Volkswagen Beetle – new generation bug makes debut

Thirteen years since the New Beetle arrived on the scene, and more than a million examples on, the new to replace the New is finally here – The Beetle, as the new one is simply called, made its global debut today, and quite literally at that.

The latest generation bug was unveiled earlier in Shanghai, Berlin and New York, embedded in MTV World Stage Concerts, with the official introduction at the Shanghai Port International Cruise Terminal – on the eve of the Shanghai Motor Show – kicking off things.

Breaking free of the geometry of the previous model and displaying a sportier appeal, the new Beetle (not New, but new) features, among other design changes, an extended bonnet, sharply swept-back windscreen and a longer wheelbase. The interior has been worked on considerably, and now offers a driver-oriented coupé experience as well as a distinctly improved feeling of space, aided by a longer roof section.

Working on a “design a new original” objective, the design team, led by Walter De Silva, VW’s design chief (from Group) and Klaus Bischoff (from Brand), have come up with a Beetle that’s bolder, more dynamic and more masculine than the old car.

Indeed, nothing remains as it was on the 1998 car. The Beetle not only has a lower profile, it’s also substantially wider and features a longer front bonnet, while the front windscreen is shifted further back and has a much steeper incline. While the New Beetle was defined by three semi-circles (front wing, rear wing, domed roof above it), the new model has broken free of this geometry – the roof profile actually runs distinctly lower and can be considered a continuation of the Ragster concept car, which was shown in Detroit in 2005.

The new bug is 1,808 mm wide, 1,486 mm tall and 4,278 mm long, which makes it 84 mm wider, 12 mm lower and 152 mm longer than the New Beetle. The new car’s track widths and wheelbase have also been increased. The gain in length means that the roof is now extended further and the front windscreen shifted back, with the rear section following the contour of the original Beetle, the new focal point now being the C-pillar.

Here’s something for the anorak: If you take the original Beetle and the new Beetle and place them in a room together, shining light just over the roofs and viewing them from the side, you’ll see that the lines of the rear sections are nearly identical.

Traditional design characteristics remain, including the round headlights (optional bi-xenon headlights with LED daytime running lights are available for the first time in this model series), the flared wings as well as the shape of the bonnets, sides and door sills.

There’s a new rear spoiler that is homogeneously integrated in the design, available as standard on some variants. Incidentally, the top surface of the rear spoiler is always black, while its underside is painted in the body colour, which are available in 12 different hues. Sizeably, the new bug can accomodate wheels up to 19-inches, good news for those who like their round bits large.

Inside, The Beetle’s cockpit has been reworked, with everything pretty much redesigned, with key items within reach and sight. Classicists will love some of the cues in here. Similar to the original Beetle, the new car has an extra glovebox integrated in the front fascia, whose lid folds upward (the standard glovebox that is also integrated opens downward). Another classic feature is the optional auxiliary instrument grouping above the selected audio/navigation system, which display oil temperature, clock with stopwatch function and boost pressure gauge.

Improvements abound too in terms of boot space, with 310 litres compared to the 209 litres on the older car. As usual, the car has a split, folding rear seatback and a wide opening bootlid, making for easier loading and unloading of cargo.

Engine-wise, the US will get petrol engines in 170 PS and 200 PS output form, as well as a 140 PS 2.0 TDI turbodiesel lump, the first time that one is available there. Partnering gearbox configurations for the diesel variant are a six-speed manual or a six-speed DSG, while choices for the petrol versions are a six-speed manual or a six-speed auto, with the larger output TSI available with DSG as an option.

Meanwhile, the rest of the world gets 105 PS, 140 PS, 160 PS and 200 PS mills. In markets such as Asia, Australia, Europe and New Zealand, the new Beetle will be offered exclusively with charged four-cylinder engines, in TSI or TDI guise.

The three charged TSI petrol engines are the 105 PS 1.2 TSI (with BlueMotion Technology, and including Stop/Start system and battery regeneration), 160 PS 1.4 TSI and 200 PS 2.0 TSI, while the two diesel engines are the 105 PS 1.6 TDI and 140 PS 2.0 TDI jobs (incidentally, the TDI engines are not going to be offered in China). All five engines get DSG transmission as a drivetrain option.

