Proton Satria Neo R3 Supercharged – 180 hp, 200 Nm!

The boys from Proton Motorsports have certainly been a busy lot of late – the latest and brightest to emerge from the stable is a car that made a quiet appearance during last week’s Lotus Renault GP team visit to Proton’s headquarters.

It’s a Satria Neo R3 that’s been given the supercharged treatment, in this case with a unit from Australian-company Sprintex, mounted behind the Campro mill. Set to have 180 hp and 200 Nm on call, this is another Neo that has some serious muscle – late last year, R3 displayed a turbocharged concept at the 2010 KL International Motorshow.

Exterior-wise, the car wears the bodykit from last year’s Satria Neo R3 Lotus Racing edition, with a black paint finish accented with red highlights and gold for trim and wheels making for this one’s clothes. Red is featured inside the cabin as contrast shade.

The sad news is that you can’t lay your paws on one – the supercharged offering is just a prototype study, part of R3’s constant exploration into improving the performance of Proton cars, as the division puts it.

In any case, we’re told that it’s still at a very early stage of development, where there are no benchmark performance figures (aside from the as planned rated power and torque above) to be had. Indeed, there are plenty of tests and evaluation cycles ahead for the car.

As such, there are currently no timelines on when or if this will enter production. However, if R3 were eventually to offer this for sale with a car, or as a kit, it should have all the standard Proton warranties, we’ve also been told. Now, supercharger, anyone?

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2140]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• ashabul on Apr 11, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Do lot of R&D, then produce the best :)

• What is the green car beside it?

• akinablue on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:16 pm

u hv sharp eye my fren. ya lo, kete apa seh?

• ezracopters on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:26 pm

that i would say Lotus Evora which was displayed around the peninsular last year!! the side profide seem like one..

• niceone on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:33 pm

It is a Lotus Evora I think

• sagatron on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:20 pm

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!this is cool but i dont rily like the scheme color…

• nick72blackEXORA on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:47 pm

F1 LOTUS Renault GP colors.

• alldisc on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:37 pm

gold on black livery reminds me John Player Special FI cars, if not mistaken Brabham of 1980s, and also the special edition BMW 320i JPS.

• alldisc on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:38 pm

oopss.. not Brabham but actually of Lotus F1 cars since 70s.

• artworkz on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:27 pm

tis is a true competition street car! thumbs up!

• abe akim on May 12, 2012 at 1:41 am

i hope this car will be mine…
      and i hope proton come out with more sport,hybrid,suv,mpv,hatch back and continental car to give more fight in auto world….see hyundai and kia they make the world look toward them with amazing car….young taste perception of the world transformers…

• farizY on Apr 11, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Now, that’s a HOT hatch!!!

• Abdul Qayyum on Apr 11, 2011 at 1:50 pm

not into production????…Alaaaaaaa…………=(

• DNA male Y on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:03 pm

at this time..in future who knows?

they put that supercharge inside satria neo replacement may be?

• DonkeyKong on Apr 11, 2011 at 5:55 pm

I think the supercharger kit might make it into production. Sprintex and Proreka have signed an MOU to produce superchargers back in February 2011. Proreka is already one of Proton’s parts supplier for various cars. We might just see this as an aftermarket kit for the Campro engine.

• aftermarket?? Do you mean i can bolt this kit to my gen2 campro too??

• Vincent on Apr 11, 2011 at 1:51 pm

Right move! I start to see hope in P1.

They notice that it is very important to make people see your brand different, good compare to others.

P1 with Lotus tech there, shall showed to Malaysian that they can do a better job comapre with P2 under the help of Toyota.

Stop thinking of selling 25 unit special edition. send those limited unit to P1 showroom and let people test drive it! It will be more effective than go F1, advertise in newspaper or TV!

THe next Q is, how realiable it is?

So, Let the test drive until clock 100,000 KM in 1 years time, people will then judged!!!

• makeitmine on Apr 11, 2011 at 1:51 pm

Love it! This is the way to show to the world. Not a sardine with a shark skin. Sure can sell.

• autojohndoe on Apr 11, 2011 at 1:51 pm

the colours put on the car makes it look like a cheap mod…

it doesnt compliment the performance…

• Jared Green on Apr 11, 2011 at 1:51 pm

Seriously, stop teasing us with concepts. Please launch this in Australia already Proton :D

• chidori on Apr 11, 2011 at 1:55 pm

wowowow.. please proton make it into production

• squall_shinoda on Apr 11, 2011 at 1:56 pm

That translates to 55 bhp of improvement over the stock CPS engine. Well done Proton!

• ibex7 on Apr 11, 2011 at 6:48 pm

Beside performance improvement, Proton emphasise on the interior. Dull looking colour scheme & the hard plastics just bogged down an otherwise absolutely fantastic car…

• What is the green car beside it? Anyone knows?

• HirumaKecil on Apr 11, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Wowwww…… Bravo,bravo…………

• super hot..

• kaminski on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:02 pm

Looks really good in those colours…apart from the red exhaust outlets at the rear.
    No performance figures Anthony?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:12 pm

No, unfortunately there were none to be had. Will try to wangle the figures, if any, from the PM boys at some point.

• kaminski on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:15 pm

Thanks..will be interesting to know them!

