MINI Countryman test drive report from Hamburg, Germany

The new MINI, or the BMW MINI, is one of the great motoring successes in recent times. We’re not sure, but it’s possible than even the bigwigs in Munich never envisioned such great reception for the reborn icon. Whether as a style accessory that transcends class in Europe or a toy for the rich in Malaysia, the MINI is still every bit as desirable as it was when it debut nearly a decade ago (has it really been that long?)

Fun to look at and fun to drive it may be, but the hip and happening early adopters from a few years ago might have moved on in life, and may require more space. To keep them in the brand they love, and to attract those who love the idea of a MINI but whose lifestyle/family does not permit, a bigger MINI was needed.

Continue reading the report after the jump.

So came the Clubman in 2008, which was basically an elongated MINI hatchback with quirky barn style rear doors and a little Clubdoor on the driver’s side for RHD cars. Identical to the hatch from the B pillars forward, the Clubman was longer than the original car by 240 mm including an 80 mm longer wheelbase. It improved on the style over space packaging of the MINI hatch, but not by much. And for the extra room, one would have to trade the MINI’s perky shape for an odd design. Didn’t really catch on, and we’re not surprised.

It’s still early days, but we’re predicting that the new MINI Countryman won’t suffer the same fate. This is a car that’s truly practical and spacious (qualities that MINI drivers might find alien) yet fun to drive, like a MINI should be. It’s a likable car, as we found out driving it in northern Germany.

Let’s start with the looks. It may be the first MINI measuring over four metres and the first modern MINI with four doors, but there’s no doubt which family the Countryman belongs to, thanks to the cartoonish face and those familiar proportions. Like the hatch, this is something you’ll either get or don’t, though. I wasn’t crazy about the hatch’s looks when it came out, and it still hasn’t grown on me all these while; perhaps I’m not the trendy buyer they’re targeting either. But the Countryman did grow on me after awhile…

The headlamps aren’t exactly round here, but they’re large, and the main projector is very prominent. There’s an extra slat of grille to mark out the Cooper S variant, but the “bridge” between the A pillars and front wheelarches are standard across the range. The roof looks stuck on, which is a MINI trademark, but the glasshouse is unique. It’s as though there are two segments – front and rear – merging at the C pillars. Looks a little incongruous at first sight, but I hardly noticed it after awhile. Our Cooper S test car wore 17-inch rims.

At the rear, the elements have been reshuffled and enlarged. The license plate moves down to the bumper, which has two cutouts for the pipes, and the winged MINI logo is really large. The overall look is truly unique, and you’ll notice the Countryman not just for its bigger size – it’s more than just a larger scale MINI hatch.

Size wise, the Countryman is 411 mm longer than the 3.7 metre long MINI, 106 mm wider and 154 mm taller. While those are big jumps, the C’man’s footprint is actually smaller than a five-door VW Golf’s (about the same width but 89 mm shorter), so we’re not looking at a bulky SUV here. If the exterior dimensions mimic a C-segment hatch, the 350-litre boot space is on par with the Golf, which is far bigger than the Clubman’s 260 L and the hatchback’s tiny 160 L.

Step inside and you’ll notice the unchanged template for the dash. While the design is toy like – huge centre speedo, tiny rev counter in front of the wheel, large round air vents (they seem even bigger here), toggle switches – the quality isn’t. Plastics are of a high grade and switches and buttons feel good in use. As usual, ergonomics aren’t perfect when style is the priority, but it’s just a matter of getting used to the layout.

MINI Countryman test drive report from Hamburg, GermanyYou’d have noticed the large colour screen within the speedo. That’s MINI Connected, which is similar to BMW ConnectedDrive (click here to read all about it). If one has an iPhone (which we presume is the phone of choice for trendy MINI customers), he/she just needs to download a free app, then connect the Apple to the car.

Controlled by a joystick and two buttons (home/option, located between the front seats), one can call up RSS news feeds, Twitter updates and a variety of web radio channels, among other things. There’s a special dock for the iPhone in centre box. We’re expecting MINI Connected to feature in Malaysian bound Countrymen, as it was recently made available in Malaysia with the facelifted MINI hatch.

MINI Countryman test drive report from Hamburg, GermanyThe most unique feature in the Countryman cabin is the Centre Rail. Imagine a “railway track” that runs the length of the interior, where you can clip on accessories on it and slide them around. In our test car, there were cupholders and a sunglass box, and there are plans for more cutesy stuff.

But unfortunately, this is only applicable to the four-seater version; the five-seater BMW Malaysia will import has a rail that ends with the front seats. As with the individual seats seen here, the three-seat rear bench can slide in a 60:40 split.

