Youngman Europestar L5 based on long wheelbase GEN2 platform launched at Shanghai 2011

Proton’s Chinese partner Youngman Europestar showcased the Youngman L5 you see above at the 2011 Shanghai Motorshow happening right now.

The Youngman L5 is based on a Proton GEN2 platform with a lengthened wheelbase of 2,670mm which is 70mm longer than the original GEN2 wheelbase. It seems China really does need an extended wheelbase version of everything, including a GEN2!

It was developed in collaboration with Lotus Engineering, with internal and external styling jointly done by Youngman and Lotus for the Chinese market. In the engine bay you’ll find the 1.6 litre Campro CPS engine making 125 horses and 149 Nm of torque.

The red car you see in the gallery is a hatchback, while the white car is a sedan. The Youngman L5 sedan goes for approximately RMB98,000 (about RM45k) while the L5 hatchback is slightly more expensive at RMB108k (RM50k). The price list goes all the way up to RMB122k for the top spec version.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2189]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ericmaxman on Apr 21, 2011 at 1:25 am

weird looking front. grille too chrome-ish. the rear still got a bit of gen2 essence there

• VoidDance on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:34 am

You know, over in Soviet China, they loves chromes, plush leather and LWB cars. Atleast they have taste. We Malaysian buy plain boring Vios and thinks we own the world.

• Critique on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:51 am

So, that in you definition is tasteful’lar?

• VoidDance on Apr 21, 2011 at 12:14 pm

I said their taste. Me prefer less chrome, no leather (I don’t think sitting on some skins really good idea) and simple design, like BLM (yeah… boohoo!) or Forte.

Thank you.

• Critique on Apr 21, 2011 at 2:05 pm

If you say they have taste, (i.e. – ‘Atleast they have taste’) then aren’t you also agreeing that chrome, leather and LWB is tasteful.

On the other hand you go on to say you “prefer less chrome, no leather (I don’t think sitting on some skins really good idea) and simple design”

To which I am in agreement of the latter, but which is it for you?

Oh well, we are each entitled to our own opinions, and I guess to also contradict oneself :)

Cheers :)

• Hayden on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:23 pm

wah..i feel that you’re so sexy wei!! =)) like like!

• ericmaxman on Apr 21, 2011 at 10:38 am

wad to do~ too much T influence

• Critique on Apr 21, 2011 at 2:25 pm

Many out there say it as if its a bad thing, but have you ever spared a thought on the why’s and the how’s or even the what’s of the perceived influence?

Btw, no one brand is perfect. Many examples in 2010. So its ok for you to say “too much T influence” so long as I am not delusional :)

Cheers :)

• rajaiskandarshah on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:45 pm

i like the side profile of the sedan
      http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=Youngman-L5-Shanghai-2011&image=02.jpg
      http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=Youngman-L5-Shanghai-2011&image=12.jpg

long wheel base ? is this manufactured in malaysia or china ?

for the price range, it is very nice.

maybe once p1 has the exora turbo, they should give it to youngman to do the perdana replacement.

• ttooyyoottt on Apr 21, 2011 at 1:41 am

Not bad at all! wow! cheap somemore!! hussss

• the interior is so much better than our Gen-2!

• blablabla on Apr 21, 2011 at 4:41 am

Yes i agree with you.

The interior looks nice…

But the front and back design of the exterior looks teruk lah..

• Whatever on Apr 21, 2011 at 3:27 pm

I don’t think so. At least is better that our overprice P1 Gen2. What am I paying for rm50k in Malaysia? Look at people. They car design especially the rear look like Europe car standard. I am just telling what fact. Too much boot licker here

• HirumaKecil on Apr 21, 2011 at 10:26 pm

Mercedes also look like gen2 meh… not europe enough? Interior better than Gen2? Of course.. This is the upgrade version of Gen2 in china.. The upgrade version should be worst than current version??? Of coz not.. This car from 2011… gen2 from what era? that gen2 from T.Mahaleel era..

• ericmaxman on Apr 21, 2011 at 1:48 am

and oh, before i forget i suppose this is the closest one can get as a persona cps? Hehehe

• wtfisthatcar on Apr 21, 2011 at 1:52 am

oh no! burn it with faiya!!

• shawal on Apr 21, 2011 at 2:09 am

i want to see its crash test on youtube!

• Unforgiven on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:35 am

Also depends on the materials that they used, the grades, etc…

One of my ex-colleague purposely bought an imported 2nd hand Satria from the UK, which supposed to be better quality than the local Satria…

• mohdYusoff on Apr 21, 2011 at 5:53 am

Uglee !!! …Gen2 with a Savvy rear ….! !!

