Alfa Romeo 159 gets new interior and 136 hp 2.0 JTDM diesel

To keep things fresh and kicking, Alfa Romeo has dressed up the interior of its 159 sedan for 2011, as well as introduced a new engine variant into the lineup – the new motor is a 136 hp 2.0 JTDM unit. The Euro 5, variable geometry turbocharger-equipped diesel block offers 350 Nm of torque from as low as 1,750 rpm.

Interior-wise, the 159 now features new sports cloth upholstery or sports leather in black or natural, depending on the trim level chosen (there are three – Turismo, Lusso and the sporty TI). Elsewhere, the cabin gets dressed up with elegant chrome-plated three-layer treatment or brush black aluminium inserts on the dashboard, on the mouldings and on the central console.

Bagging a TI variant not only gets you the sport bits, all replete in black and aluminium, new carbon fibre inserts on the central console and steering wheel may be ordered as optional items to complete the sport theme.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• 4545er on Apr 13, 2011 at 9:19 pm

wow..what a coincident i just watch this car in top gear few min ago

• Fifteen on Apr 13, 2011 at 9:39 pm

As long as Alfa is under the Fiat Group, you would not want to drive one if you value sanity.

• yeah rite! on Apr 13, 2011 at 10:22 pm

value sanity? nope, only if you can’t afford the car, it’s maintenance cost and can’t stomach it’s depreciation.

Don’t simply say people who have the courage/money/passion to drive one as blah blah blah…

• That says you would not want to drive a Ferrari if you value sanity?

• junaidi on Apr 13, 2011 at 10:45 pm

whats sanity? is that another word for boring bmw and merc drivers?

• peYno on Apr 14, 2011 at 12:29 am

you need a toyota or a perodua

• Seriously on Apr 14, 2011 at 11:56 am

Forgive him, he’s only “Fifteen”

• kington on Apr 13, 2011 at 9:50 pm

It’s so wrong, but one can never fail to fall in love with an Alfa.

• SoMeOnE on Apr 13, 2011 at 9:52 pm

i guess that means we are insane to even like or drive feraris and meseratis since they are also part of the fiat group..hmmmm…i think this car is the bomb….a real head turner and a solid buy…selespeed a lil wonky…but f u get the idea it can be charming……

• TurboMan!! on Apr 13, 2011 at 10:12 pm

Would love to get it. And remap it since its a turbo. Could get 150-180hp.

But part of my mind is screaming, DON SPEND 200k on an alfa. Yes i know.

We should live a bit, drive an alfa.one of the best driving machine. car with soul, not a petrolhead until u have driven an alfa.

But 200k on a car that has a bad reputation for reliability? I still cant convince myself

• Finally saw one today, damn sexY!

• Jimmy on Apr 13, 2011 at 11:09 pm

Dinasour.

• VoidDance on Apr 14, 2011 at 10:44 am

Yes, exactly. But boy, it is still a beautiful dinosaur. How many other ‘dinosaurs’ that you can still look it with awe after all this years in production?

Only Alfas can do that.

• alfa159 on Apr 13, 2011 at 11:13 pm

another nice car. if only i have enough money to buy this car :)

• never fail to amaze me.. Its an art.. I wish the parts is easy..but hell i do not have the money to get one.. But if i do.. Yosh.. Prefer Alfa rather than others..

147….

• Ash Menon on Apr 14, 2011 at 1:43 am

Really respect and admire people who buy Alfas. You must really love the car, and the driving experience, to put up that much money for a car with a bad reputation for reliability.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 14, 2011 at 9:26 am

Agreed. All out standing ovation for them. These are the people who buys cars with their heart and not their brain, or else they would just end up with a dreary toyota that looks the same as everyone elses.

• Alfasuxs on Apr 14, 2011 at 1:45 am

Alfas are the worst design that came out of Italy

Every angle you look at it… its looks like a design from the 70’s

Its reliability is one word – horrendous

• farizY on Apr 14, 2011 at 10:44 am

clearly, you don’t have any passion for cars….

• VoidDance on Apr 14, 2011 at 10:49 am

Do just stumbled upon Paultan’s blog while you’re looking for Justin Bieber’s?

• danielhashim on Apr 14, 2011 at 7:22 am

Trust me,alfa will drained all your tea tarik money,even if u must own one,dont get the selespeed version.or it will empty your bank account in no time.rewarding and fun ride,lustful engines but poorly built .just wait for the guiletta t.b.i to be launch somewhere this year in malaysia.this model is a non selespeed model and received rave review in europe.

