Boon Siew Honda launches the 110cc Wave Dash kapcai

Boon Siew Honda has launched the new Honda Wave Dash this morning in KL. This 110cc cub (or kapcai, as these underbone bikes are more popularly called) is based on the Wave 110 that was launched early last year, but does not replace it or the evergreen EX5.

The Wave Dash is a sportier option to the more conventional looking Wave 110, and is a big part of Boon Siew Honda’s plans to capture 50% market share in the mid size cub segment (110-115cc) this year.

The Wave Dash shares the proven 109.1cc four-stroke engine with the Wave 110. It produces 6.22 kW at 7,500 rpm and 8.59 Nm at 5,500 rpm, figures that beat Yamaha’s Lagenda 115Z. The air cooled OHC unit is mated to a 4-speed transmission. There are two variants: the kick start RS and the RSR with electric starter. The former weighs 96 kg while the latter is 2 kg heavier.

The bodywork of the Dash is obviously different from the Wave 110, and the colours and graphics are particularly striking (I like the one in HRC colours, officially called Vivacity Red). The headlight has migrated south and the instruments have a new design.

The aerodynamic upper and lower cowl is said to reduce wind noise and help stability in high speed cruising. The RSR adds on the gold sport rims you see here. Another noteworthy feature is the “Double-glow Shuttle Lock System”, which glows in the dark.

The first thing yours truly noticed at the launch was the bike’s tagline, which is “Kekasih Gelapku” in BM. My brain’s faulty auto translate took it to mean “Black Lover”, which doesn’t make any sense. To our relieve, Boon Siew clarified that the Wave Dash is meant to be a “Secret Lover” to its owners :)

The Wave Dash RS is priced at RM4,998 while the RSR costs RM5,268, both with 1-year comprehensive single rider insurance. They will be available at all Boon Siew Honda dealers from 15 May.

UPDATE: At the event, Boon Siew Honda also conducted the lucky draw for the “Beli & Menang” Honda Genuine motor oil campaign. The drawn winners are Kanhaa a/p Ai Ting from Kedah who won a Honda Icon and Gan Chin Keong who won himself a Honda Wave 125X Ultimo.

Full gallery from the launch after the jump!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2208]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nice but still hesitate to trade my nouvo for thismotorcycle..hope it come out with the 125cc one

• armyrule on Apr 28, 2011 at 2:43 pm

wow,nice looking,HRC color theme..honda”the power of dream”..keh3

• The color scheme remind me the ultraman costume especially the red & white scheme..

• nebula87 on Apr 28, 2011 at 2:46 pm

another choice of machine for those Mat Rempit…>.<

• exJAVANESE on Apr 28, 2011 at 9:19 pm

i have persona..but i use kapcai for going out to work..so, did I’m consider as mat rempit?

• EB16.4 on May 01, 2011 at 3:23 am

don’t worry lah – as long as you’re not attempting any ‘superman’ or ‘wekang’ stunts while on the road, you’re not branded as one.

remember, you could also call yourself ‘mat cemerlang’ instead of ‘mat rempit’ if you can’t stop your urge to pull the stunts! (a spin-off by KJ once upon a time…)

haha…

• Dg Mabela on Apr 28, 2011 at 10:24 pm

I’ve Civic 2.0 and Viva, and use my LC 135 to commute to office..do I categorized as ‘Mat Rempit’…please don’t simply generalized people okey…

• Whatever on Apr 29, 2011 at 12:47 am

Well. He said those. Don’t be sensitive. If you wanna say such way. That mean you are trying to categorize yourself into it. And you don’t simply make statement also. The truth is mat rempit case is getting serious in here. You can read from the news. Sometime for those mom and dad are worry about they own kids as well. Nobody wanna the victims of all this hypocrite

• look around properly my friend….. it not just mat rempit which is getting serious..how about mat reput older midlife crisis guys with big bike acting like gangster in convoy as if they are the new pdrm….and of course now alot of mat rempit and mat reput has upgrade their ride from bike to car and now doing the same menace in our road racing driving dangerously as if they are the new madmax …..

