Puspakom inspection for used cars to be expanded – from June 1, roadworthiness condition check to be compulsory

Puspakom inspection for used cars to be expanded – from June 1, roadworthiness condition check to be compulsoryBeginning June 1, all second-hand, refurbished and modified vehicles will be required to undergo a more detailed inspection by Puspakom before they are allowed to be sold.

This is what Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said yesterday during a MoU signing between Puspakom – which is a unit of DRB-HICOM – and the government to undertake hire purchase inspection services for vehicles, following the implementation of the newly-amended Hire Purchase (Amendment 2010) Act 1967 approved by Parliament recently to safeguard the interests of all parties.

“Under the amendment, all used vehicles should go through several phases of inspection to ensure they are roadworthy,” he said. The agreement will see Puspakom and the Ministry of Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism working together towards undertaking the inspection services.

He added that the new requirement will also provide financial and insurance institutions with safeguards, and used car dealers would also benefit from the new regulation because it would make consumers more confident of the cars being sold, a report in The Star states.

From what we understand so far, this is an extension of the usual B5 inspection in place now, and the B7 inspection will involve a more comprehensive 18-point check to establish the roadworthy condition of the vehicle, making it simple for the prospective buyer to ascertain the condition of the vehicle he’s buying.

The current four-point check is to confirm the identity of the car, and is already mandatory for all used vehicles. New vehicles also undergo a Puspakom check before they are able to be registered.

The B7 inspection will cost RM90, and the charge will be borne by the seller. No mention of the inspection certification’s validity timeframe, but that shouldn’t vary from the month in place now.

The question will now be how much added time this will all entail and add to the selling and buying process – it will certainly take a fair amount of time to accomplish an 18-point check, and one wonders how many cars can be inspected as such in a day. The report adds that Puspakom has spent RM20mil to upgrade its inspection centres in preparation for the new regulation, so let’s hope that the process will be efficient and speedy at best. What are your thoughts on the matter?

Update: Aside from the pricing (see above), the 18-point checklist in the B7 inspection consists of the items listed below. For safety related items, the result will be either be a Pass or Fail; other items on the list will be rated either satisfactory or not, with a short assessment statement.

1. Glass area
2. Condition of the body
3. Wheelhouse
4. Pillars
5. Cut and joint
6. Floor
7. Type of fuel
8. Chassis frame
9. Tyres
10. Engine mounting
11. Air-condition system
12. Odometer reading
13. CNG system for NGV
14. Side-slip test (to check the alignment of two front tyres)
15. Emission
16. Suspension
17. Brake system
18. Under carriage inspection that consists cut and joint, floor, chassis frame, engine mounting, exhaust system including muffler and gearbox (visual inspection for leakages etc).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Gavin on Apr 14, 2011 at 1:49 pm

This is the nail in the coffin on the impending ban on import of second hand parts. I think they are moving towards having a roadworthiness test like MOT in the UK eventually

• puspakom is rubbish…..even proton wira 4WD 4G63T can be approved if u got the money……puik!!!!!!!

• autojohndoe on Apr 14, 2011 at 7:30 pm

how do you know?

your statement is like you are doing it…

• shawal on Apr 14, 2011 at 10:17 pm

isnt an 4WD wira better than the standard FWD? they recognizes Malaysian ingenuity

• K3VET on Apr 15, 2011 at 8:08 am

Yes..4WD better than FWD..but stock car is FWD, then cannot modify it to RWD or 4WD..but puspakom can with some ……………………………………

• omega watch on Apr 14, 2011 at 2:20 pm

seem harder 2 sell our car rite?

• civicEK on Apr 14, 2011 at 2:29 pm

hahahaha luckily i just sold my problematic EK last month~ :D

• Husain abdul on Apr 17, 2011 at 7:31 pm

Problematic EK? This is wht the government trying to do. Prevent ppl like u taking advantage of an innocent buyer

• useless Puspakom getting easy money from rakyat.

• Husain abdul on Apr 17, 2011 at 7:34 pm

Puspakom giving u service so u dont get cheated when u buy secnd hand car. Is tht easy money? It is never easy to earn money bro.

• ok computer on Apr 14, 2011 at 2:34 pm

They want to make money out of it only.

• maaajeeedaaa on Apr 14, 2011 at 2:37 pm

It’s all about the MONEY MONEY MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AFTER THIS, EVEN IF WE WANT TO SELL OUR CAR TO FRIENDS ALSO NEED PUSPAKOM CHECK UP….perrrrggghhh…boleh buat duit la lagi our gomen…..