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:25 pm

Turns out no other figures as yet – the car is still at a very early stage of development, am told. Have appended that into the story.

• littlefire on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Come on… Have a Turbo + Supercharge engine.. like VW TSI!!!

• VW TSI’s engine is quite problematic. Recalled has been done. Dont burden engine with too much stuff is better.

• just park at home.. definitely the engine will not be burdened :p

• ibex7 on Apr 11, 2011 at 7:32 pm

This sort of supercharger used by the Neo is known as root supercharger. it able to give high boost at low rpm n high rpm. some lesson on supercharger: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGdg2Fd2WQY&playnext=1&list=PLE5D9605B52EE1D56

• captain_gaban on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:04 pm

speechless!!! hope the price tag will be done accordingly….if and only if they’ve planned to release it to public!! kudos to P1….damn to P2 (i’ve no reason to bash P2..just bash them…hehehehe)

• lol paultan slowpoke.. but finally it is here. good read tho. hope r3 will put up supercharger upgrade for current neos

• freddie on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:07 pm

If under rm100k, ill take two heheh

• dukeKTM on Apr 11, 2011 at 5:59 pm

if this is selling i think it should priced about 130k… just my 2 cents

• It would be silly to do that. 130k would put it to same price range as the Polo GTi!

• ejen 007 on Apr 12, 2011 at 11:03 pm

so?

• “So?”…lol… Pls learn more about both cars and rate yourself if this is reasonable.

Reasonable local product from Proton…! Kee it up…. I just hope they will keep the production cost low. Not only the local market only you want to do your business. Proton need to penetrate overseas market!!!

• ericmaxman on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:09 pm

not done by R3 themselves. they should, then maybe market it to us :D

• Shappawi_2012 on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:13 pm

Kalau keluar production ni…..sape yang dah beli Neo Hijau Kuning tu mesti kena cucuk dengan Neo Hitam Emas ni…hahahaha

• Creative Mind on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:14 pm

Great, a supercharger…. will this make it to production? how about exploring hydrogen fuel as well? this could be the breakthru’ the world is waiting… come on proton, u guys can think of it…. with the lotus technology and some brillant minds, sure one day this hydrogen fuel can be mass produced, afterall hydrogen is the most abundant element in the universe

• most abundance doesnt mean it easy to get…most hydrogen production r from crude oil ..y not water or atmosphere? easy said than done yo..if it easy NASA already done that to fuel their rocket by just sucking hydrogen do their rocket rite.

• jl@ipl on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:13 pm

Guys,

I made some research years ago over the Net regarding the HHO fuel. Well, it is not pure hydrogen, but mixtures of H and O. The HHO derived from water’s electrolysis.
      Found comments from a guy who claimed himself involve in the test of such fuel into the Campro. Apparently, the hydrogen attack the engine’s material. In fact, most modern engine cannot take the hydrogen.Need to revert back to cast iron block.

To have hydrogen cars on the road, we need the “hydrogen station” a long our highway……………………Practical??? Economical???

I think, P1 better stick to ER hybrid and pure electric, coz, both are the real future.

• jong88 on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:16 pm

Common stop the BS and put it on sell already! All talk no action!

• niceone on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:41 pm

yeah and then if they sell it now you’ll say no R&D, no testing, surely not reliable blablabla. give them time will ya.

• jong88 on Apr 11, 2011 at 10:33 pm

The car is 4 years old what R&D do the public need? I bought and sell it 3 months ago. From the begin they should have put a Perdana V6 into the damn car. End of story.

• adoyai. ingat main lego ka bro. amik dari keter lain dan pasang. they have to test everything first. stability, emission, power to weight ratio, handling and so forth. why don’t u just install ferrari’s engine inside that neo? surely your car become faster.

• jong88 on Apr 12, 2011 at 11:00 am

Excuse, excuse, excuse. 4 years! Other competitor is R&Ding replacement model at that age. How long Proton going to play with this Neo? I foresee sereval edition later and when the market not buying they will go for the goverment for help again….

• jong88 on Apr 12, 2011 at 11:03 am

This show that Proton has a very slow development program, those calculation ie power to weight ratio, etc can be stimulated via a computer program or ask their precious Lotus to calculate for them. If you ask a guy with a rich father to develop a hot model it will take this long and still cannot put it on sell!

• noname on Apr 12, 2011 at 5:01 pm

the u help them to develop lah.. don’t just talk and talk and talk… see what u can develop.. better neo perhaps?

• bobdbilder on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Doesn’t make any sense. You say its old for 4 yrs old. Yet you want a 13 year old engine that somebody else make and will have higher cost of ownership. Brilliant

• Jeramy on Apr 12, 2011 at 4:35 pm

Have u driven a proton with can’tpro engine?

• BadBET on Apr 15, 2011 at 10:58 am

better ask cusco about that, they driven neo with campro really hard at malaysian rally :p baka

• Amarjie on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:17 pm

The green car beside it is Lotus Evora… Cheers…!!!

• djlau07 on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:18 pm

Just make only la -_-‘ worry about figures later, that way Neo drivers can take their revenge back to tailgating Myvi drivers

• haha yes.. i very much like that!

