Ford Focus TDCi: 1,365.6 km done on one tank of diesel!

It was a challenge organised by Sime Darby Auto ConneXion to see who could go the furthest distance on a single tank of diesel, in this case with the Ford Focus TDCi. Four media cars joined five customer vehicles over a three-day journey – which ended over the weekend – to see what could be achieved.

There was even a bit of national pride at stake: the participating media had the ASEAN Focus TDCi record of 1,200 km on a single tank – held by Ford Philippines – to contend with. In the end, two of the media cars smashed that record, the winning car clocking 1,365.6 km on a single 53 litre tank, with 67 km left on the distance to empty reading on the vehicle’s computer, with an average speed of 67 kph for the whole journey.

We were there (part of the winning team, no less!), and we’ll have the whole story for you as soon as we can find what’s left of our grey matter! Stay tuned.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• joni wolker on May 02, 2011 at 9:33 pm

more km compare to diesel panamera

• Malcolm Lim on May 02, 2011 at 9:35 pm

Looks like Diesel cars are getting way better FC than hybrid cars after all!

• MoFaz on May 02, 2011 at 11:01 pm

diesel hybrid could be even better :)

• Ford Focus Diesel the Best on May 03, 2011 at 6:05 am

Yup but no point doing all this comparison drama when the Ford Focus diesel is nearly RM20,000 more than the Focus petrol car. Can’t SDAC reduce the price of the TDCi to the same price as the petrol? How do you expect people to buy diesel or promote diesel when you price your diesel cars so much higher than your petrol?

I own a Ford Focus and to be honest, I have not seen a Focus diesel on the road at all. Btw, where is the Diesel Escape?

• I have one… And i love it… Yes I agree its expensive. But it also means not everybody will be owning one. Lol! :) plus you won’t believe how little I spend on diesal.

Moving at 200 kmh on the road and no vibration, no loud sounds and no loss of control… superb car

• littlefire on May 03, 2011 at 11:02 am

It is proven dude.. Somemore cheaper to maintain compare to hybrid due to lesser component parts… ( less battery, less more electronic parts & the best save more weight!)

The only thing that prevent even more diesel engine to come, is our inferior EURO2 par standart diesel!!! Argg…

• Invictus on May 04, 2011 at 12:46 am

Most people dun realise hybrids are just a publicity campaign…………a diesel will make far more sense if u wanna safe fuel & the environment………….simply because u will get far more distance on it……………..even fact Top Gear and othe European car magazines hace shown that a BMW 3 series Diesel gets better range than a Prius…..go figure that one out………………

• when our policy makers are gona realize this? its time to reduce tax on these kinda cars and bring in better diesel…..

• insperut on May 02, 2011 at 9:47 pm

diesel rulez!!

• bunyi enjin macam mana? bising ke tak?

• bisa lah macam lori kan tu desel mau bunyi macam F1 tak mungkin lah

• darling, i was talking about the engine’s sound since the car uses diesel as its fuel. banyak kereta nowadays dah guna diesel, so, i just wanna know whether bunyi engine dia kasar ke tak compared to petrol. sorento uses diesel too, and the engine’s sound is quite kasar. i don’t talk about F1 or whatever related to it.

• tokmoh on May 03, 2011 at 3:02 am

Diesel will always have the clack clack clack sound. I’ve heard it on an S-class and 7-series.

Bt it’s nothing really once u start moving. U’ll completely forget and smile when u see how far it can go with a full tank :)

Being European, I believe it has good enough NVH to not be intrusive

• rallyfan00 on May 03, 2011 at 8:19 am

diesel ‘clatter’ is still apparent with all diesel cars, including those from audi, bmw and mercedes. but they are not so apparent in cabin thanks to improvements in sound insulation, etc.

• 4g63t dsm on May 03, 2011 at 8:00 am

Typically diesel engines do clatter a bit during cold start up. That applies to even modern diesels. However, they are much quieter than what you might expect from a “lori” or pickup.

I have driven a few newer diesels during my recent stays in europe and they are very quiet during cruising and everyday driving. Diesel cars usually have better sound insulation in the engine bay, but it is uncertain how much of this additional sound insulation is retained for local diesel cars.

so in short, unless you are outside the car, you wont really be bothered by the diesel clatter.

• here in sabah 60%car are in diesel,as far as sound wise,nothing much to fuzz bout,just bit louder than petrol,but u want it soud more ”nice”,try straight pipe it like ppl love to do in here….the turbo sound eliminate the diesel sound.. :D

• Mr. Biggy on May 02, 2011 at 10:28 pm

Only at 67kph? Move aside grandpa.

• Carl Wong on May 02, 2011 at 10:37 pm

Average speed, read please.

• Mr. Biggy on May 03, 2011 at 9:29 pm

I’m sure can read but i can count better. If you mean to say average, at times they travel at 100kph, then they must be doing way lower than 40kph at most to match the 67kph AVERAGE. Learn to count grandpa wong.

• if u are in that competition, i assume u also will do the same thing in order to win.

• Carl Wong on May 02, 2011 at 10:37 pm

I have never even seen more than 1000 km per tank in my life, GREAT JOB guys and THANKS for sharing :)….!!!!!!!!

• 0regan0 on May 02, 2011 at 11:23 pm

no sweat… http://bit.ly/lz5e5D

• Carl Wong on May 03, 2011 at 12:51 am

And they used only 53 or just 50 litres?? Amazing.