• kvinlim on Apr 14, 2011 at 8:12 am

no point bashing it, if got no money, dont buy nice car. dont even log-on to paultan, because paultan is all about cars, you can know about p&p launching from anywhere else …

on reliability side, i think i see more bmw / mercs on the road side than any other continental car, what reliability? ask bmw owners, i got a few, and you will know what they say …

but 2.2 only 136hp? is there a typo?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 14, 2011 at 1:58 pm

It’s not a 2.2 litre unit …

• danny on Apr 14, 2011 at 2:31 pm

That’s bcoz the 2 brands have the most numbers of German cars on the road, laws of probability at work here!

But I agree, been a former owner of a few Alfa Romeos, last being the Alfa 146.

The newer Alfa Romeos are no less reliable to German brands as they are any less prone to breakdowns compare to the Italian brands.

• junaidi on Apr 14, 2011 at 2:46 pm

diesel bro. jtDm

• Adrian on Apr 14, 2011 at 8:37 am

What’s the price and fuel consumption of the car?

• farizY on Apr 14, 2011 at 8:51 am

Awesome car, but pity, here, we have to put up with the terrible after sales service, no real support what so ever,low resale value, bloody expensive parts….shame really, Fiat and Alfa make really good cars and with aesthetics to die for as an additional bonus.

• Danny on Apr 14, 2011 at 9:00 am

Never say negative things about an Alfa Romeo in the presence of their fans who call themselves Alfistis or run the risks of being buried alive by a barrage of the most unkind name callings that exist in the English dictionary. But it is acceptable for them the other way round.

With the exception of Ferrari and maybe Maserati, everything else on road is bullock cart with an engine for them. Luckily for us mere ordinary ‘Joe’ the car owner, this so called Alfistis are just a small but very loud (they usually are aren’t they?)group of motorist as reflected by the sales of their cars globally, even in Italy where the biggest user are the ‘Cabanieri’ or police.

The biggest claim to fame of Alfa Romeo is their history and bragging rights as former employer to Enzo Ferrari, founder of cars bearing his name. To me, they made some of the most beautiful and emotive cars on earth before Fiat took them into their stables. To appease shareholders, Ferrari is positioned as a premium product while the potential of Alfa Romeo is being severely stifled.

For it to really go back to it’s former glory, Alfa Romeo must get out of the clutches of Fiat and make cars that rivals Ferrari as it has always been, 70 years ago.

• Fifteen on Apr 14, 2011 at 9:02 am

Has Proton been selling more cars than Alfa worldwide lately? Hmm…

• This is one helluva beautiful Italian. But a model is coming to an end when they start dressing her up… I’m guessing the all new 160 in ready to come out soon?

• This is one helluva beautiful Italian. But a model is coming to an end when they start dressing her up… I’m guessing the all new 160 in ready to come out soon? or whatever they’re gonna call it lah..

• blackbox on Apr 14, 2011 at 7:35 pm

Alfa start with 16X is another segment. Next one should me Milano if not mistaken.

• kokopai on Apr 14, 2011 at 9:12 am

Wow… 200K++ car with manual transmission. I like!!!!

• Romero on Apr 14, 2011 at 10:25 am

Cut price Maserati for Italian car fans. Looks fantastic from every angle and nice retro touch inside too. Too bad about its pricing here. Would like to own one of these beauties if the price is right.

• vw_fan on Apr 14, 2011 at 10:55 am

The quality is very much improved in this model but the selespeed is still a big let down in terms of performance. Alfa should be launching their own version of double clutch system which will make their cars very appealing. The Alfa cabin is a very nice place to be in.

German cars have great reputation for quality but doesnt mean they dont break down. And you think that a Lambo or a Porche doesnt break down? Its all part of the ownership experience and owners accept them as is and they dont bitch about it. If you are bitching about it probably the car is not for you and worst you have never owned the car and are commenting based on hearsay.

In the end just buy whatever makes you happy whether its a Ferrari or a MYVI. And dont criticise other people for making their own choice with their own money.

• Apollo on Apr 14, 2011 at 11:04 am

The mechanics don’t call an Alfa “a fa loh meng” (Alfa – Take Life, meaning very difficult to maintain) for no reason.

• lchan on Apr 14, 2011 at 11:20 am

1750TBI…where the hell are you???

• Jonathan Lim on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Sexy interior as usual, LOVE at first sight!

• Fifteen on Apr 14, 2011 at 9:34 pm

Agreeing much with Danny. A well analyzed argument. Bravo!

• really2 luv it..one of my feveret since shcoolboy(it was 156 then)..yup,stll looking at 156 as sexy n goegeous car..hehe..but 159?damn..one sexy rides..luv the design int and ext plus the sound of n engine…stll remember the how the twinspark sound..keep on driving my satria till got money to buy an alfa..even 147 will be great~