JPJ lifts blacklist on drivers and vehicles with ‘saman ekor’

First, no more hidden speed trap ambushes from the cops, and now this – according to reports, the JPJ has announced that drivers or owners who have been blacklisted based on summons received through the post are now free to renew their road tax and driving licences.

The announcement of the lifting of the ‘saman ekor’ blacklist was made by JPJ deputy director-general Datuk Ismail Ahmad, and follows on the earlier announcement made by Deputy Transport Minister Jelaing Mersat a few days ago on the matter.

The reports quoted the minister as saying that drivers or vehicle owners who have commited traffic offences but with cases that have not been taken to court will no longer be prevented from renewing their driving and vehicle licences. The blacklist, however, is still in effect for cases that are pending in court or under investigation.

Last year, a total of 119,330 driving licences and 154,663 motor vehicle licences were blacklisted in Malaysia, while in 2009, the number was 122,794 for driving licences and 180,624 for vehicle licences, the reports add. So, sounds like good cheer, and does it have anything to do with it being an important year, one wonders. Any thoughts on the matter?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• littlefire on Apr 28, 2011 at 11:45 am

Hahaha.. At last they bound to the law… Just ask those who studied law.. They said only those who found guilty in court can only be blacklisted!!! So those due to saman ekor kena blacklist 1 all is not valid!!!

• farislahpulak on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:00 pm

whatabout those who already paid..haiyaaah…rugi la….

• who paid already the saman ekor, PDRM said thank you. Nice business with you guys. Hahaha…. All saman without your signature is invalid. Tq

• General Election is just around the corner. Hehe…

• puipui on Apr 28, 2011 at 2:49 pm

im happy over this matter but i stil holdin on tho whom im going to vote…. because corruption still never changed

• ezracopters on Apr 28, 2011 at 4:58 pm

…actually i’m kinda confused. people keep saying Malaysia had one of the highest corruption rate..

i’ve been to abroad, i’ve been dealing with JKR, Kastam, JPJ, Polis, pejabat DUN & PARLIMEN etc almost all sort of gov. agencies that usually related to corruption. not once i’ve been ask to pay them @ unwillingly pay any amount that wasnt due.

of coz, as a client, once a while we invite them to dinner or teh tarik in a sense that we’re a friend.. not as a bribe. Foreigner/tourist friend of mine freely in and out of our country. none of em ever mention to me they’ve been ask for a bribe.

i think we’re the one that make em look bad. some of us choose easy way out, eg. u drove an over tinted car. police stop you, instead of accepting RM300 summon, we’re bribe em’ RM50 to let it go.. some accept it, some not.. at the end of the day, we and them are all the human. no one make no mistake.

but the rules and regulation is there. to say Malaysia had highest bribe rate in Asia, hmmm judging from my experience. i doubt it!! even we knew the crime happened, it is not that easy to prove it in court if the case involved no bank account, no witness, no definite proof..

• sukasuki on Apr 28, 2011 at 6:35 pm

yes, a lot of my classmates which from iran, iraq, nigeria, sudan, and some from ex USSR like uzbekistan, all of them doubt it is really malaysia do have a lot of corruption. because they, those foreigner never have any problems with the authority like police, immigration, and they can get data they need for their MSc/PhD project without to pay ‘lubricant fees’. just get the official letter from the graduate school office and also approval from supervisor and voila! but of course need some time to approve, just 3,4 months waiting. because of a lot of people been caught by sprm, it shows that we have a lot of corruption eh? i think that is a third world mindset. I should say SPRM do a very good job.

• MCdog on Apr 28, 2011 at 9:29 pm

Common lar. Can’t you see 1 million project balloon to 10 million project, 10 million project ballon to 100 million project? All of these being done “legally” by law.

• LatukBandar on May 01, 2011 at 12:47 am

Look around… the istana project from 400 million to 1 Billion, the palace of justice, here there leak, parliament renovated liao still leak. And it cost millions to fix it, yet it leaks. Is that not corruption?

What is the difference between stealing 1 cent and stealing 10 millions? The answer is NO difference, a crime is still a crime.

No matter how big or small the amount involved, corruption is not acceptable. Like a small camp fire, it could burn down an entire forest.

• squall_shinoda on Apr 28, 2011 at 3:56 pm

That’s correct, I totally agree with you… if we study the laws more thoroughly, then we should know our rights. Inside the law, nobody can be blacklisted except by the court’s orders, and nobody can deny our possessions of our very own properties except by court’s orders. Misusing the powers by simply blacklisting other people as they wish is totally wrong and corrupt as well. No wonder why Malaysia’s corruption perception index is still low.

