ARTIGA Concept unveiled in Shanghai – yes, it is what you think it is, a Satria Neo, replete with supercharger!

Proton’s Motorsport division lads have certainly been busy bees. The Satria Neo R3 Supercharged seen recently hasn’t been the only thing worked on, it seems.

Say hello to the ARTIGA Concept, which Proton – or rather, Youngman – has unveiled at Auto Shanghai. It’s another Satria Neo-based offering the company says is a study on the future of the hot hatch for Proton, one inspired by its participation in motorsports, but taken to a new level.

Unlike the supercharged R3 Neo, the debutant in China is less flashy colour-wise, clad in a more stoic grey tone, but in terms of exterior lines is certainly more aggresive, with extensive use of carbon fibre. Among the places the stuff makes its way on to is the bonnet, side skirts, spoiler as well as rather aggressively-shaped front and rear diffusers. The car features a patented stamping process to mass produce the carbon fibre parts, which helps to significantly reduce the cost of the items.

Plenty in the way of radical bulging bits though – check out what passes off as wheel arches on the car, working their way into the remodelled bumpers! Elsewhere, the concept features centrally-mounted twin tailpipes, swanky new headlamps and Oz Racing wheels, among other things.

It features the same supercharger treatment – as the Satria Neo R3 Supercharged – to increase power and torque (which should put it at 180 hp and 200 Nm, presumably), as well as the same Ohlins and AP brake package as seen in the limited-edition Satria Neo Lotus Racing.

The ARTIGA is on display at Proton’s Chinese partner Youngman’s booth, and is there to gauge the public’s feedback and interest. A bit of trivia: The car is sporting a Youngman logo, as Proton currently has no direct presence in China at the moment. Clever name too, ARTIGA is, yes?

Live show photo gallery after the jump. Update: Interior shots added

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2191]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• it seems the chinese (as in CHINA chinese) are happy with proton

• Oopus on Apr 21, 2011 at 4:29 am

Not exactly, poorly rated and poor sales as far as I know

• puipui on Apr 21, 2011 at 12:34 pm

as wat i see amount of thumbs down r ppl dat r bias towards proton but the fact that the sales are not doin good… still wanna thumbs down ? total protong supporters only…

• Hameed Koyakuti on Apr 22, 2011 at 6:09 pm

Awesome Jinjang maximum dude!!!!

Go JinjangJoe!!!!! Go JinjangJane!!!!

Those jinjang has a very weird taste, bless their souls………

• Vincent on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:16 am

Wait for sales firgure to talk….

ANyway, China market is at least 0 time more than us. Selling few thousand unit a year is easy work…

• what about wait for the sales “girl” figure, then only talk?
        haha lol

• Hafidz on Apr 21, 2011 at 11:05 am

They dont need market share to success over there..Proton just need sales volume in order to make cash flow in.. :)

• sagatron on Apr 21, 2011 at 12:40 pm

i wish my neo head lamp exactly just like that…proton..please make this kind of head lamp….pretty pleaseeeeeeee………….

• Nik Amirul on Apr 22, 2011 at 1:40 am

kita anak Malaysia patut bangga coz proton! Yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      Hidup Proton!! Aku nak beli kereta nie… tapi keluaran Proton, not youngman :D

• ar-tiga = R 3

• the headlamps are nicer than our Neo!

• The Dentist on Apr 21, 2011 at 3:14 am

they look like those on the Saga FL don’t u think? :)

• VoidDance on Apr 21, 2011 at 8:46 am

That is Saga FL headlamps.

• rallyfan00 on Apr 21, 2011 at 11:01 am

maybe you should check your eyes then go look again at saga fl lights. ;)

• VoidDance on Apr 21, 2011 at 12:29 pm

Yes, my bad. I was wearing my a black cloth over my eyes. Now that I see it, it is quite different from Saga FL. Looks can be very deceiving. Sorry about that.

• Bigmouth on Apr 21, 2011 at 12:41 pm

I thought this Team Tony Trooper hangs out only at Team Lotus and LRGP stories but it looks like his scope of work has spread.

• VoidDance on Apr 21, 2011 at 1:00 pm

Hah, good one Bigmouth. I’ve been on Paultan blog since 2005 and loves every bits of it. Me criticising LRGP does not mean my support is with Team Lotus. I always support Scuderia Ferrari and it stay that way still.

It just that I don’t understand why people tend to bash TF so much. I read a lot of articles related to TL, LRGP and Dany and TF. I have my own opinion. That does not make me a TL supporter.

