F10 BMW Concept M5 unveiled at Auto Shanghai 2011

BMW has unveiled a near-production version of the new F10 BMW M5 at Auto Shanghai 2011. All the traditional M5 cues are there – the gill at the side, the quad exhaust tailpipes at the rear, and the wide bumper intakes at the front.

Unlike the E60 M5 which shared a lot of similarities in terms of looks with the regular M-Sport E60 especially at the front view thanks to the similar bumper, the new F10 M5 looks completely different from the M-Sport F10 at the front end (compare here).

The front bumper looks far more aggressive, with a lower intake that is narrower at the top and wider at the bottom, with the M-Sport bumper being the other way around. The fog lamps have been deleted as well.

As expected, the engine has lost 2 cylinders – it’s now a V8, but more than makes up for it by gaining two turbochargers. And unlike the X5 M and X6 M, the new BMW M5 Concept uses a 7-speed M Double Clutch gearbox instead of an M-modified 8-speed ZF slushbox. The new V8 engine and M DCT gearbox combo also has auto start/stop. No power figures have been released as of now.

The F10 has quite a large and fat body so to fill up those wheel arches, 20 inch wheels have been specified. The suspension system is said to be unique to the M5, and there’s also a new Active M Differential that actively controls the multi-plate lock inside the rear diff to ensure power is transmitted to the correct rear wheel.

Look after the jump for a full photo gallery of the car.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2128]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Willy on Apr 04, 2011 at 11:45 pm

Sweet hot mama!

• SoMeOnE on Apr 04, 2011 at 11:58 pm

hmm…well life goes on…but the previous M5 was all about that massive engine..it truly was mesmerizing when i tried one out as a rental on a trip to Doha (i just had to when i found out they have those for rent !l)… i can safely say it was and still is one of THE engines of the 21st century…and though im sure this new on is much more drivable,efficient etc…..the way the v10 made u hair stand up at full blow is etched in my head but sadly it is consigned to history.. ..i wonder if progress for the sake of progress is ok…….oh well…moving along now then…..

• kelah on Apr 05, 2011 at 12:10 am

a V8 with two turbochargers…
    sound better than the previous V10

• Kiddo on Apr 05, 2011 at 3:55 am

the new V8 might sound meaty at low revs but the V10’s sound would be better when it’s at high revs.

• Gavin on Apr 05, 2011 at 12:21 am

sweeeettttt….

• omaha on Apr 05, 2011 at 12:23 am

Can some rich oil royal family give me one of this? I mean for free? I can’t see myself driving one of this in my life. If I have you, my life is complete. I can sleep in the car all day long. Kudos BMW, I never doubt your design. Now I better continue to dream on!

• ocotopus on Apr 05, 2011 at 1:56 am

even if they give you..i bet u cant even afford to maintain it

• khaix19a on Apr 05, 2011 at 12:42 am

get ready to see wanna be fiver to be M5 on the road……

• Honda Civic on Apr 05, 2011 at 1:07 am

I have been hating the F10’s design since day 1. But I have to say, I am very impressed on how this M5 looks! BMW managed to turn that old man style F10 into a growling aggresive looking monster! Kudos for BMW!

• confused on Apr 05, 2011 at 5:57 pm

normal F10 looks waaay better than normal E60, thus, making F10 M5 looks waaaaaaaaaaaay better than E60 M5..

lalala~

• EB16.4 on Apr 05, 2011 at 2:03 am

looks bland and uninspiring. where have the X6M styling cues gone to? and i don’t know what you guys are so excited about. the M3 is the trump card here, not the overweight M5s.

• Kiddo on Apr 05, 2011 at 4:49 pm

well, perhaps we are just overweight humans that like overweight cars like the F10 M5.

Different individuals have different preferences, why can’t we adore the M5?

• shawal on Apr 05, 2011 at 2:47 am

The difference between the concept and the actual car would be those window tint …..their illegal , looks better than the previous model thats for sure…

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Apr 05, 2011 at 4:59 am

Seriously Bavarian Motor Works,a new family face should exist by now,I’m totally laughing at this car,it looks boring and the rear design reminds me off the ugly X6.
    The old Beemers look better and muscular but this is awful.
    Sorry BMW.

• clutch basah on Apr 05, 2011 at 7:09 am

Looks like a normal 5 series when it comes to the looks, its a HUGE disappointment!!
    it is a damn good looking car..no doubt.. but it doesn’t give me that..WHOAA..NEW M5 factor.. that all previous M5´s has done.. I’ll still reserve judgment to the real production car. I am sorry, but can’t say I am on board with loving this car. God do I miss the old BMW M5s of yesteryear’s.

• Ordinary Joe on Apr 05, 2011 at 9:50 am

Very-very nice indeed! But IMHO, it could do with nicer wheels.

• 4G63tDSM on Apr 05, 2011 at 10:49 am

man oh man..

Looks like BMW is back to form.

I never quite liked the old E60s. This new F10 M5 sticks close to what a high powered german saloon is supposed to look like.

To understand why BMW has gone to basics in terms of design, one has to understand the psyche of a typical souped up german/european buyer. They are looking for understated looks and massive power, so its not rare for owners to actually request a badge delete option…in fact if they could I know people who would rather this new M5 to look less loud – after being dissapointed by the E60 M5, a buddy of mine ended up with a Audi RS6 Avant instead.

• rallyfan00 on Apr 06, 2011 at 8:08 am

i think most people here are too young to know what the term ‘Q car’ means, which is what the M5 is supposed to be since the beginning.

• shahrokhi on Apr 05, 2011 at 1:08 pm

wwwoooooowwwwwwww………………..sweett

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on Apr 05, 2011 at 1:10 pm

never really liked the look of the standard model. But this is more hideous….
    BMW have lost their touch… Previous E60 had character but this is plain lazy
    design. Same goes for E90 the exterior is ok but the interior is plain and boring.
    No budget for design I think when they came out. Just like others manufacture… BMW also cutting corners.
    But then again they have been cutting corner for ages which explains why
    they are so unreliable….

• Seriously on Apr 05, 2011 at 6:31 pm

still uncomfortable.

• Mpower on Apr 05, 2011 at 6:49 pm

The game has juz started! :)

• 2004 M5 / 5-series design is much better

• deftones on Apr 05, 2011 at 7:39 pm

whatever it is..it is still a mens car
    this is a car that i will scared of even if i drive gt-r
    look at youtube, gt-r hardly beats the M

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on Apr 06, 2011 at 11:58 am

GT-R will eat M5….wrong comparison…

• BUGT-r on Apr 06, 2011 at 1:25 pm

A GT-R could even eat a Bug if it feels like it…

like this:
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8-3yQ9EdD9A&feature=player_embedded

• Spongebob on Apr 05, 2011 at 9:00 pm

Fuyohhh!! Now we’re talking!

• Speed Racer on Apr 06, 2011 at 1:41 am

love the color. in short. fantastic looking car.

• blacky on Apr 06, 2011 at 12:00 pm

rear light resembles those on lexus 460

• Kumar san on Apr 07, 2011 at 5:05 pm

This will be an absolute beast to pelt hard.Owned both the E28 M5 and the E34 M5 those days,manuals..lovelly cars..these were real driver’s cars with minimum if not no electronic intervention..those were the days and they will never make em’ like these iconic M-Tech models anymore..once you go continental in this range,you probably won’t look at anything else but personal tastes differ..brilliant and well engineered cars.

I just hope they make the engine note sound like war like the previous V-10 engined M5 supremo..

Brilliant nonetheless.Cheers.