Comfort wise, there’s good space for all four individuals on board, and there’s plenty of shoulder room at the back, which I got comfortable in. Quite sure that it won’t feel the same with three abreast in our Malaysian spec car, but the higher seating position, taller roof and extra glass area over conventional hatchbacks makes for breezy journeys. Needless to say, it’s a much better car for passengers over the MINI hatch – the difference is night and day.

Added practicality aside, the big question is does the Countryman drive like a MINI. In a nutshell, take away the inevitable consequences of the added size (not so easy to nip in that gap in traffic), height (body roll) and weight (still fast but not so explosive) and yes, it does drive very well, the experience is still fun, still MINI like.

Each paired with a panda coloured Countryman, we were let loose in Northern Germany starting from the port city of Hamburg. Since the diesels will have little chance of reaching here, yours truly opted for the Cooper S Countryman ALL4, the highest spec petrol powered variant. ‘ALL4’ signifies four-wheel drive, which is a first for the brand. It’s a full time permanent system that splits torque equally between axles, with the ability to chuck 100% to either side when required. This is done via an electromagnetically controlled central clutch.

The Cooper S, with its 184 hp and 240 Nm of torque available between 1,600 and 5,500 rpm (260 Nm on overboost), is the best performing Countryman. Those figures are made from a twin scroll turbocharged 1.6-litre direct injection Prince engine, now with BMW’s Valvetronic variable valve management. This is the first MINI to join all three forces – turbo, DI, Valvetronic – in one engine. Our test car was a six-speed manual.

The Cooper S Countryman with ALL4 accelerates to 100 km/h in 7.9 seconds and has a top speed of 210 km/h (8.3 sec, 205 km/h for the six-speed automatic that will come to Malaysia). Average fuel consumption stands at 6.7 litres per 100 km, which is a litre less than the automatic at 7.7 l/100 km.

MINI Countryman test drive report from Hamburg, GermanyWe are fans of the Prince family of engines, be it in Peugeots or MINIs. Pulls with gusto, smooth revving, nice linear delivery, it has all the vital ingredients of a good engine. The script is unchanged in the Cooper S Countryman, which is properly quick. While 7.9 seconds to 100 km/h doesn’t sound too impressive, one is rarely left wanting for more pace thanks to strong in gear acceleration and flexibility. In a word, drivability.

The six-speed self shifter is also a joy to use. Engaging gears require just a light and short throw into the well defined gates. Not the best we’ve ever tried, but it’s slick, positive and not easy to snag. No complaints about the clutch as well.

But if you jump in the fastest Countryman expecting MINI Cooper S hatchback pace, you won’t find it. Our manual Countryman ALL4 is 250 kg heavier than the 1,130 kg Cooper S hatch and it shows. It’s no longer manic, but still quick. Not only in pace, but the ‘less manic’ trend is also evident in other aspects of the drive.

If the Countryman was a mainstream C-segment Euro hatch, it’s straight out from Graz to the top section of the class, driving wise. We’re sorry if you’re lining up to hear bad news, but we can’t find any in the drive.

The controls are all brilliantly intuitive, so much so that we’re trying hard to refrain from using motoring cliches such as ‘extension of your limbs’. The zero slack steering is very quick and the resulting turn in response sharp, and yet it retains enough composure and stability at high speeds to not feel nervous. There’s a constant supply of feedback, too, and torque steer isn’t that big a distraction, just little tugs at full throttle. The brake pedal feels natural, is easy to modulate and the stopping power is strong.

This C’man acquitted itself very well on our German country road route. Despite the raised height, body roll is not at all an issue, noticeable only when you consciously look out for it. Overall grip and traction out of corners is strong (no, we didn’t mention ‘drives like on rails’). The primary ride comfort is eye opening for a MINI, although the smooth surfaces we encountered didn’t really give an idea of how the big MINI would fare on Malaysian roads.

We did sample the AWD capabilities of the Countryman, too. It’s not for serious mud plugging and off roading due to the limited ground clearance (only 149 mm, a BMW X1 has 194 mm) and road tyres, but it’s very fun and playful on gravel. If you do buy one, let the Countryman provide you some laughs with its tail wagging antics. We say ‘buy’ because it’s unlikely that the BMW showroom will let you wander off tarmac in their test unit!

Put the Countryman on the MINI scale and ‘less manic’ is again the phrase that I think best describes it. The difference is for the better, at least for me. Side by side with a Cooper S hatch, the big one is less flat in the corners and not so explosive in acceleration, but it possesses a much less ‘active’ ride comfort, true long distance capability and crucially, retains the fun to drive qualities of the brand. Go karting is fun, but I don’t want to do it everyday.

An enlarged MINI is an an oxymoron all right, but there nothing wrong about the Countryman’s blend of qualities. Who says more matured means more boring?