• Tu Lan Proton on Apr 14, 2011 at 2:38 pm

Hurray !!! Another way for Puspakom and its inspectors to make even more money.

• wira 4WD on Apr 14, 2011 at 2:43 pm

yup!! in mudah.my.. a wira selling at 45k ++….and it is 4G63T + 4WD…
    if 4G63T maybe can let you go, but changing 2WD to 4WD is impossible in Puspakom rules….but human make the rules, then human can change to rules too…..i like this puspakom..next time if i have a wira, i will put 4B11T + 4WD

• littlefire on Apr 15, 2011 at 9:23 am

http://www.mudah.my/Wira+4wd+evo3-9278312.htm

enjin evo3,endorse 2000..4wd.body part evo 3..seat depan belakang evo 3..cermin wiper..

RM25000…

• haha, what issit about rules they say? Rules are to be broken? :’D

• armandd on Apr 14, 2011 at 2:43 pm

the inspection fee surely will be raised, no doubt..

• Kelvin on Apr 14, 2011 at 2:50 pm

I fear the monopoly that Puspakom has. The government should allow another regulated body to allow inspections, such as what TÜV and Dekra has in Germany.

• Asap Hitam on Apr 14, 2011 at 3:05 pm

If we opened the inspection industry, it will be on cut-price deal or who will approve without much problem or less strict. So the problem wont be solved but only milking ppl’s money…

• I disagree. Opening up the inspection industry will make it more competitive in pricing and service, but not necessary become less strict.
        Look at industrial private test labs – for steel or other materials. It is flourishing because of the healthy competition, and if they want to maintain their reputation in the industry, they will have to provide good quality and strict service, so that everybody will look for them for peace of mind when buying used car.

• sick&tired on Apr 15, 2011 at 4:34 am

you must be a puspakom employee!

• Ordinary Joe on Apr 14, 2011 at 2:56 pm

Unlike the MOT system in the UK which can be done at literally thousands and thousands of independent garages natiowide, ours is limited to how many inspection centre? So, it will probaly take more time to undergo such inspection, making the buying and selling process more teadious.

Another thing is, the UK MOT is not tide-down to the buying and selling process of cars in the UK. Buying a 2nd hand car in the UK is soooo easy. Like the car, pay cheap money, seller signs-off the registration card, drive back home…. then mail the signed off registration card part to DVLA with your details, wait for DVLA to mail you the new registration card. Hassle free, no need to go inpsection or even the DVLA office.

• biggie on Apr 14, 2011 at 4:54 pm

there are no safeguard in the UK if you buy kereta potong or stolen cars as the responsibility to do these will be by the buyers.

Unlike elsewhere ppl here love to make quick money, so a system like the UK will definitely be abused.

Even the one who is abusing the MOT system is Malaysian

• Ordinary Joe on Apr 15, 2011 at 9:41 am

No safeguards per say… but they make it super easy to get all needed info about a car i.e. thru the HPI check. All you need is the nombor plates to get a report which will tell you all you need to know. Whether its an insurance write-off, if theres outstanding finance, whether its stolen, etc.

I’m not suggesting that we immediately implement an MOT here in Malaysia. But rather an alternative to explore. If we wanted to do so, laws need to be changed, for example, appointed workshop will be legally responsible for any discrepencies, etc…

• Asap Hitam on Apr 14, 2011 at 3:01 pm

If they are so thorough, we shouldn’t seeing a lot of black smoked lorry, bussess and van which goes thorough Puspakom checks every six month running on the road. It is so easy to get certification approved with money…

• Husain abdul on Apr 17, 2011 at 7:40 pm

It is easy to accuse. Hv u paid money to get it passed? If u do, u’re no better than the guy in puspakom tht took the money. Its ppl like u tht makes guys in puspakom to be corrupt. So, check urself before making accusations.

• another konco i would say…otherwise we all the bad impression and comment by citizen on puspakom service, how can the government grant more inspection to PUSPAKOM which is the sole monopoly company….they should open 2nd or even approve more other company to compete in order to provide excellent service….then i am sure the rakyat are more willing to send their car for inspection

• puspakom (the maker of famous hologram car sticker company)

• ong chin aun on Apr 14, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Will definitely cost both buyers and sellers more frustrated ! Cost more money, Time and trouble and may lead to abuse of privileges . Consequently, the monopoly trade untong . Talk of safety, there are many factors . accidents happened not because
    mainly because of car age, old cars. but mostly of human errors and altitudes. Also , many accidents involved are NOT OLD CARS but rather new vehicles( less than 3 yr.)
    In fact, Drivers must have basic knowledges of the car, handling skills plus good altitude on road users. Driver must know the condition of his/her vehicle, plus maintenance.

