Proreka orders 500 units ATG Sprintex supercharger

UPDATE: Apparently the Aussies have got it wrong – it is actually Proreka who are buying the superchargers for the Proton Satria Neo.

Something very interesting in the Australian news today – Automotive Technology Group (ATG) shared gained nearly 3% after it announced that it had received an AU$600,000 order for 500 units of superchargers to be supplied to Proreka.

Doing some simple maths would price each supercharger at about AU$1,200 or RM3,880 at current exchange rates, almost half the price of one would typically have to pay for a Rotrex C30, like yours truly’s. The first deliveries would begin in October this year and delivery targets are about 50 units a week. ATG goes on to say that these superchargers will be manufactured to suit the Proton Satria Neo.

It looks like the supercharged Proton Satria R3 may be going into production after all! This is indeed some very exciting news, and finally that solid Neo chassis will be receiving the powerful lump that it deserves! The prototype supercharged Neo R3 featured recently made 180 horses and 200Nm. The ATG Sprintex supercharger is if a helical twin screw design, and ATG calls it the world’s most advanced supercharger design. A twin screw positive displacement supercharger has very little lag.

ATG and local company Proreka have also signed an agreement to study the production of the Sprintex supercharger in Malaysia.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2140]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• yezza
    but how about the gearbox? rationing?final drive?

• you are missing the whole point of the article….

• he has a point there, dude. with all the extra power, are the brakes, suspension, gear ratio and etc able to handle the extra load? still missing the pint (pun intended)??

• nicholas on Apr 30, 2011 at 8:36 am

let’s see what R3 will do on this part since they are the approved proton tuning team.

• alldisc on Apr 30, 2011 at 10:21 am

the satria neo in standard 1.6 form is capable enough to take 180bhp in terms of body flex, suspension (ride control) and brakes.

this supercharge neo will be one of protons’ nicest product since some time.

• The article is about bringing supercharged Neo R3 into production. It is not in any way discussing the spec of the car other than the supercharger itself.

• heynekko on Apr 29, 2011 at 9:02 pm

it is a 5 speed close ration one.. like they use in recent r3.. pity no 6th gear.. as they say 6 gears and 3 paddles is the way to go :)

• Kon-nek on May 01, 2011 at 8:53 pm

Haalaaaa ko ni. Bila proton buat enjin power tambah supercharger, mula la ungkit-ungkit gear ratiolah, gear boxlah, final ratiolah. Macam pandai sangat engko ni. Nak menunjuk kononnya ko ni pandai sangat la ni. Bila proton buat enjin taik takde super power, ko bising menyalak macam anjing, ini proton dah tambah super power ko menyalak lagi macam tuuuuutttt*****.. Kalau dah tak pandai tu, jangan berlagak nak tunjuk pandai la weii..

• wonderGuy on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:10 pm

A new model with a new engine would be nice instead of the same model but with different engine.

• Kiddo on Apr 29, 2011 at 11:31 pm

and normally people like you would cheer for BMW or Audi for introducing a huge variety of engines with different displacements for their cars.

320i, 323i, 325i, 328i (US), 335i, 320d, 325d (US), 335d, M3.

• jalan54 on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:12 pm

Still the same question, why supercharge and not turbo charge?

Yeah, how about gearbox? Still the same 5 speed ratio gearbox? That gearbox is totally sucks.

• littlefire on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:57 pm

Yup with great power, u will need LSD or at least 6-speed manual to coup the power band… Even my toyota SEG also have 6-speed manual + LSD from a T. Levin AE111..

If P1 can add in a 6-speed manual gearbox + LSD, i think it will have a great sales like the previous legendary GTi..

• Paul Tan on Apr 29, 2011 at 9:40 pm

My E39 has 360hp/420Nm and it runs fine on its 5-speed manual. I’m not saying it (or this Satria) would not benefit from a 6-speed, but with so much torque gained from forced induction, it doesn’t hunger for 6 ratios spaced tightly close together… the 5 gears can keep it in its prime.

• MCdog on Apr 29, 2011 at 10:34 pm

hey guys, most of the gearbox on market can handle 200Nm torque easily lar.
          Paul is right, i don’t see 6 speed is a necessary for a 180hp car….
          The target quality of the gearbox should focus on target performance and longevity.