• akinablue on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:06 pm

yaaa..then kasi pasang lampu terang2..kasi silau sapa dia :-)

• Mr Wancer on Apr 12, 2011 at 12:43 am

Myvi can sau pei la…

My LMST with ‘NGV’ can tapao em easily….don’t believe it? then better dont….

I love to see the look of the ahbeng faces when a old junk NGV potong those wannabe’s Myvi during Wangan and especially @ corners :)

• Nizam80 on Apr 12, 2011 at 12:31 pm

I drove a Persona from JB to Seremban last week. That was my first time driving that car. I find it so easy to tapau Myvis which are moving at 160km/h on the highway. LOLOLOL. I never thought the aging Campro with IAFM got that much top end juice! Itu baru Persona with Campro IAFM…. belum lagi Neo with Campro CPS…… or Neo with CFE Turbo…. One can dream..

• narakka on Apr 12, 2011 at 11:56 pm

neo cps???i have one.fuuu really fast!!!try la main kat high way.melekat bontot.

• waiting for the proton basher coming into this thread…hee3

• cl_qwertyuiop on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:23 pm

Looks like the green car beside looks a lot like Lotus Evora. Look at the back windows of that green car, almost identical with the Evora.

• khaix19a on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:29 pm

nice exterior….hope P1 put twin exhaust like evora that it would be perfect….

• Unforgiven on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:31 pm

“Not half-bad hatch with decent Lotus-aided chassis, but lack of space inside, awful badge and ridiculous name make it a must-not-have for the youth it’s aimed at,” as TopGear UK puts it

It seems that Proton is there to tell the World how good other cars are. I’m not surprise since TSI, CGI, etc are already in the market/production.

Just walk away and remove the protectionism.
    If you wanna sell Proton, sell it with the same tax as other makes.
    I’m sure the rakyat know what to choose.

• will u stop being so sad?

• Unforgiven on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:04 pm

I’m sure rakyat M’sia is as smart as rakyat UK in choosing cars…

The World is full of cheaper cars/entry level cars but we in M’sia just cannot see that…

Why wanna do that to your own rakyat? So that you are able to own few of the most expensive cars in the World? That’s so unfair…

• tiadaid on Apr 11, 2011 at 11:15 pm

If they’re as smart as the Brits, I’d like to see the Fiesta replace Vios & City at the top of the sales leaderboard. It is the hottest selling car in the UK, and spec-wise it’s got a chockfull of features unavailable on the Vios & City.

• akinablue on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:09 pm

who cares the Top Gear! they’re just jealous and cant accept that P1 owned their sports car company!

same lame comment..tax la..rakyat la..bla bla

• autojohndoe on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:16 pm

just say you cant afford expensive car…

• Unforgiven on Apr 12, 2011 at 10:18 am

You are right, I cannot see myself able to buy a brand new BMW F10 in M’sia this year…

• then they start worshipping the satria neo s2000 though the proton badge is printed hugely on top of the bonnet. ironic isn’t it for awful badge and ridiculous name.

• rallyfan00 on Apr 11, 2011 at 6:45 pm

the comments on the satria neo was many years ago. i suppose the neo s2000 and how its being used has started to slowly, but surely make people rethink about the brand. even the koreans managed to do it, and if proton push the right buttons, im sure they can do the same.

• Hafidz on Apr 12, 2011 at 4:42 pm

I hate people who talk bout cars and the same time talk bout politics !!! BooOOoOoOOooo…Go get your crappy writings publish elsewhere!

• eimsperfume on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:35 pm

lotus black & gold colour is so cool :D but why need red color to spoil it.. ishk2..

nway. can we call proton mussle? :p impressive indeed :p
    cant wait to see the performance figures. fastest proton so far i guess :p

• CamPor on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:13 pm

I think they are follow the color scheme of lotus renault GP team…the red color is for total sponsorship…just like what they do at satria neo lotus racing team

• the red color simbolise ‘Total’ fuel that provide fuel to Lotus Renault GP… Try look on Lotus Renault GP R31 and you will see the red color on the front and back of the car..

• Selezs on Apr 11, 2011 at 5:51 pm

If u c carefully F1 LOTUS Renault GP car, the red spot is where they place TOTAL Oil decals – at the edge of front wing n rear wing.

• jalan54 on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:37 pm

Just wondering why supercharge and not turbo charge. Cost of supercharging is more expensive right?

• nobody on Apr 11, 2011 at 5:02 pm

i think turbo is higher because turbocharge need lots of rework in engine department…. namely compression, thus, piston, piston ring, con rod, con rod bearing, intake, exhaust, engine management system. what else, camshaft valvespring….. in short to install turbo the cost is higher.

• littlefire on Apr 12, 2011 at 8:35 am

Not really, actually both turbo & supercharge engine also almost the same but differ only in term of power band & efficiency..

If u went for low pressure turbo, u wont also need to modify a lot of parts also.. Same to low boost supercharger.

If u want performance, like high boosting. You will also need to mod the fuel pump, piston, gasket & a lot of stuff also for both turbo & supercharge.

The only thing that differ these 2 is they have their Pro & Con.

Supercharger: Low RPM very good, but loss on high RPM (Mainly higher torque)

Turbo: Low RPM no good (turbo lag), but good on high RPM (Mainly higher HP)

Why ppl choose turbo more, coz turbo utilize the gas exhaust to turn the turbine while supercharger sacrifice some engine power to turn it. That why in term of efficiency turbo is still the best..

