Fernandes: Only one team has M’sian blood running deep

Team Lotus has hit the ground running in trying to win the hearts of local F1 fans ahead of the Malaysian GP this weekend. They were the first to organise a pre-race event with the street demo in Putrajaya last Saturday, and team boss Tony Fernandes is now saying that TL is “more Malaysian” than the other two linked to our country.

“Team Lotus returns home and we are all excited about the race ahead. There will be three teams here with links to Malaysia but only one team that has Malaysian blood running deep in its veins, with Malaysian staff contributing to our growth at every level and which has been built from the ground up in the same style as Formula One’s grandee teams,” the AirAsia boss said.

“We are enormously proud of what we have already achieved in just 18 months and we have done it through hard work and dedication, not by buying seemingly instant success through stickers on a car,” he added, seemingly taking a dig at the other player in the Lotus vs Lotus battle.

On track, the T128s are supposed to challenge the midfield teams this year, but ended the Australian GP in the familiar situation of one DNF and the sole finisher classified ahead of Virgin. Team Lotus Chief Technical Officer Mike Gascoyne is expecting a better result at Sepang.

“The conditions at Sepang should suit us more favourably. I think the track temperatures will help us show more of the car’s true pace and as the layout it is quite similar to Barcelona – relatively high aero and a good mix of low and high speed turns – I think we will be able to extract more performance from the car than we were able to in Melbourne. The whole team is excited about the challenge ahead – they are energised by the huge local support we have and that will help us all put in a performance that will do our fans proud,” he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• udasalleh on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:04 am

‘built from the ground up’… ‘not by buying seemingly instant success through stickers on a car’??? –

What is he? 12 years old? Talkin like back in the schoolyard days huh? Seriously TF is being petty and in claiming to be more Malaysian than other Malaysians? In all reality no one else claims their outfit is totally Malaysian… they just invested into something (more of that another time)… and I really think the mature Malaysian spectators really just wanna see a Malaysian invested or owned outfit to race a good race and land at the podium! How n why should we be proud to be at the back of the pack.

No disrespect but TF should just shut up and win some races. Then u can TALK.

• virosh on Apr 04, 2011 at 5:34 pm

It isn’t easy to win races when you’ve just started a team. Even in F1 history, its really rare. Calling it completely malaysian would be wrong but at least give him some credit for trying. How many malaysians have even got into F1?

• drMpower on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:06 am

perhaps a third place finish for Lotus-Renault Down Under last time
    too much for him to chew in his big-but-empty mouth
    what he is trying to do is anyones guess, if any does interest at all
    but mind games dont work in these segment of f1
    trying to flame the drivers may do the wonder
    but if the cars arent quick enough or keep braking down
    that aint game tony
    thats bloody poor job

would he be willing to trade podium finishes
    with the thicker malaysian blood?
    i dont know but i doubt that he doesnt
    for a man who heads an airline which own very subjective way of doing things
    i would have thought that tony prefers the points
    rather than the telor ayam he got ever since their venture last season

PR job what he does best
    he did that during his younger days
    we all know that
    but PR job doesnt win races
    hard, smart, and canny works do

hate to bash another malaysian own f1 team
    but he gives me no choice

• well spoken, pin-point accurate fact!!!
      agreed 110%

come on Tony.. go win some race.
      or at least get a decent qualifying first..

still a back marker for 2nd season??
      maybe should change sport.. sponsor National football team, they are doing
      well currently, can get instant publicity

• WiiNextGen on Apr 04, 2011 at 4:24 pm

Bro,you think its easy to built an f1 team huh?This is a long term project.not like some malaysian who are always hangat hangat tahi ayam.Sponsor setahun dah mau lari.Remind back la…Manchester United and barcelona need many many years to make the team became strong.U malaysian always talking without using your brain.You wait and see..in 5 or 6 years maybe Team Lotus team will be crown as World Champion.Netx time if Paultan Publish about Team Lotus become a world champion,dont comment like OHHH IM SO PROUD OF THIS TEAM,THIS IS MALAYSIAN TEAM and show off to others.Go Support your lovely Lotus Renault GP.Net time dont support team lotus.Rubbish la you all.

• virosh on Apr 04, 2011 at 5:47 pm

Totally agree with you. All malaysians know how to do is bash up other malaysians who do not succeed instantly. This is only their second season. I don’t see others complaining about other teams that entered F1 the same year that team lotus did?? At least Team lotus are ahead of them. True malaysians will stick by Team lotus through thick and thin.