The MINI Countryman will be launched in Malaysia this week. Two variants will be available – Cooper and Cooper S – and we’re estimating that the non turbo Cooper will be priced around RM230k, with the Cooper S priced around RM270k. Stay tuned for the confirmed prices and specs!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Alpha on Mar 21, 2011 at 2:41 pm

Love the rear!!

• kadok on Mar 21, 2011 at 2:44 pm

woow.. i like

• rapidshifter on Mar 21, 2011 at 5:36 pm

me too… looks so cute and unigue but the price toooo unique…….

• I wish Malaysian reviewers would be more straight forward with their comments and opinions. Just call a spade a spade. No need to talk in circles. The Mini Countryman is ugly. It looks like a Mini afflicted with gigantism.

The Mini sells so well firstly because of its looks. BMW got the looks right when they relaunched the Mini. It looks compact, it looks funky, it looks stylish. The Countryman looks massive, ungainly and cartoonish.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 21, 2011 at 3:47 pm

So you don’t dig the looks, fine.
      Aren’t we entitled to our own opinion?

• mjperak up on Mar 21, 2011 at 4:59 pm

Ed also entitled his own opinion, 1 thumbs up for Ed.

• Tan Tom on Mar 21, 2011 at 6:00 pm

The problem is that he commented on the Malaysian reviewers, which is an insult. If he just leaves his opinion here, it’s alright. Unfortunately, he also insulted the Malaysian reviewers…. So why did u give him a thumbs up??

Regards.

• Ed's friend on Mar 22, 2011 at 9:02 am

I wish Malaysian car buyer/ enthusiast would be more open with their comments and opinions. Just simply give negative comments if the car not physically eye catching and expand that idea by talk in circles. The Mini Countryman is more than just look. Its a proven icon, some considered fashion, and its technically advance too.

The Mini sells so well every time and not only because of its looks. Its an icon for decades you idiot. BMW got most of the things right when they relaunched the Mini. It looks almost identical with the original Mini. You are just cartoonish.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 21, 2011 at 4:27 pm

Ed, everything in life is subject to subjectivism. Indeed, that is what makes us different, and why we do not all walk the same path, make the same choices, love the same folks.

What may be massive, ungainly and cartoonish to one, may be divine, elegant and irresistibly tangible to another. Works for people, works for cars. Beholder, beauty, eye, it is oft said. I think we can all agree to disagree, do you think not? After all, the world has been doing so for long enough.

• bongek on Mar 21, 2011 at 4:47 pm

if you are good in give review, why dont you start ur on webpage,,,, then compete with this paultan.org … i really want to see, how good u are

• Paul Tan on Mar 21, 2011 at 5:03 pm

Here’s a personalized review just for you.

“Ed thinks the car very ugly leh!!!”

Other readers are entitled to abit more depth on how the car is.

• Alpha on Mar 21, 2011 at 5:29 pm

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.If you don’t like it,you don’t.

Don’t force people to like what you like or to hate what you hate.Respect the views from others.

If Danny likes the car,Danny likes the car.Who are you to say that Danny is not being straight forward??Are you Danny??No.Nuff said.

• bombostic on Mar 21, 2011 at 5:39 pm

Yea i think u certainly got some Valid Points there lol, yea straight forward less circle simpler english pls lol…coz english not majority native language i suppose lol… keep it simple english good for kids to learn more about automobiles too lol…i think anthony made a great points ter too! paul tan is simply the best in the world wide web!! danny is simply cute in his comments! finally monday ends!

• “..yea straight forward less circle simpler english pls..” No. Let each individual write his own stail, more fun this way.

• CamPor on Mar 21, 2011 at 3:33 pm

a.w.e.s.o.m.e . . . car

• 4545er on Mar 21, 2011 at 3:44 pm

arghhhhhh..i would really want one
    and this prince engine is really sound soooooo tempting

• Hafidz on Mar 21, 2011 at 3:52 pm

lovely!

• donanoni on Mar 21, 2011 at 3:52 pm

The review is just too long for me to read. But to me the new MINI is simple,OVERPRICE!

• Mozilla Chrome on Mar 21, 2011 at 3:56 pm

Mini mini miney mo,
    Too expensive for Malaysians tho..

• Lovely car… but at the same price level as a BMW 323i, its not worth it.

• Ridiculous price except for ridiculously rich.

• ahshuy on Mar 21, 2011 at 6:46 pm

it looks perfectly fine, linear and stylish.

but it is not something that ppl like me can afford, all i can do is drooling at it :(

• Shame, a beautiful car with an un-beautiful (sic) price.

Do you think when the new AP structure comes into picture, the price will drop significantly. After all, one just need to fork out 10k for an AP.

• waterman on Mar 21, 2011 at 8:15 pm

This car is selling in Korea for only RM120k++
      guess it will double when coming to Malaysia.

• this is classic..the beauty..n stylish….umphh….!!

