SPIED! Ford Fiesta “XTR Sapphire” edition – stripes, bodykit, blue interior, 7 airbags, coming in two months!

For a car that’s doesn’t wear a national or Japanese badge, the Ford Fiesta has created quite some buzz in the market, thanks to cool design, good specs and attractive pricing. Cool as it is, there will always be some who want to stand out further, and some owners have already started customising their rides.

Auto ConneXion knows there’s a demand, and will launch a special “XTR Sapphire” edition of the Fiesta soon. According to sources, it should be made public in about two months from now, but we’ve caught it on cam already!

Pardon the image quality and the fact that we only have two pics (guards were nearby!), but we’ll walk you through what we saw. The XTR gets a full bodykit, which includes a front chin spoiler, side skirts and a rear bumper with diffuser. The latter is in grey.

Twin stripes run the length of the Fiesta – one grey, one white – on this blue car (we also saw a hot looking white example pass by, that’s the other colour offered). Not just that, but there’s a side decal that runs the outline of both rear doors. It’s also in grey/white and has the word “Sapphire” on it.

The cabin is dominated by blue as well (this pic is of a Thai showcar). The dashboard is in blue, matched with blue door cards and and blue/black seats. Sporty and unique, but not for everyone. Just as well, because not everyone will be able to get their hands on one, as we hear that they’re planning for “around 200 units” of the XTR, which makes it a limited edition.

Besides the visual changes in and out, we also hear that the XTR Sapphire will come with seven airbags, five more than the standard two. The rumoured RM6,000 premium over the top spec Fiesta 1.6 Sport sounds like a good deal too!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Tak suka B.N. on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:21 pm

Blue like chervolet cruze. But, anyway better than Inspira a lot!!

• ericmaxman on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:25 pm

auto again? make it manual pls ><

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 25, 2011 at 5:48 pm

Same here. Planned to buy the 1.4M of Fiesta, but after comparing with the features of 1.6 Auto, not worth it, feeling like cheated if I buy the 1.4. To have the Fiesta like the one used by Jeremy Clarkson in Topgear (metallic green, manual shifter) is like a dream in Bolehland…

• Makky on Apr 25, 2011 at 6:50 pm

I also feel same way, I want to buy a 1.6 sport manual of Fiesta. End up getting City E. Car company in Malaysia too focus on auto version. For those brand got a bad name in Auto tranny should put more afford on manual tranny to have less complaint after sales~~~ Also hopefully Sime Darby guy can produce manual tranny for future ECO-boost version of Fiesta~~~

• lalazhai on Apr 26, 2011 at 7:44 am

so,city E is not auto? how ironic

• I don’t see your relevant points against auto Ford Fiesta. It’s like you’re trying to gain readers’ support in buying a City.

• City bukan auto meh? I thought it is highly promoted again and again that it has 5 speed automatic in the newspapers?

• rapidshifter on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:27 pm

looking great this fiesta… hopefully there will be power increased as well… a little bit more torque or hp or both

• speedywinger on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:34 pm

Nice!! is there a reason why the stripes are different colours?? noobie here..

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 25, 2011 at 4:06 pm

No reason other than to make it look truly unique I guess, since stripes are normally in one colour.

• Ramesh on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:36 pm

What is the use of all these new cars? Existing Ford cars also got such bad service.

My 2010 Ford Focus side mirror kena langgar motor, Ford took nearly 3 months to replace the part.
    Its not even a complicated part. Side mirror most common part to be banged by motorcyclist in Malaysia. No point launching new cars when you cannot even keep parts. My Honda side mirror was smashed, it was repaired in 2 hours lah!

Compare 2 hours to 3 months.

• Simple logic: Shops wont keep a lot of stock for items in the market where demand for it is very low. Just Compare no of Honda User vs Ford User and u’ll see why it is easier to find replacement parts for Honda.

Same also like other rare cars like supercars, do you expect the retailers here to keep stock for its replacement parts…?

• FelixC on Apr 25, 2011 at 6:06 pm

Pathetic Honda salesman, what do you expect?

• bro don’t think the service center will help you in everything, even a simple rear arm bush i have to get it from singapore, its cheaper and fast.

• Ferrari can get parts anytime. Naza got stock always. My kaki got Ferrari, anytime can replace any parts. What rare you talking? Talk nonsense?? Porsche also got parts all the time, if not, Ultra Tune can get within 3 days. But I hardly see as many Porsche and Ferrari compared to Ford.

