Gender and risk on roads – MIROS Director General

If you’ve been following the news you may have heard about one of our MPs Datuk Bung Mokhtar making certain statements about women drivers. Now it is MIROS Director General Dr Ahmad Farhan Mohd Sadullah’s turn to say something about the issue, here’s his statement reproduced verbatim.

YB Datuk Bung Mokhtar Radin highlighted in parliament the issue of risk driving on Monday 28th March 2011. It confirms that politicians are in the best position to gain attention and to address an issue.

Indeed, road crashes are at an alarming state. However, frustratingly, advocacy efforts by JKJR, MIROS and other road safety advocates have not been getting the ears of our road users, thus errant behaviour on roads continue to prevail, and alarmingly, we are experiencing more of these situations.

How true is the claim that women drivers are more aggressive these days? Before we look at the situation in Malaysia, let us analyse the situation based on established findings. In the whole world, we are seeing more women drivers on the road and as a result, women drivers tend to get the attention of other drivers. Somehow, a woman driver will still draw our attention when one passes by (of course, this is from a male perspective and I wonder if a woman driver perceives the same). Therefore any small error, or misjudgement committed will immediately catch attention.

So is it just perception or it is true that woman are getting more aggressive? This is just like when we see a woman smoking, we perceive that many women now smoke, which ironically does not give us the same perception when we see many men smoke. Similarly, when we see a motorcyclist weaving in and out dangerously, we tend to generalize by saying that all motorcycles do that, which in effect, only a small minority does it. So is it really just perception?

Studies have shown that men and women have different traits, which in turn may influence their driving behaviour. A woman will feel safer in her own car and will feel in control. In her car, a woman is now on equal standing with men. Studies have associated some aggressive driving behaviour among women drivers to this propensity.

There are other known facts about women and men, too. Generally, women are good at multi-tasking, and can share their brain thoughts on several matters at one time. As driving will also require action and reaction, a multi-tasker may however tend to slip up and this may result in doing errors and an errant while driving. Perhaps, this may be the reason, why we do witness some women drivers making slip ups while driving as claimed by our YB.

Women are also known to have poorer spatial ability compared to men, making a woman driver more hesitant with manoeuvres that require space and distance estimation, like entering and passing a junction, overtaking and parking. Hesitation will either make you slowly dangerous, or inadequately and dangerously daring, both making you a risk to road users.

So does this mean women are more aggressive compared to men? Before we make any conclusion, let us dissect the male propensity. A male driver is known to possess better psychomotor skill, making them highly-confident and at times overly confident. As a result, a man has the general tendency to drive at high speed, to take chances and to be a greater risk on the road.

Let us now look at statistics and some findings from our research at the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS). In 2009, numbers of crashes involving men drivers were 2.4 times more than women drivers. There were 244,336 cases involving man drivers as compared to 103,153 cases with women drivers, throughout the nation. In addition, if we were to ratio the crash number with the number of population, men scores 1,351.74 crashes per 100,000 male populations, while women was 537.97 crashes per 100,000 female populations. So, based on statistics, men looks to be riskier than women on roads and are involved in more crashes. So definitely men are more risky on roads compared to women.

However, if we analyse the figures further, interesting observations appear. Comparing the involvement in crashes between men and women from 2006 to 2009, there has been a steady increase of the women share, from, 26.40% in 2006, to 27.08%, 27.74% and 29.69%, successively for 2007 to 2009.

Unfortunately, the absolute figures for both men and women have also grown steadily over the time period. Men drivers involving in crashes have increased by 67.93% and women drivers involving in crashes have almost doubled at 97.74% from 2006 to 2009.

Gender and risk on roads – MIROS Director General

Whilst men remain to be riskier on the road, women are getting involved in more accidents on the roads. These figures are for drivers involving in an accident, and they are not necessarily the drivers who are at fault in the accidents. That remains to be unknown in the database that we have, and as such we can only conclude that the risks have gone higher but this does not necessarily translate into the contribution of the crashes.

What is the take home message then? Regardless of the gender, the risk on the road is the same and one must always exercise due care. Risks will always be there, but by managing risks and by combining competency, adequate driving skill and putting safety first, you can reduce the risk of getting into a crash. Remember that a system that is in equilibrium will turn into a state of chaos when everyone takes the risk by showing aggression on the roads.

As we debate this, perhaps another 18 people have died on the roads yesterday. Road safety is about action, and all of us must ensure that we DO NOT speed, that we DO NOT take unnecessary risks, that we DO NOT allow our children to handle motorcycles when they are still below legal age limit. Let us have some chance of surviving if we meet with an accident by wearing our helmet when riding motorcycles, and by wearing our safety belts when we are in a car both as front or rear occupants. So be safe, and indeed “WE CAN MAKE THAT DIFFERENCE!”

