Embracing new thinking, searching for new possibilities: We look at the next phase in Hyundai’s evolution

The statement ‘The Koreans are coming’ is about as outdated as the Backstreet Boys. They were coming in the past decade, even up until a few years ago, but with this latest generation of products from Hyundai and Kia, the Koreans have truly arrived. By the way, Hyundai-Kia is the fourth largest car manufacturer in the world today, only behind Toyota, GM and VW.

The tide really turned for Hyundai with this latest generation of products, which are obviously design led, with the tech to match. But looks weren’t always the priority. Study their relatively short history of making cars, and you’ll find a few phases.

‘America’s Best Warranty’ gave people less to worry about. Pic from my 1999 Road & Track

In the early days, it was all about value, undercutting established names by a few thousand bucks and drawing in folks who want more for less. Then came the quest for reliability, and what better way to convince than to offer epic warranties? Hyundai’s industry shaking warranties (they have trademarked “America’s Best Warranty”) appealed to those who wanted a reliable partner, a crowd that would normally head to Toyota showrooms without thinking.

Continue reading after the jump.

2010 Hyundai Elantra Sedan rating by J.D. Power USA

That’s still in place today, but the focus shifted to perceived quality, also a long time Toyota value. The generation of cars just before this one is proof of this approach, as well as the improved rankings in studies such as those by J.D. Power. The previous gen Sonata NF represents this phase well – it’s a solid, dependable, quality product, but also one that’s rather boring, and not outstanding in any area, to be honest.

Previous gen Sonata NF was competent, but didn’t stand out in any aspect

All those ticked boxes lead us to the next level – design and tech – and the name for it is “New Thinking, New Possibilities”. Hyundai’s new brand direction and statement was unveiled at this year’s Detroit show, and the meat in this new motto, which captures the spirit of change at the company, is “Modern Premium”. But what’s this different kind of premium they are talking about?

Modern Premium aims to provide customers with “emotional value and experiences beyond expectations”. Euisun Chung, Vice Chairman of Hyundai Motor explains: “Today, customers do not believe that expensive cars with unnecessary technology are premium. Instead, they want their core needs fulfilled at an accessible price and with a car that exceeds their expectations; a car that reflects their values and the times in which they live.”

Hyundai wants to make its cars desirable; the Veloster is a nice attempt

According to Hyundai, iconic Apple products such as the iPhone and iPad are non-car examples of Modern Premium, so is a cup of coffee at Starbucks. They believe that products that people desire, trust and are proud of don’t necessarily have to come with big price tags like traditional luxury items. In other words, you don’t need a Vertu, because the iPhone 4 is premium enough, and it serves you better as well.

One major Modern Premium feature is Blue Link, Hyundai’s new telematics system that was launched at this year’s Consumer Electronics Show (CES). Largely similar to GM’s OnStar and Ford’s Sync with some variations, Blue Link will debut later this year in North America with the Sonata and Veloster, and will be introduced in China next year. Europe and the rest of the world is in line. For Blue Link, Hyundai worked with ATX, the company behind BMW’s ConnectedDrive.

Blue Link telematics system debuts in the US this year, Hyundai’s version of OnStar and Sync

Offering features like Facebook connection by voice, weather and restaurant info, and a range of GPS related functions, Blue Link is cool, and it won’t be just for the higher range models. But what’s more tangible for us here and now is the other main Modern Premium pillar – design.

They mention “emotional value” and nothing speaks more to the emotion than design. Need proof? Ask an Alfa Romeo owner about the appeal of his bella, or even Kia Forte owners, who are quite a passionate bunch. Look at the current Sonata and Tucson, then compare them with the cars they replace. These are wallflowers morphed into head turners, and whether you like the direction or not, people pay attention.

Eye catching Sonata is selling well in Malaysia, figures (Jan-Mac 11) are on par with Accord

Hyundai calls this design direction “Fluidic Sculpture”, and it’s a look that will be used across the entire range. The Sonata and Tucson started the movement last year, followed by the Elantra and the Accent (Elantra should be coming this year, Accent’s entry is still being considered).