• tommy on Apr 29, 2011 at 11:47 pm

So you own an M5 huh? cool!!!!

• Paul Tan on Apr 30, 2011 at 12:53 am

No la, it’s a 6 cylinder E39 with a supercharger.

• Did E39 having supercharger ? You mod it ?

• Hey Paul,

Have you dyno’ed your car to see if it really puts out that amount of power and torque? Most of the SC implementations I’ve seen on BMW M52/54 engine gain only like 25-30hp although claims are always higher.

• Paul Tan on Apr 30, 2011 at 3:44 pm

Yes… Got about 320hp on wheel and 380nm on wheel. Just added normal manual transmission losses to come up with the engine figures. It is a custom kit I put together myself built around the Rotrex C30 and Active Autowerke custom software so I have no reference expected hp/torque to claim to have, I just hoped for the best haha. The engine is 3.2 liters based on US M3 S52B32 internals.

• Wai Kar Ven on Oct 15, 2011 at 3:18 am

Hi Paul,

Quick question on your E39. I take it you supercharged the M52B28 engine which was bored (86.4mm) and stroked (89.6mm)? Did you just get the engine internals and modified the block or did you get an assembled kit (like Hiop or MST Noelle/Wiesemann)? Also, does the block overheat easily with the forced induction and thinner bore walls?

• Paul Tan on Oct 15, 2011 at 9:09 am

I am using a steel M50 block. And american market S52B32 internals. My displacement is 3.2 liters. Btw your name is familiar, are you from VI?

• Wai Kar Ven on Oct 15, 2011 at 5:46 pm

Ahhhh steel block, cool stuff. Did you order the internals individually or did you order an aftermarket stroker kit?

And yes i am from VI indeed. One year below you! I’m amazed (and flattered) you still remember! We didn’t really speak much then!

• littlefire on Apr 29, 2011 at 11:52 pm

Well, is just matter of getting new & better technology for P1 to improve their sales.. Yup i do believe 5 speed can be used.. But with the current market (almost every car also 5 speed, except those performance cars).. It is recommended for P1 to give them a better edge in term of performance & marketing. 6 speed gearbox have been proven also to improve fuel consumption. With the higher fuel price now, it will be even better as u can put higher ratio gear at 6th gear for better cruising at highway..

Well, if P1 can took it as a consideration. I guarantee it will make a big chunk of performance market.. Just imagine Satria GTi supercharge + 6-speed LSD gearbox… A lot will mouth watering just to see the words “Supercharge + 6-speed”..

• linear_system on Apr 30, 2011 at 7:56 am

before this u asked for turbo/supercharge..now u asked for 6-speeder+LSD..later when proton did that, u will ask for others..or u will be commented here why is the price so high..one by one bro..let’s look at the performance 1st..later wanna enhance that will be good..

• Ayecaramba! on Apr 30, 2011 at 12:43 pm

In my opinion, it’s the budget la. :) Don’t want to make the cost price so high. Mau untung ma. How about the turbocharged unit in KLIMS? 200hp and 250Nm! Sounds really tasty. Sadly, the news has so far said it will not make it into production. == Can give the Golf Gti a run for its money. Nvm, be contented! :D

• Proness on Apr 29, 2011 at 11:55 pm

toyota levin cheap car only need 6 speed. torque sucks. akakakkaka

• littlefire on Apr 30, 2011 at 8:39 am

Bro, when u drove it.. U will never go back to 5-speed… T.Levin also have 5-speed version also.. Just ask those Toyota guys driving 20V at Sepang.. Most of them also used 6-speed.. Why not test using ur Satria CPS 1.6 5-speed and goes against a 4A-GE 20V 4 throttle + 6-speed T.Levin n c who win the day? Just ask those Honda type-R also using 6-speed, most of them will let u know that 6-speed is more fun! As u drive manual is to shift!!!

