Honda Brio makes production debut in Thailand

Honda Thailand today officially launched its Brio compact – the world premiere of the eco-car, as it’s tagged, took place at the Royal Paragon Hall at Siam Paragon in Bangkok earlier this evening.

The launch of the production A-segment Brio follows very closely on the unveiling of the car in its “concept” form at last November’s Bangkok Motor Show. The car was also spied very recently on the road in Thailand.

With no English press kit to work on, the reliance is on Google Translate to work the material off the Honda Thailand website, so let’s see what there is on the production car. It’s available in the Thai market in two versions, the S and the V, with both versions featuring a five-speed manual transmission, and the V is also available with a CVT transmission, making for three variants in all.

Both S and V versions are powered by an i-VTEC four-cylinder 1.2 litre SOHC block, offering 90 hp at 6,000 rpm and 110 Nm at 4,800 rpm; the engine – which is Euro-4 compliant – can utilise E20 fuel, and offers a claimed fuel economy of 20 km per litre.

The production car measures in at 3,610 mm long, 1,680 mm wide and 1,485 mm in height, essentially the same as on the concept, and has a wheelbase measuring 2,345 mm. Honda says that the short body of the Brio, in addition to providing good mobility and driving characteristics, allows for excellent visibility and makes driving and parking on narrow streets an easy proposition.

Much of the car’s selling point is also based on its interior space – there’s lots of headroom within the two-tone cabin and plenty of storage space at the back, enough to accommodate large bags, clothing, a stroller or even a golf bag. Presumably, some of these will have to see the rear seats being folded down.

Safety kit-wise, the car features preventive and proactive gear such as ABS – available across the model range – and electronic brake force distribution (EBD). There are also dual front air bags as well as seatbelt tensioners, again available as standard issue on all the three Brio variants.

Other features include halogen headlamps, a rear spoiler with a LED-equipped brake lamp, electric power steering, adjustable steering wheel, a two-DIN audio head-unit with USB and aux connections, sport design front seats, an alarm as well as an immobiliser system. The Brio sits on 14-inch wheels, wearing 175/65 series tyres – the base S model comes with steel wheels, while the V versions feature alloys.

Five colours are available for the Thai Brio, these being the hero green shade called Fresh Lime, Taffeta White, Cerulean Blue, Alabaster Silver and a pearlescent Crystal Black.

The entry-level Brio Model S manual transmission is priced at 399,900 Baht (RM40,300), while the manual transmission version of the V goes for 469,500 Baht (RM47,300) and the Model V CVT transmission variant goes for 508,500 Baht (RM51,235). Honda Thailand is expecting to move about 40,000 units of the Brio in the first year of its introduction.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• confused on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:04 pm

SOHC or DOHC?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:31 pm

It’s a SOHC unit.

• squall_shinoda on Mar 17, 2011 at 10:38 pm

If I’m not mistaken, the Brio uses L12B i-VTEC engine as in the European Jazz, the same engine family as in City, Jazz and Freed… am I right?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:26 am

Yes, it should be the L12B, though on paper the one on the Euro/Indian Jazz delivers the same max output at 200 rpm more, as well as 4 Nm extra at 100 rpm more than the one on the Brio.

• confused on Mar 21, 2011 at 11:43 am

i only asked whether it’s SOHC or DOHC since not mention in the article at the time i commented also got thumb down.. sigh..

• AIYA
        HONDA USUALLY BELOW 1.5 CC IS SOCH MA… WHY ASK LEH …. IMPOSSIBLE BRIO IS DOCH MA

• owh.. with the price of 508,500 Baht for the CVT version.. looks like we only can expect the price in Malaysia will be RM65k.

ok…. out of range.. It’s better get a Myvi CVT(if got) or Persona R CVT rather than this Brio.

• rm65k for this? now i can retract my previous comments saying myvi was overpriced
      even if no tax, rm40k (bath estimate) is expensive for a car of this spec

• wolfsburg on Mar 17, 2011 at 7:50 pm

Segment to segment… i10 is a lot better than this…

• BeemerFreak on Mar 17, 2011 at 8:58 pm

Honda doesnt seem to understand what budget crowd needs. It should be priced less than RM50k for d highest spec

• rickyll on Mar 18, 2011 at 5:44 am

That estimated RM50K is based on Thai Baht and exclusive for the Thai market. Malaysian have to pay for an additional ‘protection fee”. Just get your fingers crossed and hoped that it would not exceed RM60K.

• artworkz on Mar 18, 2011 at 2:05 pm

sumtimes car u need to drive n feel it. u cant just make conclusion on spec in paper. i just buy a fiesta n ppl drive myvi say better gt myvi se, more value. but after myvi owner drive fiesta, he understand wat is meaning of pay more to get more. i believe tis honda brio is target middle high income buyer which want get the more in but pay less in fuel.
      if ur income just enuf to get viva/myvi then no need say brio not value or better get myvi.

