cvt… I want smooth driving and fuel saving.

• Ha Gnih on Mar 12, 2011 at 1:05 am

Dear Proton,

With a new model coming up, PLEASE oh PLEASE !!! Improve and upgrade your specifications. 5 or 6 speeder would be a leaping point. Perhaps rain sensing wipers can do a lill bit of the trick as well. Auto leveling head lamps maybe ? Or or or maybe can fit with dual clutch system ? But oh well, I suppose all those need ALOT of $$$$$ right ? I wonder the profit goes into whose pockets eh ? I’ll just sit here and amuse myself with updates.

• Teratai Group on Mar 12, 2011 at 5:21 am

Have you read the specifications of the Tuah? It has all those things that you mentioned.

• Ha Gnih on Mar 12, 2011 at 9:53 am

REALLY ?? I didn’t know because couldn’t find any sources that has the specs sheet anywhere. Then it will be an improvement. But knowing proton, a prototype is a prototype but when it comes to the real production model, they will usually hold back or take a few things out. Now, the golden question is “How much will this car cost for the general Malaysians to afford ?”

• Teratai Group on Mar 12, 2011 at 2:05 pm

Well, has most. Hard to say about the dual clutch system and engine for the time being other than that they’re aiming for it to be a 1.8L engine.

http://www.proton.com/Models/Our-Model-Lineup/Concept-Cars/Categories/Proton-Espire.aspx

They’ll probably take out some stuff. Sounds too good to be true. I suspect around RM60k.

• do you really searching for that info…if u do search then u miss the info at proton site….no balas comment than that mean u admit U WERE WRONG

• shawal on Mar 12, 2011 at 1:31 am

list of things i’ll do when it hits the showroom

1) look for cup holders
    2)check the boot
    3)check the space in the rear
    4) scratch the interior plastics for quality assessment
    5) …..check the brochure …..

• nice car…

• new model yes, development and improvement.

also we are hoping for the engine to go the same pace of improvement.
    good low end, and flexible enough to higher range engine speed.
    good FC with flexible gearing like 6 speeder. close ratio + highway cruiser.
    5 speed auto is started to a norm now. or a cvt.

if the engine suffers the whole picture will look ugly.
    so proton, you know the essence of motoring is the motor itself.

• fuel cell phone on Mar 12, 2011 at 7:15 am

is tuah concept falls under d segment? i mean as big as teana or sonata coz never seen it in real life yet huhu

well, if proton can release the final product of d segment with c segment price, that would definitely attract many future buyers

hopefully, buy the time tuah finally released, i could happily sell my dugong and upgrade to this hehehe

• rickyll on Mar 12, 2011 at 7:17 am

From the look, Tuah is nicely designed. It’s elegant and eye catching. If it’s really the Persona’s replacement then I think it will be well accepted. How about the powertrain? Is it going to get a new engine or just a refined Campro? But Proton better be quick, 2012 is just around the corner. Don’t wait utill it’s stale, we want it fresh.

• Alifz on Mar 12, 2011 at 12:05 pm

Don’t jepordise again this model. A big lesson before this launching Gen-2 with half-baked development cause a big tanished name towards Gen-2 itself and Proton totally..

• jl@ipl on Mar 20, 2011 at 10:06 am

100% agree with you.

I do own a Gen2 (3rd batch), To me, the exterior was very unique, though not 100% original. I remember reading about an European car. The model N/A in this region. Can’t remember the model but, the side view was identical to gen2, same apply to BMW X6.

It was the quality issue and the interior design of the Gen2 that brought disaster to Proton. After that, introduction of Savvy make matter worst.

Any way, I do believe Proton learnt from their mistake. Just look at the interior of Gen2 MC3, to me, it was 5 time better than the boring V***, esp. the dashboard.

The Exora was great, but, please don’t deny the fact that the engine torque was “just enough”. I yet to drive one. I don’t bother to test drive. Why? Coz I own a wira 1.3 AB before. On flat terrain, no problemo. Ipoh to KK, no sweat.

Climbing the Jalan Timur Barat to Kelantan, with 5 adult and boot full of luggae, scary. We arrive there, safely, but, I don’t feel comfortable going there 2nd time. I mean, the power was just enough, to the extend that the 1.3 wira almost un-monueverable, i.e. just like those “lori balak”.

To make it simple, Exora’s torque was 100%, other MPV was, at least 120%. Forget those torque-to-weight-ratio, forget other technical jargon,

This time, TUAH or what ever model Proton introducing, please make it right. Make all “ordinary people” able to appreciate it, own it, and be happy with it. Not just the die hard fan, not just the technical people, not motor journalist, not a race car driver, just an ordinary driver.

I sure hope, the CFE (Campro Fuel Efficient) will solve the 100% torque issue. Since the name Campro hate by most, it will be wise for Proton to come out with new name altogether.

I also hope that DSZ deliver his promise, “to deliver right car at the right time”. Persona and Saga BLM already prove that (halfway, though).

Go Proton, Go. You carry the Malaysia name to the world. Don’t let us down.

• sl500 on Mar 12, 2011 at 8:21 am

atleast not a prototype anymore rite?proton will be big one fine day.proton boleh!

• must be on Mar 12, 2011 at 8:49 am

new persona

• Ronald on Mar 12, 2011 at 9:07 am

Hayoo for me Kia Forte more tempting to get it. Go Forte!

• izz86 on Mar 12, 2011 at 9:18 am

logo at front grill look like Proton logo at kasturi concept…

go proton go…

• Stim duk tilik Tuah… besar harapan agar kereta ini dipakejkan dengan enjin yang berkuasa dan responsif serta sistem transmisi automatik 5 kelajuan untuk melenyapkan isu lama berkaitan dengan pemanduan mod automatik jentera proton seperti transmisi gear yang tidak lancar dan sebagainya. Kalau boleh pakej dengan enjin hibrid/elektrik lagi bagus… rege minyak dah lebih 100USD seton nie… tunggu masa DSNTR umum RON95 naik harga jer…

Caya lah Proton… Jom fight sama H and T! Baru global….