• oldman on Apr 21, 2011 at 6:45 am

Luckily they spell LOTUS correctly

• od_bo on Apr 21, 2011 at 7:17 am

so…why the the neo got the hot girl and this doesn’t??

• BrusLi on Apr 21, 2011 at 7:33 am

Only one word describe this car… UGLY!!!

• ayamxxx on Apr 21, 2011 at 7:36 am

why its drop 1nm for the Torque??

• azrai on Apr 21, 2011 at 7:37 am

Good job by proton to dispose all of its Campro engine as soon as possible to make way for the new engine. Syabas DSZ!

• scgtimk1 on Apr 21, 2011 at 11:41 am

shh! shh!

Jangan sebut dlam bahasa inggeris nanti diaorang tau. sebut dlm BM.

lepas ni banyak lagi tech yang kita boleh ‘dispose’. hehehhe

• Campro to be disposed off?
      Is this “An Official Confession” that Campro is indeed a problematic engine?
      It’s about time.
      But what about the ‘other’ thousands Campro users bought by the “supportive” rakyat in Malaysia?
      In which they’re still locked down with 9 years super loan?
      They still have to deal with numerous quality issues?
      Those second hand Protong car dealer? Price will drop like hell.
      Are we going to tell them to boot their car at the nearest abandon mine and buy a new one?
      25 years of marvelous engineering, so “proud” of you Protong!

• azrai on Apr 22, 2011 at 11:26 am

It is not a bad engine. Disposed in this definition mean they can make profit from the current Campro engine by sending it to China, and make ways for Proton to come out with new engine fster than before.

• beatnik on Apr 21, 2011 at 8:13 am

Big LOTUS badge at the rear.. i want one.. LOL!

• flying without wings on Apr 21, 2011 at 8:35 am

wow !!.. its a good start for new player..

• squall_shinoda on Apr 21, 2011 at 8:45 am

The red engine cover has a Lotus nameplate instead of Proton.

• mmmmmmm on Apr 21, 2011 at 8:50 am

they sure luv their fake eggs…ups sorry i mean fake Gen 2

• Do you mean
      “Sure Malaysian love T Passo… end up get fake D Boon”

• mmmmmmm on Apr 21, 2011 at 12:02 pm

doesn’t matter la as long as they know and consented it is fake…….unlike the eggs

• HirumaKecil on Apr 21, 2011 at 10:34 pm

Unfortunately.. the passo is the original one.. So can u imagine what people in Japan is thinking right now.. Yup.. they just like us.. They see Malaysian just like Malaysian see Chinese(china)…… We called youngman fake egg.. so what u think japanese call Perodua? And to make it worst, P2 just change the headlamp and the bumper… also rims.. At least Chinese people do 3x more than that…

• 1Proton_Kayu on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:07 am

Lotus….This crap is a Lotus….!!! lol

• MouMouRen on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:07 am

If the Head light and the rear light apply to our Persona as facelift, myabe will look nicer. hehe Just my Opinion.. heheh

• faizulamin on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:07 am

why they don’t use PROTON emblem instead of LOTUS?
    i konw lotus is proton-owned. but to change the ownership from proton to lotus is something weird ya?

• Its not weird
      Its normal bro for branding purposes
      That is why Toyota have Lexus and Nissan have Infinity
      Nothing to do with who own what
      For example, Ferrari own by Fiat
      but they put Ferrari emblem on Ferrari product not Fiat emblem
      Same as VW own Audi, Lamborghini, Seat, Bugatti, Skoda…
      Welcome to the cross link OEM

• prolever on Apr 21, 2011 at 12:41 pm

maybe i think u don’t no much about automotive industy.. Right?..
      Before i answer ur question, why don’t just U ask the same question to Daihatsu, Toyota and of cause P2..
      Why don’t Just put Daihatsu boon name instate of P2 Myvee.. Or mybe Short Toyota Rush/ daihatsu terios instate of P2 Naught car..
      It’s just a basic automotive industri marketing.

• squall_shinoda on Apr 21, 2011 at 2:50 pm

It’s a normal practice in automotive history to use subsidiary’s brands instead of parent company’s brands. Honda, Toyota, even GM also use this kind of practice a lot. For example, even our FD Honda Civic is renamed as Acura CSX in Canada.

• littlefire on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:09 am

The rear lights design is nice.. But the front.. I think u need to redesign to win more customer…

• anti-first on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:34 am

the youngman guy does not look thrilled at all except for SZA.

• Edmond on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:39 am

Oversea Market always get the best! Even for Proton product.

Never mind, I din and won’t buy any product from Proton since 2 years ago. Fair enough!

