BMW M3 Pickup – the world’s fastest ute unveiled

BMW’s M3 family has just gotten larger – there’s a fourth body variant of the form, and it’s missing a bit at the back. Or, on the flipside, think of it as the best M3 in terms of cargo carrying capability.

Yes, under the strictest secrecy, BMW’s first high-performance pickup has now been officially unveiled on April 1. The pickup was seen running around on the Nurburgring some time ago undergoing test and set-up drives, which was rather unfortunately not so secret.

Official lap times have not yet been released, but the needle in the dial vouched for a top speed of 300 kph.

It’s every bit as endowed as its siblings – the same 420 hp block gets bolted on here, with a 450 kg rear-axle load capacity to boot, ha ha. Besides the high-revving V8 engine at the front and generously sized load area behind, there’s a removable Targa roof above, so driver and passengers in the M3 Pickup can have a pickup convertible.

The kerb weight of the world’s fastest pickup undercuts that of the BMW M3 Convertible by around 50 kg, and removing the Targa roof shaves off a further 20 kg while at the same time lowering the car’s centre of gravity.

It’s the carrying ability that makes this one special. Clad in high-grade structured aluminium sheeting, the bed provides the biggest cargo capacity ever offered on a BMW M vehicle. Effectively, the M3 Pickup has the capacity to carry up to 20 standard 46-inch golf bags, surely enough for you and all your mates, who unfortunately past the lucky chap seated next to you, will have to take the bus. It’s also the first M3 variant in the 25-year-plus history of this model range to come with a trailer tow hitch.

Alas, the M3 Pickup will not be heading for the golf course or series development, but will remain an exclusive one-off earmarked for use as a workshop transport vehicle for BMW M, so it goes. So, if you were reading this and salivating at the prospect of getting a ute with a seriously wicked slant, the joke’s on you.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2123]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Tell me this is April Fool Plz

• i heard from BMW’s blog that this an April Fool’s joke….so Danny Tan, what say u???

• Colonel Mustard on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:45 am

How is it that you were unable to understand that from this story?

• kwing on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:12 am

well if it sold in Aust or US, it will sell really well, and i am not joking…

• author did write it clearly.. pls read..
        “So, if you were reading this and salivating at the prospect of getting a ute with a seriously wicked slant, the joke’s on you.”

• Ha Gnih on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:38 am

It is not a joke. Ford and Holden have similar models too. Check this out

http://www.hotrod.com/featuredvehicles/hrdp_0804_american_muscle_cars/photo_08.html
        http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/news/autoexpressnews/211171/ford_cobra.html

• *sorry its Mr. Anthony

• mystvearn on Apr 01, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Date makes it not convincing at all

• 4545er on Apr 01, 2011 at 6:52 pm

seriously..this is not a joke and i mean it

• told already in last article about this.. now, Proton against BMW in “ARENA” class.. the different is, Arena/Jumbuck is common ute, but this M3 is luxury yet classy ute..

• khaix19a on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:01 am

for millionaire farmer……

• good one bmw! hahahaha, great april fool’s joke.

• bringing this to pasar borong will really bring up the price for you ..haha

• Hahaha…april fool joke!

• vw_fan on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:18 am

salivating?

nah.

• kambing on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:20 am

hahahhaha another Proton Arena wannabe…hahahha

• carazy on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:20 am

this pickup remind me of Proton Arena.. very rare species, maybe come to extinction :)

• motorcamper on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:22 am

Nice april fool joke. But I have this thought, if someone can take Proton Arena ute and drop in a another Wira engine and drive train into where the tray is, we will have a dual engine AWD! The acceleration should be a hoot!

• Matchy on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:23 am

Nice try Anthony ;)

• Fairuz jalal on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:29 am

joke on us, yeah… anyone like to modd their M3? anyone? convert like this …. then the joke on them..

• bombe994 on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:36 am

y-yeah … right … what’s next? an M3 hearse?

• AhBeng on Apr 01, 2011 at 12:24 pm

probably! lots of em r using benz now!

• firefox4 on Apr 01, 2011 at 12:33 pm

Merc oledi has AMG hearse…so, M3 variant is possible from the german, possibly with extra airbag in the rear to protect the wood…

• redboy on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:44 am

its a joke!! hahaha..

• peeps on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:22 am

yucks

• Hafidz on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:41 am

this will be successful if its gonna be targeted for Australian market..even our simple Proton Jumbuck doing well there..

• ermmm…nice .. bleh wat pi pasar ..

• apa..la on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:54 am

I am not surprise if there are someone out there mod a M3 to a pick-up, some golfer actually did it with a E39 M5 ! I read it somewhere in Autoblog…possible ! Of coz this M3 pick-up is obviously an April Fool joke.

• phew….luckily it was a joke.

• skoop on Apr 01, 2011 at 12:27 pm

van sayur…hahahaha

• Fluid on Apr 01, 2011 at 12:29 pm

This was an early April fools story which does not carry any impact now…

• eddie on Apr 01, 2011 at 12:33 pm

how is it a joke when there are pictures and videos of the m3 pickup running around nurburg. hahahahaha, look who’s laughing now?

• squawk on Apr 01, 2011 at 1:29 pm

BMW is quite well known for April Fool’s hoaxes e.g. Instant messaging on the windscreen, linking your oven via GPS to your car so you can start cooking before you get home and my fav – using lasers under the car to warm the road in icy and snow conditions. :-)

• aduhai on Apr 01, 2011 at 2:24 pm

Soon,we could c pasar penjual sayur,ayam,ikan using it… when u c,dun b suprise,omg…they drive bmw…

• MouMouRen on Apr 01, 2011 at 2:40 pm

Yeah, Finally can use this car to delivery my taoFU…..

• droll on Apr 01, 2011 at 3:33 pm

hahahahahaha i just can’t stop laughing. imagine a lembu being loaded behind on the way to the market. hahahahah

• nebula87 on Apr 01, 2011 at 3:42 pm

If Thailand is the richest country in the world, then they will giv up Toyotas’ pickup and all get this for their ride…XD

• hahaha on Apr 01, 2011 at 4:05 pm

they just give an idea to the Chinese in China… when they really make this I think BMW fans will cry.

• giler proton on Apr 01, 2011 at 4:22 pm

reminds me of arena… psst xkan diorang tru proton kot

• Siggy on Apr 01, 2011 at 4:54 pm

If this is used to transport our mother’s cooking gas, sure 5 minit can reach! :D

• Julian Lee on Apr 01, 2011 at 5:31 pm

This is shows BMW got good technologies

• Faisal on Apr 01, 2011 at 6:22 pm

they copied proton hehe..

• pomen_gtr on Apr 01, 2011 at 7:09 pm

yeah bring it on….

fight with FPV and Holden……

• kereta on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:24 pm

lol lol. bayangkan pakcik bawak M3 kolect kepala sawit.
    eh eh, kelapa sawit

>..<

• i tot it was an april fool’s joke as stated by autoblog few weeks ago? ^^