Proton Exora Hybrid to arrive into the market in 2012?

If you’ve been waiting for the Proton Exora Hybrid to enter the market, some positive news then – the vehicle might be introduced next year, if everything goes according to plan. According to reports, Proton’s managing director Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin said that the Exora Hybrid is undergoing testing validation in the United Kingdom, which is expected to be completed in two weeks.

Proton will then get the approval to produce the hybrid MPV after it obtains final certification from the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS). As for its introduction into the market, Syed Zainal hinted that the vehicle would arrive sometime in 2012. “We hope the car goes to the public by next year,” he said.

Development of the Exora Hybrid began in the UK in 2009, and in November last year, fresh from bagging the “Best Range Extender EV” award at the Royal Automobile Club (RAC) Future Car Challenge event held in London, we drove the Exora Hybrid here in its REEV form. How much of this one will translate into the series production product remains to be seen.

Elsewhere, the company says it is confident of surviving in a fully liberalised market, and was prepared to face challenges when the planned liberalisation of the domestic automotive industry comes into play by 2016.

Proton has been prepared for this for a long time, according to Syed Zainal. “We have a five-year journey and whatever we do, we must make sure the cars become cheaper and its product design and quality get better,’ he said last week.

The company’s current restructuring exercise, which should be completed later this year once it is approved by the board and shareholders, is in line with the company’s direction heading towards 2016.

“We want the company to be more flexible and focus on whatever they do. We have the breadth but not the depth. We want to be better in the way we design, manufacture, sell and distribute our cars,” he stated, and the restructuring would obviously streamline many things and add focus, going forward.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• OMG 2016! Hope there won’t be an extension. I’m willing to hold on to my rustbucket until then.. hahah

• If Saudi Arabia sold Pesona at RM35K then Exora Hybrid tentatively:

Saudi Arabia – RM45,758.26
    BolehLand – RM90,000.00 + +

• That because of tax la not proton !!!

• mrsham on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:26 pm

Are U sure ? Or just your 20sen comment.

• Rm90000 is kinda expensive for 1.6 national car but if it’s powerful, reliable then Okla. Don’t la after warranty repair the hybrid cost 10K.
        Anyway, i hope proton is really testing their car. Longer a bit also nevermind. Make sure to test Kao Kao as this is proton first hybrid car.

• Protong has been “testing” their cars for the past 25 freaking years.

Perhaps another 25 years will give that “Kao Kao” quality we asked for.

Then again, who’s waiting?

Hahaha.

• autojohndoe on Apr 26, 2011 at 9:57 am

YOU ARE WAITING…

if not, why bother reading this post…

• MoFaz on Apr 26, 2011 at 10:12 am

now your ‘power window’ issue is history and proton is giving lifetime warranty for power windows. what’s your next issue mr perodua salesman?
            syoh syoh.. pegi la main jauh jauh..

• BUMIPUTRA on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:49 pm

Proton does sell it’s cars overseas with predatory pricing to remain competitive there. But it isn’t doing well due to perceived quality and image. How they cope with the loss? Selling it at a steeper price in our homeland.

• MoFaz on Apr 26, 2011 at 10:10 am

stooooopid…
          price of proton cars in australia is similar to our price in malaysia.
          it’s only cheaper in Saudi because there’s no tax in Saudi. you can compare that to proton price in langkawi.

• Prismo on Apr 25, 2011 at 2:31 pm

Persona in SG $83,999. Then how?

• hantu on Apr 25, 2011 at 7:14 pm

Plus COE ma…

Now you must see it when Proton Car in open market price!

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/buy_a_new_vehicle/car_cost.MainPar.0047.File.tmp/Car_Cost_Update.pdf

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Apr 25, 2011 at 8:37 pm

Exora without COE is 63,000 Sing Dollar,which is about RM 152,926.95.
          Then how?

• redboy on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:00 pm

thats why no people buy Exora in SG la…

• halfclutch on Apr 29, 2011 at 4:40 pm

Quite a few people buy Exora in Singapore

• There’s an economic term to tell the difference between “Expensive” and “Cheap” in relative to each country we are staying. Simply converting the price of an item; say a car from AUS to RM is NOT accurate and could be very MISLEADING.

For example;
            A fresh graduate Engineer in Australia will easily get average starting salary between AUS 3800/month to AUS 4500/month.

