Perodua says operations impacted by Japan earthquake – does this mean arrival of new Myvi will be delayed?

Perodua says operations impacted by Japan earthquake – does this mean arrival of new Myvi will be delayed?Perodua today issued a statement saying that its operations have been impacted by the earthquake and tsunami which hit Japan on March 11.

It said in its statement that operations are affected and that it was currently assessing the situation to understand better the impact on its operations. Based on the latest information, the inventories at Perodua’s plant and its vendors are sufficient till May production, with some adjustments.

The company, working very closely with Daihatsu as well as its local vendors, is working towards having a better and clearer picture of the problems and taking appropriate countermeasures.

How much all this has affected the new Myvi’s arrival timeline – which is supposed to be coming sometime this month – is unknown, but the issuance of the statement might indicate that there could possibly be some delay on the cards.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• ko malu saje... on Apr 07, 2011 at 12:39 pm

who cares…?

• delio on Apr 07, 2011 at 12:41 pm

mesti harga mau naik ni….!

• delio on Apr 07, 2011 at 12:43 pm

mesti harga mau naik ni….

• freeze_sr on Apr 07, 2011 at 12:45 pm

A Chance for Proton to overtake Perodua in monthly sales

• Matpit on Apr 07, 2011 at 2:00 pm

Proton also impacted from the japan earthquake.. if i’m not mistaken, worst than P2

• littlefire on Apr 07, 2011 at 2:13 pm

Yup, remember most P1 gearbox and even the new inspira engine + CVT is from Mitsu…

• autojohndoe on Apr 07, 2011 at 4:51 pm

MMC plant is in Kyoto… please look where Kyoto is located…

• theking on Apr 07, 2011 at 5:56 pm

U talk rubbish la mr littlefire haih

• littlefire on Apr 08, 2011 at 8:46 am

If want to talk, please read that all Japan have power shortage & radiation fear…

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2011-04-05/japan-may-restrict-power-use-as-summer-worsens-shortages.html

Besides power shortage, how about radiation? Spread until almost anywhere… Mention like ‘Low’ level, like our Lynas factory in Kuantan.. U believe?

http://edition.cnn.com/2011/HEALTH/03/28/radiation.us/index.html

BLM manual gearbox also made in Japan. Most Japan manufacturer around Japan do have some problem regarding power shortage. How to work if no power? Even those people who work in Japanese factory locally do know a lot of parts imported from Japan have been delayed… Only those who dont really know about the real situation still live in denial… Please check around before commenting.

http://www.wbez.org/story/auto-industry/japanese-tsunami-threatens-delay-production-mitsubishis-illinois-plant#

Mitsubishi motor main base is from Tokyo, so do Tokyo effected? Why dont u go Japan and check whether Tokyo now got a lot of people or not? Not Only P1 or P2 effected, but the whole wide world that need parts from Japan also effected.

http://www.autoblog.com/2011/03/18/gm-plant-shut-down-due-to-japanese-parts-delay/

General Motors has announced that the automaker is stopping production at its Shreveport, Louisiana assembly plant next week due to a parts shortage caused by the ongoing tragedy in Japan. .

• learner on Apr 08, 2011 at 11:21 am

what i want to hear is from P1 themselves that saying they are affected, otherwise, they are not, instead they expected to take over position from P2 in term of sales volume this year. very clear to me that they are not affected.

• Eyesore on Apr 07, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Not really…. Mitsu did not really affected if I’m not mistaken. The worst affected was Dihatsu / Toyota… especially their vendors… that’s why perodua will be affected too…

• Its time for them to mark up the price….

• ericmaxman on Apr 07, 2011 at 12:56 pm

that is what happens if you depend too much on japan…

• BlowJo on Apr 07, 2011 at 12:57 pm

Yen is going down. make you turunkan harga Myvvi. pantat!

• Just admit it la Perodua..”err..we’re sorry Malaysian, the truth is, we don’t how to make our own car..we are just Toyota/Daihatsu agent..sorry Malaysian..” huh!

• MCdog on Apr 07, 2011 at 4:50 pm

“But sorry ah, we still got license to suck you money hahaha You losers”

• hantu on Apr 08, 2011 at 10:19 am

we were ripped off by local automotive industries!

Thank you Gov.

Next time I will vote for BN in GE13.
        I dont care if I used lousy P1 and P2 but at the same time my truly rakyat leader used luxury car for 1Malaysia!

hahaha

• RamuNik on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:09 pm

“It said in its statement that operations are affected and that it was currently assessing the situation to understand better the impact on its operations”

Statement by a Malaysian National car maker.

MERDEKA! MERDEKA! MERDEKA!

• mivec on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:12 pm

where 90% local content yang depa bangga2kan tu”? why so depend from JPN???

• setuju on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:26 pm

betul sekali….ala…diorang je cakap Locally Made,atau buatan malaysia….last-last,diketawakan oleh diri sendiri dan luar negara…
      tak pandai cakap je tak pandai…toksah la cakap BUATAN MALAYSIA.memalukan jer kita anak malaysia kat orang luar negara.
      Tukar Motto Kita dari MALAYSIA BOLEH ke MALAYSIA MEMANG TAK BOLEH KALAU TAKDER ORANG LUAR TOLONG

• John Doe on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Don’t contradict yourself la. 90% local content but the other 10% still from overseas, so technically 90% only means the price of your car would be cheaper.

