gogopal Q5.0 GPS navigator – plenty of versatility

Undoubtedly, the personal GPS navigation field is littered with plenty of offerings these days. All are very competent at what they’re supposed to do, which is to get you to the destination of your choice, and there’s little running away from specifications among competing products. Nonetheless, there are still areas where some differ from others.

Take the gogopal Q5.0 GPS navigator, for example. The ultra-slim personal navigation device features a 5-inch 480 x 272 resolution TFT touchscreen, a SiRFatlasV 533MHz CPU, 128MB of internal memory and 64MB of SDRAM memory, with a Windows CE 6.0 operating system, for starters. Well equipped, certainly, but that’s not where the real magic lies.

gogopal Q5.0 GPS navigator – plenty of versatilityA GPS is only as good as what it runs on, and the gogopal has plenty of mojo – at the heart of it all is a Hyundai Mnsoft-based SpeedNavi SQ Version 3.1 software and MapIT’s industry leading maps (of Malaysia and Singapore), as well as features that differentiate the gogopal from the competition, of which there’s a bit to shout about.

These include 3D building rendering, which makes for easier on the eye navigation, as well as a separate junction zoom split display, where every junction features a top-down view on approach to afford the driver unmistakable view of where exactly to turn.

There’s also 3D photo navigation, where selected junctions feature a photo rendered from full 3D-models to help you make the right turn. Another unique feature is the provision of lane information to guide drivers onto the correct lanes for an upcoming turn or maneouvre, with the designated lane marked by a yellow arrow.

Additionally, there’s a special house numbers search feature that allows you to navigate to the exact house on the road you’re looking for, and this is available throughout Malaysia and Singapore. If you’re travelling to Singapore, you can even search for a specific location via the postcode search, since all buildings in the Republic have a unique postcode.

Aside from being a mere GPS, the Q5.0 also multiples up as a video, music and Flash player as well as a photo viewer; the unit comes with a 2GB MicroSD card. There are also eight games included, perfect for those moments where you don’t really need to use the GPS until you get nearer to your destination and the kids need something to occupy the time with.

The Q5.0 comes bundled with a car charger, USB cable and car cradle. Additionally, the gogopal also comes with a special storage pouch and a house charger (worth RM79) as standard, items that are usually optional extras for other brands. With every purchase comes a year’s worth of free map updates.

The retail price of the gogopal Q5.0 is RM499, which is stilll a great deal considering how much a GPS unit used to cost a few years back. For more info, visit gogopal’s website or call 03-90570908 (extension 203).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• wanfumi on Apr 27, 2011 at 1:58 pm

What? I have to pay for the maps? No thank you.

• Dissappointed Ted on Apr 27, 2011 at 3:23 pm

what? really? i read the whole article and i didnt read anything about paying for the maps…. im gonna read it again..

• wanfumi on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:54 pm

Found it?

• Dissappointed Ted on Apr 28, 2011 at 4:09 pm

lol yeah! i missed the part where it says 1 year free map! hahaha… while i was reading it the first time, my mind was somewhere else! haha..

• gogopal??is this one of the indian products?just joking..haha

• engdau on Apr 27, 2011 at 3:24 pm

Original Papagol name becomes cheapo one….. Gogopal…. Lol!

• Angel on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:26 pm

Can’t agree with you! There is nothing cheap or free in Gogopal. Licensed OS, licensed high end navigation software and licensed map which is used by Google (I hope you won’t call Google a cheapo). Only thing cheap is the competitive price!

• wow..relax angel..dont take too serious..walaweh..

• Jones on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:11 am

People can be so off topic sometimes. What does the name have to do with anything. It is very catchy btw.

• mustafa on Apr 28, 2011 at 10:37 am

gogopal name not bad what. I like it!

• mazlan on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:39 pm

not bad for a fully licensed product.

• engdau on Apr 29, 2011 at 6:06 pm

Angel…. wait, calm down. By the way, you sound like a representative/ vendor of Gogoapal since you are quite emotional. Frankly speaking, if the product is comparatively as good as the original Papago, the product should be named in a better way. Wouldn’t u agree?

• maybe…..but i doubt if the quality will be better than the ‘made in china’ products hehehehh

• Jones on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:14 am

Again, these are your perceptions only.
        Is everything made in China top quality? My point exactly.

• rosli on Apr 28, 2011 at 10:40 am

iPhone also made in China, but is top quality.

I think as long as they chose a good manufacturer, then the quality will be good.

Picture looks very good though. Wouldn’t mind buying one.

• supersona on Apr 28, 2011 at 3:19 pm

It’s Korean, Jim.. not Indian..

• hmm.. it is go gopal? or go go pal? :P

• Kewl Product

Just Curios on some of the stuffs / info

Does it support free map or not ? (malfree etc .)