Already, the distinctive blend of organic shapes and bold lines (as opposed to Kia’s sharp look) are becoming synonymous with Hyundai, and is set to be a recognisable signature look for the brand.

It’s translating into sales too – Hyundai-Sime Darby sold 1,000 Sonatas from Jan-March 2011, just five units less than the Accord. Still some distance from the Camry and Teana, but very decent for our Japanese dominated market. HSDM sold 619 Tucsons in the same period.

Fluidic Sculpture for the whole range, new Accent is clearly Sonata’s younger brother

In the next part of this story, we talk to a designer who’s heavily involved in the Fluidic Sculpture movement, the same man responsible for the Sonata YF’s bold design. Stay tuned!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• akuGunaRon95 on May 03, 2011 at 9:49 am

im a proud owner of korean car, and i’m loving it… haha

• wow proton must be furious looking at this news knowning that they are so far behind

• lousy on May 03, 2011 at 10:14 am

I don’t think Proton even cares.All they care is profit.

• waimak on May 03, 2011 at 10:46 am

No I think they care only that they are not able to do it..

• redboy on May 03, 2011 at 11:17 am

Protong is making profit for the part suppliers. period. Tons of Protong still selling on the road. Who cares about the Camry/Accord/Sonata range. They happily making $$ at the Saga/Exora range. Since consumer has no replacement model and price at that range.
        Sonata will eventually over took Accord, and hard to chase Camry, since 2012 new Camry should come with LOTS of extra features (like the Sonata) or else…they would be over took.
        with 5 years warranty, the resale value sure is better than those 1year warranty of Camry/Accord for those who concern resale value.

• Proton will never learn anything. i had so many problems before and all they can say its normal for such problem but i insist that they repair it. I gaveup on proton cars already. Perodua also the same attitude.

• yes , same altitude for potong and perodua , the alza I bought got whole bunch of problem , never fix in their sc , call the hq also they don’t bother about it , they said they call me , but in real , they never call my hp , then they said the sc will contact me , but until today , the sc don’t bother to contact me on the wind noise issues , and the car is full of petrol smell whenever I fill the petrol .what quote on their service book “every car wears perodua badge contain a world of value” , wtf , this is a piece of junk !!!

• swiftsporter on May 03, 2011 at 3:26 pm

petrol smell? try Shell ron97 V-power premium, sure no smell. ron95 smell not compatible with alza, some said.

• wow dude….i can imagine how miserable your life is…why bought Alza in the first place then ngomel2 about it. if got money drive Bugatti Veyron or Lamborghini la..

i know someone who drove an imported auto car..never missed a maintenance..after 2 or 3 years the car gearbox broke down..called a mechanic who told him that the auto gear box oil and filter was never changed..he was furious with the service center..felt cheated and sold the car..bought a new locally made car..

• lina just tired reading same thing over and over again on May 04, 2011 at 2:26 am

oh yeahh…..by the way feel free to come to my showroom to trade in ur proton/perodua

p.s wink wink… Vnoz and Sean thanks man!!!! i’ll send the cheque via the usual way……

• ALpaccino on May 03, 2011 at 8:23 pm

Proton Sucks!! So called the National Car with so “Over-price” selling price and low standard after sales

• lina just tired reading same thing over and over again on May 04, 2011 at 2:20 am

why should proton furious??? sigh….. sad to see this kind of thinking…. no wonder not much great progress over malaysian mentality………look at somebody getting better, richer they get furious, more hatred and jealousy………i hope proton managemnt more mature than u and see the advancement of korean car as a challenge to improve themselves rather than getting furious ……….

• suppose hyundai go to that stage long time ago..they r in late 40’s of age when they sedar..proton sedar this current 1-2yrs in their mid 20 and looking forward what others did

• bobby on May 03, 2011 at 10:12 am

My new Hyundai Sonata YF is coming tomorrow ~!!!!! Hoorah~~~

• Mancini on May 03, 2011 at 11:10 am

awesome choice bro.
      malam ini bermalam dalam sonata!

