Ford Focus ECOnetic – frugal goes on sale next year

Ford’s new Focus ECOnetic will make its official debut next week at the Amsterdam Motor Show. Set to enter the market in early 2012 in both five-door and estate bodystyles, the company says that this one is expected to be more fuel efficient than any other compact vehicle on the road today in Europe, including diesel, petrol and hybrid powered ones.

The promise from the Focus ECOnetic is that it is expected to consume less than 3.5 litres of diesel per 100 km on a combined cycle and deliver ultra-low CO2 emissions of less than 95g/km when certification is completed later this year.

The vehicle is powered by a new 105 PS version of the 1.6 litre Ford Duratorq TDCi diesel which has been optimised for enhanced fuel efficiency, with a new injection system and turbocharger, enhanced charge cooling and further friction reduction measures in place.

The common-rail fuel injection system of the diesel engine has been completely redesigned, with eight-hole nano sac injectors operating at injection pressures of up to 1,600 bar, controlled by a more powerful engine management system, the result being more precise control and increased combustion efficiency.

To provide more accurate control of the charge air temperature and to deliver a cooler, denser charge, the intake system features a water-cooled intercooler in place of the standard air-to-air system.

Other fuel efficiency enhancements include a new variable geometry turbocharger design, low-friction piston ring coatings and variable flow oil pump as well as a low inertia vacuum pump and an asymmetric crank sprocket design to provide additional reduction in engine losses.

The 1.6 litre ECOnetic diesel will be paired with Ford’s six-speed Durashift manual transmission, which has been optimised to eliminate frictional losses and utilises a special low-friction transmission oil.

The Focus ECOnetic also benefits from features developed specifically for this model, including a unique aerodynamic package with an Active Grille Shutter, ultra-low rolling resistance tyres and a revised final drive ratio.

Much of the aerodynamic improvements concentrate on smoothing the airflow underneath the vehicle – the ECOnetic derivative features additional undershields and deflectors.

As for the Active Grille Shutter, it’s a system that optimises aerodynamics by using vents to control airflow through the grille to the cooling system and engine compartment. If air is required to cool the engine the vents are opened; but if no airflow is needed, the vents are shut, thereby significantly reducing aerodynamic drag.

It will come wearing the full range of ECOnetic Technologies found in the all-new Focus line-up, including Auto-Start-Stop, Smart Regenerative Charging, Eco Mode and Shift Indicator Light.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• K3VET on Apr 07, 2011 at 6:53 pm

diesel have more potential then petrol…
    but malaysia’s diesel have to improve it….
    then petrol can OUT, welcome diesel…

• Agree!!!
      But seem that all the local made cars still using petrol, the G will not consider it right now.. =(

• nazgul on Apr 08, 2011 at 10:14 am

and another point to consider beside the fuel factor is SDAC after sales services…dont get me wrong Ford makes a come back now all around the world now but with SDAC here spoil it with poor trained mechanics at their SC…cancelled my fiesta already…

• yeap, when i was in brunei….most of them are driving diesel nowadays. My colleaque have a diesel Kia Rondo/Diesel Vitara/Innova/merc….etc..etc…according to them, more powerful than the same cc petrol & almost 50% less fuel consumption….btw, over there their fuel are Euro4 standards….guess, if our diesel are compatible, most of us would be driving a diesel already….more power & less FC, only idiot will drive a petrol (maybe for their track cars only…ie porsche/ferrari)

• Gavin on Apr 07, 2011 at 7:25 pm

3.5 litres /100 km on a full tank of 60 litres means 1700kms!!!

• jerrymouse on Apr 07, 2011 at 9:22 pm

maybe on euro4 or euro 5 diesel only will get 3.5l/100km, with our euro 2 diesel I don’t think it can achieve that figure

• william wong on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:02 pm

omg, for me than would be almost 5months no need to refill !!!!!!!!!!!!! Ohhhh superb !!!!!!!!!!!

• wow with tht rate i can use it to work for 6 weeks! imagine that, visitin the petrol station twice in 3 months. thats wat i call going green. too bad it wont be anytime soon in malaysia. for gods sake proton pls at least launch the turbo engines………

• Seriously on Apr 08, 2011 at 11:11 am

probably just on paper :/

• huiyoo on Apr 07, 2011 at 7:42 pm

nice car but looks weird using that rims

• that rim is designed to have less drag. allowing the car to be more aerodynamic resulting in a little bit more fuel saving.

• rally_fan00 on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:56 pm

i think the rims are designed to reduce aerodynamic drag, seeing that they seem very concerned with that, especially with the active grill shutter.

• yeah. quite weird design. as if it is using a wheel cap. civic’s hybrid design looks better if they want to reduce drag

disclaimer: i am not a honda fan or whatsoever. i just want to compare the wheel with other low fuel consumption car

• Hafidz on Apr 08, 2011 at 10:28 am

couldnt agree more..designers have to work and research more on how to develope new rims design for eco car.. hehehe :P

• comrade on Apr 07, 2011 at 7:42 pm

real beauty this ford… wonder if i get my hands on it someday..

• mat koboi on Apr 07, 2011 at 9:58 pm

memang jimat betul ni….