The 160 PS (European version) and 200 PS (worldwide) petrol-engine variants come with a factory-installed XDS electronic differential lock as standard. XDS – which extends the familiar EDS functionality – improves handling in fast curve driving and calibrates the car toward more “neutral” steering; it does this by using active brake intervention to prevent wheelspin of the unloaded wheel on the inside of the curve, and this improves traction. Elsewhere, electronic stabilisation programme comes as standard, as is a network of six airbags.

Three equipment lines will be available for the car, these being tagged Beetle, Design and Sport, each with their own unique character. Among the key features in the equipment lines are the aforementioned bi-xenon headlights and LED daytime running lights; 15 LEDs frame the xenon module on the outer perimeters of the headlights, and implement the daytime running lights and parking lights.

Elsewhere in the mix are a transparent panoramic tilt/slide glass sunroof, Keyless Access, radio-navigation systems, even an optional Premium sound system by Fender, replete with an additional woofer and 400 watts of output power; bagging the system gets you adjustable interior ambience lighting as well, and this includes two light rings around the loudspeaker boxes in the doors.

The Beetle will be launched in the US first, around September/October this year, followed by Europe sometime in October/November. Then Asia gets its turn in February 2012, followed by South America in late 2012 or early 2013. You’ll find the photo gallery of The Beetle after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2187]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I always wondered “how much more can you change the Beetle’s looks?”

But damn, VW has done it!

That is one hot bug!

• You said it mate. Improving the ‘new’ beetle is one heck of a task but they did it.

Very nice.

• Mpower on Apr 18, 2011 at 11:01 pm

Now this looks like the beetle like how it was, those were the days…awesome!!!

• vw_fan on Apr 18, 2011 at 11:04 pm

Looks like a solid car but where’s the flower vase?

• mini cooper freak on Apr 18, 2011 at 11:09 pm

OMG….. This is one beautiful machine! Argh!

Regards.

• cool car!

• vansgoh on Apr 18, 2011 at 11:13 pm

cute and sporty

• puipui on Apr 18, 2011 at 11:13 pm

i like the concept of classic and yet still modern…

perodua n proton pls dun b proud over some little facelift u have done… urs r not classic car..urs r crappy rubbish car that have low budget on RND

• bleed on Apr 19, 2011 at 1:41 am

i dunno whether you are a made-in-malaysia-car basher or just plain retarded, but i can find nowhere in this whole article where Proton n Perodua is mentioned. your bashing is totally uncalled for.

dude, for the love of whatever that is holy to you, go n do something better with your life.

• OMG i never like girly Beetle but i really really like this one!it’s so nice and awesome!

• jab strong fierce! on Apr 18, 2011 at 11:15 pm

F to the U to the N K Y! xD

the interior is way polished than the current gen and exterior wise, ZOMG! much more drool worthy! all hail VW!! *bow bow*

• orgasm aku tgk new Beetle ni. damn!

• I wonder how much? I want the diesel model with DSG!

• mystvearn on Apr 18, 2011 at 11:25 pm

What are those three round analogue display above the Satnav/ICE unit. Turbo, nitro gauge?

• bobby on Apr 18, 2011 at 11:33 pm

Maybe it is the time indicator, one show hour, one show minute and one show second.

hahahha.just kidding lolz

• Downs on Apr 20, 2011 at 2:13 am

“Another classic feature is the optional auxiliary instrument grouping above the selected audio/navigation system, which display oil temperature, clock with stopwatch function and boost pressure gauge”

• Zahar Zain on Apr 18, 2011 at 11:32 pm

Starter Porsche looks…….training wheels before going up to Cayman……will be a modern classic…..want one soon…..

• mutings on Apr 19, 2011 at 8:58 am

well said bro. the side profile i thought it looked very much like a ‘cutesy’ Porsche. the Nazimobile (?) lives on…

• Absolute Beauty !

• A Beetle GTi anyone?