• Vincent on Apr 28, 2011 at 4:16 pm

If I remember correctly, LKS is the one who make noise about this in paliment.

Malaysia law saw: You are not guity until found guilty in court.

• squall_shinoda on Apr 28, 2011 at 8:30 pm

But in reality many rakyats are punished even before they are found guilty. Sad right?

• maaajeeedaaa on Apr 28, 2011 at 10:25 pm

for those who were blacklisted and paid their summon just to undone the blacklist status…JOM PAKAT SAMAN JPJ!!!!! who knows we may get the refund..

• they forced us to pay saman so we don’t get blacklisted a few months ago with traffic summons discounts.

now they lifted the ban by not blacklisting those with the summons.

it is clear to see, the BN just wanted money.

• endre on Apr 28, 2011 at 11:58 am

a signal, election is coming.

• LE buruk on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:16 pm

f***k….ruginya dah bayar…..

• CiViC_7900 on Apr 28, 2011 at 2:19 pm

Yahh..n the roads are also…well nicer(at least in my area)..kinda sad kan????MAU ELECTION BARU TIME TULA MAU TUNJUK…..PRIHATIN…well…………………………………………………

• meaning after this they going to start court case for those who did not pay summons?

• sixtythree on Apr 28, 2011 at 3:25 pm

this only applies to saman ekor, not those saman (whereby you have been caught redhanded and put your initials)

• hantupensil on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:17 pm

1Malaysia kena tipu…. hahhaha

• drMpower on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:18 pm

so, in a bombshell
    are they saying without prosecution
    there is no case?

okay so let me imagine this
    nearly 300,000 cases of these blacklist
    all of them need to stand trial?
    we are going to run out of magistrate then!
    i dont know how they gonna do this
    but that nearly 300,000 blacklisted persons/vehicles
    are mindbogglingly huge number

so now everyone suddenly a law expert
    okay then, now go discuss a new law or revision
    1) every time a driver being summoned, an evidence must be given
    2) every time a driver contest a summon given as in (1), in the case of the person lose the case, court fees or whatever monetary charges are to be borne by the person.

however for (1), the police must get the infrastructure right. speed trap no more hidden behind bushes is one new,good approach. advertise the speed trap location specifically and put up the speed limit on the locations
    calibrate the speed guns to the most accurate/acceptable margin and certified it by TUV or whatever big names
    get a good photograph on the offenders
    so that prosecution team will get it easy with these speed freaks/ traffic offenders,during trials
    if prosecution process is easy, we can cut down the time to get the whole nearly 300,000 offenders and send them to jail or whatever

i seriously think this business of getting money out of traffic offenders should be treated as an revenue opportunity by the police
    this is two pronged solution
    one we gonna completely solve the traffic offending behavior IMMENSELY
    two police gonna get richer. whatever they do with the money, i have no problem. spend on murcielago or sls amg. whatever

• I currently have 4 saman ekor since, I think, 2005, but all this while I renew my road tax just fine. Am I just lucky, or terlepas pandang?

• mohsin on Apr 28, 2011 at 5:08 pm

you just lucky, not to me
      my car rtax can only renew just for 6mths.
      My G, pls refund back my payment for 2shit saman ekor more less RM600
      TQ

Kerjasama anda amatlah diharapkan

• BeemerFreak on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:22 pm

They should also reactivate the points deduction system. Or else just saman saman….. not much effect.

• Pucksz on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:33 pm

Class action to sue JPJ for monies paid for previous saman ekor.

• deftones on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:37 pm

good news..but there’s something behind the story..politics haihz

• Angrybirds on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:46 pm

U gotta be kidding arghhhh…

• mohsin on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:53 pm

saya dah bayar!
    Anda bagaimana?

• mustapha on Apr 28, 2011 at 1:00 pm

I hope that the law abiding citizens who
    wasted precious hours queueing and partiing with
    their cash demand a full refund from the govt.
    JPJ and PDRM should also be taken to task (and sued)
    for coming up with half past six policies
    and being lame when enforcing the law on
    dark tints/HID lights/Handphone usage/Seatbelt usage
    and using emergency lanes.!

• taksokongBN on Apr 28, 2011 at 1:18 pm

Kinda funny isnt it..
    after elecion in sarawak, all blacklist are canceled..
    i guest the goverment had it planned from the start..