You can’t drive your car if it isn’t fully assembled now, can u?

Bet you don’t even work in an automotive company.

• rickyll on Apr 08, 2011 at 6:20 am

I think the Malaysian way of calculating the percentage of local content of a car goes like this: let’s say a car is made up of 100 parts, a windscreen is one part, a circuit board is one part, an air-con unit is one part, a gear box is one part, an engine block is one part and so on and so forth down a set of bolt and nut. If only the gear box and the engine block are imported or out sourced from other countries then they would very well say that that particular car has a 98 % local content.

• rosdi on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:20 pm

New MyVi?.. oh! I can’t wait…, so suspense….. not!

• paultanfans on Apr 07, 2011 at 2:43 pm

New Myvi got a new feature:

The Radiation Scanning System (RSS)

• freeze on Apr 07, 2011 at 9:37 pm

Wow. How does it work? I hope Viva also gets this wonderful feature. Nautica too. No wait, that car has ceased production for it was such a failure from the get-go.

• Hafidz on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:51 pm

i guess..only the gearbox and some ECU units for P2 will be affected since Japan earthquake..the rest are most likely came from local vendors..

anyway,its gonna be a good news for P1 if they know how to penetrate the market for the time being :)

*Does Inspira inspiredly Lancer affected as well? :P

• mfahd_88 on Apr 07, 2011 at 2:10 pm

this is why u should stop rebadging ur car perodua
    if something happen to ur mother,u can’t even stand by ur own

• Kinethics on Apr 07, 2011 at 2:37 pm

What to do?… their mother don’t want to do so. then she said if i die.. u must follow me as well.

Poor Japanese.. so sad but true.

• P2, can you bring in more CAR options ? only VIVA, MYVI and ALZA, pls give Malaysian more choices !!!
    pls CKD your NAUTICA at RM65K – 2WD is enough

look at P1’s offering … at least they try harder !

• ThePolygon on Apr 07, 2011 at 2:22 pm

I guess this is to be expected since P2 cars are not 100% local content. The rest of the auto makers are actually experiencing the same thing and are sourcing for alternatives.

• confused on Apr 07, 2011 at 2:27 pm

hek eleh.. marketing strategy la tu… ckp affected by Jap’s tsunami konon, mcm la 90% part tu dr jepun. pdahal da 90% local nyer.

one jap wannabe says: “aiseh.. see, japan got tsunami myvi oso delayed one, konpem myvi is actually come from japan maa… toyota quality… must buy, not like proton.”

japan my behind for a freakingly expensive small car.

• No engine no transmission what to do.
      Keter x leh jalan lol.

• confused on Apr 07, 2011 at 5:40 pm

soon-to-own-new-myvi-aka-jap-wannabe dislikes my comment lol

• inulgelek on Apr 08, 2011 at 9:40 pm

come on..u thought if 100% locally made means all material,components etc are from local too?poor u.acting like u know about this industry haha.even if all vendors are local, there are many critical parts and even material that u have to get from outside.so it means that they also will be affected by this earthquake n tsunami thing

• kentot on Apr 07, 2011 at 2:29 pm

takde pon takpe…buat menyemak atas jalan je

• Comic on Apr 07, 2011 at 2:52 pm

Perodua: Mak,mak.. nak SUSU…
    Daihatsu: Pala Hotak Lu…mana ada susu nak perah?tak nampak ke radioactive?
    Perodua: Ala mak…takder Susu camner tumbesaran?
    Daihatsu: Minum je la ko punya susu getah…spastik tul…

• halal on Apr 07, 2011 at 4:38 pm

Don’t make jokes of others misfortune cos
      karma will strike you and your family.
      This reflects your low EQ.

• balasan on Apr 07, 2011 at 4:51 pm

lol…then y u swear at him?mean u n ur family oso will hit by the karma. XD
        this is comment area…every1 have right to say.dun like,just dun join in to c ppl comment.know?

• coconut on Apr 07, 2011 at 5:23 pm

may i know did he mention the unfortunate?he just laugh off perodua being cant independent.
        comment is common.as long he din ever mention u n ur family.did he?
        or maybe u self been hit by karma for wat u did,so u warn him?
        well,if so,he might thank you for ur kindness warning :)

• solaris on Apr 08, 2011 at 9:49 am

agree….cikgu ajar,’siapa makan cili,dia terasa pedassss’….

• Ronaldo on Apr 07, 2011 at 5:31 pm

Think they both should b same EQ…
        Comic has jokes,but kind of idiotic
        halal dun understand comic laughing off perodua.yet he go for ppl family..

• supermario on Apr 07, 2011 at 5:56 pm

Misfortunate?
        or unfortunate?

• awg1301 on Apr 07, 2011 at 3:16 pm

wait…i thought a few weeks back they said it won’t affect them? ceyyy..