• wow…That guy (the owner of drb hicom) is sure making looaddss of money

• rickyll on Apr 14, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Well, here Puspakom goes again. It does not need the knowledge of rocket science to understand the motive of Puspakom. All they want are ways to get more money out of the rakyat , only moron would believe that Puspakom really cares for the safety of the people.

• moha774 on Apr 14, 2011 at 4:40 pm

…Good for prospected buyer and Puspakom, but not so good future for seller who is hoping to sell lemon cars to unsuspected buyer…

• tiadaid on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:22 pm

The lemon seller deserves it. Cheating other people of money.

• Angra on Apr 15, 2011 at 3:25 pm

Why ‘lemon’ is associated with faulty 2nd hand cars? Isn’t lemon a good fruit which we humans used not only as food, but in other necessary stuffs like detergents etc?

We should use other description like ‘shit cars’ or ‘garbage cars’ or ‘tempurung cars’, or whatever else that fits. Respect nature’s gift to humans!

Btw, I agree for more stringent checkings on 2nd hand cars, but I think the gvmt must hold a dialogue first with implicated parties b4 making any implementation. Unilateral and monopolous decision like this disregards people’s opinion on matters that directly affects them.

Just my 2 cents.

• Andrew Lee on Apr 17, 2011 at 5:46 pm

“Btw, I agree for more stringent checkings on 2nd hand cars, but I think the gvmt must hold a dialogue first with implicated parties b4 making any implementation. Unilateral and monopolous decision like this disregards people’s opinion on matters that directly affects them. ”

I am not sure if you are Malaysian, but you are, then you may want to recheck your naiveté. Please give me an example of the govt. holding a dialogue with all implicated parties before making an implementation.

• Angra on May 07, 2011 at 3:05 pm

Wah, so easy to call other people naive ah? Sooo ‘kind’ one. Bloody fool.

Have you not read this article: http://paultan.org/2011/04/25/miros-wants-your-opinion-public-consultation-on-e-bikes/ ?? And Najib’s similar call: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/4/7/nation/3646376&sec=nation

You are Idiot. Shallow. Judgemental. Your guess about me is also BLOODY WRONG. I’m a MALAYSIAN CIVIL SERVANT, hence the idea. I also never insinuate in my previous comment that government ever DID a sincere and effective dialogue with public in any matter at all. It’s just a suggestion, not a statement of fact.

Try to be more discerning next time, b4 posting any stupid comment. You dodo.

• Angra on Apr 15, 2011 at 3:28 pm

Oh, by the way, a bodoh sombong gvmnt which refuse public’s feedback is an ‘otak tempurung’ gvmnt!

• Kumar san on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:15 pm

This is yet another mechanism created by Puspakom to whack even more cash from the rakyat who are unsuspecting.Grade A morons of the highest order known.

The know jack about car safety,this is why “inspected and certified” cars/buses/trucks and what not keep on getting into accidents due to a total and blatant disregard for actual vehicle safety.

The dude controlling this coup is going to get more richer.Simple as that.There are better off not to exist in the first place.Like they are doing us any favours.Half of the clowns working there have nigh of an idea how the mechanics of a vehicle works,let alone know what’s wrong with it at an “inspection”

The mechanics of whacking our hard earned money for doing jack is very well understood.Enough said.Cheers.

• messi on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:19 pm

Well, They will suck more blood from the Rakyat to enrich other.

I dont think the puspaskon verification is needed for buying a good quality used car.

All we need is largely depend on the buyer to request for a inspective certificate from the Dealer/seller if he feel that the car need to be inspected by an independent party to safequard his purchase and the fees to be paid by him.otherwise, why need to spend extra fee for the useless party to remove the front tinted film which they are good at.

As example : if buyer feel that the car is in good condition then why need to pay extra for inspection? Risk is on his side to purchase the car without inspection.

Another issue, if additional inspection carry by Puspacon, any guarantee period from them if the defect occur after the inspection?