“LOVE LIFE: Prevent sufferings due to road crashes.”

Professor Dr. Ahmad Farhan Mohd Sadullah
Director General
Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• vanila on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:23 pm

still think women are terrible drivers though….

• Women these days get their license not through proper test but kopi money. Guarantee pass. The jpj should really do something about this dangerous bribery.

• Karen Neo on Mar 30, 2011 at 8:49 pm

BS, i bet you give duit kopi for your lisen too,,,,Everyone do the same in order not to repeat the test

• SuarezCarroll on Mar 30, 2011 at 9:28 pm

Karen, truth hurts, I know

I suggest you take public transport.

• carazy on Mar 31, 2011 at 9:04 am

my “lesen” is clean.. no terbang2 some more… Karen Neo are you bribe JPJ for ur lesen? poor you, contributing to the stat..

• alexpoh85 on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:41 am

everyone do the same? go to hell karen.

I failed my first road test, but passed the inside test with full marks.
          reason, i was rushed by my instructor to take the test early while i don’t have enough practices.

I failed bcos i 4got all the basic things, including neutral gear b4 start engine n fasten seat belt, i failed bcos i’m nervous. I deserved to fail due to my own mistakes.

So i paid the fee and took a 2nd road test. This time, learning all my mistakes during the 1st test, i’m more well equipped and passed the road test with gud results, even the examiner praised me for how smooth i switched gears into cruising speed.

The end results, i’m now one of the many careful and gud drivers on the road, so far i never caused any accident to happen, but then have been involved in accidents b4 due to some stupid arsehole drivers! lazy to tell the story, if i tell, sure u all will agree how stupid the drivers are.

• jimmyc on Mar 30, 2011 at 10:25 pm

not so much by duit kopi. most women passed by seducing the tester. women should stick with public transport. they have their own train n bus coaches now.

• donadoni on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:28 pm

men rules!

• Karen Neo on Mar 30, 2011 at 8:56 pm

Why that MP always a discrace to woman, the same person who say the “BOCOR” issue,

Aint his mom is woman too ?????? Please have a sense of respect and stop talking loads

of BS!

• Michael Ammott on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:33 pm

on 2006 = male (145 502) female (52 167), on 2007 = male (161 763) female (60 079)

what if we extend the table to, let say:

total crash on 2006 = male (145 502) female (52 167), on 2007 = male (161 763) female (60 079)
    total driver on 2006 = male (745 502) female (152 167), on 2007 = male (861 763) female (260 079)

so ..what about the crash ratio?…. Professor Dr ehh??

• johny on Mar 30, 2011 at 7:23 pm

from your summary, it shows:
      male driver crashing rate: 145 502/745 502 = 19.5%
      female driver crashing rate: 52167/152167 = 34.3%
      male driver crashing rate:161 763/861 763 = 18.8%
      female driver crashing rate: 60 079/ 260 079 = 23.1%

emm….. btw, where u get the data from?

• Driver on Apr 01, 2011 at 1:38 am

The prof. says that “..whilst men remain to be riskier on the road, women are getting involved in more accidents on the roads.”

Why? Perhaps, despite being more risk taker, male drivers are better at ‘driving’. Male has better motor skill compared to female. But driving is not just about motor skills. Driving also involve other cognitive function such as risk perception.

• Saiful on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:36 pm

the amount of accidents are due to the cars that proton produce which is at sub par quality! :*( this is really hard for me to look at.. its very sad

• pacifictuna on Mar 30, 2011 at 6:35 pm

the article did not mention proton. perhaps you have a better statistic on the accident ratio of proton compared to other manufacturer?

• MCdog on Mar 30, 2011 at 9:45 pm

Saiful, i think your arguement is more on fatality of accident based on car model

• So women r more prone to cause accidents although statistically this is not proven coz men still contribute d most?

• What about the cars involved in the accidents I won’t be surprised that proton will claim 1st place

• Nakal on Mar 30, 2011 at 5:45 pm

kau ingat ramai sangat orang pakai ferrari/jag/lambo kat malaysia ni? dah tentu volume accident kereta mcm ni rendah berbanding proton

cuba la tengok statistic accident di korea? dah tentu banyak kereta Hyundai & Kia.

pikir la logic sikit

• carazy on Mar 30, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Based on ratio of proton cars in Malaysia, statically it should be more Proton cars involve in accident compared to Ferraris or Lambos though!!.

• Ladies bukan drive Produa ke?