• Most parts sourced from Japan are processors like ECU, processors for airbag, ABS, various kind of sensors. And Hitachi was badly hit by the quake.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 07, 2011 at 5:51 pm

They should have relied on Siemens-VDO and Bosch, like Proton!!

• farizY on Apr 07, 2011 at 3:37 pm

irony, isn’t it? people bashing P2, but berlambak jugak atas jalan kereta P2…..

• vw_fan on Apr 07, 2011 at 3:58 pm

many industries are affected, not just cars and definitely not just P2.

japan makes a lot of the electronic parts that go into everything from handphones to TV to cars.

• laaa, i thought perodua malaysian made…

• Nellie on Apr 07, 2011 at 5:04 pm

I though P2 is made in Malaysia. Heheh.

• waimak on Apr 07, 2011 at 5:41 pm

guys, grow up please.

• theking on Apr 07, 2011 at 5:54 pm

P2 stop line one of it due to kansai paint cannot supply paint. So nxt p2 gonna sell viva, myvi n alza super no paint exclusive edition hahaha!

• benzema on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:12 pm

yeah. i also heard the same rumors. i think it’s a good news for p2 since they can save the painting cost – produce a car without paint but has leather seat and fog lamp. wow what a bargain.

• learner on Apr 08, 2011 at 11:35 am

sound not good to me, what happen if they reduce the layer of paint to save the remaining paint in stock? and what happen if they temporarily source cheap and sub-standard paint to replace the kansai? if i were potential P2 buyer, i will either buy now (current batch) or never!

• riderXDesign on Apr 07, 2011 at 5:58 pm

pls delayed to december or next year, than proton can overtake p2 sales by saga fl new gearbox and exora turbo :D

• Just confirmed with SA, P2 has delayed its launch of New Myvi, dunno sometime in Aug or whenever the production line goes normal again… affected parts are mainly ECU. Damn, current Myvi which are leftover no longer has discount d due to short of supply…..

• aroma on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:18 pm

another earthquake just happen 20 minutes ago. Good luck Perodua !

• tokmoh on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:26 pm

Kejadian ini berlaku kerana Perodua tidak menggunakan green technology. Jadi kita ambillah pengajaran dari sini :P

• linear_system on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:27 pm

i think P2 wanna produce tsunami-super-special-edition…so they can up the price..lol

• masa untung byk dulu, company tak bayar zakat perniagaan…
    staff dapat bonus byk, tak bayar zakat pendapatan…

sekali kena tarik rezeki..

• how can u confirm that their staff do not pay the zakat? sedap2 gila ko judge orang camtu.

• scgtimk1 on Apr 08, 2011 at 12:21 pm

Bukan staff la. kompeni.

Perodua manufacturing kan di ‘owned’ oleh Daihatsu sebnyak 51%.

Jepun bayar zakat ke? kalau majoriti shareholder kata no. so takkan jadi yes plak.

• aidan on Apr 08, 2011 at 1:25 am

I thought Perodua cars are made in Malaysia?
    Pull out all subsidies and exemptions immediately!
    Why are we still supporting a company that did so little with all that money from tax-payers?

• PeroduaSucker on Apr 08, 2011 at 3:53 am

Yeah… Perodua is going down! Im just so happy…!
    I mean, for the ppl…. Who DRIVES PERODUA! HAHAHAHA

• PeroduaLoser on Apr 08, 2011 at 4:03 pm

Yeah Man…. Peroduas are pretty much driver by the losers… Who thinks that’s a great practicality car… Which is SO NOT! And better yet! They tuned it into a awefully looking monster… It doesn’t matter its a Viva,Myvi,Alza,or even a Kancil!! Eat this Loers!

• sucre on Apr 08, 2011 at 8:12 am

Not driving P1 or P2…but P2 actually is just a car assembler……if honda effected?

• Still support Perodua!!!we love you Japan and Perodua :) gambateh!!!

• budak_sekolah on Apr 14, 2011 at 12:38 pm

jgn gaduh2…maybe yg duk kondem produa n proton ni pon duk pakai kete 2..so u got wat u pay..kalo nk brg yg kualiti baek kene la bayar lebih..part2 kete x semua kita import..yg kita import yg kita maseh lg xde teknologi n keypayaan 2 utk buat d malaysia..kalo ye sgt pandai g la tlg malaysia ni buat part2 2..jgn pandai kondem jee..kalo malaysia ni x cukup bagus g la cr negara yg lg bagus…

• scgtimk1 on Apr 15, 2011 at 9:38 am

Hahaaa

Production Myvi baru bulan april ni 300unit je? Swift lagi banyak wooooi..

Padan Muka. Masa kaya belagak nak mampus. Kutuk keta lain, ckp keta ko la the best, second hand value tinggi, keta yang sinun sampah enjin orang bodoh melayu buat, lepas kehu-kehilir belagak cerita kat orang dpt bonus lebih 6 bulan.

Sekarang Tuhan balas…

Aku tak sabar nak tengok proton overtake perodua tahun ni….

• scgtimk1 on Apr 15, 2011 at 10:18 am

Hopefully they will be in the no. 1 position by the end of this year