Bigger and curvier new Nissan Latio/Tiida hatch unveiled, 1.6L turbo performance variant has 190 hp and 240 Nm!

This is the new Nissan Tiida, unveiled at Auto Shanghai 2011 today. Produced at the Dongfeng Nissan Huadu Plant in Guangzhou, the Tiida hatchback, which we know here as the Latio Sport, will start selling next month in China. It will be launched in approximately 130 countries around the world by 2014, according to Nissan.

The new car will have pretty big shoes to fill. The outgoing Tiida hatch, first introduced in China in 2005, sold 85,000 units last year. But it’s very well armed to achieve better, thanks to new swoopy styling (hints of Mazda3 spotted), increased dimensions and space and new drivetrains, headlined by a 1.6L turbocharged engine.

If you’ve been in the Latio Sport, you’d have noticed the car’s impressive cabin space. The new one further builds on this. At 4,295 mm long and 1,760 mm wide, the new car is 45 mm longer and 65 mm wider. More significantly, the wheelbase has been increased by 100 mm to make 2,700 mm, leading Nissan to claim best-in-class rear knee room. The new size is now firmly in the C-segment, as opposed to the old car’s middle ground between B and C classes.

Nissan’s HR16DE is again in service, but with added Pure Drive low-emission technologies such as dual injectors. Transmission choices include a manual gearbox and Nissan’s Xtronic CVT. However, the highlight is the 1.6L turbo variant, which makes 190 hp and 240 Nm of torque. By the way, 240 Nm is identical to what the twincharged VW Golf TSI makes, but the Nissan has a 30 horse advantage.

In the image set we have, the red car with the black interior is the 1.6L turbo. Notice the “DIG Turbo” sign below the TIIDA mark? DIG stands for Direct Injection Gasoline. Other differences include 17-inch wheels and unique tail lamps. A Japanese rival to the 308 Turbo and Golf TSI? This is it!

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2166]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Super White on Apr 19, 2011 at 4:13 pm

I salivate at the 190hp & 240nm figure. Manual tranny? I think I just wet my pants.

• jason on Apr 19, 2011 at 5:58 pm

i definitely buy one if TCM bring this in..
      no turbo..not buying!

• Unforgiven on Apr 19, 2011 at 4:15 pm

Wow, let’s rebadged this car to Proton or change the 1983/1985 history and sell it for less than RM50k…. back to the future….

A very nice car…. will it ever come to M’sia?

• Harris on Apr 19, 2011 at 10:03 pm

I predict that it will launch in Malaysia in 2014 because we are the latest to get any new model!!

• yupe, agree, i also dunno why the ETCM always acting so slow to bring new models, normally those new models only bring it to Msai after 2 years ++

• jtiongwl78 on Apr 20, 2011 at 12:39 pm

ETCM do this mainly due to G problem. Their relationship is bad. I believe ETCM also want to be fast, but due to G problem in Putrajaya..

• Unforgiven on Apr 20, 2011 at 9:43 am

Why thumb me down? Don’t u wanna get this car for less than RM50k?

• tikus on Apr 20, 2011 at 9:55 am

Dun think so , Inspira rebadge also cheaper by 10K+ only.

• Unforgiven on Apr 20, 2011 at 10:10 am

True also, because Inspira is more expensive than Lancer in Langkawi.
          I think the only way to get the car for RM50k is to go back pior 1983/1985 and change the history then… Terminator!

• lonelyobserve on Apr 20, 2011 at 5:24 pm

You can have RM50K C-segment cars. Just abolish the blood sucking excise duty will make people’s life easier.

• wow japanese 1.6 turbo.. me like!! sedan please~~~

• adams takaful on Apr 19, 2011 at 4:19 pm

More curvier? means hyundai more ahead in aerodynamic and style. Hyundai start this kind of design on elantra 2008

• this is where Hyundai+Lexus got married. they got Nissan Tiida! tada!

• Looks pretty cool, but I was hoping Nissan would develop a new engine.

And it looks like Lexus CT200h to me, especially the front.

