Black Volkswagen Jetta TSI spotted in Hartamas

The Black Jetta has been spotted again, this time on the go with a white Volkswagen Polo hatchback accompanying it. These photos were snapped by reader Ian Chew in Hartamas.

Notice the “TSI” badging on the rear of the Jetta, which means this particular black Jetta has one of Volkswagen’s downsized turbocharged engines in the engine bay. The Polo Sedan that we saw previously did not have TSI badging, but instead featured the “1.6” badge.

We can take these as rough indications as to what engines these new yet to be launched Volkswagens will be available with, but we cannot be 100% sure. These may just be CBU models being tested, while we’re supposed to get CKD versions.

But in any case, all three Volkswagen sedans that are supposed to be CKD assembled in Malaysia have already been sighted being driven around on our roads with trade plates, that could be a good sign of them being available soon. If you notice, the rear window of the Jetta has the number “3” on it – this could indicate that it has been used sometime in the past for some kind of event involving a convoy – perhaps dealer/sales training or something.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jalan54 on Apr 18, 2011 at 4:53 pm

It’ll be a good news if they are using TSI and dsg.

• how much is the price?

• mmmmmmm on Apr 18, 2011 at 5:21 pm

i asked the VW sales people…they told me the price is estimated around ‘high to over’ price…..

• I heard that Jetta will be priced around RM120K, while Polo will be around RM80K. I heard the Passat will be a 1.8 engine. Golf will remain CBU apparently. Also if noticed the current Passat CC price has gone up by RM20K and Golf GTI to go up by RM10K soon. This is due to the fact that Govt reviewed their price and increased tax; to increase their coffer which suffer loss as Japanese car production reduced/halted due to the recent tsunami.

• TFazuin on Apr 19, 2011 at 3:37 am

That doesnt make sense, in the UK, GTI and Sicrocco is priced with a GBP 1,000 gap. How do you price it 40-50K above the GTI? The prices are based on docket price declared by the manufacturer. Its just a way to ensure that the product retains its exclusivity rather than any fault of the goverment.

• alldisc on Apr 19, 2011 at 8:26 am

in 2010, golf GTI reach our shores at RM49,000 only. While the 1.4 TSI was around 42-45K. a friend at VW told me as he has direct access to customs docs for registration/puspakom purposes.

The rest is all taxes and duties.

• Unforgiven on Apr 19, 2011 at 10:23 am

If you ever buy imported car and if you have the AP on hand, then you’ll know the actual price very well…

• arcadian on Apr 19, 2011 at 10:53 am

this sort of documents salesman have access to it,in the inspection report by Puspakom,the AP will be attached as well,in the these documents one can see what is the exact price w/o tax

• Seriously on Apr 19, 2011 at 2:12 pm

Not surprised.

• speedywinger on Apr 18, 2011 at 5:08 pm

looks good tho

• bourne on Apr 18, 2011 at 5:12 pm

despite the boring front look, the rear look quite nice. got audi resembles there

• Tak suka B.N. on Apr 18, 2011 at 5:24 pm

Sorry, Guy, i am inside the car and road testing this black jetta and unfortunately get spotted by somebody tail…….Anyway, about the price of some ppl here might ask, i can only comment that if you are budget for Accord or Camry, then u might consider this if you are VW fans!!Reasonable pricing with lowest bank interest.

• Tak Suka P.R. on Apr 18, 2011 at 5:38 pm

U are inside the car but u dont know that this car compete with civic and altis instead of accord and camry

• mini cooper freak on Apr 18, 2011 at 6:12 pm

This car does not compete with Civic and Altis! Please, do remember that we’re talking about Volkswagen here. You are like comparing Ford Fiesta with an Audi A1. Are you living in another world, sir? Sorry, but no offence!

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Apr 18, 2011 at 6:32 pm

This Jetta is actually the rival for Civic and Altis,while Passat is probably in the same segment as Accord and Camry.

• bourne on Apr 18, 2011 at 7:04 pm

whats wrong with my comparison? do u know that vw is equivalent to toyota while they compete in premium segment with their own audi and lexus? vw focus on affordable car like toyota while audi focus on premium car like lexus.

• tak suka tak suka P.R on Apr 18, 2011 at 7:43 pm

hey pls la..he is comparing the budget of camry and accord! he did not comparing the segment! yes jetta is in the same segment as civic and altis but he is telling u if ur budget is around camry and accord!

