New VW Beetle set for world debut across three continents

On April 18, the new Volkswagen Beetle will be officially unveiled, with its debut staged over three continents and with a marketing alliance tie-up with MTV in tow – Veedub will launch the car as a world premiere in Shanghai, with MTV’s VJ guest hosting an exclusive MTV Sound System, followed by stage events in New York and Berlin.

Appearing at the event in New York will be The Black Eyed Peas, performing numbers from their latest album The Beginning as well their existing hits at Terminal 5, and in Berlin (E-Werk) the MTV World Stage Party will be headlined by Belgian duo 2manydjs performing a DJ set.

The World Stage in New York City will be the most widely distributed World Stage event to date and highlights of both events will be available online, streamed live; highlights from the show will be broadcast later on MTV channels around the world.

“The Beetle is an icon of the automotive world, just like MTV is an icon of the music world. In the context of this marketing alliance, we are taking the new Volkswagen directly to our customers and fans of the Volkswagen brand – and we are doing it globally,” said VW’s director of marketing for the Group and for Brand Passenger Cars, Luca de Meo.

Ah yes, the 21st Century Beetle, which is what the fuss is actually about. Well, nothing has been revealed officially about it, save VW saying that the exterior reinterprets the silhouette of the famous Beetle and combines stylistic elements borrowed from the original, merged with the latest technology. Which is saying a lot, but nothing – guess we’ll wait for April 18!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• iloveVW on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:16 am

Saw the model (pic) at Wearners Ampang. NICE!

• RamuNik on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:38 am

Hmm… hood looks flatter. I do not expect much change in the design.

• RamuNik on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:40 am

… and i might be wrong

• lawrence on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:49 am

some images of the new beetle… http://blog.caranddriver.com/2012-volkswagen-beetle-spied-nearly-camouflage-free/

• nebula87 on Apr 06, 2011 at 7:52 pm

lol…it looks like a London cab..but in silver color…XD

• Kevin Lee on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:57 am

woohooo, 21st century beetle

• vw_fan on Apr 06, 2011 at 10:23 am

No wonder the dealers have been clearing off the beetles for the past few months. Now I wonder if the golf MK7 will be launched earlier than anticipated.

• About time.

• ForteLover on Apr 06, 2011 at 12:26 pm

wait for the Kia Picanto and this lame and expensive ‘people’s car’ can go home…

• budleee on Apr 06, 2011 at 12:34 pm

yup, about time..i am glad they extended the roof so that the rear passengers are not basking under the hot sun…

• shawal on Apr 06, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Is that shape suppose to be desirable now…? , It may have work last time becuz if u didn’t like it, the Fuhrer would gas you….

• Hafidz on Apr 06, 2011 at 4:11 pm

Personally i guess this Beetle was meant for ‘I can’t afford to buy Porsche’ segment? :D

• firefox4 on Apr 06, 2011 at 4:34 pm

wow looks like porsche !!

• SoMeOnE on Apr 07, 2011 at 6:00 am

VW burnt its fingers with the new beetle (current model) as it did not predict the birth of the premium small car segment and gave it average drivetrains and cheap materials…bmw came with the mini and created a segment where people would pay good money (even in the open market a cooper s is about 125-130k) for small cars

then fiat came with another classic relaunch with the 500 which was a big hit all over the world…..im sure this time they would have done their homework and i reckon this car is gonna be an exceptional little car with high quality interiors and exteriors with a strong engines and the works…..its gonna be a hit if they get the marketing bit and the price right….i dun see it failing at all actually..(maybe in only in the UK or something)

• rayzel on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:43 am

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder….

• Even u or some poor people still can’t afford a Porsche Beetle :)

• Rizone on Apr 09, 2011 at 12:26 pm

sides looks like neo lol

• Rizone on Apr 09, 2011 at 12:27 pm

From the sides, it looks like a neo lol