• I don’t mind his team racing around but TF is talking too MUCH. People will start to hate you when they got fed up with your PR exercise.

Just keep quiet and race like others. Talk after quarter,half and full season. No point babbling after each and every track.

Better yet, get a point first. 10th place is enough.

• tiadaid on Apr 04, 2011 at 7:13 pm

The other teams are behind Lotus yes, but they don’t make grandiose, boastful statements like Tony Fernandes. Get that through your head, yes it’s not easy to be succesful quickly, so don’t act all cocky and boastful when you don’t have the results to back it up. Red Bull didn’t say they’re going to challenge for the championship in the 1st year, so did their predecessor Stewart. If TF was humble, public opinion towards him would be much favourable. Just because he made AirAsia doesn’t mean he’s allowed to be cocky in F1. In F1 he’s nothing!

The only reason many people support him is that people like to support the anti-government entities. In F1 TF fights against Proton, which people definitely hate with a vengeance, and in the airline business he fights against “big bad MAS” eventhough when you add it all up AirAsia’s price is more or less the same as MAS with less warmth in its service!

You know the word tin kosong? That’s what he is right now – talk a lot loudly but no substance. He maybe a succesa story in aviation (although the true story’s distorted) but like I said in F1 he’s nothing yet!

• sri hartamas on Apr 04, 2011 at 7:26 pm

this is not about bashing another malaysian. If at all, Fernandes is the one who began the bashing other malaysians. His reaction is simply due to plain jealousy. This guy is not happy seeing others steal the thunder from him. How sad. Why cant he be civil for once and congratulate Proton-Renault for their podium finish? Is that too much for this ego-maniac to do?

• TF GTH on Apr 06, 2011 at 12:07 am

Hey bro.. u sound like u work with TF eh..Kiss his arse to much.u also talk like him la..

• accord on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:28 pm

Hahaha…..

I can smell an emotional person here… Sorry TL & TF… You just to slow to compete in F1.

• drMpower on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:33 pm

u wanna talk man united, barca?
          okay lets talk
          man united, barca do the talking on the pitch
          and they REALLY do it the RIGHT way
          man united got a very crazy good thinker in managers they ever had and even having now
          barca has all the unbelieveable talents even before La Masia was even born!
          so compare to tony’s outfit,
          are they on the same level of hardwork?
          the canny work?

to be frank, i dont see the relevance at all
          and it shows how naive u are when u quoted mU and barca on the same breathe as tony’s lotus
          and not to mention it is an insult,degrading when 2 of the greatest footballing institutions are compared with an outfit that team principal was busy with whos blood is thicker.

maybe too quick to defend the indefensible tony
          enough of the barca, man united bs.
          ————————————————-

i got no problem with the team
          i got a big problem with tony
          i dont care he got anything, even from the Mother Queen or whoever
          but when he started b-sting about the deep of malaysian blood
          certainly he was poking fun (its not fun at all, its pathetic) at the renault-lotus team

i dont get it why such statement should be made in the first place?
          flaming for no reason?
          hatred?
          mind games?
          like i said, mind games dont work at all when NONE of ur cars
          are competing with the rival u are playing mind games with
          poking fun? u must be kidding me?
          the fact that matter is that russian drove competitively and the team execute much more accurate pitstop strategy
          the bigger fact that matter is, after round 1, tony’s team got telor ayam point.

mike gascoyne is a terrific guy
          hes a proven personal
          and i know the team work hard to get the cars ready and be competitive

but when u got a team principal who more concern about the thickness of the blood,
          it is not helping at all
          i have said it since last year
          stop talking of unnecessary
          and do more serious work

• agreed again with you bro…
            dis time 150%

i don think i need to reply to WiiNextGen’s not-so-mature / a-bit-stupid comments on comparing Man Utd, Barca wif Tony’s Lotus

like others said, Tony talk a lot.. by bringing thicker malaysian blood issue, i dunno what he aim for? he want us to be patriotic and support him?

from what i can see, he try to play the ‘victim’ here..
            and for those Tony’s Lotus supporter.. keep on supporting your beloved team.. i hope you don’t die frustrated!!
            (will Tony’s Lotus ever step on podium? like i said before.. get a decent qualifying first, not 19-20 as usual)

• Civic_RS on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:15 pm

TL BETTER THAN LG..AND I DO RESPECT TL MORE THAN LG EVEN IF LG WIN THE CONSTRUCTOR CHAMPIONSHIP…BECAUSE U DONT REALISE P1 USE RAKYAT MONEY TO BUY SHARE FROM FORMER WORLD CHAMPION TEAM (G MONEY IS BELONG TO RAKYAT AS COUNTRY BELONG TO RAKYAT!)…BUT WHAT RAKYAT WILL GET? NOTHING BRO…NOTHING!

