Spyshots: 2011 Perodua Myvi and Myvi SE continues testing

Here are two more sets of photos of the new 2011 Perodua Myvi – this yellow hatch with the plate B1151A seems to be going all over Malaysia! This set of photos were snapped by reader MFMJ in Kuala Terengganu. According to MFMJ, these 2 cars were snapped together and they looked different – the yellow is most likely some kind of top of the line Myvi SE with some design differentiation compared to the one in front of it.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2080]

And this set of photos below was uploaded on Facebook by Beng Obeng. Notice in one of the photos that the silver car in the background has a different alloy wheel design compared to the yellow disguised Myvi SE.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2082]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• the R emblem stands for what? re-badge? yeah, we already knew that. long time ago!

• nazgul on Mar 23, 2011 at 2:21 pm

its hard to admit but myvi sold well because of the rebadge mentality – ‘its toyota maa…’ and i am more afraid to foresee that early next year this car will be top seller…hopefully i am wrong…

• taboogen on Mar 23, 2011 at 12:55 pm

whylah need to masked the car.. internet already showing the real pict

• Type F on Mar 23, 2011 at 1:51 pm

Agree, no need to masked the car..
      It’s the same as Japan Passo, no suprise at all..
      The same Ugly girlie car..

• that is the tactic to draw some1 attention..
      or else, nobody aware it is all new Myvi.

• vincent on Mar 23, 2011 at 12:58 pm

It is meaningless to have all these facelifts, color changes and special editions.
    I hope that Perodua can me more serious on building a safer car, having a more solid steel structure for the car which can save more malaysian’s lives during accident.
    I am not confident at all after checking out the Myvis and Alzas. The 3-4 stars crash test done by local tester is a shiok sendiri test which is a joke.
    I would go for a Hyunda i10 if I want to buy a small and economy car.

• Supah Mini on Mar 23, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Myvi is Daihatsu Sirion rebadged, no?

http://www.euroncap.com/tests/daihatsu_sirion_2005/236.aspx

4 stars for a sub RM50k car. Even Ford Ranger only got 2 stars, TWO!

At the end of the day, you use freaking tank driving like a madman also no use. Malaysian driver attitude is the one needed change, not how many stars a car got.

I dunno about the Alza safety though.

• Bob Vettel on Mar 23, 2011 at 2:35 pm

Use of Sirion test results are irrelevent. Are they of the same spec, the same material? How can you be sure Myvi is not a downgraded version of the Sirion? I bet if you test a Myvi & a Sirion side by side you’re going to get a different result!

• vincent on Mar 23, 2011 at 2:52 pm

Local car maker tend to cut down the thickness of their steel in order to maximize the profit. Try to knock the steel with your knuckles and feel it yourself. You are not getting a Sirion imported from Japan, it is a local made Myvi. Same thing to Inspira and Lancer, you may get the same shape, but different thickness or quality in steel.
          Comparing a Ford Ranger and Sirion doesn make sense, please read how the stars are rated, they are two different categories given their curb weight.

• VoidDance on Mar 23, 2011 at 3:45 pm

We can’t really compare a small hatchback with a pickup truck in term of safety rating. Yes, Ford Ranger got lower rating but it is the same with almost all pickups.

• ray_jay on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:29 pm

LOL… i dare you go head to head with the Ranger and Sirion!

Lotsa Sirion points are coz’ of pedestrian contribution… or else say bye bye to your beloved Sirion in head to head!

• tokmoh on Mar 23, 2011 at 3:06 pm

lol, agreeable. Most foreign students from Africa, Arab, etc prefer Proton (especially Gen.2, I wonder why) because they just can’t stand Perodua’s tin milo feel. Yeah, they admit Perodua fuel consumption slightly better, but safety wise? Emmm…

Btw, this is not really a statement to kissarse Proton, these foreign students of course prefer import brands, but they’re not THAT rich, not like some Arab prince who’s ashamed of his gold-plated Ferrari because everyone else takes the tube (of which the daddy replied asking him to buy his own train with the millions he banked in).

