F12 BMW 6-Series Cabriolet spotted on trailer in Malaysia!

Click for enlarged image

The new F12 BMW 6-Series Cabriolet has already been spotted on Malaysia loaded on a logistics trailer – that was pretty quick, considering the F12 Cabriolet was just unveiled to the world late last year. We snapped this image somewhere in KL yesterday evening, and the trailer wasn’t carrying anything else that was interesting other than the F12, just your usual mix of E90 Sedans and E92 Coupes. Being CBU models, you wouldn’t think it’s an issue for both the 640i and 650i to be offered here in Malaysia, but the F12 has already appeared on BMW Malaysia’s website and there’s only mention of the straight six cylinder engine in the 640i, so we’re still wondering about the V8.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1706]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Malaysia Bull..eh! on Apr 01, 2011 at 6:08 pm

Wondering when can own this luxury car.

Malaysian car is overpricing for many decades…..

Shame on BN G and the stupid policy.

• So you think if Pakatan ruled Malaysia then you can afford this F12?

• msiaboleh on Apr 01, 2011 at 6:25 pm

PROTECTIONISM
      By Dr. Mahathir Mohamad on March 31, 2011 9:35 AM | Permalink | Comments (0) | TrackBacks (0)
      1. Recently someone complained that Malaysians have to pay high prices for cars because the Government is protecting Proton.

2. Actually the high price for imported cars was fixed before Proton to reduce gas-guzzling cars from being imported. Thus cars with big engines are taxed (import duty) by 300%. Other cars are also heavily taxed to reduce import of petrol.

3. When Proton was introduced the price fixed was lower due to lower tax being charged. The buyers profited from the lower price so that those who could not buy a car before could now buy a Proton car.

4. Still the tax on Proton yielded 18 billion Ringgit in government revenue over a 10-year period. This is simply because more people bought Protons who before could not afford to own a car. The rapid growth in the ownership of cars is due to the cheapness of the Proton.

5. Today Proton’s share of the market is less than 30%. A lot of foreign cars are being imported because Malaysians are richer now. Despite Mercedes and BMW costing three times more in Malaysia than in Europe, Malaysia is one of the best markets for these huge luxury cars. They buy these cars because they just like them and do not mind the high price. It has nothing to do with protecting Proton.

6. Is the Government doing something that other Governments are not doing? I list below the measures taken by other countries to protect their economy.

7. Singapore : Buyers have to pay a high price for a certificate to import cars.

8. In America US$74 billion in Government funds were used to bail out automotive companies. (Without this bailout General Motors would close down. Americans would have to buy foreign-made cars).

9. France: Government doled out billions to automakers to keep the automotive industries alive.

10. Spain : Interest free loans were made available by the Government to support local industries.

11. UK : Millions of pounds were given to businesses and banks to prevent them from closing down. Still all British car companies have closed down.

12. Germany : Financial incentives were given to scrap older cars so that people can buy new cars.

13. Italy : Subsidies are given for purchase of “green scooter”.

14. Russia : Direct subsidies are given to auto companies and tariffs imposed on used cars to protect industry.

15. China, South Korea : Policies and subsidies are used to protect local automakers.

16. Russia, India and Turkey use import tariffs to protect local industries.

17. China, India, Russia, Vietnam, Ecuador, Argentina, Brazil all have tariff barriers. The United States imposed 35% tariff on China-made tyres.

18. The G20 resolved against protectionism but all of them provide protection in various forms for their businesses, contracts and products.

19. So, is it wrong for Malaysia to protect local industries? Actually our protection is minimal.

20. We believe in competition but we are up against countries which protect their industries against foreign products. In Europe standards are raised every year to keep foreign cars out of their markets. The cars and other products we import are cheap because of subsidies and protection by their countries.

21. In America, if there is a slight defect in the product, selling the product in the US market would be stopped. Because one person got rashes from wearing gloves made of Malaysian rubber, all Malaysian gloves were banned.

22. Millions of Toyota’s hybrid cars were recalled because one car had defective brakes.

23. We can close down Proton and buy only foreign-made cars. Roughly 50,000 people would be thrown out of work. Their families would be deprived of a bread-winner. Many other industries including component suppliers, transport companies etc will suffer. Economic growth would be effected.