• CamPor on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:59 am

i think just the front and rear lamp spoil the overall design…it shape quite nice…

• The Lotus nameplate should come with the Lotus logo as well and should be double the size.. also, I like the on-dash screen. The steering wheel could be fancier, they like fancy/tacky stuff, like a small display with buttons on it, and built-in satellite tv reciever or sumtn-sumtn. There should be more buttons on the dash, though, even if it doesn’t have any purpose, they like it like that.. there should be more LEDs all around the car too, at night it’ll look like an understated christmas tree..

• rickyll on Apr 21, 2011 at 10:17 am

Overall the car looks okay except the front grille. May be it suits the taste of the Chinese people. Syabas to Proton.

• oldcar on Apr 21, 2011 at 10:22 am

Other manufacturer were able to redesign our GEN2 to become a nice car. What proton could only do is to make a longer version called persona and only make minor changes.
    Same goes to naza…for many years rebadging kia only. No intention at all to redesign and make own product.
    I thk these two co have to follow youngman if they can’t follow honda.

• HAW-LOONG on Apr 21, 2011 at 10:26 am

aha

looks like the new persona replacement gonna based on this facelift.

• Hafidz on Apr 21, 2011 at 10:43 am

They use Lotus nameplate partly because when we sell something..we need Heritage to gain market impact and trust from people,its a A-Z marketing practice..if put Proton,people may wonder how far proton have that techno to build this car..even they are capable of? U know brand always play a role in sight decision?

As Danny Bahar Lotus Group says “In Motor industry there’s only 2 brand name which really have a heritage behind em, which none other than Ferrari and Lotus..”

But doesnt matter, in the end of the day..who’s making money the most after all isnt it? :P all the money flow back to the PROTON-LOYUS group anyway..

• ben yap on Apr 21, 2011 at 10:53 am

ugly exterior that makes the car look dated.

• go proton go..

• AhBeng on Apr 21, 2011 at 11:26 am

Lotus brand name is now total jeopardized.

• VoidDance on Apr 21, 2011 at 12:17 pm

Yeah… And to think that they still blame TF for that. This is even worse.

• Mayonaise on Apr 21, 2011 at 12:47 pm

How come Youngman’s L5 gets auto climate control and still selling it cheaper than local Gen2 selling price, and our local Gen2 doesn’t even offer it as an option?!

• sunday woo on Apr 21, 2011 at 1:54 pm

the finishing looks more refine.

• shiftSpank on Apr 21, 2011 at 2:06 pm

Why is it that a China automobile startup company can borrow our car design and do a better job in designing the steering wheel, central dash, gear knob, rear lights and rear quarter panels better than we can!?

• odi862 on Apr 21, 2011 at 2:10 pm

The Protons made locally are always inferior to the export version…….double standard. We have no choice but to buy it since they priced the cars at about most people can buy…..I’m sure there are not many repeated costumers. Not many are willing to be patriotic and be cheated….again. That’s including myself.

• blue ocean on Apr 21, 2011 at 3:02 pm

good for proton :)

• ProtonBuayaBesar on Apr 21, 2011 at 3:05 pm

Proton nih…ish…buaya je rakyat malaysia…jual orang murah-murah dan cantik,spec baik punya. kita kat malaysia beli mahal,spec pulak kualiti rendah banyak…Buaya tul… Lagi cakap proton tak protectionism… nih dah kira kes menganiayai bangsa malaysia.

• riderXDesign on Apr 21, 2011 at 4:48 pm

kena consider juga yg costing kat china tu mmg benar2 lagi murah dari sini, tgk spec dia bagi tu siap campro CPS lagi dan bawah rm50k dan ini adalah really2 major engineering dan bole di kira model baru 70%. market sana mmg berganda2 lagi besar, yearly car sales china dah brapa dah consider dgn yg local kita, so even vendor kat sana pun mampu berikan part2 yg lagi murah coz demand mmg tinggi. tak semudah itu perkiraan dlm bisnes jual kete ni. yup mmg ada unsur perlindungan tp adakah itu smpai tahap di kira rip-off? kalau nak marah jgn la pendek akal sgt, elok ko/korang marah sape di atas sebenarnya in the big picture… huhu :P

• salamsejahtera on Apr 21, 2011 at 9:20 pm

market besar tak semestinya harga dia murah….jgn lupa audi juga laris di china,tapi harga dia takder pun jual murah….semua nak civic atau corolla,takkan jual 50k?market pun besar jugak… ini terpulang kepada pentadbiran negara masing2. taiwan orang beli camry baru rm90k,sebab kerajaan dia tax rendah,tolong rakyat. thailand camry baru 120k,sebab kerajaan tolong rakyat. singapore jual 200k+,sebab dia tak menggalak beli kereta pasal kemudahan awam mereka teramat elok sistemnyer. Malaysia jual 150-180k,sebab tak tolong kita… habis duit kita dihisap oleh kerajaan,rakyat didahulukan kononnyer… ko tu la yang pendek akal,sebab ProtonBuayaBesar cakap benar…. jual je atau tutup proton,nescaya harga kereta kita akan turun banyak… PROTON,Pro potong orang tuh…

• aduss on Apr 22, 2011 at 3:13 pm

beli camry dengan 90k kata G tolong rakyat? kalau dah nk beli camry itu bukan satu kerpeluan tapi lebih kepada kehendak.. kelakar la.. setakat dapat beli kereta mewah dan kata G tolong rakyat beli kereta mewah?? waaa best nyer dunia mcm ni??

