Ford Fiesta XTR Sapphire edition – in blue and white only

We’ve finally got more photos of the special edition Fiesta we spied last week – word continues to be that the ‘XTR Sapphire’ edition, as it has been tagged so far, will come with the equipment as described earlier. The cars you see in the photos are the style-sampling mules, one in Aurora Blue and the other in Cool White, which are the only colours for the edition.

Some other details about the cars – originally, Auto ConneXion planned for the edition to have leather seats, which the car in white has, in grey with blue and off white centre panel accents. Elsewhere, the rest of the cabin remains as is, in grey.

Then the Thai-designed interior emerged, and the XTR looks to be going with this one instead of leather. While the original photo from the Thai showcar displayed rather bright blue shades, in the flesh the palette depth of the blue tones are actually quite subdued, as the photos show.

The white XTR has a double tipped end of its exhaust visible, while the blue XTR doesn’t have that. The blue car is almost complete in its representation of what the final product will be like styling-wise when it comes (which is still some months away), so it remains to be seen if the exhaust feature will be part of that package.

The white/grey marking film is from Oracal, so it should well last the distance. Spotted in the blue car’s boot was a pre-cut roll of white roof/tail strip, which is to replace the grey one if so chosen, so whether the retail Aurora Blue XTR will have twin white stripes running down the roof to the rear or retains the white/grey configuration also remains to be seen. The white car wears a blue/grey marking film.

The word is also that the interior will feature a few more refinements, but in essence, what’s there is pretty much what it’ll look like. No word on the final product pricing beyond that bandied earlier – guess we’ll know when the edition gets closer to being introduced.

Gallery of the blue and white XTRs after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2221]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• the interior remains for white? dun really fancy the blue for the interior

• droll on May 05, 2011 at 3:20 pm

worth every penny. the blue interior is actually nice if you get the blue car. it matches.

• perkasa on May 06, 2011 at 9:08 pm

cantik sangat kereta ni. tapi diluar kemampuanlah. hanya mampu dipandang dan disentuh tapi tak bisa dimiliki

• nebula87 on May 05, 2011 at 3:33 pm

i prefer white with blue stripes…XD

• civicEK on May 05, 2011 at 3:35 pm

nothing much, just buy the normal one and convert it at sunway, unless they make changes in the engine bay.

• droll on May 05, 2011 at 8:02 pm

but i recall it will have more airbags than normal. how to convert that at sunway??

• hi paul,
    what is the price of this xtr? or perhaps price estimation?

• Downs on May 05, 2011 at 8:01 pm

In the other article, Danny mentioned somewhere around 6k extra. Just an estimate though.

• seriusSAM on May 05, 2011 at 3:35 pm

so anthony, is this you new ride?

:D

• rapidshifter on May 05, 2011 at 3:40 pm

give us manual option please….

• seriusSAM on May 05, 2011 at 3:40 pm

so anthony, is this your new ride?

:D

• shawal on May 05, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Black interior would be a better fit, the blue with grey looks a bit cartonish

• speedywinger on May 05, 2011 at 4:24 pm

Black will look more sporty.. blue interior looks weird

• seancorr on May 05, 2011 at 4:12 pm

Black leather interior please! Doubt they’ll make changes to the engine but a manual stick would be fun

• ForteLover on May 05, 2011 at 4:28 pm

what’s the diff between this and dugong trd?cosmetic only….

• beatnik on May 05, 2011 at 5:30 pm

Most probably cosmetics only, just to milk them customers..

• Quite a nice car..
    if Neo Supercharged and this car both are priced at sub-90K. Which would be a better choice?

• beatnik on May 05, 2011 at 5:31 pm

Any car will do as long as u like it, not based on other people’s preference :) most important thing is that you enjoy YOUR ride, not others :)

• qwerty on May 05, 2011 at 5:37 pm

Depend on your needs. If u want more space and low fc go for Fiesta. If u want performance with decent ride and handling go for Neo.

• bJuice on May 05, 2011 at 5:04 pm

Colors combi exactly like Focus ST

anyone know the location of this photo taken?