24. If we think that without the need to protect Proton, foreign cars would be cheaper, we are wrong. Without the tax on foreign cars and on Proton cars, Government revenue would be smaller. There would be little money to finance infrastructure, universities, scholarships etc. Generally standards of living could decline. So the Government will have to continue with high taxes for imported cars. It is not Proton which is causing foreign cars to sell at high prices.

• Dissappointed Ted on Apr 01, 2011 at 6:56 pm

“Without the tax on foreign cars and on Proton cars, Government revenue would be smaller. There would be little money to finance infrastructure, universities, scholarships etc.”

correction : There would be little money to finance BRIBERY, infrastructure, universities, scholarships etc.

bribery should be first…

• bill pagar on Apr 01, 2011 at 7:14 pm

Ted, i lived in US before. It such a good country that offer a good life to all people. I suggest u migrate there. The sooner the better. I miss USA!!!

• Malaysian on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:12 pm

yes and u can own gun freely also there.credit card also free to student at US so they can get bankrupt easly.u know how many billions US loan to World bank?this country u said good? i feel sorry for u.hahaha.

• Dissappointed Ted on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:53 pm

sorry bill.. i dont hate malaysia. i only hate the government… for me, malaysia is way better than usa… school kids dont shoot ppl over here… and the most important thing, we dont bomb other countries…

• pumpkin76 on Apr 02, 2011 at 9:48 am

No matter how we love or hate the G…… we should still LOVE our country,,,,,,, This is our root!!!!!!

• Honda Civic on Apr 04, 2011 at 2:35 am

At least Msia is not indebt trillions of dollars.

• Sureee… Cool statements, we dont mind paying of course if to help the country, but wait, those money we paid are given to Bn and Umno, hahahhahaha. Noone would complain if those money we paid for foreign cars really goes into fund to develop our country.

• ehem.. on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:17 pm

u think if other parties win the election their people will not had any corruption?

• Dissappointed Ted on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:04 pm

dude, did i say theres no corruption in the oppositions parties? nope.. didnt say that. i dont know how corrupted the oppositions are, but in the gov agency that i used to work with, it was so corrupted that everybody’s salary had to be cut to make way for the corrupted boss to minum kopi thats worth hundreds of thousands.. corruption WILL AFFECT QUALITY…

• Malaysian on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:03 am

how can u say staff salary for ur gov agency had to be cut because of corruption?i’d never heard gov staff salary being cut before.

• Dissappointed Ted on Apr 02, 2011 at 5:42 pm

contract workers… not those gov servants…

• Vincent on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:43 pm

The right calculation should be:

Without Proton, other car maker will come into Malaysia.

We might able to export till 2 million PCs Instead of 200000 unit a year by Proton for local market.. What would be the profit and Tax pay in 10 years for 2 mio PCs a year?

Pls don’t fool us anymore lar!

• ‘The rapid growth in the ownership of cars is due to the cheapness of the Proton.” This sentence summarizes everything u need to know about Proton

• redboy on Apr 02, 2011 at 10:22 am

the money will go to Port Klang Free Trade Zone, Roof Leaking of Parliament, the falling Stadium…so many people’s pocket, definitely not to the rakyat!

• BeemerFreak on Apr 04, 2011 at 8:54 am

Dont comment on behalf of other countries. They always do it for the better of the people not the politicians. Like SIngapore, they Have the Certificate Of Entitlement system to limit cars on the road whereby it only allows car amount growth by 3% a year. This reduces traffic jams. Better still as the COE runs out every 10 years, you practically have to buy a new car every 10 years. It makes singapore so much cleaner as newer technologies are being put on the road with less emissions.

We could still remove import tax an other excise duties and make cars affordable however by introducing a system whereby malaysian families must change cars every 10 years by giving them a scrapping value, we could also reduce congestion.

MOST IMPORTANTLY all these countries has the best basic infrastructure to start with that is a reliable PUBLIC TRANSPORT SYSTEM which malaysia clearly has none or little to speak about.

• jtiongwl78 on Apr 03, 2011 at 10:54 pm

Of course. I strongly agree. If cannot afford it, at least reduce the gap between it and make it much easier for me to achieve it in the future..

• Spongebob on Apr 01, 2011 at 6:13 pm

Sexy car, but the price….. dont talk abt it ><

• mirror mirror on Apr 01, 2011 at 6:31 pm

Kacang putih.

• sitiboleh on Apr 01, 2011 at 6:32 pm

someone complained that Malaysians have to pay high prices for cars because the Government is protecting Proton.

