Honda recalls 18,056 Civics in the US, Odyssey too

Right, here we go again. Honda has issued a recall on 18,056 model-year 2011 Civic sedans in the US for a potential problem that may arise with the fuel pump module, located inside the gas tank.

The problematic part in the affected cars is the roll-over valve, a component in the fuel pump module. Observations during assembly have revealed that the ROV – which prevents fuel from coming out of the tank if a car overturns – may have been damaged during production; a cracked roll-over valve may allow fuel leakage from the gasoline tank into the evaporative emissions canister if the car rolls over.

The recall begins sometime in mid-April to inspect and, if necessary, replace the fuel pump module inside the gasoline tank of the affected cars. Honda says that no crashes or injuries have been reported related to the defect.

Elsewhere, 33,341 Odyssey MPVs are also being recalled in the US to get their windshield wiper linkage rod replaced. Apparently, the wipers may be frozen to the windscreen in heavy ice conditions, and switching on the wipers without freeing them from the glass might bend the linkage rod, thereby rendering them useless, which is not a good thing of course. Again, no crashes or injuries have been reported due to this defect.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• buntuot on Mar 18, 2011 at 11:04 am

ermm..nuclear leakage?

• taboogen on Mar 18, 2011 at 11:05 am

we want nasi lemal… :p

• Grandisan on Mar 18, 2011 at 11:12 am

Teruk betullah standard US sekarang nie , banyak barang tak der quality .Malaysia lagi bagus , Toyota Honda cars are never affected because our suppliers are diferent . We use a lot of ‘green technology ‘ hehe

• Skinny Fiber on Mar 18, 2011 at 11:21 am

i am too happy about it.

• They make profit, we consumers suffer, damn.

• stiggy25 on Mar 18, 2011 at 11:43 am

obviously,2010 was toyota year,and now,it’s honda year.

• hexagon on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:24 pm

when is P1 &P2 year? haha

• nolan on Mar 18, 2011 at 3:12 pm

no need recall….Malaysian people so rich they can send for repair using their own pocket money….

• Dontunderstand on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Anthony….why is it paultan seldom report recalls of other makes than T&H?
    for example last week Kia Motors in US is recalling more than 70,000 Optima midsize sedans to fix transmission problems that can cause the cars to roll even while they’re in park…..
    other car makers too….

• hexagon on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:14 pm

oh yeah… malaysia civic bila lagi HM? takkan wat bodo je..haha

• tamplom on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:19 pm

dont forget to make a report of proton recalls too okay? there must be a lot but been kept secret.

• of course lah!

• Tiadaid on Mar 18, 2011 at 2:48 pm

Alahai, got la…just search Proton recall on paultan & it was reported.

• nolan on Mar 18, 2011 at 3:09 pm

only once…..so damn funny hahahahaa…..

• scoobylution on Mar 18, 2011 at 3:30 pm

there is no other problem then what the hell want to recall?

• tiadaid on Mar 18, 2011 at 9:06 pm

Nolan, you don’t want to do research, why should I spoon feed you. Anyone who’s got half a brain knows that Proton have done some recalls before. It’s Perodua you should be worried about.

• punat74 on Mar 18, 2011 at 3:28 pm

what happen honda? last time local manufactured recall honda city & jazz, now calling civic but lucky not m’sia manufactured. RISAU lah macam nihh.. i baru beli secondhand civic 1.8 !!

• bobdbilder on Mar 20, 2011 at 7:44 am

I guess its more to the fact that you can easily get sued in the US than any other part of the world for selling competing products. This is a roll over valve issue. Its a check valve. Here, nobody buys an expensive powerful car and drive it hard. We also don’t get snow.

• get ready for NVH and wiper problem for recalls..as well as gearbox..mine is 2010 model mileage 7k already have weird sound :(

• Car Driver on Mar 18, 2011 at 11:33 pm

2010 model Civic with mileage 7K already weird sound.. hard to believe especially this model is very popular here in Malaysia….

• adiddaniel on Mar 19, 2011 at 9:06 am

So you all honda owner or lover better change to proton ispira or mitshubishi car i think if any only a tiny problem. OK bro its time for a change

• i also dont know why..the sound insulation si very poor….the disck brake already shows some rusting sign…luckily still get 10k free service….better get accord or altis than this one

• i really love honda civic because it look so cool…but unsuspectingly it is fliied with tiny disaster…i should bought nissan slyphy which is more cheaper..becoz mine is 1.8 S-L