• fazron80 on Apr 30, 2011 at 5:56 pm

6 gears is not that many. Lorry has more gears than toyota levin or honda type-r. Ask lorry drivers if it’s fun shifting that many gears. Better yet try yourself changing that many gears. Why stop at 6 gears only. Put 20 gears la if it’s really that important. Honda civic typre-r should have at least 7 gears.
            It’s up to the manufacturer to choose their setup. What’s the point of putting 6 gears when it only matters to some people. And that some people won’t even buy a proton. Only bla bla this bla bla that. Not enough of this not enough of that. No quality la old technology la etc etc.

• littlefire on Apr 30, 2011 at 9:17 pm

How big is the lorry gearbox compare to a normal car gearbox? Just compare it apple to apple. Lorries need a lot of ratio due to their load..

So if 6-speed is nothing & cost is the real reason for a lot of people here.. Why not go back to those 4-speed manual era? Even cheaper i think the cost.. If 6-speed is not proven, i wonder why still a lot of manufacturer including European & Japanese performance car also using it.. The technology is already out there for so long & just like previous ppl compare saying that Air-bag & ABS cost a lot.. Just go & check how much now? You will be shock that the cost is so cheap! Due to mass production!

I am here to give suggestion for P1 to improve their performance & maybe even sales.. Wif the Car for sure over RM80k & limited to 500 units, why not make it special?!?

• hi little fire, since u mentioned that the upgrade is so cheap, so how much u need to pay for 6 speed getrag manual gearbox that can hold more than 200nm of torque, for 500 unit? If the sc unit alone cost rm 4k, so how much do u the speeder? Another 4k or a whopping 15k per piece or even more. Another thing, gearbox is not a plug n play thing, even u buy it for example from shelf as in getrag, u still need to tune the gb n pay their consultancy service to suit the gb with the engine n they will be more than 10 setup of gb ratio that need to test to choose the perfect one,than test it reliability n many more. Than later can produce the car. So how much do u think the rnd cost involve just becoz u want to sell a 500 unit car with a new gb? If prtn want to spend their money on that, i think they will not unless it is for mass pro car that can sell more than 100k unit. If u want new speeder,wait for cfe or iafm plus. Then,its still 5 speed i think. Em,since u talk so much on 6 speed on type r,so may i know at which rpm the engine will run 110kmh using 6th gear?

• bobdbilder on May 01, 2011 at 10:01 am

You forgot to mention that the 4AGE has 40hp more hp (untuned) and 20Nm (untuned) more than a Neo CPS. Plus it makes more CO2 than current engines. Clever.

• heynekko on Apr 29, 2011 at 9:01 pm

it is a 5 speed close ratio one.. like they use in the recent r3

• bobdbilder on Apr 29, 2011 at 9:33 pm

If you have never tried the Neo CPS R3, you would have no idea how fast the tacho reaches 5000 rpm which is the top torque and where it easily feels at home. It easily reaches redline. If it had 6 speed and a blower, you’d be shifting mad trying to keep it in the power band. I’ve had my CPS R3 for 2 months and most of the time, it takes gargantuan effort to keep it within legal speed limits. It just prods you to give it some gas. Coz it just sings really well where it is most good at.

• jalan54 on May 02, 2011 at 3:03 am

Well, I’m just asking a question here and correct me if I’m wrong. Why supercharger and not turbo charger? Isn’t the cost of turbo charger cheaper compare to supercharger, isn’t the maintenance cost is cheaper for turbo charger? Since turbo charger can produce the same amount of power and maybe more with lower cost, so why not turbo charger?

Also I’m not really saying that not to use 5 speed gearbox, but just not to use the current close ratio one, since it has more power now, they can choose to use a longer ratio 5 speed gearbox instead of this close ratio one and this will help in terms of fuel consumption.

But one thing true that I really don’t like the current gearbox, this is just me.

• alfie60 on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:13 pm

Instead of making the car better i guess Proton think if they can make their car faster people will buy the it and forget and forgive them for the shitty quality.

Finally a satria that can OVERTAKE a suzuki swift. ;-)

• HirumaKecil on Apr 29, 2011 at 10:07 pm

Kahkahkah.. Are u kidding??? Current Satria NEO without CPS already smoked the 1.6 Suzuki Swift Sport.. And u r talking about the standard 1.5 Swift>>> Kahkahkah.. u r so funny.. such a funny basher….

Or did u refer to Satria Neo 1.3? But still Neo 1.3 also already can smoked the standard Swift….

