BMW Performance Power Kit for N47 diesel: 420Nm!

If you have a BMW 4-cylinder turbodiesel car, you might be interested in a new range of tuning kits for your oil burners straight from Munich.

The latest BMW Performance Power Kit released at Geneva early this year can bring the 184hp/380Nm 20d 4-cylinder N47 turbodiesel engine’s power output up to a nice 200 horsepower and 420Nm of torque, while fuel consumption remains unchanged. The 420Nm peak comes in from 2,000rpm.

Unfortunately for the 520d, it’s only available for manual cars at the moment, I’m guessing this is something to do with the 8-speed automatic as the 6-speed-equipped 3-Series doesn’t have any issue with the power kit on the automatic version.

For the 177 horsepower version of the 320d, the upgrade kit brings power up to 197 horsepower, with peak torque clocking in at 390Nm from 1,750rpm. The higher torque improves acceleration across the speed range, and it is claimed that highway acceleration time from 80km/h to 120km/h will drop by as much as 1 second.

Both these power kits are not just a simple remap – an uprated intercooler and a 600W radiator fan is required to maintain OEM reliability and is part of the package.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• zerouzer on Mar 28, 2011 at 1:50 pm

how much it will costs?

• Hi Paul,

A quick question. I gather from the BMW forums that it is not worthwhile to consider a diesel car mainly due to the high sulfur content in diesel in Malaysia. Do you agree?

Regards
    KW

• Vincent on Mar 28, 2011 at 3:54 pm

Agreed, from what I learn from those diesel car owner, even their engine is so fine, can perform good millage, but maintenance cost will be the issues.

I heard BMW produce a good fuel fither, the engine will be problem free for 150K KM. After which, you still need to overhaul it.

For others maker, they might face fuel pump issue …

• Paul Tan on Mar 28, 2011 at 5:52 pm

All the problems with diesel you hear right now are due to the old MS123 spec diesel. The new Euro 2 diesel hasn’t been around long enough for us to make any solid conclusions yet.

• venven81 on Mar 28, 2011 at 5:35 pm

Agree. Its diesel in malaysia. Nuff said.

• where to buy this kit?

• Hi Paul,

A quick question. I am made to understand that due to the diesel quality in Malaysia, it is not worthwhile to even consider a diesel car at the moment. Do you agree?

Thanks and cheers

• Paul Tan on Mar 28, 2011 at 2:36 pm

I don’t agree. Both Harvinder and I drive passenger diesel cars for our daily drivers (not trucks) and we are happy with the mileage so far. There have been no problems related to powertrain.

Lots of 320d feedback here:

http://www.bmwclubmalaysia.com/forums/showthread.php?40402-How-are-your-320d-doing-so-far&highlight=320d

• MCdog on Mar 28, 2011 at 7:40 pm

Thanks for the link :-)

• Lim Kopi on Mar 28, 2011 at 10:56 pm

Thanks Paul …

So you are basically giving the green light to all those readers out there to buy a diesel guzzler …

Even if its to own for the next 5 years ?

• Any idea how much this may cost?

• inline 6 on Mar 28, 2011 at 2:44 pm

diesel rocks! !

• Manual only? I’ll take it!

• jalan54 on Mar 28, 2011 at 3:12 pm

Wonder how much is it selling and where to get it.

• chanc on Mar 28, 2011 at 3:15 pm

Hi Paul,

Awesome indeed. Any price indication ? Also, would the performance figures be valid for Euro 2M diesel quality or is this benchmarked against say minimum of Euro 4M diesel ?

• Paul Tan on Mar 28, 2011 at 3:19 pm

No idea, but this link may be of interest to you:

http://paultan.org/2010/10/25/bmw-320d-dyno-tested-does-it-make-the-full-177hp/

• chanc on Mar 28, 2011 at 4:01 pm

Thanks. Spoke to AB previously and they mentioned that BMWM unlikely to bring in these performance kit unless the diesel quality improve. Btw, I drive a 177 hp 320d. Powerful enough in stock form but then power always breed the hunger for more I guess….

• Vincent on Mar 28, 2011 at 3:57 pm

Diesel car give better milage, RM100 fuel able to go for 1000KM. If you travel a lot, the saying might able to cover your maintenance.

Pro of diesel also include, more touque, greener.

Cond is, engine noise…

• great…. why not proton come out such kit too…
    for all model range from proton saga to inspira… sure hit market arr…
    ..hmm

nono.. i think all carmaker should come out such kit… that’s the way.

• johny on Mar 28, 2011 at 8:57 pm

i dont see why people dislike ahh’s comment. i think all consumer should have given a choice to upgrade their engine performance from the reliable manufacturer rather than letting the consumer go to the Ah Beng workshop for illegal upgrade.

A oem power kit is legal and has undergone r&d that it’s reliable to be installed to our car. why shouldnt we enjoy such choice?

• rally_fan00 on Mar 28, 2011 at 11:38 pm

proton already has oem accessories that increase the power of their cars.. its sold by R3, and it doesnt void your proton warranty.

but the kind of power increase with a turbo car, will be impossible to achieve for non-turbo car with just a chip.

• Gavin on Mar 28, 2011 at 5:53 pm

This means this engine is actually over-engineered and is capable of more power. Which means for non upgraders the engine should be pretty much bullet proof with the right maintenence

• Proton have the means to do so as they did bring the Mitsu Diesel engine for WIRA in 1996/1997 however the sales are very poor

• agogo on Mar 28, 2011 at 10:24 pm

a 500 year old-diesel-tech-which-mitsu-flush-away-in-the-jamban-and-sell-to-potong (4D68 2.0D – 67hp/123nm) is not the same as BMW’s N47 neh…..

• shawal on Mar 29, 2011 at 12:59 am

my family friend had one of those… saved her a lot of money but it sound like a lorry tho…and the whole car rattles and shake when idle…

• tishaban on Mar 28, 2011 at 6:22 pm

Pretty impressive stuff, it puts the 80-120km/h flexibility times of the 184hp/380Nm 320d on par with the 335i (~5.3 seconds) and within 0.2 seconds of an M3 (5.1 seconds).

• shawal on Mar 29, 2011 at 12:57 am

I’m still waiting for the new ‘Wallet-Friendly Dynamics’ package…… still waiting….

• Sean Lim on Mar 29, 2011 at 1:20 am

“Unfortunately for the 520d, it’s only available for manual cars at the moment…”
    520d or 320d?

• Unforgiven on Mar 29, 2011 at 9:42 am

How’s the rear light bulb? Improved?