With better R&D, turbo have came out like twin-scroll & VGT turbo to coup wif low RPM issue while maintaining the high RPM feel.. Do google around and check around.

Even Supercharger also have VGT concept also.. In the end, is just what u want..

• sepucps on Apr 12, 2011 at 10:01 am

Actually supercharge become outdated olready..the kompressor badge on merc has been replace by CGI nowadays coz the turbocharge become advance that can cope the low rpm torque and response..every manufacturer now towards turbocharge engine flat torque with max torque start at low rpm..

• Paul Tan on Apr 12, 2011 at 11:26 am

Not necessarily, Audi chose supercharging instead of turbo for their new 3.0 tsi.

• alldisc on Apr 13, 2011 at 10:26 am

CGI stands for direct injection, in mercedez terms or charged gasoline injection. it is not a turbocharger.

• kenot on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:37 pm

erk..i hope this is the last time proton tune/mod proton satria neo…i afraid proton will tuning again and again this car for next 10 years or more…lets plan to replacement for this model.

• Do you know how many times VW tune/upgrade the Golf & Polo? Do you know how many time Subaru & Mitsubishi upgraded/enhance their Impreza & Evo? Do you know how many different versions Porsche came up with for the 911 Carrera (especially for model 996 & 997)??

If you have a beautiful product like Satria Neo, you only need to make minor enhancement once in while , with better enhancements off course :D

• junaidi on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:41 pm

i dont get it, the satria neo is only 5 years old.
      some cars only get replacement models after 10 years.

so whats wrong with variety?

• eimsperfume on Apr 11, 2011 at 5:17 pm

why not?
      tuning is tuning, replacement is replacement
      :-|

• mfahd_88 on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:46 pm

to many version of neo la
    i think proton should replace this car,and don’t forget to produce 4 door neo 2
    i bet the sales will be like hot cakes!

• kagesenshi on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:51 pm

When a chassis design and aerodynamics reach to a point of perfection, it’ll become somewhat like those 911s .. same look all over , but differences in build, handling, and power ..

personally .. i would like Neo to go on that path , unless theres a real, technical need to change design instead of just cosmetics ..

• deftones on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:30 pm

agree…atleast do some facelift with the lamps..ex: led tail lamp, led side mirrors
      please make the car looks lively back..

• i don see what gr8 with led side mirror since not many use it. only use when there is police and jpj…..

• bro, compare with the many version of PERODUA MYVI, Neo’s versions’ are like too little…=D

• lambo oso has many version of same model

• khaix19a on Apr 11, 2011 at 6:23 pm

911 carerra s, 911 carrera 4s, 911 turbo, 911 turbo cabriolet, 911 turbo s, 911 turbo s cabriolet, 911 gt3, 911 gt3 rs, 911 gt2, 911 gt2 rs and so on…i hope proton should do many varient for satria neo :-)

• Nizam80 on Apr 12, 2011 at 3:20 pm

Myvi got more version la. Normal, SE, Normal Facelift, SE Facelift, Limited Edition, bla… bla… bla.. Sampai nk muntah aku tgk.

• yes..4 door neo pls..2door is the only reason I can’t buy neo last year as my 1st car :-)

• Kumar san on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:50 pm

They (Proton&R3) should put this into production when the timeline is feasible.

It will sell as fast as they can make them,while i do personally feel that the newly launched NEO R3 looks better,they should marry the current NEO R3 looks and offer at least 2 more vibrant colours with the “Supercharged” badge.

But not before this development study undergoes at least 150K or 200K testing on the powerplant and powertrain alone to know for sure if the boosted engine can withstand normal usage or aggresive driving usage patterns,which the powertrain in tow.I’m not saying by bench testing alone at full revs,but rather on the test track under different engine loads with different test drivers,just my opinion.

Hey,it’s a forced induced engine,a supercharged one at that,and the first to come from Proton.The accelarator pedal will be to the floor most of the time if they really do make this a production reality.Future owners will rev the living daylights out of this one,if not for the power,to hear that distinct supercharger whine at least.

Development test it properly and then build it,Proton.Good effort.Cheers.

• ezracopters on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:51 pm

PLEASE PROTON STOP TEASING ALREADY!!

u have a sure buyer here.. make it CPS + light turbo + supercharged + mini KERS (to bring more economic below 1.5k RPM fuel burning), mmm 201hp & 250Nm.. RM88,888.88 looks perfect!!

those NEO r3 interior would do, just maybe update the front (angel eyes) and rear lamp (led).. darker dashboard with a larger glove box and maybe bit better sound insulation.

• Dr. M on Apr 11, 2011 at 9:43 pm

Agreed. Make it a mild turbocharger (like S40) coupled with supercharger on a 1.6 Campro (doesn’t matter if it is a non-CPS), get it at 200hp and 250Nm, 4-door, there you go…

But the price has to be no more than RM100k…hehehe…

Or alternatively 175hp and 200Nm, 3-door at no more than RM80k….hehehe….

Are you hearing us Proton? Sure Malaysians will be proud to own 1 – we want challenge MIVEC and VTEC in 1Malaysia engine!