It could be even better with the use of Auto-stop technology, which the Econetic has it.

• I heard that If you floor the pedal or really accelerate real hard…. The air cond compressor cuts off to give more power for the turbo diesel to kick in.
    Means that every time you drive hard, you get hot air….. Is this true?

• Syed Barney on May 02, 2011 at 10:48 pm

The amount of crazy and weird “I heard that…” stuff I’ve been reading whenever it comes to diesel car stories all over the net, those hybrid salesmen must be really desperate as they cannot match the mileage that diesel gives.

• 4545er on May 03, 2011 at 1:32 am

even myvi have this system..it just cut off a few sec and kick in back after a few moment just to give an extra pickup and also to prolong acon compressor lifespan

• rallyfan00 on May 03, 2011 at 8:25 am

a turbodiesel doesn’t need ‘more power’ to “kick in”. have you ever seen how much torque a diesel engine makes? The focus alone makes 320nm of torque at 1,800rpm!!

• agree! i ride on impreza n ford ranger once,when accelerate hard,the torque feel exactly the same…..

• TFazuin on May 03, 2011 at 12:36 pm

The car drives like a dream… Next time go to the showroom and ask for a test drive. I even managed to do a wheelspin at standstill, on a frontwheel drive car lagi which is rare.

• Carl Wong on May 05, 2011 at 12:22 am

Some Toyota cars have this technology, but it happens really fast and you won’t even notice it, and you won’t get hot air.

• likehondanotsomuch on May 02, 2011 at 10:48 pm

wow,,,,this is the practical choice compared to the panamara,,,,even my navara only manage 650km full tank,,,wow.

• Harrier on May 02, 2011 at 11:08 pm

bro, is challenge ma…. if in real life how possible to reach that 1200++ km..
    if hybrid do that the same way i think more than this…..

just my cent…

• a quick calculation shows this ford focus achieved 3.7L/100km. exactly the same as Prius on extra urban(wikipedia).

and in real life ppl have to be heavy on the gas pedal sometimes, in which case this Ford will triumph since its much more powerful with those low end grunts. Gonna have to step much harder in a Prius to get it accelerate jus as fast.

I’m not exactly a hybrid hater but I really do think its all overhyped by the marketing ploy and the celebrities.

• specialist on May 02, 2011 at 11:12 pm

Remarkable feat.
    If it wasn’t for the low-grade diesel from our pumps, I would have gotten the car.

• the Focus is one hell of a car and most malaysians are in denial. wake up people, especially you calculative T and H worshippers. if payback and residual value is all you worry about, a focus doing 1,365.6km must be a reincarnation of god for you guys, masha allah.

• tdci owner here , just that T n H have much better after sales service

• Vincent on May 02, 2011 at 11:20 pm

The 320d can do more than 1000 km too, most Malaysians are still very naive, they thought hybrid is the only fuel saver but overlooked Turbo diesel engine, which give them not only good mileage, but POWER which hybrid car doesn’t offer.

• Rockmebaby on May 02, 2011 at 11:29 pm

65km/h….like watching snow melt. If they done it at 90km/h, that’s more acceptable :P

• 0regan0 on May 02, 2011 at 11:33 pm

why don’t you go check your car’s average speed, if you have a trip computer? don’t be surprised if your average speed is that low, because average takes into account slow crawling jams as well, which they probably faced at many points especially since they continued driving in KL in the evening.

• rallyfan00 on May 03, 2011 at 8:11 am

rockmebaby, its average speed. if you dont know what that means, go google it.

• repez on May 02, 2011 at 11:48 pm

my average speed of going to my workplace is about 30-40km/h per hour! i may get benefit if using this tech?

• repez on May 02, 2011 at 11:51 pm

maybe can get benefit from petrolsaving, but what about its price? don’t tell me i have to use this car for 9 years just to get my ROI

• Paul Tan on May 03, 2011 at 12:18 am

This is not a hybrid where there is a price premium over the regular engine car such as the situation before the government reduced the taxes on hybrids. The Focus TDCI is priced at the same level as its other C-segment rivals – under RM130k. You would only need to count ROI versus fuel savings if there was a big price premium to pay over a petrol car. Engine displacement is also 2.0 liters so there’s no gap in road tax cost. The fuel savings are instant in this case.

• Carl Wong on May 03, 2011 at 12:49 am

Will diesel hybrids below 2.0 L enjoy the same tax incentives?

• jalan54 on May 03, 2011 at 12:59 pm

I’m not sure if I’m correct, but base on my previous calculation, the maintenance cost and the price for the so called “genuine parts” that sime darby ford is charging consider on the high side and all the fuel saving cost is actually being transfer to become the maintenance cost. Therefore I’m not sure if there is actually a ROI.

The price for the car is ok, but one big concern for me is that the high maintenance cost and the high “genuine” parts prices, whether it is really worth of getting one.

I like the car very much, the torque, the number of fuel saves and everything and it is the cheapest available C segment diesel car, I just don’t like how sime darby ford thought that we are stupid and charge all the parts and the maintenance cost this high, unless they adjust all these prices, else I just wouldn’t put my hand on it. What a waste… :(

• bobdbilder on May 03, 2011 at 12:21 am

Its still burning fossil fuel a non renewable energy source. Its still is an internal combustion engine, albeit more efficient than a petrol engine. Even if you pump in 10% palm oil mix, it still 90% hydrocarbon that you need to dig a hole in the ground to get to. You either get it from a cracker (same cracker to get petrol) or Gas to Liquid process. Its a solution to save money. Not save the earth. It does not ween people away from addiction to hydrocarbons.