2. Actually the high price for imported cars was fixed before Proton to reduce gas-guzzling cars from being imported. Thus cars with big engines are taxed (import duty) by 300%. Other cars are also heavily taxed to reduce import of petrol.

3. When Proton was introduced the price fixed was lower due to lower tax being charged. The buyers profited from the lower price so that those who could not buy a car before could now buy a Proton car.

4. Still the tax on Proton yielded 18 billion Ringgit in government revenue over a 10-year period. This is simply because more people bought Protons who before could not afford to own a car. The rapid growth in the ownership of cars is due to the cheapness of the Proton.

5. Today Proton’s share of the market is less than 30%. A lot of foreign cars are being imported because Malaysians are richer now. Despite Mercedes and BMW costing three times more in Malaysia than in Europe, Malaysia is one of the best markets for these huge luxury cars. They buy these cars because they just like them and do not mind the high price. It has nothing to do with protecting Proton.

6. Is the Government doing something that other Governments are not doing? I list below the measures taken by other countries to protect their economy.

7. Singapore : Buyers have to pay a high price for a certificate to import cars. In America US$74 billion in Government funds were used to bail out automotive companies. (Without this bailout General Motors would close down. Americans would have to buy foreign-made cars).

9. France: Government doled out billions to automakers to keep the automotive industries alive.

10. Spain : Interest free loans were made available by the Government to support local industries.

UK : Millions of pounds were given to businesses and banks to prevent them from closing down. Still all British car companies have closed down.

12. Germany : Financial incentives were given to scrap older cars so that people can buy new cars.

13. Italy : Subsidies are given for purchase of “green scooter”.

Russia : Direct subsidies are given to auto companies and tariffs imposed on used cars to protect industry.

China, South Korea : Policies and subsidies are used to protect local automakers.

Russia, India and Turkey use import tariffs to protect local industries.

China, India, Russia, Vietnam, Ecuador, Argentina, Brazil all have tariff barriers. The United States imposed 35% tariff on China-made tyres.

The G20 resolved against protectionism but all of them provide protection in various forms for their businesses, contracts and products.

So, is it wrong for Malaysia to protect local industries? Actually our protection is minimal.

We believe in competition but we are up against countries which protect their industries against foreign products. In Europe standards are raised every year to keep foreign cars out of their markets. The cars and other products we import are cheap because of subsidies and protection by their countries.

In America, if there is a slight defect in the product, selling the product in the US market would be stopped. Because one person got rashes from wearing gloves made of Malaysian rubber, all Malaysian gloves were banned.

Millions of Toyota’s hybrid cars were recalled because one car had defective brakes.

We can close down Proton and buy only foreign-made cars. Roughly 50,000 people would be thrown out of work.
    Their families would be deprived of a bread-winner. Many other industries including component suppliers, transport companies etc will suffer. Economic growth would be effected.

If we think that without the need to protect Proton, foreign cars would be cheaper, we are wrong.

Without the tax on foreign cars and on Proton cars, Government revenue would be smaller. There would be little money to finance infrastructure, universities, scholarships etc. Generally standards of living could decline. So the Government will have to continue with high taxes for imported cars. It is not Proton which is causing foreign cars to sell at high prices.

• Bumiputraking on Apr 01, 2011 at 7:07 pm

I am not so sure about your argument, when a foreign car is sold, WHERE DOES THE AP MONEY GO TO? And who gets it? What do they do with it? Have our GDP per capita increased substantially?

Take a look at Singapore, although they DO cost as expensive as the cars we get here, but the COE (certificate of entitlement) is clearly more transparent and income redistributive, as it goes straight to the government’s pocket, which in turn goes back to the rakyat there.

What happened to the AP on the other hand? explain.

• Malaysian on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:23 pm

what will u do if u got the AP ‘bumiputraking’? don’t be hipokritla..

• Critique on Apr 03, 2011 at 12:01 am

The question is , what will U do ‘Malaysian’ ? But then again, we all know the answer to that… hehee :D

• Unforgiven on Apr 03, 2011 at 2:04 pm

The bumiputra AP king is the one that can anytime buy this F12 BMW 6-Series Cabriolet easily.

The Proton 50,000 people will not be better than the 50,000 in Thailand/Indonesia/China who assemble other makes in the near future…

The Proton 50,000 people will not be able to buy this F12 BMW 6-Series Cabriolet unless there’s corruption involved….