Meanwhile;
            A fresh graduate Engineer in Malaysia however, will only get average starting salary between RM1500/month to RM2200/month.

AN IDIOT @ economic ‘expert’ (as shown above) will try to convert SGD 63,000 to RM152,000 easily to create a “false” impression to the Rakyat that our cars are cheaper than overseas. But think again, with a better salary to combat the inflation and increase cost of living, nobody would complained.

Funny thing is, with this “converting RM to foreign Exchange Rate” nobody ever argued on converting the salary those Foreigners are making versus the salary our Local workers are having. Most of the foreigners/expatriate working in Malaysia are making 5 figure and even 6 figure salary on monthly basis!

So when we talked about “Car Price” please INCLUDE the “EXPOSURE RATE” of an average Malaysian worker (say an executive with a bach degree) with a BolehLand salary, and we will notice there’s a pattern; an average Malaysian will spend 33% to 50% of his/her salary on car installment alone!

Another misleading example;

Remember, everytime “harga Minyak Naik”, our BolehLand government always compare our Oil price with Non-oil producer country like Singapore. Funny thing is, BolehLand government will never ever compare the Oil price of an Oil-producer country such the like of Brunei and Saudi Arabia (although Malaysia is an Oil-producer country).

Somebody up there are very very misleading. :P

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Apr 26, 2011 at 7:58 am

So,people in the United States earn more than Singaporean,but still car is cheaper in the United States than in Singapore.Just accept the facts that car is expensive in Malaysia and Singapore,Thailand also put heavy tax on imported cars.Probably same goes with Indonesia.
            Don’t care how much Singaporean earn.Car will always be expensive in Malaysia no matter who control the leadership.
            Malaysia is an oil-producer country,yes you’re right
            There’s probably the same amount of people in both Malaysia and Saudi Arabia,but Saudi Arabia produce more oil than our country.
            Don’t you think that the tax that our major oil company paid didn’t go back to us.It’s not that I’m supporting current government,but by ‘looking’ at the opposition,I don’t trust ’em

• MoFaz on Apr 26, 2011 at 10:38 am

syoh, to compare oil price in saudi and malaysia is very misleading too. saudi is no 1 exporter while malaysia is somewhere between 20th-30th. and the fact is, malaysia also imports oil while saudi only exports.

you can compare oil price between malaysia and russia. russia is now no 1 oil producer (10 million barrels per day) and their exports is about 5mil barrels daily (2nd after Saudi). Malaysia only exports 500k barrels. petrol pump price in russia is about US$1 or RM3 per litter. why their price is almost double our pump price even though they exports 10 times more than Malaysia???
            think, think, think! that’s what your brain is for!

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Apr 25, 2011 at 8:46 pm

Wish without COE is still more expensive there compare to Exora.The only cheaper MPVs is Suzuki APV(62K Sg Dollar without COE),but you know how outdated the APV is.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 25, 2011 at 9:41 pm

I wouldnt trade an Exora for a APV. Not even and Inova. At least Proton is up to date and has a more tasteful design. The other 2 cars plain suck

• Prismo on Apr 25, 2011 at 9:52 pm

Ajaw comparing between Saudi Arabia VS Malaysia, open and protected market. Then how?

• TFazuin on Apr 26, 2011 at 1:56 pm

Ello Brother,

Malaysia oil cost much more to produce ok, we are also known globally as a premium brand oil producer, that’s where you get Tapis Blend. Cost per barrel of oil extraction in UAE, and Sudan is less than USD0.50/barrel, over here you need now deep water oil rigs, HTHP wells and an FPSO, you can’t pipe the oil because of the distance to mainland. Our cost of products if include an FPSO is USD30-35/barrel. These all adds costs, but you’re getting a premium price for it.

• HirumaKecil on Apr 25, 2011 at 2:54 pm

keep repeating the same issue.. many people explain countless times alredy but still…. haia….

• aduss on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:41 pm

mungkin persona Saudi Arabia dibuat CKD kilang di iran kot?

• TFazuin on Apr 26, 2011 at 2:04 pm

It should fall within the same price range of current Exora or cheaper.

• ericmaxman on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:22 pm

do implement the hybrid/range extender into other proton cars as well. if it works well, it could very well step ahead of P2, which doesnt have any hybrids. yet

• Org Malaysia on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:23 pm

Best of lucks Proton.