• financial sponsor not management on Apr 04, 2011 at 4:27 pm

Team Lotus – manage by a Malaysian, with tonne of Malaysian involve in that teanm and almost fully sponsor by Malaysia non-GLC company eg: AirAsia, Naza, Maxis etc…

Lotus Renault GP – financial sponsor by GLC Proton, did any Malaysian hired in that team? same as Mercedes GP

So is this a fair comparison?

Yup I agree as TF, Team Lotus is the most pure M’sian blood F1 team.

• yellowbus on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:22 pm

bro…i know for a fact that you’re comment on Mercedes GP is baseless…for your information, Petronas jumped ship from Sauber/BMW to Mercedes because they got a better deal…

it was fruitful when they were with Sauber before BMW bought over i.e. Sauber Petronas Engineering (SPE) – they’ve trained Malaysian engineers there, results? the e01 engine, superbike engine development etc.

after BMW bought over the involvement decreased coz BMW demand more control of the team…Petronas was eager to get out, and Merc GP offered them more, there are technology transfers going on behind close door and there are malaysian engineers working/training there….its not just pasting stickers in Petronas’ case…

On Lotus Renault GP….i have no comment coz i do not have any solid info on that….rather than bashing ppl blindly, i choose to share the facts that i know…not just buat bising like an idiot….

• fazron80 on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:25 pm

How many exactly is Malaysian in Team Lotus? Is it 90 percent. Others doesn’t boast like TF. So why compare with others. Go use other brand why continuing the Lotus saga. What so Malaysian about using Lotus? He owns Air Asia use that brand lar. Proton own lotus they deserve the right to use it. He even fight the previous owner of Team Lotus name. That’s not right at all. He also put Lotus sticker to gain popularity for his team so why the double standard?

We all support Malaysians. Don’t ever doubt our patriotism. But the time for talk is gone. It’s time for reality. And the reality is TF should steer away from the brand Lotus and put his own legacy in the F1. Let there be only one Lotus and TF should find his own F1 branding.

• Arashikage on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:11 am

At the end of the day spectators only remember who’s at the podium an in the points. A lot of start up teams buy already successful teams. Mercedes bought Brawn GP after they became Champions in 2009 and Renault bought Benetton. They do things this way because they cannot afford long development periods. We see that in other sports too, football in particular. So, it’s not wrong. It’s just the way of the game nowadays. TF just have to live with it.

• pomen_gtr on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:16 am

if we talk about 1malaysia team..surely this Team Lotus was my vote….the most MALAYSIAN team….but performance wise…now renault lotus was on top……

• zeenad on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:21 am

really phatetic statement..sad it has to come from a malaysian who supposed to be professional… cant we work together n support each other for the support..move on la small kid

• Toby From Nando's on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:24 am

Tony is running out of anything to say about his controversial F1 team. Pick a Malaysian name lah if you say you are so Malaysian. This is getting lame.

• student on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:35 am

well said TONY.. u have my support.. becos u r not only a TITLE SPONSOR.. u built the team..

• jamal on Apr 04, 2011 at 1:12 pm

i’m with tony. the truth always hurt. renault can buy lotus decals at Brothers shop if that makes them a mlsian team. and success wont come in 2 seasons.

• i support tony too….Malaysian and Malaysian business/entrepreneur pride

• balloon on Apr 04, 2011 at 4:01 pm

i don’t support you TONY ! if you are a TRUE Malaysia team .. then use a MAlaysian name please !

• Ohhhhh pulessssss, talking like your team is the biggest contributor to the national motorsport. Make me wanna vomit blood.

Dey macha, Petronas entered F1 well before you buy your AirAsia and Proton just dump you for Renault.

Don’t wanna say this but with Lotus-Renault winning podium, your Lotus will be in the dustbin of F1. Better get out fast or you’ll be burning money down the road. By that time don’t ask for any tax-waiver for your airline to fund your team.