• theanswer on Apr 29, 2011 at 1:14 am

lol~ why so sensitive? he just sed choice for mat rempit…not those who use this bike gonna be mat rempit.

• “another choice of machine for those Mat Rempit…>.<"

I don't understand why people are attacking this comment. The writer just said that if a Mat Rempit is looking to get a new ride, he has another new bike to choose from (which is TRUE, by the way). It is by no way implied that those who use this machine IS Mat Rempit.

Similarly, if Toyota did eventually launch the FT-86, the boyracer/initialD wannabes have a new car to choose from, but not all buyers will be those who drive like Batman on public roads.

While there are some people who thought kapchai riders are "inferior", there are also some people who retreats into siege mentality whenever they think something negative is implied to them, even though that might not be necessarily true nor intended.

• Fcukmatrempit on Apr 29, 2011 at 9:35 am

Mat Rempit are those idiots who have forgotten that they have parents at home (constantly worrying about them) while they fly down Jln Ampang like circus stuntman.
        Those who ride their bike to work are motorcyclist, not Mat Rempit lol….

• alpha999 on Apr 29, 2011 at 1:02 am

NO – brainer comment !!!!!!

• LE buruk on Apr 28, 2011 at 2:52 pm

sweet ride…wish it come with bigger engine rear brake disk…

• fairsyah on Apr 28, 2011 at 2:56 pm

i think it’s more beauty if it’s using rear monoshock

• ZAIN JEFFERS on Apr 29, 2011 at 3:58 pm

yes it’s more beauty and sexy with rear monoshock and rear disc. I hope the use it on 125 ultimo rsr

• owh danny..

black lover???

LOL

• breaL on Apr 28, 2011 at 3:00 pm

dark secret lover is more like it…not black lover…

• I think they mean “dark lover”. “Secret lover” would be something more along the lines of “kekasih rahsiaku”. Or something. Not gonna question their marketing.

• gattaca on Apr 28, 2011 at 3:29 pm

aiyoohhh boon siew… bring in the PGM-FI CBR150 laaaaaa………

• squall_shinoda on Apr 28, 2011 at 3:51 pm

Nice design… but still without fuel injection like the Siamese Honda Wave. Malaysians are left way too behind, which is totally unfair…

• hantu on May 01, 2011 at 12:53 am

In Thailand this motorcycle is called Honda CZ-i 110.
      Its fuel injected in Thailand..

We are lack of competition!

• shawal on Apr 28, 2011 at 3:53 pm

Now with easier detachable body panels and exhaust for those lightweight night time adventures!

• Fcukmatrempit on Apr 28, 2011 at 3:58 pm

Can they make their bike with silent exhaust….I fcuking hate those noisy mat rempit….
    If I become PM, the first thing I will do is enacting a new law allowing police to shoot these muddafcukers on sight!!!!!

• autojohndoe on Apr 28, 2011 at 8:03 pm

they make standard exhaust very quiet la…

the bising one is the aftermarket…

• squall_shinoda on Apr 28, 2011 at 8:29 pm

Yups, agreed… all standard exhausts are quiet what… unless if those mat rempits rev their engines like crazy or install aftermarket parts… even car exhausts are also noisy when the engines are revved like crazy…

• red rider on May 28, 2013 at 1:02 pm

do u know that exhaust sounds according to their engines?2 stroke exhaust is much louder than 4 stroke exhaust…

aftermarkets exhaust do give loudness but it is used for better flow..some of them comes with dbkiller…

and btw,we motorcyclists tend to ‘cilok’ during traffic jam and how do car drivers who suddenly change lanes wthout using signal becomes aware?just by hearing the exhaust sounds ofcourse (since most cyclists seldomly uses horn during cilok as reminder…)

so its actually a habit of remming,so dont judge all the same…every thing has pros n cons…so juz use the pros!

im a rider so i knew rules and laws better..be a smart and cautious rider…dont mix attitude and material parts used for bikes…and make some research before juz stating out loud your opinions…peace yall

• dienoair on Jun 04, 2013 at 5:36 pm

I’m 2 stroke user, seems the fact is.. noise also a plus for rider safety, knowing the engine are work well base the sound that it make, and etc.