• Joker The Great on Mar 12, 2011 at 9:52 am

hahahaha

Paul Paul Paul… At last you also show some photos about this model having a road test.

No worry, no longer a campro engine…….
    Definitely is a Persona Replacement Model….

Lets see this model able to catch up in time, launch during 4th quater 2011 la..
    cheers….

• zorro on Mar 12, 2011 at 10:18 am

bukan inspira phase 2 ni. tangki minyak belah kanan, kalau inspira tangki minyak blah kiri. ini persona r la.. tgk betul2 lampu depan dia, mcm lampu persona yang sedia ada. 2 mentol, cuma lampu blakang kecil skit, saiz lampu blakang mcm saga FL plak.

• xvtec on Mar 12, 2011 at 10:24 am

maybe or maybe not..but it could be a ‘mule’ used for other technical test. Overall it doesn’t indicate it is really a prototype…look more like a disguised Mazda3 if you look at the c pillar and the boot shape.

• stephen on Mar 12, 2011 at 11:47 am

hmmm how come the area for the emblem is a big round plate? they planning to introduce a new logo as I remember the Thunder cat like logo isn’t this big.

Hope it will be an upgrade to Gen2….time to have that retired with a newer model

• burppp on Mar 12, 2011 at 9:20 pm

their new emblem

http://media2.paultan.org/w/dsc_0733b_770-e1293097702149-500×317.jpg

• harry on Mar 12, 2011 at 12:02 pm

It looks kinda handsome and solid looking near like Chevrolet Cruze….but we shall wait and see whats the final look

~ besides the concept model is sleek looking and cool!!! they should try sticking it more like the concept then people will definitely buy like hot cakes!, might even kill Honda City! or Altis who knows.

• clement on Mar 12, 2011 at 1:09 pm

nice camouflage. but I was wondering would they be NOT repeating the same mistake for the back passenger roof height… Hope no mistake this time.

I dont mind waht engine is inside but better be the one on par with the VVTI engine that saves fuel and economical. and also the body weight ratio par with the engine spec. Saves fuel = less oil exploration and saves the Mother Nature whom is ailing.

On the other hand, a good car comes from a reputable brand is making the company profitable.

Good luck!

• redboy on Mar 12, 2011 at 1:36 pm

looks like persona FL / gen2 FL to me…

• learner on Mar 12, 2011 at 1:38 pm

is the plat number is the tipical proton prototype plate number?

if not, i heavily think this is actually Mazda 3! nothing to do with proton in every aspect. even if look at petrol lid, they are positioned on different side.

• I hope this crap can improve the quality of fitting…

I hope this crap can improve the material of dashboard and the interior…

I hope this crap can improve the fabric material…

I hope this crap able to sell in globol…

I hope next time when I go to Thailand, when they are having booth for showing proton cars… I able to tell them this crap is from my country…

• chef wang on Mar 12, 2011 at 11:04 pm

Thai people are very proud and polite people with good manners. I’m sure they can spot such a crap Malaysian citizen who talk crap and behave like one…………while u are there please don’t contract and bring any crap disease to Malaysia…hahaha

• carwise on Mar 12, 2011 at 2:03 pm

pandai2 je ko design drpd Giugiaro italy la (menipu!), biar jadi PENIRU dan bukan PENIPU. two Proton insiders had revealed that they took & even bought a Forte for the fundamental design (curves & angles) and benchmark to design Proton Tuah a.k.a. Proton Expired (couz Forte already exist around the globe since end of 2008). This is no kiddin’, no add salt or sugar into the facts. facts is facts lah Proton bashers & diehard fans. Bear in mind, QC comes first especially the interior & body paint. Learn your lessons from Proton InsPIRATE..jangan bikin malu sama the multi award-winning world car FORTE. just look at Forte global sales 2009-2010.:)

• all proton insider(friend, abg, adik, aunty etc) here is hoax insider or a penipu…i also can said that my cousin who with interior design tell me that interior will follow EMAS interior…one of my fren who work there said there is new phoenix engine

• burppp on Mar 12, 2011 at 10:59 pm

Naza’s salesmen panas beb…
      just after Inspira take a slice of affordable C segment market, now comes new Persona to take more bites more from B/C segment..
      btw, what about Proton’s body paint? ada masalah QC ke? cat tertanggal somewhere?

• istvan on Mar 13, 2011 at 12:45 am

benchmark is necessary to build a car, but not copy “fundamental design”-as what u claim or ur insider told u..
      every car maker do bencmark.not only car maker. any oem la do same thing. otherwise they don know what they make can compete or not with their rival. which part they want be better n which area they want to be even. what they can learn from

honestly, i dont believe ur “fact is fact” u got from ur INSIDER!

• peYno on Mar 12, 2011 at 2:44 pm

design so nice… i love proton…
    no more 2nd class perodua cars in my garage…

prrrrtfhhhhh

• memek on Mar 12, 2011 at 3:04 pm

same goes to me… so far i think kelisa is the best among all perodua.. the rest of the model? pffftt….

• freeze on Mar 12, 2011 at 7:19 pm

I see that you have just taken your medication.

Before you took your pills, you were bashing proton. With the pills, you’re praising them.

If we could force this miracle pill down people’s throat, Proton would be the world’s largest car manufacturer.

What’s the name of the pill?

• pawaka21 on Mar 12, 2011 at 3:09 pm

good move by proton!!! we will continue to support proton.

and to those blindfolded bashers.nobody put knife on your throat and force you to buy proton. buy something else if you do have money. typical stupid bashers, want premium specs for minimum money. try your “J” vios then. suits you better, stupid bashers.

• The car’s nice overall…. but I’ll consider it if it’s badge is replaced with a Japanese or Continental…

• Sparc on Mar 12, 2011 at 3:21 pm

1. I think most likely will be 1.6 as Proton do not wish to compete with Proton Inspira
    2. At the side, look like but not copy from Mazda 3 version 1.
    3. The rim look like how they fitted in the concept car
    4. Personal point of view, I prefer the concept design. Especially the tail light.
    5. I will book 1 to replace my Proton Satria when it launch !
    5. I’m a die hard Proton Fan!