Talk too MUCH.

• Berza on Apr 04, 2011 at 1:01 pm

Agree.This guy really seems talk too much for his business…Better do it quitely and brilliant…then only that’s the way how public start to respect and honour to him..

• Ibex7 on Apr 04, 2011 at 3:29 pm

Have you forgotten that he’s a good talker? If he doesnt talk, it’s like the end of the world for him. All he wants is cheapo mediocre attention. Shut up Tony!

• Mamak! MiloSuam satop! on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:43 am

I think what he’s trying to say either ‘I have deep pockets’ or ‘Im in deep trouble’.

• B33MER on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:44 am

Tony is hitting below the belt and is getting really desperate … Don’t know whether to pity the guy or laugh at his school boy antics

• Unavailable spare part... on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:51 am

what ever la… as long as all malaysian link team get better result…

• Yup, just get out from F1, like RedBull first 2 years when they just give up. Waait…..
    Did they give up??

Oh no, RedBull sux for their first 2 years then become F1 champion. How can it be like that? Seem patient is lacking among us right. Success is instant right? At least they did not use taxpayer money…

• tiadaid on Apr 04, 2011 at 11:19 am

Patience yes, but Team Lotus & Red Bull have two differing ways of doing business.

Unlike Red Bull, Tony Fernandes’s either making grandiose but unquantified statements or statements that punches below the belt when things doesn’t go his way. You can see that he did it when Petronas chose to sponsor Mercedes instead of them and now he’s doing it to Proton. And his statements about how the team’s going to challenge the midfielders falls flat in Australia, yet still he shoots his mouth off. That’s why people are annoyed and angry at him.

And who said our taxpayer money isn’t used to fund Team Lotus. The support of the AP king, AirAsia’s repeated waiver of airport fees, in essence they ARE supported by taxpayers money!

• remember u ARE also supported by taxpayer money too…fuel, food, medical, education, road etc

• tiadaid on Apr 04, 2011 at 7:17 pm

Yes we are, but then why is it okay for TF to benefit from our tax money when Proton’s getting bashed to no avail for using “taxpayers” money?

• Wrong…
      Redbull was in F1 since 2005… thats more than 2 years.
      RedBull had the advantage of using their sister team TorroRosso as their “development” team.. at least until 2010

• VoidDance on Apr 04, 2011 at 11:34 am

You know, people will just thumbs down your comment just like they will do with this comment written by me. They’re just a bunch of people who dislike TF, not true F1 fans. Because if they know even an iota of what F1 is all about, they will appreciate the eccentricity of TF as much as they will appreciate a start up like TL, like most westerner do.

Yes, you’re right, we are a bunch of impatient people. Invest money today and expected to gain as much as they can tomorrow. Failure is not an option.

• The difference is that Red Bull have one extremely important member, Andrian Newey. When he was at Williams, Williams was world champion a few times, when he went to Maclaren, Maclaren was world champion twice. Ford plotted to lure him from Maclaren but failed, Ron Dennis knew whom he need to hang on to. When Newey joined Red Bull, the effect was almost immediate, although they did not wind world titles right away, they cars were among the fastest on the grid, though not always finishing. Once the reliability is sorted out, his cars are hard to beat. If you look at the past 10-15 years you will find that F1 is dominated by 2 technical directors, Rory Byrne and Adrian Newey, the rest are just there to make up the numbers.

• Arashikage on Apr 04, 2011 at 12:38 pm

Hitting below the belt is not the way forward. TF should welcome competition, not rubbish them aside and claiming it all for themselves. Petronas has been in the game for a long time. Honestly I think they are more involved technically (in terms of fuel and lubricants development) than TF is willing to give credit.

• najibest on Apr 04, 2011 at 2:03 pm

spot on for you there…i guess Tony forgot that back in the Sauber PETRONAS days…Malaysian engineers actually worked with the team..produce engines etc…not to mention some of them are actually working with TF team today….

there’s no point of saying that their team is more Malaysian that others…what we want to see is the result of the involvement in F1 and what benefit that they can bring out….