• man-bug

• interesting fact that when i read history bout VW beetle……… in 1974 due to VW financial crisis they needed germany gov to fund them to develop beetle replacement….the crisis occur coz they to depend on beetle only of from 1938-1974( continue until 2003).they built Golf designed by Giorgetto Giugiaro in 1974 ….
    more than 30 yrs even longer than proton saga 1985-2008

• littlefire on Apr 19, 2011 at 8:22 am

But golf & beetle transform a lot in the way… Not like some almost 10 years still using the same engine & gearbox…

• auspicious on Apr 18, 2011 at 11:50 pm

Looks like new VW Beetle using AUDI TT chassis platform… auspicious

• clearcase on Apr 18, 2011 at 11:52 pm

at first glance, it looks like a porsche :p

• Exactly what I was about to say, haha.

Volkswagen’s 49.9% stake in Porsche has evidently paid off in the form of their revamped third-generation Beetle. There seem to be unmistakable design cues taken from classic Porsche marques – subtle, understated curves and creases; lowered profile and ride height; sharp inclined windscreen giving way to a flat rooftop finally tapering back to a gently sloping rear; distinct spoiler placement, to name a few. It must be said however, that Porsche have done a bang-up job in preserving the – dare I say it – hippie-like essence of the original Beetle while injecting a much needed dose of masculinity. As much as Porsche has traditionally taken inspiration from Volkswagen – Porsche’s first ever production model, the Porsche 356, was in fact a cousin of the original Beetle – perhaps the reverse could be said about Volkswagen’s latest offering.

• squawk on Apr 19, 2011 at 12:08 pm

That’s because Dr Ferdinand Porsche had a hand in its design.

• Indeed!

And in reference to your question above, I do strive to read up regarding things that interest me, and Vee-Dub just so happens to be one of those things! :p

• somesay on Apr 18, 2011 at 11:58 pm

can’t wait for the Beetle RSI version. Should be more awesome.

• yeayy this is way more masculine then the 2000 beetle…wonder what the price would be when it arrived in malaysia

• trustme on Apr 19, 2011 at 12:09 am

The 3 analogue gauges are optional features: a stop watch

• porshe based exterior.

• khairul on Apr 19, 2011 at 12:21 am

omg.. A bug with TSI!

• Same price like before? I want this over Mini! looks muscular tough. A man’s beetle, not the girl’s version anymore!! hihi Same price?

• khairul on Apr 19, 2011 at 12:24 am

omg, bugs wit tsi!

• Wow, just wow.

I always thought the previous generation Beetle was too gay.

• VW and Audi is getting more and more popular now in Malaysia thanks to the TSI/TFSI engine and DSG gearbox. Even the beetle has now evolved!

• ttcarlover on Apr 19, 2011 at 12:43 am

wow, front look like porche, rear look like audi tt, overall it’s quite pretty car!

• for another 13 years?haha…red 1 is sexy

• shawal on Apr 19, 2011 at 12:52 am

VW manage to reinvent the iconic beetle, congratulations!

• wagenise on Apr 19, 2011 at 1:09 am

Dreaming on The Beetle, not sure if I can affort it by FEB 2012. :)

• gracke on Apr 19, 2011 at 1:19 am

Legend! Classic! Performance! Lovely! Adorable! Popularity! Iconic!…… all combine together, it is the new awesome Volkswagen Beetle TSI.

Absolutely gorgeous! Loooooveee it !!!!

• pique yew on Apr 19, 2011 at 1:34 am

lol, what a beautiful design :D

• i think i’ll now prefer this than mini cooper s!!! XD

• khaix19a on Apr 19, 2011 at 3:48 am

the rear reminded me about Bentley somehow

• Looks like VW has dumped the flower vase item on the dashboard. One thing that never carries over from the Beetle and the New Beetle. Guess it is too feminine.

• clutch basah on Apr 19, 2011 at 6:58 am

Damn! that is sexy.. why can’t all VW cars are like this?
    The interior.. OMG that is mental masturbation!

• Cairell on Apr 19, 2011 at 7:30 am

this is COOL man!
    porsche exterior…
    kind of mini scrirocco..
    must get it one!

• Fazzurri on Apr 19, 2011 at 7:30 am

The Hitler’s legacy to the world..

• VW Beetle was suppose to be the Peoples car when it was first launch. Hence, the low cost to own one but i see this is not true nowadays as it has become a luxury car in a way. I wish VW can collaborate with auto makers from around the world to manufacture and make it affordable again to the masses. Long live Beetle!