• scoobylution on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:07 pm

the front and the interior quite ok, but the rear is totally ugly

• drMpower on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:08 pm

this strange thing rarely happen
    but how i wish the backside
    to be more sexy and alluring
    than this timid, unimaginative behind
    i mean this thing needs to have that pretty special magic
    for the young at hearts

for anyone who likes backside
    i think he better off with the real deal

• MonfereBlogspot on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:11 pm

To be honest, this car does not attract me at all… The new Myvi may looks better than this…

• looks aside, this is real value for money car. imagine in that price range we shud be getting such value packed car. unfortunately, the misplaced automotive policy in this country is a major ripoff for malaysian customers. even though proton supporters are being victimized here, they still support it and somehow dun see the benefits of a open automotive sector.
      every malaysian car buyer is burdened with huge loans in which i c no benefit at all! the banks, proton and perodua and the cronies make money, and the remaining unfortunate citizens pays the price (in the name of national pride)….

• which new myvi ? the last one spotted was same old boring girlish design …

• kompius on Apr 29, 2011 at 4:03 pm

myvi better than honda???
      who are u actually?? any tender-related to che det??hahaha

• endre on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:12 pm

Front looks good but the back bumper a little too big

• Capt Shopalot on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:12 pm

When can we have it?

• Cowabunga! on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:15 pm

when both Honda and gov decide how much profit they want to rake from your pocket.

• armang on Mar 17, 2011 at 7:31 pm

this car will be sell in malaysia in nearest time with the price RM65K above. For the cheapest variance, there will be no ABS, no EBD, steel 13′ rim, normal bulb lighting, only CD headunit without MP3/AUX, normal seat. If you want more, pay RM75K…ha ha ha ha just kidding ..

• Kevin Lee on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:18 pm

ugliest honda ever, im sure even the JDM Honda Today looks better

• kimi_ on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:19 pm

RM40k….20km/liter amazing fuel consumtion, honda brand and tech!!!!!

Who still choose milo tin VIVA and aunty MV-YI, it is no brainer!!!!! If Honda can produce this car and sell at RM40k, VIVA should sell at RM30k maximum

• armang on Mar 17, 2011 at 7:33 pm

You write the RM40k in huge white board and placed next to your bed and you can dream it for 6 hours..

• i dont think so , once he see the price more then RM 60k, he might be able to sleep only for 2-3 hrs

• bennington on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:26 am

kimi, thats just plain nonsense to say people who buy viva and myvi is no brainer, its their choice by the way, u dont like viva and myvi? keep it to yourself la. those people dont ask for ur money aite? and u’re saying this car will be priced at rm40k? in your dream la kawan

• DewaSemut on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:19 pm

Not pretty… the new Kia Rio wayyyy much nicer than this Brio!!

• zorro on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:20 pm

http://brio.honda.co.th/download/honda_brio_catalogue.pdf

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:30 pm

Thanks, Zorro. Google Translate has been giving me the giggles with some of the translations. I can imagine doing the brochure should also be as much fun.

• spearmint on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:25 pm

just notice how close the rear seat headrest how close to the rear window, not even 15cm.

• rexxx on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:27 pm

So damn ugly. such an ugly car.

• Compared to what? lol What are the other choices in s.e Asia in this price range?

• front ok rear really bad, but still honda, priced it below rm60k people will buy these over myvi

• squawk on Mar 18, 2011 at 9:01 pm

Not really. How many bought the Freed over the Alza or Rush or Avanza? It might be a Honda but it ain’t a Toyota. :-)

• zorro on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:47 pm

rasa kita punya goverment takkan bagi masuk brio dalam Malaysia coz will effect sale Proton and Produa..

• William on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:47 pm

Y the interior door panel is not fully cover??

I think they should cut down the plastic use at the rear door power window switch into more simple and move the cost to cover up the bottom part of the door panel

• blablabla on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:48 pm

The front looks okay… and the insides of the car are alright… But what an Ugly backside!

• TK Ong on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:49 pm

Mazda 2 Hatchback and feista is much better looking than this Brio.

• Sorry mate, they are in a different segment this not comparable. Go and compare it to your ugly proton savvy.

• notpaul on Mar 17, 2011 at 9:15 pm

truth be told,this brio rear is way uglier than a savvy
        whata waste,u bloody think before consider writing a misguided POV

• shawal on Mar 17, 2011 at 7:18 pm

The design is not to Malaysian’s taste…
    They designed it to attract all 3 sexes of buyers there….