‘With every purchase comes a year’s worth of free map updates.”

What the subsequent year subscription fee !!

• dude07 on Apr 27, 2011 at 3:05 pm

it should be gogofree, not gogopal…

• antiproton on Apr 27, 2011 at 4:01 pm

Go Rajagopal Go!

• Shaekey on Apr 27, 2011 at 4:06 pm

“A GPS is only as good as what it runs on” – No… a GPS is only as good as the map it has. All the fancy stuffs in the GPS is not worth crap if the map is not updated and still get you lost.

“MapIT’s industry leading maps” – industry leading? Really? I doubt that it is more updated than community based maps out there… so again, I have to disagree with this statement.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 27, 2011 at 6:42 pm

Shaekey,

Of course. The data (as in map) very much defines the deed, as I mentioned as a continuance of that “as good as what it runs on” thought. “A GPS is only as good as what it runs on, and runs off” would have been more precise, but someone would have inevitably asked why on and off.

As for the maps, well, read it for what it is – “industry,” in this case defining commercial. Can’t argue that the community-based offerings aren’t great; I am a user, and think the efforts have been sterling.

• Ayecaramba! on Apr 27, 2011 at 6:43 pm

I have seen it myself. Not really bad. They were in KLIMS also. They are the ones supplying for Google’s Malaysian map. So yea, not bad la in terms of bang for buck value. Wouldn’t want to start dissing the product before actually knowing it first hand. No offence yea. It’s totally okay to speak up but it would be wiser to actually know it well before judging. :) Cheers.

• Suhaili on Apr 28, 2011 at 10:22 am

Yeah, have seen it during KLIMS too. Quite a neat product with good features and price. I have a friend who bought it and had no complaints.

• the extension is not available? wut the chicken!

• droll on Apr 27, 2011 at 4:18 pm

aiyah, paultan is just doing an advertisement for gogopal lah. probably getting some revenue back from gogopal in return for running this piece. nothing new in the journalism industry.

but the maps? how how?? cannot use garmin maps meh?

• Kidding? Need to pay for map after one year? Malfreemaps provided month constant frequently update for papago maps…

• William on Apr 27, 2011 at 4:41 pm

Papago. Gogopal??

• C Lee on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:07 pm

Gogopal has been in existent since 2007 in Malaysia. Far before the advertisement blast of Papago in 2009/2010. Let’s not fooled by one’s own ignorance.

• Hafiz on Apr 28, 2011 at 10:35 am

My friend had one of the original models from 2007. Solidly built, and still running well today!

• budin pakai gps Papago bukan Gogopal on Apr 27, 2011 at 5:31 pm

now Papago – Gogopal…

later Garmin – Margin…. lol~!!

• futari on Apr 27, 2011 at 7:15 pm

Spec is similar like lokatoo A1000 (proton exora and perodua alza gps). You can install garmin mobile xt and get free map update from MFM

• nebula87 on Apr 27, 2011 at 7:44 pm

Its like having a Singh driver…and that driver called Gopal…Go! Mr. Gopal~!!!

• C Lee on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:00 pm

Sad to have so many showing off their ‘racist’ incline by twisting a name. Be a sport, respect others name and more importantly, respect other races.

• Jones on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:18 am

Yeah I agree with you. Its just funny how people like to make pointless comments.

• ayamxxx on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:44 pm

A Garmin is better, but no offense..

• Gopal on Apr 28, 2011 at 2:11 pm

deiiiii tambi y u alwayz copy my name..but i think its suitable for driver like me.

• Gopal on Apr 28, 2011 at 3:11 pm

dey tambi…y always copy my name..but its look suitable for me heheh

• papa goal on Apr 28, 2011 at 3:17 pm

Papago is a good gps ..i have one of them good after sales service free map updates

• Andrew on Apr 28, 2011 at 5:28 pm

I need a genuine review by user, instead of basher by looking at the product look, or brand name only. Anyone? worth to invest on this?

• Berry on Apr 29, 2011 at 11:52 am

totally agree that one shld only write USEFUL reviews when one has tried and bought the product.. the last thing we need when trying to find useful reviews before buying a product is, having to read so many crappy n racist comment on the name, while no useful comments on the features or functions of the GPS..

i’ve got a gogopal Q5 myself and have used it for half a year without any complaint.. great map n easy to use.. nvr fail to find any location i need.. definitely worth investing if you drive n need good navigation in spore n M’sia.. never regret a single cent of the purchase!

• Andrew on Apr 29, 2011 at 9:58 pm

thanks for review, I read here said 1 year free update map, does that mean after 1 year there’ll be charges for update or we actually can update map ourselves?

• mazlan on Apr 30, 2011 at 3:57 pm

I think the website below mentions the details.

http://www.gogopal.com.sg/owner-corners/map-and-software-updates.html