• VW Rulz! on Apr 19, 2011 at 10:02 am

Yup, that is the idea. The compact segment priced at the full sized segment. I would pay a 30% premium as long as VW don’t skimp on the car too.

• Motorhead on Apr 18, 2011 at 5:58 pm

Accord and Camry price….Man thats means rm150k? how bout the passat CKD?
      Still a good price though…but being typical malaysia i prefer cheaper cars….

Mr. tak suka BN, u sure u work for VW?

Anyway, saw a kizashi in federal highway….any news Paul?

• Unforgiven on Apr 18, 2011 at 5:36 pm

Polo has a number ‘1’, Passat ‘2’? since Jetta ‘3’…

• tarmiziali on Apr 18, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Indipendant rear suspension?

• BeemerFreak on Apr 18, 2011 at 5:50 pm

This model uses the 122bhp with 200NM tsi engine. notice the silver colour for the word TS and red for i… the 160bhp 24Nm tsi has a red colour notation for the s and i. Try to look out for it on the golf tsi, u will know the difference

• BeemerFreak on Apr 18, 2011 at 5:56 pm

Notice a gold coloured passat ahead of the jetta in the second picture

• Ini susah lah on Apr 18, 2011 at 6:46 pm

The rear design not bad, got a bit look like Audi A4….Pricing pls for Jetta and Polo Sedan. Dont just show off the car on the road pls.

• teelim on Apr 18, 2011 at 7:02 pm

wish they would bring in the Jetta GLi

• how about TDI?

• Speed Racer on Apr 18, 2011 at 7:45 pm

seriously looks very good. better than golf. like a mini lexus is250

• I love this car but i hope it’s not so expensive!

• Bolehland on Apr 18, 2011 at 8:31 pm

Finally found car for replacement, hope the Jetta price not over then rm150k.

• sonyman on Apr 18, 2011 at 9:08 pm

if not over 150k and comes with TSI and DSG it be ok, but this will kill Golf TSI sales? Who would buy a Golf TSI?

so lets all hope, and hope and it will come true

• Seriously on Apr 19, 2011 at 2:24 pm

I doubt that it’ll come with DSG.

• Anti-Polo on Apr 20, 2011 at 9:41 pm

Not killing Golf. The Jetta has been separated from Golf to spawning more models and being stand alone model.

• slyguy on Apr 18, 2011 at 9:04 pm

I might consider this Jetta if the price bracket is in Camry/ Accord range. A good German/ Continental car which will last long. If only they would bring in the TDI instead. Now that would be really good. So VW people any chance for Malaysians to sample the Jetta TDI?

• TFazuin on Apr 19, 2011 at 3:50 am

That wouldn’t make sense. If Pug can have the same price range as Civic, why would this be priced out of range? Anyway the whole objective is to build a brand rather than just pockets of cult following.

I like VW, and I know VGM will make the right pricing strategy. Anyway the new Suzuki Kizashi being a C/D segnment with 2.4L is target to be priced at RM130K, this car’s engine outperforms Accord 2.4 and has better driving dynamics than a Mazda 6, according to the US market survey anyway.

So VGM needs to read the competition correctly or see themselves outflanked. Parts would still be expensive, even when Pug’s are CKDed they are a little higher and you should expect the same of VW.

Look at it this way, VGM has been around a while, parts prices for Audi didn’t fall though most are interchangable. You should expect the same as parts are bread and butter of the car industry. Same like buying printers, you buy cheap but the catridges cost a bit and conti’s dont have that many China/Taiwan grade AAA parts to swap with.

• No way for VW to take substantial number of Civic/Altis cake if they think they’re fully Teutonic brand name like BMW, MB or even their Audi.

To price a C-segment CKD Jetta to the same level of CKD/CBU Thailand Accord/Camry is a too ambitious and not augur well to make VW really folk choice. Remember VGM, fewer car sold mean lower resale value and lower residual make customers shy away of your brand.

• i tot if i buy car from ferrari which sold few number of car the resale value high

• Seriously on Apr 19, 2011 at 2:36 pm

I disagree. I believe they could take away substantial numbers from T&H. VW is technically not in the same category with MB/BMW/Audi in terms of prestige or luxury. Their aim was and has always been for the mass market, (basically like Toyota of Germany) as you can see rooted in their actually brand name Volkswagen (The People’s Car), plus if they wanted to be more prestigious, they have Audi to do that for them, hell… Bentley, Bugatti and Lamborghini too!