By the way, why bring Lotus problem over here?

• Agreed.. looks more garang

• Kevin Lee on Apr 21, 2011 at 1:42 am

now u can buy that car front and put on ur neo, great china design

• dude07 on Apr 21, 2011 at 1:42 am

what can i say..speechless….

• Kevin Lee on Apr 21, 2011 at 1:43 am

oh i get it now AR TIGA = r3

• narakka on Apr 21, 2011 at 1:45 am

what the head lamp??it should be LED light not a FAKE EGG light.

• Hafidz on Apr 21, 2011 at 11:07 am

Fake eggs from China what..consider OK lorr..its for their market, fake egss, fake eggs headlamps..etc etc..haha :P

• Caleb on Apr 21, 2011 at 1:50 am

They should’ve restyled the back lights-IMO doesn’t suit well with the rest of the hard-edge styling.

Impressive thing though, good job Proton

• wtfisthatcar on Apr 21, 2011 at 1:50 am

No!!! They spoiled the side profile!
    Still prefer the vanilla satria neo.
    It is the best looking car in Proton up to date.

Front grill need some touch up and, hey they rear lamp need some updates too.

• yeah…looks like tampal2 only…not like the satria GTi design and the Neo 1.6CPS side body design

• btw the 6th pic…..if u din mention ppl will think its from bmw

• AR Tiga = R 3 :D

• Kevin on Apr 21, 2011 at 2:21 am

It’s always a better quality, design AND cheaper price for outside malaysia. Rakyat always being suck drain 1st as usual. Sigh

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Apr 21, 2011 at 3:12 am

Just a concept,but you relate it with something unrelated.What do you mean ‘cheaper price outside Malaysia’?
      Protons are pricier in Singapore,Thailand and Indonesia.
      You’re just another typical bashers exist out there.

• BadBET on Apr 22, 2011 at 12:04 am

some people like to compare car price in Malaysia with those “land of no tax where their oil income is in trillion dollar” . Remember folks, the grass is not always greener on the other side.

• virus on Apr 21, 2011 at 12:37 pm

wow only by looking at pic can tell better quality ha???
      very terer r u… hahaha and d design… custom fibre shop here can do better..

• Ordinary Joe on Apr 21, 2011 at 3:06 am

Supercharge, yes! But design wise, i’ll take our ArThree over this ArTiga any day… wheel arches fail!

• Jason on Apr 21, 2011 at 4:10 am

Doesnt look good to me at all, those fenders are like a big piece slapped on to the car. Looks like a tank!

Splitters looks too beng-lish. Maybe china ah bengs love them, not my cup of coffee.

3rd last picture with hood open:
    http://image1.paultan.org/photo/cache/shanghai-2011-artiga-concept-by-proton/artiga-07_770.jpg

I dont see no supercharger in it. Still the same campro CPS air intake into the carbon fiber R3 airbox drop in filter.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 21, 2011 at 4:19 pm

Jason,

Was told that the photo you mentioned was taken before the supercharger work was carried out. Photo of the unit in the bay after fitment is in the gallery.

• in malaysia only reject design….

• If Proton start to offer this model to the public, the mod crowd will probably do one on their own. A resourceful chap may even offer it as a modified kit. The supercharger is Aussie-sourced and can easily get one from there. The other bits are available easily.

• redbull on Apr 21, 2011 at 6:48 am

to me artiga headlamp more like scirocco

• ARTIGA…might as well put ROARTAIGA.

i dont really like the rear splitter and twin squarish exhaust. but overall design and engine is just awesome.

• Cucukman on Apr 21, 2011 at 7:31 am

ARTIGA means ‘R’ + ‘3’ (spelling in malay okay)

so, instead of ‘R’ three.. they use R+tiga = R3

hehe.. am i right?

But i dont like this ah beng car…better Satnia Neo 2000 than this modi.

• confused on Apr 21, 2011 at 8:01 am

the design is not bad at all… like the new front fascia… :D

• Ordinary Joe on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:52 am

U certainly are confused. Those ‘things’ on the side are sorry excuses for wheel arches, and have you noticed the size of the rear diffuser thing? They look even worse from the side protruding from its rear butt…

• confused on Apr 21, 2011 at 10:30 am

beauty is subjective mate.. don’t need to label one as confused.. :)

• Ordinary Joe on Apr 21, 2011 at 3:21 pm

OK… my bad. I’m man enuff to say so. I was just personally overwhelmed by what they did to it at that moment. But ur right, if it rocks ur boat, your choice. To each man his own..