• spearmint on Mar 24, 2011 at 5:59 pm

i think it because Proton car have boot so it can hide a dead body or drug behind…

• Benzine on Jun 11, 2011 at 10:34 am

Hahaha, spearmint, yes I agree with u, that’s probably the reason. Plus 2nd old protons cheaper than MyVi’s. Also how many of them ( the
          Middle easterns and Africans) are really so called “students” anyway???????

• nebula87 on Mar 23, 2011 at 1:04 pm

Lol…that yellow color suddenly reminds me of New York Taxi Cab….XD

• pk yew on Mar 23, 2011 at 1:04 pm

passo model for myvi??? quite ugly le

• Bapak_Hussein on Mar 23, 2011 at 1:12 pm

The front design have some Hyundat Avante elements…Which is great (^_^)
    1000x better looking than the current Saga FL (fugly lapsap) lol….

• yes,the extreme version is stunning, the normal one look good. But to say nww saga fl is ugly, i think something wrong with ur eyes.saga fl is not the most beautiful car in the market,but it still a beauty

• Rockmebaby on Mar 23, 2011 at 8:41 pm

The Saga FL actually make the original Saga BLM look better now….in hint sign lol hahahaha

• learner on Mar 24, 2011 at 9:46 am

if you refer to avante headlamps, no, you wrong, because that spyshot myvi headlamp is tapped, it is more rounded than squared.

• firebond on Mar 23, 2011 at 1:14 pm

Tax Structure based on CC…..very primitive

• waste of time spying on local cars !!!

• Matchy on Mar 23, 2011 at 1:21 pm

Another viral marketing by Perodua…

• mohd shaif on Mar 23, 2011 at 1:24 pm

Front view is like chubby version of scirocco

• confused on Mar 23, 2011 at 2:28 pm

kinda look like roc indeed.. which is a shame bcoz roc is an awesome car…. launch dy la wei…. no more surprise here Mr. Amin..

• Malaysian, always say bad things about our own product. But normally they and their families are the one who buys and use the thing that are bad for them at first.

• wuttaheck on Mar 23, 2011 at 4:04 pm

our local product? do you mean our bumpers, headlamp & tail lamp? LOL!!!

• iamisiamwhatiam on Mar 23, 2011 at 5:38 pm

Nope. We are bashing Perodua 10 year facelift mentality.

• accord on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:58 pm

nice looking but sadly a very bad car.. i m sure it will still using milo tin.

• Testing for what? Just a plug-n-play bodykit! This is nothing except cheap promotion…

• SeriuosSAM on Mar 23, 2011 at 2:03 pm

perodua might be doing spyshot tour…
    next stop johor… so won’t be surprise if next spyhot picture will be send to paul tan from johorian

LOL

:D

• Kecoh on Mar 23, 2011 at 2:05 pm

paul,i got few total exposed new myvi topic which my facebook friend post.no taped n oso got interior..how do i can send to u?

• cardreamer on Mar 23, 2011 at 2:09 pm

Yeah..me too..wondering what are they testing..and why need to hide the car..don’t even their car actually!…or am i missing something? or else, the car will look like any wallah sport car once they ‘unhide’ it?..ha..haa..funny..

• MouMouRen on Mar 23, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Look great for New MYVI. Got projector for Myvi SE. Nice. Anyway, this is a good looking car. Please lah Malaysian, don say bad things about Malaysia Auto industrylah. If u so rich, buy branded car lah and diam diam. Don say ugly here and ugly therelah, if u say ugly, go buy Japan Daihatsu PASSO lor. Me driving a Perodua VIVA, I happy with my car.