• WTFisTHATCAR on Mar 12, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Seriously, whats with the grill? Dont make me dissapoint :(

• burppp on Mar 12, 2011 at 10:49 pm

it should be almost identical like tuah’s grill..
      this one is taped with rounded emblem like camo.

• azahari on Mar 12, 2011 at 4:22 pm

I like all Proton design. I hope Proton take extra intention on the interior build materials.

• macka-splaf on Mar 12, 2011 at 4:43 pm

nice design, not sure how is the headroom at rear seats like but the overall shape is attractive. hope production quality will do justice to it.

• anwar on Mar 12, 2011 at 4:54 pm

Proton is getting better!

• krenetz on Mar 12, 2011 at 5:48 pm

i can see that Proton is really working hard nowadays. kudos to Proton, make Malaysian proud. my fellow Malaysians, we shud b fair when giving comments la ok. jgn la memperbodohkan diri sendiri, think b4 u talk..

• lets say if Paul announce this is not any of Proton related

Everyone here will “OMG! this is cool! so world class design! bla bla bla”

sembah sembah!

• i have a feeling, this is a Gen-2 replacement!

• Azlan on Mar 12, 2011 at 6:40 pm

Well…. the basher never care….wonder what car do they actually drive….
    simple rules Like? Thumbs up; dont Like? Thumbs down

• carwise on Mar 12, 2011 at 8:01 pm

there are two -ve perceptions of Protong as of now:
    1. non-quality built-up & material interior/exterior; &
    2. tukang copycat (once ‘i’ve really proud of Proton when they came up with Gen2, Persona, Satria Neo & Exora..totally genuine from them..but they spoilt it with Protong InsPIRATE (copy&paste Mitsu Lancer GT) & Protong Tua/Protong Expired (copy&paste Kia Cerato Forte). takde idea ke??

and yet people still buy it…memang pembeli protong ni BODOH!! for local car, i prefer Perodua which far more better in terms of quality & sales.

• cardumb on Mar 12, 2011 at 10:58 pm

so, the perodua’s models not cut and paste lah..
      you were so right..kenari not anywhere close to move, kancil was not mira..and hey, myvi and passo/boon totally differentlah ye! change ur nick please

• scoobylution on Mar 13, 2011 at 12:01 am

pathetic naza salesman..first he praised to the sky about forte. then his picture is peugeot logo..absolutely he is a loser naza salesman worried about the rise of proton!

• carwise on Mar 13, 2011 at 12:34 am

perodua products are rebadge but not copycat like Protong. they even don’t have RND like Protong. albeit rebadge products, perodua takes good care of the quality inside-out. Unlike Protong….btw, copying is unethical, atleast perodua is sincere with their rebadge. cheers!:)

• tunomura on Mar 13, 2011 at 9:12 pm

Sincere with rebadge? u nuts?? they are downgraded the car throw out some important parts that required to stiffen the car…..not even close to the car that rebadge..

• if i’m not mistaken, perodua has been re badging daihatsu’s model since kancil. except for a few models like alza and viva which in my opinion is the extended and the smaller version of myvi.

i can’t say that the proton buyer are stupid, u have to consider the average salary of malaysian. i dont think many could afford imported car. after all proton is our national car. though, the quality of the car can be improve. i think, neo in sedan might look good. maybe.

• I believe one day Proton be a leader in Global technology.. enough as follower engineering.

• william wong on Mar 12, 2011 at 10:21 pm

sure in your dream may be !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Or may be PROTON is sell to other major automobile giants then different story loh !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Cheers !!!!!!!!!!1

• MoFaz on Mar 13, 2011 at 10:18 am

Proton Exora already beat Vauxhall Ampera in UK’s RAC Brighton to London Future Car Challenge by far margin. for a 25 years old company, to beat another company which already has more than 100 years of experience… is something which you could be proud of. but bashers will never satisfied.

• akupunya on Mar 12, 2011 at 8:47 pm

very sad about Proton.
    they cannot do or don’t know how to make the unique face for their car.
    like mazda or bimmer, they have their own face, but proton??? nothing! just has the thunder cat logo.

so, bcz i am malaysian, i suggest DZS concentrate to create a new and unique face for proton car. put a better seat besides the new engine and gear box tech.
    come on la proton, create ‘ a new’ car, not a stereotype car.

I think Proton has old engineers, and they should hired a new student from lim kok wing or hired mat saleh or italian designer.

very sad to see this spyshot. 100% nothing to be proud. just a normal car.
    from the size, the side design and the face, it is very poor.
    lebih baik proton jual kereta yg staf dia inovate masa hari proton hari tu, keta potong and recycle.

• burppp on Mar 12, 2011 at 9:11 pm

didnt u know this new car has giugiaro touch on it? not italian enough? this is the new design flow for future proton.

very poor ke design spyshot ni? incredible.. ur eyes can see what others cant… even under heavy camo u can still see all the details.

how big do u want it? it suppose to be in B-segment, i think it fits the segment. u get what you pay for.. u want C-segment, then get Inspira. duh!

• yippi33 on Mar 12, 2011 at 11:34 pm

aduss..reading ur comment also make me very sad…P1 already has its own unique face..ur just too blind to see it..because why??because ur a blind basher…always look sky high on mat sallehs and sepets product instead of your own…tsktsk..no patriotisme at all..

• agreed..proton is really hardworking to deliver the best car in the world specifically for local market..

unfortunately….they are producing CRAP..cheapo material used for domestic supply

• yippi33 on Mar 13, 2011 at 9:43 pm

i agree with your first statement..proton is working hard to deliver the best car.. but i kinda disagree on your second statement..ive sat on newer models of proton ( waja cps, gen2 cps and neo cps)….all i can say is the quality of the material and finishing has improved compared to the older models..not saying that its perfect though but it definitely is better..go and see for urself..