It won’t sell here unless they can get the price lower than existing competition

• GreenEco on Mar 17, 2011 at 7:25 pm

Honda Brio CM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xUCNiACHRtQ&feature=player_embedded

• sigh….bad impression of honda..doesn’s seem like it’s even a honda. don’t know how it will sell here but who knows even DUGONG also can sell wat. malaysians very unpredictable.

• Nazrul on Mar 17, 2011 at 8:04 pm

This car reminds me of Proton should build a new Savvy, yeah, cool

• toycollectorz on Mar 17, 2011 at 8:10 pm

This car looks really cute!Another great product from Honda!

• VW_fans on Mar 17, 2011 at 8:12 pm

Any news coming to Malaysia? Maybe below 70K perhaps. But even below 70K I assume quite hard to sell coz Perodua is the A-segment king on M’sia soil.

• juan87 on Mar 17, 2011 at 8:15 pm

look at the antenna! thats an old-fashioned one!

• Julian Lee on Mar 17, 2011 at 8:37 pm

look like BMW

• Really an insult to my eyes.

I thot it was the new Potong Emas or Sawi.

• harry on Mar 17, 2011 at 9:12 pm

It looks like another Savvy story…. Nice Front and not soo fascinating Rear which just puts me oFF!,

Even the Spec is good I will still have hard time purchasing it cause the back looks like a Duck’s face… only by driving the car will answer! a Yes yes or No…. besides i10 and Kia are both doing very well in appearance where the car has presence with it looks.

• WhySoSerious on Mar 17, 2011 at 9:36 pm

what is this?
    toy??

• nolan on Mar 17, 2011 at 9:45 pm

i don’t care what you people said…..i still love this car….

• jab strong fierce! on Mar 17, 2011 at 9:45 pm

I believe the best looking city car would be the Fiat 500 & Ford Ka, however we’re getting none of those on our road so I guess my point ain’t legit.

The closest competitor would be the Kia Picanto & Hyundai i10, let’s see if Toyota would assemble the next-gen Aygo in Thailand and this might turn the Brio’s table =p

If I have the choices, I would choose the Brio than be caught dead driving a Tata Nano! LOL!

• nolan on Mar 17, 2011 at 9:50 pm

FYI….i just got a news from my fren that Honda Malaysia will bring in Brio June2011….Malaysian model wil get 1.5 engine and black interior….

• 1.5 engine but at rm65k?

if this price can sell good.. there should be lots of Suzuki Swift 1.5 on the road ady.
      what a joke to conquer the market.

hmm.. but if Myvi 1.5 (may be coming soon) is priced at near rm60k. emm.. yea. there’s strong competition.

• rickyll on Mar 18, 2011 at 6:16 am

It’s 1.2L. If Honda Malaysia decided to sell Brio for more than RM60K then I would recommend buyers to try Hyundai i10 especially the one with 1.25 kappa engine. I have driven the car many times. I really enjoyed it and I am not a Hyundai saleman.

• dude, there are already a lot of swifts on the road …

• seancorr on Mar 17, 2011 at 10:05 pm

IMHO the font looks good but the rear…sigh a letdown. The interior is ok for a Honda. I hope they will fix it during its facelift lol.

Now if Honda Malaysia brings it in they got to price it under RM60k to make some sales. Anything above RM60k is too much for that kind of car.

• BoringHonda on Mar 17, 2011 at 10:19 pm

H.O.D.O.H with capital letters , the rear lights are positioned too low , look like sagging 70yr-old auntie breasts but with lights though to illuminate

• OMG!!! Even nissan March is looking better than this.

• trav_da_man on Mar 17, 2011 at 10:32 pm

If Honda Malaysia sells the 1.5cc Brio at RM80-90K and put the “premium” inside their brochure, this is still a murder to our buyers!

• lencongan on Mar 17, 2011 at 10:35 pm

terdesak nk pakai brand honda bole la. terima kasih.

• wei sheng on Mar 17, 2011 at 10:37 pm

the back door is tiny even myvi and viva looks nicer

• Nizam80 on Mar 17, 2011 at 11:01 pm

Believe me, this will sell well in Malaysia.

• exterior : buruk, hodoh etc

• Front okay, rear light need to be redesigned

• Ini Susah lah on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:00 am

Front – Nice,
    Rear – Ok lah,
    Interior – Nice,
    Performance – good,
    Spec – good,
    Pricing – Not good (if more than RM55K)

• azrai on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:02 am

First it was freed which loook freak, then this brio. Aiyoo…Those radiation already affected Honda desiigners nowadays.

• It’s will fail like Savvy.

If Honda choose Myvi, Viva as the local benchmark for budget ASEAN car the design could be much better.

Anyway good luck to Honda Brio – the Honda’s answer to Proton Savvy (uggh!), may both of you enjoy fooling each other!