• farghmee on Mar 31, 2011 at 9:28 am

Afiq,

if 1st place is considered by number of accident of specific make, u may be true.

however, that is not the proper way of analyzing the situation.

let’s take a look at this example:
      pruton: sold 200k, xcden 50k.
      perudua: sold 300k, xcden 40k.
      fellali: sold 10, xcden 2.
      assuming the xcdens incurred were due to car malfunction.

if due to volume, 1st is proton.
      if due to ratio of (xcden/sold), 1st is fellali.

:)

• Julian Jack Isyraq on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:40 pm

is this statistics includes the motorcyclist…?
    if includes that;s why men more involve in crash accident than women…
    try excludes the motorcyclist and we can see the rank of women…

• Ahh…

What about the vehicles that are involved in the accidents? i wont be surprised if proton could claim 1st place!

• Hafidz on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:54 pm

I think what YB Bung trying to say is lady driver are main cause of accident or the behaviour will create an accident. For example:

1) Lady driver drive 80km/j at 80km/j speed limit whereas there is no car infront or on left side (slow lane)..create temper to guy driver at the back of that lady car, start drive furiously, honk, flash light etc..or to make it worse,suddenly the lady driver step on sudden brake without any cause, and make the guy hit the back of that car..so statistic sure show guy hit aka guy cause of accident..but the true story?

2) Lady driver stay at slow lane or fast lane..suddenly saw a left junction or right junction to i dont know,maybe petrol station, food stall, parking or boutique..once she saw and she straight way give signal at that very moment..poorly a guy was driving almost close to her..of course this guy hantam this lady car..coz? coz giving late signal..but in police report sure ‘a guy hit the lady from the back of her car..cause by? man..’ that lady sure keluar car and say..”hey, i sudah bagi signal maa! i call my BF or husband now..’..sigh..

3) Lady driver normally wont give signal to change lane in traffic jams or traffic queue..a bike was in the middle of between both lane..all of sudden than lady change lane..if the bike can ‘elak’ he will hit another car on the side right? bike ride by man..hit another car drive by man too..

4) Lady driver driving her normally aspirated MyVi or Viva or Saga..all of sudden in federal Highway either on fast lane or middle lane..suddenly car broke down,overheat what so ever..than don’t even dare try to move the car or push the car to the roadside..just leave the car on whatever lane she was in..trying to call BF or husband..by time, a car was driven at normal 60-80km/j speed (consider fast in collision)..suddenly did not notice this lady car..sure hit laa..somemore forgot to turn on hazard light and to make it worse not even try to leave the car to stay safe on roadside..of course major accident right? saw this kind of accident a lot..

I got my mom and my wife drive to work too..but most of the time the answer for every advice we (guy) gave if i were on co-driver side was ..’you ni..jangan banyak komen..stereng ni kan i yang pegang..duk diam-diam..” hahaha :P

• Icecold on Mar 30, 2011 at 5:49 pm

I agree to this, in most situation they only evaluate who’s driving the vehicle but never what caused the accident in the first place.

At times it’s the co-drivers fault…to many advise, to many mouth…hahaha

• baharum on Mar 30, 2011 at 6:16 pm

Dude, u speak my mind!

• My View on Mar 30, 2011 at 8:29 pm

You and your supporters are retarded

• SuarezCarroll on Mar 30, 2011 at 9:32 pm

.. and you’re a woman of course.

• MCdog on Mar 30, 2011 at 9:41 pm

I think we need some bisexual professors to make some expert-like statistical report lol

• Couldnt agree more… 110% TRUE

• hasrulhassan on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:54 pm

Hi, Prof. Farhan is my ex-boss and also my mentor. He is capable of giving such statement because he knows what exactly he talking about.

• 4agze on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:55 pm

as i said over and over again…Bung Mokhtar is a joke!!!a man who is marrying someone else behind his 1st wife is a disgrace and does not qualified to talk anything about women…
    see how the Miros director talk, all with facts and figures…
    btw i’m a man…respect others and people will respect you back

• Look at the bright side, at least he didn’t get himself in YouTube or 3gpp movie clips with some cheap whores (like some politicians). Getting second wive (third or forth) will always be a hot issue in Malaysia. Then again, if they can afford to do it why not? So getting whores and mistress is alright? But getting married making it formal is no go? You better get your facts right buddy. Look for the lesser evil then you’ll know why getting married is way better than casual, random sex.

As for lady drivers, yup, it is very subjective. But I will not be surprised, most of the “male” accidents are due to “monopolized lady” road users. Such cases like those NKVE-Damansara toll, I can see almost all the girls are busy putting up their make up while driving. They also tend to drive very slowly monopolizing the traffic in a high speed limit road, making other road users to overtake them. Most lady drivers I saw doesn’t compromise with motorcyclist, overtaking them at a very steep angle (especially those aunties that drives big cars). Then again, I can’t be all judgmental to the ladies, if the figures above are right, means the MEN are still the “King” of the roads.