• Firman on Apr 21, 2011 at 8:24 am

Nice headlamps and it look alike BMW…Wooss!

• front looks like scirocco, not a bad thing

• Someonefromsarawak on Apr 21, 2011 at 8:41 am

Awesome! This could feature in the future Transformer movie as one of the bad guy, ‘Artigon’ perhaps?

• trav_da_man on Apr 21, 2011 at 8:54 am

The Artiga is actually the best name a chinese car manufacturer gave to a car. Many chinese car manufacturers gave funny names to their cars, from beauty leopard, QQ and many more numeric names, but the Altiga is just like how the Europeans will name their sports cars. Nice!

• Soooooo Ah Beng!!!!
    Ekzos tiru cam Lamborghini. oh tidak…..

• Hafidz on Apr 21, 2011 at 11:04 am

it is for AhBeng China mainland market..so dont worry,it wont make it to Bolehland :P hehe..

• neurra on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:02 am

LoL now that u mentioned it.. ARTIGA sounds veeerryyy familiar :D

• yc.low on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:02 am

I saw a Proton on the highway in Shanghai – it was a Proton Persona only without the Proton badge. It was a some Chinese badge. At first I thought I saw something like the Proton but on closer look it was a Proton. Congrats Proton making an inroad to the Chinese market. You need to compete with VW, Audi,Peugeot,Buick or even their very own Cherry and Geely.

• littlefire on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:07 am

I already heard the R3 supercharged Satria Neo can be bought around RM100k in Malaysia.. Is that true?!?

Anyway no offence the lights of Saga FL & This does look like a bit like Merc C class front lights.. Even the old Saga BLM rear lights also does look like Merc C class rear lights…

• kambingunta on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:08 am

Hohohoho… after this we can see a long wheel base version of neo since they are fond it…

• any interior shots? hoping it comes with premium dashboard so that i can order and replace the cheap plastic in my neo. also the turbocharger :) can order from youngman hehe

• bole la as entry level, good try proton

• Those wheel arches scare me. Why’d they have to Ah Bengify every new iteration of the Neo? I think the original non-CPS models looked the best, honestly. But that supercharger is smexy.

• rallyfan00 on Apr 21, 2011 at 11:08 am

what exactly makes this ah beng? i think its quite understated actually. colours are muted, nothing bright.. no shiny bits, no big rear wing.. big rear diffuser is ok.. standard european type gt car styling.. looks kinda muscular and aggresive. i suppose the riveted bits is just an extension of the idea from the original satria gti, and then the neo cps.. which seems to point to the fact that it is intentional. i can start to imagine driving this around at nite…

• race_fan on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:41 am

although its just a concept, the wheel arch is fail for me. Looks like it just being paste to the body. Better do it properly and do the proper wide body version of the Neo. All the carbon fiber also didn’t help much either.

Anyway kudos to R3, perhaps this can be a success in China market.

• bobdbilder on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:42 am

They could have modeled this up with Yougman’s input. It has to be appealing to the market you are selling to. If you look at the others on show, they don’t have your typical styling that we are used to. Who are we to judge their taste? Some of us own Ssangyong Stavics!

• Hafidz on Apr 21, 2011 at 11:11 am

I agree with you bro! diffrent market of course need different taste..we are Malaysian and we are not consider eligable to be a jury of this design..guess everyone saw even worse design came from China..

Correct, some uncle just bought Ssang Yong Stavic! what the hell he was thinking..poorly design..still got buyer worldwide..Cherry Tigo? OMG! still got people buy..Cherry Alado!? still Malaysia people buy..soo..

like u said..we cant judge Chinese mainland market..

• droll on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:52 am

i just want the engine and suspension.

• concept haha but nice lah tidak akan keluar production.. but bold design proton heheheh make satria neo owner thinking to modd thier satria now.. go proton…. bullet malaysia hehehe

• makeitmine on Apr 21, 2011 at 10:12 am

Dear Proton,

How does it handle after the mods?

If it is good, use the same concept and apply it to existing unsold Persona and Savvy export models before you totally replace these models. I’ll bet they will be hot sell.

• bobdbilder on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:08 pm

This is R3 dude. Try one out. Then you’ll stop asking.

• mmouse on Apr 21, 2011 at 10:30 am

The front number plate wordings “?????” actually means Lotus Concept Car. Err… is Youngman trying to con Chinessman in China???

• kuching on Apr 21, 2011 at 10:51 am

kereta biasa biasa saja even after heavy modified.

