VIDEO: Ford Ranger Wildtrak promotional footage

Ford of Europe has uploaded this promotional video featuring the new Ford Ranger Wildtrak, which will be unveiled for the ASEAN market at the Thai Motoshow next week. It’s one huge mother, with two diesel engine options – a 2.2 litre inline-4 turbodiesel making 150 PS and 375Nm of torque, and a larger 5-cylinder turbodiesel making 200 PS and 470Nm of torque, which is pretty much the second highest power and torque in this segment of diesel pick-ups, beaten only by the Nissan Navara 3.0 DCi V6 with 231 PS and 550Nm! Not sure if ASEAN will be getting the larger engine or not but it sure sounds mighty fun.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• CamPor on Mar 18, 2011 at 5:20 pm

wow…nice…look really tough and the interior looks like urban car…

• scoobydoo on Mar 18, 2011 at 5:24 pm

wow 3.2 6-speed MT….but too bad rear seats & legroom is still the same as current’s….so far only Hilux & Triton has bigger cabin with better rear legroom…even Navara’s so called Mother Trucker oso cramped behind….

• lonelyobserve on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:54 pm

How about the ride at the back?

• l3ryan on Mar 18, 2011 at 9:37 pm

how would u know that the rear seat and legroom is the same?!?

• I’m no Photoshop guru, but this should help illustrate the difference in size between the Hilux VIGO and the 2011 Ford Ranger. If you want to validate the image, compare the wheelbase – 3000mm for VIGO, 3225mm for the New Ranger – you’ll see I’m within a couple of mm :)

http://img121.imageshack.us/i/vigovsranger.jpg/

• damnnn nice.. when is m’sian launching bro??

• jlooi on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:40 pm

Company just order Ford XLT auto……..hv to wait another 5 yrs time to change car again.

• lonelyobserve on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:55 pm

You better pray Thailand starts to assemble early.

• jlooi on Mar 19, 2011 at 1:20 pm

thailand sure will asseble, only problem is our market can accept it or not.

• messi on Mar 18, 2011 at 5:37 pm

Well, good specification and quality interior but this product will fail in malaysia market with small cabin space. Just look at the back door and you should be able to know the size.

• untouchable on Mar 18, 2011 at 6:01 pm

been waiting since last year… come to papa ….. rough baby……

• kuchingites on Mar 18, 2011 at 6:25 pm

nice….. drooolllllllll…

• shawal on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:09 pm

Whoah! that is one schweet lookin ride!

• Hope it drives like navara and thoughness of hilux. Navara kind of fail for offroad compared to hilux but superbly fun on tarmac.

• my company have 2 navara and 1 hilux..navara have a small backseat space..drove it at 35 deg offroad it have to be pull by hilux..and in our hilux have an issue of gearbox after carrying an extra load..

Ground clearance on navara & hilux also bit difference since navara is kind of low..

but looking at the interior of new ranger.. thinking about getting it for myself this time around..

• nice one by Ford ! Any idea how much would that be ?

• Francis on Mar 18, 2011 at 11:45 pm

I always thinks that Hilux got the most handsome looking but not anymore after seeing this. 2.2Liter is quite a smart move if it comes to Msia compare those tax of 2.5Liter. Hopes it still remain 6speed spec & price less than 100K when intro to Msia

• Hilux Owner on Mar 19, 2011 at 3:17 am

Press release says the new Ranger is 19cm longer and 22cm longer in wheelbase. Look at the side picture of Wild Trek, the rear doors is even longer than the Hilux one. I think the Ranger might even go from being the worst in space to the best in one shot … hmmm … let’s see.

• nolan on Mar 19, 2011 at 3:31 am

i like the colour and the style quite nice overall……..macho truck for macho man…..

• The sales at Ford Roadshow (Sunway) told me launching end of this year, but not sure which ‘end’. :)

• seancorr on Mar 19, 2011 at 11:51 am

Whoa…steam sial when see this truck on the road. Miles apart from the current Ford Ranger we have here lol. Now if only I have enough reason to purchase one when it reaches our shores!

• i can see this Ranger have longer rear door than current one :)

• tricycle on Mar 19, 2011 at 8:08 pm

still prefer Navara with more power and torque. look wise, this truck improve a lot compared to current Ford Ranger model. but still prefer Navara tough look to this one.

• transformer on Mar 19, 2011 at 11:28 pm

i assume this wildtrak edition should be at highest spec(3.2L i5, 6speeder) and not the usual Ranger(2.5L i4, 5speeder)….

nice interior, especially that “swiss knife” looks dash
    nice smoked tail-light
    nice smoked head-light and grill except the bottom part(bottom tier, in dark gray and silver grey, dunno what…?) its hideous! please rectify it….

my second wish rear seat space are bigger(+ ultra seat capable like Jazz) than most of current offering….

• Heck! Santa fe 2.2 tcdi makes more hp and torque than this truck!

• ranger owner on Mar 21, 2011 at 9:35 am

santa fe… is not a truck lol…

• carls on Mar 21, 2011 at 3:44 pm

when expect to come to malaysia market? price range? very though, nice. waiting 4 this wildtrak…

• The 2011 Ford Ranger has now been revealed in detail on the Thailand Ford website:

http://www.ford.co.th/servlet/Satellite?c=DFYPage&cid=1248902465253&pagename=wrapper&site=FTHEN

• Elchino on Mar 11, 2014 at 10:28 am

Anyone out there know whether I can still buy a new wildtrak. Heard it’s no longer available, if so, why not since many people like me are just waiting to get our hands on one?

• Elchino on Aug 19, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Just been told by my ford salesman that the wildtrak will be available again in about 6 months but the price is estimated at about $120,000. Is this true?