• good point on messi..
      being once to puspakom inspection for a car owner transfer checking…those moron working attitude is totally unacceptable. Dont talk about the guarantee or waranty…even they will spoil or damage some of your parts….especially they pull off all the rubber seal, really in a hard way and dont even bother whether it is damage or wat. after pull off, just leave as it is….you pay for inspection and some more after their so called checking, you still need to fix back everything that they take off from its original place…really axxhxxx

• Marcusy on Apr 15, 2011 at 1:17 am

I agree with you, when I bought my harrier from my brother, after sending the car to puspakom for inspection, the inspector really pull of all the rubber seal & carpet to check the car whether “kena potong” before or not, & the best thing is that they will not fix it back the rubble seal and then ask you to quickly drive your car out of their garage because a lot of people are waiting behind, I even cannot closed my door properly when driving my car out from their garage, puspakom really sucks!!!!

• Paul Tan on Apr 15, 2011 at 1:20 am

When I bought my E39, the door rubbers and A-pillar were damaged by them. Later when I bought my E30, the car went in and came out with damaged door rubbers and a broken glovebox. These fellas dengki or what?

• Unforgiven on Apr 15, 2011 at 11:10 am

Are you a classic car collector?

• armandd on Apr 15, 2011 at 2:59 pm

Paul, same thing happened to me. When my wife bought a used Kenari 2 years ago, the interior of the car was in very good condition. All panels, dashboard, everything fits perfectly, no rattle. After Puspakom inspection, many panels got loose, some clips were broken and got rattles inside the dashboard. The side mirror also got some rattling inside. The 2nd hand tauke also ‘geleng kepala’..

• Andrew Lee on Apr 17, 2011 at 5:48 pm

Damn, Paul, this is scary. The compulsory checks start in June, you say? I must hasten the car buying process, then.

Shall DM you some enquiries I have pertaining to buying a bimmer.

• sukasuki on Apr 14, 2011 at 7:21 pm

govt need more money as PRU13 is coming near.hahaha

• autojohndoe on Apr 14, 2011 at 7:38 pm

why la ppl see this at the negative side?

i think it is good practice if it is practised honestly… checking cars for its roadworthiness…

it will reduced the numbers of unsafe ahbeng cars… and make 2nd hand car buyer easy to choose…

• Autojohndoe, u said it yourself, if practiced honestly!implementation is another story as with all the hare brained ideas of the govt. It sure seems like they are squeezing more money from the rakyat. Lately the govt seems to be coming out with more hare brained ideas, radioactive waste processing factory in gebeng, do u think they even care for the rakyat.
      Coz the cars so cheap in UK, I think less cases of joined cars being sold there, it’s only here where prices of cars so damn high people resort to doing all these illegal mods.

• tiadaid on Apr 14, 2011 at 8:02 pm

Everything is a “govt. sucking money out of people” exercise for the lot in Paultan. It’s not like you have to do the Puspakom inspection every month!

• Joker The Great on Apr 14, 2011 at 8:10 pm

its should be a good news for Malaysian as an ASSURANCE to consumers

I think no one want to buy a Kereta Potong too right?

Or else, non of us to like to an accident car which badly hit on the road or somewhere else.

For my personal opinion if ALL INSURANCE company can use ISM to merge the data bank with JPJ and Financial Institution(bank) for the overall condition which allowed consumers to access the basic of vehicle information will be the best…..

• i agree with you about practicing with integrity. it’s difficult to find integrity because puspakom does this to fit a “process” requirement – msia need a body to ensure cars being sold are not halfcut or stolen and puspakom is the answer.

msians generally do not care about what puspakom has to say about the ‘used’ car they are buying because the inspection is at the last stage of purchasing a car. puspakom inspection report are rarely given to used car buyers and buyers usually engage their own mechanic to check the roadworthiness and the condition of the car.

all i’m saying is.. IF we can trust puspakom to do their job with integrity, why do we accept the fact that they are only inspecting the car after buyer make deposit/booking? I don’t think having puspakom inspecting more parts is going to change the problem we have today.. we will still not trust and decide to buy a car or not because of puspakom inspection report. we choose to buy because the car is in a condition we can accept.

• areoulz on Apr 14, 2011 at 8:30 pm

PUSPAKOM.. Where’s people suddenly become polite and and strangely become clumsy dropping their money everywhere in the car..

• greasemonkey on Apr 14, 2011 at 8:32 pm

why not let the manufacturer or their service dept conduct the inspection? nobody knows and understand their cars ,as they are the producer. Then the inspection wont be bias.

• oleoresin on Apr 14, 2011 at 8:58 pm

Dulu kereta atas 20 thn diwajibkan pemeriksaan puspakom every year sebelum renew roadtax. Ditambah pulak dengan syarikat insuran nak ketuk wajib beli pelbagai premium utk 3rd party. Skrg nak jual pun kena puspakom? Ni yang kadang2 aku maleh sokong kerajaan.