• zanggief on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:53 am

The front design is nice but rear look should be improved to more trendy as this one looks weird. This is similar to P1 Savvy where front is alright but the rear is so so…

This means more and more car makers are jump in this segment as we already had the koreans (i10, Picanto), Japanese is gaining on the no. (Alto, Myvi of Daihatsu)…

Hope you guys can bring back the test drive review later from Thailand…SAWADIKAP…

• Just hope that the maintenance cost is cheap, since most of the cars nowdays have very high cost of ownership.

• hexagon on Mar 18, 2011 at 10:19 am

As for me, honda maintenance cost are reasonable especially when compare to proton. But when come on spare parts, some are expensive. But those can find cheaply from other reliable workshop other than Honda Service centre. My experience owning a P1 & P2 & H cars:
      P1 – expensive monthly maintenance, easy to get spare part, either fake or ori, cheap major service
      P2 – cheap service, easy to get spare parts
      H – cheaper than p1 monthly service but expensive bit on major service
      I maintaining a Gen2 for RM250-300 monthly & Civic for only rm155 monthly & myvi for less than rm150.

• wageniese on Mar 18, 2011 at 10:02 am

For this car,

“if u hit ppl, u teruk” …else, “if ppl hits u, u also teruk!”

But I agreed with the low petrol consumption.

• hexagon on Mar 18, 2011 at 10:07 am

depan dah lawa dah… belakang??? adoyai.. apa ni…

• Honda Fan on Mar 18, 2011 at 10:15 am

Another wonder product from Honda. Well done. Proud of Honda owners. Cheers.

• ABTguy on Mar 18, 2011 at 11:33 am

The weight figure is good at 920-950kg range.

Power is good and quite willing to rev it seems, 90HP at 6000RPM, suit me ha ha.

Torque delivery unknown, hopefully good enough.

Fuel consumption is good too, easily can achieve 15km/litre if not mistaken with RON 95. Still not as good as a BMW F10 520d though, ha ha.

Power to weight ratio looking good. Quite a good alternative for those who are considering 1.5 Myvi

• Faisal on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:11 pm

honda is going down.

• tommy on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:53 pm

Honda Malaysia should consider to rename this care to Honda Burok instead of brio. The rear is hideous. or Hodoh Brio.

• Sky0ne on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:57 pm

the front is ugly…nuff said

• Will they allow this car in Malaysia? They won’t want another competitor to Proton. They will probably slap some extra taxes to make sure other cars will always be more expensive than Proton

• peYno on Mar 18, 2011 at 7:49 pm

i tot gomen won’t allow this car to malaysia to protect perodua MYVI and VIVA market…
      small hatchback B segment

• If the interior of a City is crap, this will be even worse.

• beatnik on Mar 18, 2011 at 3:29 pm

College kids will cheer if this car is sold in Malaysia.. they will be down on their knees begging for their rich parents to buy for them :)

• i was thinking it will be priced near the Suzuki Alto in M’sia, but it looks like it will be priced near to the P2 alza….. just like the Honda Freed, was thinking it will be price next to Toyota Rush, but it is priced near to Honda civic 1.8

• pretto on Mar 18, 2011 at 4:27 pm

looks like naza sutera, honda version…

• peYno on Mar 18, 2011 at 7:52 pm

those who said this car is ugly… they are just kampung taste ppl…
    japanese knows better about ASEAN market…
    myvi and viva only laku ini malaysia market.. but fail in ASEAN Indonesia market…
    that means ppl taste is subjective…
    Honda target ASEAN market… they don’t care small market like malaysia

• tommy on Mar 19, 2011 at 7:10 pm

hey peyNo(is), u learnt actuarial science? or investments? malaysia is the test market for almost everything, what can sell in malaysia, definitely can sell out there, who says tht Myvi is a failure? go indon, and search for Daihatsu sirion, you will find them

• bennington on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:35 am

im saying this car is damn ugly, especially on the rear side, so i am kampung taste people la? c’mon laa, ugly or not, its subjective. when some people’s opinion isnt the same with yours, does it means u suddenly have the right to bash them? looks are subjective, yes i agree with that, but to hentam2 people who’s not on the same ship with yours, that doesnt make any sense. btw, frankly speaking, the rear side doesnt really justify that this car is produced by honda, more like a tata i guess hehe

• ezalian on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:42 pm

Beras Brio.. That’s yummy. But Honda Brio.. Hmmm~~ YUCK!

• apollo on Mar 20, 2011 at 8:48 am

will there be any sedan version? Paul, can you ask your friend to render one? thank you in advance.

and i think the car looks OK.

• Microman on Apr 06, 2011 at 10:02 pm

When the wife insists on driving, it is time to give her the Honda Brio with the CVT.