• Cool design. lf possible try to make it more affordable VGM, RM110k,

• laluan sehala on Apr 19, 2011 at 9:03 am

maybe if they put in the old 1.6L that they plan to put into the polo sedan, there may be a chance of the price coming low enough to what you want. i don’t mind the old engine though. afterall, it is proven, trouble free (relatively) and used in many countries which attests to its reliability. furthermore, to me, i kinda prefer less tech with a proven powerplant (i’m not an early adopter) which means, more spare parts and more technicians will know how to fix it.

this is a nice car and should do better than its predecessor… at least there are not that many straight lines in this car!!

• Proton BLM fans on Apr 19, 2011 at 7:57 am

Exterior – Superb. Interior – so so only.

• paultanfan on Apr 19, 2011 at 8:29 am

Superb, cute but sporty… remind me of old VW beatle (original). not like 2000 beatle, never resemble original beatle. But this one, really remind me of old beatle, my father favorite car, 1978 beatle plate num JL, haha. Only the price 20x.

• confused on Apr 19, 2011 at 8:08 am

at a glance of the thumbnails looks like a roc…

oh wait.. same company ^_^

i like this, i really do. looks more masculine and sportier than the previous one.

• Next generation Porshe will base on this beetle =p

• SoMeOnE on Apr 19, 2011 at 8:54 am

it was a matter of time they completely reworked the beetle and gave it the quality engineering it deserved…my only gripe is the interior….i felt they should have added a lot more flair and clever design to it since they had the chance at reworking every area….premium small cars tend to have this e.g mini, citroen ds3, fiat 500 .

..this just looks like a rehash from the VW parts bin….i understand that the flat slab does point back to the ori beetle but the flamboyance thats present on the exterior of this car does not convert into the cabin… it will be a high quality cabin unlike the one it replaces for sure and it will murder the sales charts in most countries nevertheless ..but i was expecting an interior that is a lot more ‘chic’ and ‘retro modern’ judging by the way it looked and marketed

• seancorr on Apr 19, 2011 at 10:16 am

Good stuff…VW has done a magnificent job with the Beetle. They knew how much pressure was on them to redesign their iconic Beetle. Was never really a fan of the previous gen Beetle but this has definitely caught my eye!

• Alanore on Apr 19, 2011 at 10:36 am

Exterior wise, this is a real baby-Porsche…

• fortminor on Apr 19, 2011 at 10:51 am

it’s nice..looks like botero painting of the scirocco.lol

• I love classic looking cars.

If making comparison with my gen 1 Cooper S, what put me off on the current gen Beetle is (1) handling is awful coming after driving the MINI; (2) Rear headroom is poorer than a MINI although leg room is good; (3) No good engine like you have on other VW models; (4) Interior quality is no VW!

Looks very promising on improvement on (3) & (4). Hope they improve on (1) and (2)!

But then again, MINI is considerably more expensive than an equivalent Beetle! (But I think this only applies in M’sia:( )

• squawk on Apr 19, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Wider, longer and not as effeminate as the old New one. Superb!

• titit on Apr 19, 2011 at 12:13 pm

This will still remain an iconic car… go VW… love this car

• gtmaniac on Apr 19, 2011 at 12:57 pm

Love the low-slung look.

Not sure about he rear, though.. especially the design of the rear lamp & bumper. A round or oval lamp might suit it better.

• looks like carrera? O.o?

• MalayanTapir on Apr 19, 2011 at 1:03 pm

From the side profile, it looks more like a rear-wheel-driven car than an FF, since the nose doesn’t look as heavy as most newer FF cars.

I like!

• It shud fight mini cooper

• Annoy-nimal on Apr 19, 2011 at 5:03 pm

Agree, looks like a Porche… well, they share the same roots anyway.
    At least this one is more masculine than the previous one, should apeal to male customers as well.

• Lancermania on Apr 19, 2011 at 5:09 pm

OMG, damm like tis Beetle!!

• ricerboyzz on Apr 19, 2011 at 6:59 pm

when i grow up i’m gonna be a porsche 911!

• nice!! wonder if the beetle shown in the pics are the top of the range ones??

• somesay on Apr 20, 2011 at 1:52 am

Kinda reminds me of Plymouth Pronto Cruiser, mostly at the rear.

• gogeng on Jul 19, 2011 at 9:49 pm

yarrggghhh….. very very excited