• forrestcat on Mar 12, 2011 at 10:13 pm

we must wait and see the final outcome..

I think no harm if the actual one look abit like Forte because Forte takes lots of queue from Honda Civic…

• Jaymen on Mar 13, 2011 at 9:54 am

I dont think civic and forte look a like. Forte disign que comes from Audi. Since the chief designer comes from Audi. I totally disagree!

• junaidi on Mar 13, 2011 at 9:51 pm

you dont “think”. Thats the key word mate. What you talk about what you agree and what you disagree on about looks, its all in your own mind.

I say the Volvo 850 looks like an Alfa Romeo 155.
        The Fiesta looks like a Jazz.
        The McLaren MP12 looks pretty much like most other supercars out there.
        So what gives?
        So lighten up, my ass probably looks like your ass too.

• Jaymen on Mar 14, 2011 at 5:24 pm

Well mate, i am not sure where you getting at. Every person have their own opinion to write about, If you put both cars side by side then you will notice what i am talking about.

Cheers!

• jl@ipl on Mar 20, 2011 at 9:14 am

If you put Civic and Forte side by side, I definitely say that Forte “tiru” Civic.

Anyone?

• akupunya on Mar 12, 2011 at 10:57 pm

one more, the naming scheme for proton car also not-commercial and has unique identity.
    see VW, they put their model with a special word like scirocco, amarok, jetta.
    proton?? wira, waja, juara, saga. only ‘persona’ can be a unique name.exora???? perasan nk jadi lotus model…hahahaha

25 years proton was created, but nothing to impress by the customer and the rakyat,
    nowdays, the chinese car makers only took 3-5 years to develop a very competetive car, but proton……25 years with nothing. along the period, only this spyshot and the gabak exora the proton can contribute.

shame shame

• aduss on Mar 13, 2011 at 12:10 am

pasaran kereta di china berjumlah 4 juta unit setahun dan bandingkan di malaysia hanya dalam 300k sahaja setahun.. so tak hairan la di china industry automotive mereka berkembang dalam masa 3-4 tahun sahaja.. malah mereka tidak segan jadi rakyat china yang mggunakan barang buatan mereka sendiri. walaupun ada cmpny china copy n paste secara HARAM kereta keluaran campny lain.. tp kena ingat kes susu suatu masa dulu!!!

ya.. pasaran proton sangat kecik dan telah dirosakan denga masalah kualiti yag teruk.. semua org tahu kualiti proton.. tetapi dibawah DSZ, mereka sedang berusaha untuk pastian pekara ini tidak lg terjadi.. harap2 proton dapat kembalikan kepecayaan pelanggan mereka denagn cepat dan.. semoga persona R ini akan jadi satu titik permualan yg baru.. adakah mereka sudah sedar?? kita tunggu dan lihat.. pastikan usaha anda betul2 berhasil dan tiada sikap ” ala Ok la tu” “ala boleh cutcost lg ni” dalam proton. kita rakyt malaysa patut beri sokongan JIKA product proton betuk2 setaraf dengan syarikat antarabngsa.. baru 11 tahun proton telah membeli syarikat terkenal British. dan sekarang mernyertai F1..

25 years with nothing. along the period, only this spyshot and the gabak exora the proton can contribute..
      hahah ini satu penipuan.. R&D proton bermula fengan iswara dan wira, dalam usia 11 tahun proton sudah mula merekabentuk kereta sendiri. GXM bermula seawal tahun1996.. next WRM 44, TRM, SRM24, WRM41. ( 4 model ini direka serentak!!) sekarang satria neo sudah pun dijual di jepun.. so it 25 years is nothing?? what you try to say??

perasan nk jadi lotus model?? hahah Lotus adalah 100% anak syarikat proton, ya 100%.. .. so Lotus adalah proton.. apa salahnya.. atau anda boleh bawak sahaja nissan GTR dan rasakan ride and handling Lotus ..

hay.. cuba la buat kereta sebijik bg proton rasa malu atau kau jer malu nanti.. cakap pandai la buat tengok!!!
      and one more and open your eye:
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9DzVzp12pbw

• tiadaid on Mar 13, 2011 at 12:32 am

What’s so special about VW’s name? Google Scirocco & Jetta and you’ll find that it’s the name of types of wind. Amarok is the word used by the Inuit people to describe a wolf. The only reason you find it special because you never heard of it, whereas Waja, Wira & Juara are common words.

• akupunya on Mar 13, 2011 at 7:43 am

i mean proton want to be a global car. so, proton should put an unique and interesting name for its model, even for local market. yes, waja, wira want to show malaysian identity. but please make it more commercial. Like TERUNA convert to TRUNA, so it can be look more dynamic.Not DARA to DARAI…akakakakaka….

or better Proton should put a new combination letter and number like for SD20, SD40 for its sedan or J50 for its MPV. this type is hard than putting direct name bcz has to beat mercedes (C200) or volvo (S60). But, i think something new criteria should be done for model naming.

• aduss on Mar 13, 2011 at 10:23 am

hahaha.. saya faham.. tapi apakah tujuan asal untuk proton wujud di dunia ini.. sebenarnya ialah untuk buat kereta yang rakyat mampu beli.. so kereta yg dikeluarkan tidak la semahal mercedes (C200) or volvo (S60).. tapi jika proton betul2 keluarkan kereta setanding mercedes (C200) or volvo (S60) adakah anda hendak beli? nanti kata proton buat kereta “overprice” pulak.. atau ayat mcm ni “180k for proton??” so terpulang la..

• akupunya on Mar 13, 2011 at 12:30 pm

i will buy proton even it will price rm180K IF the car is very2 good wich can beat other models.

from my view, the bashing on proton can be reduced IF:-
            1. the gov discard tax policy for import car, so all brands will sell in the same level of price.

2. proton itself can produce more better car in design, performance, technology and intelligent energy.

10 years ago, the korean car manufacturer like KIA, HYUNDAI and SYANGONG have produced a bad car in fuel consumtion, design and technology. but today, all of you can see how the korean company has shifted their production by creating and intriducing the extreme new design and engine.