• bro, once u get ur new sonata, pls ask them whether they will launch the new avante and the accent or not.. if yes, then when is it… tq

• bobby on May 03, 2011 at 4:03 pm

I asked ed. They said “presumely” around September for the new avante. No news for accent thou.

• thanks for the reply.. high expectation for launching and hope the price is good too..

• Whereismyelentra on May 04, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Hmm.. September!! I thought around June.. Since a SE told me during Klms

• atifjeelan avante on May 03, 2011 at 10:43 am

once be a owner of a korean cars, forever you love it. stylish, quality and value for money, Truly affordable premium!

• blackjkx on May 03, 2011 at 11:03 am

Somehow i found that old Getz is nice and ‘understanding’ kind of ride.
    Good for bargain eh

• Whereismyelentra on May 03, 2011 at 11:10 am

Guys.. Any news about Hyundai avente coming to shore

• As a korean car driver, I’m so proud to drive my car along the road…

• Black Dog on May 03, 2011 at 11:55 am

The Star today had a story on Korean cars selling well because of …. short supply of Japanese parts so slow delivery???

I think the reporter doesn’t know anything at all about cars! People are buying Koreans bcos they have improved tremendously and offer much better value. The waiting list for Tucson is 6 months! And many can’t even get their hands on a Sorento. The Forte is flying off the shelf due to it’s good looks, low price and 6 speed some more.

Many stories in The Star now are simply unrealiable. They even highlight a woman who block other people car, then ask that fella to apologies after he slap her. Who is wrong in the first place? Have to stop buying The Star and check my news on the ipad instead.

• mainstream media like the star are notorious for only writing good things for their masters, which are 1) barisan nasional and 2) advertisers. it’s clear that the jap brands pour all of their ad money there, resulting in this kind of stories.

• Ash Menon on May 03, 2011 at 12:19 pm

I think I know that story! It happened in my neighbourhood. She parked in front of her neighbour’s gate, then when the neighbour ask her to move the car, she said “you only got one car, I got three cars” and later on actually slapped the neighbor!

• MoFaz on May 03, 2011 at 1:27 pm

she’s stupid and arrogant… just because she has 3 cars she can park sesuka hati in front of neighbour house? why not park inside the neighbour porch instead?

• is the case like this, then the lady should apologizes..
        u have 3 cars is none of our business, just park ur cars in ur area but not give such stupid statement..
        then one saying that he having a lot of family members, so they can live in others ppl house???

• mspfaz on May 03, 2011 at 11:58 am

When Hyundai Avante would be sold in Malaysian market? That is a real beauty…

• 4g63t dsm on May 03, 2011 at 12:02 pm

They would have sold more Sonatas and Tucson had they had more units to sell. Waiting periods of 3-6 months sure would put a damper on sales.

I have owned some of Hyundai from thier less than stellar range like the Excel during college time (bought for $500) and have seen thier models come and go. The eye raising thing about Kia and Hyundai is the big leap each model brings to the table.
    What really killed the Koreans in malaysia is the importers/distributors did a really shitty job selling the brand and the products.

Like Proton, they also really started out in the early to mid 80s running on Mitsubishi platforms. Granted, the company started quite a bit earlier but they were basically at the same development as what proton was in the mid 80s. In 1985 I wont say that the Excel was better than the Saga…in fact, everythign being equal, the Excel was the worst car than the Saga.

The Koreans took 1/2 the time the Japanese took to “arrive” and quite foretelling how the Chinese will be doing in the next 10 years..as it is, they will probably take 1/2 the time the Koreans needed.

• tiadaid on May 03, 2011 at 12:17 pm

Hyundai didn’t start in the mid-80s. They started in 1967 producing a re-badged version of the Ford Cortina, and by 1975 produced their very first own design, the Hyundai Pony, designed by Giugiaro and using Mitsubishi’s underpinnings.

Anyway, one of the reason of Hyundai’s renaissance is the South Korean support, especially from its government. Although imported cars are not taxed highly in Korea, the Korean government made it very hard for Koreans to buy imported cars by implementing barriers such as limitation on advertising for foreign cars, even tax audits of those who went and bought imported cars. Heck, Toyota, Honda et al were banned from Korea until 1998!