• Gavin on Apr 28, 2011 at 1:21 pm

wooo Generatl Election straight ahead! flip-flop goverment for the win

• This is obviously not working coz i just saw a hidden police speed trap and roadblock at Penchala Link yesterday during lunch time.

Don’t recall seeing a sign saying speed trap ahead. May have been one as i saw a 7 series brake like hell.

• azrai on Apr 28, 2011 at 1:25 pm

“So, sounds like good cheer, and does it have anything to do with it being an important year, one wonders. Any thoughts on the matter?”

Sound like earlier than expected snap poll isn’t it?

• Kumar san on Apr 28, 2011 at 1:29 pm

Election time is coming to town..coming to town..coming to town..election time is coming to town,my fair BN..

bertuah dia nak bagi we all kalau bukan election time.

Interesting drastic action though..mmmmmmmmm…

They are sure so caring now for us rakyat eh??

Cheers.

• Anthony, any mention if the saman ekor needs to be paid? If no, really pity the folks who have paid! If yes, i wonder why the blacklist is lifted, because there would be no incentive to the offender to pay up.

Anyway, only yesterday I saw a policeman with the speed gun hiding behind a pillar along Elite Highway, exactly underneath the MIROS Gallery. That area is 90kmh, but changed to 110kmh a little further down at Putra Heights exit. Emm…perhaps this policeman has NOT receive the latest direction as announced by Deputy IGP Datuk Khalid ? hahaha….

• ANTI-KRONI COMPANY on Apr 28, 2011 at 5:10 pm

slow moving mentality officer as always….hehhe

• savvy_savvy on Apr 28, 2011 at 1:33 pm

Just wait for few days more. govt will announce mmip 3rd party insurance no need puspakom inspection. GE is definately near..

• vote other party and all saman is void no need to pay a sen

• hahahahaha…our saman money went to fund serawak election..poor people including me..what to do?just wait for coming PRU..who knows after this wo will win…..

• tricycle on Apr 28, 2011 at 1:55 pm

c*&%i, I paid mine already!!!

• wacko on Apr 28, 2011 at 2:07 pm

they collected enuf fund from traffic summons and election machineries are well oiled now. Erection come very soon!

• iamisiamwhatiam on Apr 28, 2011 at 2:21 pm

Pandai!
    Sent saman ekor and blacklist driver and car will be ignored by most. No money coming in.
    Lift the blacklist and haul drivers to court, drivers has to pay summons. Money coming in!

• musalmah endot on Apr 28, 2011 at 2:22 pm

why always screwing up people money for politics??

• teach ‘them’ a lesson in the upcoming election… hahaha

• LatukBandar on Apr 28, 2011 at 2:40 pm

Datuk Seri Santa Clause is in town. I love General Election.

• fahrur on Apr 28, 2011 at 2:44 pm

i demand the gov to give back my money!!!!!

• Expect to see more as the they offer to ‘exchange your soul’ for political benefits. With the weakening of the Greenback, imported stuff will become cheaper and they’ll find ways to take advantage of that situation too.. heheh.. Good for the consumer, no?

• captain_gaban on Apr 28, 2011 at 3:11 pm

thanks kak mah!!!! saya misti piley!!!

• Someonefromsarawak on Apr 28, 2011 at 3:33 pm

Haiyah, still not grateful ah? just go and renew your license and road tax la.

• Dats y this someone from sarawak mentality need to change. Imagine i put a law saying now income tax is 50%. Then 3 month down the road i revise it become 30%. People like you is going to sing praises for me koz i reduce the tax right? but you must know which bugger put the tax in the first place!

• they should be grateful coz rakyat still bangang vote for them for more than 50 years!

• sukasuki on Apr 28, 2011 at 6:40 pm

malaysian people never grateful. sigh.
      please dont relate something like this with politics.

• Only one word can describe. Sigh…

• Starting 1st May. Police will issue summon + picture (as a prove).

source: http://www.bharian.com.my/bharian/articles/PDRMkeluarnotissamanbersertagambarkenderaan1Meiini/Article

• Mozilla Chrome on Apr 28, 2011 at 6:46 pm

So, better smile every time you are speeding ;)

• Show the middle finger is even better

• Fazzurri on Apr 30, 2011 at 12:45 pm

if u show middle finger, u got 1 more saman for lewd conduct.. so better just smile or wear Najib mask..