Haha,

• 4agze on Mar 31, 2011 at 12:24 pm

i don’t think i get any facts wrong..what i was saying the way he marrying his 2nd wife BEHIND his 1st wife…i’m okay with a capable Muslim marrying 4 wives but please do it a proper way..by doing this, he just degrading himself in women’s eyes making him less creditable to discuss about this matter

• It’s because Zizie Ezette (his 2nd wife) drive so bad that Bung has to clarify that serious statement in the parliament.

• pumpkin76 on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Well said Professor…

• frankie on Mar 30, 2011 at 5:00 pm

Long hair drivers are problematic.

• MyCarMyLife on Mar 30, 2011 at 5:04 pm

Women and men drivers are just alike in terms of skills and risk taking , it is just that women are more of a distraction sometimes even including those sexist advertisement billboards like in some western countries.
    Enjoy your stay la brother Bung while you can , talk less .

• johny on Mar 30, 2011 at 5:07 pm

hey. i think they should be another calculation:

ratio of women driver involved in accident to the total amount of women driver

VS

ratio of men driver involved in accident to the total amount of men driver

i think this would give clearer result which sex is riskier on the road instead of using “WOMEN POPULATION” or “total women involved in accident”…not so fair this way.. not all women drive though and not all women involved in accident are drivers.

• Enlightening article. I especially appreciate the author’s candor in approaching a subject matter that can oftentimes be somewhat controversial, edifying us lay readers with interesting statistics that serve to shed light on the matter.

It is however somewhat disappointing to note the author’s apparent readiness to ascribe the blame to the other party. I quote:

“So, based on statistics, men looks to be riskier than women on roads and are involved in more crashes. So definitely men are more risky on roads compared to women.”

This could hardly be any further from the truth. Although the statistics provided do undeniably show a larger proportion of male drivers being involved in road accidents as compared to females, nowhere does it take into consideration the exact number of capable drivers of either gender. It is a known fact that globally the number of male drivers far outweigh that of female drivers – as such the number of crashes involving males will consequently outweigh that involving males. If the author does indeed wish to utilize statistics in driving home his point, I think it vital that the aforementioned variable be accounted for. It is foolhardy otherwise, to respond to the MP’s sweeping statement with another sweeping statement, which will only serve to further incite both genders.

My personal gripes and quibbles aside however, I think that at the end of the day it is nonetheless comforting to know that something is being said where it counts. The author’s view that politicians are best placed to raise awareness regarding a multitude of issues is one that I, and indeed many Malaysians share. It is true perhaps, that the MP was poor in his elocution of the matter. That his approach was crude, backward-thinking. Ultimately though, this can only serve to raise awareness and encourage discussion regarding what is one of the leading causes of death in the country. We can only hope that the ongoing debate further propagates road safety awareness amongst our people, and that it serves to deter drivers of both genders from becoming ‘just another statistic’.

• as such the number of crashes involving males will consequently outweigh that involving females**

• Please re-read the articles again. The prof did mentioned that in per 100,000 populations of both male and female. Yes, man have more accidents.

• Population does not equate to number of capable drivers. Not all males or females in the country are legally entitled to drive, yet they still count as part of the population, do they not?

• Yes man involve more in accident. but maybe, they involve becoz they met an accident due to causes by female driver… maybe due to female driver sudden change lane, the man have to slide over n then bam… accident, the female driver in front dunno anything and just keep on driving, but the male driver behind, which had to avoid her action face the consequences…accident..and the record show man accident more than female..

p/s..female driver dont get mad har..

• Vincent Choo on Apr 02, 2011 at 5:31 pm

You are not a clever man as you did not read maths and statistics well in school.
        You are those who talk before you think.
        If I am not rude, it won’t wake u up. I am sorry.

• Hey, prof forgot one thing. The reason why women statistics is not as high as men is because men are good in avoiding reckless women drivers!

• Prof forgot one thing. The reason why women statistics is not as high as men is because men are better in avoiding reckless women drivers!

• Women drivers always hesitate..

• note that the calculation of percentage of accidents of men and women was based on the total population of men and women women respectively.
    if it was calculated based the total of men and women drivers, not the men and women entire population, surely the percentage of accidents involving women would increase dramatically.
    conclusion: this is the only instance bung mokhtar was right.

• ThePolygon on Mar 30, 2011 at 5:41 pm

One more thing he forgot to compare…

What about actual car owners and those that drive but don’t own / maintain the car?
    Often I see young aspiring drivers who obviously does not have the means to buy a car but actually being given one by their parents / caretaker on the roads driving like a mad person.