Here’s the doc I found that outlined South Korea’s trade barrier to imported car, done by Ford
      http://corporate.ford.com/doc/fta_chronology.pdf

• Becareful Man, Korean Car Sales Exec will Hunt U down & thow yr remaining into the sea. :-)

• That’s pretty the same way as our nation government is doing…impose super high tax to secure the proton. Sad thing to say is P1 doesn’t really learnt as what Hyundai is doing to keep on improving their product and quality.

• waimak on May 03, 2011 at 1:35 pm

Now Kia and Hyundai are no longer run by Koreans alone; They are everywhere implementing world best approaches and practises. The facts about Kia/Hyundai’s success is that they acquire knowledge and technology and learn very-very fast – as simple as that. And when you are good you are probably only a little notch more than you competitor, just like you lose a point in a game, and that’s where Kia/ Hyundai are now to the rest of the world!

• tiadaid on May 03, 2011 at 3:40 pm

It’s not the same. If you work harder you can afford to buy an imported car and the goverment will not hassle you. In Korea even if the price of an imported car is the same as Korean cars, the government will make it a hassle for you to buy it. I mean, if you buy a Toyota here you won’t get audited by the LHDN now do you?

• 4g63t dsm on May 03, 2011 at 4:25 pm

The point is not who does well at thier home market. I can understand both your points of Hyundai starting earlier and enjoyed better protection at home.

Proton also does well here, or so it seems…… we have to see how they can reverse the trend of falling market share.

However, the most telling performance of a car maker is how well they do outside thier home market ….sans protection. Proton has been selling abroad for a good part of a decade now. Not gotten anyway far has it? …all this despite better specification and comparatively similar or better pricing.

Everyone can play well on home turf with an unfair advantage, the koreans included.

The real show is how well you play on someone else turf with thier market protection against you.

• Kumar san on May 03, 2011 at 6:20 pm

Agreed man.Cheers.

• hyundai exported car to the US in late 70’s or early 80’s but fail miserable that 3 decade ago only this 3-4yrs look they very excel n very competent..their car look good n futuristic…proton need faster pace than maybe half the time since information and technology now better than when hyundai start to make car for global to it achievement now

• MoFaz on May 03, 2011 at 1:16 pm

that’s the problem here.. bashers will always compare proton to hyundai but they never realised that hyundai received far greater protection in korea than proton ever get in malaysia. now only 5% of cars in korea are imported, compared to about 30% here in Malaysia.

• motorist on May 03, 2011 at 11:24 pm

Guys, look at the big picture:

Both Proton & Hyundai/Kia have unfair protection on home ground.
      Both started out as assemblers for foreign brand with a long term goal of growing home grown manufacturing & technology.

However, the Koreans are now competing in open market on equal footing as other brands.
      The Koreans can now produce it’s own engines, gear box, chassis, electronics that can compete on equal footing as other brands.
      The Koreans have learned from it’s mistake & improved upon it’s quality & design.

Proton needs to realised that the local car market is limited & stop being a kampung hero.

The competition is out there (not in M’sia) & it’s tough going out there. You can only compete when you realised that in the real world out there, everyone competes without any artificial handicap imposed upon them by big brother.

• lina just tired reading same thing over and over again on May 04, 2011 at 2:11 am

OMG u are a genius!!!!!!!!!!! ur comment and recommendation is soooooo original yet simple and nobody ever think about it before not even the proton CEO……………………….OMG!!! how could proton has wasted talent like u a mind with forward innovative thinking with out of this world highly original idea……………………..

p.s this is the first and must be the best comment/recommndation to proton everrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

• Forteowner on May 03, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Lets see whats the Japs supporter have to says about this..
    Looks like more and more D segment from Kimchi land and can’t wait to see
    the K5 coming this year…

• Base on the latest MAA figures.

Naza & Kia is the only top 20 non national brand show drop in sales base on 1st quater 2011 compare with 2010.