• mrsham on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:24 pm

Best of lucks Proton.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:26 pm

Where is the Exora CFE Turbo? they were they ones saying during KLIMS ’10 that it will be launched late march. Now it is into May already. Come on Proton, show us the real deal. Thats the future

• maman on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:36 pm

exora turbo coming out in june

• theking on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:53 pm

BeemerFreak says:
      25/4/2011 at 1:26 pm
      Where is the Exora CFE Turbo? they were they ones saying during KLIMS ’10 that it will be launched late march. Now it is into May already. Come on Proton, show us the real deal. Thats the future. June 2011.

• mfahd_88 on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:28 pm

hopefully it will get some refreshment,especially their interior if it is out in 2012.

• Gavin on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:40 pm

Diesel please, hybrids are a waste of time

• mnazri.tan on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:38 pm

agreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeed

• blabla on Apr 25, 2011 at 7:30 pm

later europe also dont wanna use diesel…why we still want diesel?

• Europe is very popular for using diesel than petrol.. the diesel engine is ~20-40% more efficient than petrol engine and having almost same level of CO2 mission..

But of course they are using Euro 5/6 diesel while we just introducing the all new Euro 2 diesel..

• blabla on Apr 26, 2011 at 2:16 pm

macha..yes now popula la…they already set a target(which i dont remember the year) that they will not have any petrol/diesel/gas vehicle on their road. don’t u read a news???

• haha… yes, i did read news..
            as u said, is “target” or “planning” only..

we also target “wawasan 2020”, so do u think that our target can achieve??? =(

• Surviving in a fully liberalised market = no more government protection? All the best Proton.

• MoFaz on Apr 26, 2011 at 10:41 am

you should say, GOOD LUCK to Perodua… any export so far?

• lepanther on Nov 08, 2011 at 11:04 pm

Perodua is Toyota’s subsidiary. Perodua is another company for Toyota to market their car models in Malaysia. C’mon, get a perspective la. Why we need Toyota/Perodua then? Export? Hahaha, go do some study first. Who is making the Perodua cars now? Who’s technology? Japan’s technology. When you guys going to learn to be on par with Japanese engineers ah? Never! Thanks to M’sia govt.

• optional teringin nak memiliki hybrid nih jimat sangat , hope gomen bg reduce tax tok hybrid nih.. sapa beli leh dapat tax kurang tok kete lain haha.. ok tak idea nih 1 hbrid proton n u dapat diskaun 20% ke untuk tax kete lain<<< :) joking ok

• aiyoo proton, so many statement in a week laa…. turbo oso still not out, now talk about hybrid. need to show more rather than talk, otherwise you shoot yourself on foot woo…

oso statement like “Proton has been prepared for this for a long time… ” not good woo.. thats boasting. Just came out with power window warranty does not make it ready to compete with the world. Where is emas? where is new engine? where proton in india, russia, eastern europe?.. middle east oso not that well. Lotus just made proton in debt for billions… keep that word for 2015, if proton and lotus at that time doing well, then can say that. for now just enjoy the protection bro!

• The faster the better..go Proton. Shut up basher :D

• Tengokje.. on Apr 25, 2011 at 2:12 pm

Hope P1 will success for their upcoming Exora Hybrid. If succeed, than can extend it to other models. Salam…

• udasalleh on Apr 26, 2011 at 12:52 pm

yeah… i feel the exora is too ‘pakcik-makcik’ for me… i’m eagerly waiting for the P1 crossover n perhaps with an ev+extender. Wishful thinking here. Pls DSZ… hope u’re reading this.

• we gotta support our homemade stuff sometimes although there are far more better ones from other countries… See where the Koreans stood now??

• u must be using the CSL handphone instead of iphone, blackberry, samsung, SE, nokia and etc.. =P

• Nazri on Apr 25, 2011 at 5:44 pm

lol i gave up on proton a long time ago

• udasalleh on Apr 26, 2011 at 12:57 pm

and yet u eagerly read all P1 news and join in the forums. go figure.

• TFazuin on Apr 26, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Dude,

My first car when I made my first salary was a Proton. 13 years on, working in a MNC Oil company I bought one as a gift tto my mum as I find that it has improved leap and bounds in quality and design. People like me have options to trade up, and yet we bought one for ourselves. Most of my friends thought they make better than average still has a unit of Proton at home.