So many Focus on the road. 1 week wait is understandable. But more than 1 month, that is too much.

• why ur side mirror always kena lannggar??? Kena langgar??? or Langgar Tiang Rumah Sendiri??? Is ur driving skill problem or motor driver problem???

• lalazhai on Apr 25, 2011 at 9:36 pm

all the ford fiesta fanboy. lol.

3 years later, tell me again how good is autoconnection.

lol. sime darby company, what can you expect? GLC you know?

• That doesn’t hinders people from owning a Ferrari where gearbox needs 6 months to arrive. Simple logic meh…

• gemuk on Apr 26, 2011 at 10:10 pm

no wonder side mirror was replaced within 2 hour… you are driving honda ex-5

• MouMouRen on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:44 pm

Huhuh, nice color!!!!! THumps up FORD..

• VW_fans on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:48 pm

Should pump in more hp, then even better!!!! Cosmetics wise, just afraid after launch, XTR wannabes will copy & paste onto their Fiesta.

• Samurai Malaya on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:49 pm

Nice exterior at first glance…but the bluish interior reminds me green interior Wira some years back.. Maybe darker shade of blue interior looks more classy & sporty.

• looks good! but…blue dashboard?

• I prefer black dashboard so that it wont have any reflection on the windscreen. I find it very disturbing/distracting (to my vision) to have reflections on the windscreen.

• insperut on Apr 26, 2011 at 9:49 am

yeah… blue dash is turn me off :(

• clutch basah on Apr 25, 2011 at 4:07 pm

This over the overpriced Jazz and boring Polo anytime. Love the racing stripes and cool interior.

• fordlover on Apr 25, 2011 at 4:07 pm

i can’t see the front! anything different at the front

• Blue interior Yucks :-(

Those seat look like can get it from Brother Accessories Shop.

Typical Ah Beng Car.

• Fiesta fan on Apr 25, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Manual Please!!!!! Since Ford don’t include manual overide on the powershift…

• kakeru tester on Apr 25, 2011 at 4:36 pm

headlamp made in malaysia…:)

• Bring in the 1.6 manual and we’ll talk business

• Mr Wancer on Apr 25, 2011 at 5:08 pm

If only got 1.6 manual, i will seriously consider getting this car…

• Being a manual tranny guy, I’d love to own one. My daily commute car is still manual while my wife’s an auto. Despite traffic jam whatsoever, I still love manual tranny. :)

• BeemerFreak on Apr 25, 2011 at 5:19 pm

No tune in the engine? Man the chasis could really use a turbocharger. Somewhere near the cooper s 184bhp power band would be a smoking hot proposition.

• seancorr on Apr 25, 2011 at 5:19 pm

The interior is a no no. Exterior wise ok but it doesnt have the engine to put up with its aggressive looks!

• SoMeOnE on Apr 25, 2011 at 5:40 pm

if they could package this with mountune upgrades like they do in the uk it be quite a car….say a 12 k -15k increase over the the top spec with 25-30 hp bump and a rorty exhaust….that be quite a fiesta i must say….. a pocket rocket of sorts….. it is obvious the local market prefers more show then go though….oh well…..

• Kumar san on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:46 am

Agreed there with you dude,the Montune engine tuning kit with 30hp increase..

A lovely sounding exhaust,lowered suspension,corners like it’s on rails..

Wild paintjob..manual transmission..it is a pocket rocket of sorts..

Visited my youngest brother in England recently and he has a Montune Fiesta..

Pelted it hard like there was no tomorrow down a backroad..

It as ABSOLUTE hoot to drive..lovely little car..Sime Darby should bring in the Montune kit..

Cheers.

• Downs on Apr 25, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Danny,
    Any difference in terms of specs for this model? or is it all just superficial?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 25, 2011 at 11:03 pm

Other than the things mentioned in the story, same specs as 1.6 Sport

• tokmoh on Apr 25, 2011 at 6:16 pm

Waa… nice!! Haven’t seen much cars with blue interior since the original saga (including one that I drive)!

• I would prefer black interior than blue. That blue is so striking, really hurt my eyes a bit. Just some stripes of blue would do, in my opinion.

• Car Driver on Apr 25, 2011 at 6:33 pm

Love the car and especially the voice control. However saw one such Fiesta some time back and I pity those guys fighting for space at the back of the car. Very cramped indeed.