• kerelbort on Apr 21, 2011 at 4:33 pm

love hate relationship.. .we talk and comment why China man just come up with everything and still selling good..

who buy it? u guys la… turn ur ugly mouse over and see if there’s made in china badge..

good move for Proton to have some collaboration.. every LOTUS name used bring u money to pay your big loan [:P]

• Fazzurri on Apr 21, 2011 at 5:01 pm

ini barula platform sharing, YMan beli platform Proton then redesign n produce new one.. Design lain daripada origina.

Bukan macam Proton Inspira.. Kata platform sharing tp takat tukar badge je.. huhuhu

• squall_shinoda on Apr 21, 2011 at 6:22 pm

There is a valid reason behind this. Considering the huge market size in China, Youngman can come up with a number of designs based on the same Gen-2 / Persona platform and make money from them. Malaysian market is so small and almost completely saturated, so it is not so economical to come up with so many designs here, as it will take Proton forever to balik modal. Anyways, Proton are still making money from these Youngman designs, because they still need to pay royalties to Proton for the engine, platform and Lotus brand.

• Hafidz on Apr 21, 2011 at 6:46 pm

totally agree with you..like ive said in previous comments..we need volumes in order to make cheaper parts (in terms of mould) for cheaper cars..for example if Neo CPS with 500 moulds + materials (example) for all parts of car would cost rm1M ..beacuse can only produce 100,000 units in Malaysia..but in China? if they can comeup with 1,000,000 units of units with the same mould + materials..for sure each parts gonna cost cheaper after devided by volume units..

like 100,000 units of aircond button (Malaysia prouction) = RM0.30 (example) ..but in china…like 1,000,000 units of aircond button (MChina prouction) = RM0.03 (example) ..imagine how much cost can reduce by just estimate the volume?

• Hafidz on Apr 21, 2011 at 6:39 pm

bend over your body and look at roll bars and suspension setup..compare it with Inspira,totally different setup and better ride with Inspira..plus, open up your ears while in Inspira and Lancer..Inspira got better NVH ratings.. :)

• Correcto bro….looks like YMan getting better at it then Proton. I mean the overall scenario looks like YMan are aggressive in the design and getting the product out for the masses.

While Proton….wait and see policy still in affect?

Remind me of a car company in S.Korea back in 1986, started rebadging Mazda and now Hyundai are making great cars compared to their “old” partner.

• Danial Abd Talib on Apr 21, 2011 at 8:14 pm

nice… will it be into malaysia???

• aminlife on Apr 21, 2011 at 10:43 pm

wow….really make use of lotus brand .. even on engine cover? should do same trick here?

• waaaaaaaaalaaaaaaaooo on Apr 22, 2011 at 3:01 am

if u change the rear and the front lamp with p1 tuah concept…well the design 80% similar to p1 tuah.. O.O

• omanjedi on Apr 22, 2011 at 10:25 am

perfect example of Mainland China preferred design…I don’t know why but the design reminds me of the ancient Chinese war horses.

• lengthened wheelbase!! so much more comfortable.

• khylie on Apr 22, 2011 at 2:04 pm

since plotong in china did a better job,maybe plotong should move to china and bring the whole tax structure there too!!!and leaves us alone..

• nolan on Apr 23, 2011 at 10:48 am

design by Youngman….?….i thought it was design by Oldman…….so lame but i think it prettier than Gen2…..

• exterior : ugly..really ugly
    interior : pretty nice

• Weeleee on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:34 pm

Close Proton’s R&D center….

• blmguy on Apr 25, 2011 at 8:08 am

Guy,

look at it carefuly…compare these photos with the one so call proton tuah testing on the road. It is actually this car. Look at the side curve lines….Protonm actually change the side mirror to the current Proton Persona facelift and front bumper. The one testing on the road is not the actual Persona Tuah aka Proton Persona R..it is this car

• I like the interior. Check out that LCD Screen!
    Hope this could be an eye opener for our local car company. Who knows maybe in the future we have the B-line, M-line, H-line, and a new SUPPED-UP-INTERIOR-line :D