• the interior already leaks on other website,in my opinion the cheapest rm53k,most likely in rm56k,very expensive for small car

• luv2xlr8 on Mar 23, 2011 at 2:44 pm

vincent :
    ur joking rite?!… facelifts n etc are good business, it gives consumers choices… every! car manufacture does it… read the papers young 1… take the pagani zonda its 5+years old?! n it has numerous facelifts, i dont hear u bithcin bout it…
    perodua not safe meh?!… perdua is still a toyota, a daihatsu is still a toyota, a scion is still a toyota heck a lexus is still a toyota… get it?!… it dont matter wat car u drive, dead or alive is still 50-50… there are people who die in a crash driving high end cars n no1 seems 2talk bout it… hmmm…
    Hyundai i10 how old r u 10?!.. a small and economy car, is still a perodua unless u want to pay premium get a Smart, it still usess a japanese engine-guess who?!…

• khairul on Mar 23, 2011 at 4:03 pm

marketing method – very cheap
    selling cars price – expensive
    any new development – copy from toyota/daihatsu kot…
    boring and nothing special… just to heat up local car news…

• captain_gaban on Mar 23, 2011 at 4:04 pm

lame..

• bakuteh on Mar 23, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Perodua’s quality just got from adequate to bad over the years… Just look at the Viva and Myvi’s material? Really macam milo tin… I used to hate PRoton cars but after driving a persona, i changed my mindset about proton cars from then on… Try opening the door of a proton car, you’ll feel the weight of the steel… Try knocking on the body of an Exora!!! I don need to explain further… Go feel it yourself…

• P2 sales advisors just been briefed, launching in May … collection maybe July…
    P2 again will be no.1 carseller for Msia for 2011

• sibukjeee on Mar 23, 2011 at 4:39 pm

ala…those who say any car bad or good,they din realise wat car for wat type buyer.myvi maybe for some ppl is ugly,not safe when crash.but look at tata nano,oso got ppl buying.why?it is within budget.earning 3k more per mth,who doesnt want better car as altiz or civic…no need eat?anak bini camne?
    bujang boleh la beli altiz or civic…saja lagak kat awek.sembunyi makan megi bila takder sape2….
    myvi market lebih kepada pembeli yang lebih kepada simple,sama ada laki atau wanita untuk kegunaan harian,bukan untuk korang speed 160km/h…memang la cepat mati kalau speed giler….

• scgtimk1 on Mar 23, 2011 at 6:27 pm

The Saga FL is much better choice than myvi. why buy myvi then?

People actually by myvi that earn less then rm3k nak sebenarnye belagak tak mau pakai Proton. Pooodah!

Kalau betul beli sebab tak mampu atau nak practical orang angkat Saga la. Cheaper sparepart, more comfortable car and definitely bigger boot to haul those stroller and bawak anak bini then the POS Myvi.

Ada paham?

• SagaKaki on Mar 24, 2011 at 11:36 am

Ye,setuju…tapi bagaimana pun,kereta ‘BUG type’ makin popular….. bagi pemandu baru,kerana mereka senang parking.belajar skill tuh…haha
        tapi aku dengar ramai kata,disebabkan adanya Proton,barulah kereta kita beli mahal,kerajaan paksa kereta lain jual takleh murah dari proton untuk monopoli market,sebab tulah ramai yang bengang lebih rela beli brand lain dari bagi wang proton pakai..asyik rugi jer company proton walaupun jual banyak.
        tak paham kenapa la….

• redboy on Mar 23, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Change the front light and got a new Myvi…oh My…

• littlefire on Mar 23, 2011 at 5:43 pm

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/govt-to-phase-out-import-of-used-car-parts-components-from-june-1/

Paul… The G will phase out 4 components first starting from June 1st.. four critical items will be banned from importation, namely break linings, break pads, tyres and batteries..

• GTR V Spec on Mar 23, 2011 at 6:18 pm

this new MYVI SE 2011 better bodykit design than new daihatsu version..see ur self n compare in the net…this new MyVi look more sporty than previous one….D-sport yellow colour, Carbon fiber grill, nice looking dashboard and gauges..and lower than previous one to make more stable…

• atan senget on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:09 pm

Just got info from MIROS insider which P2 have sent their all new Myvi for crash test rating

Frontal impact: 0 star given because test failed..crumple zone reach passenger compartment more than safety requirement..sight

Side Impact: 2-star…sigh

No test on pedestrian impact and roll-over

Due to that, i dun want to spend 9 or even 5 years loan for this super thin car……..P2 is totally bullshit. Why they need to downgrade Passo that proven 4-star car. They treat Malaysian life just like a shit…Sigh..