But it is a good step to get people on the Efficiency bandwagon. Once we get a lot of people hooked on continuously looking for efficiency, our lives will be much more enhanced. Then we’ll talk about going all electric.

• Carl Wong on May 03, 2011 at 1:08 am

Ya what we can do for now is to make the most of what we have by maximizing efficiency and reducing wastage in our daily lives. Our ultimate future is of course something like electric or hydrogen fuel cells, but we can’t jump straight to those without the infrastructure in place. Petrol hybrids, diesel hybrids, turbo diesels, LPG, natural gas vehicles…… is a good transition for the next 10-20 years :].

• Ash Menon on May 03, 2011 at 1:19 am

Wouldn’t you agree that a step towards efficiency is a step towards saving the environment, though? After all, if we can slow down environmental destruction, it can buy us extra time to come up with less destructive and more renewable sources of energy.

• tokmoh on May 03, 2011 at 3:11 am

Biofuels are highly criticised, even by environMENTALists. It’s oil that could be used to feed the poors.

Just the other day I read news that it’s a failure in Germany n they’re gonna stop selling biofuel IIRC.

Efficiency is definitely the name of the game in today’s industry. After being hit by record USD140/barrel in 2008… Or more closely in Msia, rm2.70/L fuel by our beloved bodowi, I think f/c carries a heavier weight in purchasing criteria for most consumers

• TFazuin on May 03, 2011 at 12:53 pm

Well that’s because fuel generated from soy bean, maize and jathopra could not match the production volume of palm oil. Even today palm oil is being used for industrial process, from creating high end / premium ester engine engine oils that costs RM250-400 for a 4L pack to producing evnviromental friendly bio degradable drilling fluids, which saves the cost of disposal of cutting and drying which are hazadous. We produce close to 700,000 barrels of oil, but Malaysia and its companies spanning Indonesia produce 10 times that and measured in tonnes. So you can see why the western countries are scared, oil is a finite resource, but if you can plant them and reap the benefits in 4 years or less, then its a gold mine.

• Paul Tan on May 03, 2011 at 1:06 pm

Yes, feedstock they use for biofuels in those countries are different. They need bio oils with different properties that don’t change properties in the winter. We can use palm oil because it’s summer all year long.

• rosdi on May 13, 2011 at 6:32 pm

I like the way you put it, summer all year long!!..

• technology in our time are not sufficient to replacement these fossil fuel transport…we can just wait,but by the mean time,we can use existing technology to enhance it….i don’t believe u can just jump in a electric car and drive it,just not practical in our time…..don’t be a hippocrate,u still need these ”cracker” or internal combustion!

• farghmee on May 03, 2011 at 1:15 pm

my suggestion:)

use nuclear pp to generate electricity.
        then use the electricity as fuel to electric cars.

muahahahahaha

• TFazuin on May 03, 2011 at 12:47 pm

Going electric means among others mining more rare earth elements, pollution and also a giant risk in the area of battery storage, disposal etc when they are spent. They are more dangerous than any smoke emitted from a poorly maintained diesel truck.

• Kelvin on May 03, 2011 at 1:12 am

My BMW 330XD from 2008 makes 9.9l/100km combined. With moments of hard driving and high speeds of up to 200km/h.

Managed to get 700km on my last fuel up.

I think diesels with light bodywork and good downforce aerodynamics should be the way to go before a fully renewable energy source is found.

• Gavin on May 03, 2011 at 1:39 am

Haha to those who think petrol is still fuel saving with ther vvti,dvvt, vtec and what not

Even more LOL to hybrid car buyers

• TFazuin on May 03, 2011 at 3:29 pm

Not all engines are built the same, some older engines are more fuel efficent or generates more power per cubic capacity. Its how much money you had on the outlay i.e a 2004 2.5L Mark X engine is better designed than a 2005 BMW which generates ony 184hp in contrast to 212 for the Mark X. So keep on reading the tech sheet and comment. All the hype VTEC, VTI etc is reserved for low end models. The big brothers never advertise what they have under the hood.

• Congratulation, already beat my Triton 2.5, my record is 1 full tank diesel can only achieved 820 kilometer with average speed 70-80 km/h. same triton power but put inside the ford foucs car with less weight, well done ford, well done diesel car, is a amazing records.

• Matthew Lim on May 03, 2011 at 9:24 am

Actually, people should not get excited about this 1356 KM thing. In the long run, you lose out a lot. The Ford Focus depreciates steeply. In a years time, a brand new Focus, priced at RM115,000 drops to about RM85,000. In 5 years time, a time most people change their cars, the car drops to RM35,000.

So you think you are saving in fuel. But in 5 years time, the guy who bought an Altis or a Civic can sell his car for around RM80,000 whilst you sell your Focus at RM35,000. That is based on the Ford Focus Petrol. The Ford Focus Diesel is worse when depreciation is concerned as precedent and history has shown, diesel cars fall in value more than their petrol counterpart.

I hate Honda and Toyota but logic would prevail that if Honda launches a Civic Diesel like in the UK, it would be a good investment in Malaysia. At least it holds its value.

• Thanks for the tip Malcolm. I know it must have been hard and painful pulling those “facts” out of your ass.

• vincent on May 03, 2011 at 10:56 am

Sorry to say that boring car like Civic and Altis can’t offer the safety, handling and stability which a Focus can offer. :) The only one that can challenge Focus is Mazda 3.

