2011 Nissan Teana facelift in China gets sportier design

We spotted this Nissan Teana on Dongfeng Nissan China’s website sporting a revised look, which leads us to believe this is either the Nissan Teana facelift or perhaps some kind of styling update exclusively for the China market.

The front end gets a big update that seems to focus on making the Teana look sportier – and check out those complicated headlamps, which now feature projector lenses instead of the current generation Teana’s reflector lenses.

The tail lamp also gets updated to this design. Frankly, I think the current look suits the character of the Teana more – this one looks a little like an elderly man having a mid-life crisis. I wonder if this is a global update.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the China market 2011 Nissan Teana.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2063]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• the head lamp upgrade to projector lenses is good.. other than that, mmm……
    still prefer the current design!

• Hanssolo58 on Mar 15, 2011 at 9:12 am

No Offense Nissan Fanboys…but honestly…
      IMO…this is the ugliest D Segment car that ever existed…

What is wrong with Nissan Nowadays…
      Fisrt they came with Latio…peculiar looking but fair enough, it had a substantial number of fans…
      Then they came with the Sylphy…which looks like a Horned Toad or a Tuatara. Now who in their right minds would actually design a C Segment car which looks like that…
      OK what do we have so far:
      Nissan screwed up their B and C Segment….I was hoping they would realize their mistakes when it came to a D Segment…but then came the calamity…The Nissan Teana…which IMO is by far the ugliest D Segment car ever made….

Dont take me wrongly guys, but I used to be a Nissan Fan (I love all good looking cars):
      Lets’ go Back to the Future (you know what I mean):
      1. Nissan 180 SX, 240 SX – Beautiful
      2. Nissan Silvia S13, S14, S15 – Gorgeous
      3. Nissan Sklyline R 33, R34, R35 (GTR) – Drop Dead Gorgeous

May they rest in Piece

• st3wpid on Mar 15, 2011 at 1:02 pm

bro.. those car you mention there is the ‘Sportcars’ version of nissan… not the D segment duh!

• Hanssolo58 on Mar 15, 2011 at 2:39 pm

Ya you are right Bro…but all the previous Nissan C and D segments used to be so sexy like:
          1. Nissan Bluebird (D Segment right…correct me if I’m wrong)
          2. Nissan Cefiro RWD (D Segment)

But now…everything sucks…Teana looks like a Cefiro on a High Cholesterol diet…so huge and a little too conservative looking…it lacks the flare of a D Segment car.

But then again this is just my personal opinion…beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

Mintak ampun kepada peminat Teana

• Vincent on Mar 15, 2011 at 8:58 am

har… Tan CHeong just bring it to Malaysia less than 3 months and facelift already come up…

Anyway, hope that Tan Cheong will not facelift it so soon so that Teena Resales value able to maintain… give it another 1 year.

Most of the Forte buyer is TL that 6 speed come out just so soon after Naza bring forte into Malaysia.

In this case, Resale Value sure drop and people will continue believe that korean car do not have RV.

The hope of forte change korean car RV in Malaysia will not be delivered!

• tikus on Mar 15, 2011 at 10:00 am

Tan Chong…why u always late?

• lonelyobserve on Mar 15, 2011 at 1:40 pm

You think Tan Chong is really easy on getting approval from JPJ on selling new vehicles? Personally I think Teana took quite some time for Tan Chong to get approval before launching the car. This goes the same as Navara 4WD and Navara Calibre.

• RamuNik on Mar 15, 2011 at 1:56 pm

Is other dealer got golden bridge to JPJ?

• lonelyobserve on Mar 15, 2011 at 4:04 pm

Pay under table money.

• tikus on Mar 15, 2011 at 6:38 pm

Tan chong also can mah..maybe no jalan ;-( . U can intro jalan so that TC can bring car more faster.

• tikus on Mar 15, 2011 at 6:40 pm

Me waiting for Nissan Juke. Looks nice and cute during KLIMS.

• GUNMAN on Mar 15, 2011 at 11:09 am

there’s nothing sporty about CVTs.

• How is it that you confused sportier design with sportier? You poor poor soul :)

• sutheshkumar on Mar 15, 2011 at 11:31 am

how long will this take time to come here? both Latio and the Slyphy has their face-lifted versions out but yet to make it here.

• RamuNik on Mar 15, 2011 at 1:48 pm

I am really pissed out with ETCM. Terrible after sale service (in klang valley), very slow in promotion, Cheap skate in marketing & very the~ lan si attitute. I dont know why they just like “act dunno” to sell their cars? Product is good but the marketing overall is s_cks! Exception with 4×4.
    They have in house financing & very good technical aspect ie.: engine, suspension, insulation, cooling system etc. Basically they have the recipe to control the market. I do admit thier product is not drop dead gorgeous but when we talk about everyday car, Nissan is one of the best.
    Most people looking for very up to date technology in car but Nissan merely opposed minimalist. Thats why i like nissan. but if this is the way ETCM do their business… I think twice. I almost purchased Latio sport last year but after listen to the Nissan owners’ complaints, the feeling become sour.
    Dear ETCM, if you believe u can be champion by just Renault sales, go for it. Please retain old cars in your lineup. Perhaps you can make a Sentra special edition LM with a lot of make ups with same engine, same gearbox (dont mean to offend Sentra owners).
    Cmon guys, at least put Grand Livina manual gearbox into Latio 1.6. reduce the price. So the market can SHIFT the gears. Or else… you concentrate you effort across the border saja lah~
    Good luck.

• Tu Lan Nissan on Mar 16, 2011 at 9:37 am

Maybe sales man sells about 10 cars a month. Some comm RM800 each some Rm2000 each. Say, average RM1,500 each. 10 cars X RM1,500 = RM15K commission + basic approx RM1K = RM16K a month. Top 3% of Malaysian income earners already. Must Lan Si a bit la.

ETCM is so rich so much $$$. One buyer only pissed they don’t care.

• ezracopters on Mar 15, 2011 at 4:25 pm

yup, totally agree.. if only we had other Nissan distributor.. haha