• mat koboi on Apr 07, 2011 at 10:00 pm

memang jimat…baik pakai ford focus ni daripada viva….

• fauzi on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:29 pm

ada tgk kat london bulan lepas. nice design…

• o.O’ wohooo that is interesting and amazing. Plus..Good looking car

• don^don on Apr 08, 2011 at 8:47 am

no mention of the all important torque figure? :(

well, 3.5L/100km is very awesome, more stunning then the prius right? if i recall the prius was 4.7L/100km. Of course, there’s the Euro5 diesel that’s the defacto thing in here.

• Seriously on Apr 08, 2011 at 11:13 am

a 1.6 turbocharged should give about >240Nm of torque… and that, is awesome :)

• With this figure, I can reduce my visit to petrol station from every 2 weeks to 2very month.
    Good!. But our diesel quality have to increase to EURO 3 to 4. But my guess they won’t as this will not benifit our local automotive player, the two “P”s
    So dream on for another 5 years…

• good work on Apr 08, 2011 at 9:21 am

Do or die, I will get this car. Just wished that it come earlier

• Conti diesel is definitely worth buying. . .if our G introduce diesel euro 4/5 here with 2.56+-/L I’ll still think that 10 times more economical for your pocket to run with patrol.

• If euro 4 diesel cost RM2.50/L…..it will still be economical compared to a RM2/liter petrol….better FC and its more fun…intoxicating HUGE torque, if u have driven a modern diesel…u know what i meant…those petrols are just too ashmatic

• Seriously on Apr 08, 2011 at 11:15 am

Now, that’s a car! This has to come to Malaysia :)

• bboyahman on Apr 08, 2011 at 11:36 am

SAVING KING….. @ other country…. When is our EURO 4 Diesel ????

EURO 4 Diesel EURO 4 Diesel EURO 4 Diesel EURO 4 Diesel

• I guess since this uses a manual transmission, I’ll bet that is the reason SDAC will use to not bring in this car as well. Since most Malaysians can’t drive manual no more. SAD.

• Ongtk on Apr 08, 2011 at 11:50 am

Sadly, any modern diesel vehicle that runs on Euro 4 or 5 will not not see thel ight of day in this bolehland. Not when Proton is expected to launch an electric vehicle sometime next year! I am driving a diesel car and it is definitely economical.

• Carl Wong on Apr 08, 2011 at 11:54 am

VERY EFFICIENT indeed. But rumors are diesels burn dirtier (less green house gases emission maybe but more particulate emission) compared to petrol even though the mileage could be better. Is that true??

• Gavin on Apr 08, 2011 at 1:57 pm

Hahaha that’s so opposite, euro loves diesel because they are taxed based on CO2 emissions and diesel emits less than petrol that’s why diesels are loved

• Carl Wong on Apr 08, 2011 at 4:38 pm

I said that, I said diesel engines emit LESS green house gases INCLUDING CO2/Carbon Dioxide but emit MORE particulate matter/PM and Nitrogen Oxides which is bad for our health, when compared to petrol engines. READ please.

So it’s a little trade off, but the technology is VERY GOOD and very ECONOMICAL.

Source:
        http://www.green-car-guide.com/articles/petrol-diesel-lpg-hybrid-whats-best-for-you.html

• Gavin on Apr 08, 2011 at 6:46 pm

ah ok i mis read, yes but they can deal with the particulates very effectively with particulate filters that are even self cleaning, but CO2 is more difficult

• btw, those NOX can be reduce further through Adblue (urea liquid) usage by those Merc/Beemer/Audi diesels sold in the States nowadays …lower the NOX significantly

• squawk on Apr 08, 2011 at 1:06 pm

The rated 3.5l/100km may only be a paper figure. Conservatively, real world usage will probably be about 4.5 – 5l/100km. Still impressive. Even Prius doesn’t get its rated figures in the real world.

Having this Ford here will make petrol hybrids look useless.

• Carl Wong on Apr 08, 2011 at 10:41 pm

Actually a lot of people can get better efficiency figures (compared to claimed ones) for hybrids in real world. It’s all down to the driver and the understanding of the car, your mileage will get better when you learn more about your car.

Both technology are great and continually advancing, they can be applied differently. If you’re mainly doing highway cruising, go for turbo-diesels, diesel electric hybrids etc.
      If you’re mainly doing city driving, go for petrol electric hybrids or even full electric.

• The front vents are from BMW, I remember reading Autocar about the 7series.

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Apr 08, 2011 at 10:14 pm

slap a boot on bring it to india

come on ford

• now us and Europe cars looks very nice. vios, altis, civic, sylphy and more japs are ugly. look at this ford, it can beat many toyota and honda models easily (in term of look I said)..

• Look more sporty….

• arcana on Apr 10, 2011 at 1:30 pm

well ford focus available here with a 2.0 diesel, yet no one buys it
    eventhough is only euro2 spec engine, the fuel economy is already miles ahead
    yet malaysian refuse to embrace the tech, if this one comes in by luck, it will suffer the same fate as the current one.
    many malaysians dont know the advantages of diesel, still stuck to the ancient polluting mindset of duno what years behind