Most of them will still be driving a Proton…

• forever.developing on Apr 01, 2011 at 7:29 pm

Msia performed so badly in utilizing resources resulted Msia stuck as a country providing low end services or producing low end car !! should become developed country by now. MYR should be at least 1:1 to SG dollar

• hmm... on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:26 pm

wah..u’re bank negara gabenor ka or just graduated from Singapore Poli. hahahha

• forever.developing on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:21 pm

if i’m bank negara gabenor than you will be Prime Minister.. surely you will do a better job distribute the wealth among those warlords..

• hmm... on Apr 04, 2011 at 12:32 am

i think if u’re the bank negara gabenor u’ll bankruping malaysia.hahaha

• Jaaaaaguar on Apr 02, 2011 at 6:59 am

true, easy to suggest, not so easy to do.

worth the effort though

• squawk on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:22 pm

Well, in the 80s, people here were interchangeably using Singapore & Malaysia coins, with S’pore currency being just slightly lower. But that was then. :-)

• nononon on Apr 01, 2011 at 7:51 pm

it’s funny how people thinks if the 300% tax are gone they can buy a car like ferrari

• Malaysia Bull on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:37 pm

Ur mind is outdated…………….

• balloon on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:58 pm

i am sure not everyone can buy a ferrari without the 300% tax but it would be much easier to buy than now !

And most of the current Ferrari’s around are Reconditioned … without the tax they will be able to buy a BRAND NEW FERRARI !

and the middle income people would be able to buy foriegn cars which are much much more advanced than our local made cars !

whatever the situation is .. the RAKYAT will benefit more without the tax.

• Amfin on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:05 pm

TDM had put a very selective comparison as noted above.He forgot to look into automotive advances made by Thailand & Indonesia.Automotive industry requires multiple resources eg Human,Capital and Material.It is sad that with all the resources in Malaysia we can only support Proton & Perodua.
    We forget shortsightedly that with big investor eg Toyota,GM,VW,Alfa Romeo etc & now Kawasaki ,Ducati & Honda Motorcycle Unit(whom already invested heavily in Thailand & Indonesia) will not only employ local worker but will also generate multiplying effect of vendor chain supplier,technology transfer and material supplies thus creating more jobs rather than just to protect the so called 50,000 Malaysians.Our crony based AP system also not helping Malaysia to be the rightful Automotive Hub Country.:(

• venven81 on Apr 02, 2011 at 9:30 am

Couldn’t be more agreeable with you bro!!! The statement by TDM can no longer fool the bunch of knowledgeable people in this k-economy era. The multiplier effect is far greater in producing more jobs to the people along the value chain and help our economy to grow. Come on peeps! Wake up!

• khaix19a on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:35 pm

better wait for the coupe version

• squawk on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:29 pm

————
    Ooh, I didn’t know the govt was so forward thinking back then to reduce import of gas guzzlers. I only know that engine capacities were much lower then. A 2.3l Merc was considered a super big car then.

Also, I remember Toyotas and Hondas only cost around RM12k (1.3) to RM18k (for a 1.8 or 2.0) before Proton came to light.

Maybe my memory is also failing me like an old doctor’s.

• squawk on Apr 02, 2011 at 1:32 pm

Can you imagine how many Opels, Fiats, Alfas, Volvos, Mercs, Minis, VWs, Fords, Peugeots, Citroens (and the odd Beemer) were running around last time?

For those who didn’t want to spend too much on cars or couldn’t afford it, they would buy the 2nd tier cars i.e. Toyotas, Hondas, Datsuns, Mazdas, Mitsubishis.

And it’s not uncommon for a govt servant to make about RM600 – RM1k a month.

See how far we’ve advanced?

• lol Paul you should follow it back and see which showroom it is delivered to :P

• Gus-Gus on Apr 03, 2011 at 3:51 pm

Is that a cloth top? At that price and no steel convertible roof? Shocking.

• Malaysia Boleh on Apr 04, 2011 at 12:48 pm

I wonder what happened to Proton. If you are drive around town or throughout Malaysia, 3 out 4 cars are either Proton or Perodua. Yet, Proton is losing money and is puting more money into Lotus.

• Hanssolo58 on Apr 04, 2011 at 3:30 pm

Well…lets think about it for a second.
    BN is the only Government in the world which has double standards as part of their Constitution…
    Can you believe it…Different Standards for Different Races…and the best part is they are not even ashamed of it.

Lets change the constitution first before we try to save our auto industry.