Proton aims to dominate APRC Malaysian Rally 2011

Proton is confident of a strong performance in this weekend’s Malaysian Rally, which is the opening leg of the Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC). As we reported earlier this week, the Satria Neo S2000 that Alister McRae and Chris Atkinson will drive in APRC has received a host of improvements, mainly in the engine and suspension.

The Satria Neo S2000 is running with a revised suspension set-up, using a Reiger Racing Suspension for the first time, as well as different characteristics in the engine.

“The change in suspension gives us greater confidence and better traction while revisions to the engine now provides us with more horsepower and offers consistent torque throughout the rev range. These improvements have really honed the whole package, and everything flows much better and feels more natural,” said Atkinson.

His Scottish teammate, who led last year’s event before a damaged radiator denied him an outright victory, is gunning for no less than a win. “We led this event last year and I really think we’ve got what it takes to win in Malaysia and that goes for the whole championship. I can’t wait to get going with this one,” McRae said.

The Malaysian Rally has attracted a total of 38 entries, with 11 cars competing for APRC points. The rally starts today with a short 2.5km sprint on a super special stage for spectators at the Angsana Shopping Complex in Tampoi, JB. Day 2 of the rally involves seven special stages, with another seven special stages being run on the third and final day.

The rally, which will be run around Kota Tinggi, will cover a total distance of 587.07 km, of which 233.76 km will be competitive and 353.31 km the liason distance.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• taboogen on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:24 pm

omg how fast that car really goes in that kelapa sawit road… make me dizzy….
    can u spot the different.. the Proton logo on S2000 is different from the Cusco car.. :p

• aminlife on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:44 pm

owsome!

• karpal sinking on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:51 pm

I suggest 1 track around paddy field.. oil palm farm is just freakin boring

• Very fast car and a pro driver. Makes my adrenaline rush by just watching it from the cockpit camera.

Quite scary yet thrilling!

• with this car..don’t mind if we don’t have tarmac road..hahaha..nice!

• BadBET on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:04 pm

I used to venture into sawit estate, those rally drivers really brave and skillful. Cant imagine how it feel sitting in the co pilot seat. Salute.

• bobdbilder on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:16 pm

Too bad Daryl from R3 couldn’t make it. He’s having annual stock take. Business before pleasure. Reality bites, yada yada yada….

• tianshi on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:41 pm

I suppose that is just for warm up?

anyway this can be the only possible way i ever support proton by just looking at other competitors, i mean i just feel that this S2000 really is come here to race in an aggressive way

• ejen 007 on Apr 02, 2011 at 12:04 am

laju nak mampos. hahahahaha
    salute.

• antaras on Apr 02, 2011 at 12:26 am

The vid is just freakin awesome! I think I’ll pee in my pants if I’m in the co-driver’s seat! LOL… trees on left and right… really R.E.S.T.E.C.P!

• mnazri.tan on Apr 02, 2011 at 9:45 am

The only problem now would be, Proton take too long to develop the Neo…it suppose to be towards the end of its life cycle…..Proton should have develop and promote the strength of Neo on the first year of production….Now, i dont think it would do any good let alone boosting sale of Neo…if anything it will improve image of Proton for next car….

But nonetheless, despite the age…now i admire the car and hope the replacement would come soon and they develop the Motorsport part early

• bobdbilder on Apr 02, 2011 at 9:47 pm

I don’t think a replacement for the Neo as in platform change is in the cards. Drive train; a definite yes. But not the entire body shell design. Hatchbacks like Satria Neo is a low volume seller compared to the 4 door models. It caters for a small segment of Proton’s total market. Bringing back Motorsports just widens a bit its wedge into that market. The model remains nice to some people but would have a longer ROI, stifling further investment in R+D on its chasis development. Enthusiast would like it, shareholders obviously don’t.

• Ford_GT on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:18 pm

They should have organize tarmac tracks despite held a long run event in oil palm estate gravel road.

• theking on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:53 pm

Dun wori the new hatch will come out n make sure u buy one ya.

• Awesome!! =D

• whiskey on Apr 02, 2011 at 8:16 pm

it’s amazing how the tyres get traction on that narrow gravel road….feels faster than us cruising on the hway! the kelapa sawit trees really made me dizzy!

• so fast and stable, my phobia always been if an animal across the road, u going to have big crash, talking from experience here

• spike on Apr 03, 2011 at 12:23 am

It’s going to be difficult not to win the rally when you are the only competing S2000s.

• Lovely Car.

• cool man on Apr 03, 2011 at 2:30 pm

stop wasting $$$$

• sfssd on Jul 12, 2011 at 8:00 am

I think this is more towards uplifting the brand image, more like investment than wasting money.