Kia Forte drop from 17 place in Feb to 21 place in march, way behind Altis 16th place with 772 units & Civic 15th place 794 units

Sonata only able to hold 31st place with 281 units sold, compare with Accord at 23rd place with 532 units, Camry at 13th with 917 units, Teana at 29th with 351 units.

Tucson at the 50th place with merely 147 units sold, vs CRV 20th place with 620 units.

Figure speak lounder than words, so much for Korean Car Fairy Tales.

• Year ~2002, potong local share market >60%
      Year ~2010, potong local share market <30%
      And the G until now still keep spoon feeding the potong…

Figure speak lounder than words, so much for Potong Tales.

• lina just tired reading same thing over and over again on May 04, 2011 at 2:51 am

OMGGGGGGG!!!!! ur are a math statistician genius extrodinare……….ur deduction based on 4 group of number (2002, 60, 2010,30) are mesmerising outstnding….

p.s 2002 – gomen tight grip on auto industry, asian financial crisis just over then 9/11 occurr= people poor buy more proton

2010 – gomen forced to eased up a bit = more model, variety. economics good = people got more money = buy other brand. people got more balls and big mouth = bad mouth proton to everybody. family dinamic change = more single, small family, yupies = more buy myviesssss

…hmmm…better stop bfore i write a novel-length comment like kumar san ;)

• muahahaha.. since the first comment just plug in the number and emphasis the figure speak louder, so just reply in same way..
          ur mathematic is more brilliant, so many XXX = YYY = ZZZ = !@#$$

• Kumar san on May 05, 2011 at 5:26 pm

Wow,isn’t “lina just tired reading same thing over and over again” smart guys??

Not exactly a novel length reply/comment now is it??

You are simply brilliant.Wow,i’m impressed,very impressed.

Cheers.

• japanese_doctor on May 03, 2011 at 3:59 pm

shzzz…quite…danny is just doing a favor for kimchi master..give him a break okie man!

• redboy on May 03, 2011 at 4:30 pm

there is a month the Sonata over sale the Camry/Accord. It depends whether there is cars available to register.

If you still think Korean cars are fairy tales, you probably still think the Proton will make it to the global market.

Look at the global volume sale of Korean cars, u think they care about Msia? They aim global, unlike Protong are the only manufacturer in the world killing its own nation’s wallet. Its 3rd world country monopolized policy obviously. 2020? Year drop back to 3rd world country with all monopolized scheme for sure. pity us.

• adsagain on May 03, 2011 at 1:51 pm

Hyundai/KIA…poor guy gets it!
    :)

• must be a honda or a toyota owner. Must be frustrated paying a high price for such cars. I pity your intelligence.

• atifjeelan on May 03, 2011 at 3:56 pm

try first, than you`ll know. Buy because of quality not because of famous brand

• aiya, rich or poor, i believe everyone should choose a car that fits their budget. if you r that rich, pls drive italian.

• Toyota & Honda Malaysia can go fly kite with their cost reduction!

• mr.buru on May 03, 2011 at 3:19 pm

…korean rocks…i received my santa fe 2.2 r enginie a month ago….i’m really satisfied,it’s powerful ,fuel saver and elegant…..my accord already took a rest fo a while….

• alpha999 on May 03, 2011 at 3:37 pm

no doubt…he koreans are coming

though vastly improve over the years, they still lack in areas such as fuel economy and ride handling. Be on par or better the japs and u’ll witness sky-rocketing sales statistics

• Exigezero on May 03, 2011 at 5:58 pm

It is called Hyundai verna and it is coming to Malaysia for sure. I saw the car in metal while they are filming the commercial in kl Sentral area last week. Maybe they want to ditch the accent name due to poor response last time??? My guess is the car will launch before raya. No doubt the Koreans improved by leaps and bounds.

• My Dear Danny,

Lot’s of Spining in the story i see.

Sonata 1000 units Vs Accord 1005 units (1st quater)
    Accord launch facelift model obviously consumer holding back on purchase, that why march figure show huge jump.