• i kinda prefer getting golf tsi for that price tho…smallish sedan kinda fugly in my opinion no offense~

• Rakyat Biasa on Apr 18, 2011 at 9:57 pm

although front look is very simple, i still want this car… in my dream la coz for the time being i can only afford persona.. in case i wanna change my kancil 660..

• Ayecaramba! on Apr 18, 2011 at 10:19 pm

Is it me or does the white polo have extra wordings on its bum? What does it say? Can it be another higher specced Polo? Here’s hoping it is not. After some will regret buying the lower specced one. :( Wouldn’t mind if it is a camouflaged Gti.

• Paul Tan on Apr 18, 2011 at 10:47 pm

It appears to be a Polo 1.6, no idea why lah.

Here’s a zoomed in image:

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=vw-jetta-hartamas&image=polo1point6.jpg

• wagenise on Apr 19, 2011 at 12:56 am

Lagi low spec bro … 1.6 without TSi wor.

• Ayecaramba! on Apr 19, 2011 at 8:28 pm

Bringing in the Indian specced ones? Phew! At least not a higher ranged Polo between the 1.2 tsi and the Gti. Will make owners of current Polos sad. Thanks for the more focused Polo picture, Paul!

• Just want to say about the design. LET’S BRING IN THE KIA FORTE!!! Nah, just kidding. It looks a bit plain. Maybe it’s because of the current Audi’s trend, i dont know. But under the skin, I dare to sat it’s one of the most sophisticated chasis ever made.

• Lim Kopi on Apr 18, 2011 at 11:45 pm

I have been told by an insider that :

VGM is doing some testing on these models , eg engine & mileage …etc before officially bringing it into our shores!

• Seriously on Apr 19, 2011 at 2:43 pm

You dont need an insider to tell you that. And the Jetta, IS coming to Malaysia. That’s for sure.

• yet to afford an audi, hopefully can get a vw. come on, a little bit more-vw.

• sloth on Apr 19, 2011 at 6:53 am

My Jetta (in 2012):

http://www.vwvortex.com/gallery/gallery2.php?mode=album&album=/Volkswagen/Jetta%20-%20Bora%20-%20Vento/Jetta%20VI/Jetta%20VI%20-%20Accessories%20Car#

Pricing wise:
    1) Sedan factor = less RM10k from equivalent Golf
    2) CKD factor = less RM20k from equivalent Golf

As such,
    Jetta 1.4TSI = Rm120k – RM130k
    Jetta 2.0 GLI = RM170k – RM180k

:)

• clutch basah on Apr 19, 2011 at 7:12 am

YAAWWNNN..!! can’t understand all the hype, just another boring car..
    if you are buying this one be prepared for bad pre-sales and after sales, scarce spare parts (although they don’t break easily) and bad resale value.. can’t help it have to mention.. we are malaysian after all..

Cheers! ;)

• Jonathan Lim on Apr 19, 2011 at 8:28 am

Wow, if CKD Polo with both sedan and hatch variant, imagine how will be the current CBU Polo 1.2 TSi residual value…….

• harry on Apr 19, 2011 at 8:51 am

where is fortelover..gone MIA..hahah

• BennyG on Apr 19, 2011 at 2:15 pm

VW Sales persons already informed of specs & pricing. Jetta CBU to be launched in June/July 2011 while CKD next year. I am keeping my money till June/July hoping that their pricing at this moment is accurate!

• gracke on Apr 19, 2011 at 7:28 pm

Wow! Really!! Could you please let me know the spec and price too? I can’t wait anymore to know it.

• Adrian on Apr 19, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Speculations! Speculations!… Semua orang pun tau semua cerita, tapi siapa pun tak tau siapa betul!….

• EB16.4 on Apr 20, 2011 at 1:44 am

people, you should learn from live, current mistakes from VW when it comes to affordable cars. bang for bucks? nope. never gonna happen here in Malaysia.

Polo is being sold at premium 108k here with just the basics; so basic that fog lamps were removed and interior is fitted with blank buttons. what’s the point of paying premium when you’re actually driving a poor man’s car? unless you’re buying price starting from Golf upwards, don’t sell your soul to affordable VWs – they’re not worth it.

• Unforgiven on Apr 20, 2011 at 10:30 am

Looking forward for the launch of this car…

• Zaihan on Sep 26, 2011 at 10:50 pm

Comparison VW vs Honda vs Camry…win to VW..
    I am a big fan for the Honda (previously owned )…but after owned a VW GTi ..the result is better buy VW