When they don’t buy / repair / maintain it, it doesn’t hurt to lose it.

• Carl Wong on Mar 30, 2011 at 5:42 pm

Female or not, a lot of our drivers need to change their bl**dy attitude when driving, for the sake of safety by obeying LAWS. Nobody cares if you get yourself killed, but getting others killed makes you a murderer.

• kretep on Mar 30, 2011 at 5:59 pm

yes men are riskier driver…but not terrible…
    woman are safer driver, but horrible driver…by horrible is that they are not paying attention to other driver especially when other drivers are on her sides or back….

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 30, 2011 at 5:59 pm

It’s easily assumed that men has a higher chance of taking risk compared to women. Also it will be interesting how many men is driving on the road as opposed to women. In my family the ladies rarely if not drive at all, being preferred to be chauffeured around.

• SukaKereta on Mar 30, 2011 at 6:08 pm

report tu belum cukup analisis tu. actually the main reason why men always involve in accident is just simply because of women.

• carazy on Mar 30, 2011 at 6:10 pm

when you ask woman sincerely abt this matter, they will admit that woman drivers are no better than man drivers. better ask ur wife, GF, or ur adik perempuan, without doubt they will agreed bung moktar

• mystvearn on Mar 30, 2011 at 6:19 pm

Usually in an able family, where the husband, wife, and kids can drive-the male d rives. If the parents are too old, then the son will take over (unless got daughters only). I think both sexes are reckless-male tend to be more reckless as they get fired up at the small “cucuk” by a car behind while women may have sense of awareness. I say may cause I don”t know if this is true, but I do know that a lot of men will pick up the challenge if being taunted to do so.

• libralcl on Mar 30, 2011 at 6:31 pm

The road accidents are tend to more on drivers/riders attitude. If a person who has a good driving attitude more less they will cause lesser issue. But from my experience on both gender drivers, male driver do have more awareness and less hesitation during driving.

• Another nonsense statement to divert the attention from more important main issue in the country.

I am supprise there are many reader would take time to even bother about this remeh temeh issue.

• Well I am surprised that you would even bothered/take time to comment on this remeh temeh issue.

• lies, damned lies and statistics… not sure we can make much conclusion from these numbers the good prof has given.

i would hesitate to reproduce those statistics just as yet..

so those accidents that involved woman drivers…. do they crash into other men or into other women drivers? so how do you attribute those accidents? it takes two (or more) to crash.

or are those crashes into walls or trees or railings? how many accidents actually do not get reported? what % ?

i think its good we discuss this, but to start to blame on gender…whats the point of it all?

• seagates on Mar 30, 2011 at 6:48 pm

The statistics seems to have left out some very important variables.

– % of women drivers involved in accident vs total women drivers.
    – Time of women driver spent on road vs men.
    – Different driving environment, eg, purpose of commuting in car, driving children to/back from school, going to the grocery store, etc.

While multi-tasker are better in performing multiple task at any single time, it doesn’t mean they can do it efficiently, because of their tendency to multitask, they can also easily get distracted from their current performing task by incoming task. I’ve seen woman driver that let both hand off steering wheel in order to fumble around their handbag as their to get their ringing cellphone.

Gender aside, drive safe!

• albag on Mar 30, 2011 at 6:51 pm

wimminz – stay in the kitchen making sammiches pls.

• Bund being a loud mouth as he is didn’t say women causes accidents if u read it correctly, he merely says women are a lousy drivers which is a known fact. Being lousy driver are not necessarily cause accidents but more of a nuisance on the road.

• MCdog on Mar 30, 2011 at 7:19 pm

haha, no sign of Separatist feminism yet.

• skiborne on Mar 30, 2011 at 7:40 pm

in this case Bung moktar was correct! for example, ive seen many times women drivers drive with wing mirrors folded, shows that, these women actually drive without looking at their sides..

• Kambing Gurun on Mar 30, 2011 at 8:45 pm

“In 2009, numbers of crashes involving men drivers were 2.4 times more than women drivers. There were 244,336 cases involving man drivers as compared to 103,153 cases with women drivers, throughout the nation. In addition, if we were to ratio the crash number with the number of population, men scores 1,351.74 crashes per 100,000 male populations, while women was 537.97 crashes per 100,000 female populations. So, based on statistics, men looks to be riskier than women on roads and are involved in more crashes. So definitely men are more risky on roads compared to women.”

Such a crude statistics…

The denominator is total population, but out of the female population how many of them are drivers? If there were, let say only 1/3 of female population are drivers, while 3/4 of male population are drivers, we can easily get the adjusted rate of 538 times 3 = 1614 crashes per 100K female driver population, while 1352 times 3 divided by 4 = 1014 crashes per 100K male driver population. That would make female drivers 1.6 times riskier in comparison to male drivers.

