Nissan Lafesta based on Mazda Premacy teased online

Nissan Japan has put up a teaser page of their new Nissan Lafesta on their webpage. This new Lafesta is essentially a rebadged Mazda 5, known as the Mazda Premacy in Japan.

It actually looks pretty good – even better than the original in fact, since Nissan has elected to remove those wavy lines at the side of the original Mazda 5. No specs yet but we think the engine will be one and the same as the Mazda, as there would be no point to reengineer the MPV to accept a Nissan engine.

Look after the jump for the rest of the teaser pix.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2203]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jason on Apr 23, 2011 at 3:55 pm

I wonder when it will come to Malaysia and replace the aged old Serena. We really need a good spacious MPV with price level like Serena. :)

• sagatron on Apr 23, 2011 at 8:28 pm

even the big company rebadging others car…lame…

• 4g63tdsm on Apr 23, 2011 at 10:27 pm

if RHD demand for these large MPVs are decent, I’m sure Nissan can re-engineer the LHD Quest which I think would be better than the Alphad-van-like Serena recently launched a few months ago. Since the Quest is a direct competitor to the sienna and estima, it would probably be popular here.

The Mazda 5 can hardly be called spacious.

• cyful on Apr 25, 2011 at 11:59 am

its just rebadge of mazda5… go get mazda5

• Errm…. why Nissan rebadging Mazda??

• haaaaa inspira haters can u bash nissan now?

• aspire on Apr 23, 2011 at 5:07 pm

atleast Nissan did a facelite of this rebadge Mazda Premacy rather than just change the badge

prffttttt….

• tokmoh on Apr 23, 2011 at 6:39 pm

Haters gonna hate…

At least proton improve its gearbox cooling, give Lotus handling and change bumper design.

prrrffffttt

• noname on Apr 23, 2011 at 7:31 pm

but when perodua made facelift, still people say something bout that… hahaha.. haters are always haters…

• the point still the same : REBADGING!!..no matter give such a facelift or whatever they still rebadge the car..don’t be such a blind commentor!..

• BeemerFreak on Apr 23, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Why does Tan Chong not sell it here in malaysia? Both the Lafesta and the Presage is available to singapore by TC Singapore. Yet and again they should just launch whatever car they feel feasible here and let consumers decide. Not wait until other peopel become successful and follow. Peugeot and BMW are the best, give every model in the range then let the consumers decide.

• TallPan on Apr 23, 2011 at 5:53 pm

cos they’re Tan Chong. just look at how long Sentra sold. still selling. Shameful.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 23, 2011 at 9:12 pm

agreed. Too bad Tan Chong Singapore and Tan Chong Malaysia are not headed by the same man. SG also happen to have the R35 GTR officially imported by tan chong.

• 4g63tdsm on Apr 23, 2011 at 10:38 pm

Sentra still selling because ppl still buying.

As spacious the Latio sedan is, not everyone can accept the rather odd-ball look. The Latio Sport/versa is much better proportioned but people don’t like hatches here.

Still leaves a rather big product range gap. I mean, some people would still pay slightly more for a 1.6 Sentra than the slightly bigger but equally long in the tooth Waja.

• Nicer than Mazda5

• berombon on Apr 24, 2011 at 5:50 pm

in what way? it is practically the same car – the only changes that I see is the grill and the side panels….

• Sahipul on Apr 23, 2011 at 5:13 pm

ETC Nissan, please bring this model to Malaysia!!! =)

• khairulx19a on Apr 23, 2011 at 5:25 pm

mazda 5 with different name and different front grill….

• kelah on Apr 23, 2011 at 5:46 pm

looks better without the mazda front ‘smile’

• Thrust on Apr 23, 2011 at 6:41 pm

Seriously, it does indeed looks better than the original Premacy. Good job NISSAN!!! Now if only they could drop in a NISSAN engine into it. NISSAN engines are smooth as silk.

• Dipak on Apr 23, 2011 at 7:17 pm

Lafesta? Where do the japs come up with these names?