• lol. come race with me. A swift for u and a just normal neo cps for me.
      you all say, who win?

• youtube.com/watch?v=uqykakqdZWg

• gah. tu standard Neo, bukan CPS der

• fazron80 on Apr 30, 2011 at 6:01 pm

I think it’s still neck and neck even with neo cps. Heavier body is a setback for neo in a drag race. In a track it’s another story. But neo r3 might win in a drag with it’s bigger power.

• hahaha.. it is not swift vs. neo CPS lorr.. it is swift vs. neo CAMPRO.. dude even the swift can’t have a big gap with the standard CAMPRO in this vid.

• Kiddo on Apr 29, 2011 at 11:36 pm

Why isn’t offering a better engine considered as making the car better?

Let me make an example out of your own sentence.

”Instead of making your comment sounds more logical I guess you think if you can make a stupid comment to bash Proton people will like it and forgive you for the shitty content.”

• MengQ on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:15 pm

Bring it on Proton!!

• AUD600K for 500 = AUD1200 each = +- MYR3900 each.

• i heard retail price is around RM4K-5K for each of this superchargers

• MCdog on Apr 29, 2011 at 10:41 pm

i think the hp gain worth the money. Not sure about FC though.

• Mr Wancer on Apr 30, 2011 at 1:44 am

Since when a performance car have GOOD FC???

Even if have good FC by default, it will still consume high FC. Why? Your right leg every time will be ITCHY to just press the pedal…

• MCdog on Apr 30, 2011 at 9:42 am

Nowaday, all car engineers are aiming higher performance with lower FC already liao etc. looks at the new Aventador and boxer engine.
            No matter you go tracking or daily drive, FC does matter.

Typical Malaysia uncle logic => “muahaha want drive lambo don’t concern about FC lar blabla” . In Malaysia, we have too many talk cock big mouth logic.

• cos car here is too expensive, if you can afford 1 million buck car, the petrol a month is 1k, so what?

• MCdog on Apr 30, 2011 at 7:31 pm

Got money does not mean you need to wasting time pumping gas and feeding Arab Kings.
            Another thing is about the engine technology. Isn’t it cool to have a 1000hp++ petrol powered car with FC of 100KM/liter and taupau other cars without pitting muahaha.

• carazy on May 03, 2011 at 2:44 pm

I doubt your statement, Yes Aventador is better in term of look, performance compared to its predecessor, Murcielago. BUT from what I understood is, the CO2 emissions are down about 20 percent to its predecessor, not the FC… Correct me if Im wrong.. jz wandering what Murcielago FC is?? same with my EX5 maybe??

• carazy on May 09, 2011 at 5:33 pm

http://www.car-emissions.com/cars/top100/least-economical

jz visits this site, compare lambo, Honda, Proton, Mec MPG… and if u still dont make up ur mind that lambo is fuel efficient car.. i cant say nothing..

• DonkeyKong on Apr 30, 2011 at 3:29 pm

Audi RS4’s 4.2 litre V8 engine has a fuel consumption similar to my old Wira 1.5 EFI. Since when did performance cars MUST have shitty fuel consumption? It’s no longer the days of the Countach with six twin-Webers!

• gunman on May 01, 2011 at 10:58 am

yeah, only when your cruising @ below higway speed…. gun the throtle and watch the fuel guage drop like a rock trying to swim…

• sukasuki on May 01, 2011 at 12:47 pm

lucky you have audi rs4 to replace your old wira. i drove e200 cgi once, the FC is about more or less as accord 2.0 vti, and its fuel consumption depends on how your drive, either it urban or highway or both, and if you stucked in massive jam or not. last time i drive a SL320 mercedes, and the FC is comparable to honda civic 1.5 EF2, but with very clear traffic from wangsa maju to bangi. but during traffic jam, it costs me rm30 for stucked in jam only. i dont have a car, but i drove a lot of cars. my relative’s car. :)

• Ah, finally a “tuned special edition” that has real substance instead of cosmetics changes only.

• Cosmetics only…are for certain type of car…not neo…Standard NEO, NEO R3, NEO CPS, NEO Lotus, NEO CPS R3….all of them are not mere cosmetics…under the hood…there are changesssss…^_^

• narakka on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:23 pm

shh awak dont buy lah.no money no talk.

