Jazeman Jaafar accomplishes two podium finishes in Monza

It was a good day out for Jazeman Jaafar at the opening round of the 2011 Cooper Tires British F3 International Series at Monza, Italy – the Malaysian managed to get to the podium twice, finishing second and third in two of the three races of the round. The result over the weekend puts him in second place overall in the Drivers Championship.

The Petronas-backed 18-year old finished behind Felipe Nasr in the race one, and was placed fifth in the second race before finishing third in the final race. “It’s been an excellent start to the season for me,” Jazeman said. “We had a very strong weekend, and were solid right from the start. Carlin did a great job with the set up work.”

“Of course I want to win and we’re knocking on the door of the top step, but consistent strong points finishes are key, so I have to be patient and I didn’t want to take too many risks and jeopardise this, in only the first event. I had to fight hard, so it was tough out there, but I reaped the rewards,” he added.

The second round of the Cooper Tires British F3 International Series takes place at Oulton Park circuit in the UK next weekend.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• taboogen on Apr 18, 2011 at 11:28 am

wow cool… keep it going dude

• Time to shout MALAYSIA BOLEH to this young chap!!!!!! If this continues, he could secure a seat at GP2 n hopefully a test drive seat for any F1 teams!

• longjaafar on Apr 18, 2011 at 11:57 am

Looks like Fairuz Fauzy’s chances of making it big in F1 is fading fast.

• VoidDance on Apr 18, 2011 at 1:28 pm

Fairuz Fauzy is with Lotus-Renault. I see that Jazeman is being sponsored by Petronas. If he play his card right, he may end up with team Mercedes GP Petronas. So, Fairuz Fauzy still have chance, hopefully.

• racefan on Apr 19, 2011 at 12:04 am

If he plays his cards ‘right’ he would end up with any of the top teams in F1 just like any other F1 hopeful. As for Fairuz Fauzy, his opportunity for a drive in F1 was over years ago. The sooner he (and Mofaz) accept this reality the sooner he can focus on a career as a proper professional driver elsewhere rather than be traded around as a PR commodity and wasting away as a bench warmer. F1 is not the only worthwhile racing series out there.

Btw he is with Lotus Renault GP. ‘Lotus-Renault’ refers to Team Lotus

• lotus-renault and team lotus is two completely different team la brader:)

• racefan on Apr 19, 2011 at 10:28 am

‘Lotus-Renault’ is the official contsructor name listed under FIA for Team Lotus lah ‘brader’. While ‘Renault’ is the official constructor name for Lotus Renault GP. Do you not pay attention to the timing indicators when you watch F1?? Here is a link ‘brader’ http://tinyurl.com/37oe3dj

• racefan on Apr 19, 2011 at 10:32 am

Here’s another link http://www.formula1.com/teams_and_drivers/teams/ and note the ‘constructors standings’ box to the right

• drMpower on Apr 18, 2011 at 12:46 pm

this is good albeit at 18 years old, hes kinda quite late
    but its better than nothing
    and there are people going into f1 at later than ideal age
    never mind now that he got podium finishes
    now i expect him to be regularly finish on podium
    or very near to podium
    next year, he got to be one of the challengers
    and the next 2-3 seasons he must nail this f3 competition altogether
    before going into the biggest thing f1
    yes i know its easy to talk rather than do it
    thats why i am typing on the lappy right now and hes driving on the circuit
    but it is achievable and i know hes up to the mark

if i may, he might be needing some polishing on the PR
    i am not saying hes bad or something
    but all people in F1, i mean real people of F1, not like a certain self appointed team principal who refuse to learn how to be a true team principal
    they know how to deal with PR
    so i think jazeman jaafar knows all the mistakes made before him and hes got to learn on that

• racefan on Apr 18, 2011 at 2:44 pm

Buddy, he is not ‘late’. This is his second season in British F3 and at 18 years of age it is the right age to be in it more or less. Next step for him would be GP2/ Renault World Series. The correct path(progression ladder) has been laid out for Jazeman. He knows what he is doing. the people supporting him for the last several years since he jumped into single seaters also know what they’re doing. All thanks to lessons learnt from Fairuz Fauzy and Alex Yoong.