Proton? 25 tahun hanya boleh create Exora yang hodoh itu…

• aduss on Mar 13, 2011 at 9:13 pm

all 2 korean manufacturer KIA and HYUNDAI bukan setakat buat kereta sahaja.. dari kapal laut sehingga la kepada kapal terbang tentera.. kereta kebal.. peralatan untuk kilang juga.. dan banyak2 lg.. so bzz mereka begitu besar.. lebih lg besar dengan kilang kereta di USA.. tidak hairan la mereka begitu cepat.. so saya rasa proton begitu lembab untuk melapasai pasaran berpontensi tinggi seperti di USA, China, dan India.. bg saya proton perlu masuk pasaran USA selepas berjaya menebusi pasaran di China..

Proton? 25 tahun hanya boleh create Exora yang hodoh itu…??
            waja, gen2, persona, savvy, satria neo, new saga, Exora.. semua usaha R&D proton.. so bukan Exora sahaja selepas 25th.. :)

• burppp on Mar 13, 2011 at 12:43 am

go and read back ur history book.. 3-5 years? are u serious? u forgot 0 at the end there dude..
      ok, we give u 5 years, set up ur own car company and built ur reputation. we would like to see how u will fare against the Japs.. or even the chinese.

• MoFaz on Mar 13, 2011 at 10:26 am

the ‘gabak’ Proton Exora already beat the sleek and good looking Vauxhall Ampera in RAC challenge by far margin. for a 25 years old company, to beat another company which already has more than 100 years of experience… is something which you could be proud of. but bashers will never satisfied. they’re blind to see this fact.

• aduss on Mar 13, 2011 at 9:17 pm

bashers will never satisfied? the bashers never know about it.. hahahah.. mereka cuma tau cakap mcm ni “Proton25 tahun hanya boleh create Exora”

• william wong on Mar 12, 2011 at 11:20 pm

gen2 or persona replacement !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sorry to said no more 2nd chance to POTONG !!!!!!!!!! After 25 yrs of exp, still can’t learn anything !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• GUNMAN on Mar 12, 2011 at 11:20 pm

no cvt please

• trailblazer on Mar 13, 2011 at 12:10 am

memang cun la itu design.R&D mesti kasi kerja lebih kreatif.Tiru design 50-60% itu pekara biasa.kasi bikin yg kualiti yg paling baik mesti laku ni.

• ezracopters on Mar 13, 2011 at 12:28 am

hmm..

1. i agree that the naming scheme should be change especially names such as Exora & Gen2.. but mind you foreigners see it unique as long as we keep using Bahasa Malaysia. maybe we Malaysian though it is dull.. take Toro Rosso for example..whilst the words mean the same but the rhyme make it sound elegant. Perhaps even the world even see words Pasukan Teratai might sound even better than Team lotus in F1 who knows..

2. the picture above shown us that we’re gonna get something new in the market soon, but sorry to say. i was more eager to know what’s with EMAS road test?? that’s the car that we should be focus on here, first Proton global car.. this Tuah/Persona R/Inspira R merely satisfy domestic hunger. EMAS would path a route to global market better than the other way around coz the world already knew it soon to be existence. plus with the VW imitation, Europe might even more recognize EMAS today than b4.

3. but i do wish, this car will offer two type of engine variant, EV @ hybrid and turbocharge engine.

• to proton on Mar 13, 2011 at 12:29 am

i really hoping any1 frm proton r&d read all those comments above so tht for this baby there will be superb improvemnt in terms of qc, material build and also better name..no more tuah!..

• namerku on Mar 13, 2011 at 2:21 am

alah scirocco ka jetta ka amarok ke.mane la ko tau dlm bahsa diorang nama sejenis cipan kt negara diorang kita rakyat mesia dengar fuyooo style la nama tu..same le jugak wit other country diorang dgr fuyo Saga..fuyoo Waja..ape daa sal nama pon jadi issue..

• Joseph on Mar 13, 2011 at 6:43 am

“Satu Lagi Projek Kerajaan Barisan Nasional’ sticker should be posted on this car. If it fails, Proton would fall alone. Proton, your stock price is low, you’re losing money left right and center, all you have is the .gov.my and die-hard fans who are clueless about anything else apart from design and looks. Good luck.

• Jaymen on Mar 13, 2011 at 10:06 am

Just compare them self with P2, which is far much better then P1. They want to merge, which toyota would not let it happen.

• peYno on Mar 13, 2011 at 2:12 pm

perodua salesman seems not happy after daihatsu announced to produce SMALL car in Indonesia plat for ASEAN market…
        no wonder la they bash proton.. for their survival

prrrtrfhhhh

• It is really terrible to generalize.
      I am a staunch PR supporter. But I have two Protons, and love it.

• akupunya on Mar 13, 2011 at 8:01 am

pleass stop use this word when Proton kena bashed. “buat la keret sendiri kalau pandai bla bla bla…”. That’s a very weak reason/excuse. macam komen pemain bola, main tak reti, sepak tak reti, pastu kata “pergi la main sendiri and score the goal bla bla…”. Bayangkan pemain tu dapat gaji bulan2,kerja dalam bidang bolasepak tapi main cam hampeh. Takkan kita nak duduk tgk sambil senyum??? Tak ke kita panggil “biawak hidup”??

I still said that Proton failed in 25 years. Proton should achieve more than this. Proton is not creating a new technology, but Proton are usinglot of ready made technology. at least, proton should create a more powerful design or superb engine or a new technolgy in engine. More better than the campro even the turbo. Also, in 25 years, it should already a global brand. The making of Proton actually in snail track record.

Proton selling are hot only in Malaysia bcz the price. but Proton is ‘so-so’ in oversea market. If Proton are selling like oversea in Malaysia, i am sure Proton in lelong time or happy hour time.

The price scheme for proton cars in Malaysia also higher for me. Proton should put a more lower price for its persona and the rest of model. But, the import car are high in tax, so proton take this opportunity to level his price higher.
    So, you want to be a smart consumer or a follower consumer who is follow like buffalo.