• jendol on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:26 pm

wauwauwee!!! a supercharged into production, really interested to see the final product, if possible then i’ll probably sambar one, lucky got no commitment…yet

• proton on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:26 pm

a supercharger already costs RM4000

• Can buy seperately with it..? Who’s own the Neo CPS..?? Emm.. Hopefully not so expensive..

• armandd on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:28 pm

hopefully this version of neo won’t be limited production unit so that more members of the public can enjoy it!

• rembau on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:31 pm

Shoulda waited for theeee…

• Saya mau satu…………………

• mystvearn on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:47 pm

Now waiting for dual clutch gearbox:D

• doesnt bother about the price…just bring it..for sure ill place my booking…got money got this car…

• shawal on Apr 29, 2011 at 9:05 pm

hope the car comes with better interior quality , since the car is not going to be cheap i presume…. however , great news from proton..

• sell them as kit with no limited number. exora will want this easily.

• sukasuki on Apr 29, 2011 at 9:13 pm

only 500 units of supercharger order by proton. meaning that 500 unit satria neo will be fitted with this. surely it will be hot like pisang goreng. and of course will be fully booked.

• Thank you Proton..hoooray! :D

• SiputSTi on Apr 29, 2011 at 9:44 pm

even if it is 10k higher than the std neo, people will definitely buy…

• 10k?

em…im wonder.

cost of sc alone is 4k. piggyback? exhaust system? suspension? brake? bodykit? color scheme? labor? tweak here and there? etc….

• bobdbilder on Apr 29, 2011 at 9:44 pm

One thing for sure, that solid chassis can handle a lot more than the 150Nm it currently gets. It just takes those corners like a walk in the park. If it falls out of line, a quick small correction and you’d have it back. You don’t really have to think. Its like its wired to your central nervous system. Then you just laugh and smile at how brilliant it is. It could handle 200Nm without much fuss. The question is more if the driver can handle it.

• iskhalifah on Apr 30, 2011 at 12:32 am

The spiritual successor to the original 140hp Satria GTi. This time around it will become a strong challenge to Golf GTi & Civic Type-R.

• Unforgiven on Apr 30, 2011 at 2:48 pm

Golf GTi & Civic Type-R are different class, they won’t be interested in the Proton/Satria…

• Mozilla Chrome on Apr 30, 2011 at 6:10 pm

Yeah, their ‘class’ belong to the back if they can’t keep up with the neo.

• Unforgiven on May 01, 2011 at 5:36 pm

Yeah, do you think an E39/E90 owner will care if a Neo smoke them?

• teelim on Apr 29, 2011 at 10:08 pm

looks like we are never getting a satria neo replacement

but at least this should be the best neo they make. (well I sure hope it is)

• kagesenshi on Apr 30, 2011 at 1:37 am

not having a replacement is good news too :P .. can keep the Neo long with less worry for replacement parts ..

• swiftsporter on Apr 29, 2011 at 10:08 pm

this car estimated around 70K? any news?

• HirumaKecil on Apr 30, 2011 at 10:42 pm

Since this car are powerful than neo r3, so i expect the price will be more than that… Because neo r3 price already rm70k… so i think this will be price at 75k-85k….

• nolan on Apr 29, 2011 at 10:25 pm

at last……..a brilliant move from Proton…

• MCdog on Apr 29, 2011 at 10:40 pm

If timing is right, Proton should sell this supercharged Satria successfully in local and global market.
    Focus fire on entry-level sports car market kau kau please.

• Vincent on Apr 29, 2011 at 11:24 pm

I am more anticipate to see the supercharges pug into Exora.

Imaging such a big size MPV, with 1.6 supercharge that can push out 180PS…competible with those 2.4 MPV…

If it cost less than RM5K to pug on, I certainly suer it will help P1 to gain moer sales…

• P1 sure charge u more than RM10k…. charger 4k + Tax + Installation 7k = > RM10k

• freddie on Apr 30, 2011 at 9:15 am

The idea of putting Supercharger into a smaller car is more interesting than putting it in an Exora.