2 Stroke
        louder up close than many 4-strokes, but noise fade as you move away.

4 Stroke
        These thumpers can be heard miles away. This carrying noise has led to disquiet among many nighbors of riding areas.

source: http://www.motorcycle-usa.com/2/1379/5/Motorcycle-Blog-Post/2-Stroke-4-Stroke-Debate-Settled-.aspx

• autojohndoe on Apr 28, 2011 at 4:02 pm

i have waited for this bike…

very nice coverset…

• squall_shinoda on Apr 28, 2011 at 4:08 pm

“Kekasih Gelapku”…? That tagline reminds me to certain bikers treating their bikes as their “younger wives”, for example some Yamaha TZM riders may nickname their bikes as Tengku Zaleha Melissa… :D

• sukasuki on Apr 28, 2011 at 8:14 pm

really? such a long name. i thought people just give simple name like suzy or else.

• squall_shinoda on Apr 29, 2011 at 4:05 pm

I heard that too… but I heard that lengthy name from a friend who once owned a Yamaha TZM before before reselling it later.

• blue sea on Apr 28, 2011 at 4:13 pm

nice, but i’m more towards modenas gt128..

• Yes, the GT128 is the better choice:

Honda Wave Dash: 6.22 kW at 7,500 rpm and 8.59 Nm at 5,500 rpm

Modenas GT128: 7.18 kW at 7500 rpm and 10.7 N·m at 5500 rpm

The power is not so important, but the GT128 has 20%(!) more torque…

• squall_shinoda on Apr 28, 2011 at 8:35 pm

There’s another reason to choose GT128… because the GT128 is not a “hot bike” like the Y135LC… less risks of theft… but who knows right?

• mamat on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:01 pm

I also have a GT128. tapi meter ringan 20km/h arr. 150km/h=130km/h

• autojohndoe on Apr 28, 2011 at 4:19 pm

It produces 6.22 kW at 7,500 rpm and 8.59 Nm at 5,500 rpm, figures that beat Yamaha’s Lagenda 115Z

figures, yes… but, in actual, lagenda 115Z is better… I owned the Wave 110, but got stolen…

• squall_shinoda on Apr 28, 2011 at 5:35 pm

Really? For me the older Lagenda 110Z is much better than the current Lagenda 115Z. The pickup, top speed, FC are all better than 115Z. The Lagenda 115Z has lower horsepower, torque and top speed, which is ironic for an engine 5cc larger than the older one.

• autojohndoe on Apr 28, 2011 at 7:59 pm

yep…

i had wave 110, while my fren has the lagenda 115z…

my bike hardly touch 100kmh, but my fren’s lagenda is very easy…

• yeah rite on Apr 28, 2011 at 9:25 pm

my 07lagenda z sucks big time, lower acceleration, top speed & fuel consumption than my suzuki fx110 wor; but of course my 125z smokes them (exclude fuel consumption)

• Sambal Belacan on Apr 29, 2011 at 3:36 pm

suzuki fx110 is a good product from SUZUKI. I own one and after 11 years, it still can accelerate better than my sister’s newly modenas 100 and my neighbour 2009 wave 125.
          In this long 11 years, nothing happen to the engine. The only thing i changed was 3 sets of tyres (i am a mat rempit if u describe mat rempit as those dude who speed their kapcai over 100kmph everday)and every 1500km regular oil change(i use Castrol activ), 2 pieces of motorcycle batteries and that’s all.
          Nice motor with amazing build quality.