• TFazuin on May 03, 2011 at 1:06 pm

Yes everybody knows you paid a ton for Honda and Toyota which is over priced, they also give you bad warranty and minimum service interval of 5,000KM, who the heck does that if the car is so good, people are talking about 20,000 – 25,000 service intervals and unlimited miles warranty. They used all that excess cash that you willingly parted to shore up the Brand.

Yes a Hybrid looks cool, I work for the oil company, you know, we store our Li-Ion spent batteries in a water proof military type bunker after its spent carved into a mountain, we shipped it half way round the globe to Canada where the battery originated. Now if everyone cares a damn about the enviroment, think 2000 car sales a month of Hybrid, where to dump all that batteries. You would think you can just dump it off in a landfill would you. Your best bet is Diesel. Its cleaner, more fuel efficent. You can use up the whole lifetime of the car and the cost to the enviroment would be minimal.

• Gavin on May 03, 2011 at 4:08 pm

Yeah and how many time people have said ‘oh you buying that car? very makan minyak wan you know?’

This cannot apply

• Maserati on May 03, 2011 at 9:41 am

Pls lah, try driving this car hard then u knoe it sucks diesel. U think you going to drive this car at 60 kmh everyday? Then whats the use of all its torque ? To drive at 60 kmh everyday?

Even if i took a volkswagen golf gti and drove it 60kmh i would get a very good fc reading, of cuz not 1000 over kms but still decent readings minus the black smoke and noise.

The good thing about hybrid is that whether u drive it hard or take a slow cruise, you still get good fc..

This diesel not only pollutes the environment , the engine is noisy while idling and u feel like ur in a lorry at times..

• Udang on May 03, 2011 at 9:45 am

So that it can either use very little diesel when you drive economically or respond with fantastic torque when you drive it hard.

Unlike petrol engine which either guzzle moderately or guzzle alot.

Use your brain macha, how you gonna afford your Maserati.

• sukasuki on May 03, 2011 at 9:52 am

i believe u still living in 1970’s. in Europe, diesel is one of the favourite engine because of less roadtax. do you know in europe, the roadtax price based on how much CO2, CO and NOX your car produced? or do u know what CO2, CO and NOX means? if u dont, then ask your children in primary school then.

• hey insect brain,hybrid car if u drive it hard,more fuel consuming than sportcar,go watch top gear when prius vs bmw..bmw more economic…beside,how fast u thk u nid to going EACH DAY SINCE THE TRAFFIC JAM HAPPENS ALL THE TIME IN MALAYSIA,u thk u drive in autobahn kah?250km enuf for u???

• tongek on May 03, 2011 at 10:06 am

“This diesel not only pollutes the environment , the engine is noisy while idling and u feel like ur in a lorry at times..”

hahahahah….

• vincent on May 03, 2011 at 10:58 am

The engine noise is not that loud anymore with the improvement in diesel technology, I stood next to a Focus TDCi before, I can tell you the idle engine noise is just slightly louder than a petrol engine.

• sukasuki on May 03, 2011 at 10:22 am

i thought this maserati man inhale a lot of petrol, thats why his brain become dysfunctional. we call it BD or B_D_. please fill in blanks to get extra marks from tadika kemas.

• N.Keong on May 03, 2011 at 10:28 am

Hi Anthony, I am looking forward to the full write up. Nice to have met you and thanks for sharing your tips and experience with the car.

I was one of the owner, participating in the drive challenge. I may not have been the winner, clearly as I was speeding up and down the hill sections. Had my air con on all the way… Wasn’t driving at 110km/h but I was going at an average of 80km/h, maintaining my rpm below 2000.
      Anyway it was a fuel efficiency challenge, I wasn’t surprised on the ways used to achieve it. But I dare say, at the end I still managed to clock almost 1200km per full tank of diesel, without doing all the extreme tricks.

On a seperate drive, speeding all the way from Subang to Bukit Kayu Hitam, average speed about 120km/h, reaching speeds of 195km/h wherever possible. I still managed to get 800+ km per full tank. Which translate to 1 full tank all the way up North, at speeds… not 70km/h but double that !

Had a great time ! Great place… great food ! Great meeting new friends. It was like a motor-head getaway, it was just food, smoke and all talks about cars !

• chris on May 03, 2011 at 2:06 pm

Hi N. Keong,
        Just curious, how did the powershift gearbox perfoms?

• N.Keong on May 03, 2011 at 2:25 pm

I haven’t got anything to compare it with….

But for my style of driving it is just great ! I don’t really have to “play” with the “manual” up and down shift. Due to the short rpm limits of the diesel engine revs.

My last drive on Karak, at nite and wet, just left it in “S”port mode… slightly early breaking before the corners, the gearbox will down shift and holds it thru the corners. Then just accelerate, brings out the torque and pull away from the corner.

Not mistaken it is the same gearbox in the Volvo S40.

• chris on May 04, 2011 at 1:16 pm

Hi N.Keong,
            Thanks for the feed back. Just one more thing, since the powershift is a six speed gear box, ever experience the gear box can’t decide which gear to use? I’m planning to to get a Fiesta but the gearbox is the main reason holding me back .