• peYno on Mar 13, 2011 at 9:21 am

at least proton not like perodua.. Hot selling car JUARA KAMPUNG in Bolehland.. when come to Global market.. not even in list of ppl’s choice..

proton used to be JUARA KIAMPUNG and they know malaysia market can’t go further

• freeze on Mar 13, 2011 at 10:36 am

Don’t you get tired of constantly bashing Proton, Perodua, and Toyota?

• ponorogo on Mar 14, 2011 at 8:08 am

yeah, and they say they are giving comments but most of them doing are pure bashing…

• polamalu on Mar 13, 2011 at 12:28 pm

I also and feel the same regards the pricing of proton cars.. due to the pricing i sometimes feel that we are in a way dictated by the price…. i have been goin around and asking the recent sales of inspira… response its a bit slow… many are saying other models the likes of forte for an example, is giving inspira a stiff competition.. but i wonder if insipra was priced at prolly 60k ++ it may help the sales.. perhaps and maybe

• if a forte can be priced at rm60k.. it will help their sales too.

• peYno on Mar 13, 2011 at 4:54 pm

only inspira 1.8cvt not selling well…
        but 2.0l inspira selling like hot cakes
        proton monthly sales target is 1.6k unit/mth.. but proton manage to sell 2k++ unit /month..

figures never lie,…

• BN=barang naik on Mar 13, 2011 at 10:58 pm

1.6k/month sales target for C segment protected local car is low laaaa..not even reach 20k unit per year..and proton sales per year is???..proton should target at least 3k/month!..wakakakaka

• Tiadaid on Mar 14, 2011 at 8:43 am

How many Civic & Altis units being sold per month? More than 2K?

• BN=barang naik on Mar 14, 2011 at 11:51 am

how many sales for the model that inspira replaced??..2k/month arrr????..wakakakaka

• BN=barang naik on Mar 14, 2011 at 12:05 pm

for our biased protected market..it should be car price instead of segment if u want to compare it against toyota or honda or other non national maker..the closest price against inspira is vios/city..and toyota vios sells more than 30k/year!!..wakakakaka

• Tiadaid on Mar 15, 2011 at 9:19 am

30K per year means roughly 2-3K per month. So still Inspira can sell almost the same amount as Vios & City!

• peYno on Mar 14, 2011 at 6:43 pm

do you know the meaning of company sales target…????
            it means.. if u manage to achieve the target… that means u already acheived profit margin at least break even to the company profit

• Your argument has a merit to it but I do not see anything wrong with using proven technology as long as it is updated. It is more economically feasible and general customers are confidence with it. Remember when people say don’t buy the fist batch of new proton cars? Now couple that with new, unproven technology = death wish for proton.

• I would say they have no idea how start from
    Sketch, so proton decided to take the bumper from vw passar cc, headlamp was inspired by KIA and Audi, roofline from Hyundai sonata, passat cc & cls. Rear lamp inspired by BMW lci lamps.

• home made “Kia Forte”?!??!

• akupunya on Mar 13, 2011 at 12:43 pm

again, if this a Persona -R, very sorry to say that Proton, you are masih di bawah tempurung.

from the image, there are no fully comouflaged on the car. u can see 75% of the car body. so you can imagine how it will look like. and yes, it just a Gen-2 with jongang teeth and botox butt. nothing gempak if the head lamp and the rear lamp just putting the LED bulbs.

When people buy car, they see the body first, later then they check the specs of the car. Then, they touch and feel the car. So, if the design already ‘so-so’, the cunsumer still put in mind that the car also ‘so-so’,

Persona -R dengar cam gempak, tapi tak gempak mana pun.

• Ash Menon on Mar 13, 2011 at 3:35 pm

Woah, Proton! You’re putting some solid effort into bringing the brand name back up again, I applaud you for it! I don’t think that Gen2-style concave rear works well with smaller cars, but I withhold judgement until I see the finished product.

One of the readers above asked why it wasn’t named the Wira, to continue proton’s 3 legends (Wira, Satria, Saga), and I completely agree! I think naming it the Wira would have been awesome.

Then again, I think perhaps the 5 pahlawan names were just to add some drama and story to the concept show, and when they come out as finished products they will bear different names.

• peYno on Mar 13, 2011 at 4:10 pm

no matter perodua salesman bash proton… it still sell well..
    just look at Saga BLM/FL…. interm of sales figure…ah beng bash campro engine… no quality..no japanese DNA… yet still can compete head to head with myvi -Japanese DNA…
    so just imagine if next proton EMAS car using Nissan japan engine…sure like goreng pisang panas…

• Mat Lukman on Mar 13, 2011 at 5:11 pm

It’s not tuah model way to far comparison. Perhaps it may be replacement for Ven2?

• calvinc on Mar 13, 2011 at 6:24 pm

good effort from proton. can’t wait to see the final result. i hope it looks close enough to the concept. if it is, i think it’s a sure seller. just hope that they don’t leave out those awesome headlamps on the concept. and of course, a nicer looking steering wheel instead of the boring grey one, seen in the Neo R3 *crosses fingers*

• No Audi-sh C-pillar window frame like Concept unveiled at KLIMS?

• i can see that the exterior got that Kamm-back design at the rear-end of the car.
    a lil’bit something like Prius or Insight.
    this is good since the design produce low-drag (from aerodynamic POV), hence lower fuel-consumption (from economical POV) due to sleek/slippery shape.
    i hope Proton will make use of aerodynamic advantage to improve its design through extensive wind tunnel testing.

• aaron chin on Mar 13, 2011 at 9:59 pm

hmm.. since the earthquake in Japan, Paultan.org has not been updated… is everything ok?

• make sure u have a nice clearance for head at the back passenger

*hint: gen.2 / persona

• You’re only partially correct. Gen-2 was terrible. Persona had ample headroom, way more than competitors actually.

