BMW 6-Series Convertible launched – 640i, RM868,800

BMW Malaysia gave the new 6-Series Convertible its public unveiling this morning, which is probably of no surprise to you, since it was caught on camera earlier this month. The rag top F12 (no metal roof) comes to Malaysia in a sole variant – the 640i powered by Munich’s venerable 3.0-litre turbocharged inline six engine. It’s priced at RM868,800, OTR without insurance but with BMW Service Inclusive + Repair.

The direct injected with Valvetronic engine produces 320 hp and 450 Nm of torque made from 1,300-4,500 rpm. That’s enough to pull this 1,840 kg machine from 0 to 100 km/h in just 5.7 seconds. Top speed is limited to 250 km/h. The gearbox is an 8-speed sports automatic transmission with steering wheel paddle shift.

This 640i comes with BMW’s EfficientDynamics measures which includes Auto Start/Stop. This means that the engine will be shut off when the car stops, starting again when the driver lifts his foot off the brakes. Not very common in Malaysia out of the hybrid segment, but this feature is common for most new cars sold in Europe today. Claimed combined fuel consumption is 7.9 litres per 100 km.

Other standard features include Driving Dynamics Control and Integral Active Steering. The former allows the driver to pick Normal, Sport and Sport + modes that adjust engine and steering response, gearshift dynamics, DSC, electronic dampers and roll control. The electromechanical IAS is a form of four-wheel steering that gives this big car added agility.

The F12 is officially called a 2+2, not a four seater, but the rear seats look livable for average sized adults. The leather upholstery has SunReflective tech, which allows for less heat absorption when driving with the top down. The dual-zone air con has a special convertible mode, too.

Speaking of that, the boot volume is rated at 350 litres with the roof stowed, which BMW says is sufficient for two large golf bags. The roof folds away in 19 seconds, rises in 24, and can be operated at speeds of up to 40 km/h.

The highlight of the dashboard, which has a centre stack that’s tilted to the driver, is the large metal framed 10.2-inch display for iDrive, Navigation System Professional and BMW ConnectedDrive. By the way, when the car is stationary, one can surf the net using this screen via the built in browser. This car also comes with Head-Up Display and Night Vision, so there are lots of toys to play with.

Live gallery of the launch event is after the jump. Click here to view the large official image gallery.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2142]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• rapidshifter on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:21 pm

this convertible is huge…. looks fast enuff…

• Cummernator on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:27 pm

I would literally sell my semen to get this car.

• Seriously on Apr 12, 2011 at 4:54 pm

I doubt yours is worth anything… you’re better off selling your organs.

• Seriously, I can confirm you are worth nothing, and nobody wants your organs.

• khaix19a on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:29 pm

like the previous gen better

• 4545er on Apr 12, 2011 at 5:29 pm

and why its called 640i not a 635i ??

• Kiddo on Apr 12, 2011 at 9:36 pm

because the performance of this inline-6 engine is equivalent (or better) to that of a V8.

for example, the 4.0 V8 found in the E65 740i produces 306hp only.

• Paul Tan on Apr 24, 2011 at 8:10 pm

For these big cars, the 35i is for the 400Nm tune, while 40i is for the 450Nm tune. 450Nm has also been called “35is”, in the Z4.

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:30 pm

Love to say this car looks good cos it is a BMW ….but not…!!!

• lolzz on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:32 pm

true beauty!!

• duck_killer on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:37 pm

rather buy M6

• pumpkin76 on Apr 14, 2011 at 1:31 pm

rather buy the hard top 3 series convertible…. also sits 2+2 at a lower price…

• hantu on Apr 12, 2011 at 3:00 pm

Its like a persona from the rear.

Who’s copy who’s?

• Hanso on Apr 12, 2011 at 3:53 pm

Seriously dude..??. you avin’ a larf.

• khaix19a on Apr 12, 2011 at 5:02 pm

i dont see the resemblence

• Typical Persona owner – wishful thinking.

• Alfa male on Apr 12, 2011 at 6:24 pm

Need your eyes checked

• Bolehhhh on Apr 13, 2011 at 1:36 pm

Dah nama hantu….mestilah dia nampak cam persona…silap silap dia cakap cam myvi plak….

• Mitsu Fan on Apr 14, 2011 at 12:58 am

dude, i think u just uncovered a big secret, i think ur right that BMW sent a spy all the way from Germany and then secretly tiru Proton’s design. Next thing we know they gona copy our proton lotus suspension. omg wht we gona ? !! …

• SeriuosSAM on Apr 12, 2011 at 3:04 pm

how fast for the roof to open and close?

here in malaysia the rain can fall heavily in less than 3 second

• amfin on Apr 12, 2011 at 3:10 pm

The madness of Malaysian Import Duty,AP,Excise and whatever taxes. Its GBP £65,680.00 (RM 323,866.00) in UK .
    http://www.autocar.co.uk/CarReviews/FirstDrives/BMW-6-Series-640i/255922/
    Toys for the rich and the well connected huh.