To aggravate the matter, take into account time spend driving by male in comparison to female drivers. Let say, male counterpart spend 3 times more driving in comparison to female, so the crash rate should be less by 1/3 if they spend comparable time driving with female. That would make the crash rate: male 1014 / 3 = 338 crashes per 100K male driver population. So, we can conclude that female drivers are 1614 / 338 = 4.78 times riskier to get into crash as compared to male drivers.

But because we do not know exactly time spend by each gender on car and the exact proportion of female drivers, so the statistical estimates calculated are disputable, but I belief those are closer to truth than the ones presented by Prof. It is immature to present the statistics like that without taking into account other factors and manipulating the denominator.

• SuarezCarroll on Mar 30, 2011 at 9:38 pm

I agree that Bung was quite harsh.

Anyway girls, just go to youtube and just type “women drivers”

That’s explains a lot.

Sometimes you just need to admit that driving is an activity that not all female can master.

I would suggest an NGO/female-related-association to arrange free courses/awareness to tackle this problem. It can be done. This would benefit everyone on the road.

• Ash Menon on Mar 30, 2011 at 10:34 pm

I’ve been fortunate to have been around some excellent female drivers, so I’m never going to be the type of person who uses the phrase “female drivers” in a derogatory context.

Putting aside Bung’s stupid comments (Bung will be Bung), I really don’t see why this is important. I don’t see how this kind of information is going to be relevant or useful in the future.

• Kambing Gurun on Mar 31, 2011 at 9:08 am

My wife (a female driver) often give the following comments:

“Patut la susah bukan main nak bagi laluan. Pompuan…”

“Patut la tak bagi signal. Pompuan…”

“Patut la bawak slow macam cipan dkt lorong kanan. Pompuan…”

“Jaga2 skit, pompuan bawak keta kat depan nanti dia brek tiba2 bila dia ada mood nak brek…”

“Apa punya pompuan. Tadi slow, skang bila tgh nak potong keta die speeding plak.”

So? If Bung Mokhtar is sexist than my wife is even more sexist…

• MinatKereta on Mar 31, 2011 at 12:00 pm

Bini gua pun cakap sama macam tu…bini gua bukan lelaki ye…pompuan tau haha

• unimpressed on Mar 31, 2011 at 1:53 pm

your wife WIN (or rather, won)

• Ash Menon on Apr 01, 2011 at 6:10 pm

My mom and sis both also do that. But that’s what doesn’t make sense to me, Kambing Gurun (lol, nice name). My mom and sis are excellent drivers, and I’m sure your wife is too. So how can they say “patutlah, pompuan driver tu” when they themselves are “pompuan drivers” ?

• scientist on Mar 30, 2011 at 11:02 pm

he may be a professor but his article and conclusions relating sex differences to driving behaviour is oversimplified. and using those studies as justifications for mp bung’s statements is poor judgment as an academic. only the last 5 paragraphs should warrant our attention.

• Where’s my sammich?

• Awan Nano on Mar 30, 2011 at 11:42 pm

Like these punya comments, Bung Mokhtar sure menang one next election…. LOL

• Ash Menon on Apr 01, 2011 at 6:10 pm

Yup, voted most likely to get a shoe thrown at him in public. Or in this case, a stiletto high heel.

• driver on Mar 31, 2011 at 7:51 am

Although there are excellent women drivers out there, it can’t be denied that the majority are poor drivers.

It’s the sexist way it was presented by a boorish, uneducated sorry excuse of a man who happened to be the MP of Kinabatangan that caused an uproar.

Men will admit that there are many things that women do much better than we can and vice versa. Driving is just one that the man wins.

It’s a fact of life.

• Cucukman on Mar 31, 2011 at 7:57 am

we can take into account these statistics? Really?

How many accident involved, kautim at the site without reporting to the respective authorities..??

• gilabangang on Mar 31, 2011 at 2:54 pm

aloo c’mon la, we are talking bout statistics not assumptions

• Izhar on Mar 31, 2011 at 8:19 am

paul…did u have statistic between city road, federal road and hway???cause woman are rarely traveling by car for long distance…

• a good point by izhar here..

a point to add, women driver scared me more than men. i think the following sentence in the article above described this issue quite well:

“Unfortunately, the absolute figures for both men and women have also grown steadily over the time period. Men drivers involving in crashes have increased by 67.93% and women drivers involving in crashes have almost doubled at 97.74% from 2006 to 2009.”

• farizY on Mar 31, 2011 at 8:32 am

Typical Bung, cakap without facts…..noob….berapi je kat parlimen, tapi habuk pun tadak….