PETRONAS managed to develop an engine before Proton can actually build 1… (which derivatives are being use in many applications worldwide now) and developed high tech lubricants out of the venture, now they’re gunning to ensure that their lubricants is used in Mercedes cars worldwide…not to mention some good results in racing…i’m sure that if they’ve gone TF way, they would be a mere sponsor just like during the BMW Sauber days…

Proton is using their involvement to promote the Lotus brand as a high performance car brand and hypothetically if they can continue their success they might be able to do just that which would be beneficial for Proton as well

• macha ray on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:59 am

aiseh…
    u make hell of noise lah…
    show the result first

• Dear Tony,
    If your team is more Malaysian, please change its name to “LumbaMalaysia” or “MalaysiaRacing” etc… dump the “Lotus” name.. Lotus name is not Malaysian….

• unimpressed on Apr 04, 2011 at 11:42 am

Might as well use Malaysian name then!

• mankitol on Apr 04, 2011 at 11:46 am

Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN riders malaysia dapat no 10 dlm race 125 motogp,, takdak sapa2 peduli ke

• Thrust on Apr 04, 2011 at 1:52 pm

Bukannya naik podium ke apa…. :p

• WiiNextGen on Apr 04, 2011 at 4:11 pm

Inilah sikap buruk orang malaysia..mau cepat nak berjaya ajer.Tanpa ada usaha yang kukuh.kita bermula dari 0.Kau ingat nak mulakan satu team yang mantap perlu satu tahun aje ke?Kau ingat Manchester United tu kuat dalam masa beberapa bulan aje ke?Pikir la sikit sebelum nak bercakap.Kita sepattunya berbangga dengam Fahmi.Bukan senang nak dapat no 10 drpd 24 orang.

• ezracopters on Apr 04, 2011 at 4:52 pm

yup.. Paultan should cover MotorGP as well. as a fellow Malaysian, i believe we should give more credit to him. Mohd Zulfahmi, he is 19 years old. there are still years ahead of him. Qualifying in 18th place and end up on 10 was superb already!!!

seems like Merempit not that wasting anymore these days hehehehe

• 2fast on Apr 04, 2011 at 12:09 pm

TF speaks like a doomed loser. If his team keeps finishing at the back of the pack for the rest of the season, only two Malaysian sponsored teams will likely to race next year.

• squawk on Apr 04, 2011 at 1:13 pm

Real immature. Is he training to be a future MP?

• chang name lah….. use Malaysia name if you want to be malaysian company… how about Malaysia Boleh F1 Team?…. :)

• Unforgiven on Apr 04, 2011 at 1:53 pm

Where is Proton logo?
    Where is M’sian logo?
    I’m afraid I’m not seeing Lotus Renault as M’sian team at all. Who’s in control? Renault?

• Eyesore on Apr 05, 2011 at 9:10 am

Excuse me… as far as I know Lotus Renault Grand Prix team has never refer their team as a Malaysian team…. Though they are sponsored by Group Lotus which is owned by PROTON, that does not make them a Malaysia team and they never claim to be one….. So, why the fuss about who has a deeper Malaysian blood, or Proton logo or Malaysian logo……… I’m sorry TF, I think you’re barking at a wrong tree….

• bobdbilder on Apr 04, 2011 at 1:55 pm

At best, in his latest effort, TF has stirred interest. That’s what Bernie likes. To him its not about who wins. Its about who cares. Its about who’s watching live telecasts. Apparently TF is great at mustering the crowds. This is what TF is good at. Bernie likes publicity.

Its like watching reality TV. You don’t really give a rat’s a$$ who takes the chequered flag as much as how you are concerned about how those teams struggle, that raises eyebrows and feeds coffee shop talks. That’s what makes you turn on your TV.

F1 was loosing crowds. This act actually pulled them back in. Well done.

• Tony F, you just like others backmaker, just shut up and do some analysis why your team still at the back, others team use Renault engine get top, you, only at back, don’t just talk like a big mouth dog, if this time renault engine cannot pakai, next time to ferrari engine lar, otherwise use your airbus engine, i think is more than enough to beat others.
    18 months for you to achived to build a rubbish team and have a court case with proton, sepang suit u? i will wait what can u achieved.

• gangully on Apr 04, 2011 at 2:01 pm

this coming from a guy who does not speak Malay or reply to questions in Malay on national TV. I am not being a bigot, but if Malaysian blood runs so deep, then boleh cakap bahasa Malaysia tak?

And please drop that fake accent of yours as well, berapa tahun duduk Malaysia? and berapa tahun you tinggal luar negara?

by the way, Mike Gascoyne tu Malaysian ke?or is there deep running Malaysian blood in him too?