• ibex7 on Apr 11, 2011 at 11:31 pm

And to smoke away those bloody bastard Myvi DVVT that always tailgating endlessly smpai kena buat brek emergency nk bg tkot br la ada akai bwk kete jauh2 skit!

• akinablue on Apr 12, 2011 at 7:59 am

i just curious how 1.3 myvi can tailgate most of the car. is the engine sooo power..or the driver sooo nak mati?

• Vincent on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:00 pm

1.3 tail 1.6 CPS, that is driver issue, not technical issue…heheh

• Nizam80 on Apr 12, 2011 at 3:33 pm

Yang aku pelik nya, klu brakes tu ada 4 pot calipers takpe la jugak nk tailgate mcm tu.

Anyway, I predict that this is not the last we’ve seen a tune up version of the Neo. There will be more…. especially when Proton decides to put the CFE Turbo in it. Then R3 will do another tune up version of it! 200hp anyone??

• I want that charger BADLY !!!

• nonce on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:21 pm

so when is campro turbo coming out??

• bluetravler on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:38 pm

how long has the current “neo” exterior been around, when was the last update? Just want to know. thanks

• ezracopters on Apr 12, 2011 at 1:48 pm

emm..last time Neo R3..cps bodykit with r3 spoiler..hehe

• meepok on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:41 pm

How long has the current “neo” exterior been around, when was the last update? Just want to know. Much thanks

• Ridhwan on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:46 pm

I saw this car a few days ago at TTDI. I was like WTF?! why look so different. Even the number plate tells that it is some kind of test car. The sound is sick and fast!

• Spongebob on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:54 pm

Wa~~~~ What’s that cyan colour car beside the satria neo in one of the pics????
    Newest Sportscar by proton????

• Ash Menon on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:59 pm

If PM can use the tech and data from this R&D to improve regular Proton cars, then more power to them! Hopefully it’s a sign of Proton’s slow but sure renaissance.

• donno on Apr 11, 2011 at 4:06 pm

Why bother?

Proton, Just dump the 1.6 Campro CFE turbo from the upcoming Exora facelift into the SRM Neo chassis and be done with it!!!

The neo chassis is begging for a more powerful engine ever since the Neo GTi model with the VW 1.8turbo was cancelled.

With the Campro CFE no need to worry about emission etc etc, and the car can be exported to everywhere in the world, unlike the R3 Neo’s.

• donno on Apr 11, 2011 at 4:36 pm

Forget about the supercharge…

Just plonk in the 1.6 CAMPRO CFE Turbo engine from the Exora FL in to the SRM neo chassis and be done with it… The SRM chassis has been longing for a more powerful engine to match its superb chassis ever since the Neo GTi with the VW 1.8 turbo engine was cancelled. With a fully developed CAMPRO CFE, Proton can sell the Neo turbo all over the word, without worrying about emissions, unlikt the R3 Neo’s

• ritzmann on Apr 11, 2011 at 4:59 pm

bravo proton! keep it up r3!!

• kuku beard on Apr 11, 2011 at 5:02 pm

Ohh, so this is the car & the green evora that I saw parked in front of DSSZ house yesterday morning.

• Can’t we have a normal juiced-up Neo that doesn’t look like it’s been Ah Bengified?

• tarmiziali on Apr 11, 2011 at 5:21 pm

now this is what im talking about. Not last year half baked attempt of the green lotus edition

• This car is quite nice but too much color and it’s just a Proton…VW Scirocco R,Golf R Renault Megane and Mini cooper even Polo GTI still look 10 times better than this.sorry…i always prefer and support branded cars.

• farhunter on Apr 11, 2011 at 7:01 pm

huh the performance is quite good but they need more exterior and interior touch up……….keep up the gud work Proton……..

• forteLover on Apr 11, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Quote:
    “Set to have 180 hp and 200 Nm on call, this is another Neo that has some serious muscle”

Mr.Anthony, I think u just re-defined the term ‘serious’.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 11, 2011 at 7:11 pm

It’s fairly okay serious, in the context of a Neo, if you read the line carefully. In any case, 180 ponies isn’t insignificant for a hatch like this, really.

• MCdog on Apr 11, 2011 at 9:27 pm

yup should be more ponies supercharged. Seem like the engine already reach its limitation.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 11, 2011 at 10:16 pm

Granted, you can always have more (and everyone wants more, as is usually the case), but that would also generally mean having to muck about with the innards, which might not be to everyone’s tastes.

• satria on Apr 11, 2011 at 7:17 pm

I like this posting..Satria is so hot and sexy cars nowdays.
    will wait till turbo version out then will change my wife suck old junk myvi to satria neo..
    Good job proton

• Tukar lampu depan & belakang kasi garang sikit, jangan nampak macam sleepy. Bagi xenon ka. Exhaust at the middle – looks BAD lah. Interior must be very muscle enough!.

• tommy on Apr 11, 2011 at 7:28 pm

Proton please do not marah me if i lick this car once i see it.

• tommy on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:02 am

the haters must be the R3 engineers, including Tengku Djan! hahahaha… they wont allow me to lick that candy!

• Mr.Smiles on Apr 11, 2011 at 7:28 pm

Wow!A good news from Proton….I’m waiting for new Persona-R…..^__^

• zaiem on Apr 11, 2011 at 8:58 pm

hope next project will be campro twincharger..