• how fucking outdated are u?do u noe that diesel is more fuel efficient,more pwerful and lesser emission.your so called high polution and noisy is due to low diesel grade in malaysia.Europeans favour diesel over hybrid because its superior in terms of performance,consumption and reliability.oni japs and americans like to buy hybrid cars

• For Maserati on May 03, 2011 at 11:52 am

Maserati :
      Diesel not only pollutes the environment, engine sound is noisy while idling, STUDY BEFORE YOUR COMMEND, Search the google is it Diesel pollutes the enviroment? do you have a diesel engine car? if the engine sound is louder that mean you do not take care your car, this is cal payback from the engine.

• For Maserati on May 03, 2011 at 11:58 am

Diesel is considered a much greener fuel than gasoline because burning diesel produces less greenhouse gases. They are also more efficient as a fuel when compared to gasoline. They convert more than 30% of fuel (chemical energy) to mechanical energy (movement). Gas engines covert around 25%.

Diesel also generates less waste heat than gas engines. Since diesel engines last longer than gas engines, the energy to make a new engine is reduced. The carbon monoxide content is also slightly lesser than petrol emissions. Bio diesel is easily adaptable to the engine without any additives. Gas engines require additives like gasohol. However, despite their advantages diesel produces more particulate emissions which could form smog.

• hey insect brain,hybrid car if u drive it hard,more fuel consuming than sportcar,go watch top gear when prius vs bmw..bmw more economic…beside,how fast u thk u nid to going EACH DAY SINCE THE TRAFFIC JAM HAPPENS ALL THE TIME IN MALAYSIA,u thk u drive in autobahn kah?250km enuf for u???

• N.Keong on May 03, 2011 at 10:30 am

oddly…. during this challenge drive back from Penang… there was this hopeful crazy Honda Insight trying to have a go with the Gallardo..

I was laughing my ass off….

• KL Stray Cat on May 03, 2011 at 10:05 am

IMHO…I guess some people want a nice looking car, excellent FC, does not sound like a truck at idle, cheap, does not pollute the environment and and good resale value & perhaps not built by either P1 or P2…(and this list is not exhaustive)

Where in this God’s green earth are you going to find a car with the combination of everything you want ???

This diesel challenge was great (and we Malaysian love to break records), perhaps we can challenge ourselves to be better drivers – driving within the speed limit, using our turn signals, being courteous, etc. etc. Game on ??

• So what is the T & C to get that 1200km?

• peterwkc on May 03, 2011 at 1:07 pm

1liter 25 km. Better than toyota prius. When we can get the Ford Econetic diesel engine ?

• maserati on May 03, 2011 at 1:33 pm

Lol at all the ford “lovers”

I dont know what the hype is all about, Yes it is fuel efficient but as one fella said you lose out in the long run. Most of u are penny wise pound foolish. You see saving cents is more important than saving dollars. Dont u know diesel cars depreciate like nobodys business? Add to that ford terrible resale value. After 5 years you would hv lost much much more than what u hv saved on ur diesel.

And for those who say they wont sell their car, thats just bullshit.hybrids still make more sense since they are cheaper .of course less powerful lah.

And to the smartiepants (FC)who said he could drive 60 kmh everyday since kl always jam, nobody ask u to go kl everyday. Ever heard of highways ? You dont talk so much i want to see you do 60 everyday nuthead.

• diesel cars depreciate because brainless “Experts” like you go around spreading rumours and untruths destroying all the hard work that people are doing and make people thing diesel cars are bad. things are so much different now with euro2 fuel and modern diesel engines. just look at all the 320d owners in the bmw club malaysia forums, they have had their cars for a long time now and are strong advocates of diesel. i know you need to sell your prius but please play fair and don’t resort to this kind of lowball attacks.

• artworkz on May 03, 2011 at 2:48 pm

63km/h is average speed lah bro. u buta ?

• Diesel car resale value drops very bad? Woohoo!
      Drop harder faster the better, so that I can easily afford one at a dirt cheap price. Better drop to RM30k in 3 years time, I will buy one with low mileage and no accident in a blink of an eye :)

• rallyfan00 on May 03, 2011 at 3:04 pm

maserati, ford just has problems selling cars here, not because of the car itself, but i suspect by the years of neglect by the distributors. the focus, and now the fiesta are incredible volume sellers for Ford all over the world. The fiesta alone was credited with the car that brought ford back into the black after nearly going bankrupt.

you cant judge a car just by looking at the malaysian market.

• artworkz on May 03, 2011 at 7:21 pm

fiesta with favorite color ie blue/white is out of stock! fiesta sell volome is higher than satria neo in jan,feb n mac. ford car is great n resonable price just after sell service suck but i will continue support good product from ford!

• sukasuki on May 03, 2011 at 3:14 pm

owh?are you sure diesel cars depreciate fast? you cannot use wira diesel resale value for your facts, if you so, i think u have a brain of a 5 years old kid.

• TFazuin on May 03, 2011 at 3:23 pm

Yes some of us don’t sell our cars, why? because we love them and also because we have the money to buy the next car without resorting to selling off the old car. We don’t need a 9 year loan or a 10% downpayment. To make the roads less chockful of traffic we would even prefer anyone that requires a loan longer than 5 years not to be allowed to own a car.

To me the purchase of a car is related to all my life’s milestone that includes, marriages, promotions, change of jobs, purchase of a new house or a newborn baby that resulted in an addition of another car. Due to that emotional attachment I tend to keep all my cars, they now number 3, and yes I hand them down to my family members and I still take care of them like I take care of the new additions. So deprectiation is nothing to shout about when we are talking about emotional bond.