• sri hartamas on Apr 04, 2011 at 7:31 pm

TF ni lebih mat salleh dari mat salleh. Did he studied primary school in England so much so that he cant speak a word of the national language? That is most unmalaysian, if you ask me.

• TF thinks that the biz of running an F1 team is like running a cheap budget airline.

He will find out soon enuff….not everything you touch will turn to gold…..

• i like u tony, but sometimes u stretch our believability too far….

serving nasi lemak, roti canai in the paddock…doesn’t make lotus more malaysian than the other 2 teams.

your team may be ‘malaysian-owned’ but to call it malaysian…tak berapa betul tu..

• TF…

U think everything is about marketing?? show off your car at Putrajaya hopefully DS Najib will see and says “ok..ok…no tax for you TF”??….ha ha ha..this is not Air Asia bro……not everyone really like how you *(&^%$ people

• Well done! keep it up! We all should be proud that a malaysian is managing an F1 team. Keep it up Dtk Seri!
      All those who complain and cant give a constructive idea. Go Fk yourself

• I propose to any other GLC or Msian company that are thinking to go into F1 NOT to tag with him. Your ROI will be pathetic.

Nothing personal, just business.

• Carl Wong on Apr 04, 2011 at 3:22 pm

Are the cars from the team running KERS? Our track have 2 good long straights :].

• seriusSAM on Apr 04, 2011 at 3:38 pm

so many emo commentators meh just like tony himself

lol

• emine on Apr 04, 2011 at 3:45 pm

Abg Tony….. If its running Malaysian blood, then better change the team’s name…… stick to the original 1Malaysia Racing…… just like Vijay Mallya’s Force India Team……. the REAL British Lotus fans are supporting Lotus-Renault….. because they know that team is somehow British…….. as for me as a Malaysian….. I like a Malaysian Team with a Malaysian name to it…….

• VoidDance on Apr 04, 2011 at 4:12 pm

” the REAL British Lotus fans are supporting Lotus-Renault….. because they know that team is somehow British”

Really? I highly doubt it.

• emine on Apr 04, 2011 at 4:50 pm

Lotus Group, Proton’s British Subsidiary bought some shares in the team…. plus I read a lot of British Lotus’ fan’s comment in forums by Top Gear and Autocar….. many doesnt seem to like Tony when he claimed his ‘Team Lotus’ is Malaysian…… thats how I knew, many of the British Lotus Fans are supporting Lotus-Renault…….

I support both teams actually…… Lotus-Renault…. becouse it has Proton’s involvement….. plus the original Lotus Group……

Tony’s lead team is actually 1Malaysia Racing….. as a Malaysian i think Tony better be original…… btw even AirAsia’s name was from it’s DRB-Hicoms time during the late Tan Sri Yahya Ahmad’s leadership, they set-up the airline…..

• VoidDance on Apr 04, 2011 at 9:42 pm

“Lotus Group, Proton’s British Subsidiary bought some shares in the team”

No, they did not. Yet.

And, I too read TopGear, Autocar and bunch of other motoring websites. I have yet to find an article about Lotus-Renault that is well received by the westerners. Unless it was about Robert Kubica not so long time ago.

• emine on Apr 05, 2011 at 1:21 pm

Nevermind the the British for a while…… lets get Tony to get a Malaysian name for the Malaysian Team his heading right now……… How about that, eh?? ;) If ever they get to win a race…….. It will be much sweeter for us…… isnt it…… to our dearest Abg Tony: Tukar lah nama pasukan tu kepada nama bercirikan Malaysia…….. Kan lebih elok dan molek…. :)

• biggie on Apr 04, 2011 at 4:08 pm

I honestly like Tony, and always wish for him to succeed in whatever venture he does.

However he has to admit that he cannot deliver:

a) Publicity – Petronas and Proton cannot put advertisement on cars that consistently being a backmarker. If I got the full control of those company I will not do that either.

Naza got no problem, but Peugeot/Kia definitely will not want to associate themselves with a backmarker.

Do you think that Lotus as a maker of high performance cars want to be associated with a car that frequently come last in a race?

b) Technology – What has team Lotus got, nothing! That what Proton found out after a year. So better associate themselves with a partner that can also provide technology input/mfr know how. So Renault come in.

• LOL Hard on Apr 04, 2011 at 4:31 pm

All the comment above seen like doesn’t realise who are the people manage the Team Lotus.