• Peter Ong on Apr 21, 2011 at 10:56 am

Initially, I thought Thundercat Logo isn’t elegant but not after I’ve seen YoungMan. What do U think? If U too agree, then Proton should have some kind of brand / image control & not just got carried away that someone want to license their platform & let them do whatever they like. I bet those from Lotus don feel good on this.

• You’re right man..i think they overuse the Lotus name..even the cps engine cover they put Lotus name..damn

• something a little off with the widebody conversion attempt..

• Seriously on Apr 21, 2011 at 11:08 am

I think this is a pretty sick car. Love how the signal indicators glow white but changes to yellow when indicating. Reminds me of the latest S-Class which has the same feature.

• Hafidz on Apr 21, 2011 at 11:12 am

If this car was a guy..he might have a handsome face with macho appealing..but with bloating thigh and fat ass!! :P

• fadzly on Apr 21, 2011 at 11:19 am

from the front view, look like a muscle car…emm..

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Apr 21, 2011 at 11:27 am

Lunatic creation. Take out back diffuser and bulky arch.Yark!!! ugly.Too much.AhBeng design but one you can’t deny headlamp is “muahhhhh.delicious”

• kaskas_pepper on Apr 21, 2011 at 11:35 am

very nice headlamp !

but too many fiber make that car look stringy

• OMMMMMG… I like the headlamp.. More nicer…… I like the styling front and rear but side look was awful..

• redboy on Apr 21, 2011 at 11:42 am

Lotus Concept Car? well, i think within 5 years, the brand will go down the drain as trust problem worldwide..

• Proton oh Proton… Be like like Kia…

• landax on Apr 21, 2011 at 12:14 pm

OMG! nice headlamp! like a powerful super car!

• Protonfan on Apr 21, 2011 at 12:14 pm

The chinese model nicer than “R tiga”..lol

• skiborne on Apr 21, 2011 at 12:25 pm

wow the front is awesome

• Pinch Head on Apr 21, 2011 at 12:42 pm

I will not waste my money one this ARetard. I already book my Fiesta Sport …Only Ah Beng’s type person will buy it. Not even consider as a car.

• like the front, hate the side and so so for the back

• Nice……what I meant is the red color car….
    nice bumber and headlamp and I wish to ride on it :)

• Lotus Man on Apr 21, 2011 at 1:02 pm

The front number plate says something about Lotus donno what. Stating something like that means Lotus is in some way associated with this Satria Neo. OK if Satria Neo is a breakthrough car. But is it?

I think this Lotus/Satria Neo association will only cheapen the Lotus brand. I think this is a branding screw up.

• xaxier on Apr 21, 2011 at 1:18 pm

The girl look much nicer then the car :D

• pak lang on Apr 21, 2011 at 2:02 pm

nice! ARTIGA. later NEO-become NEYO

• yellowbus on Apr 21, 2011 at 2:17 pm

dowan car…me wan lenglui…*drool*

• kevin teo on Apr 21, 2011 at 3:19 pm

R3 = AR TIGA (R3 TRANSLATE TO BAHASA MALAYSIA)

• Fluid on Apr 21, 2011 at 3:21 pm

Looks great! But with JV between 2 reputable car companies for all the wrong reasons the car will fall apart into 3 pcs hence the name (roask in 3 places)

OZs, Ohlins and all other branded parts are probably imitations…

• SoMeOnE on Apr 21, 2011 at 3:32 pm

the satria neo has been getting so much of attention and personally i feel that if a local car has this much attention..the car to have it is the satria neo because……. low rent interior plastics aside…..it truly is a well engineered car..regardless of engine tune…from the standard campro, cps or r3 or wateva u care to name it…the chassis tuning and control is spot on…it really is an advert of what lotus can do when they are allowed to put get thier hands on something. and this has zero driving aids (unless u still consider abs an aid instead of a necessity even today)…. so its all about the way it is set up…..hmmmm.i can only imagine how good the evora is …….

although my daily drive is a mazda 6 i been ‘borrowing’ drives from my gf’s neo just to experience a manual neo around the corners..and its the one with the standard campro thats 4 years old..first batch i think….all i can say is that it amuses me all the time and im itching to give it a little more power (if the gf lets me ) even weirdly…..there has NEVER been a problem with the car…maybe she got lucky..i dunno…but i think this model is getting all the attention because other parties are staring to realize how good at is…and IMHO it deserves it….oh well….end…..

• H4dRi on Apr 21, 2011 at 3:48 pm

wow, i’ve read this exact comment before on other neo topic like 4 or 5 time already LOL..