• jalan54 on May 03, 2011 at 4:46 pm

Petrol hybrid is not making any sense, only diesel hybrid makes more sense as it provides power at the same time have higher fuel consumption.

Maserati, you have to understand 1 thing, ford tdci is a good car, it doesn’t matter how much second hand value it has, it is still a good car. Second hand value of a vehicle is always depends on the market, if the distributor for ford is clever enough, they can create a very good second value for all of their vehicles.

• johndol on May 03, 2011 at 5:06 pm

i’m still not selling my 2001 wira, that means that i’m bulshitting? OMG

• masak satay on May 03, 2011 at 6:39 pm

wow,so u think each typical Malaysian are vy rich?can change car each 5 year??wow,are u sure u’re not living in japan??

• TFazuin on May 05, 2011 at 9:14 am

That’s why have to study and when you work, accept jobs in middle of no where for 5-7 years then work in KL. These are sacrifices that people are not willing to make, missing out on McD, KFC, TGV. No good exposure, no extra pay. Its that simple. You need to pay your dues. You don’t and can’t demand to be paid 20K a month or people will call u a lunatic.

• makcik maserati whom doesnt own one on May 03, 2011 at 2:05 pm

i bet u drive proton iswara but wanna own a maserati or something…n u wanna own golf gti as well since u mention ”if i drive”….these ppl r the one who actually drive it,n they know what they doing,not like you,hang a poster of maserati n tfk at ur room………what u said bout diesel car is based on ur insect brain theory….what u know bout it?u doesnt even noe bout diesel car or owning 1,yet u keep bashing like ur professional…..
    ei,my advise,u try buy a maserati la….if u hav chance la…or a prius…if u hav money la…..u try the maintenance fee in prius is cheap rite?more economic rite?just dont die on sticking pedal ya…. cheers bro~muackssss!

• for maserati on May 03, 2011 at 2:17 pm

oh,so u wanna buy a car coz its resell value is high?oh….then y not buy a car made from gold,i’m sure the resell value is vy high…. :D
    obviously u never drive car in malaysia before,ya,in the night u can go 140kmh,ya tat be great,IF U GO WORK AT NIGHT LA,not morning hour JAM,n of course if u live in country side la,then u can go 300 without hitting the kambing…..AVERAGE SPEED la BRO,ur math must fail….67 kmh average is vy reasonable lo,but of course la,mr maserati never stop at traffic jam or red light,he think he drive maserati at autobahn ma…hahahaha

• Ash Menon on May 09, 2011 at 7:38 pm

“then u can go 300 without hitting the kambing….”

HAHAHA wtf kesian la kambing tu! eh but then can get mutton…

• mr.buru on May 03, 2011 at 3:27 pm

….my hyundai santa fe 2.2 diesel r type engine can go 620 km with full tank rm100…

• N.Keong on May 03, 2011 at 3:54 pm

Everyone is “free” to make their comments… How much value their comments hold depends on their credibility la.

As for me, as a Focus TDCi owner, I am not saying it is the BEST car ever, but for my usage and how I am driving, I think it the BEST suiting car for me. Low end high torque power for easy over taking, good fuel efficiency from the diesel. Heck ! Why not ?!
    And after driving for almost 43,000km… where got black smoke ?! Never saw it before…

Want more power, for sure a turbo charged petrol engine wins hands down !

Better fuel efficiency ? Maybe a Hybrid ? I don’t know…

Many of the big boys are having diesel engine variant. If really diesel engine is that bad and poluting, why are there more diesel engine car options in Europe and UK ? Where the emission control is so much more strict ? Same reason why the FD2R has been stopped production.

Depends again on what you want, what you can afford…

• Maserati on May 03, 2011 at 5:17 pm

for maserati says:
    3/5/2011 at 2:17 pm
    oh,so u wanna buy a car coz its resell value is high?oh….then y not buy a car made from gold,i’m sure the resell value is vy high….
    obviously u never drive car in malaysia before,ya,in the night u can go 140kmh,ya tat be great,IF U GO WORK AT NIGHT LA,not morning hour JAM,n of course if u live in country side la,then u can go 300 without hitting the kambing…..AVERAGE SPEED la BRO,ur math must fail….67 kmh average is vy reasonable lo,but of course la,mr maserati never stop at traffic jam or red light,he think he drive maserati at autobahn ma…hahahaha

Another foolish person who is easily influenced by blogs and “REVIEWS”.

Hello,every morning u speed to work ? Sat SUN cannot speed on highways? So ur telling me every single day every single hour got jam? Pls lah,i drive more in a week than u do in a month lah peabrain .

I think ur maths fail.Even though its average 67kmh,but the guy has to be driving 67-80kmh for the whole distance to achieve the so called 1300++ km on a tank of diesel.

Come on lah,how many people actually drive at 67kmh ?? And dont come and bullshit me about u driving slow and giving lame excuses about traffic jam and all.

I hate it when ppl drive the car at an AVERAGE speed of 67kmh and say it can go 1300++ kms.

Pls ,next time drive it at an average speed of 100kmh and if u still manage to get 1000++ kms per tank,then I will say its good.Other than that ,I could even get a Honda CITY idsi and drive it at an average speed of 67kmh and say that the full tank of 40L can go 700km.Then people will go “WOW,what a great car”

Come on lah,wanna do the challenge,do in more realistic conditions,at least average speed of 100kmh.

• Paul Tan on May 03, 2011 at 5:35 pm

Why don’t you wait for Anthony to describe his driving pattern before you speculate?