• zaff1984 on Apr 19, 2011 at 4:22 pm

i like it… the dark interior is so good, look very comfy. exterior also not bad love the gold color remind me of Lexus CT Hybrid gold color.

• Paul Tan on Apr 19, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Wow, this is quite a looker!

• Unforgiven on Apr 19, 2011 at 4:38 pm

Yup, both front and back…

• alpha999 on Apr 20, 2011 at 9:30 am

looks wise, far better than the current Latio for the malaysian market

• Motorhead on Apr 20, 2011 at 2:54 pm

I disagree on the looks..the lines are a bit too curvy for my liking…the rims on the red car is too wild and looks not OEM and the headlight is too agreesively pull back…could work but it doesnt match the front grill……..the output is nice though….anyway i bet they will tone down on the production car….

actually if u remove the badging…it could be mistaken for another china concept car…anyone agree?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 20, 2011 at 3:10 pm

To each their own I guess. This is the production car, by the way.

Just curious, can you share with us which “china concept car” it reminds you of?

• gtmaniac on Apr 19, 2011 at 4:32 pm

At first glance, i thought it was a facelifted Lexus IS250 hatchback.

Very elegent.

• qwerty on Apr 19, 2011 at 4:37 pm

side profile looks like mazda 3 hatch. now this is a design cue for a c-segment hatch.

• littlefire on Apr 19, 2011 at 4:39 pm

Most probarly ETCM will bring in, but not the turbo varient…

• lonelyobserve on Apr 19, 2011 at 7:55 pm

If JPJ doesn’t disturbing the approval process then any variant is possible.

• L@n@ng on Apr 19, 2011 at 4:41 pm

this is nice looking car, inside & outside…in term of power, i like!!!
    bring it here TC!!

• autojohndoe on Apr 19, 2011 at 4:42 pm

nissan copy lexus?

btw… the horses is a wow!

• Saab 9-3 - SS on Apr 19, 2011 at 4:45 pm

turbo charging world nowadays…..

• Yeap, turbo equal to huge torque at low rpm…. Low fc, good for normal/daily use….

• Naughty on Apr 19, 2011 at 4:53 pm

cool car…..love japanese when they turbo the cars…..will TCM ever bring it to Malaysia by 2014?

• sixtythree on Apr 19, 2011 at 4:57 pm

Nice!! but i wonder TCM gonna bring this to our shore…u know laa TCM, prefer to sell uncle’s car only…sigh

• lonelyobserve on Apr 19, 2011 at 7:57 pm

I don’t think so. ETCM can bring any Nissan model in. But it is subjected to G approval via JPJ. If JPJ rejects then there’s no chance at all.

• jtiongwl78 on Apr 20, 2011 at 12:41 pm

Remember that ETCM relationship and JPJ is quite bad. Thus they will face lots of ” man made problem” as due to human being attitude. Hope you understand.

• Much X 3 better than the current design.

Look like Nissan is back to Squeeze those Korean Junk back into Kimchee Tub.

• deftones on Apr 19, 2011 at 5:04 pm

its a lovely car but why la its comming only in 2014..its a long way to go..
    to wait 2014, the design slowly will be outdated..especially the dashboard where a lot of tech stuff to be introduced..

• jflee169 on Apr 19, 2011 at 5:06 pm

Only start production in 2014, stilllll…..long way to go!

• Carefully read between the line.

It will be launched in approximately 130 countries around the world by 2014

Got it (some country will have it soon & some later, but all by 2014).

China will be the first they get it next month.

• most likely malaysia will be placed at the bottom of the list, in 2014. malaysia’s market is just too small.

• Unforgiven on Apr 20, 2011 at 9:59 am

The market is small because we still need to protect our P1/P2/Naza…
          So if I’m from Nissan I also cannot see a reason to put M’sia on top of the list…

• ForteLover on Apr 19, 2011 at 5:11 pm

Kia Rio copycat!!!!

• Visit a Optical Shop soonest possible.

You have Very Serious Eyesight Problem

Which part of this Tilda/Latio look like that Ugly Rio.

• squawk on Apr 20, 2011 at 1:13 am

Uh… the new Rio has more Euro styling than this.