Tucson 619 units Vs CRV 1675 units (1 st quater) :-)

Seriously man get a job in MSM, trust me u fit in like a Glove.

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 03, 2011 at 6:41 pm

Yes, of course. It’s obvious that Hyundai sales are a long way from matching the Japanese models, which I did mention in the story. We’re also not trying to imply that “Hyundai is now bigger than Honda” in Malaysia, which is clearly not true.

What we’re trying to point out is that the figures Hyundai are recording these days are very decent in a Japanese dominated market, and I reckon that design is a major pull.

The CR-V has been, and is untouchable, but do you realise that the Tucson is the second best selling SUV of any size in the top-50? Not the X-Trail, not the Peugeot 3008, but a Hyundai. Wouldn’t have been possible with the dowdy previous gen Tucson, that’s for sure.

Yes, it may be just a laughable 600 units to Honda salesmen, but it’s a sign that people are starting to give themselves more options.

We have no agenda, just discussing trends.

• Kumar san on May 03, 2011 at 8:35 pm

Agreed dude.Cheers.

• With merely an aging x-trail & a niche 3008, 2nd place no longer a prestige isn’t it ?

Writing such a long article just for discussion ?
        Hmm… Half a bucket of water can be half full or half empty.

No intention to be little anyone article, let it “full stop” here.

— END —

• The X-Trail is an all-new model. I wonder this Honda salesman decided to back out out of courtesy or back out because he ran out of bullets after using his last ones to further insult non-Honda cars.

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 03, 2011 at 8:50 pm

Why so angry?

Nowhere did we put down any brand, but it seems like one tiny paragraph with Hyundai’s sales figures has managed to seriously offend you. I wonder why…

• Ash Menon on May 03, 2011 at 10:02 pm

Angry beavers will be angry, Danny. You could write a simple sentence mentioning Honda and Hyundai and he’d blow a gasket. You’ve laid down your points well, and you’ve presented the facts to back them up, and not made any extra inferences on your own. What anyone else assumes and extracts from there is his problem.

• Forteowner on May 04, 2011 at 12:10 am

I was also wondering why…it seems like this guy is all out to badmouth about the koreans..check other korean thread and you will see him there..

Hmm just another loser who is envy with the kimchi, a colleague of mine just opted for a sonata against the accord new FL and he was all this while a Honda freak…

• Rhys Millen on May 03, 2011 at 8:54 pm

Ageing x-trail ?????wake up from dreamland the all new xtrail was launched after the Tucson. Its just looking like the old Xtrail… Lazy, over complacency or excellent market insights of styling preference ? How is the 3008 niche ?

• jolo nak kena jolok lol

• when shopping for a D segment now.i would jz look at camry (for comfort) or either teana and sonata.accord is totally out of the league now

• My Avante serves me well….economics and reliable….it has sexy curves whenever it run on the hiway, everybody will look at me.. ;) handsome and sexy

• Can’t stop the Korean juggernaut. My friend in Malaysia just got a Sonata or i45 as it is known here. His previous ride, Nissan Cefiro.
    Hyundai and Proton shared similar birth stories. Both are developed with the assistance of MMC – Mitsubishi Motors Corp. Granted, Hyundai started earlier with local assembly of Ford Cortinas in late 60s. However its first locally made car is the Pony with powertrain provided by Mitsubishi in mid 70s. The Stellar is Hyundai’s first big car using Cortina Mk V platform but with Mitsubishi’s engine and transmission. It later became Sonata and i45. Hyundai now is world’s no. 4 car maker whist Proton is no where near top 10.

• New Hyundai Fan on May 10, 2011 at 2:53 pm

I finally owned a new Sonata which I have been admiring since it was launched in Korea on Sep’10. I also own a new Samsung LED TV. Later if my phone spoil, I will buy Samsung Galaxy phone. I am now a supporter for Korean made products. I believe in the near future, Huyndai & Kia will overtake Japanese car makers in sales just like what Samsung did in TV & handphone.

• CoolGuy8888 on Nov 20, 2011 at 9:39 am

Yes. Korean brands is here to stay…

Korean brands give better value buy, specs and features..