As someone who drives a diesel car as a daily driver, I don’t find this hard to believe at all. It’s so easy to rack up 1,000km+ mileages per full tank, even when trashing the car, can still get 800km+. I did KL to Penang at speeds of 140km/h to 190km/h and still got 300km per quarter tank. But then again, even after I present these facts, you will say it’s impossible. Because you don’t drive a diesel car, you don’t know.

Diesels consume less fuel even when you drive it hard. Harvinder’s E270 CDI consumed almost 30% less the amount of fuel that the Accord, Camry and Teana consumed in our three-way test drive review, and the E270 CDI was being driven harder as it had to do alot of overtaking as the photography car, and had two people in it instead of just one driver.

• N.Keong on May 03, 2011 at 6:46 pm

But I did….

KL to Bukit Kayu Hitam test…. at speeds of 140km/h to 195km/h, I still got 800+ km per full tank of diesel.

And well said, even presenting with these facts, there will still be non-believers. Basically as we talked about in the 3D2N trip, the stigma of Malaysian and Diesel will be hard to overcome.

• arKCHane on May 03, 2011 at 8:02 pm

Hey Keong, nice to see you here. I’m the 2nd place guy for customer category. I believe that Malaysians will accept diesel sooner or later, when petrol price inflate beyond affordability.

• N.Keong on May 04, 2011 at 9:30 am

Hahahahahaa….

Great ! ! ! Recovering well from the trip ?

The “Do Not Temper” sticker was a bitch to remove rite….

• arKCHane on May 04, 2011 at 7:53 pm

Yeah man, but I found something that can remove them easier. I’ll share with you and other participants via email. Take care!

• johndol on May 03, 2011 at 5:44 pm

140 km/h on highway stretch for an hour + 5 km/h on massive traffic for an hour also can get an average of 67km/h.

• wateva on May 03, 2011 at 6:39 pm

hallo brader,

i am driving a renault clio 1.5 diesel in UK now (rental car of course), and with 95% full tank, i managed to get 677 miles. That is about 1083 km. And the warning light didnt even came up yet. FYI, my average speed is around 60mph. I do both highway and city driving. Highway mostly on weekends.

Btw, the tank size is 55 liters.

And i can tell you i do a lot of hard acceleration because the torque is just yummy i cant resist

• good one, thts why european don’t bother wt the current petrol hybrids when their diesels are more powerful & frugal. Wait till the coming of the euro diesel hybrid in full force….all this Japs petrol hybrid will be goner

• artworkz on May 03, 2011 at 6:57 pm

i go back to Mars, u not belong earth!

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 03, 2011 at 7:12 pm

Maserati,

Average speed as stated is from the reading off the TDCi’s trip computer, which means an average weighting for the entire drive. We were hovering around 80 kph, but went up to 95 kph at times on the highway as we paced off trucks to keep boredom from settling in. Also, the median speed takes into account slowing down for tolls, traffic lights etc in Ipoh, Taiping and Alor Star, and we had to contend with Penang traffic getting in and out of the island – the latter took us around 45 mins to clear on Sat at noon, right up to Juru toll. In Penang it was pretty much a crawl.

• Mr Wancer on May 04, 2011 at 2:12 am

HARD facts hits you right @ the face…

Diesel engine has improved quite alot nowadays and i do admit that it is better than gasoline in terms of balance between FC + Performance

The reason on why GENERALLY Malaysians like Maserati as example perceived that Diesel are not good is because they still seeing at the PAST where our diesel trucks, 4WD still emitting black smokes. This is mostly because the engine are not well maintain.

Same goes to why generally M’sians still thinks that T & H still produces better quality cars like the old times which is NOT.

• David on May 05, 2011 at 12:29 am

What kind of imbecile, ignorant moron talks such BS about cars when he doesn’t know it? Man, WTBF is F***ING wrong with you MASERATI??? I know you love your Hondas, but, PLEASE, for the love of God, we’re talking about the ECONOMY OF DIESEL POWERED CARS, NOT ABOUT FORD ITSELF.

Want proof that we’re talking BS? Fine, i don’t mind pitting my uncle’s Isuzu D-Max 2.5, which can easily cover hundreds of kilometers more while your beloved Citys and Mercs run out of juice.

Dare to do so? I’m sure any other diesel car owner would be more than happy to take on a sick, useless, pathetic recalcitrant douchebag like YOU!!

Sick idiot who shouldn’t be here talking about cars, better go to a fanboy page which suits you best.

• lipfeng on May 03, 2011 at 9:58 pm

I own a Pajero Sport GL. On average I can get 900+km per 70 liter (110km/j to 120km/j). Also a 1st time owner of diesel engine, very impress about it’s fuel saving.

• JeffLim on May 03, 2011 at 11:19 pm

I test driven the Focus TDCI TWICE… Once Hatchback and once Sedan. The Hatchback handles better… More fun to drive than the Sedan… But I loved the Sedan Boot space. I am saving money to buy the sedan… BTW, the Sales exec in PJ branch offered me massive 15k discount for a 2010 sedan…

• interested in this car too. unluckily the sedan interior colour is beige which is a big no no for me

• Wisdom on May 04, 2011 at 3:53 am

Anything that promote better energy efficiency… im in.

Recently drove an Insight with average 23km/l (calculate) without much effort. This Focus can do around 25km/l. Prius can do up to 28km/l. the list goes on.