• ryioz on Apr 28, 2011 at 4:38 pm

no more kapchai…bring in CBR 150 to malaysia lorrr…

• Sleepwalkerz on Apr 28, 2011 at 5:29 pm

Cbr150 has already been discontinued lols…niw thy are producing cbr250

• autojohndoe on Apr 28, 2011 at 8:01 pm

already have la… then yamaha bring the fz150… FI some more…

• BLOG MEDIA SENSASI on Apr 28, 2011 at 4:40 pm

great!!awesome!!intersting!! :-)

• BadBET on Apr 28, 2011 at 5:19 pm

Boon Siew Type R hehe

• squall_shinoda on Apr 28, 2011 at 5:39 pm

I just don’t understand why everyone has got more thumbs down, though there’s no bashing and counter-bashing at the moment from any bike maker’s supporters.

• Whatever on Apr 29, 2011 at 12:50 am

Because the mat rempit click thumbs down. The just can’t accept the fact

• squall_shinoda on Apr 29, 2011 at 4:02 pm

Oh really? No wonder why all mat rempits are nothing but just a bunch of moronic idiots.

• Hasmizal on Apr 28, 2011 at 6:03 pm

Dengar khabar angin mengatakan Boon Siew akan lancarkan XJ600 CKD.. adakah sekadar khabar angin sahaja?…

• Hasmizal on Apr 28, 2011 at 6:12 pm

Sorry.. kesilapan.. XJ600 adalah keluaran Yamaha.. bukan Honda edaran Boon Siew.. maaf atas kesilapan…

• since when paultan.com becoming “mat rempit”? haha

anyway nice article =)

• squall_shinoda on Apr 28, 2011 at 8:41 pm

Not all bikers are mat rempits la bro… only those daredevils with their noisy bikes, crazy stunts like superman, wheelie and wikang, and syabu and ice as their staple food are mat rempits…

• squall_shinoda on Apr 28, 2011 at 8:43 pm

Plus nowadays petrol is expensive and the petrol price can rise anytime, so it’s normal for paultan to publish news about alternative transportation like motorbikes…

• Don’t know why…any post related to Cub motor ,ramai panggil Mat Rempit,Habis tu klau pergi kerja naik motor Mat Rempit juga ke?heheh..

• Agreed…..i salute those whom choose to ride to work and left their comfortable cars at home, at least they are doing something/contributing in the reduction of traffic jam and not just bitch about it. I know loads of them who ride a kap chai/scooter to work while leaving their stream/estima/accord/camry/merc..etc..etc..home. They choose to ride bcoz of the time saved compared to being stuck in traffic

• depends on where u work, if town area i will said ok, most of the car speed about 40~60km/h, but if u working at heavy industry area with a lot lorries, speeding car, haram van who always just park beside road to pick up workers. It is dangerous to use moto to work….

• Yeap, most of those whom choose to ride bike to work are working in middle of KL major business area. I was one of them previously when i work in KL, but now since no longer working in middle of KL….i just drove to work at one of the surburb area wt no traffic jam. Will definately revert back to bikes if transferred back to middle of KL, ..i still remember, if driving…i need to leave home by 7.15am just to reach office before 8.45am but if i ride, i can leave home at 8am and reach there by 8.30am….still got time for nice cup of tea for bfast ; )

• meet_the _zonan on Apr 29, 2011 at 4:25 pm

ya lo.. big big car but one person only inside… salute motorcyclist not mat rempit!!!

• Carl Wong on Apr 28, 2011 at 9:12 pm

Our riders need to learn how to be CIVILIZED on a bike. I have never seen a motorcyclist use the signal correctly in my entire life so far. Riders die on our roads every day.

• Car Driver also need to be civilized also lah..bus and lorry driver also need to learn how to respected other driver and rider..