• zaiem on Apr 11, 2011 at 9:05 pm

hope next project will be campro cps twincharger..awesome!!!

• Please sell oem supercharger kit for campro cps….

• MengQ on Apr 11, 2011 at 9:21 pm

To be honest, Im a P2 supporter all this while, (Errr…used to like the Satria GTi when I was young, like the current Neo too but not the interior) but if Proton ever offer a turbocharged/supercharged hot hatch/sedan like this and place it below 100k or 90k, I will definitely take it over those over-priced Japanese/Korean c-segment makes! (Thanks to the current GOV as well for the over-priced issues).

Come on! I only left 9 more months to go with my Myvi, make these turbocharged/Supercharged real and I will immediately become a P2 basher… XD

• ezracopters on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:09 pm

haha…immediately become p2 basher..good one.

but yeah, certainly agree. i’ve done almost everything to make it cozy on the ride & cockpit, faster and withstand on the engine as well as in term of fuel efficiency (dont know if it’s ok or not but i’ve got 7.0l/100km on city drive and 6.7l/100km on highway no matter how hard i push it) .. standard Campro (some said vanilla campro??) on my neo i’ve only manage around 155hp on the wheel…:(

it’s been few years already, … give us new one.. the better one!!

• Ok Proton Motor Sports… Wouldn’t the Acronym be PMS… “I’ll just take my PMS for a spin”

• we need also exhaust gas powered diffuser

• mdfarizal on Apr 11, 2011 at 10:16 pm

180 hp not enough this day…put 2.0 engine with supercharge to be 200hp…then price it rm 80k ++ then it will be hot cake…

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 11, 2011 at 10:45 pm

If there’s a 2.0 litre, someone will definitely say 200 horses isn’t enough, that there should be at least 240, and still want it at 80k+. :) And at that point someone will also ask why there’s not something like a Wilwood Superlite 6R/4R f/r combi included to stop the thing quickly … ha ha.

• civicEK on Apr 12, 2011 at 10:29 am

bro, with 2.0 u can produce over 300 hp la.. 180hp for 1.6 seems fair enough for d car, some more where u can drive laju-laju in congested malaysian road..

• muryadi on Apr 12, 2011 at 12:19 am

Yes….

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on Apr 12, 2011 at 12:23 am

it is about time Proton added some decent power to the neo.
    Great work.. hope the price is reasonable for the enthusiast.

if I compare an equivalent factory engine which is 1.6 4A-GZE it produces
    170ps with 206Nm (20 years ago) so if u benchmark the campro. supercharged output is not bad.

• puipui on Apr 12, 2011 at 12:23 am

still rubbish.. achievement from F to E…. too bias to proton makes proton 2 take things 4 granted….compare with other competitor n c how far are you guys….yes its true there is improvement but that does’nt make you even at a good level yet…same to perodua

• Vincent on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Pui Pui, they are not there yet! But with the passion they put in, they might not there but not far away….AS long as this company can be self sustain, not spending our EPF money to make losses, we are OK with it!

The father of P1 is the one who make this mess for us…

• Whynot on Apr 12, 2011 at 12:41 am

I thought JPJ banned supercharger? Or supercharger can only be use in a new car?
    What is the different anyway? Can someone tell me?

• feel bored with what satria neo has to offer with its current look.proton takes ages to develop a car and it made us lose patience and get bored of the entire look of this current model…

• SoMeOnE on Apr 12, 2011 at 3:48 am

i think a supercharger is probably the best idea to get the most out of an engine like the campro…im suprised they havent thought of this earlier….as we all know ..the engine suffers from a lack of torque in the low end and this is where the supercharger performs best…..(its only around 3000 rpm i think..any more and it will spin itself to bits) as it was created in the first place to adress a lack of a low end..im suprised they took this long to figure this out…..

maybe its because turbo chargers are more fashionable or something…this 180 bhp spec is a really safe state of tune..superchargers can spit out a whole lot more….i suspect this may be put into a production where neo’s will be exclusively supercharged while the mainstream models will be lightly turbocharged (you heard it here first ! ;) ) to keep positioning the neo as a little bit different and exclusive from the rest. of the range….i know someone that has a supercharged waja campro thats pumping out about 240 hp and it has Never broken down..it is more reliable than a turbo which may explain the need to put it in the Neo (as they are usally driven harder than a persona for example) well..lets see if it pans out this way :)

• Kumar san on Apr 12, 2011 at 1:42 pm

I have to agree with SoMeOnE.You can never go wrong with a supercharged motor.And they only realized the plus points of supercharging now,a bit late but better late than never.A supercharged engine is pulley driven,meaning it will depend solely on the rotation speed of the engine itself regardless of load input,simply put,little or lag at all.Instant power from the get go.

Provided it’s developed properly and tuned correctly.This 180bhp state of tune is indeed safe..i reckon it can easily push at least 200bhp at the expense of fuel consumption and realiability concerns,that’s why they pegged it at 180bhp.

Supercharged engines are very,very reliable,far more than a turbocharged motor.It will run literally forever

As far as positioning is concerned,this model could not have come at a better time,but they must develop it properly before they decide to make it a production reality.

Cheers.