I believe all these technology (hybrid, TD, GDI, etc) is making sense. Those who oppose this shift in technology by saying battery bla bla, diesel engine bla bla, u re going through an extinction period.

• 4g63t dsm on May 04, 2011 at 10:48 am

Sad case is, not many people beyond that of seasoned diesel car owners would know that diesel itself yields about 10-15% higher energy content per liter of fuel.

So all things being equal for this comparison, if a petrol car gets 600km on a tank, a diesel would easily make 700kms from the fuel alone.

With the engine’s higher thermal efficency of another 20% higher than that of petrol, you get another 200kms from that. On top of that, the low speed torque from the turbocharger adds even greater efficiency. Add all those advantages together and you’d see 1000kms range fairly regularly, especially in larger fuel tank equipped continentals.

That low end torque is something to be experienced. Its not rare to see cruising RPMs just a little over tickover….hence another fuel saving trick.

Would I say driving at 60kph realistic? No…not in a long shot. But even driven normally the range of an equivalent diesel has far better efficencies than a petrol.

• TFazuin on May 05, 2011 at 9:19 am

Yes diesel is on average 80-85% fuel efficent per liter in contrast to Petrol at 70%, that alone means You lose 30% of petrol through emissions as unburnt fuel. That alone without the efficent turbo already makes a big diffrence, adding an efficent turbo add the distance further.

• PenzoilGuy on May 04, 2011 at 5:55 pm

To Anthony or Paultan,

Just Curious…with the 53Liter full tank @ 1300++KM….Which Diesel you guys pump in?

Petronas,BHP,Shell,Caltex,Esso? Or izzit your media test car prefill by AutoConnextion..

Really caught my interest these TDCI :D

Thanks in Advance.

• arKCHane on May 04, 2011 at 8:23 pm

Hi, I think I can answer this as I am 1 of the participants for the customer category. In this challenge, Shell as the co-sponsor filled up 1 full tank for all of us! :D

• PenzoilGuy on May 04, 2011 at 11:31 pm

ahh so Shell Diesel, so from your experience which Diesel best/suitable for your TDCI? or izzit Shell itself?

• seehum on May 04, 2011 at 11:39 pm

its basically all marketing and no substance, go for caltex, bhpetrol or petronas dynamic diesel

• arKCHane on May 04, 2011 at 11:43 pm

From the research I’ve done from the internet and the forums, most people said BHPetrol’s diesel is the best because they have the most optimum additive added at 800ppm. Also, it is the closest station to my place, which is why I sticked to it. Saying that, all results from this challenge were from Shell’s diesel, so we can say that their diesel is proven too.

• N.Keong on May 05, 2011 at 9:20 am

Hmmmm…. I’ve never used BHP before… will give it a try in my next refill.

I’ve been using Shell mostly, and compare that with Petronas… the latter feels like less power.

Caltex is the best I’ve tried so far.. But hard to find a nearby station to me.

• PenzoilGuy on May 05, 2011 at 11:49 am

alright….thanks guys….really useful info ;) …

• pancit on May 10, 2011 at 10:11 am

dear all, to be able to have better grade of diesel, we as the rakyat has to be willing to accept extra price for the diesel. in order to have grade euro 4 and above, the diesel has to undergo more stringent process to be able to meet the mark as compared to petrol counterpart.

in a study done in europe though, a diesel car could still warrant cheaper fuel consumption in monetary term coz the saving from fuel consumtion could offset the price differential.

currently there are only around ten countries in the world who subsidize their fuels to rakyat (please correct me if i am wrong). all these countries are oil producing countries but in the same time not an advanced country.

all the advanced countries, for example Norway who is the third world largest oil producer, price their fuels at market price plus tax. reason being is that demand for petroleum is inelastic and civillain has to be educated to save the environment from using more fossil fuels in the long run. with inelastic demand, Norway has better revenue stream to develop the country while in the same time provide good basic care for the civillains. people will also use fuels in saving mode. Norway is actually one of the richest country in the world with high pay per capita.

our politican on the other way whether want to remain in power or want to be in power are hanging to this subsidy as their career life line. hard to blame them as well as our former PM was asked to step down mainly due to his bold decision to increase fuels price to RM 2.70 per litre. while our current govt would like to price our fuels to market, the alternative party even bold to say they will subsidize fuels if they were elected in the next election. we are not even the top oil producer. we could not afford to subsidize our fuels in the long run as our budget deficit is piling up year by year.

while to some who are aware, subsidy fuels especially diesel is actually creating another revenue stream for certain limited people to enrich themselves at the expense of taxpayers. while rakyat thought they were benefiting from subsidy, these people are actually become richer day by day without having to crack head as normal 9-5 working class people.

perhaps it is the time rakyat to realize that we have to be willing to see pump price to be marked at market price or even bold to be taxed on our fuels to create more revenue stream for our country for the betterment of counrty social facility and such. then, market force will take place where we could see rakyat pay is going up steadily.

in the end, we as rakyat has to make a choice. a better country or a better fuel price. just my two cents.

• Out of Luck on May 15, 2011 at 11:35 am

Does anyone have any idea when the new design of Ford Focus is coming to Msia? The new design looks pretty sleek like Fiesta with much sophisticated interior. The current Focus looks outdated both exteriorly and interiorly in terms of design although the built quality is superb. I really dislike the ICE on current version because it’s such as eye sore and the fact that the sedan TDCi only available in cream colour which easily gets dirty like what I’ve seen in the demo car. Otherwise, this is really such a great car!

• UPDATE!!!!!