You have very little imagination.

• Vincent on Apr 30, 2011 at 5:05 pm

Bro, It is business imagination vs sport mode imagination..

I am talking about Proton sales …Exora with supercharge might get P1 2000 unit a month, but with Neo, 2000 a year?

180Ps for family car, MPV is sufficient.

• BadBET on Apr 29, 2011 at 11:24 pm

Put those supercharger and a facelift like the Artiga front lamp… Good job proton

• can it be fitted in my gen2 cps?? i wan one!!! ……

• ko malu saje... on Apr 29, 2011 at 11:50 pm

Thing is, when Perodua releases something, people will bring up the Proton issue, but when Proton releases something juicier, these people are nowhere to be seen.

My conclusion is, Perodua people no juice one.

• rikmun on Apr 29, 2011 at 11:58 pm

Proton is getting their line-up more interesting and interesting.Proton should get a Putra MkII based on the Persona.The design is good enough.

• please sell as performance upgrade kit as well

• iskhalifah on Apr 30, 2011 at 12:27 am

Each supercharger will cost more than RM4,000 to import it here.

U almost forgot our astronomical import duty?? Down-Under is not under AFTA common preferential tariff scheme. Maybe they are planning for few units (500 is few) and making loss, and then when sales are getting better, it justifies their investment to set up the manufacturing operations here.

My wild imagination tells me that this supercharger will be fitted into Exora and Persona R (if proton discarded turbo and chose supercharger instead). Wohoo :D

• Paul Tan on Apr 30, 2011 at 12:39 am

The duty can be very minimal. I brought in my supercharger from Denmark with very little duty, through proper channels, no hanky panky, you just need to file it under the right classification. It was not a twin-screw design though, it was a centrifugal type which looks like a turbo.

• shiftSpank on Apr 30, 2011 at 12:38 am

Saw the R3 in the flesh at Proton’s HQ COE. Was really impressed with the design. More surprising the use of alcantara on the steering wheel and seat bolsters. Now with a supercharger and at 180bhp. It will be perfect.

Argh, so torn between a sensible 4 door and a Neo R3 with the blower!!

• bobdbilder on Apr 30, 2011 at 12:39 am

Here’s a possible clue to why a blower and not a turbo; weight. If Sprintex got it right, it has an isentropic efficiency at +80% (less heat release from compressed air). They claim it does not need an intercooler. Therefore, there is weight and assembly cost savings. You’d get some decent increase in power without much hike in weight.

A turbo setup would mean heavier front engine load with the piping work and the radiator and therefore stiffer springs. So we might see a circa 180hp/1250kg = 144 hp/ton instead of 120 hp/ton for the current Neo CPS R3. With 200Nm pulling that, it could easily go sub 9s for 0 to 100km/h.

• Paul Tan on Apr 30, 2011 at 12:41 am

I really don’t believe any claim of “no intercooler needed” as I’ve found out through my trial & error research with supercharging my car in our climate.

• bobdbilder on Apr 30, 2011 at 12:56 am

Go see your pic at the Shanghai Show. There’s a pic of the engine bay. Plus, Daryl gave me a tour of R3 the day after they put it up. :) That’s like a few days before APRC.

I’ve already asked if they had Methanol injection. He said no coz it would be difficult for people to handle methanol.

• Paul Tan on Apr 30, 2011 at 1:19 am

I’m not saying they are using an intercooler. Just saying I personally wouldn’t run forced induction here without an intercooler!

• taukey on Apr 30, 2011 at 4:04 am

agreed; plus with the hot weather condition

• 308 turbo can do 0-100 at 9.3 second, with4 doors and 1 moon roof and 6 airbags, aka a lot of weight.

this 2 doors neo can do sub 9 seconds with supercharger is nothing to boast about, i’m expecing sub 7 second.

• 1.the act of compressing air do produce heat , so it is good to run the air through
    inter cooler to bring down the temperature.

2. the gear box originally suit 1.6. so with the power and torque hike. they should revise the gearbox ratio, or at least revise the final drive in its 5 speeder.
    or 6 speed can be used as the 6th is economical highway drive.