• SquarePetrolHead on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:51 pm

Haro… Proton re-designed the Persona roof-line, so that it is different from the Gen2. In the Persona, there is no headroom problem for the rear passengers… FYI

• neckotynne on Mar 14, 2011 at 3:09 am

hope proton will take notes from ur comments for their future… bcoz proton is our nation’s pride… so proton should move faster to catch the global competition… if not,someday proton will lose… please proton… please move faster… to conquer the global market n make us proud… :)

• is persona has headroom problem? If gen2 i agree, but persona, i dont think so unless u never been in persona before, just talk based on assumption

• taboogen on Mar 14, 2011 at 8:41 am

I have seen the enterior of this car… still have a lot to improve.. dont worry about the side mirror its still in rnd… just take parts from existing model just to make it road legal and test it on the road… once the car is ready then the will install the original parts..all parts need to go for durability test, for the value of the car.. for me well it is ok lah..

• matrxe on Mar 14, 2011 at 5:58 pm

Interior still have alot to improve?… thats not a good sign. Interior should be over the top. Just because the price is relatively cheap. They don’t have do design it to look cheap

• doesn’t look like persona replacement. bcause rear boot look shorter. almost identical to gen2. OR perhaps is persona aeroback?
    anyway, gud move. IF tuah final design like in klims2010, i have to forget my plan to buy current persona. better wait. :D

• Jeffrey Chew on Mar 14, 2011 at 9:35 am

the body shape looks exactly like MAZDA 3!

• SquarePetrolHead on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:48 pm

not exactly lah bro… front not the same at all lah. But the “punggung”/butt and rear-door does show hints of the Mazda3. If only the inside design (instrument cluster and equipment) follow Mazda3, we all sure in auto-heaven… haha

• alf147 on Mar 14, 2011 at 9:48 am

y to bash?give idea and a constructive critism!!eventho i am not a fan of proton….but i know proton’s engineers are working hard on this persona R. my friend is working for the RND…he is working on the weekends since last month as proton plan to launch this car first quater of 2012….i knw how hard of the engineers to build the car..and it never been an easy task….

the prob for us….whether it is good, or not,,cheap or pricey,,we still bash them….change the mentality..toyota and honda also not so good…how many of cars recalled?

let the car roll on the road….and we will see comments by an expert on this car.for me proton must work hard on materials use in their car….a better quality plastic…improve the reliability….after sales service and they want to regain the trust of the public…to basher..u but T, H..if u can afford..go for european cars..good materials, hi tech…good safety features..but when it rosak….then ready to spend money on the cost or repairs.

• Tiadaid on Mar 14, 2011 at 2:54 pm

You have to understand the difference between bashing & constructive criticism. They are two different things entirely.

• xplodingplastix on Mar 14, 2011 at 9:49 am

its time for me to change car. will be waiting for this one and look into it before buying. hope u guys gives good opinions & feedbacks.

• LowYahChia on Mar 14, 2011 at 9:49 am

Got body no brain yet, empty shell. Campro engine sold in 2004 (7 years and running). VW partnership failed. go back to old wife (mitsubishi). Possibility of DPM visit to India to buy nano engines for Tuah ? If you love the body and don’t care about the brain…why not.

• autojohndoe on Mar 17, 2011 at 5:01 pm

engine life cycle is about 10years… get your knowledge first…

• LowYahChia on Mar 21, 2011 at 8:11 am

Bro…technology and not engine ler..pleeeease. If you said engine, Nissan 120Y more than 30 years are still running fine.

• nadzri m yusof on Mar 14, 2011 at 11:56 am

i love this car, world class……..wow

• SAME SAME on Mar 14, 2011 at 1:14 pm

can’t they come up with a better name???

• wow, after sifting more than 200 comments, my brain became numb from the idiotic posts/rants by bashers of Proton ( I even have ppl telling me if you want to see evolution take 2 steps back, come to paultan’s website and experience yourself people who do not know about cars act like they own the automobile industry.)

I think this design looks great and I am excited to see new designs and ideas coming from Proton. And yeah, before some smuck says I am a Proton cybertrooper, pull your socks. I don’t own a Proton.

While I find majority Malaysians favor Honda and Toyota, these brands are not without faults. But if it floats your boat, I respect that. Just don’t bash senselessly on our local make. Give credit where credit is due.

• waimak on Mar 14, 2011 at 3:11 pm

Copy Forte and Civic? I doubt so.. this is more like Gen 2 only its called persona.. But being Proton, slowly and slowly all the info will leak.. we’ll know sooner or later.. When its time to see the actual model, or launching, it’s all ‘basi’ already..
    I like the lines of this new persona..
    And salesmen, be it Proton or competitor, now start throwing words, critics and accusation – typical. Funny thing is it only happen when it involves proton..

• SquarePetrolHead on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:45 pm

Waimak… this Tuah prototype is based on the Exora chasis. Can you see the similarity at the A-pillar and bonnet? Same cut… ^^y

• hexagon on Mar 14, 2011 at 4:48 pm

if the interior material are good and the specs are ok with me, i dont mind to sell my current civic for this… its look good for me. As for handling, i prefer proton. NVH maybe not the best, but still can bikin that..

• matrxe on Mar 14, 2011 at 5:48 pm

I think the interior should match honda or VW. That will be the biggest selling point. Lotus minimalist design like in Gen2 will be a huge mistake. Exora interior is a dissapointment given that they use wish as a benchmark. I don’t mind paying RM1000 more for a well design interior. come to think of it, in terms of manufacturing cost i don’t think it will be more expensive. I don’t think proton are paying their workers more than Perodua or paying higher TNB tariffs.They should whack their designers and squeeze every brain cells they gather and come out with good design. heck, just copy a civic euro and put inside this new proton. This is not a request. Malaysians deserve it. There are 12 protons in my family, I think I deserve it.

• tokmoh on Mar 14, 2011 at 10:35 pm

Gen.2’s interior is kinda spartan ala Elise/Exige. Old. And when it first came out, beige. Ewww

An interior that’s in line with Evora or the 5 concepts is more like it :) And I think it will, it’s the new direction Lotus design is heading. Proton will surely follow suit.