• teelim on Apr 12, 2011 at 8:14 am

enough with tweaking the old car.

give us a new Satria already…

• jong88 on Apr 12, 2011 at 11:07 am

They can tweak it a thousand times but the headlamp still collect water.

• oleoresin on Apr 12, 2011 at 12:40 pm

both of you will not going to buy although p1 make new satria or new headlamp. Dont con us

• bobdbilder on Apr 12, 2011 at 10:10 am

How soon would it be depends on market forces. If they sold off more of the current Neo R3, it would be a gauge on market acceptance of R3 products. It will also be dictated by the new branding strategy. I would say they would continue to have Limited Edition Vehicles but would have bolt-on kits ready to cater for those who could not afford the whole car.

Right now its the Neo R3 for the Cams/Header Hop up kits. We could see Exora with CFE as a pinup for R3 Turbo Kits. Persona R for R3 blower? Shifting focus from sports type like the Neo to Sedans would increase market visibility for the products.

Good luck R3!

• between the 2… I pick turbocharge!

• mamakman on Apr 12, 2011 at 10:42 am

NOW we are talking!!!!

• tongek on Apr 12, 2011 at 10:54 am

proton make progress…. but normal road condition condition is bad for malysian who want to spend money on this car ,,,only highway with toll have a good road condition ..how we going to drive in bad road condition? some lubang and tarmac after constuction is not that good, i drive from puchong to PJ every working day….. (not LDP) ,,, it really bad for a country that target to become high salary nation…… JKR have to strict their rules….. what if gov increase road tax and perhap reduce some of automative tax? or maybe i need to wait for election?

• ezracopters on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:16 pm

good driver need not perfect road to show em’ skill hehe

• budleee on Apr 12, 2011 at 11:44 am

supercharger?

yes please…

• LostFan on Apr 12, 2011 at 11:51 am

..enuff is enuff with your underpower 1.6, we just need proton to bring back the 1.8 Satria GTi, Putra, and Wira 1.8 glory years!!!!

• wadefak on Apr 12, 2011 at 11:30 pm

road tax pon murah.kau bukan mampu sangat pun bayar road tax.cakap besar.kereta 1.6 pon kadang-kadang dah mati 2 bulan baru nak renew.

• LostFan on Apr 13, 2011 at 11:48 am

come one wadefak, dun talk about road tax lar friend, just compare those 1.8 Satria GTi or Putra which u can get about 70K last time, and now u talking about tuned 1.6 neo which the figure can go up to 85K-100K, it just doesnt make sense !!! You are talking about road tax which u can save few hundred ringgits, u r not good in maths!

• BadBET on Apr 13, 2011 at 4:29 pm

inflation la… 70k at Gti time had more value than current 70k.

• zaff1984 on Apr 12, 2011 at 12:33 pm

mmm…. I saw Golf ad @ newspaper it says 240Nm.

• Walauyea on Apr 12, 2011 at 12:53 pm

180 hp, 200 Nm! On Wheel?

• peeps on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:15 pm

dont think is on wheel.. if so this machine is gonna be crazy fast

• LostFan2 on Apr 12, 2011 at 12:56 pm

..proton seems move backward, people talking about 6 speed transmission with paddle shift..which equivalent to power with more fuel saving, i wonder how proton can survive for next few years…come on proton, its never too late..follow how the korean penetrate the market !!!!

• ezracopters on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:24 pm

in term of motorsports..proton did better than those hype koreans.. take the Koup for eg.. it looks good.. but lack of power/engine capacity, placticy interior, only perfect on the straight, fuel thirst, too stift, pretty expensive even in singapore.. and nowhere near in local & international motorsport event..

• bobdbilder on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:27 pm

6 speeds don’t save fuel. Its the CVT that does. And IMHO CVTs really suck. I know Proton will go down that road for their Autos. Purists don’t drive autos. This car is for purists.

• ZenZarray on Apr 12, 2011 at 4:24 pm

How do you aspect racing tunned car to save fuel??? This is car for enthusiast….u want something jimat minyak…buy other car…dont blame this Satria Neo… = )

• wadefak on Apr 12, 2011 at 11:25 pm

please buy ”vavi exclusive if you want more expensive looking”.sure jimat.

• LostFan2 on Apr 13, 2011 at 10:48 am

..i’m ex-proton Putra owner, and the ‘wow’ factor which i gain during that time was no more there if looking at current ‘tuned’ Neo, i always thinking this are all waste of effort from Proton, give back that 1.8 or better 2.0 engine..and tuned it from there !!!

• peeps on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:14 pm

i think i saw AP racing brakes… good stuff there!. that thing easily worth 8K or more and from the bit and pieces, i guess it could be prices at 90-100k.

• this what people should call it “Kuda Hitam” yeah jackpot for proton!!!

• bk_jack on Apr 12, 2011 at 3:01 pm

next up…. super turbo? as same as vw 1.4.tsi?

• bk_jack on Apr 12, 2011 at 3:02 pm

next version…… super turbo? found similar in vw twincharger version?

• keyboard.rosak on Apr 12, 2011 at 5:56 pm

BTW, it’s using Sprintex supercharger

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 12, 2011 at 6:45 pm

Yes, think that was mentioned in the story.

• keyboard.rosak on Apr 12, 2011 at 7:09 pm

opss, i missed that.

seem that they also have a SC kit for Jazz / City.