• redboy on Apr 12, 2011 at 5:09 pm

well speak! the well connected!

• Yes la dude we get it. Car prices are crazy expensive in Malaysia. Get over it la. Even if it was RM323,866.00 can you still afford it or not? This is a luxury car its not meant for the mass market. It will sell in small numbers to remain exclusive. People who are in the market for cars like this wont complain about the price. The saying goes, if you have to ask how much, then you cant afford it.

• fariz on Apr 12, 2011 at 7:12 pm

Not worth it, 800+k for this? come on…

• Unforgiven on Apr 13, 2011 at 10:56 am

If it’s selling at RM323k, then a lot of people can afford as a weekend car, don’t even have to look for those grey importers. But if it’s RM868k, then it’s a different story…

Anyway, those enjoying AP on hand, can anytime buy this car… not just for themselves but for their xxx as well…

• Medusa on Apr 13, 2011 at 3:43 pm

Do you ever wonder of how can young, hot amoi afford to drive a Merc or BMW? Perhaps it is his ‘daddy’ car…

• Selezs on Apr 12, 2011 at 7:23 pm

Looking at the price, somebody getting richer n richer, n ppl like me (average jo) getting poorer n poorer.

• atleast everything else are rather cheap or low price..thats u never count….

• karim on Apr 12, 2011 at 3:12 pm

does this one have the new led headlights?

btw, to show how good the engine is:-

bmw 640 (3L twin-turbo straight-6) : 7.9L/100km
    proton persona (1.6L NA staight-4): 7.1L/100km

for a car that’s heavier, bigger, safer with a bigger engine and more cylinders, the fuel consumption is impressive. price notwithstanding of course.

shows how light-years ahead german automotive engineering against the rest of the world….

• How can you compare this car to Proton Persona, even Merc and Audi are years behind this car.

• scandinavian on Apr 12, 2011 at 7:03 pm

years behind?bro merc and audi are German Marques as well la,they play in the same field.where got years behind.If you say proton is years behind then fits la.lol wanna compare oso dun pijak other EQUALLY reputable cars la

• Out of Luck on Apr 12, 2011 at 7:27 pm

BMW always under quote the fuel consumption. Actual should be higher than quoted value. Of course it depends on the driving style but kinda hard to achieve the quoted FC.

• alpha999 on Apr 12, 2011 at 3:14 pm

after four years later, how much would this 2nd hand model cost ?

• Black Dog on Apr 12, 2011 at 6:04 pm

BMW is well known for expensive maintainance after a few years. And they still call their cars ‘Homage to Perfection’! cheeezzzzzzzz

• Plazz on Apr 13, 2011 at 12:57 am

Since when they call BMW that? It used to be known as the ultimate driving machine, and when you compare Mercs and Audi’s ride, BMW is still the best.

• Poppyplants on Apr 12, 2011 at 3:21 pm

Definitely a step backwards from the previous gen’s design.

• fugly

• chuakz on Apr 12, 2011 at 4:25 pm

i dunno but personally it looks rather bland….for that price rather get jaguar xk

• BeemerFreak on Apr 12, 2011 at 4:47 pm

Maserati Granturismo goes for about 1 million ringgit. Thats a better buy

• Alpha on Apr 12, 2011 at 4:33 pm

Is this in the same segment as the E-Class Coupe??If so,I’d say the E-Class Coupe looks very adventurous compared to this.Better wait for the M-Sport.

• Kiddo on Apr 12, 2011 at 4:51 pm

BMW says it’s in the same league as the M.Benz SL but i do believe this BMW is a car that slots in well between E-Class Coupe and the SL.

• WahPiang on Apr 12, 2011 at 4:52 pm

good car for my happenin’ daughter….

• Nissan fans on Apr 12, 2011 at 4:54 pm

Nothing great….Nissan GTR look nicer.

• Typical Nissan Sentra owner – Inferior complex.