• say good bye to those selling lemon car…cheats buyer all the time…”this car got no prob la boss” ” got puspakom or not?” ” …” “bye”

• nadzri m yusof on Apr 14, 2011 at 10:05 pm

The answer to feed crony. Puspakom rubish not enough man power, facilities not ready and yet push govt to implement compulsory inspections.

Jom Ubah and Ubah Sekarang.

• Ananda on Apr 14, 2011 at 10:34 pm

Freaking cheating money government to earn another rm90 for this inspection. You think all this check can deter dealers from selling lemon? duit kopi & dealers connection can kao tim everything. these checks only burden sincere sellers selling the car themselves.

• wall-e on Apr 14, 2011 at 10:44 pm

too much hassle la..
    it’ll end up the seller got really fed-up and never sell them cars
    want to sell – go puspakom
    future buyer – still need to go puspakom..
    really crazy la this govt..

• transformer on Apr 14, 2011 at 11:13 pm

monopoly again…..??

if i’m not mistaken, few years ago a health check at certain clinic cost Rm80 due to monopoly but after many complaints, reduced to Rm20…. and opens to all clinic…..

to sums thing up, as usual just another way to suck more $ from rakyat…. to continue feed on your kids, grandchild…. neverends……. from TNB, Water Companies, IndahWater, LHDN, Cukai Harta, Cukai Tanah, TM and etc…. funds collected channelled to certain party to funds its elections parties and in cronies pocket…. Its 53years country already…

• aminlife on Apr 14, 2011 at 11:50 pm

wasting time… make it clearer. Give car owner rebate or what ever term alike.

10 or more than 15 years old car get min 5 to 10k rebate. :)), then we can see such as new car on malaysian road. sure menang PRU :))

• Simon Templer@ Seman Tempe on Apr 14, 2011 at 11:52 pm

What are actually the issues raised by all these half-baked critics ? Always bantai , bashing with no positive and intelligent thinking Is it the credibility of PuspaKom that is at issue here ? ; or the significance and usefulness of the inspection ? Why not we suggest a special Royal Commission to do the inspection , and that it should be done on ground floor so as to ensure no seller or used car dealer would jump down through the window once they found out that the car to be transacted is actually a potong between a Aston Martin front and a rear Wira , In Segambut you can manufacture anything lol

• sick&tired on Apr 15, 2011 at 4:32 am

This is really messed up! there are only two puspakom inspection facility for the whole of penang island. it already takes about 2 hours to inspect a car, and with the new regulation, it will take even longer!!!!!!

• Change government!!!!

• littlefire on Apr 15, 2011 at 9:39 am

I think should not give just to puspakom only… we need at least 2 or 3 inspection center just like SG, so in the end we the road users are the 1 which really benefitted it…

• GreenFuel on Apr 15, 2011 at 12:06 pm

Is a good move to protect the future buyer, but a bad move to let Puspakom to monopoly it.

• armandd on Apr 15, 2011 at 3:02 pm

I hope Puspakom will be the next MACC target!

• Izhar on Apr 17, 2011 at 11:18 am

PUSPAKOM mengarut..tinted cermin tepi sangkut, tapi tinted cermin belakang lepas, padahal tinted film sama jenis…pastu wat cahaya lepas 45% then cakap kalau 48% kira boleh lepas …saje je wat dekat2..nak mintak rasuah lah tuh….wal hal masa check xguna light transmitter…duk bawah bumbung..mmglah cahaya x cukup nak transfer ke receiver…

• Larry on May 13, 2011 at 9:04 pm

I suggest Puspakom give free inspection of vehicle. After all JPJ already charged RM100 for transfer of ownership. This 2 regulators can share the RM100.

• takpuashati on May 22, 2011 at 4:31 pm

trouble 100x… Just imagine u pay rm90 for inspection and then fail because aircond not so cold. Then fixed aircond cost rmxxx and then pay rm90 some more for inspection. Fail again because tyres getting bald. Then change tyre for rmxxx and then pay rm90 again…until the seller fed up and dont want to bare any cost again…lastly car cannot sell

• 123456 on Jul 17, 2011 at 10:38 am

What I do know. Inspection will not fail if the inspection item B5 (cut and join, chassis problems, etc.) does not fail. The HPI inspection just note/remarks that the problem is located. Buyers know the true state of the car and do not be fooled. This is very good for buyers. If the car is a problem, please fix what needs to be before send to Puspakom and not make excuses.

• puspakom bukan goverment la.. syarikat swasta, anak syarikat drb-hicom