• Why only 200nm?…the prince 1.6 turbocharged used by mini & pug churn out 240nm of torque, anybody care to explain?

• Ah Kam on Apr 13, 2011 at 12:14 pm

Campro = Can’tPro. Where cannot Pro how to churn out more than a prince engine?

• keyboard.rosak on Apr 13, 2011 at 3:53 pm

the 1.6 turbo Prince Engine uses the latest engine technology available in BMW.
      Direct Fuel Injection
      Twin Scroll turbocharger
      BMW Valvetronic – fully variable valve lift and timing
      On demand Water Pump

and you are comparing it to Proton first engine family (all campro family)?

of course they’re miles apart

• nabill on Apr 14, 2011 at 8:27 pm

probably bcos it still uses the 5 speed mitsubishi manual gearbox which has been around for ages…and that means it has limitations interms of nm of torque being handled…

• makeitmine on Apr 12, 2011 at 10:24 pm

All existing campro owners should be given the chance to upgrade to supercharged campro if it can be proven that the supercharger can improve emission level and fuel efficiency. Consequently, this will improve the resale value of proton cars.

• the different between turbocharged and supercharged is the way they increase the intake pressure…. in turbocharged, you will only feel the turbo after the charged which is usually around 2.0krpm… so any rpm below 2.0 range, you will feel the car damn underpowered… :p…

whilst in supercharged, it is connected to the crankshaft, they are using the power from the crank to compress the intake air, so you will feel the umphhh even at low rpm but, the resulted increase in power/torque is lower than the turbocharged…. that is why many ‘super’ cars use supercharged instead of the turbocharged… they want power at low rpm so the car can achieve 0-60mph faster….

in conclusion, i want supercharged in my neo because in malaysia, we have so many traffic lights that keep us braking and stopping…..!!!

• makeitmine on Apr 14, 2011 at 9:55 am

Your are right, people want smooth low rpm driving.. Proton, pls allow old and new campro to be supercharged.

• if Golf TSI to be the benchmark of this, proton should price it at around 80K only. Unless alot of improvement to the interior quality is done.

• kurakurabaik on Apr 13, 2011 at 8:46 pm

the latest r3 oso 79797..if this going to sell will cost us 90k at least..but then they surely will upgrade the brake&suspension to occupy the power..100k shud be expected..more than that will make most of us crying..100k will make us pay roughly 1k a month for 9 years with 10% downpayment..x mampu~~

• By the time proton launch this cars can tun on water oredi. Always centuries behind. Like cps just oni launch..vtec mivec dah lah how many years

• cursing_malay on Apr 20, 2011 at 4:08 pm

wow nice looking car.. tapi mahal nak mampos.. harga honda accord kat negara Maju dengan rakyat berpendapatan maju pun x mahal mcm ni.. harga lebih mahal dari negara maju khas utk rakyat berpendapatan membangun.. hasil pemikiran Mahathir babi.. no offence.. no politics.. just kesedaran mata hati.. 1 malaysia kene tipu hahaha.. harap proton bankrup.. dpt selamatkan lebih 10 juta rakyat yg melarat dan membuka peluang kerja lebih bnyk utk rakyat (termasuk 50000 org yg hilang keje jika proton tutup).. stupid mahathir.. aku yg amik spm je pun lagi bijak dr dia.. dasar anjing freemason..

• Norman on Apr 24, 2011 at 5:25 pm

Supercharge usually lost to turbocharge in torque terms,But acceleration from 0-100kmh is superb than turbocharged

• mystvearn on May 16, 2011 at 5:38 am

Make it please:)

• Dr. M on Oct 03, 2011 at 9:26 pm

Please consider also Gen.2 CPS supercharged. We want speed and practicality.

• javin on Nov 21, 2011 at 11:06 am

how do i get this kind of car ??

• Its funny how Protons are Cheap in Auz but Expensive as Hell in their own Country.

while The cost of transporting it to Australia and put it on display is Alot… they Sell them with cheap prices… even if you converted that amount of cash to their Malaysian cash it still cheap.

i doubt they will Mass Produce these R3 turbo charge…..

cuz i seen one of their cars called Perdana which has a exterior problem and until now proton did’t Fix the problem. The problem is quite expensive for Perdana Users the repair.

I did’t mean offence but its what i heard and what i seen.

• No matter what they put in that Car. it still cost like hell.
    I been to australia. and protons cars there are Cheap, thats right… Cheap. i wandered why they sell their cars Expensive in their own country but Cheap in other country… Stupid i tell you…
    the cost of Shipping and Exporting it, putting it on the cargo etc. that would cost ALOT.
    Even if you convert that money which you bought the car with to their money its still cheap.

I don’t think they will mass PRODUCE these R3 Supercharged anytime soon. cuz this referred to one of their Glorified car “Perdana” the car is good but theres a InTERIOR problem with that car, But Proton Did’t fix the problem still…. Even after years of productions. the problem cost like a mule to fix.

Look am not making proton to look bad. but i just wish they FIX their system and cars for their people first. before even THINKING for Export.

P.S you guys should see the OLD satria the First model. it looked smaller then this one.

• fadhil on Dec 14, 2013 at 5:23 am

old post, 1 year ago.. so, where is the product? I can’t find it on the market..