• Dipak on Apr 23, 2011 at 7:19 pm

If there’s a proton badged version, we can always call it Infesta

• Nissan fans on Apr 23, 2011 at 8:20 pm

Very nice. Pls sell in Malaysia with reasonable price…should cheaper than Mazda 5.

• teelim on Apr 23, 2011 at 11:12 pm

would be good if they assemble it locally

• berombon on Apr 24, 2011 at 5:52 pm

err I dont think so, even Mazda is not assemblying the mazda5 locally…too small a market for this mpv at this price range…it is a mazda after all la…

• dannyl77 on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:37 am

I was just checking out http://www.nissan.co.jp for the teaser page of their new Nissan Lafesta as mention… but cant seems to find the Teaser ….

But as i was going through theri Product line-up page , i cant seems to find LIVINA or GRAND LIVINA model on their Website ….
    Anyone know why ? is it because they don’t sell this model in Japan ?

• dannyl77 on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:46 am

Sorry Me , Found it already ( LIVINA / GRAND LIVINA ) … its call NOTE …… hehehe :D
    But still How Come no GRAND NOTE in their Website, Maybe they don’t put the variant model ??..

Anyhow , Nice Nissan Lafesta … But will they launch it Here ? If so …. Would u buy a MAZDA or NISSAN ? hehehe……. then when Service , go where , MAZDA SC or NISSAN SC…. hahaha… but dont think it will be coming to Malaysia because of MAZDA 5 existence here ….

However I really look forward to GRAND LIVINA’S replacement … :D

• go Mazda or Nissan will do, “This mean more service center u can go”. Example here don’t have Original Mazda Service Center but got Nissan. Mazda is not very popular here, most ppl don’t dare to buy it. Can hardly c new Mazda on road. If P1 re badged it better!!! Just go P1 Service Center Wakaka…

• dannylee77 on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:27 am

Oh, Mazda dont have their Original Service center ar… Didn’t Know about that , So they have to go to The Authorised Agent la……
        & yar , i agree , Mazda used to be a bit rare… But Now after they launch the CKD version with 3 Years Free Maintenance , i think we will see more & more Mazda on the Road + Maybe they will have their Original SC soon… :D

• BadBET on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:58 am

haha… even the mighty Nissan creator of GTR practicing ‘rebadging”, and even proton haters can accept that as normal practice. But the comment are totally different when it come to Proton as I read the “Proton give Lee Chong Wei Inspira”. I wonder what people will say IF Nissan and Proton re badged the same Mazda, with same spec and supplier. Im stick to Paultan just to read those comment, it is funny.

• if P1 re badged it & sell it at affordable price, who cares about the basher… Just buy it, P1 “Nissan & Mazda”…

• berombon on Apr 24, 2011 at 5:43 pm

If I am not mistaken, I read somewhere that this Nissan rebadged Mazda5 will only be sold in Japan. Secondly, I don’t think that it will ever appear in here…except through grey importers la…The car is practically a Mazda5 except the front grill and the side panels. So even if it makes its appearence here, dont dream la that it is going to be cheaper than the mazda5….haiyoo..some people really have wierd dreams la…

• SoMeOnE on Apr 24, 2011 at 7:33 pm

rebadging is popular in Japan…there are tons and tons of models that are shared by the manufacturers to plug gaps in the product line..so this is not suprising….Mazda or Nissan..its a decent mpv if ur in the market for one…

as for tan chong…i dun think its worth it for them to bring in the gtr or something because the taxes will kill it….there are only a certain number of people that are in the high income group..and people in this group tend to go for continental cars ..its obvious just by looking at the roads..it does not make economic sense prepping up thier aftersales network etc just to sell 60 units a year…most performance cars on our roads are refurbished imports and despite that..the prices are still crazy….until the market opens up our choices wont be vast as our storied neighbours to the south or the north…

• so.. what is the problem with rebadged.?? hahahahahahahahahah

• BoB KlaTe on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:03 pm

nissan based on mazda????..hahahaha…..
    please stop talking about proton-mitsubishi…..