• bobdbilder on May 06, 2011 at 3:04 pm

I think they are all supposed to have the GT40 stripes. Yeah THAT one! That’s a real muscle car.

• awg1031 on May 05, 2011 at 5:15 pm

wah..so nice~

• Ongtk on May 05, 2011 at 5:42 pm

Just watched the latest episode of Fringe Season 3 E21 and it was a pleasant surprise to see the latest generation Ford Focus h/b featured. First shot was taken from the driver’s perspective and you get to see the all new dash fascia (quite similar to the Fiesta in my opinion), this is followed by a close up shot of the rear with the nameplate “Focus”. Finally, the viewers were treated to a frontal shot of the car when it was stationary.

• Paul Tan on May 05, 2011 at 7:16 pm

This was during the lightning storm right? Olivia even did a demo of voice control with her Taurus earlier in the season.

• yup! and i was really impressed with that technology! even the blind spot can be detected with that Taurus!

• stephen on May 06, 2011 at 3:41 pm

totally out of topic…any idea where to watch that episode

my link to Fringe S3 get broken lately…..Stopped at E20 only.

• zetec on May 05, 2011 at 7:13 pm

this new Fiesta has very good NVH for the Zetec variant and a lot of irrelevant gadgets for titanium version. handling is terrible. Ride comfort is great.

• sepul on May 05, 2011 at 8:09 pm

how come you said handling is terrible? i drove it once and it felt very sporty.. to me at least.. and yes, ride comfort is great

• zetec on May 06, 2011 at 1:20 am

u should drive more than once. I drove this car everyday so I know. handling is wobbly at corners, too much roll, too much understeer and lack of response. Not sporty at all. I think the suspension is too soft so it sacrifices handling but it gains on NVH and comfort. Wind noise is great for Zetec variant, almost no wind noise.

• Bro…where do you stay? Uk ker?…if not mistaken, over here …we don’t have many variants as per UK…zetec/titanium/titanium X etc..etc…. if not mistaken, ours 1.6 variant have the stiff susp set up….1.4 & sedan have the softer susp…correct me if i’m wrong

• Geronimo on May 07, 2011 at 3:42 pm

Perhaps you can let us know what car you’re comparing with. I drive this car on weekend and the ride and handling is better than its peer.

• droll on May 05, 2011 at 8:03 pm

i think they really really should bring in the mountune kit for this car. haiyah.

• armandd on May 05, 2011 at 8:29 pm

no power bump?

• Speed Racer on May 05, 2011 at 8:57 pm

i don’t quite like it. prefer the stock.

• Cowabunga! on May 05, 2011 at 9:42 pm

a lil’ cosmetic change and the crowd goes wild and hysterical….sigh…

• bktay on May 06, 2011 at 1:57 am

thanks anthony ~~~ Looks great ~~~
    Now just waiting price ,hopefully under 90k …

• septzz on May 06, 2011 at 5:10 am

anyone interested in AP? I’m in Russia studying and will be back for good in July and i am eligible for personal AP. I don’t have enough money to buy a car here (life’s kinda suck here). As far as i’m concern, i’ll have to pay about RM6k to buy the AP right? (correct me if i’m wrong). I’m not so sure how the process goes…

• surf dude on May 06, 2011 at 8:26 am

don’t fancy the blue interior.the exterior is nice

• confused on May 06, 2011 at 9:03 am

more airbags = heavier, rims remain unchanged.. sigh..

and common, u can get a normal fiesta and stick a much much much better-designed decal than that..

• bobdbilder on May 06, 2011 at 2:53 pm

Shimano should sue Ford for using XTR! If Ford can sue peeps for using their truck’s name for a race car, they should be sued for using Mountain Bike gears. It seems pretty apt and just!

So yeah Ford apeing Perodua. P2 must be very flattered. All bodykits and not much else? I think the industry calls it Mass Customization.

• Bring all Fiesta specs from USA!!!

• fookbu on May 13, 2011 at 9:26 pm

When this car launch?

• fookbu on May 13, 2011 at 9:27 pm

When this car launch in Malaysia?