(for example same car 1.3 and 1.6,,they have a different final drive ratio at the same gearbox at least)

• ouldmenaz on Apr 30, 2011 at 10:00 am

Speechless…. x tau kenape org keliling aku, kalau aku cakap nak pki Neo diorang cakap byk problem la, x bagus la. Padahal diorang ni pki kxxxxl, Mxxi, Axxa, Vxxs. Tp aku ttp with my Neo.

• Nizam80 on May 01, 2011 at 12:20 pm

Ignore them. To me, the best car Perodua has ever produced/rebadged was the Kelisa (decent handling & fun to drive). Period.

From that point onwards and until now, all cars coming from them are simply garbage.

• Kevin Lee on Apr 30, 2011 at 10:21 am

here’s a sprintex powered fiat 1.8 engine on a honda s600

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ucHv3TvDeMo

it can do quarter miles in 9 secs range (with NOS), but yeah thats how good sprintex is!

• or.. maybe this car is for aussie market :D

• Phantom Works on Apr 30, 2011 at 10:25 am

Thumbs up for proton this time even i’m not a proton supporter. this type of engine spec sholud slap perodua face for their lame special and limited edition..Keep it up..

• Why dont Proton juz come out with a new premium model like Supra,GTR,RX8, instead of spending money to enhance currently models. I think Proton Satria Neo had already gone through a few spec enhancement type. I do believe this could give Proton a better/quality image. Malaysian do afford to own RM200K over sports car. Possible if Proton could also invent a new sports car range RM150K.People will still afford to buy.

• aduss on Apr 30, 2011 at 1:33 pm

proton ada super car l… tak ingat kar LOTUS? eerrr rasanya proton nk keluarkan Lotus Europa versi Malaysia, Proton Lekir Concept.. so check it out.. http://paultan.org/topics/cars/malaysian-makes/proton/page/6/

• huh?a discontinued model? i like the model,If around RM150k,definitely i will grab it!

• With this supercharge, if i were p1 i will intro it in almost all P1 car. It all about tuning, how to tune it to fit in 1.3 & 1.6 P1 car with balance of FC & power.

• captain_gaban on Apr 30, 2011 at 12:28 pm

P2 SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!! (hahahaha…i’ve no reason to bash them…just want to)

• Lancermania on Apr 30, 2011 at 5:27 pm

jz wondering, who is Proreka?

• i don’t mind a mild supercharger…….
    who knows.. perhaps half of the supercharge is for the Exora….

• afeef on Apr 30, 2011 at 5:52 pm

nice one proton!!! but with the current neo R3 price , added with supercharger , the price of neo supercharged must be much higher…sob3

• deftones on Apr 30, 2011 at 7:57 pm

whatever they introduce, hopefully they price it below 100k if they plan for mass production..
    otherwise, pug 308, polo, fiesta, etc will be another strong option..

• agree! this ia opportunity.
      proton should not see at force induction too exclusive. makes them normal like the mercedes kompressor where its just another ordinary line up for customers choise

• bobdbilder on May 01, 2011 at 9:32 am

Mercedes is exclusive. Even their lowest range cars are premiums especially in developing economies. That is their market. They HAVE to be exclusive. That’s how they can charge a premium for a 1.8 force induced car. If the current CPS R3 goes for 80K, this should be in the 90K or more. There is more foreign content with a rising AUD. It does not make business sense otherwise. The R3 label will push the affordability envelope. It needs to.

We want it to be affordable, I know. But that is what the Proton label is for. This have high possibility of being an R3 label. Both are different brands and serve different market. This is for young(ish) sporty individuals :)

• johnny on Apr 30, 2011 at 8:48 pm

Looking on the long run, would current owners of the Satria Neo (non-supercharged version) be able to install superchargers in their cars?

• this twin scroll need a specially designed intake manifold.
      . these manifold will be in market for sure. so any campro can use it but iafm system has to be get rid of.

if its a turbine type supercharger maybe original intake manifold can do it,
      all it need is ducting.

• Actually P1 and P2 sucks!i’ve no reason to love them…

• Golf R FTW beat this any day and anywhere

• ahseng on May 01, 2011 at 2:54 pm

what a nonsense statement by a no-brainer comparing it with GOLF R?
      y dont u just comparing it with any ferraris straight away then?..