• ringtourrer on Apr 13, 2011 at 2:40 am

i dont see the issue, totally different cars but given the variety of rm800k cars (or rather the lack of it) in Malaysia can consider same same la, this thing looks pretty grotesque wat….compared to GTR, plain opinions

• DIFFERENCE on Apr 12, 2011 at 5:30 pm

Come on, it’s two different class of cars. You can compare this way

“oh GTR nothing great, LP560-4 nicer”

• fariz on Apr 12, 2011 at 7:09 pm

yeah…if you have 800k….buy a Nissan GTR, more to spare for other stuff…why buy this shit….it’s fugly anyway…open top in Malaysia, come on…

• puipui on Apr 12, 2011 at 5:16 pm

really nice car….whoever that think its not nice..i respect ur decision….coz u hav ur own taste for it……. but i still prefer a hard cover roof….soft cover looks a little outdated

• deftones on Apr 12, 2011 at 5:24 pm

its a price of bungalow or semi-D on the move..incredibly insane
    last time the M5 prices around 800+k..but this isnt M version..should be cheaper..
    if the M6 come out, i think the price could reach 1 milion..gilaa

• Gavin on Apr 12, 2011 at 5:47 pm

Lets see now

68k for the car

800k for the roof

roof – never open so…..

sounds like a good buy

• from korean bmw :
    http://www.bmw.co.kr/kr/ko/newvehicles/6series/convertible/2010/showroom/prices/pricelist.html
    the price is ?158,100,000 = 438,387.55 MYR
    zzz~

• Rear is freaking nice!

• fariz on Apr 12, 2011 at 7:03 pm

Might as well get a Nissan GTR…way much cheaper, way more powerful, way more practical….plus, I don’t get the idea of an open top car in Malaysia….

• TurboMan!! on Apr 12, 2011 at 8:23 pm

might as well get a used satria for 10k, and put 300hp 2 liter turbo?

WAYYY faster than any ferraris or GTR… just don take corners
      ( im being sarcastic )

However, Fariz, ifferent car for different demographics la.
      Some ppl like to go fast, some ppl like to drive convertable, some ppl like to cruise 40kmh on the plus highway. Just different demographics.

• ringtourrer on Apr 13, 2011 at 2:49 am

uhh, i doubt 300hp in a satria could make it faster than whatever you mentioned, even if you were just being sarcastic heheh, and what of the demographic of a person who would drive an rm 800k convertible, given msia’s rather hot n humid not to mention poluted environment?? vastly over the top id say ,no?
        fariz does have a point where practicality is concerned…cheers

• TurboMan!! on Apr 13, 2011 at 5:50 am

Dude.

If 300hp 2 liter mivec turbo at 1 bar cannot, then boost to 2 bars then. It should be good for 400hp. It might shread the chassis into 2, but who says it cannot tapao ferrari while the chassis lasted, assuming the gearbox doesnt fly out.

However, if you want to talk demographics, there are ppl who can afford these cars. 26 million malaysians, there will be some1 rich/crazy enough to spend that kind of money. Not us im sure.

No doubt, convertables are not practical if u live and work in the city. I drive a convertable ( much much cheaper ). Driving a convertable with top down in the outskirts of city ( rawang, genting, cameron, fraser hill ) at the proper time of the day is one of the finer points in life. You should try it. Always feel much energized after such drive.

• farizY on Apr 13, 2011 at 9:16 am

why don’t you try putting a 150hp vtec in a Kancil? That’ll work too….LOL…
        Plus, cruising 40kph on a highway? are you kidding me? menyusahkan orang nanti…vast difference between speeds, you gonna get yourself killed….mow down by big rigs and buses….

• TurboMan!! on Apr 13, 2011 at 6:31 pm

haha.

seen b4 my friend. really crazy. 150hp in kancil sounds good.

janji don take corners

• Nodame-chan on Apr 12, 2011 at 7:18 pm

Again, the full LED headlamp is RMxxxx optional?? Duh…! Nice drop-top though

• arcadian on Apr 12, 2011 at 7:20 pm

I must say that in terms of design,this one is not that attractive.seems to have gone 1 step back in terms of design

• motip mahal sgt?

• maserati on Apr 12, 2011 at 10:14 pm

Nahhh i would take the eclass coupe anytime over this

• NOT A PRACTICAL CAR AT ALL

NO FUNCTIONALITY AT ALL BUT JUST LOOK SPORTY ONLY

TOTALLY A WASTE OF MONEY

FUGLY CONCEPT

• TurboMan!! on Apr 13, 2011 at 5:59 am

Convertables are not practical machines. Even roadsters are not practical.

Those are lifestyle machines. Cars that you drive to make you feel good about life.

You want practicality, buy a perodua rusa. Or lorimas. Those can carry lots of stuffs.

• Tu Lan Proton on Apr 12, 2011 at 11:22 pm

BMW 650i convertible 4.8L, V8, 360hp. USD80,000 = RM250,000 only. Why Malaysians are paying so much more? Are Malaysians easier to take advantage of? Or Malaysians asked for it by having a government that protects the interest of certain people?

• tishaban on Apr 13, 2011 at 10:23 am

As someone mentioned here before, some people spend time here complaining about high car prices. Others go out, work smart and actually make lots of money so that they can afford these expensive cars.