• lucky i didnt pay my 9 summons

• ANTI-KRONI COMPANY on Apr 28, 2011 at 5:14 pm

another yo-yo decision….kau dah perah duit org….(saman ekor) w/pun just notis.not saman proven in the courts.last2 xde apa2….apalah punya iq orang2 atas ni.

• kayel on Apr 28, 2011 at 6:53 pm

phewww…luckily…i just pay for speeding summoned only which was half of the amount that i supposed to pay…other summoned such as disobey traffic light etc i don’t pay it hoping at that time they will lift the blacklist…and it’s right…the time has come and i will renew my roadtax faster to avoid they change their mind again…

• We all just been suckered for paying the saman.

• shawal on Apr 28, 2011 at 9:17 pm

I’ve been blacklisted once, back in 2005, i was still on probation license, my father pick me up from college in pahang, since he drove from KL, i tot i’ll drive us back , too bad the ‘P’ sticker was my car’s glovebox in KL , so… we were stopped by JPJ at a road block, i was given a summon (dunno if u can cucuk jpj or not compare to PDRM) , and was ordered to appear in court in two weeks…

anyway, so we tried to go to the courts in KL to get it settled, but i think there were too many people so my dad said lets just forget about it..,

in 2006 years, i went to JPJ to renew my license to the permanent one, the lady at the counter said i was black listed, so on the spot i called jpj kuantan to get my summon ticket’s number, told d lady at d counter, paid a fine, and i got my permanent license,

all and all, i think everything went smoothly and efficient….maybe cuz it was a minor offense, i never ran over children…

• transformer on Apr 28, 2011 at 11:49 pm

Should not let those blacklisted driver on the road anymore…. just bane them from the road until they reach 50 of age, then only let them take driving license test again…..

I’m still waiting for Police to conduct driver without driving license on the road and driver with false driving license…. can easily produce one… just scan, photoshop(change personal detail and remove photo, print out, paste a new passport photo onto it and get it laminate at stationery shop…. DONE!

Even false driving license are abundance, how to solve false NRIC lagi……. penat la….

lastly… WHERE THE HELL ALL THESE SUMMONS($$$) WENT ??
    IS IT USED TO IMPROVE ROAD, SAFETY OR HAS BEEN USED TO SUBSIDISED SOMEBODY…… WHO KNOW?

• kevlos on Apr 29, 2011 at 11:02 am

I don’t understand the mentality. They issue all the summons non stop. When people don’t pay, they offer discount. When people still don’t pay, the offer extension of discount period. When people still don’t pay, they blacklist. When people still don’t pay, they remove all blacklists.
    What are you telling us? Don’t bother with any summons because at the end of the day, I will waive everything. For those of you who were super stupid to settle before due date, stupid to pay during discount period, less stupid to pay during extension, little stupid to pay when blacklisted, thanks for your generosity.

Can’t they just set up an enforcement unit to collect and bring the offenders to court instead of keep issuing summons? There’s a LOT of money to be collected and bad drivers to be kept off the roads. This totally TOTALLY pisses me off!

• They shud saman those slow drivers-no gud-hogging-cauzing traffic jams driving on the ‘fast lane’…how bout superbikes on the fast lane drivin at 200km/h???

• xavier lert on Apr 30, 2011 at 5:55 pm

thanks to the Lawyer that reveal this

• temakol on May 01, 2011 at 6:48 pm

the lifts should be done long2 time ago….is it under their territory to blacklist citizen without proven case in court? I myself paid only parking summons that proven done by me…but not SAMAN EKOR or should it change to KOMPAUN EKOR since it is not yet disabit kesalahan di mahkamah! It look alike towards denial of citizen to freely move around in the country where the cases not yet proven…but already taken action to blacklist. BUT BRAVO TO JPJ BECAUSE THEY DARE TO CHANGE…FOLLOWS THE LAW…OF COURSE CITIZEN LIKE US WILL SUPPORT.

• aswedz on May 04, 2011 at 3:18 pm

nasib baik gua tak bayar haritu…last2 tak kena blacklist pun..propaganda je..haha

• I was summoned in KLIA Sepang when I talked on the phone, RM300. And I simply signed. Not actual signature. I was driving my sister car.

So do I need to pay RM300, kinda waste my money…

Or just ignore? will kena court case? or how???

• i have settle every blacklisted jpj saman alrdy,after that i want to renew my license,but license is still under blacklisted,or does it need afew days for them to update?

any comments?