GALLERY: Ford Ranger unveiled at Bangkok Motor Show

We saw the all-new Ford Ranger one day before the Thai public got to do so, and so did you in our previous post, but here are more pics of the handsome truck revealed at Impact Bangkok. As mentioned, production of the one-tonne challenger will kick off in Thailand mid 2011, and it’s scheduled to arrive in Malaysia early next year.

The Ranger gets an all-new platform paired to a fresh drivetrain. It’s set to raise the segment bar by offering a six-speed automatic and manual transmissions, and the main engine will be a 2.2-litre TDCi with 150 PS and 375 Nm of torque. There’s also a 3.2-litre five-cylinder oil burner with 200 PS and 470 Nm. A third option that won’t be coming here is the 166 PS/226 Nm Duratec petrol engine.

At the preview event, we weren’t allowed on stage for photography, which meant that no interior shots were possible. However, at the launch, I took my chances and rushed up the platform amidst the chaos to sneak a few shots of the cabin. Not the most comprehensive collection, but it’s all I managed before being “ushered” off the stage.

What do you think of the new Ranger? Do you like what you see and hear? So far we’re impressed, and can’t wait to drive it. Live gallery from BKK after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2102]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• MouMouRen on Mar 28, 2011 at 9:50 am

Something different from FORD. Anyway, nice 4×4.

• Damn nice truck! Still mantaining the tough look while adding some aerodynamic curves, a very nice design job.
    How I wish you could snap some pictures of its rear cabin/backseat, want to see the space.

• wow.. it is a handsome truck!!!
    Ford “kinetic” design language is really good for all range of its model cars!!!
    Ford slowly recover from the economy crisis even not accpet the offer from thier G!!!

Just wonder why less Ford car introduce in Msia.. the Kuga look great too, if price is good, it will surpass the CRV.. =)

• Bob Vettel on Mar 29, 2011 at 8:55 am

Start spreading the news and tell everyone to ditch the Japs for Ford, surely they’ll bring in new cars!

• Chris on Mar 28, 2011 at 10:13 am

How is the rear cabin space? Is it much bigger than the Hilux & Navara? It’s a nice looking truck. Am considering getting a Navara but after seeing this All New Ranger, I am thinking twice. Hope that I can wait till early next year to get this before I go for Navara! Hahaha.

• nazgul on Mar 28, 2011 at 12:10 pm

your waiting for this ranger will be worth it…

• Ya. This ranger in the post is the high end version. Hopefully Ford Malaysia brings the exact version into the country.

• mohd faisal on Mar 28, 2011 at 10:28 am

luv this truck..!!! I will buy it !!!

• squall_shinoda on Mar 28, 2011 at 10:40 am

Good job by Ford engineers for downsizing the engine but at the same time increasing the power output of it, which translates to drastically improved efficiency.

• seancorr on Mar 28, 2011 at 10:47 am

Nice…finally a good looking macho truck worthy of the Ford logo. The Triton and Hilux will look scared when this fella parks beside them hehe

• Jerry on Mar 28, 2011 at 11:49 am

Already book Ford Ranger Facelift 2011 auto. Wil arrive next month. Have to wait few years time b4 can upgrade to this model…………
    Why act so fast……

• Ongtk on Mar 28, 2011 at 11:59 am

Plenty of pictures but none showing the back seat. Having owned a Ford Ranger Splash during its heydays i,.e. before the new generation hilux and Tritons hit the market, I find the back seat the least comfortable. Had to spend money to modify the back rest to a more recline angle. What about the rear suspension? Not much said too – still leaf springs?

• Paul Tan on Mar 28, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Here’s the only picture we have so far sadly!

http://image2.paultan.org/image/ranger-legroom.jpg

• Chris on Mar 28, 2011 at 12:26 pm

the seat looks spacious at the back … better thigh support also but how about the rear seat angle?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 28, 2011 at 12:47 pm

Leaf springs. Didn’t manage to get a rear seat shot, but from what I see, it’s definitely not as upright as your Splash

• the_fighter on Mar 29, 2011 at 12:29 am

yeah, thats the problem of ford ranger, even with the present model..but this one likely they had improve the back seat position ..im using mazda fighter (same problem,cramp back seat), unfortunately my car heavily damage in accident …to costly to repair..insurance comp declare total loss…now im looking for SUV segment, maybe x-trail or CRV ..but 1 day i ll buy this ford ranger …since im driving big masculine vehicle like this ..feel ackward when driving small passenger car..

• Gavin on Mar 28, 2011 at 1:29 pm

Looks like we are moving towards european styling more than japanese, which is good since the japs have hardly anything interesting

• tokmoh on Mar 28, 2011 at 10:51 pm

Imma gonna get thumbed down for this, but……
    The headlight and blue paint makes me think it’s a truck version of Savvy hahahaha!! XD

• Darren on Mar 29, 2011 at 10:00 am

Very nice looking 4×4 pickup! can’t wait for it to reach M’sia, I hope that the back seat won’t be that bouncy when it comes to rough terrains especially the hilux! seating in the back can really make you sick.

• Paul,
    Any picts of the interior (dashboard) for the Auto Variant?? wondering hows the gear lever looks like.. anyway definitely going to wait for this model before finalising my decision for my next year pick-up!! : )

• Singaporean trucks on Mar 29, 2011 at 6:47 pm

Will the Ford Ranger comes to Singapore?

• raymond on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:30 pm

I am wondering if it is a rebadge model derived from the brand new Mazda BT-50?

• pearlwhite on Mar 30, 2011 at 8:06 pm

whats top speed for this engine?

• still for me, those ford trucks design for US market are more “outstanding” compare to those for malaysia market (or, which can be found here in malaysia?) n why it appear to be like that? its the same ford company rite?