And really who are you to say you ‘expect’ podium finishes from him from now on? Only he should put those expectations on himself. They way you wrote sounded like you’re his dad or his paying sponsor. For all you know he might change his mind next year and pursue painting! So lets be grateful for this wonderful result and support him in his journey towards F1 regardless.

So take it as it comes and be grateful for such results, not just from him but from any other aspiring racer who do well out there. Don’t worry about his PR training! And please take your prejudice and hatred for Tony Fernandes elsewehere. We don’t need the reminder.

In here last focus our attention on Jazeman Jaafar and how happy we are of him. He is the next Malaysian aimed for F1. Fairuz is 5-6 years too late.

• hack3line on Apr 18, 2011 at 3:05 pm

saya harap tahun depan Jazeman Jaafar masuk LOTUS ART GP in GP2 series sebelum masuk F1 bersama PROTON atau PETRONAS atau AIRASIA.

• trav_da_man on Apr 18, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Extractly agree with u mate. He is now our best hope for a Malaysian F1 driver, n trust me he is the correct candidate. At 16 he won the Formula BMW Paciffic championship which most kids dont have a driver license yet! He has experienced 2 years of tough European and British single seater and now on his second year he did pretty solid for his starting race.

Should he continue to do well, maybe Mercedes Petronas GP will ask him for a test drive. Fairuz is now fading so he is really our best hope and he is doing it correctly. Hopefully before he reaches 20 he will get GP2 seat and maybe before 23 or 25 he will get an F1 seat provided Petronas backs him.

• racefan on Apr 18, 2011 at 5:39 pm

If Jazeman shines he should be tipping his toes into F1 sooner than 23 or 25. He is probably aiming to get a break into F1 around 21. That is likely the ideal target.

His great success in FBMW Pacific several years back is good for his profile in Asia but not a real measure of his abilities against european drivers. Good for domestic PR but he knows the european scene doesn’t value the competition in Asia that much. The best talents are still in Europe and Jazeman is experiencing that reality first hand in his 4 years of racing in Europe. He did 2 years in FBMW Europe after Asia and found it tough and now he is in his 2nd year in Brit F3. He is with a good team Carlin, and the other Carlin drivers are strong so he has to make it happen. He has a good team so its up to him to deliver. If he can consistently be competitive, he will get noticed.

As for which team he should drive for in F1, the aim should be for RedBull, Ferrari, McLaren or Renault simply because they are the top 3 teams.

• he did manage to get podium in 2009 formula bmw europe and 2010 british f3

• u r wrong dude….he was champion of formula bmw asia pasific when he is 14. FIA give him special examption to race in international race due to his age that time n plus his talent…he already 3-4yrs in europe…and his current team Carlin is british one of most successful team

• Garfield on Apr 18, 2011 at 12:49 pm

Congratulation Jazeman! Wish u all the best and may u make the step up as soon as possible…..

• Alan Wong on Apr 18, 2011 at 12:52 pm

We are very proud when a Malaysian makes it up there in sports… Malaysia Boleh!!

• Keep up the good work dude!

• Gorgeous and good looking lads…. Jazeman, Fairuz Fauzi & Alex Yoong.. Malaysians should be proud! :P

• Honda Lover on Apr 18, 2011 at 1:24 pm

Go ahead and make us malaysians proud!!

• awg1301 on Apr 18, 2011 at 4:29 pm

this guy is getting better..hopefully he will enter F1 oneday..

• anti-first on Apr 18, 2011 at 5:39 pm

forget yoong or fairuz, both are has-beens and sadly, just pretty boys for the benefit of sponsors.

when i read Jazeman’s post-race comments, i’m rooting for him to be our next, REAL, Malaysian driver.

the only way this lad is going is up if he stays consistent and works his way on being a talented and respected driver.

go Jazeman!

• seriusSAM on Apr 18, 2011 at 5:42 pm

I just hope when times come for this boy to enter F1; he’ll enter F1 because of his pure talent and not the sponsors behind him and then F1 team will dump him in 3rd driver seat or even worst just run PR errand like Fairuz fauzy did nowadays