• Latio/Tilda need not to copy “Euro” styling like Rio.

Anyway don’t the Korean have their own styling ? why they need to copy the european ?

The Japanese styling is beautiful enough.

• squawk on Apr 20, 2011 at 2:51 pm

Nothing to do with the points you raised, just replying to ForteLover.

• bobdbilder on Apr 19, 2011 at 5:12 pm

Whoa! It looks like a 5 door Clio!! Amazing that little was lost in the translation.

• Agreed, in euro they will badged it as renault… In asia , its a nissan… Both same group under same ceo… Ie carlos ghosn

• shawal on Apr 19, 2011 at 5:15 pm

Red with black interior is a nice combo!

• tikus on Apr 19, 2011 at 5:51 pm

Will upgrade my 2008 Latio Sport to this new babe by 2014. Just nice timing for me.

• adrian on Apr 19, 2011 at 6:28 pm

Think when it reached here, is time to upgrade my Latio but also see how others car design goes. Now I heart this Latio. Power and nice design. But for Interior…. looks fine for me only. This time I think it get push start button. Saw the steering right side got a button.

• bapok comel on Apr 19, 2011 at 6:40 pm

lebih baik beli satria neo. lagi cantik lagi murah, xyah membazir

• hantu on Apr 20, 2011 at 3:06 am

u think satria neo cheap meh?

think again.

We’re live in LACK OF COMPETITION country. No doubt at all.

• farghmee on Apr 20, 2011 at 11:09 am

neo 2 pintu da..

kalu rege xlari jauh ngn myvi, mmg Tiida ni ble laku.

korg ckp enjin toyota bes, korg dh try enjin nissan?

• Basika lagi murah & jimat.

• Lion 308 on Apr 19, 2011 at 7:19 pm

I will get one if it ever comes to Malaysia

• VW_fans on Apr 19, 2011 at 7:24 pm

Looks like baby Murano, “shrink version” to me.

• seancorr on Apr 19, 2011 at 7:36 pm

Nice Latio we have there. I wonder if Malaysia will get it before the end of 2011…turbocharged of course…

• ttooyyoottt on Apr 19, 2011 at 8:02 pm

WoW Japanese 308!!! Remapp this beuty! awesome!!

• haha, the engine is more powerful than the s’charged neo r3 (concept?)!! Well, figures alone doesnt say much about the engine performance, it also depends on the power and torque curve of the engine. Just imagine, 80km/h to 120km/h in mere 5 seconds, in 5th gear!!That’s just feel luxury…

• the driver will probably vomit blood because always block by kiasu drivers around.

• ForteLover on Apr 19, 2011 at 9:17 pm

this is what i ll say “SOME” serious power from nissan….

• proton should rethink the power spec for 1.6 campro cfe which is just 160hp and 200nm of torque, sad isnt it.

• john doe on Apr 19, 2011 at 11:35 pm

dude, seriously? u comparing turbo engine with normal engine? this turbo 190, & normal campro 160, i wonder how strong the campro cfe is proton do “the turbomation” process.

• autojohndoe on Apr 20, 2011 at 9:02 am

turbo is not really meant for power…

it is more to fuel efficient and torque…

• Love to see Nissan and Toyota will return to their old root, decent R&H and sporty car. Next year Toyota FT86 with RWD and Subaru sourced. Banking on satisfactory after-sale service, sensible pricing, no-5000km service interval like Honda Nissan is upcoming heroes BUT they must add new SC

• Car Driver on Apr 19, 2011 at 11:25 pm

Another turbo-charged car to consider. Hope it’s not heavy on the petrol that much..

• transformer on Apr 19, 2011 at 11:45 pm

nice… interior are much better than all current “monotonous” model sold in malaysia…. even nice than Teana interior(in terms of theme wise)…

but why HR engine again….?
    still prefer SR series… say SR16VE, if add direct injection + turbo sure >190bhp & >240Nm
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_SR_engine

guess this baby will come with a 2.0L engine as sport or Nismo tune but hopefully its comes in VQ engine, not MR as “feminine” Sylphy….