Unfortunately paultan.org commentors seem to be the former :-D

• Tu Lan Proton on Apr 13, 2011 at 11:25 am

Tu Lan Proton works hard for his money. Tu Lan Proton just cannot understand why some people prefer to pay excessive price for cars when cars can be so much more affordable. Tu Lan Proton can afford this BMW but believe 99.9% of Malaysians would agree that paying USD85,000 (approx RM250,000) is so much more less painful than paying RM870K for this BMW. Maybe Tishiba belongs to the minority who prefers to pay high prices for cars.

• puipui on Apr 13, 2011 at 1:30 am

with such a high price…who is the fault of this ? government or bmw ? or both ?

• NoBrainer on Apr 13, 2011 at 4:34 am

Even if BMW drops the price of this car to 100K, I would still not be able to afford it. So the discussion about this car is really not about whether worth the price tag or ugly/ nice. Instead, we have to ask ourselves how can we afford the car?

BMW will never price themselves out of the market. That means someone out there can afford this car. And BMW knows that they can make money with this car. For those who complains this car is expensive, doubt BMW is listening to you. For those who complains this car is fugly, doubt BMW cares as well.

• Good to see more models being launched in Malaysia but a cloth roof convertible will probably ranked as the most impractical one to have in tropical climate. Most of the time will have the roof up anyway to prevent heat and rain. Money best spent on a coupe version.
    As to the question of money, the cost is still very expensive what with a 640i convertible here is asking $209,000 list and a 650i convertible merely $266,000. There is the previous shape M6 asking $335,000 with the glorious V10 producing 507bhp.

• 98tecknik89 on Apr 13, 2011 at 9:12 am

somehow 6 series has never been good looking…look at that front…omg…

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on Apr 13, 2011 at 9:26 am

over priced due to high tax and …. in 3 year will depreciated by 50%…then maintenance will kill you after that…how is that for brand loyalty…..just stating the reality..

• gtmaniac on Apr 13, 2011 at 9:58 am

RM800+k, and no metal roof included?

Darn.

• German cars is DA BEST!!!

• Suren69 on Apr 13, 2011 at 11:08 am

Looks boring IMHO. I feel exterior design wise the previous model/generation was more fierce and unique.

Maybe it’s the colour. LOL.

Whatever it is, a convertible in Malaysia? Nah…

• Mazda Fan on Apr 13, 2011 at 11:53 am

overpriced and not practical,only BMW brand snobs would buy this.rather get an MX-5 Miata

• coolcar on Apr 13, 2011 at 12:11 pm

nowadays bmw design really sucks, what happen?

• Baguss on Apr 13, 2011 at 1:34 pm

BMW tuh… Bawa Mehabiskan Wang … gaya siottt….

• RamuNik on Apr 14, 2011 at 1:26 pm

There are reasons for the design. hood panjang la, lampu kecik la, convertible la. any1 can complain about everything.

Previously i am not so into 6 series. not until friend of mine bought one. Yeah. the headlamp is not too ultra cool. but see it before your eyes. its damn wide, low, bulky, cool. And ahh… sexy.

No money= No afford=No complaint. PERIOD

Be more matured guys~

• Spongebob on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:40 pm

I want the babe

• wall-e on Apr 14, 2011 at 10:55 pm

big toys for the big boys…. really big boys i mean
    most of us can’t ever imagine having 868k in the account, let alone buying this car…
    you’ve got to be some millionaire to get a hand to this… phew… how poor i am… :(

• wall-e on Apr 14, 2011 at 11:12 pm

really big toys for the really big boys

• SteveK on Apr 17, 2011 at 7:22 am

I’d rather get the previous gen. looks better IMO.

• westaussiemalay on Apr 21, 2011 at 1:45 pm

Our tax system on imported cars are to blame for this car price of RM870,000. Rich and common people alike are being over charged when purchasing imported cars. If foreign cars are charged based on their engine sizes, why are 2 litres and 1.4 turbo charged imported cars prices are still very steep in Malaysia? Blame it on exchange rate of the RM? Still 2000cc Alfa Romeos and 1.4 litres powered VWs are beyond reach to many Malaysians, who are unfortunately be fed with only boring Proton models, which are still of poor quality, lacks adequate safety equiptment ( eg airbags) yet are overly priced. Every life lost in motor accidents in Malaysia is a loss in human resources to the nation. Can there be a repeat of the workhorse Proton Saga first model of 1985, where it was sold for RM18,000? A true kereta rakyat it was. Just to quote an example, Proton Savvy with 1 airbag, and a Suzuki compact model sold here in Perth,Australia, both at AU$10,000, new. Is it because of cheap labour in India, aren’t Malaysian, or rather Proton workers too are being paid lowly? So why the India car with more standard safety equiptment are sold at a price on par with Savvy with a lower safety specs? The effect is Proton gets less, in fact poor sales here. What is the point of exporting your product if you do it half-heartedly. Wake up Proton, please.