• Harris on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:23 pm

To improve this condition, the government should remove all the protection to the local auto industry such as higher import tax for imported car and let national car maker to fight for their life.. Then they will produce better cars to compete in the market.. If not why they want to increase the cost price of a car by building a quality car and reduce their profit..

• atan senget on Mar 24, 2011 at 5:52 am

Old Myvi got return of investment within only two years..and after that what p2 do? Actually, they reduce numbers of reinforcement part such as impact bar and they reduce spot points…Even they got profits after that..sigh

P2 are not just rebadge, they are also downgrade the car but selling the car almost same as imported one (Passo) price..sigh

People need to wake up against this greedy company…RM50k is too much for this junk car…

• Suke T3ngok on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:16 pm

Everyday I surf paultan website to see people bashing each other.. memang syok, heheh.. korean fan bash jap fan, jap fan bash proton fan, proton fan bash perodua fan.. sume orang pon jadi pandai dekat sini, btw its interesting cause nothing serious about it.. yeah esok surf lagi, mesti ade basher2 baru, keep the site HOT guyz ~ heheh ^(‘o’)^ (evil)

• MengQ on Mar 24, 2011 at 2:57 pm

Oh yeah, it’s so much fun reading the comments sometimes it’s even more interesting than the post by Paul.T himself.

Everyone trying so hard to be pandai pandai here… Haha!

• MyviCrap on Mar 24, 2011 at 5:23 pm

And Perodua fans nobody to bash coz it’s the suckiest…

• Kambing Gurun on Mar 24, 2011 at 12:38 am

It’s coming… Noooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!

• Wisdom on Mar 24, 2011 at 1:00 am

Eh testing very important!!

Why not? after cutting down few mm of body thickness, reduce and minimize spot welding location, cut and remove some parts to reduce cost, use substandard material, modified the bumper, downgrade the suspension and brakes, and change interior using cheaper alternative, sure have to test!!

At least to see whether the car can stand or collapse after cheapin it down… :p

• atan senget on Mar 24, 2011 at 5:54 am

^^ true face of P2..hiding behind Daihatsu/Toyota badge…

• learner on Mar 24, 2011 at 10:01 am

true! true!
      when JC complaint about kelisa before sludge hammered it, he did mentioned p2 is ‘totally profit making’ company, not ‘auto enthusiast’ company (cannot remember his real dialogue).

• ThePolygon on Mar 24, 2011 at 10:31 am

If not mistaken this new version comes with a 1.5 variant… so basically it’s not just a facelift…. of course I could be wrong.

The release date has been pushed back from the early 1st quarter so not sure if it hits the pre September release.

• spearmint on Mar 24, 2011 at 10:48 am

basher, start your engine.

• singa on Mar 24, 2011 at 11:43 am

wonder y so many bashing locally made car perodua n proton,complain car quailty like tin milo,problemo n etc…give our buatan malaysia some support.dun make other country laugh we din support locally made brand.
    jika kita langgar kereta orang,kita salah.jika orang langgar kereta kita,dia salah…mana boleh salahkan kereta?kita yang pandu dia,bukan kereta yang pandu kita…
    pandu cermat dan berhati-hati di atas jalan raya wahai pemandu di malaysia.

• Ini Susah lah on Mar 24, 2011 at 12:43 pm

I really hope next spyshot will be the car interior or something special….TQ.

• Gugur Daun on Mar 25, 2011 at 10:23 am

Lawa. Perodua design keeps getting better than its Daihatsu counterpart, probably because of its wider target market

• butter on Mar 25, 2011 at 11:15 am

you must be retarded then to be saying something like that…there are other cars which are better for viva’s price