Waiting for your Hyundai ix35? Have an ix35 while waiting

Here’s a novel way to keep your customers happy, especially if they’re waiting for their new ride to arrive and it’s taking way longer than expected. Over in the UK, Hyundai has come up with a rather interesting plan, one that sees customers waiting for their new ix35 (the Tucson over here) to arrive to get an ix35 in the meantime.

Confusing? Not, once the details become clear. Seems that demand for the ix35 has been unprecedented, not only across Europe but also worldwide, resulting in supply not being able to meet demand, especially so in the case of the 2.0 litre diesel derivative.

So, in what is a unique approach, the UK office has come up with this: 200 of its longest waiting customers who have booked the 2.0 diesel SUVs will be offered a 1.7 litre diesel ix35, of which there is ready stock of. They purchase the manual 1.7, use it until their original 2.0 order arrives, at which point they trade-in the two-wheel drive 1.7 for the same price they paid for it, paying only the difference in the price of the 1.7 and 2.0 diesel versions.

The no-cost implications offer, which runs till the end of the month, also sees Hyundai giving the customer £300 to cover the costs incurred for arranging finance and insurance on two cars instead of one. The company is currently looking at the feasibility of rolling out this offer to other customers.

It’s a great deal for the UK ix35 buyer, so guess that’s one for them then. Don’t expect to be seeing something like this happening here from any car company, certainly not on this scale, if ever.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• lkf0512 on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:04 pm

What is I decided to stay with the 1.7 and dump the 2.0?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:12 pm

Then I suppose you just tell them you don’t want the 2.0, and would like to keep the 1.7, since you’ve already paid for it in full anyway. With the long waiting list on the 2.0, someone will be definitely happy that you’ve cancelled your order.

• well, i think, from marketing standpoint, they will bump up sales for this model and for hyundai, as a whole. looks good on paper too, as more of their cars enter the market sooner. once you trade-in, it goes to the 2nd hand car market already instead of coming back to hyundai.

somebody tell me whether my analysis is correct or not.

• Not entirely true, as the cars can be kept as courtesy cars for customers who sent in their cars for major repairs. Courtesy cars are common in Europe/US, unlike our Bolehland! Altho sales is good, but if the customers opted for a trade in, then the “losses” have to be absorbed by Hyundai/dealer. Anyway, can only envy the folks there, if only similar program can be introduced here as I heard people waited for 6 months before Sime Darby delivers the Tucson/Ix35 to the customers.

• Rhys Millen on Mar 19, 2011 at 2:59 pm

That’s because cars are slot cheaper there because of low or no tax. And wert service they earn much more everytime you do your servicing. Here in boleh land people can’t even come to terms with paying good money for good service. They automatically run to the nearest cherry tree once warranty ends an while they think servicing costs are cheaper they sometimes get ripped off by paying for brand new discounted parts prices and getting recond parts without knowing it.

• ThePolygon on Mar 21, 2011 at 10:25 am

The first batch of ix35 in M’sia was rather limited in numbers. When arriving at the showroom, there was 1 unit which was already booked but still on display. The salesman said the units were snapped up so fast they have problem getting any show units that time and have to wait a few months for the nextbatch to be imported in. Note… imported in… not to customers hand yet.

The customer ended up buying a CRV.
        Yes Hyundai knows this kind of thing is happening that’s why they are trying to avoid these diverted sales. The ix35 is good futuristic looking with good specs and all but when a guy wants a car, the wants it the fast.

By the way… is the new Sportage coming to M’sia? No word at all…

• Adrian on Mar 18, 2011 at 1:33 pm

the theory sounds.

• insperut on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:14 pm

so lucky la them… sigh

• imbarabbit on Mar 18, 2011 at 1:08 pm

if the 1.7 variant goes back to hyundai, it would have depreciated, wouldn’t it? anyway, pretty good stuff. clever move.

• squawk on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:45 pm

Hyundai would just clean it up and sell it as pre-registered units.

• wolfsburg on Mar 18, 2011 at 1:21 pm

They have been waiting for their ix35 for as long as 5 months…
    http://www.whatcar.com/car-news/long-wait-over-for-hyundai-customers-/256010

• Luffy on Mar 18, 2011 at 2:08 pm

This car really looks good in flesh…Anyway, so generous of them

• Gavin on Mar 18, 2011 at 2:54 pm

Yay and we get stupid hybrids

• longjaafar on Mar 18, 2011 at 3:03 pm

Auto Dunia, a subsidiary of Tan Chong, used to be the Audi dealer and to promote the brand, they offered to buy a used Audi for the same price that the owner paid for, subject to the owner ordering a new Audi.
    I thought that was quite innovative, but cost TC a lot of money.., because somehow the brand did not really take off. Now it’s a different story with Audi.

• Vincent on Mar 18, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Good move, I believe Hyundai might have seen a lot of order cancellation due to too long waiting period.

For this case, they still have 50-50 chance.

If customer keep the 1.7, they would have sell additional slow moving stock. If they don’t, they still can take it back and use for others purpose.

• nolan on Mar 19, 2011 at 3:21 am

then the second hand 1.7 ix35 will hand over to the proud malaysian owner….hahahaa

• considered 2 cars sold for every customer..then can claim higher sales #?