• Naz@AE111 on Apr 25, 2011 at 7:16 pm

adoi.. its very tempting to see this… gonna have to buy this when launched soon..

• Maserati on Apr 25, 2011 at 7:24 pm

the blue interior is hideous,can they just make it black so it will look more sporty ?

• BeemerFreak on Apr 26, 2011 at 9:02 am

beauty is in the eye of the beholder….. everyone thinks differently

• yeah, now I know why we don’t see many blue interior like this.. because it’s hideous?

• aminlife on Apr 25, 2011 at 8:14 pm

this car parked location familiar… auto connexion near federal highway.. ? BTW nice

• Turbo Please!!!

• Nice car….but why XTR? That’s a knockoff from the Shimano XTR group set for mountain biking!

• Joshua on Apr 25, 2011 at 9:35 pm

Fiesta again! So boring la this car overrated car only 1.6cc what this car can do? add some more RM5,000 you can get Kia Forte 2.0. Go get KIA FORTE NOW!

• Mr Wancer on Apr 26, 2011 at 2:34 am

Different segment la my friend…

Those who buys Fiesta obviously is either a Ford fanboy or prefer performance over luxury.

With minimal chassis mod and BETTER tyres, can pek corners like pro already :)

• Fiesta fan on Apr 26, 2011 at 12:22 pm

Hmmm….Forte salesman?

• Seriously on Apr 26, 2011 at 6:30 pm

your car’s radio doesn’t have bluetooth sync feature, voice control, no dualclutch shift, EBD, TCS, no bucket themed seats, no easy capless fueling, side mirrors cant be folded and the fiesta probably will eat you at corners :)

• My wife loves Fiesta 100x more than your Forte… what can I say…
      Forte is more like a family car.. and this car suitable for home-office.. or outing car for ladies…
      This car has its own niche market.. beside those Ford fanboy.. it’ll also take away some Swift & Jazz prospects – like my wife.

• FORTE the new myvi.just wait till you confuse ur car with ur neighbor.

• droll on Apr 25, 2011 at 9:48 pm

they should offer the 155ps mountune kit lah. ford uk still gives warranty for that kit. sigh.

• Ash Menon on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:33 pm

I’m somewhat in love with the Fiesta, but I’m seeing more and more horror stories cropping up on their Facebook pages. Mostly to do with the after sales. Is it really that hard for SDAC to get their shit together and provide decent after-sales service?

• shawal on Apr 26, 2011 at 12:11 am

If you can’t go fast, look fast, and those airbags will come good during turbulent times…

• bktay on Apr 26, 2011 at 1:02 am

oh man ~~~ good news ~~~ hopefully have another colours ~~~ I like white colour blue stripes ~~~

• mazda fan on Apr 26, 2011 at 8:52 am

cheap looking interior

• 98tecknik89 on Apr 26, 2011 at 9:13 am

no front view shot?

• naim jonn on Apr 26, 2011 at 10:24 am

nice nos of airbags… this pocket rocket will definitely sell well..

• Is Ford doing well in Malaysia market ?

• squawk on Apr 26, 2011 at 12:02 pm

I was interested in the Fiesta so I went to test drive the 1.6 Sport. Good handling but sorely disappointed with the gb. Its logic is too fuzzy for my liking. Maybe I got a bad test drive unit but SA says that’s how the gb is. Paul & gang, did you notice that on your test drive?

FYI I also tested the Focus after that and the gb is a lot better behaved. But my preference is still manual.

• Seriously on Apr 26, 2011 at 6:32 pm

Agreed, the gearbox is a little indecisive and rev happy.

• turbo manual, all black leather interior, improved shocks and brakes.

• CiViC_7900 on Apr 26, 2011 at 3:10 pm

saw one on the road today….wow the rear end sure is a steal lah..lawa nya

• Seriously on Apr 26, 2011 at 6:34 pm

Does the XTR stand for anything? Sad that it’s just cosmetic changes… and any idea where the airbags are going to be placed?

• SukahatiphotoG on Apr 26, 2011 at 9:23 pm

looks sporting and the color so matching….XTR thumb up!

• What?Polo is boring?Polo is faster than this car!but i think ppl prefer Polo over than the Fiesta and Kia Forte…

• Alamak! White stripe

• SkyHorse Jeevan on Jul 22, 2011 at 1:45 am

why dun they just make it triptronic and just add the disc brake at the back as well ~~~