• rally_fan00 on Mar 14, 2011 at 11:15 pm

i think they benchmark wish not so much on design, but on space, and features.. the exora definitely has more space than the wish overall.. and the biggest mistake the japanese made, no air con in the rear.. if you ever sat in a wish in the 3rd row of seats, which i have.. its totally hopeless for an adult and hot also. and the exora interior, although not as pretty, is well thought out, simple, practical and useful.

• farghmee on Mar 15, 2011 at 11:51 am

i beg to differ.

i love the beige interior & simple dashboard.

btw, i focus on driving.

maybe nextime, proton can integrate all the functions into ipad2 (or any other device) & connected to the dash, so we have a “clean” interior.

• Proton TUAH is Chevy CRUZE..like WAJA is OPTRA!

• Faisal on Mar 14, 2011 at 6:58 pm

luv it!

• wilbur on Mar 14, 2011 at 8:37 pm

proton is known best for its lotus ride an handling
    for some people maybe this is not the thing because they don’t even feel the difference
    well, for me it’s obvious, currently driving an ‘old’ waja which the exterior is not that cool like city or the famous vios

nvh wise sure both cars can beat waja anytime , but the thing is the ‘micro’ shaking in the cars all the way when moving is the one that is more terrible to feel than the so-so nvh of waja – that;s when hovering in the city. during long journey the the shaking can make the driver getting exhausted faster than the smooth waja. the smoothness of waja is going all the way up to 170km/h – both for ride and handling

ok, it’s not fair to compare them with a waja becuse city/vios is b segment car while waka is ‘c segment car but why not since both cars are much expensive than a waja

when this car is out sure i will consider it or the inspira, believe it can match the 9th gen civic

• pawaka21 on Mar 15, 2011 at 6:45 am

amazes me whenever paul post some news here,lots of “resident bashers” will suddenly surfaced and give comments like they are even better than james may, richard hammond and some even more cynical than jeremy clarkson. for me, its a good thing, because it show that proton still gathers comments and haters.if that stopped,i presume proton not improving anymore. for the resident bashers, still our national made cars sell well in Malaysia, with 7k unit per month is easily achieved monthly, for both myvi and saga.

come on proton. keep improving!!!!

• agreed. Sometimes I wonder who died and let these Neanderthals loose and posted no value added comments.

I am very stoked with the Tuah. I might be swayed to get one if the price and performance factor balances out. Aesthetic wise, (even it is fulled camo-ed), already looks promising.

• cardreamer on Mar 15, 2011 at 5:21 pm

Who cares if it looks like any other cars…provided it is good looking, handsome, macho, tough etc…and sellable…it just doesn’t make sense to be ugly and weird for the sake of being different from others…BUT if you really are good in being different but good looking, then Go and BE it!, but if you re not so good in it…it is okay to look a like…

Well done Proton..good job!

• the_hives on Mar 15, 2011 at 5:28 pm

Nice car from P1, I guess P1 is ready to compete globally. Scrap NAP?? nop! not a chance!

• mivec on Mar 16, 2011 at 7:30 am

p2 and naza not yet come with own model i think now gov wait for them, then baru abolish NAP

• James Wong on Mar 15, 2011 at 9:59 pm

the front kinda reminds me of kia forte.
    the back sucks, like some f*cked up 80s car

• SquarePetrolHead on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:32 pm

well, so the Mazda3 must be a #$$@-ed up ca too huh, James Wong?? Cos the back look quite like the Mazda3…

• sifu already said before the front of these persona r similar like current vauxall astra and rear looks like current audi a4

• jl@ipl on Mar 17, 2011 at 10:08 am

Si-fu!!!!

Are you still around? I never come across your posting since Exora launched….

Or, its just me????……

• My mum’s gonna buy this car.

• The Fordicator on Mar 18, 2011 at 11:48 pm

Is it just me or do I see the outline of Mazda3/Ford Focus?

• makeitmine on Mar 25, 2011 at 10:23 am

Pls don’t make another sardine in a shark body. A Campro CPS is still not good enough. Read http://www.iol.co.za/motoring/road-tests/proton-cps-is-a-sardine-in-shark-skin-1.1046672

• First,it seems a believable review until it touch on neo’s rigidity based on the hinges, how the hell u can tell the chasis rigidity based on door hinges. Its not the best compare to exora, but its still high,two times stronger than old wira around 15000 torsion bending n rigidity of the chasis. So,can u believe a person that give that can of review? Maybe u can, but i cant

• that guy compares with a premium hothatch. wtf? its not that the price of a Polo equivalent to a Satria Neo. dumb reviewer. and where is it? south africa? land of black money scheme?

i rest my case…

• sathesh on May 27, 2011 at 11:49 pm

I have seen this car fully. Can gerenti looks like an VW. Really good work from PROTON.

• keep gud work proton even i really dont like proton car design made before 2000. Maybe i will open my heart to buy a new car frm proton.

• alex chong on Jul 30, 2011 at 11:42 pm

Look like heavily copying Peter Schreyer works, which is good. Sheet metal looks great.

• alex chong on Aug 07, 2011 at 5:38 pm

Yes, this car will be out soon. Currently gearing up for the first batch for the showroom units.

• brohai on Jan 25, 2012 at 9:47 pm

hope proton can make Malaysian proud this time.

• Majimboo on Feb 01, 2012 at 5:36 pm

It so awesome. wish it release faster. Anyway the comment who said its “like to be copy cat” tell you what.. whose create all the cars at the first place? So you saying Honda and Toyota create their own car by not FOLLOWING or COPYING the first car built ? think again. everything is copy. Even you study. LOOK you LEARN HOW TO WRITE. Owh please dont use alphabets use other TYPE of JERK! . Hypocrites people only Hell is Your place. FACE THE FACTS.

• truth on Mar 16, 2014 at 3:57 pm

its a preve look at the differences,the front grill,the booth shape(its curved),the side mirror.its not a proton tuah