Come on la, Proton and Petornas just financial sponsor the Lotus-Renault GP and Mercedes Petronas GP.

please open your brain and think

• emine on Apr 04, 2011 at 4:53 pm

But ‘Team Lotus’ name is not Malaysian……… Malaysian name for the team PLEASE

• steben on Apr 04, 2011 at 4:55 pm

mmmm….TF will likely become politician some day…hehehe

• Let time take its course, there is no need to be too worked up over this.

• syafiq sulaiman on Apr 04, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Either Petronas, Proton or TF..
    all of them had made malaysia known to the whole world.

all of them had their own aim..
    either to sponsor the team or to built or manage a good team..
    So, i dont think there should be any prob regarding this..

• bravo on Apr 04, 2011 at 6:44 pm

if there is one consistent outstanding performance that Malaysians are good at, it’s condemning other people

• Monday on Apr 04, 2011 at 6:49 pm

to win the hearts of sports fans, they have to start winning races. there is no such thing is loyalty to any team just because they are from the same country unless it is like the now dead A1GP which pitted country vs. country. the fans only want winners and the rest are well… the rest.

• Kid me not on Apr 04, 2011 at 7:10 pm

Tony Fenandes should just shut the F**&^ Up, as he knows jack sh*&t about F1. Look at his comments, oh we are just like 5 second slower than the front running car. Hello Tony every mili second counts in F1, this is why they invested tens of millions into the technology to make the cars quicker than the next, 5 seconds is eternity in F1.

Tony bottom line, you are just an egotistical balless piece of bull sh**ter, aint you guys all the same, pusing sini sana, make the wrong the right. You wanna boast have the caliber to back it up TONY! at least Lotus Reanult walk the talk.

• WiiNextGen on Apr 04, 2011 at 8:29 pm

dude,Think first before write on Paultan.You think your proton is kindly perfect huh?what proton got?Only Crap cars only..at least air asia can make my fly..MAS so expensive.

another things is..at 1980The first launched saga,,Did the proton cars is perfect at that time?Did the car can challange Ferrari or mitsubishi at that time?so what im telling you is..nobody is perfect when they created the team from 0.same on Team Lotus situation.They build from 0.from now they were only 18 months years old.18 month years old can challange red bull.OMG,Its very impossible

• accord on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:25 pm

SORRY WiiNextgen,

I have to agree with Kid Me. Since we talk about F1, slower is slower. We are not talking about mass production cars here. When you ask what proton got?? Yes they got… they have Rally cars that can beat EVO X. Dont said anything.. I know you will said Satria Neo S2000 didnt used their own engine… BUT that was also same to Team Lotus. What engine & gearbox did u think they used?? They used the same engine with Red Bull & Lotus Renault.. The question here is why the margin gap is so OBVIOUS???? and why they still rested in the coffin of bottom three????? How many million of Ringgit they still need just at least to rest in the middle league?

Since Lotus Renault & Mercedes Petronas have better oppurtinity… My Vote goes to them. Sorry TL & TF….

• fazron80 on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:28 pm

Yup with Air Asia can fly isn’t. Then use Air Asia as his F1 brand. Air Asia is his but not Lotus. Lotus is a lost cause. Unless he pays to buy Lotus from Proton. Then he can talk big until the mountain comes down.

• forrestcat on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:33 pm

dude…did u see Richard Bransone spit as much venom as Tony when he lost the bet? No kan…

Tony is a disgrace to Malaysians..no grace and hospitality to his own brethren..a SORE LOSE.we have seen his drama many time againts MAS and MAHB..also Malaysian companies…its not about who built Proton and whose flight is more expensive…

Dude…MAS played anintegral role in nation buidling..so did Proton regardless the losses they made..they played a crucial role in Malaysia’s nation building…look at the US and Uk..lost all its car industry…so what thai and indo is ahead..we have ouw own capacity to design our own cars and maintain our industrual base and can still attract VW and Peugeot to make Malaysian a regional base…the Australians lament that Holden plants now produce rebadged Korean crap and lose alot of designing capabilities when GM took over Holden.MAS played a role sending thousands of Malaysian students overseas, bringing business people in and out and not to mention tourists. Air Asia will never replace the legacy of MAS as a national carrier just as much as Virgin Blue will never replace Qantas as an OZ brand.