Actually we need to respect each other lah, give signal, give way to fast driver, look around for motorcycle and most important is dont be so ego or berlagak when you are on the road.

• bongek on Apr 29, 2011 at 12:32 pm

“I have never seen a motorcyclist use the signal correctly in my entire life so far”

-so do you think motorcyclist stupid and not contribute tax,,, i use EX5,, every day ,, and i pay 5 figure tax every year… please open your eye bro…
      -i use signal and obey to traffic light, even in condition a car nearly hit me just becoz i stop during red light…. so if that car hit me,,, and u see me die that day… then how? i am stupid motorcyclist? tell me…. think before you wrote…

• squall_shinoda on Apr 29, 2011 at 4:00 pm

“I have never seen a motorcyclist use the signal correctly in my entire life so far.”

That’s obviously an arrogant statement. There are still many car drivers as well as lorries and buses who do not know how to signal properly. So think with your brain before you write, not with your arse.

• nadzri m yusof on Apr 28, 2011 at 10:20 pm

For so long this ah beng monopoly honda motorcycle, How AFTA can break the ice, hoping can get cheaper Honda.

• jimat masa on Apr 28, 2011 at 10:52 pm

Nice cub but for me lc135 have steal my heart … ride on bebeh

• SeriuosSAM on Apr 28, 2011 at 11:04 pm

that dude should pose baring macam superman.. rempit style.

• macaruda on Apr 29, 2011 at 9:03 am

pricing wise…. not that bad….compared to my overpriced LC135
    however 4 stoke is still a 4 stroke….

missed my RXZ soo much…

• BOON SIEW HONDA STAFF on Apr 29, 2011 at 12:23 pm

I AM FROM BOON SIEW HONDA…FEEL FREE TO ASK IF ANY PROBLEMS :p

• hantu on May 01, 2011 at 1:01 am

When Boon Siew Honda want to bring on Honda Wave in fuel injected?
      Im eager to get it one for maximum fuel economy.

• Tan Bee Kwee on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:06 pm

I just bought yr Honda Wave110RS. What is the big idea on changing the Hon and signal light switch around? Its very dangerous – I have been honing people when I want to signal and cant feel the hon during emergency , resulting that I almost got knock down when cars decide to come out or drive in my way. I work in KL centre and its a very big mistake of me for not insisting on a test ride cos m sure I would have found that out. No other bikes or even Hondas of the past or present other then this, have their hon or signal the otherway round. I just hope Honda will retify this very dangerous mistake. I cant sell my bike as I will lose RM 1000. And have been trying to change the switches around to no success. As I have trust Honda in the past with my Honda50 and my ex5,I hope Honda will retify this asap. Thank You I do hope u can let Honda know. Much appreciated.

• thank ypou pau tan for bringin news on motorcycle
    this piece of dash is super beautiful cosmetic
    i love this bike

thanks again paul tan for having this website and news on bikes for malaysian poor people suffering petrol price and high insurance for cars. bikes are best friends like dogs

• justin on Apr 29, 2011 at 2:30 pm

If you become the PM, could you also make sure to allow the PDRM to shoot the Harley Davidson, Ducati, Aprilia, KTM, BMW, etc big biker owners who also use loud exhaust?

• justin on Apr 29, 2011 at 2:35 pm

I don’t understand why Boon Siew Honda needs to launch another 110cc when they already have the Wave 110?
    Basically the Wave 110 and this new Dash shares the same components (swingarm, front forks, brake disc, brake calipers, sports rims, exhaust, engine, etc…). The differences are cosmetic.
    Why not Honda just release a 135 – 150cc cub? Yamaha has 135cc with the LC, Suzuki has 150cc with the Belang.
    Perhaps Paul can ask this question on our behalf?