• Tan Kok Leong on Apr 25, 2011 at 6:24 pm

Any latest photos of the exora turbo? I am eagerly waiting to change my avanza 1.5 for this baby.

• Me nie on Apr 25, 2011 at 7:49 pm

200 will MP in july…but only 6% will in domestic market…

• ahmad on Apr 25, 2011 at 8:18 pm

sorry no confidence in proton’s any new model. worry the battery explode or the car burn.

• Battery explode nevermind

Car burn also nevermind

can be replaced

But the lift that they cost cannot be replaced :(

• Ahmad on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:13 pm

Nice & Timely, hope got Persona REEV or Saga REEV…… how about Inspira REEV?

• savetheplanet on Apr 25, 2011 at 11:40 pm

learn how to walk properly first before learn to fly… if want to develop hybrid, should develop the better selling local made sedan model liker persona (ehh maybe inspira) … people driving MPV less concern on fuel…

• kokopai on Apr 26, 2011 at 8:02 am

they’ve crawled, walked an ran in the past 25 years. Isn’t that enough? Let them fly

• biggie on Apr 26, 2011 at 8:38 am

car price here is expensive due to taxes, any body who bother to study on our tax rate will do so. you can compare prices of Proton cars elsewhere and you will find that the base price is almost the same, but tax for each country make the sale price different. Some here simply bash but no effort to study the situation.

The starting pay for fresh graduate now is the same as the starting pay when 1st Proton roll out in 1985. Whilst Proton prices have changes due to inflation, raw material price etc. the fresh grad pay remain more or less the same. So how to compare?

Btw price for hybrid is without tax, so if you don’t want to contribute to govt coffers then go ahead and buy one, put yourself in the queu. Unless you want the govt to subsidise the car price, like it does for sugar, petrol etc. – since this is our mentality.

• Still waiting for Exora turbo?Any Info???

• destop on Apr 26, 2011 at 10:33 am

great. proton really moving forward

• Calvin Foo on Apr 26, 2011 at 3:29 pm

I saw a new Honda Civic Hybrid on the road in Penang with the number plate PJX4321 (Currently Penang plate running until PKB)

If Honda Malaysia is not bringing in Civic Hybrid, how is this happening?

• ezracopters on Apr 26, 2011 at 3:47 pm

well.. dont care much bout the hybrid.. less on fuel cost, higher on mechanical maintenance. same as well.. some PETAish-power might say save the planet bla bla, well i think even if we the end consumer using hybrid to the max pun, still the whole plants, industrial wasted etc all over the globe keep pollute the world. The world & power that be (developed nation) genuinely only gonna change when we had some sort of global catastrophe. until then, “ohh Japan strike by tsunami, too bad..im sorry for em..hmm so u were saying??”

the same thing goes to developed countries. they went on to summit, decide they have/gonna reduce percentage of their carbon produce, while at the same time they went on to under developed nation, using their proxy/agent/activist group..lobbying, asking and buying their carbon produce quota. so those rich can keep on rich-ing and the poor become poorer.. at the end this is all business, and we’re being puppet!!

but i do care bout the design and reliability. Exora should be build with more curvy line.. give it some character. the chassis is good, but the whole exterior look pretty bored and ‘ah-so’..whilsh the interior although look spacious, yet with the weather like Malaysia, especially on the noon.. i think darker interior suit us more.. easy on eyes.

• they already change interior color to dark one in exora mc1. Even change the centre console trim n add bodykits to the mc1 exora. I think u shud revisit proton show room.

• still any news on proton turbo?

• my empathy to the GUI – its really bugging me..

• lepanther on Nov 08, 2011 at 10:36 pm

Keep your money for something better la if you are going to waste it on Proton. Proton will be just a badge company. Last time it was Japan’s technology. Now, it is going to be German’s technology with Proton badge on top of it. Hahaha….

• Halim on May 29, 2012 at 1:27 pm

For those who like to ‘kipas’ proton, I only can suggest please try to test other car and judge urself. proton car is 5 to 10 years left behind. i always keep my word proton only give headache to all malaysian. the imported car goes expensive bcos of proton. no benefit of proton except waste our money. lagi cepat bungkus lagi bagus. i hate proton car arghhh!!!