• raf789 on Mar 21, 2011 at 8:03 pm

Not the most beautiful..
    Should be below 220k

• droll on Mar 21, 2011 at 9:58 pm

the entire fleet of cars offered by any BMW importer in m’sia is overpriced – not just the MINI. but trust me, there will be people buying this (just like the ugly 5 series GT!)

• henry on Mar 21, 2011 at 10:37 pm

Should have a hybrid version….then the price will be way cheaper!

• Lim Kopi on Mar 22, 2011 at 1:14 am

Danny & Paul

Pretty cool job there, travelling the world, wreck cars on roads :)

Do you happen to be recruiting ? :)

• SoMeOnE on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:42 am

lets just talk about cars people..quality of ‘reviews’ are really subjective..some think its good..so wont…but the comments sections are about them cars…if you aint like a site..dont visit it simple….i guess everyone wants thier 30 seconds of fame…imagine every review just talked about specs …over and over again….u call this people ‘brochure boys’ coz they believe all the mumbo jumbo in the back is actually manifests in the real world……

.its nice to have wordplay. and stuff to break up the monotomy (if they know how to use it) .its funny coz we malaysians love it when european testers wax lyrical in their reviews (infact we plonk serious cash at times)…colonial mindset?..ermm i dont know…i wont say this site has awesome reviews but its solid and infomative..and if u can find another joint that gives us a look at the local scene ( and i dun mean those tuner sites/forums…most are lame) the way this guys do..then i would be stuffed….end…..

• zulkhas on Mar 22, 2011 at 9:01 am

fashion icon & gadgets on wheels with sweet prince motor..dare to be different

• vw_fan on Mar 22, 2011 at 9:43 am

What’s with all the negativity. All cars have their own market.

I can remember the time the first cayenne came about. There were even more negativities surrounding it. But it proved to change the fortunes of Porsche positively and the number of grey imports on the road these days are mind boggling.

I actually thought that this review was very well written and had a fine time reading it.

Good job Danny!

I think a lot of people don’t look at cars in totality (at least the people who makes a lot of comments). First impressions are important and buying what you like is even more important, but then the issues of practicalities and whether a certain car suits your lifestyle, image, driving style and probably most importantly BUDGET! There is no perfect car.

The 2 door Mini is still a very niche car and they need to expand their model line in order to expand. The countryman is a much better attempt by Mini than the clubman. I like the way it looks and the gadgety accessories. Maybe its more like buying an expensive gadget rather than a car.

Wait till you see the aston martin SUV! Now that’s my personal opinion.

• mmouse on Mar 22, 2011 at 10:25 am

A lot of comparisons have been made between Nissan Juke and Mini on the web both have its pros and cons.. not really conclusive.. I like countryman more though than Juke. Any idea if Juke is going to come to Malaysia?

• kuching on Mar 22, 2011 at 10:43 am

that kind of car worth only below RM40,000.00!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Small ugly car.

• peris on Mar 22, 2011 at 12:28 pm

saw a little disguise countryman last nite at cyberjaya…cant take phote coz dark and raining..the driver change seat at that time..

• Dipak on Mar 22, 2011 at 1:45 pm

Paul, how about some pics with a person standing next to it? Its difficult to get a sense of scale on this car, simply because it has so many visual cues from the regular mini that one expects it to be small in size.

I’m guessing X1-sized?

• Paul Tan on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:26 pm

Here you go. Looks like still smaller than X1.

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=MINI-Countryman-Hi-Res&image=P90055098.jpg

• Any reason why we don’t get to choose the 6-speed manual variant here? At that pricing we should be given the option to choose what transmission we want….

• KL Stray Cat on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Four door MINI…I can live with it :-)
    Smaller or bigger than the 1-series? If such a comparison was possible ?

• taufic on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:28 pm

mini was never expensive
    ops im in bolehland

• firefox on May 21, 2011 at 8:46 pm

i loving it..

• Just because its a MINI, everyone falls for it.
    If this was rabaged as a Hyundai, H&T would dump it.
    If this was a new Honda HR-V, I bet the reviewer would say alot of bad comments.

I really dislike how everything foreign, especially european, is considered a marvel, be it for expensive boleh-land prices, small capacity engine, odd-looks. Why do people still hate, for example, CRV, its odd looking, its quite pricey and its a 2.0.

Why? Because its a Mini..

• I think this version of Mini is hideous. The proportions of the Countryman are absolutely awful. Some people just love eccentric looking weird things. Would I choose to paint my house high gloss sunflower yellow with day glow fuschia pink trim? Never! But some weird soul would find it dandy. It’s what makes us all different. Some of us have a knack for good taste and implement those virtues in our everyday lives, while others think a Cracker Jack plastic ring is savvier than a precious gem. Go figure…..