So don’t start quibble about history….because MAS and Proton is way longger down the memory lane than Tony and his Air Asia. Oh..BTW..Air Asia is now foreign owned..the sharholders can kick out Tony anytime if he continues to be an arse just like Apple kicked Steve Jobs out once..guess many things is actually slipping under Tony;s fingers..haha

• LOL Hard on Apr 04, 2011 at 11:43 pm

cool story bro…

utusan malaysia should hired you as director

• drMpower on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:45 pm

u are missing the point here dude
        we wish all the best to the team
        but with tony coming out with ‘we got the deepest blood’ crappy
        its not helping the team
        even if its meant for PR exercise

its not about perfection or whatever
        we know for the team to get competitive
        it must be in for the long haul
        2 years are nothing
        but tony atleast should try
        help the team

maybe talk little
        focus on more necessary things
        do more work
        like try to hire that newey guy

i know he doesnt come cheap
        but as far as i am concern
        team principal is the one
        that should be doing such work
        and find the attractive financial package
        to induce newey. or anybody that can bring greater help.

• forrestcat on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:24 pm

I am not taking AirAsia on my Eurotrip….after the shitty service from melbourne and we get this from Tony..really..he feels like a foreigner to me acting all huffed up!!He is not elegant and a sore loser.

Even Richard Branson was a sporting guy and did not spit as much venom as Tony when Branson lost ‘the bet’!!! I guess Tony is indeed to raly this anti Proton sentiment to prop up his name…..as if he started Air Asia without the help politicians and real partners who knew about aviation not to mention F1!!

If he is so Malaysian..try speak Malay, the national language on the screen for once….not in shitty English hybrid accent..I wonder how much he grovelled to get that medal..probably not as much as he grovelled at the MAHB feet to get all those airport tax discounts.

I still remember this Tony on a AA flight in Singapore on which he was on board to apologize to us because the flight delayed by 4 hours!! Truly pathetic.my .last flight on AA coz after that we took Jetstar and MAS to Singapore instead.

• LOL Hard on Apr 04, 2011 at 11:46 pm

“I guess Tony is indeed to raly this anti Proton sentiment to prop up his name….”

yea yea yea, Tony is a Proton basher…

• ignoramus on Apr 05, 2011 at 9:02 am

Tony was on your flight and apologized in person to all?? WOW! Not everyday you see CEO’s apologizing to their customers!

• Malaysian cakap saja on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:46 pm

Yeah, he is just like you all here. Know how to talk only. Comment comment, talk talk, criticize criticize only. Yes, that includes me as well!! Should declare a holiday to commemorate out national pastime. PUI!!!!

• I lol’ed at those who comments how TL still being at the back and will always be at the back after just one race… Even RBR and Vettel cannot say they’re champions for this season after just one grand prix…

and I was wondering too, do you guys actually see how Heiki running in last race before his car got leaking radiator… all in all, the car is not that slow… but reliability is still one of the main issue… I just dont know why Trulli can’t push the car… I hate him for that…

though I kinda agree it’s kinda harsh to say TL “is more malaysian” than the other two… but hey, at least if TL wins (again I say, IF) “Negaraku” will be played…

• now everyone can think on Apr 05, 2011 at 2:34 am

come on TF.u should proud ur partner got podium n the owner is mlysian too.dont juz talk.prove it b4 talk

• leonardo on Apr 05, 2011 at 9:05 am

I would rather cheer for a Malaysian “sticker team” which regularly finish on the podium than a “true Malaysian team” which regularly finish at the back!
    If TF don’t know by now that F1 is about branding and advertising, he better get out of it fast.

• Page Up on Apr 05, 2011 at 1:10 pm

wow… all above talk like they having a F1 team their own…

• seriusSAM on Apr 05, 2011 at 3:23 pm

all those emo commentators should apply job as team principal at any F1 team meh

lol

• Azamiruddin (Kedah, Malaysia) on Apr 05, 2011 at 7:34 pm

i would be more to Lotus Renault GP, the one who build real Lotus cars…

• Civic_RS on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:19 pm

how oso…i always support tony.,.haha

• Donny on Apr 07, 2011 at 9:12 pm

Nice to come here,like ur FB ~~~

• talk talk..talk talk….
    c’mon, we got a race coming up! lets see who’s blood are thicker! hehe.

we use to say ‘go fly kite la’…. now we can say ‘go fly plane laaa’… hehe