Subaru Forester to be locally assembled in Malaysia

Fancy the Subaru Forester but can’t afford the price tag of over RM200k for now? Wait a few more years and you might just be able to lay your hands on a more affordable Subaru Forester, thanks to a CKD deal that’s coming up.

According to Japanese business publication The Nikkei, Fuji Heavy Industries (Subaru) and Tan Chong International’s Motor Image will begin joint auto assembly of Subaru cars in Malaysia by the year 2013. Details are said to be unfinalised, but the first model likely to be assembled here in Malaysia from Japanese-origin CKD packs it the Subaru Forester. Initial output plans are about 5,000 units per annum.

Future plans are to increase local parts procurement in order to drive down costs, rather than importing all parts from Japan and paying duties on them. Malaysia will end up being the regional assembly hub for Subaru. The company plans to reach other countries within the trading bloc via its ASEAN location.

The Forester is currently available in Malaysia as a 2.5XT Turbo, featuring a 2.5 litre turbocharged 4-cylinder boxer engine making 230 PS at 5,200rpm and 320Nm of torque at 2,800rpm, mated to a 4-speed automatic.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• scoobylution on Mar 13, 2011 at 10:03 pm

next, CKD the impreza. hope we can get a cheaper impreza later.

• reduce car tax now!

even this SUV been CKD but the price is still expensive.

TQ GOV!

• At original price of RM229k, a mere locally assemble unit would still not be able to do the trick. Convince the government into accepting it as a national car like what Naza did to Kia Carnival which becomes Naza Ria, then probably some of us might be able to lay our hand on it.

• shawal on Mar 13, 2011 at 10:43 pm

we want CKD version of the new upcoming impreza and the ‘toyotabaru’ RWD coupe~!

• akupunya on Mar 13, 2011 at 10:51 pm

kalau dah jadi CKD, tapi harga atas RM200K, baik tak payah. pastu spare part jenuh la. OEM mana mau cari…

• with that we suppose pay 20% less import duty for 2500cc above(currently 145% to 125%)

• Malaysia hater on Mar 14, 2011 at 10:15 pm

Please kill the Proton and Perodua to let Subaru going presence in Malaysia!!!

• Mienzz on Mar 13, 2011 at 10:54 pm

Hoping to see other Subaru models to be assembled here

• nabill on Mar 13, 2011 at 11:09 pm

familiar scenario , everybody will think its gonna be priced at around rm130k….then when the actual production gets rolled out…its gonna be priced at around 170k and dissapointment all over again….we all have been through this before !

jus curious , in 2013 , will they ckd the curent generation or the new one when it comes out at that time???

• Dear Tan Chong,

please don’t use CREAM colour for the interior. PLEEEASSEEE!!!!

• Gavin on Mar 13, 2011 at 11:29 pm

I like the introduction of new models BUT the aftersales i think needs to be as good, otherwise it’s a headache and disappointing

• CKD in 2013 and announce now ? WTF that’s like so so far away ……if the world have not yet end by then ….. with all the earthquake and what not, the signs of the END

• At the end of the day, sun will rise at west and set at east. when the time comes, world still got around 120yrs to go.

• advertisement after ckd is..get a subaru forester right under 200k now…RM199,999 ^_^V

• BeemerFreak on Mar 14, 2011 at 12:08 am

RM220k for this car…. I wonder how much is motor image profitting? If Ford can sell the Mondeo and Alfa the 159 at below RM 200k with both being CBU, It is unjustifiable why should motor image charge so much for this car. In europe the forester is much cheaper than both the 159 and Mondeo.

This car to be successful in Malaysia needs to be priced about the Hyundai Tucson

• you have no idea what a forrester is ….

• BeemerFreak on Mar 14, 2011 at 8:53 am

I wonder whether you have been in one? It is my ride to office every morning courtesy of my colleague

• teelim on Mar 14, 2011 at 1:11 am

Nice,

But I just hope that Subaru will update the Forester’s gearbox and give it a couple more gears. 4 speed auto is sooooooooooooo yesterday.

• peYno on Mar 14, 2011 at 11:11 am

do you want a hybrid? with CVT gearbox? thats today’s tech right?

• sunnykaza on Mar 15, 2011 at 9:42 am

subaru cannot use cvt gearbox….bacause of the performance and turbo…cvt is only for n/a cars……

• Paul Tan on Mar 15, 2011 at 9:46 am

Audi seems to have no problem using CVT with their turbo 4 cylinder in the A4?

• Subaru Legacy Outback 2.5i and Legacy 2.0i is using CVT

• Frank on Mar 14, 2011 at 4:35 am

wait n see what model / generation they will CKD n the pricing in bout 3 years time…
    A good guess of the CKD price will still be in the high…. range of +-$180K.

• Ordinary Joe on Mar 14, 2011 at 9:37 am

Based on some of the reports i’ve read, this particular model of Forester isn’t that good, especially the gearbox. So you’re probaly better off looking elsewhere.

• my dream of Impreza version 10 sedan become 1 step closer

• _xXx_ on Mar 14, 2011 at 9:55 am

OK CKD now. I gip u all 5k off ok? Be grateful.

• Unforgiven on Mar 14, 2011 at 10:06 am

Not really sure why are we starting all this after so long, hopefully we are able to catch up with other countries… make it fast… if you wanna be superstar… the World is changing fast…

• vincent on Mar 14, 2011 at 10:15 am

“featuring a 2.5 liter turbocharged 4-cylinder boxer engine making 230 PS at 5,200rpm and 320Nm of torque at 2,800rpm, mated to a 4-speed automatic.”

Wait a minute…. 4 speed automatic? Is that another dinosaur technology that the Japanese will dump into 3rd world country like Malaysia?

• hukaka on Mar 14, 2011 at 10:41 am

still 4 speed?
    better buy new sorento.

• if its because the tax structure for 2.5 will be much higher then 2.0, will it be a better deal putting the 2.0 turbo instead? then ‘just’ maybe it will be priced at below 180k.

parts will be easier to source coz it is also the ej20 engine found in the imprezza……

• Subaru people on Mar 14, 2011 at 10:09 pm

That’s because the presence of Subaru in Malaysia is in zero, this Gunma-based company needs to CKD the Impreza Anesis sedan in Malaysia to crack down the Honda Civics. It gained full presence in some ASEAN market (especially Singapore) for decades, but has been by blocked by the damned Proton and Perodua to sell in Malaysia!!!

Please close down the Proton and Perodua now, and let Subaru going in Malaysia!!!

• omanjedi on Mar 15, 2011 at 12:55 am

GOOD!!…my dream 4WD…

• SoMeOnE on Mar 15, 2011 at 2:58 am

i have driven this car when i rented one in singapore…the 4 speed auto is a non issue….its kinda fast…malaysia seems to to heavily tax fast cars (new ones) this suv can run cirles around its direct competition (eg crv,tucson,x trail..it really should be compared with the tiguan for sheer pace at least if not quality) …its decent..but yea..overpriced like every other non national make i guess…

• skiborne on Mar 16, 2011 at 12:06 am

4 speed auto? no thanks. sounds like big FC. the rest are all great

• creativemind on Jul 07, 2011 at 9:39 pm

haha… we will wait n c… dun bring in the 4 speed to assemble, no point. 6 speed is the in thing now, couple with TC, ABS,EBD,BA,VSC etc… and please, do not over price it. give us real world car prices….