• squall_shinoda on Apr 29, 2011 at 4:09 pm

One sad fact is that Boon Siew was once a proud distributor selling so many models of bikes, from as small as a Honda Cub C70 to as big as a Honda Gold Wing. But now, Boon Siew reign was reduced to kapchais; even the largest one is the recently-launched CBR250. The same goes to other motorbike distributors like Hong Leong Yamaha and Suzuki.

• Sukanaikmoto on Apr 29, 2011 at 10:14 pm

Wondering why another 110CC with not much changes. Perhaps with monoshock be better?

Well, maybe its one of BSH marketing strategy. Hope BSH bring in CBR 150Fi or any cub bike with Fuel Injection.

Im riding CBR150R (carb version) to work. Its good bike to have. I can see many bikers wearing yellow reflector nowadays especially those with cub and Im proud of it as more and more people are try to reduce traffic congestion when heading to work. Im working in KL and I can go out not as early as driving my car and reached home not as late with car as well. Just need extra extra extra careful if it is raining.

The most important thing is we need to respect each other when we are on the road. Car drivers and motorcyclist should learn how people in developed country behave. When I was in UK I was so relax driving my car to work.

Let us practice now to respect each other when we on the road regardless what vehicle you use. Together we can reduce road accidents.

• I just bought one (the previous version) and I think it is one heck of a bike. The colour is a bit dull (dark purple) but everything else is just great, especially the engine. This is my second Honda kapcai. Back in the 90’s I used to own a 2 stroker, the Honda NX105. Feisty little machine with decent power and great stability around corners sans monoshock. Bullet proof engine too as I used to wring the life out of it every single day going to classes and later to work. In the end I had to give it up as I had bought a car (Sob! Sob!). Then I got meself a Lagenda 110 but the engine and build quality not as good as Honda’s. I hated the need to warm up the engine everytime I want to ride just to make it run properly! I don’t know about the new version (115z) but the old one had that annoying problem. Then I got rid of it and bought a Kawasaki Ninja ZX150R. Fell in love again with 2 stroke power but realised it was not very practical. Great fun when you are in the mood but a pain when you are not. That’s when I decided to get a kapcai again. Almost bought the 115z because of its styling but past experience prevented me from doing so. Anyway I am soooo glad because I think I made the right choice. Even going beyond 90 kmh the engine is still smooth whereas on my old lagenda the engine would be vibrating like mad. And, most importantly, on the Wave I could just thumb the starter, twist the throttle a few times and ride away! Anyway, love the new colours available for the new Wave especially the one with the ‘Orange-Repsol-Lookalike’ paint job. My only regret is I bought mine too soon, should have waited longer, sob! sob!

• EB16.4 on May 01, 2011 at 12:15 pm

alah beli motor berapa sen je bro. ko trade-in je lah dgn yg sekarang ni. takat nk kena top-up balik rm600-RM800 apelah sangat pun. kechooo!!!

• hantu on May 01, 2011 at 8:16 am

Suzuki Smash V115 is a better deal which rival with Lagenda 115 and this motorcycle.

• TheKHAI on May 08, 2011 at 5:44 am

BBBOOORRRIIINNNGGG!!!!

Couldn’t they make it more like this :

http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/8527/hondablademodify.jpg

• thanks paul/danny for the info. will get one to replace my 14 yrs suzuki rgv120. drive car to work everyday isnt a good option anymore with current traffic, alow fc car also will consume more petrol due to stand still traffic, so better revert back to this mode of transport.

• still ride on my ex5 class II…. for nearly 8 years…. it still carry me well on the estate roads :-)

• tour of duty on Jun 05, 2011 at 8:11 pm

dash 110 better than robotbike 130. i just trade in my useless robotbike 130 for this rugged dash.

• nice !

• nice

• laila on Feb 21, 2012 at 2:24 am

i’ve booked this rugged DASH n maybe will get within this week. mostly review i read is negative and underestimating.

hopefully, the performance will come along with the rugged, and sexy design that can make me proud.

please…please…. please….

• i want color orange, i really want that color…..;))