• Paul Tan on Apr 19, 2011 at 11:58 pm

The SR engines are old and would never meet modern emission requirements.

• EB16.4 on Apr 20, 2011 at 12:48 am

interior looks cheap and nasty. see how the border spreads from center console dashboard to the sides air vents? reminds me of chery eastar.

yuck

• Ugly….unlike those stylist and elegant contis like VW or Pug.

• harry on Apr 20, 2011 at 7:31 am

the name is little bit annoying..FELLATIO..haha

• clutch basah on Apr 20, 2011 at 7:42 am

For sure it is better looking than the sissy Nissan Sunny unveiled last year. With turbocharged engine? mmm.. me think me like..

• Forte Lovers! on Apr 20, 2011 at 8:59 am

Frist 308 Turbo with 156hp/240NM
    Second Golf TSi with 160hp/240NM
    and next is….Latio with 190hp/240NM

The market become tougher and more FUN! ME likey!

• Unforgiven on Apr 20, 2011 at 10:24 am

How come the steering so empty? Where are those radio control buttons, cruise control, etc?

• Mauchai on Apr 20, 2011 at 11:58 am

wow.. no steering buttons again. Apparently, Nissan is anti steering buttons…~~

• hopefully P1 can work together with Nissan, and let this be Neo Or Savvy replacement… he he he… about 70k it will sell….

• Edmund on Apr 20, 2011 at 8:46 pm

I asked ETCM yesterday. They said this new Latio will not be coming to Malaysia that soon, but still they’ll launch the 1.8L Latio Sport.

I’m thinking about buying the 1.6L ST(A) Latio Sedan. Wondering is this the right time or should I wait? I’ve been fed a lot of stories: Interest rate gonna increased, short of stock soon, etc.

• Unforgiven on Apr 21, 2011 at 10:03 am

The problem here is you may get stuck in the loan for at least 5 years, unless you are very rich… what do you wanna drive in 2016?

• Edmund on Apr 21, 2011 at 2:28 pm

2016? Not sure. Could be still the B-segment car.
        I’m 25 years old, so in another 5 years I may just on track in my career.
        I’m planning to get a car for long term driving, where reliability comes as priority than resale value.

• Unforgiven on Apr 21, 2011 at 3:22 pm

When the new Latio/Tiida is out, are you able/gonna change it? Which is probably in 2/3 years time? Then you’ll be driving the older generation Nissan…

Anyway, it should not be too bad as long as it’s not a Proton, I guess…

• Edmund on Apr 21, 2011 at 4:31 pm

I guess the new Latio/Sunny (since I want the sedan version) that is gonna launched 3 to 4 years later might be priced higher than the current old model, as it specs show that would be totally different class of car. If I would change my car, I may not want to change among the similar class. I may likely go for the class equivalent of Slyphy, Altis, Civic, etc.

The reason I want to change my car is that my current MyVi is too small to cater my needs as a frequent travelling sales person, and I don’t want to drive it up to 100,000km before selling it (currently it is 80,000km).

• Satria Neo 1.6 supercharged (R&D) : 180hp 200Nm
    Nissan Latio 1.6l turbocharged (mass market) : 190hp 240Nm

haihz!

• dannyl77 on Apr 20, 2011 at 11:40 pm

Looking at TC’s Trend , most likely they will continue selling the Old Latio Model for another 3-4 Years before introducing the New Latio / Tiida … Just look at Nissan Sentra… Till today still selling since was release in year 2003 if i am Not wrong…

• hyperzip on Aug 02, 2011 at 3:55 pm

Actually TC launched Shphy is to replace the same class car Sentra. If i’m not mistaken Nissan Sentra still selling is because M’sia market still got demand. V should curious y malaysian wan to buy outdated model car. Maybe is affected by P1 saga/wira century……..

• dissapointer on May 12, 2012 at 11:14 am

Malaysian still been offered old car due our national car policy:- 1) Pricing due to protection issue. 2) outdated model due to technology issue. Entire nation suffered generally. Luckily we don’t have national mobile phone company, other wise most of us no chance buying smart phone.