Ram Long-Hauler Concept Truck – it’s 7.3 metres long!

They don’t get much bigger, have more range or more pulling power than the Ram Long-Hauler Concept truck, the press release starts. No one would doubt them, just look at this thing!

On display at selected events across America, the Ram Long-Hauler is based on a Class 5 Ram 5500 Crew Cab. They then converted to a Mega Cab passenger compartment, added an 8-foot box and upped the range between refueling stops with a mid-ship fuel tank. Combined with a second frame-mounted tank and a third, optional, bed-mounted auxiliary tank, total fuel capacity is 643.52 litres!

This monster is 24 feet or 7.3 metres long, with the wheelbase along accounting for 5 metres. With a 37,500 Gross Combined Weight Rating (GCWR), the Long-Hauler can probably tow your house away.

Under the hood is an inline six-cylinder 6.7L “High Output Cummins Turbo Diesel” rated at 1,085 Nm. It’s mated to a six-speed Aisin automatic with four-wheel-drive transfer case coupled to a 4.88 Dana 110 axle with dual rear wheels.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2216]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• TFazuin on May 03, 2011 at 12:59 pm

Cummins turbo diesel… classic…

• you know how american’s like everything big!!.. you can probably fit a Jumbuck in the cargo bed

• Look funny, like the one in the cartoons ;-)

• Kumar san on May 03, 2011 at 1:33 pm

Looks like nothing much has changed in the Yank apporach to building trucks,or cars for that matter of fact.

They are the biggest you can find anyhwere,especially the 18 wheelers “Semi’s” or “Rigs’s” as they call it-Those Kenworth’s,Freightliners,Peterbilt’s,International and etc..when i was in the U.S for the 12 years,these pick up trucks were the staple of people movers in rural america.EVERYBODY had one or drove one..and the the 2 door Dodge ram was exteremely popular.

Yikes! But this Dodge is absolutely huge! My uni buddy from Kentucky had an old 70’s Dodge Ram with a 360ci V-8.Modded and went like the absolute clappers..

That old dodge was not a bad ride at all..but this one is simply enormous..

Good luck trying to park that this then.Cheers.

• 4g63t dsm on May 03, 2011 at 3:56 pm

Don’t worry. plenty of room for parking at trailer parks, boat yards and demolition derbies.

Bear in mind, this isn’t for everyone though. This is as powerful as the lorries you see on the highways.

Still not as impressive as the 7.3L Ford powerstroke.

As for Dodge Rams, I once trapped 13.8@101mph on a bone stock Ram SRT-10 (yes, the one with the viper motor). That thing goes like mad even bone stock..with an automatic and with hugh 22″ wheels….. it was almost just as quick as the other 13.8s cars that day, a BMW M3 SMG and a Audi S4 V8. My Eclipse trapped 13.5@106 just to put into perspective what this monster could do.

• Kumar san on May 03, 2011 at 6:13 pm

Awesome man..agreed..yeah i know the SRT-10’S..THEY SHOVE YOU IN THE SEAT LIKE MAD DON’T THEY?? hahahaa..yup,i know this one..and the Viper,pelted the living daylights out of that one too man..i assume you were in the U.S for a long time like me mate?

Demolition derbies?Hell yeah!! Yeah you are right man..they can shove one of these in trailer parks and boat yards quite easy..

Damn i miss the U.S man,don’t you?..it’s good to chat with someone who has been and lived there before..

Till we chat again.Cheers.

• Lim Kopi on May 03, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Is there a point for this car ?

• Black Dog on May 04, 2011 at 11:37 am

Add a roof top at the back, throw in some beds & stuff, it can easily convert into a campervan (with power to boot) to travel all over the US! Can even have a speedboat in tow.

• sukasuki on May 03, 2011 at 3:11 pm

you got to have class E license to drove this. enormous truck pickup with lorry engine. for sure i can tow a kayu balak with this one.

• boleh tesangkut kat busut ni… ke kat tebing sungai..panjang sangat..hahaha

• albag on May 03, 2011 at 4:14 pm

feels like kereta potong and joined together… when it comes to parking, it should be LOL… innocent double parking…

• and still the American wonder why their auto industry went bust……sigh

• squawk on May 03, 2011 at 5:19 pm

This is great for camping. I remember the old V10 Ram. Powerrrrr…..

• chode on May 03, 2011 at 7:16 pm

There is no better way of saying “I HAVE A SMALL LITTLE BROTHER” than this.

• riphoff on May 04, 2011 at 1:38 am

reminds me of catdog cartoon

• Anyone know where is the place in the picture. The background mountain view is so nice.

• Kumar san on May 05, 2011 at 4:47 pm

That looks like the state of Montana..lots of that kinda mountain stuff over there..very beautiful state..i could be wrong but looks a lot like it..

Cheers man.