• blackjkx on Mar 31, 2011 at 8:49 am

Pure driving is always belong to men.
    Women? Sometimes seems like dont know what she’s doing while hand on wheel and sometimes drive like a maniac when emotion going unstable.
    For me, everytime i turn head to look at who’s driving sucks, it always a women.

• IASux on Mar 31, 2011 at 2:03 pm

That’s because you only look at women, even when wife in the car with you.

• I am not sexist and saying all women drivers are bad, but try leaving to work every morning between 630am and 700am and drive along side with housewives driving their children to school and you will know what I mean :-P…

• I forgot my name on Mar 31, 2011 at 9:22 am

Most women cannot change the tyre by themself… FACT ^^Y

• MouMouRen on Mar 31, 2011 at 10:28 am

Some of the ladydrive did not give signal light before want to change lane or turn to jucnction. Like my case, this lady driver drive LIKE F1 becasue she drive a BMW X5. So, when I want to speed up on the fast lane when she change slow lane, suddenly change back to fast lane. Shit, I’m also hit the damm X5. Conclution, Lu jgn pikir u pakai kereta besar, TGK dulu KIRI KANAN, depan dan belakang sebelum potong. FAHAM…

• MinatKereta on Mar 31, 2011 at 11:58 am

Happen to me..the women driver suddenly over take the lorry at the PLUS Highway…i on right lane have to brake emergency at 130 km/h and my car turning 360 Degree.

• Sometimes when they are on the slow lane, and there’s a car going even slower in front of them. At the fast lane, there’s a car coming but still quite behind.

They will at first hesitate to overtake even though the car on the fast lane still behind (quite some distance away).

But when the car in fast lane is already very near to them, then only they suddenly decided to overtake and turning into fast lane.

The fast car behind has to break and slow down. Sigh.

• I think there are good and bad women drivers as well as good and bad male drivers.One reason why the men have a higher rate of accidents is because we are usually the default family drivers. In my family,I usually drive unless I am tired and ask my wife to take over,so therefore I log in more miles and hours behind the wheel compared to her which makes my exposure time to accidents higher.

• kira yamato on Mar 31, 2011 at 10:41 am

Does the stats cover only private cars or inclusive commercial vehicle. As most people aware that most commercial vehicle are driven by men. so in my opinion the stat should be saperated between commercial and private cars then only can determine wether men or women has the highest case of involving in accident.

• Tiuniasing on Mar 31, 2011 at 11:40 am

It is not unrealistic to take the figures of the total number of licenses being held by males and females as the percentage statistic of accidents involved by genders.

From the report, I read:-

“… In 2009, numbers of crashes involving men drivers were 2.4 times more than women drivers. There were 244,336 cases involving man drivers as compared to 103,153 cases with women drivers…”

and:-

“… In addition, if we were to ratio the crash number with the number of population, men scores 1,351.74 crashes per 100,000 male populations, while women was 537.97 crashes per 100,000 female populations…”

In fact, many female license holders do not drive as much as men or male holders. The female may have obtained their valid driving license, but they do not really drive much or the number of female drivers is still very low compare to male drivers. This definitely could affect the findings percentage and doesn’t really reflect the facts.

Let’s take an example, my mother and all my aunties who have got their driving license, do not drive everyday, or the total mileage accumulated throughout their life is probably about the same as the total mileage accumulated by their own husband in one year time.

And, when one whole family go out in a car, although both the husband and wife possessed valid driving license, but we do see the husband is the all time driver, the wife is only the passenger when the husband is around. Same goes to dating couples.

Also, we must not forget that many of the accidents are caused by commercial vehicles where the drivers are majority of male drivers due to the job nature. Hence, this has contributed to “Male drivers are more riskier”.

I observed that the enforcement authorities and our media do not play their role in reducing the accident death toll rate. In most accidents, death are avoidable IF the drivers and passengers fastened the safety belt. Everytime I read news on accidents, the reporters or officers will blame the cars involved were of high speed or speeding, but they never point out whether the victims did fasten the safety belt or not.

Not to forget that our own officers do not fasten the safety belt when driving. In a way, this has given a message to us that the safety belt is not important at all because the JPJ and PDRM officers DO NOT FASTEN SAFETY BELT too!

• my ugly but awesome 207 on Mar 31, 2011 at 4:02 pm

come on la malaysians, bung not even drive nowadays. he already has his own driver(s). so that he can geli2 with his gebu’s at the back. suddenly his driver emergency brake. the gebu’s smash directly on the front chair and broke her teeth. found that, a female driver brake without any reasons, so he really ANGRY!

• I like this one…
    ‘ that we DO NOT allow our children to handle motorcycles when they are still below legal age limit.’
    This is actually like you give knife to your small children. So be ready to see that they cut their own finger later!

