LupiniPower Chevrolet SuperUte – bring it on, BMW M!

Seems the gag the BMW M boys pulled to mark April Fools’ day has some admirers, in the form of the people who do make such a performance ute. South African tuning company LupiniPower, the makers of the Chevrolet SuperUte, was delighted to learn of the idea of a BMW M3 Pickup, even if it was pretty much by and large a humourous take on things.

“As huge BMW M fans, we’d love to see an M3 Pickup as our SuperUte’s only real market rival,” Michele Lupini explained. “It is hugely gratifying to note that M has taken note of a need for such top-end pick-up vehicles, although we do also need to point out that SuperUte is certainly no joke – our development cycle is now close to being completed and we’ll soon be ready to deliver.”

What the company is set to deliver is the limited production run 6.0 litre supercharged V8 SuperUte, which develops 535 hp at 5,600 rpm and 799 Nm at 3,400 rpm. Equipped with a six-speed manual transmission, the vehicle is capable of doing the 0-100 kph dash in 4.8 seconds, getting to 160 kph in just 9.9 seconds and on to a top speed of 282 kph.

The LupiniPower SuperUte features race-specification front disc brakes and four-pot calipers, with subtle suspension tweaks improve on the standard Ute’s already impressive handling, road holding and dynamic ability without compromising ride and comfort.

The vehicle wears 20-inch alloy wheels, with staggered 245/35 front and 285/30 rear Bridgestone Potenza RE050 tyres. Optional kit includes a full Bilstein suspension and a limited-slip differential for the serious track day fan.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• T4VR-Ralph on Apr 05, 2011 at 2:37 pm

Im so gonna buy a proton Arena, also thx to BMW M3 Ute

• Firdaus Abdullah on Apr 05, 2011 at 4:28 pm

I recently saw a really cool black arena with an R3 look bumper, back cover and roll bar. Just wondering if Proton is going to produce a new Arena perhaps from the Tuah concept.

• if that proton surely anti-Malaysian brand which is Malaysian will start barking all day long the next day and the rest of the year..lol

• tipical malaysian.. now u can see they are quiet.. just wonder if it was the proton logo, sure kena hentam kaw2.. later if proton make a new ARENA, they will say proton is running out of idea.. juz wait and see..

• Kevin Lee on Apr 05, 2011 at 2:51 pm

do it the aussie way, superute ftw

• squawk on Apr 05, 2011 at 2:52 pm

Hahaha… the joke is turning into reality?

When will someone follow up on BMW’s instant messaging windscreen? :D

• stuart shone on Apr 05, 2011 at 3:44 pm

it’s great to see the australian ute doing well overseas

• pomen_gtr on Apr 05, 2011 at 4:25 pm

well…i’m waiting malaysian version of superute…maybe with campro 1.6turbo later on..thats good for starter :lol:

• BOYRACER on Apr 05, 2011 at 4:39 pm

Between the utes, i’ll take the Chevrolet anytime..more macho n brutal looks.If the coupe I’ll take the M3.

• calvint78 on Apr 05, 2011 at 5:22 pm

next, proton will bring to life of Proton Arena and faceluft it to compete with this.

• ezracopters on Apr 05, 2011 at 5:28 pm

dont know if i ever use those trunk hehe..but i do want this.. in case proton decide to pimp up their Arena .. hehe.. cheaper is better..

• Hafidz on Apr 05, 2011 at 5:41 pm

Proton Arena make sense..

• ZenZarray on Apr 05, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Is it a trend or people in the automotive world out of idea?? so Proton was on right path this all time with the Arena Models….huhuhu XD

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 05, 2011 at 6:17 pm

Actually, the utility truck, or ute, has been around for a long time, since ’34 when Lewis Bandt did the first one for Ford Australia …

• Downs on Apr 06, 2011 at 12:25 am

But the recent increase in popularity (in Malaysia, that is) shows a positive trend. I certainly hope Proton will refresh the Arena, hopefully with the new Campro Turbo, not for speed but for strength to carry stuff. Although I think Malaysians would prefer a double cab.

• Wira Tua on Apr 05, 2011 at 6:40 pm

put a gsr or evo3 in an arena…pimp it up…put that fiber cover at the back….
    imagine that…

• not applicable on Apr 05, 2011 at 6:46 pm

This is a crap utility car

• look like holden,,,

• wiraSRS on Apr 06, 2011 at 5:12 am

holden and chevrolet both under GM brand. no suprise at all. holden ute exterior with holden special vehicles (HOSV) maloo engine.

• calvint78 on Apr 06, 2011 at 8:45 am

I think, my opinion lar….proton will use inspira platform to make arena jumbuck(australia market name) front evo like head n rar flat bed truck. can some1 sketch?

• lchan on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:03 am

thats just basically a HSV.

• gaman on Apr 06, 2011 at 12:30 pm

looks better than bmw ute..?

• moha3774 on Apr 07, 2011 at 9:37 am

BMW M would never come out with an UTE..just because it will sounds like BMW Mute

• amuaiz on Apr 14, 2011 at 4:29 pm

curious to see this thing carrying peti ais at 220km/h