• timoon on Apr 22, 2011 at 12:03 am

bro.. try push it a bit harder around the corner and u can tell if this car is a fun car or not…
      to me that fish tail feeling is super cool..

• H4dRi on Apr 21, 2011 at 3:41 pm

+99999

• farhan on Apr 21, 2011 at 3:47 pm

well, the headlamp is kinda new to us, but somehow resembles those beemers one.

• William on Apr 21, 2011 at 4:28 pm

Did they just use a sticker to cover up the proton logo on the engine cover??

• blue ocean on Apr 21, 2011 at 4:35 pm

only front design is nice..

• http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=shanghai-2011-artiga-concept-by-proton&image=artiga003.jpg

my 2 cents: the steering looks better than our neo’s steering.

• afiqms on Jun 10, 2011 at 8:51 am

yes, proton should consider this styling for neo… the things that I don’t like are the gear knob and the aircond blower~ should not be painted red…

• bboyahman on Apr 21, 2011 at 5:54 pm

not bad ….everything look nice ….

why proton din produce sedan for this design….

• teamsleepnine on Apr 21, 2011 at 7:13 pm

So this car is really prep by r3 or youngman do this themself? :hmm:

• lan87 on Apr 21, 2011 at 8:09 pm

love the front lamps…
    very2 nice…

• hanif on Apr 21, 2011 at 8:15 pm

new comment box?wow…

• artiga=r-tiga

• Look nice, quality ??? Everybody knows !

• wow i take back my wish, they actually making the interior worst. lol..

• timoon on Apr 21, 2011 at 11:57 pm

to all you guys, FYI, this car will have a carbon fiber platform… i cannot say much here but i can tell you one thing… if my calculation is correct.. this ARTIGA and SEsto elemento are related… MUahahah

• Swordsmen on Apr 22, 2011 at 8:57 am

omg interior color… headache..

• Swordsmen on Apr 22, 2011 at 9:03 am

Ultraman Artiga

• Ash Menon on Apr 22, 2011 at 10:15 am

Fuyoh, that front is hawt.

• omanjedi on Apr 22, 2011 at 10:20 am

“The car features a patented stamping process to mass produce the carbon fibre parts, which helps to significantly reduce the cost of the items” – can Proton import this part instead of those expensive local supplier? Malaysian deserve an affordable carbon fibre

• sranua on Apr 22, 2011 at 11:19 am

Timoon….Italian really know how to make a dramatic car.it just like the Neo’s front. Nicely done with it headlamp which shoud be the next list on Persona R.
    Perhaps this ARTIGA will be sell in Malaysia or it will be for China market only?

• The show girl look sweet, good choice. But proton use lotus to sell their car there… Like cheating people…

• lost-fan on Apr 23, 2011 at 8:54 am

..whatever it is, i dun think Neo got that WOW factor, it is time for proton to redesign new hatchback or coupe!!!!

• cantik on Apr 23, 2011 at 9:18 am

ARTIGA = R3 ??

• strikeX on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:16 pm

Really nice… but I will never get in Malaysia. They make only for outsider only. Malaysia only use regular Neo only. Heheheh that the fact. If it get here we cannot afford to buy it because it will be limited only and the price it too high.

But I hope proton can reduce the price tag coz this is Malaysia Car.
    Why make a car that Malaysian cannot had it. Make car that good enough and Malaysia can buy… Not car with a lot of problem and a car that boleh laaa… And please give us better quality than export version. I prefer Perodua because it QC more good than proton right now.

Sorry if if any one mad at me, because I use Waja, my cousin Use Persona. We got the same problem. Th engine problem. We paid RM60K just for problem car. If not engine it ok, but this engine so cannot be accepted.

• My Mum has been using Gen2 since 2005 and Dad, Waja since 2006, sister a Saga since 2008, engines did not miss a beat.

• joepng on May 26, 2011 at 11:34 pm

yeah..me oso..my dad’s iswara is since 2000.. engine still ok.. just absorber, make sound..huhu.

• Hi, when I click on the thumbnails of the car photos at the bottom of the article, I am getting a blank page with this error message:

Zenphoto needs to run setup but the setup scripts are not present. Please reinstall the setup scripts.

Please help to fix this, so we can view the photos. Thanks!

• Best Email Marketing Tool on Nov 01, 2014 at 11:50 pm

Terrific troubles altogether, you only need to got a brand new target audience. Exactly what might you advise in terms of a person’s distribute that you simply created at times previously? Every selected?