• I don’t really know what the fuss is about. Maybe because YB Bung has a reputation for boorishness this has become a big issue. Don’t know if it’s been posted, but below were his actual words:
    “Jadi, saya minta kita sama-sama sampaikan mesej ini kepada sekolah-sekolah
    memandu bahawa pastikan yang belajar memandu ini benar-benar sudah tahu apa
    risikonya di jalan raya. Ini tidak, asal boleh bayar, lulus, it is up to you dia kata. Betul
    jugalah. Pandai-pandai bawa dirilah. Siapa hendak mati, matilah dia kata. Siapa mahu selamat, selamatlah tetapi mengerikan. Saya sebetulnya memang terlalu terpanggil membicarakan soal-soal sebegini. Ini kerana pada saya, kalau kemalangan ini berlaku kecuaian manusia, maka kita juga di jalan raya tidak selamat oleh pemandu-pemandu yang cuai terutama sekali pemandu wanita. Saya lihat dia relaks, dia ingat dia dalam kereta dunia dia punya, dia tidak peduli kiri kanan ada kereta. Kita hon, dia marah. Ada pula yang kita hon, dia keluar macam-macam sign, body language.”

Call me a male chauvinist, but I can’t really say that I disagree.

• Whatever it is … just don’t get involve in any accident, drive carefully.

• alexpoh85 on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:28 am

there was a case when i was driving on a normal 4 lanes road, 2 lanes in opposite direction. I was driving in the right lane, then all of the sudden an auntie driver cut into my lane and give last minute signal to turn right into a junction. I was like what the *uck!

Nevermind, can forgive her, I signaled to the left and cut into the left lane (of cos, i watched the side mirror first got car or not)

Once I was in left lane, then suddenly that auntie which was now on my right lane suddenly signaled again n try to cut back into the left lane, which almost, very almost caused an side by side accident if not because of my super long honk that saved my brand new car!

This auntie must be thinking the whole road belongs to her, as if she’s so certain left and right 100% no car. The way she’s driving, it won’t be long till she hit somebody 1day, i’m not cursing her, it’s just the risk is there.

• omg y r u guys comparing between women and men drivers???? even female knows they suck at driving compared to guys and thats the nature that even guys will understand it is a female driver…….. when women is driving badly, errr kinda normal….. when guys drive badly, darn means that he really suck then……. its like comparing guys in sports with women…. impossible to compare…… only specially trained women or talented wants can run faster or play better sports than men everyone knows that…….. nothing to compare =.=” women suck in driving and men know it and will contnue to accept this fact….. cause we r the great ‘men’ !!!! aren’t we??? ^^

• tokmoh on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:28 pm

Well, I remember while in London, the people there drove very patiently and civil. They’d even stop and let pedestrians walk first, a near impossible in Malaysia (although I experienced before in Subang, driven by a mat salleh lady lol).

But of course even in London, not all drivers are good. I was in my uncle’s car, and at a junction, an old lady driver was hesitating to enter our lane, but the thing is she cucuk into our lane sooo much, my uncle had to swerve to avoid her. Sigh…

Pardon my sexism, but yeah. Yeap…

Anyway, this is kinda besides-the-point. The main point is… CAN MALAYSIANS PLEASE DRIVE AS CIVIL AS LONDONERS?!?! Sigh…

• mokheq on Apr 02, 2011 at 3:30 am

Saya setuju dengan banyak pandangan diatas …. apa2 pun.
    Selalu kena buat ” defensive driving” biar salah orang lain, kita harus react dengan betul
    elakkan kemalangan .. Pecut jika perlu jika ia mengelakkan kemalangan.

“Jika situasi kemalangan tidak dapat dielakkan lagi pilihlah yg paling kurang risikonya”

• Vincent Choo on Apr 02, 2011 at 5:25 pm

The Director of MIROS is not correct about one thing in the statistics. There are more men drivers on the road.
    A bus driver is usually a Man. So, when he crashes a bus, one whole busload of passengers get injured or some die.
    All the taxi drivers are male as well.
    There are more men drivers on the road.

The statistics will have to be tabulated in another way.

They must find out the percentage of crashes for women drivers based on the number of women drivers.

Actually, these sort of male/female statistics are fun to read but is no help to making roads safer to drive.

Did you know that most accidents are caused by motorcyclists. And did you know that most motorcyclist are male?

Vincent

• haha… no need to details the statistic lol…

if Prof did that… sure all ladies angry with him….

• carazy on Apr 04, 2011 at 12:35 pm

yesterday i been “cucuk” by myvee lady driver when im driving at 140km/h.. give way to the lady driver, afraid she hit on my back..hehe