• ahseng on May 01, 2011 at 2:51 pm

what a nonsense comparing with Golf R..
    y dont u just comparing it with any ferraris straight away then?

• ezracopters on May 01, 2011 at 3:00 pm

Dangg.. should i bought another or sell his brother 1st???

• lost-fan on May 01, 2011 at 3:42 pm

..same old story..boring & no WOW factor !! Come on p1 build something better like ur old mitsu badge that is satria gti !!!

• my 2cent on May 01, 2011 at 6:18 pm

WOW factor??..when they build it u still hate what P1 did n u buy T & H..so keep ur mouth shut =D

• donno on May 02, 2011 at 2:04 am

The Mini cooper 1.6 changed from a supercharged to a turbo….

I’m just wondering, why not just install the Campro CFE Turbo that is developed for the Exora into the Neo?

Or is the troubled CFE killed off as the launch date of the Exora turbo is supposed to be now?

Won’t the cooling issues of the CFE happen to the supercharged engine?

• Ah makes sense then since your engine base is a 3.2 ltr S50/52 base instead of the M52/54! I believe stock it churns out 240hp, so you’re getting about 90hp gain with the SC kit which is amazing (9 psi boost?). Not many folks I know have a US Spec M3 engine in their BMWs here, but the engine is an iron block so its a good base for FI.

• As one of the Protong’s critics I am impressed. I hope the supercharger is meant to IMPROVE the fuel efficiency of all CamTakPro engines. Or at least can “tapau” all those arrogant Aunties/Uncles inside import brands that drive cars like shi*.

Unfortunately that is ONLY the tip of the iceberg. There’re still tonnes of issues Protong needs to solve. Protong are still tied with their Parts Supplier/Vendors (those who provide “quality” parts; sendiri paham-paham).

If Protong can’t still impress the bulk of Rakyat with their supercharger, and for all God’s reason; MyVI and VivA still can outrun Protong’s sales (again), please don’t blame your hardworking siblings; Perodua, that just means that you’re still suck over and over again. Stop pointing fingers at the Rakyat (we have forcibly supporting you for the past 25 years with our god dam* money and tax). Somebody just needs to get their contract/job terminated! Cut your losses and find a good supplier/vendor.

99% of my hopes on Protong has gone to smitherens long ago (including my hope on our troublesome Automotive Industry and our politically turmoil country). But somewhere deep inside my dark heart, which is about 1% of it, I believe Protong will improve their forsaken cars into the best in the world (jangan kembang hidung dulu Protong – show some result first).

BUT, waiting for Protong to improve is like waiting until Kingdom comes (dunia kiamat). Sampai bila???

• kah kah adoi bila baca yang komen kejap gear box kejap fc kejap turbo kejap supercharge kejap kualiti hahaha adoi mcm nih lah sat lg proton akan kuarkan kete letrik full version hahah tak perlu pikir fc (sebab korang nak jimat minyak ) so pakai bateri haha nak torq kuat ambik motor tu direct gear tak hilang pun tork kalua nak kuat lg buat mcm kete rc lah tak pun hampa semua yang dok mengata dari tadi tambah lg power bateri… DAH BAGUS DAH PROTON NAK SUPERCHARGE ADA SAJA ALASAN PENGUTUK TUH.. YANG DOK MENGUTUK TU CUBE LAH BG IDEA BERNAS SIKIT..

• taxi driver on May 03, 2011 at 8:18 am

yang bernas nye… kalau proton boleh boleh masukkan supercharger ni kat dalam exora.. rasanya model ni lebih memerlukan..

• ArD501 on May 03, 2011 at 1:52 pm

check this out..

http://paultan.org/2010/12/03/proton-satria-neo-r3-concept-at-klims-200-hp-250-nm/

• Norman on May 06, 2011 at 11:16 am

I think the real Proton problem is the mentality of some Malaysians itself,Perodua is just a makeover copy from Toyota/Daihatsu to gain more local sales since their market is not that impressive here.Its not easy being a local car manufacturer..Unlike Toyota and Honda which exist more than a decade ago.

• BinLaden on Sep 03, 2011 at 11:04 am

brg baik ni..brp price..